The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,3

Più info

  • Camera4,2
  • Servizi4,5
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,3
  • Cibo3,9

Valore della struttura
172 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

"The Burgundy" made my trip to New Orleans!

5 su ottobre 13, 2014

Carl was an excellent host, coordinating transportation from the airport, advising my cousin and I on restaurants, and making all his guests feel welcome. He serves a generous breakfast with REAL Louisiana coffee! We were able to linger over breakfast chatting with the other guests, which was fun and relaxing. We stayed in the blue room, which is great if you need two beds. Carl allowed me to leave my luggage after check-out time, which was very convenient.The house is very authentic and safe, and only about a mile on foot from the waterfront area. However, staying in the neighborhood, in my opinion, is much better than being in the tourist area! This is the best trip to New Orleans I have had!


One night stay

3,4 su ottobre 13, 2014

Charming, welcoming and close to the downtown.


Great location and lovely place to stay

4,4 su ottobre 06, 2014

The location is near Frenchman street which is so much better to go out for dinner and drinks than bourbon. Carl the innkeeper is lovely and rooms were very clean. Would stay there again.


Great time in Burgundy

3,4 su agosto 25, 2014

We were very happy to be there with Carl and people we met from Canada, Italy, France and Japan. We had a great time and the area is outstanding. Thank you Carl !


Un tres bon sejour !

4,0 su agosto 20, 2014

Carl assure un accueille et une assistance parfaite. Très bon emplacement au calme. Proche du French quarter – Vieux carré. Je recommande sans hésiter cet établissement. Raphael.


A wonderful stay!

4,2 su luglio 09, 2014

I was incredibly pleased with my stay at the Burgundy B&B. Carl was a wonderful host throughout my five day stay. He let me know where to go and provided me with all sorts of helpful suggestions for places to eat and things to see. The B&B was a quaint house in the Marigny neighbourhood (which turned out to be my favourite neighbourhood in New Orleans; after spending two full days in the French Quarter, the remainder of my time was spent in the Marigny/Bywater neighbourhoods). It was about a 15 minute walk to the Quarter, but far enough away to get away from the crowds. I stayed in the blue room just off the breakfast area. At first, I was worried about noise particularly for such an old house. But, to my surprise, the noise (coming into my room) was rather minimal. Although I heard people where having breakfast (served 8 till 10am or so), I heard nothing at night even when people wandered in and out of the house (for most of the time, I assumed I was completely alone as it was so quite in my room). Carl later, let me know, that during the transformation of the house to a B&B, the walls where sound proofed. Each room had their own ensuite. Mine was clean and came with towels and toiletries. The blue room could have comfortably fit three people (there was one queen size bed and one single). All in all a satisfied stay. Carl was the best and I would gladly book accommodations again at the Burgundy.


Great stay in New Orleans

5 su giugno 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay with Carl at The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast. Very comfortable bed and bedroom/bathroom. Wonderful to have a nice sitting area and small kitchen for guest use. Also lovely patio and back garden with spa pool. Carl was so helpful in places to visit and great restaurants, also where to go to listen to all the great music that New Orleans is famous for.


a charming shotgun double in NOLA

3,2 su maggio 23, 2014

A pleasant stay in an authentic louisianan shotgun double. The red room is spacious and fresh. The owner proposes copious breakfasts and comes to exchange on your stay every morning. Ideal for those who look for contacts while keeping their autonomy.


Good location

2,6 su aprile 22, 2014

I was a little disappointed with The Burgundy. I thought it needed some TLC and a good clean. Otherwise it was good.


Great location in the Marigny

3,6 su aprile 20, 2014

My partner and I both loved the location of this bed and breakfast in the Marigny, a close walk to Frenchman St and the Quarter. We loved the funkiness of the neighborhood and the double shotgun that houses this B&B. Carl Smith, the innkeeper is softspoken, gential and a gentleman. The breakfast leaves ALOT to be desired-the same thing everyday-cut up melon and pineapple, cold cereal, bread, bagels, coffee and OJ. Nevertheless, we would most definitley stay there again.


Top BnB

3,4 su aprile 15, 2014

A short stay but a good one, this BnB is really nice and the service was great. I would go back and recomend the place to anyone.


Sweet spot in the Marigny

4,0 su marzo 21, 2014

My favourite NOLA B&B: cozy, quiet, yet close to everything. This was my third stay here, and it never disappoints.


Great B&B

3,6 su marzo 21, 2014

We have had a very nice time at the Burgundy B&B. Very charming house. Really close to the French Quarter, quiet neighborhood and Carl, the owner, helped us for directions or bookings (with nice discounts). I'll definitely recommend this B&B!


Great place to stay

5 su marzo 16, 2014

Great place to stay. About 20 min walk to Bourbon Street and the neighborhood is a good area. Carl had good local knowledge of the area and was more than willing to share.


Weekdays stay

3,6 su marzo 16, 2014

The Burgundy B&B is a quaint place that is well preserved. My room was large and the in room bathroom was nice too. Although a ways to walk to the French Quarter, there are pubs and places to eat nearby too. Carl was friendly and provided tips and guides for me that helped to discern where and when I should visit particular sites, bars, and restaurants.


Authentic, Comfortable, Convenient

4,8 su marzo 14, 2014

On a quiet residential street, Burgundy House is a living part of old New Orleans. Charming and comfortable, it provides a spotlessly clean, comfortable, and well-equipped place to rest, relax, and plan your trip. While located in a residential area, it is an easy walk to the French Quarter. It does not have its own parking, but we had no trouble finding a free place on the street each time. This is a place you can feel comfortable in. It is not full of elegant antiques and snooty guests. Breakfasts are varied, nutritious, and fresh but they are not gourmet cuisine (but then the French Quarter is bursting with that!). At the Burgundy House you will live as a local would. Carl is most knowledgeable, patient, and helpful with directions, suggestions and the like but he is not at all intrusive. He was most accommodating of our changeable schedule. Our fellow guests were mellow and interesting. We will return.


Had a Great Stay!

4,8 su febbraio 13, 2014

Excellent choice for a B&B. Everything was clean and cozy, and Carl was a great asset in getting oriented in the Big Easy.


Marigny

3,4 su gennaio 27, 2014

not close to French Quarter but cool neighborhood, two beds in room, flexible host


This is a real find. Locateed to the best of NOLA

4,6 su gennaio 06, 2014

I loved the Burgundy. A diamond in the rough.


great deal in French quarter

4,6 su dicembre 28, 2013

For the price of this place it is great. Everything is a short walk away or take a can from the French quarter for around seven dollars.


A great place to stay

4,0 su dicembre 17, 2013

Far from the traffic of the city, but close to the music of Frenchmen St., we found the Burgundy a great place to stay. Carl is very helpful and will do everything he can to make your stay even more enjoyable. He would sit with you for breakfast and add everything he can to the already tasty food. The B&B is about 10 mins walking distance from Frenchmen St., about 15 from the French quarter, has bus stops close and even a little supermarket (which is more than you find in the city center).


Great New Orleans Hospitality

5 su dicembre 02, 2013

Highly recommended Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Marigny. From the warm and friendly welcome through to the easy and comfortable departure, we found Carl to be a great host. We stayed in the Coral Room which was clean, comfortable and provides a decent sized bedroom (including ensuite). The breakfast was great with lots of variety provided. The neighbourhood is quiet, but has some fantastic food and drink locations nearby. Frenchman Street is only a short 10 minutes walk away, so you are near some great nightlife and entertainment. Really appreciated the great recommendations of what to do and where to go in New Orleans which Carl gave. We also highly recommend the airport pick up services of Stanley - great guy, on time and competitively priced.


A Very Nice Place

4,6 su novembre 13, 2013

Enjoyed my stay very much. Carl, the host, was easy to get along with, and the place was very pleasant. The location has the advantage of being close enough to the Quarter that you can walk without much trouble, but it's far enough west in the Marigny to be completely non-touristy. I'll go back, for sure.


Good times in the Big Easy!

4,2 su settembre 27, 2013

Great spread for breakfast...most everything within walking distance from the B&B. Host was very nice and answered all questions.


HOT Tub -Outstanding!

3,4 su settembre 25, 2013

What I like about this place that it has a hot tub so it made a big difference at the end of day after a long walk around the town.


Exceptional Service

5 su settembre 19, 2013

I was greeted when I arrived and was given a tour of the premises. It was a very clean, comfortable, and enjoyable stay. The cont breakfast had great choices and fresh items. I would stay here again.


Good location, very nice host.

5 su settembre 13, 2013

The only thing I would say is that while is okay to not rent a car and walk everywhere, we ended up doing so, as it is a long (30 min) walk to the other side of the French Quarter and we got caught in the rain once. The streets are not well maintained in NO and some places the sidewalks were non-existent. Parking around the b and b is a piece of cake.


Perfect guest house

4,6 su settembre 10, 2013

We (a couple) stayed 3 days in this bed and breakfast in July 2013 to visit the New Orleans. We really appreciated the place: warm welcome, very clean, quite, complete breakfast. Really help full host when we had any questions about the area to visit, how to go ...etc. Walk distance from down town, about 15 to 20 min in a quit area


Burgundy

4,6 su settembre 07, 2013

The right place and location for me to stay for my first visit to N.O. Attentive and caring customer service.


Burgundy Bed and Breakfast was a great B and B

4,0 su agosto 13, 2013

Excellent location Staff experience was great and very helpful. While no lunch or dinner was a part of that experience, the breakfast every morning was exceptional. We can hardly wait to return for another visit! S. P and K.


A Great hidden gem

5 su luglio 01, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Burgundy, it's a very neat neighborhood in Faubourg Marigny, Carl the Host was very helpful and friendly. We were very comfortable there. I would stay there again and highly recommend it.


Burgundy bb best place on earth!

5 su giugno 13, 2013

Carl provided a service which exceeds that of any 5 star hotel I have been to. The attention to detail was exceptionally perfect. Making this our new home away from home.


Very nice place.

4,4 su maggio 27, 2013

Stayed here 8 nights with my grown up daughter. We had a great time. Carl is a very nice and helpful host. Breakfast is great. The surroundings are really charming and very quiet. Nice restaurants and music clubs nearby. Ten minutes walk to Frenchmen Street. Perfect!


Nice & Easy

4,8 su maggio 26, 2013

The bed and breakfast was a pleasure to stay at. The breakfast was wonderful and bedrooms charming and comfortable


NOLA 2013

3,4 su maggio 21, 2013

We loved the area and it was conveniently located to the highway, Frenchman St and the Quarter. The neighborhood was amazing and so were the amenities. We would recommend the Burgundy for sure.


Good Place to Stay

3,4 su maggio 05, 2013

Quaint and close to the Quarter.


Wonderful Stay!

3,2 su maggio 03, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful 5 night stay at the Burgundy in the red room. Carl was a wonderful host, around if you needed him but kept to himself otherwise. We enjoyed breakfast every morning and loved the 9-11 time frame of it. The house was very homey and nice. Would definitely stay again!


Great place

4,4 su aprile 23, 2013

The Burgundy is a great place in a great location.


Perfect B & B

5 su aprile 09, 2013

New Orleans at its best, nice, cozy, charming. Everything was perfect.


Heart of New Orleans, without the crowds

4,2 su aprile 07, 2013

The Burgundy is in a quiet neighborhood, but still just a short walk from the music of Frenchman Street and a little farther (about 20 minutes) from the heart of the French Quarter. The rooms were neat and clean, the beds comfortable. Carl, the innkeeper, was fantastic. He never tired of my questions about the area and was always on the mark with his dining/sightseeing suggestions. He also makes the best cup of chicory coffee I had while in town!


Great place, within walking distance to French Quarter

4,4 su aprile 04, 2013

Charming, clean, in a quiet area, good breakfast, very nice and helpful innkeeper. Within ten minutes walk to Frenchmen street. Great value!!


friendly and relaxing with a gracious host-thank you

4,6 su aprile 03, 2013

garry trexler


Burgundy Bed & Breakfast

4,4 su marzo 20, 2013

Visited this lovely bed and breakfast in mid March 2013 and everything was great. The Innkeeper was very friendly and helpful in every aspect from our stay in the bed and breakfast to how to best take advantage of our time in New Orleans. It's within walking distance to the French Quarter if that is an interest. This is the first bed and breakfast I had stayed and and It was a great experience and gives you a much different experience than staying at a hotel. If i'm around this area again I will make sure to check availability of this bed and breakfast before any other location for my stay.


Don't hesitate to book a room

4,6 su marzo 19, 2013

The best possible service. Great place for my wife and me.


The Burgundy B&B

4,0 su marzo 15, 2013

A lovely B&B within walking distance of all the New Orleans French Quarter has to offer. The innkeeper was most helpful and knowledgeable and made our stay more enjoyable. We had a lovely time.


Amazing stay!

5 su febbraio 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and although it was a bit of a walk from the french quarter, it was worth it. The service was great, the owner was very pleasant and personable, and accommodations with breakfast and such were more than I thought it would be. Definitely worth staying here again.


Home away from home in New Orleans

5 su gennaio 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Burgundy and LOVED it! When we go back to New Orleans, we will definitely stay here again. Carl, the Innkeeper, was very helpful in giving ideas of things to see, restaurants to eat at and bars to check out that weren't all "touristy" which really helped to make our get-away that much more enjoyable. The accomodations were comfortable and clean and breakfast was just right for a nice start to our day. Got to relax in the hot tub and enjoy some nice walks around the BnB, which is in a fun but not crazy part of town. Recommend staying in the Red Room, as it has it's own entrance. Can't wait to go back again!


Excellent choice!

5 su gennaio 10, 2013

I had such a wonderful stay. Carl and Kem were super friendly but not in an annoying and invasive way. It is absolutely gorgeous, and I can't wait to go back! Spiro


Little Red B and B...

5 su gennaio 07, 2013

Great location and host was wonderful. Home was spotless and free breakfast was great. Hot tub in the back was also allot of fun. Lots of interesting travelers in and out but if your looking for quite that's a problem either.


Charming well located B&B.

3,2 su dicembre 31, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay in New Orleans. Walking distance (10 minutes!) from Frenchman Street where the music is, and the French Quarter. Carl is taciturn, the kind of host who is not in your face but makes sure you're OK. Couldn't be beat.


New Orleans Hospitality

4,4 su dicembre 05, 2012

Carl was every bit the hospitable host and source of local information that we had read. In our particular case, with one of us using a wheelchair, he and Kem did everything possible to ease our way. From the first contact making our reservation, through our stay, Carl consistently anticipated our needs and did everything possible to make our stay a fine one.


Great Value and Location

4,0 su novembre 28, 2012

The Burgundy exceeded my expectations, given the rate. Breakfast quite adequate, location perfect, the room I had very comfortable and clean. Carl the owner very helpful and informative as regards directions and suggestions. I felt at home here.


Great place to stay

4,4 su novembre 15, 2012

Within easy walking distance of a couple of great restaurants/diners. Room wasn't large but the bathroom was and also well appointed. Carl's welcome with the map was also helpful and appreciated. The linens were very comfortable but the mattress left something to be desired. We would definitely stay here again though. Preference would be the Red room.


Great place to stay

5 su novembre 09, 2012

I had to be near New Orleans for work, and wanted to stay someplace more personal than a hotel. I also wanted to be near the French Quarter but not in it. This place worked well on both fronts. I also have a number of food restrictions, and Carl accommodated those at breakfast, told me about a food store nearby with organic produce, and offered me use of his stove. The hot tub and free street parking were also a plus, along with the common sitting rooms and laid back feel.


Great host

4,4 su novembre 05, 2012

I stayed for five days in New Orleans, and Carl the owner was very nice and willing to help.


Great Place!

4,8 su novembre 03, 2012

I've stayed at the Burgundy twice, and had a wonderful experience both times. I absolutely couldn't ask for more. From all the amenities like free wifi in room, individual heaters, the hot tub, etc etc, to the delicious breakfast spread, to the warmth and hospitality of the owner, it's a fantastic place to stay. Keep up the great work!


Nice, friendly and beautiful

4,2 su ottobre 29, 2012

We had a great stay close to the areas where we wanted to be at this very nice and cosy b&b that instantly felt like at home. The owner is helpful and very nice.


The most wonderful place to stay in New Orleans

4,6 su ottobre 20, 2012

The place has a wonderful ambience. I felt comfortable and at home the moment I walked in the door, even though it was in the early hours after a protracted journey, no one else was around and I was so tired that I stayed in most of the next day. The atmosphere reflects the care that Carl takes of his guests. He just thinks of everything! Not only was he very helpful, he often had a better suggestion about how to achieve the same ends. I had a very happy stay in New Orleans and could not fault the Burgundy in any way. I loved it!


Very cosy B&B

4,2 su ottobre 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Burgundy B&B. The house is very charming and the location is fantastic - in a lovely neighbourhood within walking distance to the French Quarter. Carl, the host, is very welcoming and helpful, offering useful tips on what to do and where to go. All in all, I warmly recommend this B&B to other travellers - and will stay there again on my next trip to New Orleans! Maria, Copenhagen, Denmark


Loved it.

5 su settembre 26, 2012

Loved it. Great great great. Host was great. Area was great. House was great.


Very cute, good location, nice relaxed energy

5 su settembre 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend in New Orleans, our very first visit to the city. The Burgundy is very cute with a welcoming gay-friendly vibe and our room was nice and clean. We got some good recommendations from Carl for un-cheesy touristy things to do in and around the city. We rented a car, which was nice for our trips outside of the city, but not totally necessary since the B&B is within walking distance to fun things in the French Quarter. Our room was located near the kitchen so we could hear other guests coming in for breakfast in the morning but we only slept in on one day and otherwise didn't notice the noise. All in all, a very nice and affordable B&B, and definitely recommended.


A Perfect Stay at The Burgundy B & B!

5 su agosto 31, 2012

Lovely, quiet neighborhood within walking distance of the French Quarter and many other attractions. Carl and his partner made us feel very comfortable in their home and provided a delicious European-style breakfast, engaging conversation, and good suggestions for our short visit in NOLA. We would absolutely stay here again if we find ourselves in the area in the future!


Courteous, Friendly and Clean

3,6 su agosto 30, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at the comfortability of my room and hospitality I received during my stay. The air conditioning in my room was much appreciated and it was nice to have the option of a continental breakfast in the morning. The host was very accommodating with local maps and site seeing recommendations. I arrived later that I expected and the host made sure I knew how to find my room key. Also, I had an early morning departure and he was gracious enough to print out my flight voucher the night before and left it in my room to allow me to stay out a little later. I'd recommend this place because it's walking distance from the French Quarter, but far enough to enjoy the peace and quiet of a great neighborhood. Just what I needed.


Good Choice outside the quarter

2,8 su agosto 13, 2012

Full of New Orleans charm in a great little neighborhood. Bed was good, but the breakfast part was really skimpy. Your basic Costco muffins etc. Neighborhood was totally safe, walk to the Quarter in about 20 minutes, but if it's in summer, it's a long HOT walk. Great cafes, bars etc in the Marigny to go to though!


The Burgundy is beautiful!

3,8 su luglio 18, 2012

Let me begin by saying that Carl is a wonderful host - he is very informative and relaxed. Our flight was delayed by several hours, putting our arrival at the Burgundy after midnight. Carl made sure that we were able to get in to both the B&B and our rooms with ease, leaving a very nice note for us. When we sat down for breakfast, Carl made sure that we had key details regarding the area and made several wonderful suggestions for places to eat, sights to see, and places to go as well as the various and recommended modes of transportation. Breakfast every morning consisted of a wide choice of bagels, muffins, pastries as well as chilled orange juice, coffee, and tea, as well as fresh fruit, cereal, and various jellies and cream cheese - more than enough to fill even this big breakfast eater. When Carl learned that our arriving taxi charged us too much ($38.75 rather than the promised $33), he immediately took action, calling the cab company to set things straight. When they had not returned the money by the time that we left (a mere 2 days later), he took the amount off of our bill - without any request on our part. The Red Room was gorgeous - more than ample amount of space and simply gorgeous high ceilings. The bed was comfortable and the room was always a very nice temperature. While we did not use the hot tub or the bikes, they were very clearly available for our use at any time. The back yard, which our room opened up to, was gorgeous and relaxing. We very much enjoyed sitting out on the back porch and relaxing. Needless to say, we look forward to visiting Carl and his Burgundy again in the future.


burgundy b&b

5 su giugno 17, 2012

we are very pleased that we found this place, and we plan on returning in the future. the house was great and carl was super nice. location was great for us also, just a simple walk to the quarter. thanks again, robert and anna


great B &B New Orleans

4,4 su giugno 13, 2012

Burgundy Street B & B was a comfortable place to stay while in New Orleans and well priced and not far to walk to the French Quarter. Owner was very friendly and helpful with information in places to go while there. Would recommend his B & B to anyone wanting to stay in New Orleans.


Wonderful stay!

5 su giugno 07, 2012

Was a wonderful place to stay! Very friendly, cozy. Even explained where to go, gave us a map of the area and offered ideas of places to visit. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a nice little bread and breakfast.


The Burgundy

4,4 su giugno 01, 2012

My wife and I had never been to New Orleans and we were looking for a local experience; the Burgundy provided just what we wanted. It is located in a great quiet neighborhood within walking distance of the French Quarter, The Bywater (Elizabeth's is great for breakfast) and a few blocks away is a great coffee joint The Orange Couch. Kem was a wonderful host in Carl's absence and provided us with great ideas and answered all our questions. The Burgundy is a gem which I highly recommend!


Jazz Fest 2012

4,0 su maggio 14, 2012

Our stay was great. Carl took care of getting our Jazz Fest tickets ahead of time. He was also very helpful in giving advice on how to get back and forth from the venue.


High accommodation rate

3,8 su maggio 13, 2012

We stayed in the inn during the Jazz Festival this year. I understand the rate of other accommodation is also very expensive during this period, but too expensive, I feel.


Burgundy

5 su aprile 09, 2012

very nice and friendly Chuck B


A+

4,6 su febbraio 20, 2012

Thanks so much for the stay--every little thing was just wonderful. Highly recommended.


Cozy cottage in the Marigny

4,0 su gennaio 12, 2012

The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast was exactly what we wanted. We love staying in the Marigny, away from the noise and tourists of the French Quarter. Everything we wanted was a walk away. Not a short walk, about 15 minutes to Frenchmen and 30 minutes to the Quarter, but we love to walk, so it was perfect. Carl was a sweetheart. His home is cozy and the Red room was perfect for us. The bed was comfy, water was hot, and we loved our own door to the courtyard/whirlpool. My only complaint is the thin walls. You can hear everything in your neighbors room. I suggest listening to wwoz :) to fix this problem. The breakfast was basic coffee, juices, breads, fruit, eggs, and cereal. Carl also has bikes for rent, much cheaper than neighboring bikes shops. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.


Enjoyed our stay

3,8 su dicembre 09, 2011

This is a good B&B. It's not a high-gloss, frilly place, but comfortable, clean and relaxed.The owner is friendly and helpful. I like the neighborhood, off the tourist track with smaller Victorian & old homes. It's a safe, funky (in a good way) neighborhood of locals. There are several low key bars and cafe's within a couple blocks, and Frenchman st & the French Quarter are a pleasant 10 to 15 minute walk.


Cute B&B! Great Host!

4,2 su dicembre 06, 2011

This was our first trip to NO and I was completely in love with this B&B. It was close enough to just park and walk to the French Quarter. Plus if you wanted to stay close, there are places to hang out very close by. The host was very nice and very informative. The room was cute and everything was so clean. I loved the backyard and of course, the hot tub. It was especially nice after a full day of walking around New Orleans. We will definitely go back and will come back to The Burgundy again.


Great location, Great Place!

4,4 su novembre 28, 2011

The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast was the perfect place to stay for my visit to New Orleans. Carl, the manager of the property was so nice and really informed us of all the places to visit within walking distance. For the entire stay I parked my car and walked to restaurants, shops, and the club. The rooms at this place are a nice size with private bathrooms. Everytime I visit New Orleans, I will be staying at this place!


Welcoming and Comfortable

4,4 su novembre 27, 2011

I stayed for four nights, and each day I walked through the neighborhood to go to a conference held in the French Quarter. Carl was accommodating and amenable to my schedule, and the maps and tips that he provided gave me a richer experience of the city. I would heartily recommend the Burgundy!


An Outsatnding Gem

5 su novembre 11, 2011

Handily situated on the border of the Frech Quarter, The Burgundy is ideal for those who prefer to see a city from a walking perspective. Literally, everything we wanted to see was easily within a comfortable walk. Breakfast was a truly gracious repast and a great way in which to start the day. Carl could not have been more willingly helpful in answering our questions, in suggesting venues of interest, in locating neighborhood eating spots, in making us comfortably "at home" in his home. We would happily and readily recommend this B&B, and we would gladly return on our next visit to the Big Easy. Ed & Tim


Great B&B for a New Orleans holiday

3,8 su novembre 11, 2011

The Burgundy is fantastically located: an easy walk from all te major sites or the streetcars, without the noise of Bourbon St! Carl, the owner is exceedingly helpful with any queries you may have about NOLA or further afield. The room was great, comfortable and clean. All on all, a great place to stay, we would definitely stay again!


wonderful wonderful wonderful!

5 su novembre 10, 2011

I will go back and I will absolutely recommend The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast to others. Carl was the perfect host. Thank you for making our stay so fantastic!


Je reviendrai

5 su novembre 09, 2011

Charmant B&B. Excellent accueil : Carl est formidable avec ses invites. Je le conseille vivement.


Home away from home

4,0 su novembre 07, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at this B&B. Carl was outstanding - very helpful with respect to taxis, travel and security advice, booking tours, etc. I enjoyed my stay here and wil definitely stay there again when I return to New Orleans.


Chill and quiet, walking distance to key spots

5 su novembre 03, 2011

Carl (the Innkeeper) was amazing. Within minutes of our arrival he had mapped out all the different areas for us to go and also the area we shouldn't go. We were able to walk to the French Quarter, Frenchmen Street, Jackson Square, and Bourbon Street. The back patio of the Inn was clean and peaceful with three tables, a hot tub, and privacy. We only had breakfast one morning at the Inn, but is was really good. Coffee, orange juice, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, hard-boiled eggs and pastries. I absolutely adored staying here. It was really easy to feel like I was at home and plan on staying here the next time I visit New Orleans.


Great place nice rooms and wonderful host

4,8 su ottobre 31, 2011

Carl was a great host. We came and went as we pleased. He knows the area very well....


lovely B&B in the Marigny

4,0 su ottobre 18, 2011

The B&B in which I usually stay was booked, so I gave Carl's a try. It was very nice: clean, quiet, walking distance to the Quarter, with a big fresh breakfast every morning. (Carl accomodated my early leave-taking for the airport by providing an early breakfast for me, which I appreciated.) Would book this one again.


The Burgundy

3,2 su ottobre 03, 2011

Carl was amazing and we had a great time! I recommend renting the bikes from Carl and seeing New Orleans on bike, it's a great way to get around. Only bad thing was bathroom smelled moldy and linens didn't seem clean. Otherwise good little B&B :)


great stay

5 su agosto 10, 2011

Loved New Orleans and all the food. Loved our Burgundy bed and breakfast too. Location was great! Will definitely stay again.


A good place to stay in New Orleans

3,6 su agosto 10, 2011

My partner and I stayed 6 nights at the Burgundy and would happily stay there again. It is walkable to the French Quarter, it's quiet, the house is pretty, and the innkeeper is pleasant and knowledgeable. At first glance the neighborhood looked run down to me - but that's before I realized the historical look of New Orleans - what can I say? It was my first time in New Orleans so I was unprepared for the look of the city and its local surroundings. Once I got to know the area, we enjoyed it. The breakfast is fine - nothing cooked, store bought pastry - but fresh fruit and special jams. It was serviceable and started the day out fine. The one thing disconcerting and should be noted - the rooms are not made up each day. So you make your own bed, tell the innkeeper if you need the garbage emptied or more toilet paper or towels etc. It is not done automatically. This was not a problem for us, but it may be for someone else. While the Burgundy is gay run and the guests - men and women - were gay while we were there, there was no gay hanging out, drinking, carrying on, which was fine with us - but no comradery either. We liked the Burgundy and highly recommend it as home base for exploring New Orleans.


A fabulous place

5 su agosto 06, 2011

SO friendly and welcoming. Made to feel really at home: I wish my home was a tenth as comfortable and interesting as this! The bedrooms and shared areas are beautifully done and full of really thoughtful details. Found ourselves chatting with Kem and guests over breakfast, delaying going out as we were enjoying being there so much.


EXTREMELY, EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED

2,0 su agosto 05, 2011

This was my first time visiting New Orleans, and while my overall trip was fun, the Burgundy was EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING. This place really needs updating, and the courtyard/hot tub area desperately needed attention. It had overgrown weeds, and the cover was NEVER taken off the hot tub the entire time I was there. The pictures on the website look nice, but those pics are very misleading. There is no way that I would recommend this place to anyone, and I am 110% sure that I will not be staying here on my next trip to New Orleans.


Awesome

5 su luglio 28, 2011

I had the opportunity the stay and I will say it was exceptional.Carl was a gem, very pleasant and courteous, the B&B was so neat and clean nad you felt right at home. I will most definitely lodge their again


conference in new orleans

4,0 su luglio 15, 2011

What a cosy b&b to stay at while on a professional conference. Beats a hotel anytime. The personal touch of the owners, and attention to detail made it a memorable stay!


6 days in the Big Easy

3,6 su giugno 22, 2011

Good place to stay, quite and nice. Polite service and very cleaned room, (for us the most important quality in vacation).


A wonderful B&B!

5 su giugno 15, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at the Burgundy Bed and Breakfast. Carl and Kem were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was lovely, breakfast was great, and the location was ideal. It was particularly convenient for us because we wanted to hang out at the bars and clubs on Frenchmen St. Guests also have access to a small kitchen and a laptop with internet access, which was very useful. Highly recommended!


Pratique, sympa et pas cher

4,2 su giugno 07, 2011

Proche du French Quarter, Karl donne volontiers de bonnes adresses


A very nice 3 nights

3,0 su giugno 02, 2011

Overall, it was a very nice stay at the Burgundy B&B. Carl was always available during breakfast to chat and answer any questions or give ideas of what to do during the day. My room was never serviced, cleaned, bed made nor was I advise of such. That was OK because I really didn't need it and I'm sure they would have done it if I asked. A daily courtesy room check with me would have been nice to see if my room needed anything. Nice quiet neighborhood; however, it is a good 20 walk to the French Quarters. A tad too far for me late at night or in the hot sun; however, I never felt the area was unsafe. Restaurants, bars, markets all within a few blocks of the B&B. Breakfast was OK; nothing special. I had the Red Room with a second patio entrance. It was very private and very spacious room. Overall my impression was like I was staying at someone's very nice & huge home. Carl, the owner, is very nice and helpful.


A super place to stay

4,0 su maggio 26, 2011

I loathe hotels. This place was the perfect antidote. An extremely comfortable and pleasant place to stay with a wonderful host. I felt relaxed and quite at home. If I ever return to New Orleans I will not hesitate to stay again.


A cozy place with a friendly host!

4,4 su maggio 20, 2011

I had an absolutely lovely time staying with Carl for a few days and I really wish that I didn't have to leave New Orleans at all. The Marigny is my favourite area for less touristy food stops, beautiful architecture, wandering, neat bars, and the jazz bands were awesome (coming from someone who didn't think she even particularly liked jazz beforehand). Arriving without a plan and by myself, Carl was very helpful to coordinate having two of his solo guests pair up for a day around town. I'm so pleased that we got to go on the Marigny Home & Garden tour, which was a superb treat, which I would have never known about, or thought to go to otherwise. I really liked how there was a dry erase board with the guest names and home states for reference, which lent to the personable feeling. I travel by myself frequently and wish that every establishment would adopt this or something similar! It was truly like staying with friends, totally comfortable and exactly how the experience should be. The breakfast had just enough variety and the fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs were a real treat. My room was larger than expected with a shower and sink in the room with great water pressure. The bed was comfortable and the temperature was unseasonably perfect. I would definitely stay here again, especially given the incredibly affordable price as you get much more than you pay for - thanks! ~Ami (New Jersey, USA)


Great Choice

4,0 su maggio 10, 2011

Thanks Carl, He's a special person. He gave us great suggestions about what to do and what to see. Everytime kindl and helpful. Great choice. Alberto & Massimo


I enjoyed my stay at Burgundy B&B

3,6 su maggio 06, 2011

Great house and greats hosts! Always here to help and provide good informations about the city/area/restaurants etc...I loved the fact I could rent a bike from the B&B. 7min far from the hot spots by bike.


Brief, but fantastic stay!

4,2 su maggio 05, 2011

There are many wonderful aspects to staying at B&B's. Perhaps the most important one to me is the pride that the Inn keepers have for their home. I arrived two hours later than expected, almost midnight when I finally did arrive. Carl, who was probably just as tired as I was, greeted me at the door and gave me a tour of the Burgundy. His pride (and that of his partner, who I did not meet) in the Burgundy is overwhelming. The Burgundy is more than a business or a source of income to them but a calling! Yes, that sounds cheesy, but it is still true! You cannot fake that! No amount of paint and spackle can hide incinserity! Now if you are into fake, flashy, crap, go to Las Vegas because you will not find that at the Burgundy or in New Orleans for that matter! I stayed in the Red Room and loved it! The bed was very comfortable, room was quiet, perfectly decorated. Great place for a romantic get away! Do yourself a favor and spend a few nights with Carl at the Burgundy!


very good experience~~

4,6 su aprile 16, 2011

the location is good, and safe area. The Burgundy has it's own style, I very like it, colorful, classic, comfort, and cozy. For me, this is first time to stay B&B in US, it is a really perfect experice. The host, Carl is very nice, and know many things about New Orleans. And his partner Kem also very nice. I wanna go back again for a longer stay in The Burgundy.


A Good "Home Base"

3,0 su aprile 08, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting New Orleans. The neighborhood is quaint and quiet, just a few minutes' walk from Frenchmen Street. The proprietor is knowledgeable and gives good directions and information. We were able to borrow bikes at a very reasonable rate and enjoyed using the courtyard hot tub after long days of sight seeing. Many practical amenties (ironing board, wireless access, refrigerator stocked with drinks that guests can purchase, plenty of towels, extra toiletries, etc.) We enjoy walking, so we found it pleasant to choose a new route each day as we made our way to the French Quarter. It's half an hour to Bourbon Street on foot, but it's an interesting walk and never seemed tedious. Continental breakfast was the same each morning.


Good value, good location

3,2 su aprile 04, 2011

Location: far from the hubbub of the French Quarter in a funky residential neighborhood with lovely--but small--houses. You feel part of a neighborhood, not part of a crowd. Nice touch: the host posts names and home states of guests on a whiteboard by the breakfast table.


Mardi Grass 2011

3,6 su marzo 31, 2011

would have enjoyed more if they servered a hot breakfast and not continental. I could get that at a hotel, but I stay in bed and breakfast's to get that at home feeling. But other than that the stay was awesome my partner and I really enjoyed ourselves and would come back anytime we are in the city.


Magnificent Stay for a First Time Visiter to New Orleans

5 su marzo 31, 2011

merican Counseling Associartion's annual conference. Carl was the very picture of hospitality, his relaxed and friendly approach to hosting made for a wonderful experience. I enjoyed the 20 minute walk to the French Quarter, as well as the Faubourg-Marigny's own pubs and cafes. I'm already planning to pursue my PHD at the University of New Orleans, and I look forward to staying with Carl again when I arrive to look for an apartment.


Great Stay in New Orleans

4,8 su marzo 17, 2011

Three of us in the Blue Room. En suite, very clean, access all hours, very cordial but not intrusive. Will definitely stay again and recommend to friends headed to New Orleans. Thanks, Carl!


A lovely place to stay

3,0 su marzo 07, 2011

I really enjoyed staying at the Burgundy. The owner Carl was pleasant and helpful. He provided good tips about things to do and getting around the city, plus we had some interesting conversations. The only reason why I give the dining an "okay" is just that the breakfast options were simpler than at other B&Bs I've stayed at, but the food is by all means just fine. The Burgundy is in Marigny, a quiet and interesting neighborhood about a 15-minute walk from the French Quarter. This proved to be excellent, avoiding all the noise from Bourbon Street and beyond! I highly recommend this place.


Ideal place to stay

4,2 su marzo 05, 2011

It was wonderful to be able to enter the house around a back entrance - the red room was just so ideal for our stay. Carl was also very accommodating to my low sugar - gluten free diet, which was very much appreciated. I will absolutely look to stay here again for any New Orleans trip I take in the future, the location was great!


Convenient and Welcoming

4,4 su marzo 04, 2011

A nice house in a good location. Not in the middle of the scrum, but an easy walk away. Carl, the owner, is very friendly.


The Burgundy - Best Value in the Marigny

4,6 su marzo 03, 2011

I cannot wait to return to The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast in the Marigny. The Burgundy, housed in Carl Smith's meticulously maintained double shotgun, is tucked away in one of the city's best neighborhoods: Faubourg Marigny, while only steps from Frenchmen St and only a short walk away from the French Quarter and Downtown. Guests enjoy a quiet charming neighborhood in close proximity to NOLA's best attractions without all the crowds and nonsense of staying in the FQ. Carl is a fantastic host - warm, inviting and accommodating. Some of the inn's best features are it's fantastic architecture, the backyard spa, and Carl's fleet of bikes which allowed us to explore New Orleans neighborhoods car-free. I couldn't recommend The Burgundy more.


Great Place!

4,0 su marzo 01, 2011

We had a group of 10 take over the house for the Mardi Gras Marathon. We had an excellent time! Our host, Carl gave excellent recomendations for food and accomodated our breakfast schedule. The house is well kept and in a very fun neighborhood. I would definitely come back!


Excellent place to stay; but get breakfast in the French Quarter

4,0 su febbraio 10, 2011

Great value and location convenient to French Quarter. Friendly host and excellent room. OK to offer a continental breakfast, but would love to have had more variety of foods and better quality muffins and bagels - looked store-bought rather than bakery bought.


Sweet and Unpretentious

4,6 su gennaio 29, 2011

Carl is a very warm host and pretty much lets you use the house as your own. I had the red room with a private entrance, which was very nice and private. There is nothing overly cute or precious about this house, just a welcoming place in a great neighborhood. Highly recommended.


A hidden gem

4,4 su gennaio 19, 2011

Carl (Owner) communicates great prior to arrival to ensure there are no issues with travel/directions. He is a gracious host, providing great info to the city. The rooms have the traditional "New Orleans" charm, and are clean and spacious (I was in the "Blue Room"). The location is ideal - about a 20 minute walk down to the French Quarter. I felt safe walking both day and night. I will definitely stay again when returning to New Orleans.


Great stay at The Burgundy

3,6 su gennaio 09, 2011

I was fortunate to find this place! Fantastic value. Great owner. Fun guests. Good location within walking distance to Frenchman St. (our preferred place to go out at night). Our room had a door directly to the back porch and to the hottub. This is an old house so the room is not 5 star perfection, but it was clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend to someone looking for a good value.


wonderful

5 su gennaio 04, 2011

a beautiful house in a great part of town. carl was very accommodating and made me feel like family from day one. highly recommended.


Long Weekend in NOLA

4,0 su dicembre 16, 2010

A wonderful weekend getaway this winter, the Burgundy provided a convenient and pleasant base to see the city from. We had no trouble walking around the city from this cute area of the Merigny. We loved the hot tub too (it was during a rare cold snap.)


Great place to stay!!!

4,4 su dicembre 08, 2010

Carl (The owner) was a soo nice and gave us the local info on good places to eat and visit. The B&B is within walking distance to the Quarter and the French Market. Our room was clean and very cozy, breakfast was more than we expected!!! Give this B&B a try nest time your in NO!!


Personal service with a smile

4,2 su novembre 21, 2010

I cannot wait to return to Burgundy Bed and Breakfast. The room was spacious and will presented. The host, Carl, had breakfast with us and made me really feel at home in New Orleans. Not only does he know the city well, he also recommended local events and places of interest. I stayed for almost a week and could have stayed much longer, because I felt so at home. Recommended, and highly so!


a great hideaway not far from it all

4,2 su novembre 21, 2010

I keep patting myself on the back for finding this place. Just off the French Quarter so walking distance to everything but sooooo quiet and in a historic neighborhood with lots of beautiful old homes - just as worth knowing as the French Quarter but right off the tourist track. Take the time to prowl the quiet streets around the b&b. The rooms are great - huge and clean and cozy and the welcome warm. I was in NO for a huge conference and it felt great to get away from all the buzz to a homey sunny place with a big porch. Taxi cabs to the business district run about 8$ and are easy to get if you feel the need for one. I definitely recommend this place. There is also great coffee just down the street. Thanks Carl! À la prochaine.


great stay in new orleans

4,2 su ottobre 31, 2010

the red room at the burgundy is perfect. it has it's own door out to the backyard which is also used as your entrance. everything is very clean and carl, the owner, is the nicest and sweetest host, extremly helpful with whatever you might need or are looking for. you can also borrow one of his bikes during your stay. the b & b is only a 5 - 10 minutes nice walk away from the french quarter, but the bars and cafes in the same area are just as nice to visit.


Everything was great!

4,6 su ottobre 30, 2010

Fantastic host, very comfortable room, great location - everything we were looking for.


A Home Away from Home in New Orleans

3,2 su settembre 25, 2010

The Burgundy has several things going for it: 1. Carl. What an awesome guy. Very friendly, informative, low-key fellow. He gave us a map immediately upon arrival, and when we needed more guidance, all we had to do was ask. 2. Location. The Burgundy is within walking distance of all the nightlife on Frenchman street, and if you want to venture further, just rent bikes from Carl- only $10/day. 3. Value. At $90/night, breakfast included, this is a deal. There are other fancier places closer to the Quarter, but Carl's place really feels like a home away from home- just far enough away to escape the blare of nightclubs and drunks. Next time I'm in New Orleans, I will definitely return to the Burgundy.


Great Place to Stay

5 su settembre 11, 2010

Hosts Carl n Kim were great, they were very helpful with the local events, restaurants and attractions. Had a great time at Burgundy Bed n Breakfast. J&L


A Great Find

4,8 su maggio 29, 2010

Spent 4 nights at the Burgundy in late March. Carl was a superb host and we felt totally at home in his beautiful B & B. Nice neighborhood, easy walk to French Quarter and downtown, great breakfast and nice company. Would definitely recommend a stay at the Burgundy on your visit to New Orleans.


Great time in New Orleans!

5 su aprile 04, 2010

Great place, great people, great neighborhood. Carl was fantastic. It was a little cold in New Orleans in January but he made sure his guests felt comfortable. I highly recommend The Burgundy B & B.


The Personal Touch

4,6 su marzo 26, 2010

The personal touch is the great appeal of the Burgundy. Breakfast time is always a treat because the international mix of visitors converge in the dining room for a generous continental breakfast, and compare notes on one another’s customs as well as the ways of New Orleans. My second visit here (the first was six months after Katrina) was as sensory-laden as the first, but it served to demonstrate how much more profoundly better New Orleans can be appreciated with each acquaintance. In the ways that matter most, New Orleans is back. The Burgundy near the French Quarter is the perfect starting out point for anything you need to know about one of the most unique and essential cities on this planet.


Nice and Cozy

3,4 su febbraio 28, 2010

Spent some time at Carls place, catching the end of Mardi Gras down town. Place was a nice walk from the French Quarter and we made it frequently. The biggest chock was probably waking up slightly late and finding a huge crazy parade just outside the door on Fat Tuesday, Mardi Gras day, that we just could not resist following to town. Absolutely marvelous. Unfortunately it was a very cold 5 days so using the hot tub was out of the question. Nice and friendly place, would stay again. Thank You Carl U&T


Comfortable and pleasant

4,6 su febbraio 25, 2010

My stay at the Burgundy B&B was quite pleasant. Owner and host, Carl Smith, was extremely helpful in giving tips about area restaurants and other local features, providing directions to specific locations, serving an abundant and varied breakfast each day, allowing use of his computer, and gladly answering all questions. He introduced residents to each other and made us feel at home and comfortable with each other. When bitter-cold weather discouraged me from venturing into other sections of New Orleans on two days of my stay, I was promptly provided with a book full of descriptions of interesting DVDs, which were available for viewing there. All rooms had private bathrooms and showers, stocked with various shampoos, shower gels, and toiletry items. Each bedroom had a TV and DVD player. There were also common areas for socializing and an abundance of books, magazines, and brochures featuring New Orleans attractions. Guests had access to a small kitchen with a sink, fridge and microwave, where coffee and tea could be made during our stay. Additional soft drinks and snacks could be had for a nominal fee. Although there was no smoking indoors, a convenient smoking area was provided on the rear porch, complete with table, chairs and ashtray. A pleasant seating area with additional tables and chairs was also located in the rear courtyard, with access to the hot tub nearby. A convenient, leisurely half-hour walk to the French Quarter took me to the heart of the action on the day of the Super Bowl. It was an experience that I will never forget and it made me want to return to NOLA very, very soon.


Trip to New Orleans (very nice place)

3,0 su febbraio 24, 2010

Carl was a great host. The place is very comfortable and homey.. :-)


Top Quarter

4,2 su febbraio 23, 2010

Our first visit to New Orleans and we found this a great place for a relaxed & friendly "home away from home" while staying in New Orleans. Located within easy walking distance from the French quarter but far enough off the beaten path that you feel tucked away from all the typical tourist traps. We stayed in the Red room which has its own private entrance via the courtyard and was great for supplying the freedom to come and go as you please without disturbing the other guests. Carl was a great host extremely professional, friendly, easygoing & very knowledgeable about the city. We just happened to there for Mardi Gras and the super bowl (Who Dat!) and Carl explained every parade route and offered wonderful suggestions, a real tour guide! Breakfast was excellent and very flexible with great company and planning advice for the day ahead , it took us a leisurely 15 mins to get to the main tourist areas and the French quarter but there are lots of great restaurants & coffee shops just around the corner if you want to avoid the bustle and hustle. All in all an excellent trip in great surroundings – hope to be back


New Years in New Orleans

4,0 su febbraio 22, 2010

This was my first trip to New Orleans and wasn't disappointed. The B&B is close enough to the French Quarter that it's easy to get to, but not so close that you have to deal with the noise and the crowds. Carl was a great host who knows the town inside out and can direct you wherever you might want to go. The room was clean, the house-mates friendly and I plan to stay again next time I visit.


An Outstanding Time

5 su febbraio 21, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here back in November 2009 and it was an outstanding weekend. The room was great and we made full use of the hottub and all of the activities possible at 1 in the morning in New Orleans. I plan on staying here for all of my trips to the Big Easy.


A Wonderful Little Home Away From Home

4,6 su febbraio 20, 2010

My partner and I stayed a couple nights after Christmas, our first visit to New Orleans, and from Ohio, it was a bit of a drive. However, our host was very gracious in welcoming us, helping us around the city, very cordial during breakfast, and despite some worry with warmth of the rooms, made sure we had enough heating sources. We fell in love with the charm of New Orleans, and this was definitely one of those charms. The complimentary breakfast was not only extremely satisfactory, but the owner (Carl's) excitement to sit, talk and serve was very sweet, not to mention a nice way to speak to other guests. The available ameninities (food and drink available for a charge, book/movie free rental, free brochures) really gave me a positive view of my first look at B&B's, while Carl's walking guide TRULY helped us in getting around. I think our only complaint was getting back to the room around 8pm on a Monday night, crashing asleep unexpectedly, but then waking to a lot of commotion between 10 and 11pm. So the walls are a bit thin and voices carry, but I found closing our bathroom door and turning on the heater (our room was in the back) seemed to dilute the noise. Thank you so much for a great stay!


2 lesbians in New Orleans!!

4,6 su febbraio 19, 2010

My partner and I had a great time at the Burgundy. Its location made us feel safe walking late at night and we were there during Mardi Gras! Carl was a great host and was a wealth of information about what to do and where to go etc. Will definetely stay there again as it 10 times cleaner than most hotel/ motels there. Thanks Carl, M&D


Great value

4,2 su febbraio 17, 2010

Nice place, people were nice and helpful. It was really easy to find on street parking, and an easy walk to the French quarter.


When in New Orleans...STAY HERE!

4,6 su febbraio 15, 2010

Carl is a wonderful host. The house is comfortable and "homey". I enjoyed the hot tub and borrowing Carl's bikes for a tour of the city. It's a bit off the beaten path, but easy to walk to/from everywhere, and not trashy and noisy at night like the Quarter. Definitely would stay here again, and will tell friends/family the same.


Enthralled by this nice B&B!

4,6 su gennaio 23, 2010

Coming from Houston, it was a big change to stay in this nice "human-sized" B&B with the real wooden floor and the patio. My husband and I enjoyed feeling a bit like in France, from where we're native. We apreciated that our hosts both know about Europe as well. But no matter where you come from, you will spend a great stay in Burgundy B&B!


My friend and I stayed during Halloween, I recommend!!!

4,4 su gennaio 14, 2010

Excellent value, decent walking distance to the Quarter. Carl was a great host. I will definitely stay there again! Tony Burton Columbus, Ohio


A perfect place to stay!

3,4 su gennaio 12, 2010

I spent five nights at the Burgundy B&B over the Christmas holidays, to be near my daughter and her family, and couldn't have chosen a better place. The location was perfect; my room, and bathroom, were spacious and well-appointed; and I very much enjoyed meeting the other guests. The back patio is a delight, and Carl had decorated the front of the B&B festively for the holidays. Although I didn't need advice on sightseeing, etc., I was aware that Carl was being very helpful with other guests about things to do and see while in New Orleans. The atmosphere is welcoming and relaxed. One feels at home!


Great Stay at Burgundy!

3,8 su gennaio 04, 2010

My stay at the Burgundy Bed and Breakfast was great. Carl is a very good host. Thanks for the hospitality.


Friendly and Great Accomodations

4,8 su gennaio 03, 2010

My partner and I stayed here on relatively short notice in the summer, and we enjoyed our stay! Carl was great about providing us with recommendations for food and events in New Orleans. We loved the atmosphere of the Burgundy and its location. I've recommended it to friends and will continue to recommend it to anyone interested in exploring New Orleans.


Review Of the Burgundy

3,6 su gennaio 03, 2010

Our four day/ five night stay was pleasant with good service. The Burgundy, was clean and close to the French Quarter and the River which was a huge plus. The host was very helpful with places to go and information of the area.


Great Location value,ambience, and extras!

4,8 su gennaio 02, 2010

This place is a gem! The location is just a stumble from Frenchman Street in the Quarter, where most of the GREAT local music clubs are.You are a short walk from EVERYTHING! Everything about this B&B is wonderful-you feel confortable running to events, or just hangin out, resting for the next deal. There is wireless internet, and a house computer if you need to research something. The ambience is totally wonderful,inside and out....and a great breakfast in the morning, a good way to recharge your batteries! Also, there is a great local bar, where you can get the lowdown on local events.....and 2 blocks down, one of the greatest resturaunts in town. Really. We'll be back , to our new home away from home...


Great!

4,2 su gennaio 02, 2010

The house is adorable and Carl, the owner, could not be more helpful and accommodating. I would encourage anyone visiting New Orleans, who does not want to be in the middle of the mess on Bourbon Street to stay here.


Please don't stay here

5 su gennaio 02, 2010

I want to write a bad review because I want the Burgundy to be all mine. But, I have to be honest. The Burgundy will become my secret hideaway in N.O. Quiet, comfortable, clean, convenient, and affordable. it's exactly what a guest house should be. Only nice people stay here. I won't stay anywhere else when I visit N.O.


A Slice of Heaven

4,8 su gennaio 02, 2010

My boyfriend and I wanted an affordable trip to New Orleans as well as a place that was close but not in the French Quarter. We had never stayed at a gay bed and breakfast before and were excited about having a homely and friendly stay. We loved everything about this place!!! Even though it's close to some bad areas, we always felt safe. Unfortunately, we didn't get to meet Carl, but Kem was more than hospitable. The red room was fantastic, and the breakfast was plentiful as well as delicious. It's cute, quaint and perfect for any visit to New Orleans, and we highly recommend it!


Home run on the first hit....

4,0 su gennaio 01, 2010

My first visit to New Orleans was my first stay at the Burgundy. I was impressed by the cleanliness of the rooms, the amenities on the property including the hot tub, a DVD player in my room, and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Carl and his partner are welcoming and engaging, but very respectful of my privacy. I was there for 4 nights and when I left, I felt like I was part of the family. The distance from the French Quarter is only about a 10-15 minute walk - close enough to visit any time, but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Breakfast is a time to meet and chat with the other guests, but is not obligatory. If you have morning plans, just leave Carl a note on the dining room table. There are light refreshments in the refrig and wi-fi access for your convenience. I look forward to another visit to NOLA and will look no further than the Burgundy for a place to stay. Thank you again, Carl. David from NJ


What an incredible stay...

4,0 su dicembre 12, 2009

I was gifted a stay at The Burgundy Bed & Breakfast by my partner. We had never been to New Orleans and thought a long weekend would be a great way to discover what it has to offer, and to see how things are 4 years post-Katrina. Well, The Burgundy and it's host family (that includes Gizmo, the Chihuahua) are wonderful folks. We arrived on Thursday afternoon to a warm welcome. We were ushered into the "Blue Room" to settle in. Carl gave us the run-down on the room and it's amenities, as well as the operation of the house. We could tell that he understands the traveler and allowed us to settle in and freshen up. When we informed him we were going to take advantage of our early afternoon arrival, he offered us a clear map of where to go (and where NOT to go ;-). As mentioned over and over in these reviews, The Burgundy is about a 15 minute walk to the French Quarter. However, don't miss out on all the neighborhood gems along the way. Some restaurants to check out: Feelings (wonderful dinner and great staff!), Cafe Rose (coffee and breakfast), and just about any one that Carl recommends! Each day, when arriving home, we would have a brief chat at the house and share where we'd been and what we saw. Our trip was refined by the advice freely given. We are so glad we stayed at The Burgundy and will plan to stay there again, when our travels take us to New Orleans. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.


Comfortable and convenient

3,8 su agosto 29, 2009

I liked my five day stay here. I felt like I was at home.Nothing fancy but very comfortable.Easy to get to the Quarter from here plus it has its own gay and gay friendly places right in the neighbourhood.I also felt very safe here even walking walking back from the French Quarter late at night.I also went to the local gay watering holes and had as much if not more fun than in the French Quarter. I enjoyed the friendly eclectic and interesting people that were staying here including the naked tug boat captain sunning in the back yard. I plan to stay here again on my next trip to New Orleans.


Perfect for a New Orleans stay

4,4 su giugno 22, 2009

I stayed at the Burgundy for only one night, but I was impressed by just about everything at the place. Kudos to Carl and his assistant, who were the perfect New Orleans hosts; they provided insiders' information about the city and neighborhood, good conversation, etc. The room was clean and comfortable, with remote control TV, air conditioner, etc. Bathroom was also clean and tidy, with everything provided. I recommend Burgundy without hesitation. It's a 10 or 15 minutes' walk to the French Quarter, but that's good, because it gives you the chance to explore another beautiful (gay & mixed) neighborhood in the city. I've found my place to stay in New Orleans! Jose


LSUMC Class Reunion

4,6 su giugno 19, 2009

I was very impressed with this bed and breakfast. The rooms were very clean and above all I felt safe. The owner is very accomodating. We were able to rest and get a very good nights sleep. The area is quiet without street noise. The owner is very personable and made us feel at home.


mom visiting daughter

3,6 su giugno 17, 2009

this was a clean and comfortable handsome place. very pleasant owner. felt welcome. my daughter lives two doors down so it was very convienient.carl was always ready to help with places to go and enjoy the "big easy" would recommend to friends.had fun thanks carl et al.give my love to gizzy.


A perfect place for a great stay at New Orleans

4,4 su maggio 22, 2009

The best B&B we could expect: it made our stay really great. After spending time into the city (the B&B is 15 min from the french quarter), it was nice to come back, enjoying the backyard, and talking to Carl about New Orleans. We spent 5 days there : breakfast great, room clean and nice,... Carl's B&B is terrific and we highly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to experiment a cosy, warm and friendly stay.


The Big Easy Trip

5 su aprile 22, 2009

Thanks Carl, the B & B was all and more than I hoped.Thanks also for the local info on food, where to venture and not and keep safe. The local map was particularly helpfull, Another great feature was the internet set up.. I used this to keep in touch and manage my property empire(its also free to use).Thanks for a great time Carl. Geoff Holman Albany Western Australia.


laidback and friendly

3,4 su aprile 19, 2009

Situated 10 min from the french quarter it's near enough and still far enough away to be a nice and peaceful location. Really nice atmosphere and it seems everything a traveller needs has been taken into consideration. The only slightly negetiv thing I can come up with is that breakfast is served from 9-11 am - which is a bit late if you are travelling with a 10 months old baby as I was :-) There were however cereals and some fruit available at all hours.


Easter Weekend at the Burgundy

5 su aprile 19, 2009

Carl was very pleasant, informative and accommodating. We rented bikes (fixed gear touring bikes) and rode all over the French Quarter, the 9th ward and up to Lake Pontchartrain. The bikes made the trekking around the area really easy and enabled us to stay outside of the quarter and rest peacefully and quietly. Breakfast was a time to gather information on restaurants, navigation and events. We especially enjoyed the restaurants, jazz and festivities in the Faubourg Marigny community. We would definitely stay at the Burgundy again.


A Super Value in a Great Location

3,8 su aprile 19, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Burgundy for 3 nights in March 2009. Carl welcomed us warmly, and gave advice for things to do during our stay. We enjoyed playing games on the patio and taking a dip in the hot tub. We were close enough to walk to the French Quarter, but also enjoyed many of the local dives in the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood. You'll definitely want to have good walking shoes. Carl gave us a map and showed us where to go to stay safe. We enjoyed our trip and never worried about being in the wrong place. We parked our car on the street for the entire trip and never had a problem. Expect a mix of gay and straight guests. I especially enjoyed chatting with the other guests during breakfast, and even spent the day with another couple we met at the bed and breakfast.


A quick cross country stop

3,6 su aprile 03, 2009

My partner and are on a cross country road trip. We chose a route that took us by New Orleans. My patner had been before I had not. We looked at hotel and B & Bs on Purple Roofs and found Burgundy House. The rates were so good that we decided to stay for three nights imstead of only one. We stay in the Red room with a door to the back yard and hot tub. To say the least we both enjoy our stay. Carl was the perfect host we plenty of privacy, when we needed his help he was right there with some great recomendations. We had a great stay and we will stay at the Burgundy House when we return to the Big Easy.


nice and cosy

4,4 su marzo 16, 2009

clean and cosy, very nearby the French quarter in a nice neighbourhood, good breakfast with bagels, coffee and fruit, nice rooms with good beds and a veranda with a garden where you can sit and have a coffee after breakfast


Mardi Gras at the Burgundy

3,4 su marzo 16, 2009

We arrived on Friday before Mardi Gras and were warmly greeted by Carl who showed us around the Inn and introduced us to the other guests. Everyone was very friendly and in a festive Mardi Gras mood. We felt quite at home and comfortable at the Burgundy. Carl was very helpful in pointing out good restaurants in the area, where the various gay bars were located, and advised us about staying safe in the city during the biggest party weekend of the year. We would definitely stay here on future visits to New Orleans.


A WINNING COMBO.

5 su marzo 16, 2009

We stayed here as part of our 1st. trip to the U.S.A. Carl,the owner is a mine of information, which he is happy to pass on. We loved the French Quarter, the music which was everywhere, the food, everything really. The Burgundy makes an ideal base, lots of character and a wondeful place to come back to when you are footsore from exploring this fantastic City. We hope to go back, a week is not enough.


Our New Orleans headquarters

5 su marzo 14, 2009

Hi my name is Kenneth. My friends and I have stayed at the Burgundy B&B each of the three times we have come to this cozy getaway. Just a short walk from the French quarter this neighborhood has a lot to offer from some friendly neiborhood bars and reasonably priced restaraunts where the locals eat. The people in the neighborhood are the artsy type and are friendly. The rooms are clean and neat and homey. We especially love the back porch and enclosed patio/garden area. Don't forget the hot tub. It's a nice place to catch a breeze and enjoy some privacy. Carl can arrange a taxi for the airport and this has been very reasonable and convenient for us. We will be back.


great place to stay

5 su marzo 10, 2009

This B&B is the best. The owner is very accommodating. The hot tub is a fun plus. It is in a great location!!!!! shelley ps I stay there every year


Burgandy Bed and Breakfast

5 su febbraio 01, 2009

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast.. We really didn't know what to expect. Last minute business meeting had me slightly flustered. We were pleasantly surprised when Mr. Carl not only directed us into town, but checked to make sure that we were okay throughout the evening. He was extremely kind to myself, my daughter and my fiancee. I will surely be staying there again soon. Thanks again Mr. Smith from Tileda, Rick and Star.. Shreveport La.


Great Place to stay

4,6 su gennaio 22, 2009

This bed and breakfast is in an excellent location within walking distance of the french quarter in a neighborhood of beautiful old colorful homes. The house is beautiful and full of New Orleans charm. The host can provide a wealth of knowledge about the city including excellent restaurants, activities and safety tips. The burgundy is by far the best value i've seen.


Highly recommend this B&B

5 su novembre 11, 2008

We stayed here for three nights in November 2008. Carl, the host and owner, is fantastic with a wealth of knowledge on the area and always available and happy to help with any questions. He makes you feel very welcome and at ease and it was a pleasure to meet him. The house is beautiful and the rooms are tastefully decorated and well appointed with wireless internet and a computer for those without laptops. The beds are very comfy and the rooms had ample storage space. There is a lovely garden out the back and there are even facilities to do your laundry. Breakfast is fantastic with multiple choices- we did not want to leave!! It is about a 10 minute walk to the French Quarter which is actually a huge advantage as it is much quieter and there are some beautiful little streets to walk down on the way. All in all I would highly recommend this B&B for a comfortable, quiet and homely stay in New Orleans.


Burgundy B&B

4,0 su giugno 04, 2008

Nice place, nice owner, nice guests...we really enjoyed and will remember our stay for a long time.


May 2008

5 su giugno 03, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay. Carl was extremely helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions.


had a wonderful time

4,8 su settembre 17, 2007

my wife and i stayed with carl and his fam (co-workers) and patrick a temp/perm resident who's workin in NO. we had a ball. carl and everyone were so welcoming and accommudating. we were treated like relatives who you want to visit. it was like being at home with our private room with it's own patio area and exit door. we're planning on moving to NO in 08 and we'll be prolly staying with carl while we look for our new home.


The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $85 - $200
  • Recensioni (172) 4,3
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5042619477
  • Numero di Fax 1-5049421463
  • Cellulare 1-5042619477

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina