Loyd Hall Plantation Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,4

Valore della struttura
97 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A peaceful place full of history to stay

5 su agosto 19, 2014

Clean, comfortable, peaceful! It a place where we always stay when we are in the area!


Always great!

5 su luglio 23, 2014

I always enjoy Loyd Hall. It is nice, quiet, country living. I'll be back again soon!


Lovely Stay

5 su luglio 06, 2014

We loved our stay at Loyd Hall Plantation. Our room in what once was the kitchen house was cozy and comfy. We loved the little kitchen and the very nice bathroom. We sat on the covered porch in the evening and enjoyed the rain. Beaulah prepared a delicious breakfast and gave us a fascinating tour of the historic mansion. Our experience was perfect. Staying here is like going back in time.


Excellent stay

3,4 su giugno 27, 2014

Really enjoyed the B&B - especially enjoyed the tour, extremely knowledgeable host added to our stay.


Loyd Hall Get A Way

4,4 su giugno 20, 2014

Very nice out of the way bed and breakfast. QUIET. Very Quiet. Only one other couple there. Great breakfast and tour of mansion by Beulah was very relaxing and informative. Definitely come back there again.


Perfect!

5 su aprile 21, 2014

This was the first bed and breakfast I have been too and I am worried that the rest will not measure up! It was perfect in every way!


Great stay at Commissary cottage

4,4 su marzo 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night in the first days of March 2014 in the historical Commissary's Cottage which was large, very nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable. It was so quiet and it is a beautiful setting in the plantation with donkeys, horses and an affectionate and lovely female cat. We were received with a bottle of Riesling. The breakfast was really good. We had coffee and orange juice. Following breakfast, we had a free tour of the house, in the absence of Eddie. We really didn't want to leave. A great memory !


Beautiful place, great staff

5 su marzo 05, 2014

We stayed on February 18th for one night on our way to New Orleans. I will definitely be back. It was gorgeous and secluded, just what we wanted. The staff was very friendly and knew the history of the place well. The breakfast Ms. Davis made was delicious, she even accommodated us when we woke up a little later than the serving time. Her tour of the main building was very informative. I want to get married there one day!


Best little b&b in the south!

5 su febbraio 19, 2014

Me and my wife stayed in the magnolia room. Big fireplace wood provided to fire and we roasted marshmallows. Full kitchen w utensils to cook with. Very nice bathroom. King size bed that slepts very nice. Tv with satellite! Pool right outside the room but too cold to swim. Nice tho! The breakfast was the best we have ever had and we've been to plenty b&bs. Beulah was very nice and answered any of our questions. This lady is top notch hostess. She also provided tour that was awesome! Very cool history to the house! We recommend this place to everyone! 30 mins south of alexandria. Very quite! Peaceful! Laid back place! Bring ur own groceries and u don't even have to leave at all!


Best B&B there is!!!!!!

5 su febbraio 19, 2014

I have been to B&Bs all over the country. Loyd Hall is the most consistently positive experience I have had. For Valentines weekend, they went "above and beyond" in their treatment and preparations. If you want a quiet place to escape to, this is it!


Perfect little getaway.

4,8 su gennaio 28, 2014

It was a great romantic night. We went right after it snowed and were the only two people in the house and it was absolutely perfect! The breakfast was outstanding!! I will most definitely be returning!!!


Great place to stay if you are visiting central Louisiana

4,6 su dicembre 03, 2013

This was our second visit to Loyd Hall. Our son was married here 3 & 1/2 years ago. This is a wonderful place for a reunion or even just for a stay instead of a motel. Wonderful cabins, nice breakfast and hospitality from Miss Buela. She even prepared a breakfast for our friends to reheat in AM since they were leaving at 6AM to drive back to NY. We we were very close to Alexandria and we love The Cajun Landing. We will be back. Georgia Masters


Loyd Hall was wonderful.

5 su novembre 05, 2013

The hostess was friendly, knowledgeable and a great cook. We really enjoyed the tour of the mansion, and the serenity of the estate.


Will return

5 su ottobre 15, 2013

Nice getaway...not too far from home. How could we not enjoy it!


Great time in Cheneyville

4,2 su ottobre 14, 2013

We loved the room as always. It is like having your own apartment. The only bad thing was the mosquitoes. Just don't leave the lights on outside at night and then open the door.


Very nice Cottage.

3,8 su agosto 08, 2013

Cottage was very nice & not over priced. Historic & peaceful surroundings.


Awesome experience and getaway!!

5 su agosto 08, 2013

We spent our 5th wedding anniversary at Loyd Hall. It was our first at a bed and breakfast. It could not have been more perfect. I was amazed at how they allow the guests to have the "run of the place" to enjoy. Ms. Beulah was so sweet and so knowledgable of the place, and an awesome cook. Breakfast was top notch and elegant. We spent the weekend visiting with the other guests and enjoying Loyd Hall's serenity. Can't wait to come back and visit again! (-:


Très bel endroit

4,6 su agosto 04, 2013

Très bon accueil, très bon séjour et très bon petit déjeuner. Nous recommandons !


Exactly what we needed!

5 su luglio 31, 2013

This place was so much more than we expected. It was so peaceful & Ms. Beulah was the greatest!!! Could not have asked for a better experience. Not only was our stay perfect, but we managed to meet new lifelong friends who have forever changed our lives. Can't wait to go back.


The most amazing B&B we've ever stayed at

5 su luglio 30, 2013

This was our first time in Louisiana and had made reservations at another well known plantation that was later on in our itinerary. We first arrived at Loyd Hall and instantly fell in love with the intimacy, beauty, and charm of this lovely place. We cannot wait to go back and see Beulah again and spend more time here. Once we left and went to the "other" plantation, we were wishing we were back at Loyd Hall. Already planning our next vacation there. The whole experience was like none other and also experienced a few ghosts. Such charm and beauty! Thank you for making our vacation unforgettable.


C'est très bien

4,6 su luglio 07, 2013

Très bel endroit, paisible, avec Biulah, charmante dame qui vous accueille avec beaucoup de gentillesse.


Early Nineteenth Century Charm, Twenty-First Comfort

4,4 su giugno 14, 2013

Early nineteenth century charm, twenty-first comfort, Loyd Hall Plantation Bed & Breakfast in Cheneyville, Louisiana offers superior accommodations with the epitome of Southern charm. The plantation and grounds are lovingly and thoughtfully restored to create the inviting ambiance of past splendor and elegance. Rooms are appointed in period antiques and are reminiscent of a bygone era. The rooms also feature modern baths with private vanities. Indeed, every detail is attended to, and breakfast will make those who love country cooking and Southern hospitality smile.


Wedding Night

4,0 su giugno 06, 2013

We chose to spend our wedding night at Loyd Hall Plantation because of its historical status and proximity to our wedding. We had no problems finding the plantation or our room once we got there. Being the only couple there for breakfast the next morning, we got a tour of the plantation which included a view of the other rooms the plantation had to offer. The history was very interesting and our guide, who has worked on the plantation for 40 years, was very knowledgable. Our room, the Jenkins Suite was very gorgeous, clean, and had a good mix of the old with modern conviences. My husband and I look forward to making another trip out there some day.


Good service but fake location

4,4 su giugno 02, 2013

Be aware when you book in this property that some of the room are very far from the main house ! We sleep in the 7 people cottage that was at 5/10m of car from the main residence, nothing was indicate on the website, it was a very bad surprise. Expect this, the cottage was pretty nice, clean, and comfort. The manager was also very helpful, kind, and interesting. We would like to recommend this B&B but check the location of your reservation before!


Quiet & relaxing!

3,4 su maggio 15, 2013

Everything was extremely clean & neat throughout the facility.


Peace and Quiet

4,0 su aprile 24, 2013

The little cottages are nice and clean, and you will be staying out in the country! Nothing like waking up to animals out in the pasture. The breakfast is a wonderful southern country breakfast. We love staying at places off the beaten path.


Can't wait to go back!

4,6 su aprile 05, 2013

We had an amazing time at Loyd Hall. The rooms were incredible, the staff was very helpful, charming and knowledgeable about the plantation's rich history, the breakfast was amazing(I didn't like grits until I had them here!) and throw in a few ghosts to boot! We would go back in a heartbeat.


great B&B!!

4,8 su aprile 04, 2013

My husband & I wanted a quick, local get-away and were interested in a B&B. I knew about Loyd Hall, but had never visited, so I found Loyd Hall online and made reservatons for the Jenkins suite in the mansion. We were so thrilled with the gorgeous renovations, the exquisite furnishings and the attention to historic detail. The 3 cottages located on the grounds were rented out to different families, but we barley noticed each other! The peace and quiet was just what we needed and everything was so comfortable. The lazy Bayou Boeuf flows in front of the masion, which completed the beautiful setting. Beulah cooked a great country breakfast and entertained us with the history of Loyd Hall, even telling us about her "other worldly" visitations. Unfortunately, we didn't experience any ghosts! But maybe we'll get lucky next time because we will be back for more visits! We love this place!


Charming B&B

4,8 su aprile 02, 2013

Charming, beautiful and peaceful place, we loved so much this B&B!


Lovely and well kept

4,2 su marzo 12, 2013

The cottage was charming - the whole property is charming!! The fireplace in the room was awesome. The breakfast was very ordinary and the taste was marginal. My suggestion would be to improve the taste and possibly add some flair with some local Louisiana cooking/additions. Interesting jellies or something to make it "special" for the guests.


Lovely place

4,2 su marzo 04, 2013

This was the second time my fiancée and I have been to Loyd Hall and we enjoyed it tremendously both times. Beautiful, comfortable, secluded, all one could ask for for a romantic weekend.


The Most Wonderful Breakfast

4,4 su marzo 04, 2013

We stayed one night in Gracie's house. It was large and accommodating with plenty of beds. If you have a portable smoke detector I would take it along, I did not see any smoke alarms in the house. Other than that it was a great place for my whole family to stay. We were seven adults and a baby. Room and baths enough for everyone. It was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was the best. An authentic, delicious, southern breakfast served on the most beautiful plantation porch by the sweetest lady. It was AWESOME.


Plantation Stay

4,2 su marzo 02, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed out stay at Loyd Hall Plantation and would recommend it to others. The breakfast and plantation tour were the highlights.


Beautiful plantation, wonderful get-away!

4,8 su febbraio 19, 2013

What a refreshing change from the run-of-the-mill hotel! We are in Alexandria almost every January for a conference and this is the first time I have persuaded my husband to stay the few extra miles outside the city. We are both glad that we did! It is a little drive but well worth it for the quiet, the history, and the beauty of this well-preserved plantation. Beulah is a true delight as your hostess! She will tell you as much or as little as you want to know about "her place"...she has been here close to 40 years. You can stay in the mansion, which is simply gorgeous, or you may stay in one of the out buildings that are beautifully appointed and each have their own private bath. Breakfast is served each morning in the mansion sunroom and they have a good spread each day. Everything g is beautifully arranged and so good. You can take a tour of the plantation after breakfast if you plan ahead with Beulah. We have already booked for next year! Why stay in a hotel when you can drive a few extra minutes to the peace and quiet of the countryside and relive a little bit of history and enjoy this beautiful home and all it has to offer?!


Great weekend trip

4,4 su gennaio 26, 2013

I booked this for my wife as a Christmas present. It was everything we hoped it would be, a relaxing change of pace and a good place to spend a lot of time together without distractions. Outside of walking the grounds and touring the home, the closest attractions were in Alexandria (abt 15-20 miles). The bed and breakfast provided a great setting for getting away, but might be less ideal if you like to have a lot to do on your vacation. On the grounds I got cell service, but in our room we got very little wifi and I got no data service (it wasn't a knock on the place, just an FYI). You can get the wifi better if you sit out in the pavilion closer to the office. The innkeeper is full of knowledge and has worked at Loyd Hall for 40 years through multiple owners. Overall we really loved our time at Loyd Hall!


loyd hall very nice stay

4,4 su gennaio 07, 2013

Large very nice room with kitchen. Fireplace in bedroom was nice and stocked with wood. Breakfast was very good and tour of house was very informative and interesting


Amazingly beautiful, quiet, and secluded.

4,6 su dicembre 26, 2012

This place was absolutely amazing and exceeded our expectations. The views were amazing and the home was absolutely beautiful. The price was a little high, but they gave us a military discount. The food was also great but some of the glasses were a little dirty. Nothing big, we definitely plan on visiting again. My husband and I loved the privacy and seclusion the home and property offered.


Above and Beyond

5 su novembre 12, 2012

I am almost do not want to write anything about Loyd's Hall, because I would want to keep this place secret, We have been to Loyd's hall under the Fitzpatrick and Perkins Families ownership, we thought we were in heaven the first time, the second time beyond heaven, Tranquil and Serene are the words I would use. Paula Loyd Navin


Great Weekend Getaway

5 su novembre 04, 2012

Beautiful, enchanting, relaxing and peaceful. My husband and I have been there twice and plan to go again in the Spring, if not sooner. We stayed in Mindy's cabin and also the Camelia. Both were wonderful.


a delightful stay in history

5 su novembre 01, 2012

Great room, in spic and span order, tasty filling breakfast and a fascinating tour of this meticulously restored plantation home. Worth it's out of the way location.


Beautiful Property with Great Service

3,8 su ottobre 04, 2012

What a great surprise. Such a beautiful property, peaceful and tranquil. And breakfast in the morning was great, followed by a very interesting tour of the main house. Would definitely visit again.


Southern Peaceful Comfort...

4,8 su settembre 22, 2012

We were traveling to Alexandria and wanted something that was not the usual hotel/motel. The first view of the mansion is even more beautiful than the picture. We arrived early because some of the reviews said it was hard to find. It was easy in the daylight, but we can understand how it might be difficult at night. You do follow a winding road in the middle of no where, but it is so worth it. We stayed in the Commisary. A simple, clean, comfortable room that has a view of the mansion, pool area, and a back porch that opens to the sugar cain fields in the distance. We did have someone there to greet us and show us our room. We walked the plantation and headed back into Alexandria for dinner. We were glad we drove in early in the afternoon so we could enjoy the peace and ambiance of the property. After a restful sleep in a comfortable bed, we enjoyed a southern breakfast of hot cakes, bacon, eggs and grits. Not a grit fan, but Miss Beulah can sure make them taste better than anyone else! Miss Beulah is the gem of the plantation! What a perfect tour guide! She is a wealth of knowledge on the history of the home and area. Miss Beulah made the ending of our stay just perfect! We give it 5 stars!


Beautiful property, but we won't return

3,0 su agosto 05, 2012

My daughter and I booked a one night stay. They have a two hour check in time-and if you miss the time, you are basically on your own. We missed the check in by 40 minutes, and were left an envelope with a map of the property, our room key, and the time of breakfast. They are pretty far out in the country, and we had no idea where any restaurants were close by. Additionally, there was no wi-fi in our room, which made looking for a place to eat impossible. As a result, we had to go a small grocry store and look for things that could be heated and served. It wasn't what I expected-especially after a very long drive from Oklahoma City!! :( Additionally, it stated (in big bold letters) on the map of the property we were given, that breakfast was served at 8:30 on the nose-not before or after. However, the charming lady who made and served it told me later on that actualy, it was served until close to 10am!! I wish we had known! My daughter was so exhausted after our ordeal the previous day, that I let her sleep in and assumed we had missed it, so didn't even try. It would help immensely if the owners/inn keepers could be around when their guests check-in. That's part of the resaon to choose a B&B-you are made to feel like you are an honored guest in someone's home. But if no one is around, you feel like the ugly step-child, ignored and neglected.


wonderful experience

5 su agosto 05, 2012

my stay was wonderful. the grounds were beautifully maintained and gorgeous. i thought the food was great and the hospitality of the host was ecceptional. iam looking forward to returning, and recommend this b &b to all my friends.


nice little getaway if you don't mind bugs

2,8 su luglio 31, 2012

It was a nice little getaway. The staff was very sweet. Positives: gave you snacks and drinks in the room, the sheets seemed clean, AC, nice rocking chairs on porch, nice pool, serene. Downfalls 1) the bugs are outta control 2) the pool was FILLED with bugs and no net to clean.. if you clean once a day, that's fine, but at least leave the net out. 3) the information the owner gave was false, said there were hiking trails at specific locations, we would go to the locations and there was nothing... also said Tunks on the Lake was bad, but it was really nice.


Great place

5 su luglio 25, 2012

Great place very friendly staff yummy breakfast would recommend to all


A great escape for husbands

5 su luglio 18, 2012

My husband recently stayed at Loyd Hall. I have always gone with him, for I to love this plantation. He had a marvelous stay and I appreciate the dedication of Mike and Behulla for taking such great care of him


Perfect

5 su luglio 18, 2012

I did rate them on dining but it was a holiday and they took a well earned day off. they let us know ahead of time this would happen and did leave sstuff for us. taht was more than adequate. We will definitely go back again. Steve Irving


Loyd Hall Plantation

5 su luglio 02, 2012

My family stayed at Loyd Hall Plantation and had a great time. The breakfast was wonderful. A swim in the pool was relaxing. The house was beautiful. You ghost hunters this house has lots of haunted history. Ms. Beulah's tour of the house was very interesting and entertaining. I would recommend Loyd Hall and plan to revisit next time we are in the area.


Awesome weekend getaway

5 su giugno 20, 2012

My husband & I were looking for a relaxing weekend and we came across Loyd Hall. We are so glad we decided to book our stay there because we had a GREAT relaxing and quite weekend. We will definitely recommend Loyd Hall to other people and we are already thinking about when we can return!!!


Country Style B & B

4,6 su giugno 20, 2012

This is not your average B & B. A true country experience in a historical home. It is well worth it, as a get away to stop and relax. Highly recommend.


Great place to stay!

4,6 su giugno 13, 2012

We truly enjoyed our one night stay and expect to return for another visit. Beulah's tour was fascinating and historically informative.


Vacation

5 su giugno 09, 2012

On our way to Florida


Plantation history in C. Louisiana

4,2 su maggio 27, 2012

A good place for families or couples and even special events. There is a lot of history at the Loyd plantation, which is a dog trot house built in the 1800s. The hostess has worked there for over 40 years and makes herself available for a complimentary tour after breakfast. She knows the history of the place from when it was first built, through the Civil War and to its recent renovation. The two suites in the Plantation are huge and lavish with a separate seating area, 4-poster king beds and bathrooms with both a clawfoot tub and shower. I stayed in one of the cottages, all of which have kitchenettes, shower/bath, and a porch to hang out on. The beds are comfy and there's also a desk and medium size plasma TV in the cottages. Outside, there is a decent size pool and covered patio with grill available to all the guests. The stay includes a full breakfast buffet, which was simple, but good. I'd definitely stay here again whether to relax or hear more about central Louisiana's plantation history.


a beautiful experience

5 su maggio 23, 2012

Beautifully restored plantation home with carefully landscaped grounds, beautifully furnished with period antiques, very easily accessible from intestate I-49, delicious breakfast, and excellent tour by Ms. Davis, who knew the history of the place, various pieces of furniture as well as the building itself, and interesting tidbits about former inhabitants.


Happy Visitor

4,2 su maggio 02, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the plantation!! The cottage that we had was very quiet and private. We were there for business so we did not get to spend as much time relaxing at the plantation as we would have liked but we will definitely be visiting again!!!


Great place with lots of history

3,2 su maggio 02, 2012

Lovely place, nice people, excellent place to get away from it all.


The Cooles, most Comfortable yet Spooky Place to Stay

5 su aprile 30, 2012

We stayed at Loyd Hall on April 15, 2012, and we had the mansion all to ourselves. It was such a beautiful, comfortable accommodation. It was like staying in a museum, yet the furniture was very comfortable, the bubble tub a dream, and the bed like sleeping on a cloud. However, I awoke at 1:00 a.m. and felt the need to go around taking pictures. I broke the rules (shhhh) and went up in the attic to take pictures of the blood stain left when a soldier during the Civil War (War of Northern Aggression to Southerners) deserted and hid out in the attic and was subsequently shot there. There was also a jilted bride who jumped to her death from one of those attic windows. It was very eerie up there, alone in the middle of the night, but I saw nothing paranormal or got any photographic evidence other than three bright orbs descending the staircase. Maybe the soldier, the jilted bride, and the ghost of Mr. Loyd, who was tarred and feathered and hanged in the front yard when he was believed to play both sides during the 1860's conflict? Anyway, the next morning we went down to a delightful breakfast and I decided I wanted my voice recorder I'd just packed away in a bag because the cook, Beulah was going to tell us ghost and history stories. Couldn't find it. Finally, I went down to breakfast, and Buleah told me that Mr. Loyd liked to hide things in odd places. After breakfast, we prepared to leave and I took everything out of my bags. I even shook out the clothes. No recorder. Then, I went around the room checking drawers. I found it in a drawer across the room that neither of us had touched. Hmmm?


lovely old plantation

5 su aprile 16, 2012

We thought Loyd Hall was a lovely old plantation. It is very well kept. The best part of our stay was Bulah's wonderful breakfast and hearing her share the history and stories of the place. Jerrell and Carolyn


Love our stay at Loyd Hall Plantation

5 su aprile 04, 2012

Our stay at Loyd Hall Plantation was GREAT. The hospitality is WONDERFUL. Everyone is super sweet and will to help in any way they can. The food is excellent and the rooms are comfortable. Not like a hotel bed. Much much better. We are looking forward to going back.


Beautiful property

5 su aprile 04, 2012

beautiful property, very quiet and secluded, well maintained. host very accomodating. highly recommend!


BEAUTIFULLY AGED AND RESTORED

4,0 su marzo 13, 2012

Loyd Hall is a beautifully restored working plantation home. One can imagine reliving the charm of an era never to be seen again. The main house is magnificantly restored and furnished with beautiful furniture of a time when craftsmanship was appreciated. We stayed in one of the cottages that once served as the kitchen to the family who owned the home. The room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Miss Beula, the caretaker and cook, obviously loves the home and can tell you the history of the home and some of the families who had lived there. We were delighted to have Mr. Jenkins the current owner share breakfast with us. He related stories to us of the restoration and history of the plantation. Too bad he was called away to take care of some business because we could have spent the entire morning listen to him. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Delightful find!

4,0 su marzo 07, 2012

Girls getaway... our cabin, the original commissary of the plantation was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was stocked - if you are going to use the kitchen, pots, pans, utensils, plates, glasses were all there. There is a large screen tv with remote, king sized bed, sofa, stools for the kitchen dining area. The bed was comfortable and the bath was stocked with toiletries and wonderful absorbant towels. The grounds are clean and there was a pasture with donkeys outside our back door porch. There were rocking chairs on the porch but we did not have time to enjoy them. The breakfast part of the B&B was sooo delicious! Homemade pancakes, scrambled eggs, crisp bacon and grits were served along with orange juice, coffee, water and milk. Then we were given a tour of the main house that is filled with antiques and finely decorated. I hope our travels bring us here again!


Outstanding B&B

5 su febbraio 14, 2012

My husband and I love staying at Loyd Hall for a myriad of reasons. The plantation is a beautiful setting and the rooms are full of antiques, charm, comfort, and cleanliness. On this latest trip, we were able to enjoy a fire in our room which was truly relaxing and made you forget the worries of the world!! Miss Beulah made an outstanding full breakfast that was delicious and Mike, the owner, was very gracious and accommodating. Miss Beulah took the guests on a tour, and given her knowledge (she has worked there for ~40 years) it was amazing to hear the stories and be taken back in time! We look forward to a return stay very soon.


Over Night Stay at Loyd Hall Plantation, Bed and Breakfast.

4,0 su febbraio 12, 2012

All I can say is everything was Excellent! Ms Beula is a treasure! What ever you pay her needs to be increased! She made our stay on of the most personable experiences our family has ever had!


A wonderful place to stay

4,6 su gennaio 25, 2012

This was a beautiful home that was a pleasure to stay in. The rooms were large and filled with light and antebellum charm. The antiques are lovely and the caretaker of this home was well versed in its history, giving us a wonderful tour of the property. It was peaceful and just the thing for a reunion with my best friend. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for old world charm in a lovely atmosphere. I'll definitely stay their again.


Loyd Hall at Christmas

4,2 su gennaio 04, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Loyd Hall while visiting relatives over Christmas. Outstanding service on reservations (we traveled there with our 75 pound, house-trained, crated Boxer). Since it was Christmas Eve on arrival and we were leaving the day after Christmas, no staff was immediately available, but the communication and arrangements to pick up keys were prompt and clear. The Plantation is beautiful and we wish we'd had more time to explore (and that the weather had been better). We've stayed in many properties as old as this one -- cleanliness and upkeep appeared outstanding. The amenities provided were excellent. We did not dine at the Hall, so the "met my expectations" should be taken as a "not evaluated." However, the kitchen looked spotless and appeared capable of producing great food.


loved it

4,4 su dicembre 15, 2011

Very quiet and relaxing. Breakfast with the owner both mornings gave an air of authentic southern hospitalty. Look forward to returning when the weather is warmer.


Very Satisfied

5 su dicembre 14, 2011

We were very pleased. The owner was very pleasant. I would suggest this place to anyone who wants a quiet get away. The breakfast was outstanding and so was the service. We will visit again.


Very quiet

5 su novembre 01, 2011

Our room was the Commissary which had a full kitchen, which was very handy. Since we we the only ones there, it was very quiet. The person who met us as we arrived was very knowledgeable of the area. The person who served us a great breakfast also gave us a tour of the mansion. She has been working there for 41 years and had great insight about growing up in the area on a farm. The mansion is on a working plantation.


Lovely Place

4,8 su ottobre 10, 2011

We stayed in Minda's cottage, which was very nice. It actually has a jacuzzi tub, which the website doesn't state-- a nice surprise! Also, the back doors open to a private back porch which faces a field of horses-- a great atmosphere. The Commissary also has a back porch and seems to have a similar layout, so that is probably the best value for only two people. Breakfast was served in the mansion and consisted of pancakes, eggs, bacon, fruit, coffee & juices. Overall, a lovely place and an enjoyable experience!


Peaceful yet intriguing

5 su settembre 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Loyd Hall Plantation for our 10 year anniversary. It was so beautiful and clean but the best part was Mrs. Beaula and her ghost stories. I've always been a skeptic when I here about people seeing or hearing ghost but after I had an experience myself at Loyd Hall I will never be skeptic again! It's a great place to get away and have some peace but be aware of who may be looking over your shoulder. Not to fear though, we are told by the housekeeper Mrs. Beaula , that they mean no harm. They only want you to know they are there.


an outstanding evening at LLoyd

4,6 su settembre 18, 2011

If you don't like cats, please avoid Lloyd. If you do, rush there. It is a lovely plantation and we were lucky enough to be the only guests present on that night. We spent the evening with 5 to 10 cats ( and some horses not far away). We held interesting discussions till late at night in a quiet and lovely area, including the swimming pool. We were warmly welcomed upon our arrival. It is definitely a charming place . Don't hesitate to make a stop over there. A French couple.


Two Days & Nights spent in historic surroundings

5 su agosto 25, 2011

Our visit was 8/20/11 thru 8/22/11 and we stayed in the Magnolia room right in front of the beautiful pool. The room was amazing and the breakfast was delicious. The history of the plantation was shared by the cook and she has worked there 35+ years. The antiques in the main house were exquisite. You can feel the history of this place. We had a great time.


GREAT STAY

4,0 su agosto 18, 2011

I loved my stay .We were in town for a school reunion however and did not get much time to enjoy the Plantation.I look foward to returning ad staying there again.


Review of Loyd Hall Plantation B & B Cheneyville, LA

4,6 su agosto 07, 2011

Our stay at Loyd Hall was so nice! Thank goodness the Yankees didn't burn it. We will return and return and return. Family from New Orleans


One of the best places I have ever stayed!!

5 su agosto 05, 2011

My stay was absolutely wonderful! I was the only guest the evening I stayed at Loyd Hall and Michael (the owner) and I sat by the pool and chatted the evening away. My dinner at the Diamond Grill was delicious. If you go don't miss the Gumbo! My room (Camellia) was spacious, clean and the bed might be the most comfortable I have ever slept in! The next morning I had a lovely breakfast followed by a tour of the big house. Ms. Beulah is so knowledgable about the property and the home and her ghostly encounters aren't to be missed!! It was such a pleasure to spend an evening in this lovely place! If you are anywhere close to Alexandria Louisiana don't miss it!


Wonderful stay at Loyd Hall

4,6 su agosto 01, 2011

Staying at Loyd hall was an absolutely fantastic experience. We could feel the histroy of the place just by being there. The owner Mike was such a gracious host, even when the internet scheduling company lost our reservation. The room that we had booked had not been cleaned from the night before, so he upgraded us to the suite inside the house. WOW!!! If you ever get the chance to sleep in one of these, take it! We were the only ones there, so he gave us a key and let us have the whole house to ourselves. Since we have 3 kids, we worked it out with Mike so that he didn't have to bring his whole staff in to cook breakfast in the morning. We just went down the road to IHOP (my kids favorate breakfast place anyway) but my wife and I plan to come back without the kids and have the breakfast at the plantation. We started our vacation by spending our first night at Loyd hall to relax and get away from it all. It worked like a charm, and the entire mood of the vacation was set by how relaxed we all were.


Loyd Hall Review

4,6 su luglio 26, 2011

I have stayed at Loyd hall three times now. It is a great alternative to the typical hotel room. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms have character and the hospitality is warm and welcoming. I always look forward to my annual visit.


Enjoyed the old world charm

4,4 su luglio 07, 2011

My wife and daughter really enjoyed our time at Loyd Hall. We especially liked the manicured grounds featuring antique farm equipment. We had a "Save the Date" photo shoot with my wife's sister and her fiancee, and the backdrop provided for the shots is breath taking. Loyd Hall is both an escape from civilization and an escape in time. But it can still be loads of fun. on the last day, we had a cook out around the pool and had family over. The owner was very ontop of the grounds, doing much work himself, and was constantly sensitive to our experience and satisfaction. The difference from the Ho-hum motel options in the area is worth every bit the cost.


Beautiful Location, Amazing Place To Visit

5 su luglio 06, 2011

We stayed at Loyd Hall Plantation 1 July 2011 and absolutely loved it! It is a truly charming property that is beautifully maintained and has all the southern charm I imagined. My children (ages 9 and 3) loved playing on the grounds, seeing the horses, swimming in the pool, swinging on the porch swings, and playing with the property cats. My husband and I were thrilled with the beautiful buildings, serene setting, and immaculately maintained plantation home and rooms. We stayed in McCullough House that had a full kitchen, washer and dryer, sitting room and two beds. The bathroom was huge and had an amazing oversize jetted tub. In the morning we had breakfast in the main house that was cooked to perfection, followed by a tour of the house. It was a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back. I recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in a little piece of heaven!


GREATEST PLACE EVER!!!!!!

5 su giugno 21, 2011

We were married here last year and came back for our one year anniversary. This place and the people here will always hold a special place in our hearts and memories.


Adventures at Loyd Hall

3,0 su giugno 06, 2011

Paul Elder, Great Guy and host met us at the door w/open arms - treated us like family. 1st night was a relaxing time, we had a late dinner w/Paul who cooked a special of his, Crawfish Etouffee 2nd night power went out for about 1.5 hrs, Paul did everything he could to get the power restored. A unexpected thunderstorm blew through the area and left us powerless - no pun intended. Power came back on and Paul was off to work having to clean the pool for the 3rd time w/the anticipation of arriving guest for the weekend. Avery island is a short drive down hwy 49, south. If you want that at home and comfort feeling then go to Loyd Hall - the entire place has a great spirit and feel. Tell Paul to share some of his receipes with you as well.


Settles Review

5 su maggio 28, 2011

Outstanding...enjoyed everything. Service, food and staff made our stay at the hall so relaxing. Thank you.


Fantastic Experience! Ended way too soon!

4,8 su maggio 09, 2011

Friends joined my Husband and I for an overnight stay at Loyd Hall. It was delightful. Paul and his staff were so helpful. The room was wonderful and sitting outside on the front porch was made so much more fun with the antics of the resident feline population. Had a great time and look forward to going back.


I use this as my "Happy Place"

4,6 su aprile 03, 2011

I live a very hectic life. Always on the go with family and work, very little down time. So when My sister and I found Loyd Hall, we thought we would try it out. OMG! Just the fact that it was in a remote farm area was ok with us. Our HUGE room (Commisary cabin) looked out onto the pasture where the horses, donkeys and goats graze. The cabin is furnished with a king size bed (very comfortable), a large chair, the kitchen (didn't use-I don't cook when on vacation), a very nice bathroom and two side tables. The rocking chairs on both front and rear patios were our favorite places of the week. As we rocked, all you could hear was a distant train and the birds. I often fell asleep rocking along, with the cats underneath the chairs. The caretaker, Eddie, was WONDERFUL! He made sure everything was in order, that we had what we needed, made numerous suggestions for places to visit or eat lunch and dinner. He gave us a wonderful tour of the large house after one of his fantastic breakfasts with eggs, french toast, fruit, coffee and juice. The history of family, the house and the area was amazing. Eddie is a great storyteller. The ghost stories were an added bonus! I have a picture of the view from the back porch as my wallpaper on my phone and computer. I think about our visit often when things get crazy and I want to relax, that it why I call Loyd Hall my "Happy Place".


Great girls' get-a-way

5 su marzo 16, 2011

There is not a single negative thing to say. Beds were fantastic. Kitchen had everything you might need. Scenery was outstanding. We couldn't get enough of petting the cats and little donkeys. Breakfast was fabulous. It was my best experience at any B&B or hotel. Can't wait to go back.


Best Trip Ever!!

5 su febbraio 15, 2011

I only live about 20 minutes from the plantation, though I must say, this was one of the best places I have ever stayed in! All of the rooms are GORGEOUS, complete with amenities. The service we received was completely out of this world. I have NEVER received service like this anywhere else. The home-cooked breakfast we had was the best breakfast I have ever eaten. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Loyd Hall, and the people who work there!


Very enjoyable!

3,6 su febbraio 12, 2011

Cabin very comfortable, quiet, well-furnished, etc. Exceptionally clean and perfect for an overnight stay! I would highly recommend it for a one night stay or a week-end visit to the area. The Smiths, Lake Charles, LA


Loyd Hall

5 su febbraio 02, 2011

Very quiet area with friendly atmosphere. Clean and comfortable accomodations. Reasonably priced.


CHRISTMAS PARTY

4,6 su dicembre 09, 2010

great location, the staff was great. The food was excellent. The rooms were exceptional for cottages.


Beautiful property!!

5 su dicembre 07, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. The property is beautiful. The food and staff are awesome!!!


Offseason

3,0 su dicembre 06, 2010

We were the only customers at the Plantation, the inn keeper was not available to give us a tour.


FANTASTIC !!!!! Would happily stay there again !!!

5 su novembre 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Loyd Hall in early November with our best friends. We were all in the old kitchen rooms directly behind the main house. Our room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was very large. Everything was neat and clean. The manager, Eddie, made us feel right at home. He cooked a great breakfast and provided a wonderful tour of the main house. We got to watch harvesting of the sugar cane fields on the farm. It was loads of fun !!


Repeat guest over several yrs

4,0 su novembre 25, 2010

I've stay at Loyd Hall twice a month fir the past two years. The innkeepers are consistently nice and easy to work with. The rooms are well-kept and very clean with much southern charm. I've not been disappoint yet.


Wonderful peaceful place to stay.

4,4 su ottobre 20, 2010

Quiet, beautiful, place in the country. Loved it. Great food.


Great get away

5 su agosto 13, 2010

It was a great setting for a romantic get away. Eddie was very helpful and nice. Definitely looking forward to going back.


Loyd Hall Plantation

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $125 - $250
  • Recensioni (97) 4,6
  • Camere 7

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 3187765641

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina