The Collier House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,9

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,9
  • Pulizia5
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
11 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Made our honeymoon delightful!

5 su ottobre 17, 2012

I truly could never write a good enough revie3w to say how much my husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Collier House. We were nervous because we do not like to travel and we have a 21 month old daughter, but our family insisted we needed to take a honeymoon. It led us to Bar Harbor and the Collier House. We stayed for 5 nights and were ready to get back home to our daughter. However, for 2 weeks following our honeymoon we commented how much we missed Elizabeth & Deb and our bed&breakfast! The room was BETTER than the pictures, since when does that happen! We stayed in the creek retreat. The food was outstanding and the company even better. We miss Elizabeth & Deb as though they were old friends and hope to return within the next few years with our family! You are truly missing out if you don't book with the Collier House!


The Collier House experience has greatly improved.

5 su agosto 31, 2012

The Collier House experience has greatly improved. You should disregard the negative reviews that they got in 2011. Apparently, they hired all new staff after the 2011 experience. Most important is, Chef Elizabeth Jutras, who provides unbelievably high quality meals. (During our three-night visit, we had the “Scrambler”, the “Haystack Eggs”, and delicious blueberry pancakes with sausage and real maple syrup. Before the main course there was always a pleasant surprise such as fruit and home-made cinnamon rolls.) Chef Jutras lives full-time on site, and she essentially runs the entire operation. At breakfast, she is assisted by an excellent serving staff. Even though Collier house was filled nearly to capacity during part of our stay, there was no issue with people having to wait to be seated. The housekeeping staff was excellent. The guest rooms and the public rooms were always spotlessly clean and completely odor-free. It appears that all of the rooms in the main house were completely refurbished between the 2011 and 2012 seasons. Elizabeth is an exceptionally pleasant person and a fountain of local knowledge. She thoroughly answered all of our questions about restaurants, attractions, the free bus service to town, and where to drive to get the most out of our stay.


George Clemens proved to be a friendly and informative B&B host.

4,8 su maggio 07, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a week in late April and couldn't have been more pleased with both the weather and the B&B. A native of Mount Desert Island, George Clemens proved to be the quintessential Mainer and informative B&B host. In between his entertaining and helpful stories, he offers advice on the best (not necessarily the most expensive) restaurants in the area. Sine it was pre-season and quiet, we had a chance to peek into George's kitchen. he mentioned that there have been recent upgrades (stove & other equipment). And one could easily get spoiled being treated to a different, delicious hot breakfast every morning. George was kind enough to accommodate my food preferences. We stayed in the Creek Retreat, and since Collier House is slightly removed (a ~15 minute trip by car) from "downtown" Bar Harbor, there's more than ample parking for everybody. Being away from Main St. makes for shorter trips to trail heads to hike/walk in Acadia Nat'l Park. And, not too far down the road there's a Mobil gas station/convenience store with local (not tourist) prices in one direction and the "Town Hill Market" mini-grocery in the other direction. The only downside was that we enjoyed his breakfasts and conversation so much that we found ourselves wanting to linger - and not hit the hiking trails. Hmm, maybe that isn't so bad after all. P.S. In addition to speaking English, the host also speaks "Maine." Steve & Tracy Michelin / Ringwood, NJ


George and staff are the best

5 su agosto 27, 2009

My wife and i stayed here for almost a week in early July. we couldn't have chosen a better place; clean, accomodating staff, great food and a good central location on MDI. we plan to go back in late Oct.--Joel Deckler


Wonderful place

5 su agosto 26, 2009

It has been a long time since my husband and I stayed at the Collier House on our honeymoon (8-2001) but I still remember George's wonderful food and he and his wife's fantastic hospitality! We stayed in the Pond House and it was perfect location for our daily trips to Acadia National Park. We hope to come back someday! Maybe for our 10 year anniversary!


Great place to stay

5 su giugno 21, 2009

We've been to this place early April 2009 to visit Arcadia national park - unfortunately the weather was bad and most parts of the national park were closed. Our highlight was a two nights stay at the collier house in a cottage with direct view to a small lake. The cottage was nice, clean and equipped with a jacuzzi and gas-driven fireplace. The owner of the collier house was very friendly, open-minded and made the world best broccoli omelette (breakfast was great). We would strongly recommend this place.


Wonderful place to stay

5 su gennaio 01, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our first motorcycle trip to Maine. We got lost on the way and only found our way there on a dark rainy night with George's patient help on multiple phone calls. Bless him for being the caring gentleman he is! The Inn itself provided a wonderful place to stay and we hope to go back again. The gourmet breakfasts are superb!! The spacious room with adjoining jacuzzi was wonderful. We couldn't really enjoy our little porch overlooking the pond due to the weather but in warmer weather it'd be a nice place to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening. Very close to all the Bar Harbor attractions, yet quiet and secluded itself. I researched very carefully before choosing the Collier House and couldn't have been happier in my choice.


Great place to stay

5 su dicembre 20, 2008

My husband and I go to visit Acadia National Park every October. This was the first time we stayed at The Collier House and we will definitely be returning! We stayed in the Main House, which was very cozy. The innkeeper, George, was very friendly, accommodating, and helpful about providing information about things to do in the area. And, the breakfasts were out of this world!!


Our 2008 East Coast Fall Vacation

4,2 su ottobre 24, 2008

We would like to thank innkeeper George for a lovely stay at the Collier House. Our room was very comfy and cozy (and the jacuzzi was an extra plus!) And George was a great host and was very welcoming and helpful with questions about things in the area and directions. And the gourmet breakfasts were a real treat! Barb & Tom


outstanding experience

5 su agosto 05, 2008

CHBB is a wonderfully situated place where you can have a cabin-style or house-style sleeping...we stayed in a cabin overlooking the pond with a jacuzzi and gas-lit fireplace...our host, George Clemens, is not only a suberb chef, but is willing to go the extra mile to accommodate odd dietary requirements, like my own....fresh crepes, homemade blueberry and strawberry jams, always fresh coffee, homemade breads and french toast.....it is an easy ride into Bar Harbor or to Acadia National Park. He has a great website and no one should stay anywhere else.....!!!


The Collier House

5 su agosto 05, 2007

The Collier House is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Bar Harbor/Acadia. Located a few miles outside of Bar Harbor in the small village of Town Hill, the inn is surrounded by fields and there is a small pond on the property. Dark quiet nights, privacy and great breakfasts are some of the pluses. Some of the rooms come with a large jacuzzi. The inn keeper is charming and goes out of his way to assure a nice stay. We return to this inn year after year and always look forward to coming back.


The Collier House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $79 - $159
  • Recensioni (11) 4,9
  • Camere 10

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2072883162
  • Gratuito 1-8777829694
Inizio pagina