Birchwood Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
33 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A magical experience

4,8 su dicembre 11, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the most magical weekend away at the Birchwood Inn. The warmth and care that the owner Ellen puts into all she does is evident from the moment you check in. Our room was spotless and the most beautiful open fireplace was a perfect compliment to the freezing weather. Breakfast was truly worth 'the best in New England' title and we will definitely return again.


Enchanting!

3,2 su ottobre 31, 2014

This is a beautiful inn, very well managed. Ellen, the Inkeepper, is adorable and did everything in her power to make us comfortable -- even served afternoon tea for us when we arrived! Breakfast was prepared with love and care and the hot dish was quite out of the ordinary and delicious! The freshly baked bread too! No dinner served, but a wide choice of restaurants not far away. We only stayed for one night as the third-floor bedroom was too much for us to handle. The bathroom in the room we had was private, but across the hall, not ensuite. And, it is never too much to remind anyone thinking of staying here that these historic houses will not have elevators and you will have to drag your suitcase upstairs! So pack light and enjoy your stay!


no complaints

3,6 su ottobre 28, 2014

We weren't "blown away" by anything, but fhave no complaints either. We chose one of the cheaper rooms up on the third floor. The bed was very comfortable and clean, but we lacked space to put our luggage and toiletries. Ellen was sweet and accommodating, but the real treasure was her assistant Dave who brought liveliness, great local knowledge and good conversation to our morning meal!


A Charming Inn

4,6 su ottobre 24, 2014

A wonderful inn with outstanding service and great food


Best B&B ever!

5 su ottobre 04, 2014

This was an excellent stay for me and my mom. Everthing was so carefully selected and planned. We loved sitting on the porch and in the garden. And the food... waking up to the smells of freshly baked bread and the delicious gourmet breakfast... Enjoyed every minute of our stay... Thank you Ellen!


A true Gem

4,8 su settembre 30, 2014

Birchwood Inn is set in such a beautiful location. The owner is so pleasant and a wonderful cook. Her staff were gracious and humble. I loved my stay there and would definitely go back. It was peaceful, pleasant, serene, beautiful, restful, yummy, and all things you wish in a country B+B.

Risposta del proprietario
I am delighted that you so enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you home to Birchwood Inn again soon.


Wonderful place to unwind

5 su settembre 22, 2014

I would highly recommend the Birchwood Inn. It is a beautiful, well maintained inn in a delightful part of the country. The innkeeper is absolutely delightful. We were traveling with our golden and were so very pleased that we could stay in such a nice inn with our pet... for only an additional $25.00. The breakfast was amazing. We will definitely return if we are ever fortunate enough to find ourselves in this part of the country again. Linda from Chapel HIll, NC

Risposta del proprietario
There are many joys of innkeeping, and two are welcoming guests from all over the US and the world as well as meeting wonderful pets. We have a special place in our Birchwood hearts for Goldens as Quinn as been the Queen of Birchwood for more than 15 years!


a breakfast to remember

5 su settembre 02, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the elegant and very comfortable Birchwood Inn! Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. Ellen is a gracious Innkeeper, and the baked sweets in the afternoon/evening were all too delicious. Breakfasts were culinary delights, and so uniquely prepared. We felt indulged and at home at the same time.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay!


Birchwood Inn -- WONDERFUL in all ways !

5 su agosto 04, 2013

The Birchwood Inn is wonderful in all ways. The rooms are very nice and very clean, there is a wonderful and large "common area", the front porch with its wicker furniture is real special, the breakfasts are fantastic, and the location is terrific.


Wonderful weekend at Birchwood Inn

4,2 su luglio 27, 2013

Charming decor, wonderful staff, ideal location, superior breakfast. Elizabeth and Russell Schutt


Went for Tanglewood, will return for The Birchwood

4,6 su aprile 07, 2013

My wife and I stayed the weekend at The Birchwood Inn last summer while attending the Pops at Tanglewood. It was such a delightful stay that we'll come back another time to enjoy the comfortable room, warm hospitality, scrumptious breakfasts and the long walks in the state park across the road (to help keep calories in check). Also near to lots of other neat things in Lenox and the Berkshires. Great stay, Ellen! Many thanks.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you! We hope to make your next stay even better!


Cozy New Years Eve Getaway

4,6 su gennaio 16, 2013

My husband and I wanted to go somewhere snowy and picturesque for New Year's Eve. We lucked out. The Birchwood Inn had a last minute cancellation, which we jumped on immediately. We were thrilled that they allowed us to bring our dog too. On arrival, the assistant innkeeper greeted us cheerfully and took us for a quick tour of the public spaces, which included a beautiful library with a huge, crackling fireplace, the adorable breakfast dining area, and the guest kitchen area where we were hit by fantastic aromas wafting in from the innkeeper's kitchen as she was preparing special treats for the afternoon tea hour. Our room was well decorated and very clean (especially given this is a pet-friendly hotel) and we were happy to see the private Vermont gas stove and thoughtful placement of a cute dog bed and water bowl right beside it. Because it was New Year's Eve, the afternoon tea was actually a wine and cheese hour instead and there were endless bottles of wine served with a generous cheese platter, delicious potato latkes and little spinach pies. Yummy! We chatted with the other guests (which included couples of all generations who were looking for a romantic getaway like ourselves) and even made a few new friends. Dinner and drinks where an easy walk or drive to in town. The next morning we had an amazing 3-course homemade breakfast in front of yet another fireplace. It was amazing! Sadly, we had to pack up and head home after that, but we are looking forward to making a tradition out of our stay at The Birchwood Inn.

Risposta del proprietario
I truly hope you make us your traditional home for New Year's! But you don't have to wait for New Year's!


Charming Birchwood Inn

4,8 su ottobre 28, 2012

Such a warm welcome from Ellen at this delightful, quiet and interesting inn. Each day, a different freshly made breakfast, and warm apple cider and cookies by the fireplace in the library each afternoon. Very personal and imaginative cooking by the small dedicated team.. We stayed in the Carriage House, which was very quiet, warm and comfortable; the inn manages to be both homely and elegant. Lenox is a delightful town, and the Inn is a great place to stay. Many thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon.


Anniversary Stay

3,6 su agosto 27, 2012

The inn was quaint, clean and restful. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Would have been nice if they added a little extra for anniversary - bottle of wine, or flowers, etc.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for letting us know of your concern.All of our guests are special, and the majority of them are here celebrating an event. We like to think that we honor each guest by providing extra-special breakfasts, uniquely decorated, comfortable and very clean rooms, and outstanding warm service every single day. We do offer a variety of celebration packages from which to choose -- on our website and in each confirmation letter -- or we can create a package just for you.


A Welcoming Respite.

4,6 su maggio 28, 2012

My husband and I spent a recent weekend at this inn. From the warm welcome, the comfortable accommodations, the delicious breakfasts, the friendly and knowledgeable innkeeper/assistant innkeeper, we left with the hope of a future return visit. Thank you for your hospitality Birchwood Inn!

Risposta del proprietario
We would be delighted to welcome you home to Birchwood Inn again soon.


A Delightful and Delicious Stay at the Birchwood Inn

5 su marzo 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Birchwood Inn in March. The Post which is in the Carriage House was steps away from the Main House was warm and inviting and had all the amenities of a spa. A welcome plate of sweets were in the sitting area awaiting our arrival. At Teatime we were treated to tea and warm homemade cookies. The Birchwood is a wonderful relaxing home away from home because of the Innkeeper Ellen Gutman Chenaux. She personally and attentively takes care of the fine details. Ellen prepared the most delicious breakfast consisting of pear compote, fresh blueberry muffins and french toast with strawberries. The Birchwood Inn truly creates a wonderful, relaxing and true New England stay. The Birchwood is worth the visit if just for the breakfasts and of course to meet Ellen and her dogs Parker and Quinn.

Risposta del proprietario
We are delighted you enjoyed your Birchwood experience as it was certainly our pleasure to welcome you to the inn and to the Berkshires. We look forward to your next visit!


Christmas in Lenox

5 su gennaio 12, 2012

When I dream of Christmas, I recall Dickens. The warm fuzzies start to flow, but that's inside of a story. If I want to feel it for real, the Berkshires come to mind. When I want the best of the Berkshires, Lenox comes to mind. And, when I want the best of Lenox, the Birchwood Inn stands out at the top of the list. Food, fun, and fireplaces abound. What better way to celebrate the Holidays. This was our first year. It will not be our last. Cheers.

Risposta del proprietario
When I first saw Birchwood, I knew immediately that it would be a most special holiday destination. I am glad that you agree.


The Ultimate in B&Bs

5 su novembre 04, 2011

The Birchwood Inn is magic! the Inn is magnificent - an official landmark. decorated beautifully. The staff and quality service they provide their quests is excellent. The owner and innkeeper are warm, friendly and will take care of every detail to ensure your stay is nothing short of fantastic. The food is devine - 5 star caliber. The rooms are immaculate - many with fireplaces. They are conveniently located to Tanglewood, museums, shops, restaurants and parks. Birchwood Inn has it all - and gets it right. You will never want to leave, it's truly a slice of heaven. Thanks Ellen, David, Rebecca, Piper & Quinn

Risposta del proprietario
It is extremely gratifying to know that we did get things right as that is always our goal.


Perfect Bed and Breakfast experience

5 su luglio 09, 2011

Absolutely nothing derogatory to say about this place; the inn itself is old and has narrow staircases, some "creaking" at night - but all-in-all, the rooms were gorgeous, perfectly clean, the innkeepers were very helpful and insightful, it was so, so, quiet - even though lots of guests were there, one just couldn't hear them (the place was built in the 1700's). The rooms were all very large. The food was perfect, they accounted for any dietary issues. You could walk to fabulous restaurants and a hiking/mountain preserve right across the street. AND we saw a bear on our hike there, which was pretty exciting (it was little and ran from us). Also the inn is at the center of lots of things to do in this part of Massachusetts. Couldn't recommend it more!

Risposta del proprietario
We agree! At Birchwood, we like to think that the inn is in the heart of the Berkshires.


A Porch Full of Memories

5 su marzo 03, 2011

From the moment my husband and I walked into the Birchwood Inn everything from the aroma of cookies to the genuine smiles of the staff, and the wags of the resident dogs said,"Welcome". Morning began with a cup of coffee on a front porch reminiscent of childhood. Guest gathered there both in the morning and in the afternoon for high tea exchanging daily activities and places of interest. If you want a place of fine comfort, delicious food and ultimate relaxation this is the Inn for you. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Risposta del proprietario
Would you like a job as our spokesperson? Thank you!


Birchwood Inn

4,4 su agosto 20, 2010

We had a wonderful two days at this inn. The location is perfect and what a terrific place to unwind. Hope to be back again soon.

Risposta del proprietario
We hope so, too!


Best B&B anywhere

5 su agosto 19, 2010

We have stayed at B&B's worldwide and many times at the Birchwood. You won't have a better breakfast anywhere. The breakfast changes daily and always includes home-baked bread with muffins, cake, or pastry, a fruit course, sometimes warm, and one of innkeeper Ellen's incredible inventive main dishes. During a recent weeknd visit we had an amazing fritata served with delicious turkey sausage and peach upside down French toast served with ham. We have stayed in most of the Inn's 11 rooms. Some are quite luxurious and large with a fireplace (some wood-burning), others smaller and cozy, but all beautifully decorated and immaculate. Ellen and her assistant innkeeper David are always friendly and eager to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. With so many things to do in the immediate area and the perfect B&B as home base, vacations don't get any better than this.

Risposta del proprietario
It's refreshing to know that you appreciated all of the efforts of the Birchwood team.


Warm Hospitable B and B in good location

4,4 su agosto 07, 2010

Nice place to stay in historic home-pretty setting-close to Tanglewood and Stockbridge. Innkeeper is very sweet and helpful. Little dissapointed in breakfasts compared to prior b and b stays-room was simple for the price-nothing elegant- but baked goods-cookies and brownies were superb. Was a relaxing setting.

Risposta del proprietario
We are sorry that you did not have the optimum experience and that our full, creative country breakfast disappointed you, but my Aunt Norma is delighted that you liked her brownies.


A wonderful getaway

5 su febbraio 15, 2010

Highly recommend this lovely inn. The innkeepers are like none other, the food outstanding and the rooms comfortable and charming.

Risposta del proprietario
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you home to Birchwood Inn again.


One of the Best

5 su ottobre 11, 2009

What a relief this Inn was, after the B&B we stayed in last year in Lenox. I can't believe we will find a better one, so we will stop looking. I know we won't find better food. The large library, Ellen's hospitality, large clean room, was as much as one should expect at any B & B. And finally, the most helpful David showed us the "secret" back road, that is adjacent to the inn, and brings one out directly to the entrance to Tanglewood, and avoids downtown traffic.

Risposta del proprietario
We have a great staff! Karen, our head housekeeper, prides herself on her attention to detail, and David, our manager, is the consummate concierge.


Just Perfect!

5 su agosto 31, 2009

The Birchwood Inn has everything one could ask for: rooms that invite rest and relaxation- not just pretty but with great beds and the softest linens; exceptional breakfasts featuring freshly baked pastries and fruit-featured as well as more traditional entrees, and very good coffee; a most congenial staff and innkeeper as well as two happy dogs who make guests even happier. This is a special place.

Risposta del proprietario
We are delighted that we were able to make your stay special.


25th Anniversary

4,8 su agosto 11, 2009

My wife and I of 25 years spent two nights at the Birchwood Inn to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the Dana room which was quite spacious and comfortable. The Inn is walking distance to town and a short drive to Tanglewood. The Inn keepers/staff were helpful and made our stay pleasurable. We love dogs and enjoyed their company. The breakfast was wonderful. We would not hesitate to stay at the Birchwood Inn again.

Risposta del proprietario
You picked the perfect room for your 25th anniversary. The Dana is very romantic But you don't need to be celebrating a special occasion to enjoy a memorable stay at Birchwood Inn.


Delightful Weekend in Lenox

5 su maggio 17, 2009

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at a Bed-and-Breakfast in the US – all of our previous stays were in Europe. We now understand the enchantment many have with B&Bs in the US – and especially Ellen’s Birchwood Inn in Lenox, MA. The Birchwood Inn is a charming home with brightly and lively colored rooms – We stayed in the Goodwin Room. The inn is located just at the edge of Lenox – close enough for a short walk to anything in town. This includes the Shakespeare and Company campus – try the introductory show and workshop – it’s great fun! – we acted in Romeo and Juliet!!! We stayed in the early Spring; the weather was just warming, but the inn always had a warm and inviting spirit – a spirit that starts with Ellen’s charm and attentiveness to every need and detail. The spirit continues with Ellen’s assistant, David, and her wonderful dogs, Quinn and Piper; don’t be surprised if Quinn comes over and gently rests her head on your lap while you are relaxing. All of Ellen’s meals were wonderful; but her cinnamon buns for breakfast were “fantastic”!!! My wife’s only regret is that Ellen does not include her recipe for them in her cook book. All I can say is that my wife and I look forward to our next visit with Ellen.

Risposta del proprietario
As we innkeepers fervently believe, bed and breakfasts are The Better to Stay! Recipes? Just ask and we'll be happy to print them out for you. Most of my favorite recipes, moreover, are on our food blog: www.eightbroadsinthekitchen.com!


One of the Best B&B's

5 su marzo 25, 2009

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Birchwood Inn and were absolutely delighted to be there. The Innkeeper/Owner and the Asst. Innkeeper could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The "public rooms" at the Inn were warm, inviting and spacious. Breakfast was first-class. A definite must-visit if in the Berkshires. Will definitely return!

Risposta del proprietario
We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you home to Birchwood Inn.


Perfect Romantic Winter Getaway

5 su febbraio 24, 2009

We stayed over Valentine's weekend and everything was perfect. Ellen, the innkeeper, and her staff go out of their way to make every detail perfect. The wood burning fireplace in our room proided the most romantic and lovely touch. Going to sleep by a real fire in a wonderful king size bed was just the best. Breakfasts were ample and scrumtious. And the best part, for those who know B&B's, is that we could sit alone at a table for two in front of the fire place in the breakfast room. It was great and we will go back. I have absolutely not a single negative.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for accentuating our positives!


Absolutely loved it! Will be back soon...

5 su aprile 10, 2008

What can I say, we loved every minute of our stay at the Birchwood Inn! My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days for some rest and relaxation and we got that and so much more... The inviting front door with tulips, impeccable rooms, heavenly breakfasts, heart warming fireplaces, wonderful treats during the afternoon tea hour and the best innkeeper and staff anyone could ask for. The Inn is conveniently located and is set beautifully upon a hill steps away from the town center. The Inn is spotless and the common areas are cozy, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The main living area also provides a wide range of books, music, brochures about the surrounding areas and plenty of box games to play. Ellen made us feel like Birchwood was our home too. The gourmet breakfasts that Ellen and Rebecca served were indescribable, something out of a gourmet cookbook. If you find yourself in the Berkshires this is the place to stay! We're really glad that we stopped by and really enjoyed our long weekend. We definitely look forward to our next visit at the Birchwood Inn!

Risposta del proprietario
Happy guests are an innkeeper's dream!


Lovely setting, liked the common space

5 su marzo 12, 2008

Birchwood is a great inn for those who want all that Lenox has to offer at their fingertips. The library and the dining room here are among the nicest I've seen at an inn, and I visit many inns. I really loved the decor and both had roaring fireplaces going while I was there, that made for a very cozy feeling. The rooms are very nice too. This is a great place to stay in Lenox.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay!


Eagerly Anticipated Renunion at Birchwood Inn

4,0 su marzo 10, 2008

The Birchwood Inn in Lenox, Ma is the annual destination for our reunion of five friends...the Inn is every bit as important as the friends who gather in it...from the minute the owner, Ellen, and Quinn, a magnificent Golden Retriever, greet us at the door, we feel at home...we are cared for and looked after...breakfast is a culinary treat and afternoon "tea" with freshly baked temptations lures us to sit in front of the large fireplace to settle in for an evening of sharing stories and laugher...the warmth, graciousness and charm envelope us in a special atmosphere which we remember long after the reunion and lead us to eagerly anticipate the next gathering at Birchwood Inn...

Risposta del proprietario
We love it when friends are together and having fun!


Birchwood Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $199 - $369
  • Recensioni (33) 4,7
  • Camere 11
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8005241646

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina