La Dauphine, Residence des Artistes Recensioni

Globalmente
4,3

Più info

  • Camera4,2
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,2
  • Cibo3,8

Valore della struttura
69 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Home away from home

4,2 su aprile 13, 2014

This was our fourth trip to New Orleans and we've had the privilege of staying at La Dauphine every time. We are always greeted warmly by Ray, Kim, and the dogs. With the addition of so many great new places in the Bywater and the Marigny, we are never at a loss for things to do and places to eat/drink. Ray has excellent suggestions, and we always have great conversation over coffee and light breakfast in the morning. The worst part of visiting La Dauphine is having to leave! We're already looking forward to our next visit.


Perfect location!

4,6 su aprile 06, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at La Dauphine for 7 days: we loved it. Very simple but with everything you need. Clean room, with bathroom and shower cabin in the room. In the morning, excellent coffee and simple breakfast items were available: we had our coffee in the little private courtyard. The host gave us instructions about safety, where to walk at night, etc. He told us about good places to go visit. I would recommend this place to all art lovers!

Risposta del proprietario
It's just wonderful to host bilingual (French-English) guests. We have so much in common :-). Please come back and see us after you move to Montreal. Hugs, Ray


My lovely oasis

4,8 su marzo 28, 2014

Have just returned from a 10 day stay at La Dauphine and could not have picked a better place. Cute house full of lovely details, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful hosts, spacious room with very comfy bed in a quiet house and area, but really close to where things are happening on Frenchmen Street. It was just the right place for me, and I would love to visit again! See you, guys.

Risposta del proprietario
I hope you come back again soon. It's always great to host people from Germany. Brings back memories of living there in Bavaria when I was younger :-)


Like staying with Uncle Ray

4,2 su marzo 22, 2014

I chose this hotel for the location and value. I enjoyed being able to walk to Frenchmen street and the French Market. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It felt like I was staying with family. Ray provided answers to any questions I had and gave me ample space. If you are looking for fancy and expensive this is not the place. The breakfast was simple but got me through until I walked five minutes to one of the many restaurants. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for value and great location!


NOLA trip

5 su marzo 13, 2014

Had a wonderful time!! Ray is a super host!


Weekend getaway

4,4 su gennaio 29, 2014

Great hosts, great location!

Risposta del proprietario
Great!! Glad you enjoyed yourselves :-) Come again.


Wonderful New Orleans Experience

4,2 su gennaio 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at a La Dauphine our host Ray went out of his way to make our stay pleasant. The rooms were homey and I felt as if I was staying with a friend. Our hosts gave us valuable information on dining and attractions. He even drove us down to get our car that impounded for a parking violation. I surely would stay at La Dauphine again.


Great Location

4,2 su dicembre 29, 2013

The location of this house to Frenchman Street could not be more perfect. We were able walk to most everything and when we could not walk the streetcars were very accessible. The room was quiet, clean and quite comfortable. We will stay here again on another visit.

Risposta del proprietario
Thanks for the good words. Hope to see you all back here again soon :-)


An authentic New Orleans experience.

3,0 su dicembre 23, 2013

I highly recommend this residence for its ambience, location, and price. The hosts are friendly, charming, and accommodating. I felt as if I had made two new friends and hope to stay there when I visit in the future. Mary Kiley Cedarburg, WI

Risposta del proprietario
Great. Hope you enjoyed the book I gave you-- The Banquet Years: The Origins of the Avant-Garde in France - 1885 to World War I, by Roger Shattuck. I highly recommend the book. Hope to see you again, Mary. Best of luck to you!!


excellent!

3,4 su novembre 08, 2013

thank you! it was a great stay in the perfect location!!!


Great place to stay in NOLA

4,4 su ottobre 27, 2013

The bed was very comfortable, the room was huge, and the host, Ray, is a super awesome guy who makes you feel right at home and can give you lots of tips and suggestions on places to go in New Orleans, and is a very interesting guy to chat with about almost anything. The location is on a quiet street in a beautiful neighborhood with lots of pretty houses. The only downside is that you're not allowed to use the stoves for cooking. I've heard this is for insurance or legal issues so it's not Ray's fault. If you're fine with eating out all the time then this won't be an issue. Overall, I highly recommend staying there, and we will definitely consider staying there again when we go back to NOLA.

Risposta del proprietario
It was great having such wonderful guests :-) Such great conversations! Just a note for others as well- there are few if any B&Bs in New Orleans (or worldwide), that have kitchen privileges. In fact, you must plan on eating all meals out, and doing your laundry out. To have full use of a kitchen, you usually have to rent an apartment or room with a kitchenette. Guests visiting us should plan on eating all their meals in our fantastic, world-renowned restaurants-- which are in abundance and in nearly every block and on every corner. The food is awesome here in New Orleans-- and not just Creole and Cajun anymore. We have quite a variety. And now we have food trucks and pop up restaurants as well. So, your choices are legion. Bon appetit! :-)


Great host, cozy home, lovely dogs, picturesque neighbourhood...

3,6 su ottobre 10, 2013

Very glad we chose La Dauphine (5 nights in late Sep 2013), which made for a more personal and more "local" experience than a hotel or a larger b&b. The place is well-lived-in, cluttered, full of books, art and mementos, as you'd expect in someone's home. The Matisse room and continental breakfast were just fine, the residential area quiet and pretty, the location fairly convenient, but the best part was chatting to NOLA native Ray, who was a font of local information (finally, the definitive explanation of Creole and Cajun!) with an interesting family history himself. He was also most helpful, printing out stuff and even doing some laundry for us. Plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, bathrobes, hair-dryer, free wifi, guidebooks provided. Although La Dauphine is just outside the French Quarter and several blocks from Jackson Square, it's a scenic walk with plenty to see (and eat/drink) along the way. The closest 'happening' area is Frenchmen St, about 5 mins away on foot, where you can shop, dine, drink, watch live music. If you're after local colour and easy-going hospitality, La Dauphine's the place to stay.


bon séjour

3,2 su settembre 24, 2013

Un bon accueil de nos hôtes


Wonderful all around!

5 su giugno 22, 2013

We had a great stay at La Dauphine. The room was beautiful, Ray and Kim were so welcoming and full of great tips, stories and insights, and the location was perfect. We could walk to so much, but also enjoyed being on a quieter, more residential street. La Dauphine was just what we were looking for--friendly and comfortable in a fantastic neighborhood. There was a huge selection of guidebooks and other material about New Orleans that we took advantage of. Ray also gave us papers and magazines on arrival with comprehensive music and event listings for the week of our stay, and his recommendations for restaurants and festivals were great. Good, fresh light breakfast, comfortable beds, lots of great little touches, and wonderful hosts--what more can you ask for? We had a fantastic stay and hope to return!


Did not want to leave!

5 su giugno 19, 2013

Owners were like friends. Very helpful directions. Great conversations. Made me a pot of tea every morning.


Got personality!

4,0 su maggio 02, 2013

Like staying in an artist's flat, complete with great host, and huge selection of books about NOLA.


Back for another wonderful trip!

4,4 su aprile 13, 2013

We had the pleasure of making our third trip to La Dauphine last week. This time, we brought along my parents, and they had a marvelous time! Ray and Kim continue to be such gracious hosts. Every morning we had fresh coffee and a nice continental breakfast waiting for us. Ray even took note of my mom's sweet tooth and brought her a little pecan pie for breakfast on our last day! The location of La Dauphine is absolutely perfect. We were within 5 minutes of Frenchman Street and its numerous great bars and restaurants, and only about 15 minutes from the French Quarter. There are 2 bus lines about a minute from the house (the 5 and 55) that can take you to Canal Street, where you can catch the St. Charles streetcar. We love La Dauphine, and can't wait to plan our next trip!

Risposta del proprietario
It's always such a pleasure to host such wonderful guests. It becomes like greeting old friends again. It helps when our guests fall in love with New Orleans and we just "egg them on" in enjoying all that the city has to offer. They turned the tables on us this time and recommended a restaurant we have been meaning to try for the longest, the Upperline. The food was great, and the owner was so hospitable. When we have such great guests, it reminds us of why we love hosting fun, upbeat people who just love trying new things and enjoying life to the fullest. :-) Hope to see you again soon. Ray and Kim


St Patrick's parade

4,2 su marzo 23, 2013

I stayed here for three nights and found it to be very nice , good service and very helpful, I will stay here again


Hidden Gem

4,0 su marzo 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during the later part of spring break week (St. Patty's day) and were pleasantly surprised. The house is in a wonderful location, just e a quick walk to the French Quarter. Ray is very welcoming, he gave us great recommendations and was very accommodating. He even went out of his way to accommodate a special request about a preferred breakfast item. The room was nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. During our next visit, we will definitely stay here again.


Lovely stay in New Orleans

4,8 su marzo 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights in New Orleans at La Dauphine. Five minutes from Frenchman Street - the happening area of the city - this lovely hostel exudes charm, from its host, rooms and surroundings: friendly owners with stories to tell, individually decorated rooms with plenty of character, and the overall gorgeousness of New Orleans. Highly recommended.


New Orleans B&B --return to Birthplace

3,8 su dicembre 24, 2012

Hosts very congenial and extremely knowledgeable about Fabourg Marigny , Frenchmen Street and French Quarter. Easy walk from site to French Quarter. Quiet street, very comfortable Four Poster bed. Enjoyed my stay.


Great place far enough away.

4,2 su novembre 07, 2012

Great spot a few blocks away from the French Quarter. Close enough to be there in minutes but far enough to allowing for some quiet sleeps. Recommended.


Clean, Comfortable, Quiet, Congenial

5 su ottobre 23, 2012

Ray and Kim have nailed the details: the bed linens and towels are nicer than what I have in my own home! The bed in the Matisse room is extraodinarily comfortable...I slept harder than I have in a long time. The neighborhood is quiet and well-lit and we enjoyed walking a few blocks to restaurants and coffee shops. A few more blocks and we'd arrive at the music clubs on Frenchen street. Ray provided us with excellent directions, maps, and recommendations. The Continental breakfast each morning was tasty, healthy and comfortably casual. Ray and Kim are wonderfully gracious hosts and we would return to La Dauphine in a heartbeat!


The perfect New Orleans oasis

5 su ottobre 23, 2012

My stay at La Dauphine,Residence des Artistes was truly memorable-the hosts are charming and informative- the rooms are ecclectic,cozy and impeccably clean(possibly the softest bedsheets ever)-and the location is convenient,safe and peaceful.


Great choice in New Orleans

4,2 su ottobre 22, 2012

Comfortable B and B in great location near French Quarter. Owner very friendly and helpful. Will recommend to others.


Great "secret" B&B in a true to New Orleans style

5 su ottobre 01, 2012

Staying here was an absolute pleasure. The owners Ray and Kim are very friendly folks. Ray's family is from New Orleans and he knows just about everything about his hometown. If you're looking for a real New Orleans experience (not a fancy hotel) and to live like a New Orleanian this is the place to stay. Ray has coffee and a light breakfast available in the mornings to get your day started off right leaving you room for those heavy meals in the city during your stay. Ray and Kim have two dogs and they are the most well-behaved sweeties in the world. They don't bark or jump or bother you unnecessarily aside from a longing look at you while your eating ready to lick your bowl if you let them. Ray will help you out as much as you need or let you alone if you prefer. The house is just a short walk from Frenchmen Street, a wonderful start to your New Orleans adventure. They are also a short walk from the Riverfront streetcar station which will take you over to Canal in a scenic moment. The French quarter is only a few more blocks over from Frenchmen street and all the pleasure you desire (shopping, eating, drinking). Well worth the stay. Ray and Kim both have a love for this city and their genuine enthusiasm for you to get out and explore (and time for a nap in between adventures). I highly recommend them. Thanks for a wonderful first time visit to New Orleans, I'll certainly be back!


Perfectly situated to discover New Orleans

3,2 su agosto 03, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. Neighbourhood residential and extremely quiet. Within very short walking distance to where the action is in Bourbon street etc. Very helpful and service minded hosts. You get a list with things to know and suggestions of what to do and visit. Ray helped us out with calls and good advice, even reserved a cab for us. Rooms are spacey and very well-equiped with plenty of towels and products. All facilities you need are present also wifi everywhere. Breakfast was a bit basic but the relaxed and welcome athmosphere of this place made up for it.

Risposta del proprietario
What a nice review. Thanks!! We provide so much extra service to guests-- like changing their dates due to missed flights, and juggling things around just to accommodate their wishes. We bend over backwards to help our guests. It's wonderful when they appreciate our efforts :-) FYI-- it is ILLEGAL for B&Bs in New Orleans to serve a hot breakfast. There is an ordinance against it. Therefore, we don't cook eggs and bacon, pancakes, etc. for our guests. Instead, we have granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, bagels, English muffins, coffee, orange juice-- and even sometimes-- cheeses-- if we know the guests like that. That seems to work well anyway, as New Orleans is a dining destination and guests don't want to fill up on eggs and bacon, when they could have lunch at Galatoire's or Mr. B's Bistro, or Mandina's. :-) But, most of all we pride ourselves on service to our guests-- we usually get 4 or 5 stars in this category. (You have no idea how many hours we spend accommodating our guests' changing needs and requests for information! Seriously!! And we enjoy every minute of it!! :-)


Memorial Day weekend.

4,6 su giugno 03, 2012

We had wonderful room with a very comfy bed and our own bathroom/shower. Ray and Kim have covered all the details that make their B&B special: lots of art on the walls, WiFi, great collections of books and videos, beautiful garden/patio in back, continental breakfast, among other things. Ray is a great resource for anything about New Orleans and was very attentive to our needs. We also enjoyed the many coffee shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. It is all very laid back and down to earth, which is what we like. We wouldn't go any place else for lodging. It's great.


The perfect place in New Orleans

5 su maggio 28, 2012

I can't say enough good things about La Dauphine. Excellent, helpful hosts, gorgeous, charming home, absolutely beautiful garden, and an incredible location. We didn't want to leave, and we look forward to staying here again, and bringing friends and family with us.


Beautiful Home, Wonderful Hosts

5 su maggio 26, 2012

We truly enjoyed our week spent at La Dauphine. Our hosts Ray and Kim were very welcoming, generous and extremely knowledgeable about local must-sees. We were sometimes overwhelmed by all there was to choose from (particularly food-wise!) and Ray was always more than happy to give us the inside scoop and point us in the right direction. The location is just about perfect--it's walking distance to the French Quarter and Bywater areas, and very close to cross-town trollies. We hope to return again soon!


La Dauphine

4,0 su maggio 04, 2012

The proprieters were very warm and invited me to go to see the petit gras. It was a lot of fun and they were very charming and relaxed.


Frenchmen Margny area during French QyarterFestival

3,6 su aprile 23, 2012

Always wanted to stay in a New Orleans residence and we found this one quite authentic and homelike. The neighborhood was great and though not centrally located walking did not present a problem. Ray was always around to help out in many ways, from directions, suggested eateries to a great cup of coffee anytime! The dogs were an added pleasure to dog lovers like us. Do plan to return and take in more New Orleans hospitality!!!!

Risposta del proprietario
So glad these guests enjoyed their stay. Our two best features are our location and our rates. A comparable room smack in the middle of the French Quarter at French Quarter runs $250-350 a night. There, you are 5-10 minute walk to Festival activities. By contrast, we are an 18 minute walk to Jackson Square, and just 7 minute walk to the Mint stage at French Quarter Festival. Our neighborhood, the Marigny, is a destination in itself. You can't find a better location in New Orleans than our place-- unless you thrive on the noise and chaos of Bourbon Street and tons of people on the streets of the French Quarter. Most of our guests pick us for our great location, where you can walk to everything-- and where you can actually sleep at night :-) (Note to guests who have trouble walking-- in this case, you may want to pay the extra money to stay 2-3 minutes from Jackson Square-- but, you'll still be walking for your whole visit-- because that's what you do here-- that's what it's all about! LOL)


Wonderful stay

4,4 su aprile 15, 2012

Lovely home in a great location, just off of Frenchmen Street and easy walking distance to the French Quarter. Convenient to a great bus line as well. Ray could not be a more charming and inviting host--he always makes sure you are comfortable. He even loaned a pair of dress slacks to our friend who had inadvertently forgotten to pack his! We will be back to New Orleans as often as possible and will always stay at La Dauphine.


I am hooked!

5 su aprile 12, 2012

I have been coming down to the city for years and this has added such charm to the experience. If you want to experience life outside the French Quarter, but close enough to all the city has to offer in the Quarter, I highly suggest La Dauphine. Ray is more than accommodating and makes you feel right at home. He knows all the hidden treasures the city has and shares his knowledge with such contagious enthusiasm. I have no complaints at all. In fact, I just got back from a second stay with them and already booked my third!


A wonderful place for couples just blocks away from Frenchmen St.

3,8 su aprile 11, 2012

This place was a great find. We stayed at the La Dauphine Residence des Artistes for the first week of April and really enjoyed our stay. The value for the location can't be beat. Our host was very welcoming and left us alone unless we chose to engage him or ask for suggestions on where to go in NOLA. We would definitely stay here when we return to NOLA for future visits. The only considerations I must note are that the breakfast is light, so if you want a fuller breakfast you will need to go out, but they mention that on their website and there are numerous options nearby. Also, you must be very comfortable without any walls around the toilet or the shower if you are with someone else in the Gothic room. There is a privacy screen available in the room, but I cannot imagine sharing this unconventional bathroom setup with someone I don't know extremely well. That said, we had a wonderful time and we're telling everyone what a great stay we had.

Risposta del proprietario
Very nice review :-) We appreciate the kind words and love to hear that guests enjoyed their stay with us. We should note for future guests that this room, the Gothic, has an assigned extra toilet and shower down the hall. And it's only for this room. So, you have the option of using the extra toilet outside the room too. Many guests do this. Also, it's illegal for B&Bs to serve hot breakfasts in New Orleans. There is an ordinance against it. Having said that, our European guests don't think our breakfast is light at all!! LOL If you want eggs, bacon, pancakes, waffles, and biscuits and gravy, then you have to go to a restaurant. But, many guests have a hearty breakfast of fresh strawberries and blueberries, Greek yogurt, coffee and orange juice. Then, they have toasted bagels, English muffins, or Italian bread. They follow this with granola and milk, or choose from other cereals like Honey Oats, Special K, etc. Thusly, they have had a 3-course breakfast. This is healthy food and quite wholesome. And it can be very filling too :-) It just depends on your preferences.


Super days in NOLA

4,6 su marzo 29, 2012

A truly great B&B, very charming and interesting people,.......... Everything was fantastic! Julie


Hidden gem

4,6 su marzo 27, 2012

Love this place and Ray...he is wonderful and so welcoming. We felt like we were at home and didn't want to leave! We're looking forward to staying here on our next trip and would recommend La Dauphine to anyone looking for a true New Orleans experience.


High Value for Money!

4,4 su marzo 27, 2012

We had a great time in LaDauphine. The location is very convenient and the hosts are very friendly and helpful. I think we will return!


A wonderful Weekend with friends.

4,4 su marzo 21, 2012

We had such a wonderful stay! Ray and Kim are generous and warm hosts. We can't wait to go back. The house was lovely, the location was perfect, and Ray gave expert advice on where to go in the city.


Great spot

4,6 su marzo 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Great hosts. Very knowledgable and willing to give you all the information needed to for a great stay, whether finding a restaurant or taking a day trip outside the city. Great location. Short walk to the quarter and to Frenchman St. Cool old house close to the sites, but on a quiet street. I can't imagine this not being our first choice when we come to NOLA again.


Charming visit at La Dauphine

4,2 su marzo 14, 2012

We stayed at La Dauphine with another couple and we were thrilled when we arrived. The home is a lovely and has a great front porch and a small but very charming back yard garden. Ray really goes out of his way to make sure you get the most out of your visit. We will definetly be repeat customers and plan to recommend this B&B to friends and family. I put that dining was outstanding because I was in New Orleans and dined very well; not at the B&B but there was not an option for not applicable : )


La dauphine a great bargain

3,8 su febbraio 10, 2012

We found La Dauphine to be exactly as advertised. The rooms were comfortable and well-decorated (although the drapes could stand a run through the wash). The price was unbeatable, and the host was very friendly and helpful. His suggestions for local dining were excellent. The location in Marigny was an easy walk to the French Quarter, and felt safe (if you are used to a big city atmosphere). We will stay there again.

Risposta del proprietario
Wonderful!! Thanks for the great review. The curtains in this room have been replaced. The former ones were gray color lace, which made guests think they were dingy and dirty. The new drapes are a lovely cream color :-)


Highly recommended and close to food and music

4,6 su gennaio 13, 2012

We stayed 5 nights. The room was perfectly clean and had what we needed. The best part is the location, in a nice neighborhood, we walked everywhere, a mile or so from Fr Quarter and about .5 mile to Frenchman St which is great. The hosts could not have been more helpful, restaurants, music, history, fun, always pleasant and available. We will definitely stay there again. It's an older house, lots of personality, but lacking if you need closet space (we don't); fancy bathrooms (tub/shower but perfectly adequate and clean, lots of hot water). We didn't hear the other guests because it's a solid old home and only has a few rooms so there aren't doors banging and people rushing around. It was calm and quiet. Also, the back patio was sweet, in the sun which was nice because we stayed in January, but it's probably shaded during the heat of other seasons. Also a front porch which I liked just sitting to see the neighborhood street scene; people easily greeted us. There are also a couple of coffee shops nearby, but the host's coffee was exceptionally good. We will go back to this home, very enjoyable.

Risposta del proprietario
What a wonderful review. Perfectly describes our place and the vibe here :-) Lovely. Just to clarify, we are two (2) blocks from Frenchmen Street (just far enough so you can sleep at night :-), and it's a 6 minute walk to the edge of the French Quarter, and an 18 minute walk to Jackson Square, which is in the center of the French Quarter. The Marigny/Bywater is now a destination in itself. Frenchmen Street is like a Bourbon Street for locals-- a better, "cooler" version. Lots of young folks.


5 nights at La Dauphine - Fantastic.

5 su dicembre 26, 2011

My partner and I were initially only going to stay with Ray and Kim for 3 nights, but we loved our room and the atmosphere so much that we decided to stay for all 5 nights of our time in NOLA. We stayed in the Gothic room, and loved it. It is a very intimate room, with the AWESOME shower in one corner and the toilet in the other (you can pull a folding screen around the toilet area for some visual privacy, though there is no sound barrier). If you're the kind of couple who feels strange using the bathroom in front of each other, there is another bathroom down the hall that you can use. The room is lovely - full of beautiful antique wooden furniture and very with a cozy, bohemian feel to it. The four-poster bed was very comfortable. Ray was extremely helpful in giving us lots of tips of where to go, what to see, places to eat. We enjoyed lively conversations with him by the fireplace in the cozy living room over breakfast, and we were especially appreciative of the healthy and plentiful breakfast options (fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, english muffins, cereal, granola, every kind of milk - soy, almond, cow). A great way to start the day before heading into NOLA and stuffing ourselves full of delicious rich food and fried everything. The location and rates at La Dauphine are also hard to beat - just a few blocks from the French Quarter and Frenchmen street, in the delightful Marigny neighborhood which boasts its own artistic, bohemian charm, and at $85 a night, we only had cause to celebrate this gem. Thanks Ray and Kim! We hope to see you again soon!

Risposta del proprietario
Just a note to future visitors to La Dauphine. This review perfectly captures the vibe of our place and what it's like to stay with us. This is exactly the kind of experience we hope all our guests have here. They really "get" La Dauphine, our neighborhood, and New Orleans!!


La Dauphine

4,4 su dicembre 21, 2011

My husband & I had a wonderful stay at La Dauphine! Ray and Kim are both so nice and their dogs are sweet. The house is fab-u-lous! We'll be staying there again. You can't beat the location, walking distance to everything and we never felt unsafe, even at night.


Great Bargain & Wonderful Hosts

4,2 su dicembre 10, 2011

Ray is a wonderful host and makes you feel right at home. He loves New Orleans and has great travel tips and suggestions regarding first time and return travel. I highly recommend a local restaurant/eatery "Satsuma." You will be coming back. Thank you Ray for a wonderful stay at La Dauphine. The room rates cannot be compared to others and are a great bargain for a city that has extremely excessive room and B&B rates.


Wonderful stay!

3,8 su dicembre 08, 2011

I spent three lovely nights at La Dauphine in November this year. Ray and Kim were very accommodating, letting me know about local events and restaurants that really enhanced my visit. The room wasn't particularly fancy, but it was adorable, thoughtfully decorated with local flavor - perfect for me! It's in a great location, to boot! I was close enough to walk or ride my rental bike to pretty much anywhere I wanted, as well as sit on the front porch and strum my guitar for a spell -- I was so happy to be on a quiet neighborhood street with so much character. I've told everyone about this charming place, I would absolutely stay there again!


Would love to reschedule

5 su novembre 20, 2011

We actually ended up having to cancel our reservations :( But La Dauphine was very understanding and helpful. We can't wait to reschedule our stay.


Close to everything!

4,4 su novembre 06, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Dauphine. We had the most comfortable bed ever! We did not rent a car while we were in New Orleans but we were able to walk where ever we wanted to or get to a streetcar station easily. If you do as we did bring your walking shoes and be sure and go to the restaurants that Ray recommends, they may not look like much but the food is to die for!! We felt very comfortable and safe here but it is not "the Ritz" but is very much a representative of "the big easy".


a good stay thanks

4,2 su ottobre 06, 2011

Had a great time. Comfy bedroom. Good area very close to Frenchman street, and walkable to Bourbon Street too. Continental breakfast good. Would have preferred a shower rather than standing in freestanding bath with shower. Hosts very amenable - think of it as sharing their house rather than a hotel.Thanks very much :)


Wonderful!

5 su giugno 27, 2011

Came for ALA conference and wanted a budget conscious, more homey place to stay and found Ray and Kim's place to be just perfect. the Gothic room is quiet, with a great shower, plenty of space and a comfortable bed. I could be social or private if I wanted to with the other guests. Ray was terrific in his advice about the area on all things from transportation to entertainment. The location is just out of the madness of the French Quarter but completely accessible to it. I'll be coming back again next time I'm in NEW Orleans. Thank you Ray and Kim!


Highly recommend, very friendly, hospitable and quaint

4,6 su maggio 25, 2011

Loved the La Dauphine. Ray and Kim were wonderful hosts, very informative, with great recommendations. Location is perfect, within walking distance of many places, and located in a quiet neighborhood. Felt like I was at home. Would definitely stay there again!


wonderful place

4,6 su maggio 12, 2011

For the second year we stayed four nights at the beautiful and charming La Dauphine. Ray and Kim are gracious hosts that make you feel right at home and their love of New Orleans and knowledge of the city enhance your stay.


Highly Recommended

3,6 su maggio 01, 2011

Perfect location. Tastefully decorated. Very relaxed and informal. Abundance of books, dvd's and magazines to refer to. Helpful hosts.


What a lovely stay!

4,4 su aprile 25, 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at La Dauphine. We enjoyed our trip to New Orleans more than we could've imagined, and staying at La Dauphine was a true highlight. The friendly conversation, great recommendations, and beautiful setting--- what more could we ask for? And what a perfect location for all of our excursions. We could easily walk to the French Quarter, and there are 2 excellent bus lines only 2 blocks away. We can say with all sincerity that you'll see us again (and hopefully, we'll bring friends too!) Thanks again to Ray and Kim, and La Dauphine!!


Would stay again. No question.

4,6 su aprile 15, 2011

I spent a delightful 5 nights at La Dauphine while attending a professional conference. The location was great, the rooms clean and the innkeeper an absolute delight. By the end of the trip, I felt like I was staying at a friend's house. I felt safe in the neighborhood even as a single woman traveling alone. You won't be disappointed with this choice.


Excellent location, lovely hosts

3,8 su aprile 10, 2011

Staying at La Dauphine is like staying at a friend's house - in a good way! Ray and Kim are gracious, relaxed hosts and the rooms feel genuinely home-y and comfortable. The location couldn't be beat - on a quiet block in the Marigny neighborhood, it's a quick walk to the French Quarter, but far enough away from the center of things that you feel like you're in a real neighborhood. This is not a B&B for people who are looking for rainfall showers and fresh croissants every morning, but it's the perfect B&B for down to earth folks who want to experience NOLA like a local.


Good Value, Great Location

3,2 su aprile 07, 2011

Cozy rooms, nice outdoor patio area, great neighborhood, friendly host, easy walk to French Quarter & Frenchman St. No real breakfast (like other bed and breakfasts), but coffee and cold items (cereal/yogurt/breads) available. We enjoyed our stay.

Risposta del proprietario
We love getting nice feedback like this. Wonderful, and we are happy the guests had a nice stay :-) It's written on the back door of every room that it's illegal for us to serve a hot breakfast. There's a city ordinance against it (the restaurant lobby here is that strong). Those places that serve a hot breakfast here in New Orleans are breaking the law. However, so many guests have told us they love the yogurt, fresh fruit, and breads that we serve with coffee and orange juice. And most of them have said they come to eat here at our restaurants and don't want to fill up on staples they can get all the time at home. :-)


LaDauphine mid March 2011 four-night stay

3,4 su aprile 01, 2011

Host was friendly and hospitable. Made us feel welcome and provided helpful maps and tips for good restaurants. Neighborhood extremely quiet and peaceful--yet an easy walk to good restaurants and music spots that are off the tourist's path.

Risposta del proprietario
We are so happy this guest had a nice stay with us :-) My, my. We've had such interesting guests of late. Could have been the guests who turned our place into a veritable Kinko's for 4 days-- one at each end of the house and on our Mac desk top printing out handouts for their conference presentations, making tea, and spending 14 hours a day working feverishly in intense preparation. When they left, they gave us a special thank you, and said our hosting really added to their trip here and made all the difference in the world. Another guest had a conference where he was looking for another job, so he spent long hours networking at his conference of teachers. Still, he managed to invite an old friend to our place to have a several day rendez-vous with and catch up on old times. And a Swedish guest, reminding us of Ingrid Bergman, who practically "painted the town red" with her Australian colleagues after her ESOL conference. She loved her breakfasts in our garden. Upon her return home to Sweden, she wrote to us: "I really had a good time staying at your B&B. You’re an excellent host!!" We enjoy hosting all sorts of people :-) It's our pleasure.


Location Location Location

3,6 su febbraio 13, 2011

Recently enjoyed the opportunity to visit Ray and Kim owners of B&B La Dauphine, just outside and walking distance within 10 minutes to the world famous French Quarter. The B&B isn't your usual super 8 type place, these two are friendly and very hands on with guests. We experienced an all access type atmosphere at the B&B including DVD movies, hundreds of current interesting books and, not to forget the world wide web at your fingertips on a Mac too!!. Ray and Kim are very happy to talk about your days events even offer up ideas for an interesting foodie experience as they are hard core diners with the contacts under their belts. Ray even accommodated us with his wheels and took us shopping...BONUS! The residence, well its quite unique and relaxing, a traditional shot gun type building that leads to a small sun filled yard with colourful plants and flowers, just don't let the dogs out as they like to chase local wild life...LOL!. So enjoy yourself when its time to relax be it the yard or your interesting space. We were happy not to stay in the FQ due to the extreme celebrations (247 in NOLA), also inflated rates. The B&B was great and offered us a chance to see ares just outside the FQ that were architecturally fascinating within very safe locations. We give this place two thumbs up! Ray and Kim our thanks for being exceptional hosts, we have friends on Rue Dauphine. K and D


Lovely place

4,2 su gennaio 17, 2011

I had a very pleasant several days at La Dauphine. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast was nice (self-service, with fresh berries, assorted breads, cereals, milk, orange juice, and coffee). It must be very nice to sit outside in the little garden, but it was too cold during my january visit. The innkeepers were helpful and friendly, and the dogs were well-behaved.


Perfect introduction to New Orleans

4,6 su dicembre 25, 2010

My fiance and I recently stayed at La Dauphine for three nights. La Dauphine was the perfect place for us to get a very good sense of the real, non-touristy New Orleans. The neighborhood location was great- within walking distance of some of the best food and hangout spots in the city (Frenchmen St, Bywater, other Marigny food spots, French Quarter). Ray was the perfect host- one of those people who seems to have been born with an innate ability to put people at ease, and be perfectly helpful and approachable but never too hands-on. He has a great passion for his city and all it has to offer (as evidenced by his exceptional food recommendations and tons of stories about NOLA then and now). The room (Alec Baldwin) was clean and very spacious. Our bath was just down the hall, which I did not find inconvenient in the least. The walls are a little thin, which is fine for a romantic holiday (as long as you don't mind sharing with the other guests). The courtyard was gorgeous (roses even in the dead of winter!), and the perfect place to take morning yogurt and toast. I will most certainly recommend this very local, laid back, unpretentious, and truly New Orleans bed and breakfast to those who like to travel and get a true sense of a place.


Great historic and cozy charm...in a hip district!

4,0 su dicembre 15, 2010

I really cozy and welcoming Inn. Ray and Kim were wonderful hosts and made us feel like family. A very relaxed atmosphere, self serve breakfast and very comfortable rooms. It was really great to stay in a historic home as La Dauphine was built in 1896. Very close to the awesome local scene on Frenchmen Street in the Faubourg Marigny which has some excellent jazz clubs, restaurants and a coffee shop. Definately would stay again. Thanks Ray & Kim!


Our stay at La Dauphine

4,8 su novembre 25, 2010

We recently stayed with Ray & Kim at La Dauphine in New Orleans. We had a wonderful time and our hosts couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The rooms were unique, the location quaint and we felt like we were staying with old friends. We enjoyed the company of other guests at breakfast, but had our privacy when we wanted. I had been a little concerned with the location, but it was a short walk from Frenchmen Street and then on to the French Quarter. Breakfast was "make your own" but it was sufficient. I would definitely stay there again.


Great B&B!!

4,6 su novembre 16, 2010

My gf and I stayed here for 3 nights and we loved the place. It was a very clean, cozy, and comfortable B&B. We liked the location which is in a quiet neighborhood, 10-15 min walk from the busy french quarter. It's also very close to Frenchmen st. which has the best jazz club, snug harbor, in NO. Ray's hospitality was incredible and very helpful in giving us tips for our trip in the city. My gf is usually a very picky person and even she was very happy about our choice! I would highly recommend this place.


Character, comfort and convenience in the right location.

4,2 su novembre 13, 2010

Ever woken in your identikit hotel room trying to remember what city and country you are in? In la Dauphine you experience New Orleans the moment you wake up (vital when you fly from Australia to get there!). We have stayed at La Dauphine many times and it is a real home, giving one the welcome impression of being a resident of the wonderful city, rather than an outsider. The rooms have a charming, rustic character, with real paintings, antiques, four poster beds, one even with a claw footed bath. However, all the conveniences are there: climate control, internet access etc. Ray and Kim are marvelous hosts; friendly, knowledgeable and informative, deftly always around when needed but never intrusive.


the friendly new orleans

4,8 su ottobre 27, 2010

if you're the kind of person who likes a standard hotel room, breakfast buffet bla bla bla etc... you can stop reading now. if you want to discover the true soul of a city, there is no better place than this. the vibe and friendlyness of la dauphine is beyond explanation. situated just a stone's throw away from the french quarter in an area with nice bars, the best cafés, beautiful streets and houses... it just can't get better than this.


Our second home in New Orleans

4,6 su aprile 02, 2009

We stay at La Dauphine every time we go to New Orleans, (once or twice a year whether we need to or not). Staying here is relaxed and friendly, without fuss, like living in one of the city's oldest, most authentic neighborhoods. It's just a few blocks from the Quarter,the music venues of Frenchmen St., and many great restaurants. Ray and Kim, the innkeepers, are happy to provide you the latest updates on local restaurants and attractions, as well as the recent foibles of Louisiana life. We especially like sitting in the courtyard garden with a glass of wine in the afternoon. New Orleans ambience with modern conveniences, including free wi-fi.


Comfortable, convenient & quiet

4,2 su giugno 01, 2008

Our hosts Ray and Kim were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The house and our quarters were clean and comfortable but also provided a classic New Orleans ambience. Short walk to Fauberg Marigny and French Quarter hotspots.


La Dauphine, Residence des Artistes

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $99 - $150
  • Recensioni (69) 4,3
  • Camere 2

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5049482217
  • Numero di Fax 1-5049483420

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina