Horace Kellogg Homestead Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,4
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
114 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wonderful way to stay

4,0 su settembre 11, 2014

Great B&B - kind hosts, great service, very yummy breakfast. The room was delightful and a robe was provided for each guest. We enjoyed it tremendously. I would suggest they improve on a few little things - list on their website that rooms have window A/C (no central air), label towel hooks in the bathroom for each room so no one gets confused, post reminders about shower sharing courtesy, and maybe add a bit more counter space for guests' toiletries. Overall - a wonderful experience.


Simply marvelous stay at Horace Kellogg Homestead B&B

5 su agosto 27, 2014

My friend and I just stayed there for two nights - Steve and Susan are wonderfully accommodating, the breakfast was utterly delicious, the room was delightful, and the location very convenient - be sure to spend some time on the relaxing side porch and observing their finches! I highly recommend staying here - and will again. Linda O'Brien, Vermont

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you Linda for taking the time to tell us about all the things that made your visit enjoyable! We appreciate it very much! Looking forward to your next visit!


Best place in town!

5 su agosto 13, 2014

We always enjoy our stays at the Horace Kellogg Homestead. Susan and Steve are very nice and personable. The house is beautifully restored. Breakfasts are cooked fresh for you each morning and are wonderful. There are several rooms on the main floor for enjoying during your stay. The bathrooms are clean and easy to access. Even though they are shared, I have never had to wait in line for one as there are only two guest rooms sharing two bathrooms! The house is located close enough to the center of town to walk in for a nice afternoon stroll. It is also very handy to all the colleges in the area. We love it and stay there whenever we visit our son. A much nicer place than any old hotel and a better deal, too!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words and details about your stay. I am sure your review will be read (as I read comments before I book our stay on vacations) and help the next person decide that this is the place for them! Welcome back anytime!


A great stay in Amherst

4,8 su agosto 06, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Horace Kellogg Homestead very much. The house has been lovingly restored, leaving the historic architectural elements intact while updating for a few modern comforts. The location is close to downtown where local restaurants abound. Our room was bright and airy, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast delicious! Susan and Steve are gracious hosts. We were so glad to find such a homey lodging for such a reasonable rate.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about the Horace Kellogg Homestead. We're so glad to know that your stay with us was comfy! Our goal is to share this awesome piece of history with everyone. See you in the future!


Great place to stay in amherst!

4,6 su luglio 28, 2014

Loved everything.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All reviews are important to our business. Hope to see you in the future!


Delightful stay

4,8 su luglio 23, 2014

Very much enjoyed my stay at Horace Kellogg Homestead; Sue and Steve are excellent hosts.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you in the future!


Horace Kellogg Homestead

5 su luglio 04, 2014

Enjoyed our stay in this historic home and town. The Judge's room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. Also enjoyed the outdoor area and screened porch in the evening. Nice walk to town with many shops and wide choice of restaurants.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sharing your experience will help others in making a decision. Your comments are valuable to making the Horace Kellogg Homestead a success! Much appreciated!


Susan and Stephen down to earth hosts

4,2 su giugno 29, 2014

We felt welcomed and at the same time we were left alone to relax in the common areas of the house. We spent a soothing afternoon in the enclosed porch room.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are very helpful to us. We are glad you enjoyed the porch, it is a very special place!


Delightful home-away-from-home in Amherst!

5 su giugno 11, 2014

When we arrived at the Horace Kellogg Homestead, our parking place was marked with a star, and we truly felt like VIPs during our two-day stay with warm and welcoming proprietors Susan and Steve. Our spacious rooms were immaculate, and as you can see from other reviews, the breakfasts are delicious and memorable. We were charmed by the delicate ivory-colored finches. This is a wonderful base for travelers staying in the area--highly recommended.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sure that your review will help someone chose The Horace Kellogg Homestead for their next visit to Amherst. Your comments matter. Thanks again, much appreciated!


Excellent value

4,4 su giugno 01, 2014

The B&B is quiet and comfortable, situated a bit away from the center of Amherst but easily walkable. The room was well-appointed, internet service reliable, and breakfast ample and tasty. One or the other of the spotlessly clean bathrooms was always available. Susan and Steve were cordial and helpful. And the zebra finches in the kitchen were a delight. My wife and I would certainly stay here again.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We so happy to hear that your stay with us was comfortable. When we travel, we appreciate "Excellent value" also. The finches are very "Welcoming". Hope to see you in the future.


Amherst College graduation weekend

4,6 su maggio 30, 2014

My second visit to the Horace Kellogg Homestead exceeded my expectation. Susan and Steve opened their dining room, porch, and yard to my family gathering in celebration of my son's college graduation. They provided space, privacy, wine glasses, and anything else we might have needed to enjoy the moment. I will stay there again if I am ever traveling through Amherst.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Reviews are like, "Word of mouth" referrals. It's the best way to help folks make a decision to stay with us.


enjoyable weekend

5 su maggio 13, 2014

First time at a B&B and it was everything and more than what we expected

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad that your first time stay at a B&B was with The Horace Kellogg Homestead. Good to know that your stay was everything and more! The nice thing about B&B's is that no 2 are alike. Hope to see you in the future!


Overall a really positive stay

4,0 su maggio 01, 2014

Booked this for a college visit. I have to say overall I was pretty happy with it and better yet my wife, after not being too thrilled about me booking a room with no bathroom in the room, thought it was a very nice place. The room was impeccably clean, nicely furnished with two beds, and good TV/Internet. The bathroom, which was down the hall, was one of the cleanest i've ever seen. Since this place has just two rooms, sharing it wasn't that big of a deal at all. Breakfast was fresh with a good variety. Would go again if I needed to.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for the lovely review. I especially like your comment on how you were able to get past sharing a bath. I think that could help others who might be feeling the same way. Hope to see you in the future!


A wonderful stay; can't wait to go back!

4,8 su aprile 28, 2014

Susan was the perfect host! My 2 children attend college in the area and I wanted to have them over for dessert after dinner. When I asked Susan, she said that she would set the table for us. There was tea and coffee and the kids and I had a nice time. Perfect location - 2 minutes from the center of town - with lots of dining options. I took advantage of the complimentary yoga class offered in town too. I will definitely try to get back again before my children graduate. I highly recommend Horace Kellogg Homestead!


Excellent stay

4,4 su aprile 25, 2014

The room (for three) was comfortable and nicely decorated. The breakfastt was delicious and the owners were friendly and helpful. Overall, a good value and a very pleasant experience!


Horace Kellogg Homestead B&B

5 su aprile 24, 2014

Very warm and comfy and the owners were very nice.


Nice Room

3,4 su aprile 21, 2014

Comfy bed, that was nice. No bedside tables or electrical outlet nearby that worked, but we got by...Good location for our purpose in town.

Risposta del proprietario
In the Almarina room there are bedside tables with surge protectors for computers and charges. In the Judge's Room there isn't room for a bed side table because there are closets on either side of the bed but there is a surge protector for plugging in charger etc...all are in working order. The both have a on and off switch. If you found one that wasn't, feel free to bring it to our attention. Older homes weren't built for these modern conveniences so we do the best we can in keeping the old charm and modern times. We also have comfy places to sit in the common room and dining room with outlets there as well. Thanks for the review and the opportunity to address your concerns.


Lovely home and proprietors

4,8 su aprile 17, 2014

Sue and Steve have restored this farmhouse beautifully. They are a kind host and hostess. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious, the internet works, the breakfast is excellent, and overall everything was terrific. The inn is on a main artery between colleges, so there can be traffic noise.

Risposta del proprietario
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review! Thanks so much! Hope to see you in the future.


cozy place, kind people

5 su aprile 13, 2014

This was a wonderful stay. I recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks so much! Your review is much appreciated!


Sweet suite in Amherst

5 su aprile 06, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Horace Kellogg Homestead B & B this spring when we came to Amherst looking at colleges. The house was very comfortable and all of our needs were anticipated. The breakfast was outstanding! The owners made us feel very at home. We will definitely stay again!


Far Surpassed Reasonable Expectations

5 su febbraio 04, 2014

In a very convenient location, you find yourself in a wonderful old house, very clean and comfortable, with every convenience, and proprietors who have thought of and done everything to make sure it stays that way, and who sensitively give you as much attention or solitude as you desire.


A Weekend Stay to see my daughter at Mount Holyoke College

5 su gennaio 15, 2014

We loved everything about the place. It was warm and cozy, as was the hospitality. Breakfast was delicious on both mornings. The beds were comfy, and we couldn't say enough good things. We will definitely head back to the Horace Kellogg Homestead Bed and Breakfast when we are back in the area.


lovely

4,4 su dicembre 27, 2013

we had a lovely stay. we would definitely return again.


Quiet, home away from home.

5 su novembre 11, 2013

Warm, welcoming hosts, Susan and Stephen invite you into their historic Mass home. Decorated and furnished with antiques allows you to appreciate the original structure in keeping with it's history. We have stayed here four times due to the delicious variety of plentiful breakfasts and relaxing accommodations.


Comfortable and welcoming

4,8 su novembre 08, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this gracious colonial located just minutes from the center of Amherst. Susan is very thoughtful and made sure we had everything we might want. Breakfast was delicious and set us up well for a day of hiking up Mt. Holyoak.


review of Horace Kellogg Homestead

4,8 su ottobre 28, 2013

Wonderful place with wonderful people


Horace Kellogg Homestead is cozy and convienient

4,6 su ottobre 26, 2013

We spent one night at the Horace Kellogg B&B and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were able to walk to dinner and Amherst offered many dining options. The hosts were pleasant and friendly and the rooms cozy and clean. I'd definitely visit again if in the area.


Love Home, Lovely People

5 su ottobre 23, 2013

We stayed at the Horace Kellogg home 2 nights. Our room (the Judges Room) was large, cozy, and beautifully decorated with a very comfortable, 4-poster bed. Susan and Steve were very friendly and helpful, made us feel like family. Breakfasts were good and plentiful. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.


Lovely home, great location

4,4 su ottobre 21, 2013

We enjoyed our three nights with Susan and Steve. They were very welcoming hosts and their breakfasts were excellent. The house is within walking distance of the college and town, which is a good thing because the traffic on Route 9 is usually bad. It was also really good value.


Perfect B & B in Amherst

5 su ottobre 16, 2013

Susan & Steve are terrific and extremely accommodating hosts. Their home is beautiful and they are happy to talk about their adventure in turning the historic home into a B & B. The breakfast was huge and delicious! In fact, Susan even shared one of the recipes. I would not hesitate to recommend Horace Kellogg Homestead.


Yet again first rate hospitality in the USA, welcoming, clean, just really good in every way!

5 su ottobre 14, 2013

We were warmly greeted and helped with what proved to be accurate details of local services. The bedrooms were well appointed and the linen was fresh and beautifully presented. Breakfast was excellent and we all felt well cared for.A great place to stay.


Pleasant stay

3,0 su ottobre 12, 2013

Very pleasant stay and delicious breakfast with very congenial hosts.


B and B in Amherst, MA

4,8 su settembre 24, 2013

Very nice family, great breakfast each morning, good value and great location. I would certainly stay there again.


Enjoyable time at B & B.

4,2 su settembre 11, 2013

Horrace Kellogg Homestead B&B is a very comfortable HOME. It is not swanky or fancy, but met our needs totally. Bedroom was large and clean, as was the shared bathroom, with plenty of amenities (shampoo, towels, etc.) available. But, the breakfast was homemade, plenty of it, and delicious. Our hosts were knowledgeable about the area and easily shared this info. Just an easy stay. . . .and convenient to downtown and surrounding sights we came to see.


Quaint and relaxing

3,4 su agosto 26, 2013

Stayed for only one night but found the accomodations clean comfortable relaxing and affordable. Would stay again if in the area.


J & M Seekonk, MA

4,2 su luglio 31, 2013

Sue & Steve are very nice people who made us feel right at home. The Horace Kellogg Homestead was clean, peaceful and quite just what we were looking for. The breakfast was very good. We hope to stay again in the future. I will recommend it to friends/family


A very pleasant stay

4,6 su luglio 19, 2013

My stay was very plaasant. The room was charming, very comfortable and tastefully appointed. It was pelasantly cool (this was during a heat wave) and the air conditioning was as quiet as theyc an be. The shared bathroom was well appointed, with many thoughtful details. The hoss were welcoming and helpful, and breadfast was -pleasang, with good food and interesting conversation among guest and with hosts.


Great weekend stay

4,0 su giugno 23, 2013

I stayed recently with a friend of mine for two nights. The value of this inn is outstanding. So much more relaxing, enjoyable, and a better value than any of the large hotel chains in the area. Breakfast was delicious, our room was clean and comfortable, and we felt at home right away. I highly recommend this especially for families or a small group of friends traveling together.


Great place to stay while visiting colleges

5 su giugno 19, 2013

Our hosts were lovely and gracious, and it was just what we needed in the midst of visiting colleges. Breakfast was wonderful as well (and we were urged to take some muffins with us, which were very much welcome when we missed lunch later). I found the candle scents a bit overpowering in some of the common rooms, but I think this is a common practice in B&B's. Should we find ourselves back in Amherst, we'll look to stay with Steve and Sue again, and we've already recommended it to others.


Late May Visit

4,6 su giugno 07, 2013

I stayed at the Horace Kellogg Homestead B&B when I came for an orientation for graduation school at UMass Amherst. The owners were incredibly welcoming, easy to chat with, and very helpful. They picked me up from the bus station and gave me names of those renting houses in the area, helping me get a jump start on my housing search for fall. Cannot recommend them enough! Wonderful people and a wonderful house!


Visiting our new grandaugther for the 1st time!

5 su giugno 03, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We slept so good and were spoiled with your fantastic breakfast! Karlskrona Sweden


Feel at home, perfect

5 su maggio 30, 2013

My family stayed at Harace Kellog for my daughter's college graduation in May. Just happy to stay there. Everything is perfect, Room is spacious, clean, bright. It is like just being home. Superb breakfast cooked by Susan and Steve. I will definitely go back to stay whenever I have an opportunity to visit Amherst.


"Yum, yum B&B"

4,4 su maggio 22, 2013

Charming B&B. We enjoyed our stay. The innkeepers were very friendly and made our stay as relaxing as possible. This B&B is convenient to Amherst and U. Mass. The food was excellent with a nice variety each day.


Perfect getaway

4,0 su maggio 15, 2013

We loved our overnight stay. The rooms were lovely and the house is beautiful. All very clean, tidy and comfortable. Would definitely return if given the chance!


Perfect getaway

5 su maggio 09, 2013

While I came for work, this retreat lodging made it feel like a vacation. The breakfasts were prompt and filling, allowing me to make it to my meetings on schedule. There was a wooden hike at the end of the road where I could wind down after a day of learning. The bed and amenities were quiet and comfortable. I would love to return when not working!


Beautiful setting, gracious hosts

5 su maggio 07, 2013

An extraordinary lovely old home facing a beautiful valley a few blocks from the charming village of Amherst. A nice welcome, a great breakfast and when it turned out I had left my son's favorite baseball cap behind, it arrived home almost as soon as I did.


Wonderful stay!

5 su maggio 05, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this B&B last month when my daughter had her senior dance recital at Mount Holyoke College. The Inn was very close by. The breakfasts were out of this world. Susan makes the absolute beat hash browns. Steve made the greatest eggs benedict. Susan made us quiche for breakfast, two different kinds. Our room was above and beyond with the beds being so comfy. The house is stunning and the Mallets have done a tremendous job in decorating it. Everything is so clean. The bathroom even though it was shared was very nice. It was great to sit and have breakfast with the other guests. We walked in as strangers and left there as friends. Susan and Steve did everything to make our stay wonderful. This is a great place and the location is fantastic. My daughters hope to go back when they have activities at Mount Holyoke. The Mallets are wonderful people. I highly recommend.


Wonderful Place to Stay

4,4 su maggio 02, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in town for a wedding and the Horace Kellogg Homestead was a wonderful place to stay. We immediately felt welcome, the food was great, and they made sure to check with us about any allergies we had. The room was so pretty and our bed very comfortable. I love that they keep tea and coffee available all day long, as I really love my tea. We had to leave at 5AM on the morning of our departure and they made up a breakfast bag with the yummy donuts and muffins we had thouroughly enjoyed at breakfast, along with other items that lasted us the whole way home (8 hour drive). We will certainly stay here next time we are in the area.


Gracious hosts, delicious food, & immaculate home

4,8 su aprile 23, 2013

We were visiting our son who is a student at UMass Amherst & wanted to stay in a B & B nearby. We found the Horace Kellogg house online & we were not disappointed! The house is quite nice & extremely clean. The bathrooms are updated, the beds are comfortable, & we briefly utilized the sitting room both in the evening & in the morning. The ONLY drawback of staying there was that there was quite a bit of traffic passing by during the night. However, I'd still highly recommend it -- thank you!


Wonderful experience!

5 su aprile 22, 2013

My daughter and I were visiting colleges in the area. I love the location of this B&B, right down the street from Amherst. It was my daughter's first experience in a B&B and it brought back many memories of my trips through England and Ireland. Nice people, great food, fun conversation. Great history and a wonderful price!


Warm and Welcoming

4,4 su gennaio 31, 2013

The Kellogg Homestead is well maintained and lovingly cared for. There were numerous "extras" that added nicely to the feeling of friendliness and professionalism.


The envy of my peers

5 su gennaio 21, 2013

I attended a 4 day class at UMass, and polling my peers found that a stay at the Horace Kellogg was the best value in town.


Wonderful Experience

5 su dicembre 07, 2012

I stayed at the Horace Kellogg Homestead this week for business travel, and felt like I was staying at home. The rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable with all of our modern day amenities including wireless internet and cable. I slept like a baby, and was welcomed in the morning with a homemade french toast casserole that was to die for. Sue and Steve go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and that you have everything you need, I will absolutely stay here again when business brings me back to town.


Very Comfortable Night's Stay

4,8 su dicembre 04, 2012

Our stay was rather short (1 night; in late and out early) but very comfortable. Susan and Steve were wonderful, friendly hosts. The bed was comfortable, room temperature perfect. It was a great value for 3 of us. The breakfast was outstanding; great way to start our early and long day! Would definitely stay there again.


Charming!

4,2 su novembre 27, 2012

Lovely antique inn! Food and hospitality greatly facilitated of trip to Amherst. We cain't wait to return.


A lovely introduction to the Amherst area

5 su novembre 22, 2012

Susan and Steve perfectly blend warm hospitality with just enough space to relaxingly come and go as you please. The two rooms that are available are beautifully decorated, supporting the historical ambiance of the 1828 colonial home as well as the town steeped in history and culture. Susan consistently offered to provide wonderful breakfasts, provided at what time works best for the guest. Every time I come to the Amherst area I will be staying with them. I do not think it is possible to find a nicer place to stay.


Thoroughly Enjoyed my Stay

4,6 su ottobre 11, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Horace Kellogg B&B while in town for a wedding. The hosts are warm and welcoming, and truly enjoy their guests. Rooms are clean, spacious, and well-appointed. The beds are very comfortable. This B&B is in a perfect location -- a residential area just a short ways from the center of Amherst. There is some occasional traffic noise at night on the weekend. If you're sensitive to that sort of noise, earplugs will do the trick. Highly recommend the Horace Kellogg.


Stayed while my daughter moved into UMASS

4,0 su settembre 16, 2012

We had never stayed at a B&B before, so we wasn't sure what to expect. The Horace Kellogg Homestead B&B was a pleasant surprise! The home was clean, neat well laid out and my daughter & I were made to feel welcome. We will stay there again! T.McEnroe Kent


A tremendous value in the Valley!

5 su settembre 14, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here while in town for a wedding. Steve and Sue were incredibly friendly and helpful; our stay felt like a home away from home. No better value in the Valley. We'll be back!


Everything you want in a B&B

4,8 su settembre 07, 2012

This historic home was exquisite in every detail! The screened porch and hammock in the backyard were extra nice touches. The breakfast was custom to our schedule and very generous portions. Definately a great value. Open windows in the summer meant a little bit of road noise but not enough to keep us away.


Great place for a stay in Amherst

4,8 su settembre 02, 2012

Steve and Sue are friendly, courteous hosts. They have decorated the rooms beautifully and tastefully. The house feels cozy, warm, and welcoming. Everything would have been 5 stars, except the house is on one of the main roads into Amherst and it can get a little noisy from the traffic.


Wonderful Stay in Amherst

5 su agosto 28, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights here and recommend this B&B for anyone visiting Amherst. The grounds were spacious and pleasant. The rooms were perfect with comfortable chairs for reading and space for our things on the table and dresser tops. The breakfasts were outstanding. We've stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts and this one is near the top for us. Friends from Germany who occupied the other room had a similar experience. Howard & Lisa Brown


Wonderful Stay at Horace Kellogg Homestead B&B

5 su agosto 27, 2012

Recently stayed for multiple days at this great b&b while dropping daughter off at a nearby college. This is our third stay here and wouldn't choose anywhere else. From the exceptional breakfasts to the sunlit room where we love to stay, Susan and Steve provide a home away from home environment that allows us to relax and enjoy the Amherst area.


A Delightful Surprise Visiting Emily Dickinson

5 su agosto 14, 2012

It was a happy surprise for Jane and I to visit Emily Dickinson finally. We live in different parts of the country- Jane in FL and I am in NH. We had been planning to go to Amherst for several years, but things kept coming up. What a treat to go to the Horace Kellogg Homstead. It was a 5 right down the line. We each had our own room - something about my snoring....and mine was absolutely perfect in every way. It was beautifully decorated and had every possible amenity.. ac- tv- beautiful windows and views- comfortable beds- lots of choice pillows.. Service was spectacular and the breakfast, super. Extraordinary value for what was charged..far less than what I think it usually costs. The bathroom was fabulous- with a large window and lots of room and many provisions such as soaps and toiletries, etc.. They thought of everything, Most of all Susan and her husband were terrific. What interesting people and they are and they have done so much for their community. It was marvelous talking to them and finding out many things about the area and "Emily"! It was just great in all ways!


Late summer weekend at the Horace Kellogg B&B

4,8 su agosto 02, 2012

My two sons and I stayed recently at the Horace Kellogg Bed & Breakfast, and we were very pleased with the room, the food, and the whole atmosphere of the bed and breakfast. We found it convenient for travel to both Amherst and Northampton, but located well outside of any commercial district or noisy residential area. I will definitely be using this bed and breakfast on future visits to the area.


Very pleasant weekend

4,8 su luglio 11, 2012

The innkeepers are a lovely couple. They were accommodating without being hovering. The entire house is super clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and ample. Our 16 year old son stayed with us in our room, and he was quite comfortable sleeping on the twin bed in our room. Our queen sized bed was extremely comfortable. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. I will definitely be booking a room here the next time I am in the area.


At Home in Amherst

5 su luglio 06, 2012

Where do I begin? We really enjoyed this place. The innkeepers did everything they could to make our stay as relaxing as possible. The beds were so comfortable we slept like babies. Our party had both rooms in the bed & breakfast. The food was very good with a nice variety each day (fruit salad, breads, bacon/sausage, eggs, potatoes, that sort of thing). The place from top to bottom was as clean as could be. This is really a well taken care of bed and breakfast where the innkeepers care about everything, especially you.


Kellog Homestead is the place to stay in the 5 College Area

4,8 su giugno 29, 2012

Great rooms, friendly hosts, good breakfast ... what more could you ask? It's a short walk to Amherst College and a short drive to the other colleges on a tree-lined street with views of the Holyoke Range. I enjoyed sitting under the tall trees.


Homely beautiful place!

4,2 su giugno 27, 2012

Beautiful place, very comfortable bed and great breakfast.


Everything about Horace Kellogg Homestead is wonderful.

5 su giugno 15, 2012

The hosts are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is superb. Furnishings are lovely. Easy walk to downtown Amherst; short drive to Northampton.


Wonderful Stay!

5 su giugno 13, 2012

We stayed overnight in order to attend a wedding nearby, our hosts were extremely gracious and accomodating. We ended up adding one more person to our room last minute, Susan and Stephen were both very accomodating. When we returned from the wedding late that night we managed to get locked out. we rang the doorbell waking both Susan and Stephen up in the middle of the night, we were extremely apologetic and they were nothing but gracious welcoming hosts. The rooms are clean and beautiful, the inn is situated in an ideal location within walking distance to the town of Amherst. The price is unbeatable for the area especially considering what you get in return. In the morning there was a wonderful breakfast awaiting us, we will definitely be back!


Nice B&B good value

4,2 su giugno 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. Susan and Stephen were very personable and helpful hosts, and Stephen made a delicious plentiful breakfast. Before my stay I was aware that there were not private bathrooms, but wished I had one once I was there. Very nice place, very good location and a good deal. I came from the country so hearing cars on the road during the night was not quiet for me. But for someone coming from the city, it would be very quiet.


A night at the Horace Kellogg Homestead

5 su maggio 16, 2012

We recently stayed at the Horace Kellogg Homestead for our daughter's graduation. The rooms were very clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. We stayed in the Judge's Room, which we liked very much and would definitely rebook if we were in the area. The bed was very comfortable. The service was excellent as was the breakfast. Susan and Stephen made us feel right at home. I have nothing but the highest praise for the Horace Kellogg Homestead and Susan and Stephen. I've already reocommended staying there to several friends.


Pleasant Stay

4,6 su marzo 30, 2012

We were on a college tour of Hampshire and the other 5 college circle. Susan and her husband welcomed us in; Stephen carried our bags up the narrow stairs. The rooms were well-appointed, and my daughter and I were able to share a double bed. We had to get up early, to move on to points in Northwest New York, and Stephen got up early to make our breakfast. B. Tooley


Convenient and delightful

3,6 su gennaio 14, 2012

A wonderful, relaxing place to stay. I'd recommend it...


Large rooms, nice fire, but less than great service mid-week

3,0 su gennaio 09, 2012

The rooms here are huge, much bigger than many B&Bs, and we loved that. We also enjoyed sitting by the fire in the living room. The sitting space is shared with the family who owns the B&B, so that can be awkward. Both days we were there, the owner left us breakfast but went out, and the breakfasts were okay but not fantastic. We thought the food might have been better if they had been there to cook when we got up, and we thought it a bit odd to own a B&B and not plan to be there in the morning.


Great B&B!

4,6 su gennaio 04, 2012

Susan and Steve were wonderful hosts for our relaxing weekend in Amherst! The room was lovely and the breakfasts delicious. Would definitely recommend and will be going back.


Lovely way to spend a night in Western Mass.

3,8 su dicembre 21, 2011

The house itself is great...close to downtown, easy to find, and an ideal spot for setting off into Amherst, Northampton, and all the other wonderful little towns in this college-centric area of New England. The owners are gracious and friendly. A couple small drawbacks: the musty smell that greets you when you first walk in through the garage area (fortunately, this doesn't last once you cross the threshold into the main house); and the sound of the old-fashioned boiler as water flows through the pipes in the morning (enough to ruin the restfulness for a light sleeper like myself, though this is probably only relevant in one of the two rooms, and then only during the colder months). Overall, a pleasant, reasonably-priced stay in a picturesque setting...which is itself contained in a postcard-perfect town.


Wonderful Amherst B&B

4,0 su novembre 30, 2011

Steve, our host, was awfully nice and a great cook! We would happily stay again!


It was very nice. Thank you.

4,2 su novembre 25, 2011

My only complaint is that my orange juice glass was too small. It was a little hot upstairs. But otherwise, it was fantastic. Highly recommended. Thank you.


Haven after the storm

5 su novembre 19, 2011

We arrived just after the snow storm and there was still no electricity, but Susan and Stephen were truly wonderful and we had a very cosy stay (candles for light and atmosphere, generator for warm water, and a fire for heat). The breakfasts were like feasts, even without electricity - Susan is a marvel. Thank you!


A lovely place

3,8 su novembre 18, 2011

My experience at the Horace Kellogg Homestead, while brief, was delightful. The room was lovely and clean, and the hosts very gracious.


A quiet retreat

3,4 su novembre 02, 2011

We had a very nice stay at the Horace Kellogg Homestead B&B. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and I wanted to find a nice quiet B&B with a history. The house was nicely decorated and very quiet. I loved the Finches in the kitchen. It reminded me of our first B&B in England. The bed was very comfortable and Susan and Steve were very nice! We would surely stay there again.


Perfect accomodations for a college tour

4,2 su novembre 01, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in The Judges room while touring colleges in the Amherst area. The room was lovely, the hosts were delightful, the breakfast was beautifully served, and the location was convenient to the town of Amherst and Hampshire College. We hope to return!


An Amazing Stay

5 su ottobre 11, 2011

Every aspect of our stay greatly exceeded our expectations. The value of our stay was just the starting point. The experience in the home felt authentic and cozy and the the innkeepers were absolutely wonderful and gracious. We stayed in the Judge's room which was immaculate and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was far better than any we would have found at any restaurant in the area. This is what a bed and breakfast experience should feel like.


Lovely hosts, convenient and charming

4,6 su settembre 17, 2011

Our room was spacious and charming, the hosts were lovely, breakfast was delicious. Incredibly convenient location for visiting Amherst or Hampshire. If my daughter ends up at Hampshire, I will definitely be a repeat customer!


A comfortable, stay in a beautiful old house.

5 su settembre 12, 2011

We love the Kellogg Homestead and the friendly owners, Stephen and Susan. We'll be back many times!


Home-away-from-home

5 su settembre 06, 2011

I just brought my 17 year-old to UMass, the Inn will be our home away from home for the next four years. When I come to visit I am sure she will join me -- she loves the comfy beds.


August 2011 3 night visit

5 su agosto 27, 2011

The hosts (Sue and Steve)are so warm and gracious. They pay special attention to the individual needs of guests. My 17 yo son was with me and they took special interest in providing a hearty breakfast for him as well having it ready at the time we needed. Their home is peaceful in a relaxing setting and yet very convenient to town and sight-seeing. This is our second year to stay and look forward to future visits!


Excellent Value for the Money

4,6 su agosto 18, 2011

Susan and Steve were wonderful hosts. Very helpful about things to do and see in the area. The breakfasts were great.


Reunion stay

4,6 su agosto 08, 2011

We stayed at the Homestead B&B in July and were very pleased with the accomodations. As advertised, the breakfasts were outstanding, the hosts very accomodating, and the location perfect for our needs. Especially good if your sharing the visit with friends or family because of the shared bath.


Very nice hotel

4,2 su agosto 08, 2011

Very comfortable and attractive room. Hosts were gracious and accommodating. Extremely convenient. Excellent value.


Lovely stay!

5 su agosto 04, 2011

We stayed at the Horace Kellogg Homestead for just one night, but we'll definitely be back for another visit. It's very close to downtown Amherst (walking distance), so it's a great location. We stayed in the Judge's room, which was spacious and comfortable. Everything is clean, beautifully decorated and makes you feel instantly at home.


Amherst Homestead B & B

4,0 su luglio 25, 2011

This is what a b & b should be! Stayed in the Judge's room. I thought that the shared bath was going to be a big problem but it really wasn't. One of those most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, and those pillows! Terrific value and definitely recommend.


Wonderful stay

3,8 su luglio 22, 2011

The hosts were gracious, the rooms clean, and the experience very enjoyable.


A wonderful place to stay near Amherst

4,8 su luglio 20, 2011

We were there while visiting Hamshire College, but it would be incredibly convenient to several of the other Amherst schools and the historic and outdoor activities as well. Our hosts were extremely friendly without being overpowering. The room was large and comfortable, and the breakfast was very nice. There's a nature center a block or two away, with several trails leaving from there. I took a nice walk that evening through the local woods without having to drive anywhere.


Great stay

5 su luglio 14, 2011

Our stay was GREAT. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful. Sue and Steve are perfect hosts! Dick and Carolyn Schmidt, Mesa, AZ


very nice experience!

4,2 su giugno 06, 2011

We (my husband, our little 9 months girl and I) very much enjoyed our stay at Horace Kellogg Homestead B&B. Very quite place, extremely clean, fancy bed rooms and delicious breakfast. The owners are friendly and super nice people (Thank you!). They like to socialize with their guests and they keep the place very homey. The B&B is walking distance to Amherst center and on bus rout. We will definitely stay there next time we visit Amherst.


Enjoyable Stay

5 su maggio 17, 2011

My husband and I travelled to Amherst to search for a place to live and stayed at the Horace Kellogg B&B for four evenings. We had a wonderful stay. The room was perfect with a comfortable bed and lovely quilt. At first I was concerned about sharing a bathroom, but realized that it was the norm in this part of the country. The bathroom was spotless and kept very clean and sharing posed no issues at all. We spent long days driving around Western Mass exploring different areas and we always left the house with tons of energy from a delicious breakfast and returned to a quiet place to relax, watch tv or surf the net for more houses to rent. Susan and Steve are excellent hosts and gave us great information about the area, including tips on living in Massachusetts (we're moving from Florida). We would highly recommend this property.


Rooms at the Kellogg Homestead

5 su maggio 16, 2011

We were more than pleased with our stay at the Kellogg Homestead. We reserved both of their rooms as we were attending a graduation at UMass. My son (the graduate) and daughter-in-law took the other room. We were so happy to find this B & B because all the other lodging in the area were gouging folks who were attending ceremonies at the local colleges/university. The hospitality given by Susan and Steve was outstanding. It really was like you were in your home. They were very accommodating to our schedule and this was very much appreciated. We would recommend the Horace Kellogg Homestead to anyone who finds themselves in the area, and are looking forward to returning sometime, perhaps in the autumn, when the scenery would be spectacular.


Beautiful Surroundings, Very Nice B&B

3,8 su maggio 13, 2011

- The natural surroundings are superb - The house is cozy, very clean and has very good quality inner and outside environments - The hosts are warm, gentle and very kind - The breakfast is different every day and hearty


Comfy

3,4 su aprile 14, 2011

Clean, homey. Room somewhat noisy both from traffic and thin walls. Hosts, especially Susan, were incredibly nice and laid back. Felt like we could make ourselves at home. Excellent location.


Worth it.

3,4 su marzo 20, 2011

The room was great except it was REALLY hot. We had the windows open in February. Also it was right on a main road so there was some noise from the traffic. It didn't bother me but I thought it was worth mentioning. Breakfast was great and the hosts were very friendly and helpful.


A home with style ambiance and comfort

4,0 su febbraio 26, 2011

We stayed two nights and enjoyed it completely. Meeting and chatting with Susan and Stephen was a pleasure. Eggs Benedict and fruit salad were a treat.


Lovely

4,0 su febbraio 16, 2011

spotlessly clean, charming host and hostess, delightful breakfast, will go back every time we visit Amherst.


Comfortable, homey and clean.

5 su novembre 24, 2010

Comfortable, homey room in a relaxed atmosphere. Really appreciated the fire, the cleanliness and the delicious breakfast. Great value. Can't believe we were staying at the Comfort Inn when we were visiting our son!


Pretty Nice

3,0 su novembre 21, 2010

The house was charming and the hosts were very friendly. No in-room/bed service, though. We chose a bnb for the extra rooms to sit and relax, but while we were there, the hosts' kids & friends were visiting and their family took over the house. We wish we could have used the living/dining room in the evenings to make phone calls, read, watch tv, etc., but felt stuck in our bedroom instead. But, the price was really reasonable.


Horace Kellogg B&B Review

4,6 su novembre 15, 2010

We recently stayed at the lovely and intimate Horace Kellogg B&B in Amherst, MA. We couldn't have been more pleased with the ambiance, the comfort and the general feel of the place. We felt as if we were home. Susan was a delight and her breakfasts were a real treat. I would highly recommend the Horace Kellogg. The ease of its proximity to get to town, the five colleges and everything else Amherst has to offer make it an unexpected treat!


What a gem!

5 su novembre 13, 2010

The rooms are spacious,clean and comfy. The room did face the road but after 10ish the traffic slows down. The earplugs were a help. Comparing the rates with other B&B's, hotels and motels, it was a great value.


Tired Hampshire Mom

3,4 su novembre 11, 2010

After a long day at a college open house, it was nice to take a warm shower and snuggle into a cozy comfy bed. It's right up the road from several colleges, easy to get to. Plenty of room...all the basics. Please note , this house is right on the road so there IS trafic noise.......with each passing car. Ear plugs in the room would be a plus. Never met Susan. Stephen was rather quiet.......said good morning, brought me some french toast, answered a question or two and that was about it. It was fine with me, as I was just there for about 10 hours to rest ! All in all a good experience and I would certainly stay there again....and probably will!


a perfect place to stay when visiting Amherst

5 su novembre 08, 2010

enjoyed a warm and comfortable stay in the Judge's Room while visiting our daughter at college; during our delicious breakfast of French toast we were serenaded by Paula on the piano; Steve and Susan are very gracious hosts


Very comfortable night at Horace Kellogg Homestead

4,6 su novembre 08, 2010

The location, within walking distance of Amherst College, and the quiet attractiveness of this beautifully renovated historic (1828) home make it a great choice for visitors to the Five-College area. The two comfortable and tastefully furnished guestrooms share a spacious and well-appointed bath down the hall. Breakfast in the lovely large dining room was delicious!


A good place to stay

3,8 su ottobre 25, 2010

Very welcoming on arrival. Interesting dwelling. Good location. Choice of good breakfasts.


Comfortable B & B

3,8 su agosto 09, 2010

Our room was large and very comfortable. The only negative is that the house is on a very busy street and our room (as is the other available room) is at the front facing the street, so there was a lot of road noise late into the evening, and starting fairly early in the morning. We stayed in the summer, and did have the windows open, so this might not be a factor if the windows are shut.


Horace Kellogg Homestead Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $95 - $95
  • Recensioni (114) 4,5
  • Camere 2

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 4132534988

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina