Acadia's Oceanside Meadows Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,2
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,1
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,4

Valore della struttura
14 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Oceanside Acadia

5 su ottobre 14, 2014

This was the best B&B we stayed at. It was fabulous! Everything it claimed to be and more! The private beach was quiet and peaceful and the trails were wonderful - complete with descriptions of habitats, indigenous creatures and their life cycles. It was a great learning experience and fun besides.


Not as expected--Mosquitoes

2,4 su settembre 20, 2014

Our stay was during the first week of September. The mosquitoes were so bad we could not leave our building. We were swarmed the minute we exited our car and we had to walk through the mosquitoes to get to the dining room. A window screen in our room did not fit well and the mosquitoes kept coming into our room until we found the opening and blocked it with a towel. We did not stay after the first night. When we checked out the following morning the woman on staff tried to get me to sign a paper agreeing to pay for the rest of our scheduled stay!

Risposta del proprietario
Dear Guest, I am sorry that you had a less than happy encounter with what many refer to as the “Maine State Bird”. Maine generally is famous for mosquitoes, although I must note with our due south facing beach and bay the sea breezes normally bless us with a lower population than found in most places in our beautiful state. Of course now with the crispy cool nights of fall and the first big frost a few days ago that has brought stunning emerging color to the maples we barely can find our friend the mosquito. “Friend”, one maybe aghast at such a reference, but in fact they play a very important role in our wonderful Maine ecosystem and a critical one in the pollination of many endangered wildflower and orchid species on our property with which we are blessed. Interestingly enough Orchids exploit mosquitoes in an unusual ecological niche. In managing our 200 acre preserve with its interconnected further 1250 acres of protected contiguous lands and over a mile of oceanfront we are keenly cognizant of our duty to act as stewards of all the plants and animals. We do not use any pesticides or herbicides running a 100% organic property maintenance scheme for the past 30 years that we have owned the property. Notably, we do have new storm window screen combinations in our rooms that keep the bugs out but do rely on being properly closed, and I regret it seems that this was not the case in your room. Of course in the great outdoors the odd mosquito comes with the territory (especially after heavy rain) and interestingly enough is not a new problem. Historically the Native Americans concocted brews of various herbs that act as wonderful repellents. More recently the now famous Passamaquoddy and Maliseet tribe member Alison Lewey created a repellent using her native forebears’ herbal wisdom that is a more effective repellent than those containing DEET. For those sensitive to the few mosquitoes that may be around we have this 100% natural product available in our entry way. On the rare occasion these important creatures in our ecological puzzle become pesky I use a little of this and they stay away…. It smells wonderful too. So I am very sorry that we didn’t manage to share this information with you while you were with us and address this concern directly. I do hope we could entice you back to our inn for a free night stay with a gourmet breakfast, after which you can get out and enjoy Maine’s magnificent outdoors.… perhaps with a little bug juice if necessary. With best regards, Ben and Sonja


Elegance, Beach, Hiking, Moose. What more could you want in Maine!?

5 su agosto 29, 2014

We will definitely be back. Private beach was unbelievable. The hiking trails in back woods are so picturesque. They lead to a salt marsh where it was evident that there are moose! Sadly, didn't see one though. Maybe next time. 3 course breakfast in the morning was wonderful. Margaret, the receptionist/greeter was such a happy lady I could have talked to her for hours.


Best B&B!

5 su ottobre 13, 2012

This place really blew me away! We had a comfortable 3rd-floor room in the Captain's House. Service was unbelievable, the Inn was immaculate, and the 3-course gourmet breakfast can't possibly be beat. The location was incredible, too - remote enough to be peaceful and across the street from the beach. I will definitely go back!


Fantastic Acadia B&B

4,2 su ottobre 21, 2011

We really began our New England vacation when we finally arrived at the Oceanside B&B. We had thought we were staying near Bar Harbor, but were instead forty minutes away! This was my fault for not really looking at a map, but in the end we were happy to be away from the touristy area of Bar Harbor. Prospect Harbor is quiet and beautiful, although there are not too many restaurants open during the "off season". We had wonderful wonderful vegetarian breakfasts which seemed to bother a few of the other visitors, but not us. The breakfasts were truly gourmet ! A very enjoyable experience!


WOW! OMG

4,6 su ottobre 25, 2010

This B&B was great. Everything was wonderful, from the spectacular view, to the homey atmosphere in the houses, to the nice clean rooms, to the wonderful friendly staff. The breakfasts that they serve each morning was to die for and I greatly missed them when I left. I was pleasantly surprised with the location to Bar Harbor and would not have known about the fishing village in Corea and possibly Schoodic Peninsula. They were very helpful in recommending the whale watching cruise with Captn Robertson which was the hi-light of our stay even though we couldn't go because of a storm that blewn in. We toured the light houses,saw seals that we could almost touch and pulled lobster traps! I would definitly come again and stay here!


We enjoyed it. We will be back.

4,0 su ottobre 06, 2010

Pre-check in was flawless by which I mean prompt and informative email explaining availabilities, room info, cancellation policy (reasonable) and other details. Made us feel welcome even before we arrived! When we got there we were met by owner who provided useful info about what to see and do in the area. Laminated printed guide sheets that he prepared were excellent. Room was charming. Lovely and intimate breakfast room and living room. Friendly staff, beautiful grounds. Could not have asked for a better situation!


The best of leisure and serenity

5 su ottobre 04, 2010

We wanted a special place to celebrate our anniversary, and Oceanside Meadows delivered it, and then some. The staff are phenomenal, friendly, courteous and accomodating. The view was spectacular from our room, and there's nothing like falling asleep to the water lapping on the shore. And if you don't know what to do on any given day, the innkeepers (Ben and Sonja) have a 14 day agenda already prepared! It was very truly the best vacation we've had, and will certainly be back.


Most relaxing, refreshing vacation in years.

4,0 su settembre 22, 2010

If you're looking for a tourist trap, don't come here. We happened on this Inn while searching for a B&B near Acadia National Park. We didn't realize that this side of Acadia -- Schoodic Peninsula--was much calmer and less developed than the Bar Harbor side. After visiting the Bar Harbor side, which was wonderful in its own way, we were very happy to get back to Oceanside Meadows. The Inn is part of a beautiful, protected nature preserve. A week before our 5-day stay, we received an email from the Inn with suggestions for 14 days of activities on the Peninsula. This wonderfully informative email was just the first part. Ben gave us a "walking tour" of the area when we arrived, and presented us with ten specialized laminated broachures relating to the Oceanside Meadows--the ecosystems, the flora and fauna, hiking paths, wildlife, interpretive trails--along with maps showing the location of restaurants, artisan shops, back roads. He even called to make a reservation for our first dinner out. Each night, we ended up chatting with other guests in front of the fireplace, often with a glass of "BYOB" wine in hand. This Inn attracts the most interesting and friendly, very laid back people. As one guest told us, "You need to go looking off and behind the roads to appreciate and enjoy this part of Maine." We will definitely be back again.


A lovely window on coastal Maine

5 su settembre 05, 2010

MYwife and I and two friends flew from Atlanta to Portland and enjoyed the drive to Prospect Harbor. We stayed in Room 1 in the main house, a roomy, comfortable room with great views. Breakfast was wonderful with unique offerings. Ben was very helpful with sightseeing tips and restuarant recommendations. We stayed a week and could have stayed longer.The area is fabulous and we just scratched the surface. The Inn is a keeper and worthy of a return trip.


An Outstanding, Relaxing, Comfortable week in Maine

4,6 su agosto 31, 2010

Ben and Sonja are the most cordial and knowledgeable couple we have had the opportunity to meet. The historical Inn is immaculate in cleanliness and appearance. The location on one of the few sand beaches in the area adds an ambiance that adds to the attraction. The sound of the surf at night with our open windows lulled us to sleep. Each couple receives at check in a detailed suggested itinerary with complete directions to each must see attraction and who to contact. Breakfast is a unique experience with a different healthy meal each morning. One suggestion, listen to Ben! His knowledge and suggestions will enhance your visit to the Acadia National Park area, surrounding sites and short drives to places that include light houses, lobster fishing boats, and a must see, the light house at Quoddy Point in Lubec Maine.... The location is the further east point in the United States .


New things to experience every year

4,0 su agosto 29, 2010

We have been going to the inn since my daughter was 4 yr old--she's now 14. She managed to meet another child to play with 3 years in a row, & the 3rd child (no longer a child) & her family are people we consider friends. We have been fortunate enough that the innkeepers now tolerate us bringing our 2 little dogs, so the whole family can enjoy the vacation together. On most days, you'll have the entire beach to yourself, & there's no telling what you might find. There are few places open late in the evening, & dinner is usually something to be planned earlier than later. But despite the economy, there is still wonderful food and wine to be had, as well as lots of art, antiques, jewelry, etc. As to the inn staff, we have always found them to be extremely friendly & helpful. Each year we have found something new to do, even though we do enjoy doing the same things each year. The innkeeper, Ben,is a wealth of information on where to go, what to see, where to eat, etc. & is a big advocate of the local arts & ecological preservation. The inn is definitely on the quieter side of Acadia National Park, & it is precisely for this reason that we chose to stay there. Not to mention that there are lots of other wonderful landscapes to enjoy that are not actually part of the park, but are part of the extensive wildlife refuges or just one of the local spots. We have seen eagles flying overhead, moss & lichen "gardens" in Petit Manan, followed a beaver across a lake & seen many beaver lodges, encountered deer & have even looked a juvenile black bear in the face. There's nothing like seeing these creatures in their natural habitats versus seeing them at the zoo. Whatever your idea of fun is, the staff can point you in the right direction--all you have to do is ask.


Wonderful Location, Magnificent Hosts

4,4 su agosto 11, 2010

We spent two lovely days and nights at this beautiful site in late July and could not have been more satisfied. The host family are enthusiastic, warm, generous with their time, and unbelievably knowledgeable about the area. Breakfasts were delightful, with creative cooking and presentation. Our room was comfortable and spacious. The grounds are well-maintained and worth exploring. We look forward to a return visit soon.


Absolutely Beautiful

4,4 su ottobre 15, 2008

The Oceanside Meadows Inn was one of the most pristine locations. The views from the windows were incredible. The inn was quiet and so very peaceful. Great place to relax. The walking trails were so nice. The staff was so very accommodating and friendly. It felt like being in your own house. Only drawback is the bathroom in Room #2 was incredibly small.


Acadia's Oceanside Meadows Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $139 - $209
  • Recensioni (14) 4,4
  • Camere 15
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono (207) 963-5557

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina