Ursuline Guest House Recensioni

Globalmente
3,7

Più info

  • Camera3,4
  • Servizi4,1
  • Valore3,9
  • Pulizia3,7
  • Cibo3,6

Valore della struttura
57 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Full of character(s) review by ex-pat New Orleanian

3,8 su marzo 07, 2012

This "Quaint Queen of Antiquity" (their description) fits the bill. The rooms are furnished in 'early eclectic'. The bed is comfortable, the plumbing is quirky. This place is everything you expect in a (almost) 200 year old house. The staff is lead by the vice president of customer relations, a 20 lb rescued maltese named Lady who ensured our every request was met. Located a half block off Bourbon about 6 blocks past the 'paryty zone'. So it's close enough to enjoy but far enough away that you're not plagued by passing drunks all night. Convenient to the French Market, etc. Walking distance to evrything. Parking is a challenge but thats just the Quarter. Wine & Cheese each night, coffee & danish in the morning. Must have breakfast at the Clover Grill about 2 blocks up Bourbon at least once. If you like luxury, chain hotels this is not your place; but if you have an adventurous, bohemian bent you'll love it.


An Amazing Place!!!

4,2 su ottobre 21, 2011

I go to New Orleans often and this has been my favorite place to stay by far! The staff were so nice and friendly. The location could not have been more perfect! My most recent trip has been, hands down, the best trip so far and we owe a lot of that to the Ursuline Guest House. We will only stay here from now on!!! Thank you!!


Good, convenient place

4,0 su settembre 19, 2011

I had a great stay here during Southern Decadence. It's in a great location, close to the bars and other sites and activities in the French Quarter. The managers/owners are very accommodating and friendly. It worked out great for me.


Ursuline Guest House, New Orleans

4,2 su agosto 17, 2011

Ursuline Guest House in a word; Perfect. Loved the age of the building - squeaks in floors, exposed pipes in bathroom, patches of brick showing through. Beautiful. The location was fabulous. Close enough to everything 'French Quarter' but tucked off to the side so it was nice and quiet. The people of Ursuline were just as fantastic. Very accommodating. There was always someone there to point me in the right direction in the mornings and in the evenings during the wine and cheese hour, someone who was genuinely interested to know how my day went. I loved being there and wouldn't change a moment of it. I'm looking forward to my next adventure to NOLA and will not stay anywhere else. ~Shay. Canada~


A nice guest house, but it's very dirty

4,0 su luglio 28, 2011

These folks are really lovely and laid back and the guest house is pretty from the outside and located in a great central part of the French Quarter and dog-friendly. They were welcoming and obviously put care into the spot -- offering wine and a little self-serve breakfast. But it was simply way too dirty and run-down. We changed rooms at first because the first room had mystery stains on the bed, as well as a shower without a grate and some hair. Our second room was nicer, in the sense that everything is relative. But there was still a stain on our sheet (I believe they had been washed but that the stain endured) and you could not turn on the sink hot water in the bathroom, as the faucet knob had been removed. The people running the place were as accommodating as possible, but nothing can change the fact that this inn needs a fresh coat of paint, all-new linens, and an incredibly thorough cleaning. It's a sweet place and a nice old New Orleans building, and I think they would do a great business if they took care of these basic necessities.


Ursuline Guest House

3,6 su luglio 17, 2011

Very friendly place to stay in the heart of the French Quarter. Within minutes of the Riverwalk, Cafe du Monde, Bourbon St, Frenchman St. We didn't rent a car and walked everywhere. Bill and his staff are friendly and helpful. The evening gathering for wine and cheese was really great, lots of fun conversations with other guests from all over. We had a wonderful week there.


Great and Comfortable place to stay!

4,2 su luglio 06, 2011

The place was very clean and neat. I stayed in room 6. The staff was very accomodating and friendly and the deli across the street which works with them (on the opposite end of the block) had great food and were very friendly. The shower was small and the beds were of average comfort but that wasn't much of a problem for me. I recommend staying here because of value, great staff and location.


Great hosts, great wine and cheese, great value

4,0 su luglio 04, 2011

I loved staying here! This is really one of the best values in the French Quarter, and the hosts are fantastic. It's not a large, corporate chain hotel, and this is an older house, so if you're looking for perfectly new and sterile accommodations this is not the place for you. However, the rooms and showers are perfectly clean, and the room was actually much larger than I anticipated. Plus the wine and cheese hour was really fun. This is ideally placed between the French Quarter and the Marigny - I can't recommend this place highly enough.


Upgrades, inexpensive, friendly--o my!

4,0 su giugno 27, 2011

I had a very positive stay at the Ursuline Guesthouse! I was supposed to stay in a cheap room, but due to high vacancy, they upgraded me to a bigger and nicer room--no questions asked! The staff was extremely knowledgeable with directions and recommendations. I felt so welcome because of little touches like the wine and cheese hour and great morning coffee! Def stay here if you are looking for a great location, friendly and accommodating staff and fun times!


Fun place to stay with lively host(s)

4,8 su giugno 24, 2011

My sister & I were in town to celebrate my birthday and at first I was apprehensive of staying somewhere so small, since I knew we were in New Orleans to party... But Bill and his krewe were AWESOME!! The first evening we were there we had our wine & cheese social with a rowdy group from Arkansas and a sweet couple from California (who had stayed there many times before). The social turned into a jam session with a guitar, Bill broke out his washboard, and someone turned up with a bucket full of spoons & forks for us to beat on things. I know this sounds juvenile, but it was an absolute blast! Everyone was very helpful in sending my sister & I to the most adventurous places to explore and eat. The room was small, but clean and completely adequate for what we wanted- simply beds, a small shower, and a tv that got a few channels (we weren't there for the cable!). The location was awesome too! Just a few blocks from Frenchman St and super close to Bourbon St. There were all kinds of bars & restaurants & shopping within 3 blocks of our front door. When I go back to New Orleans I will definitely look at the Urseline Guest House for a place to stay again!!


Fantastic time at the Ursuline Guest House

4,4 su giugno 17, 2011

Had a great time at Ursuline. The staff was friendly and courtesious, especally Marlon who gave us a ton of pointers on where the best places to eat and drink on a budget were. The AC was cold and the shower was great, we had room #5 and the bed was really comfortable. A plus also is the afternoon wine and cheese and how close it is to Bourbon St. We were there for 6 days and loved every minute of it. Next time in NOLA, we will stay there again.


Like staying at a friend's place!

3,0 su giugno 14, 2011

Nothing stuffy about the Urseline! A real French Quarter living space with history, it's more like staying at a friend's place with privledges to the gate and kitchen. Nothing "Martha Stewart", just friendly people there to have a good time. The evening "wine & cheese" gives patrons a chance to meet and socialize before heading out to explore what the Quarter holds. Having lived in New Orleans for a decade, when I return I always feel like I'm coming home when I stay at the Urseline, as opposed to being a conventioneer at a corporate hotel. I'll be back next vacation, God willing!


Never again!

1,0 su giugno 08, 2011

The floor was so dirty, our feet left black marks in the tub when we got in to take a "shower". There was a hand held shower head but no shower curtain. The bed was a mattress on the floor in the "loft". This is the first B&B we have stayed in where the breakfast was serve yourself cold continental. The guests even had to make the coffee!


Relaxing, warm and friendly, I want to live there!

4,2 su giugno 03, 2011

This place can't be beat for location, rates and super friendly staff. Just got home and already rebooked my next visit there. I loved my stay, loved the courtyard and the laid back guests who stay there. If you're the persnickety, must have 4 stars type, this might not be for you. Not every thing is perfect, which to me... is so much more relaxing. Nothing is more boring than perfection. Why come to the quarter at all if you can't appreciate unique and rustic charm? As long as it's reasonably clean, fresh towels etc... I'm a happy camper. I've read some of the other reviews and frankly it's naive to think that bugs only show up in lesser quality places. It's a good idea to check but upscale 4 star places can have bugs too. It's the south, there are bugs everywhere but definitely not in my room, just sweet dreams and happy memories. Bill Rocks!


Stay at Ursuline Guest House

3,0 su maggio 31, 2011

Good value for money, small but cozy room 6B. The only comment to add-it would be good for the owners to mark the no. 6B on the door.


Not quite what I expected!

2,2 su maggio 30, 2011

The sheets and towels were very clean but everything else really needs an update. The air conditioner worked wonderfully which we were grateful for both for comfort and to drown out the noise at night in the courtyard. Bill and helper were quite nice but we after all we just slept here and did our own thing. No other remarkable features except it was handy in the French Quarter and secure.


Ursuline house

3,4 su maggio 30, 2011

Very nice historic setting. Parking was a challenge - but we were occasionally lucky to find close by street parking.


Ursuline Guest House

4,0 su maggio 27, 2011

Quaint and ancient, but everything works, a superb place to stay in the French Quarter. The inner courtyard is a great mixing place. Thanks for making my stay pleasant.


Week Away

3,8 su maggio 16, 2011

Great little place to stay located in a great neighborhood. Close to everything, but far enough away from the noise. Would definitely stay here again!


Sweet Spot

4,0 su maggio 12, 2011

The wife and I enjoyed our stay here over a 2011 Jazz Fest weekend. The room was a lot better than we expected as we were prepared to rough it. The coffee room off the courtyard is a treat that saves you a trip to a store or restaurant first thing. Bill (the owner?) will happily give you advice on how to spend your day or evening if you happen to catch him. Our main mission every day was the festival. We would love to go back here some time with no plans in particular and just wing it. I can say: Close but not to close to Lafitte's pub. Also the Port O Call cheeseburgers are fairly near. We also hit a nice late night snack spot called Royal Street Deli, which is more of a hipster bar with really good food, salads, apps, roast beef poboys, etc. Bon Ton!


Guest House Stay

5 su aprile 29, 2011

Rooms were clean, this was a great value for the location. Staff was very friendly and attended to any need. Even a late check in and helping us get into our room after locking ourself out! I will return! Thanks for a great stay!


Great Place for the $$

3,6 su aprile 27, 2011

The place was perfect for exploring the French Quarter. Nothing extravagant and the staff was friendly enough. We will definitely stay again.


Delighted

3,8 su aprile 10, 2011

A charming little place in the quarter. I would be very willing to stay there again, and have recommended it to my colleagues. Although I spent most of my day away traveling and visiting with colleagues, I was very pleased with the quietness and atmosphere.


My favorite place to stay in the Quarter

5 su aprile 07, 2011

I grew up in New Orleans, lived in the French Quarter for a year in the 80s, and have stayed in various places in New Orleans when visiting. Ursulines Guest House is by far my favorite for a taste of the old, real New Orleans and just a comfortable convenient spot to spend time in the French Quarter.


True New Orleans Experience

5 su aprile 07, 2011

The Ursuline guest house give you the true New Orleans feel. Older ornate structure, courtyard, balcony, etc. Bill is an excellent host and our group had a great time. Don't miss the wine and cheese hour every evening - a great chance to unwind and meet other guests from all over the world. We would stay here again without a doubt!


We had so much fun!

3,8 su marzo 30, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Ursuline for a long weekend and had a blast. The location was great (within walking distance to all major French Quarter hot spots) but parking was difficult. We loved our room, however we would have picked a different one having known that the kitchen traffic was a bit noisy and there was limited outdoor lighting. Other than that, we were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room and other facilities. The staff is so friendly and we had a blast at wine and cheese. We met some great people from all over as well, which really enhanced our experience for us. Overall, I would absolutely recommend the Ursuline to others.


Long Weekend in New Orleans

4,0 su marzo 24, 2011

The place was charming, but it did need some updating. The courtyard was definitely the focal point of the guest house. The owner and those who worked there could not have been any nicer. A truly enjoyable experience!


Guest House

4,0 su marzo 23, 2011

Great visit! Owner and neighbors on the street were extremely friendly!


St. Patty's Day Weekend/Bachlorette Party

3,6 su marzo 23, 2011

We had a group of 7 girls stay over St.Patty's day weekend for a Bachlorette Party. We stayed in rooms #2, 7, 15, & 16. Rooms 2, 15 & 16 all were open to one another which we all loved! Room 2 has a dinning table with seating for 4 that we all used as a common area, along with a mini kitchen. The courtyard is open & inviting, and with a hot tub it made our stay even more enjoyable! The staff is nice & accomidating, and the guy who cleaned our rooms is really good looking. If you are high maintenance or consider yorself above others you will not enjoy this Guest House. The whole environment makes you feel at home. If you are easy going and there to have fun & take in the ambiance of New Orleans then this is the place for you! I will absolutly be staying there again, our entire party loved-loved-loved the Guest House! Being able to stay in old "Slave Quaters" was beyond exciting...you can feel the history throughout the Guest House. The location is unbeatable, a few blocks from Burbon Street & The French Market. There is also a cute/freindly little dog named "Lady" that we all loved! She made our stay that much more like home:) Except for one guest who told us to "Keep It Down" at 2am Friday night while we were in the Hot Tub, the entire stay was amazing. If you are gonna stay in the French Quater you have no buisness telling someone to "keep it down"...take your ass to the Holiday Inn if you want peace & quite!


Love this place and will stay here again!!!

4,2 su marzo 09, 2011

My best friend and I came here to stay for the first weekend of Mardi Gras this year and had so much fun. The room was #10 we stayed in and it felt like you were staying at your Grandma's! Loved the originality of the building, the ambience in the courtyard, the personalities we met while staying there!!! Got to see Bill play down at the Krazy Korner and he was awesome. The beds felt like you were at home. My only complaint was the hot water never really got hot but that's ok!! We didn't want to move from our room! Bill plays the spoons but he also has a washboard he can play too! Stay here! You'll love it! Can't wait to come back!


Wonderful Time at Ursuline House....will come back again!

4,6 su marzo 03, 2011

It was the first time in New Orleans for my husband and I. We absolutley loved the Ursuline House. The location is perfect. In the French Quarter but a little away from crazy Bourban Street. It was cozy and authentic. The service (staff, owner) went above and beyond what you would get anywhere else. They were very knowledgable and strived to give us the best experience possible. I was sad to go. We felt as though we made connections, it wasn't just another place to stay. We got a better feel for the people and culture, you wouldn't get that anywhere else. We can't wait to come back to New Orleans and we WILL be staying at Ursuline House again!.


Ursuline Guest House

3,4 su febbraio 24, 2011

Great location, nice folks, parking situation not great if planing day trips.


Can't wait to return!

4,0 su febbraio 24, 2011

Stayed in Room 16, which opens onto the street. It's definitely noisier than many people might like and I want to give a courtyard room a try next time I visit but we did hear a lot of amusing chit-chat from passers-by! Didn't partake of the breakfast (or wine-and-cheese hour, unfortunately) so can't speak to the food this time. But the room was spacious with lots of room for our stuff and the bed was comfortable. The best part about Ursuline is the location; right in the Quarter and convenient to Frenchman Street and Marigny. We walked everywhere and had the time of our lives. Can't wait to come back!


A Night in the French Quarter

3,8 su febbraio 24, 2011

The Ursuline is a clean and great location to stay in the French Quarter in New Orleans. Located between Royal and Bourbon Streets near the French Market, it is a great jumping off spot for exploring the French Quarter. The hosts are friendly and helpful and the 180 year old building is interesting. My wife and I enjoyed the wine and cheese and the local nightlife. Enjoy!


Not worth it, even for the location

1,4 su febbraio 21, 2011

My standards are not super high, but this place was pretty gross. I was thinking of renting it out for an upcoming event I am hosting, as the website makes it look pretty nice, so I wanted to check it out. Thank God I did, I would have been mortified to invite people there. We paid $150 a night for the "nice" room, which by the way was supposed to have a bed and futon in it but had only the bed. The only thing nice about it was the TV, which looked new. Everything else was very old and dirty. I expected old, but dirty is not acceptable. We did not see any wine & cheese (except dirty glasses, overflowing ashtrays, and cheese left in the courtyard all night that was there in the morning....very appetizing as we headed to the breakfast). The breakfast: there was one dusty apple in a basket and a package of Otis Spunkmeyer muffins, so we opted for the individually wrapped muffins. We never saw either owner the whole weekend we were there. Great location but there are plenty of other choices right in the area. It basically reminded me of a glorified youth hostel where just the bare minimums are met. It seems like they just sort of leave it to run itself and hope you don't need anything. Would have been worth it for about $70 a night, but definitely not for $150.


Not like the photos.

2,0 su febbraio 08, 2011

Very disappointed. Early winter booked a room overlooking courtyard, checked in were taken to small back room, when I said something I was told room booked was unavailable because someone had been sick in it - given a discount on 2nd room - my husband said to take it, still not talking to him. Nothing like the photos. Would not recommend the place.


Ursuline guest house

3,8 su gennaio 19, 2011

Great value. Very friendly owner and staff; loved wine and cheese hour. My only complaint is the shower liner really needed to be changed because it was so dirty. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.


For the price, it's a nice place

3,4 su gennaio 09, 2011

If you're used a five star hotel, this isn't for you. But you want a charming b&b in a great location for a very reasonable price, then stay at Ursaline. I stayed in the cheapest room, and while it wasn't the most luxurious, it was clean but could use some updating. The bathroom was cramped too, and the smell of the neighbor's cigarette came right through under our shared door. I could also hear just about everyone around me. The wine and cheese everynight is great, though, and it's a few easy blocks to all the action. I loved the courtyard and hottub, and overall, I'd definitely stay again.


Best Home Away from Home in the French Quarter

4,4 su gennaio 03, 2011

Ursuline is not the Ritz, but it is full of New Orleans charm, enjoys a perfect location, and offers the most / best hospitality imaginable.


Great Value and Friendly Staff - Wine Hour is Great!

3,4 su dicembre 28, 2010

Our stay at the Ursuline Guest House turned out better than expected. We stayed for one night in the smallest "budget" room but the size was fine (fit a king bed, desk, dresser, and armoire with space to spare). The bathroom was clean and we were provided with shampoo/conditioner, soap, lotion, etc. The room itself was alright. It had a working TV, an A/C window unit, and a large space heater. The bed and sheets weren't the most comfortable or clean, but it's about right for the price, or for a short stay. The best part was the happy hour where the owners provided wine and cheese for the guests-- great for meeting others, getting recommendations, and learning about the history of New Orleans.


Charming B&B in the heart of the Quarter

4,0 su dicembre 19, 2010

The place is very charming and right in the heart of the French Quarter. This place is in walking distance to the market, bourbon street, even canal street if you don't mind a short stroll. We walked to the House of Blues and back and never felt unsafe and any point. Our room was very cute and we loved the French Doors to the courtyard ( very New Orleans). Wine and cheese hr is a must Bill is great!! Will visit the Ursuline Guest House again!


Best place in the French Quarter

4,6 su dicembre 01, 2010

The Ursulines Guest house is located in the heart of the French quarter convenient to everything from the FrenchMarket to Bourbon Street. The rooms were clean, comfortable, very relaxing, and well appointed and reasonably priced. Shauna and Bill were the greatest hosts ever! When I go back to New Orleans, Ursulines Guest house will be my first choice.


It was ok for the price & location

2,6 su novembre 29, 2010

We stayed here as a group. The people were very nice & courteous. However this is not the type of place we are used to staying in. This was a guest house not a Bed & Breakfast. The rooms were all former slave quarters, so they are very old but clean. The bathrooms & showers need major updating. At least it had hot water since it was soo cold that week. The power went out one night making it so inconvienent not to mention scary to be there at night. It was a neat experience but We would never stay there again.


This place is a dump

1,2 su novembre 25, 2010

We were very disappointed in our stay at the Ursuline Guest house and would not recommend it to anyone else. In fact, I am surprised you would include it on your web site. When was the last time health inspectors were there? it was extremely dirty and unpleasant. The so-called "cheese and wine" hour consisted of a pile of orange chunks of cheese dumped on a plate and left overnight right next to cans of Raid and Off. The linens looked suspect and most egregious of all, there was a boil water order while we were in New Orleans and the B&B owner, Bill, did not let any of us know about it. We learned of it when we went to the hotel the next morning for our conference and there were signs posted everywhere and bottled water was being made available to all guests. Even when we got home that night to the Ursuline, after there had been quite a bit of publicity, there was no notice posted for guests and there were no bottles of water. We had brushed our teeth and taken showers before we learned about this so have been waiting anxiously to make sure we have no symptoms of e coli which can take up to 10 days to develop. I think you should strongly reconsider advertising this place. It's not even that inexpensive-- friends of ours found alternative accommodations that were less expensive and were CLEAN.


Not bad for the value

3,4 su novembre 17, 2010

The room was cozy. Felt like the floor was going to give way. Great location. Nice owners. Small courtyard. We did'nt get to try the wine and cheese due to my schedule. If your in town for a weekend visit, this is a neat little place to stay.


The comfort of home.

3,2 su novembre 15, 2010

My husband and stayed at Ursuline Guest House during Halloween weekend. We had an absolute terrific stay. This is a very old building so do not go if your looking for something new or if your looking to be catered too.You are basicly on your own. You come and go as you please ,you don't have maid service that comes in your room everyday to clean it and give you towels.If you want towels ask for them.If you want a clean room clean it yourself. The owners are down to earth people who love to party and have a good time. Just like my husband and I. We very much enjoyed the wine and cheese every night. One night when we got back for partying on Bourbon St they still had half a bottle of wine left on the patio table, we took it and brought it up to our room and drank it, after that we were checking the bottles every night looking for left over wine. lol. The only complaint that I have is the bed. We stayed in room 11 and that bed was horriable it was lopsided and very uncomfortable. Other than that I have no complaints. I will stay there again but not in that room. Oh and by the way we were having such a great stay that we booked the room for an extra night so we stayed 4 nights.


do not stay in the loft

3,0 su novembre 05, 2010

Do not stay in the loft room on holidays as it is on the street and very very nosisely. Changed rooms on our last night there and the #2 room is excellent


great vibe

3,6 su ottobre 31, 2010

Owners have created a great community...afternoon wine and cheese while visiting with other guests. Good location in the quarter.


our experience was great!

4,6 su ottobre 22, 2010

we couldn't believe how friendly and helpful everyone was. We woke up each morning to the sound of birds chirping and fountains from the courtyard, beautiful!! We are coming back to Ursuline Guest House.


Checked out after one night

2,4 su ottobre 06, 2010

The other rooms may be nice but this one (#16) was not. The air was so low I could not relax. The only vent coming into the room blasted frigid air 4 inches above my head on the pillow. We called as soon as we checked in and received no response. Upon checking out they told me that it is cooled by the main house and they couldn't do anything about it. You had to sit in the shower to use it as there was no shower curtain and water would go everywhere otherwise. There was visible proof that the sink was not clean. We could hear Bill in the office speak at his normal conversation level as if he were in the room with us. Forget privacy or having any fun in the room. Location is good. They didn't try to make us pay for the rest of the stay we booked, but did charge us full price for the first night. I will not try this place again.


Great place to call home while in the French Quarter!

5 su ottobre 03, 2010

Most wonderful guesthouse I have ever stayed at. It is conveniently located and has the best services and staff out there.


Good Value

3,8 su settembre 29, 2010

I very much enjoyed my stay - - GREAT owners - very nice - attempted to help me enjoy my vacation by suggesting local places. Would stay again.


frequent flier

4,6 su settembre 15, 2010

This is a great place to stay at the quarter. The staff is super friendly and it feels like home. All the furniture and the place is OLD, and this is part of its charm, so don't expect any new stuff. It is worth the money.


Great place to stay

3,8 su settembre 09, 2010

Great, charming place. Room 16 is great if you're an early riser, but it's right on the street if you want to sleep in (traffic). Second time staying here, I'll be back!!


like family.

5 su agosto 06, 2010

imagine driving a '51 ford with no windshield wipers from chicago to new orleans while 700 of 1000 miles it rained with flash flood warnings. all the while getting phone calls making sure we are okay and when we get there they welcome us with a southern motherly calmness that washed everything away. AND THEN when the car did start on the day we were suppose to leave they let us stay for a night free. they are truly and example of southern hospitality.


ok

3,0 su maggio 19, 2010

This place is in a GREAT location and the staff are friendly and helpful, but the place itself is a little dumpy, particularly the bathrooms.


Review from frequent B&B users.

4,0 su aprile 10, 2009

The hosts are great and very accommodating. The location is superb if you like the activities and excitement of the French Quarter. The wine & cheese happy hour (which goes on all evening) is a lot of fun!!! The whole place is very homey, quaint, and friendly.


Ursuline Guest House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $100 - $239
  • Recensioni (57) 3,7
  • Camere 15

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5045258509
  • Numero di Fax 1-5045258408
  • Gratuito 1-8006542351
Inizio pagina