Stauer House B & B Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,3
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
88 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

It is always the people that make the difference

5 su dicembre 15, 2013

Donna was fantastic - very friendly and welcoming! Her home is spectacular especially considering the work she and her husband had to do to get it to where it is today! Inspired: Donna's warm personality Food: great breakfast kept me full all the way back to Chicago Atmosphere: warm and inviting Room: the Maid's Quarters - water pressure was excellent in the bath and WiFi good Town: delightful town on the Mississippi River Return: yes I will Room Tip: all are nice - you just need to choose bath in room or out in the hallway


Second Stay and Counting

4,8 su novembre 16, 2013

This was our second stay and we can't wait to make it a third. Wonderful B&B well worth the price. The owners treated us like family and the breakfast was excellent. Our only regret is that we can't stay more often. We would strongly recommend this to anyone planning a trip to Northeast Iowa.


First Rate Choice

5 su novembre 03, 2013

Would def stay here again. Donna, you are so friendly and inviting and your breakfast was delicious! Your home is beautiful and your rooms distinctive and comfortable. We will be back :-)


Best Girls Weekend Ever!!!

5 su ottobre 30, 2013

It was like staying at Grandma's!!! First of all, the house was BEAUTIFUL! The architectural detail and the integrity of the house was amazing. We stayed in the Captain's Room because there were 2 beds and an en suite bathroom. When we walked into our room it was adorable. Clean and roomy-even with 2 beds in there. The antique furniture really added to the integrity of the era built. The bathroom was perfect with a tub\shower, sink, and toilet. Plenty of room to get ready. The beds were so comfy. I just melted when I crawled in. Then it hit me... The bedding smelled and felt like Grandma's. Donna uses vintage bedding and hangs them to dry thus giving a "Grandma" feel. Breakfast was incredible. She made a delicious egg bake accompanied with pancakes, french toast, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit, coffee cake, oatmeal, coffee, milk, water, and orange juice. I did not go hungry... Best of all was meeting Donna and her family. They were so friendly and gracious. I felt welcomed from the first moment I walked into the B&B and was even given a hug when I left. I will certainly go back!!!!!


Tom & Linda Fall Get-Away 2013

4,4 su ottobre 22, 2013

Nice bed, comfortable room, Great breakfast ! Very friendly !


Worth the Stay

3,6 su ottobre 14, 2013

Charming B&B. A little creaky, especially the uncomfortable bed, but overall a pleasant little get away. The owner takes great pride in the place and really wanted to make you feel at home.


MacGregor stay

3,4 su ottobre 13, 2013

Inn is conveniently location entering town. You may need to check Prairie du Chein WI for dining.activity in fall as we did.


Stauer House McGreggor Iowa

5 su ottobre 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! Ladonna is wonderful and her freshly made breakfasts are fantastic. Very charming, great location . We have rebooked for next year!


Stauer House B & B

4,6 su ottobre 09, 2013

Very clean and comfortable place to stay the people are wonderful


Good but missed a couple of things

4,4 su ottobre 07, 2013

Many more positives than negatives. Pluses: Victorian decor, historical photos, cleanliness, breakfast, video selection, friendly hostess. Minuses: the coffee and the loud bed springs.


Wonderful time.

5 su settembre 25, 2013

Thank you Donna and Robert for sharing your home with us. Thanks to you, my Wife and I had a wonderful time in McGregor. Thumbs up!


A great stay!

4,8 su settembre 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stauer House. In addition do the wonderful folks who run it we also met three other very interesting couples which enhanced the weekend.


Comfy!

3,6 su settembre 12, 2013

The Stauer House and its renovation is a super interesting story. If you like the idea of finding something 'as it once was', you'll love this place. Attention has been paid to renovation that leaves much of the original in tact, including the furnishings. It's amazing to hear the story of re-opening a home that was closed for 40 years with furnishings, old documents, etc. all in place. The home is clean, interesting, and pretty. Breakfast was alright; nothing fancy, but fine.


Historic B & B

4,2 su settembre 08, 2013

A great place to stay in downtown McGregor. Just what a B & B should offer. Their web site is a true reflection of the property and the owner is great to talk to with many stories and good information about the town. Would recommend it to anyone that likes B & B's.


Perfect stay

4,6 su settembre 04, 2013

Stauer House is what an ideal B&B should be for me: a carefully restored historic home, with a genuinely friendly host, comfortable rooms and public spaces, and a hearty and tasty breakfast. They hit it on all counts. Two minor issues: the two rooms at the front of the house get a lot of traffic noise, and the mattress was too soft. We really enjoyed our stay and will return.


Wonderful B&B

4,8 su settembre 01, 2013

This is a great place to stay. The service was great and friendly. Loved our stay and would return again!!


Great Place to Stay!

4,0 su agosto 29, 2013

We stay at Stauer House each year for our family reunion. It's a great location and Donna is a great hostess. We love the convenience, value and the breakfast is fantastic!


Loved our stay at the Stauer House!

5 su agosto 23, 2013

Our expectations were high due to rave reviews from past guests and they were met! Can't wait to stay again, next summer.


River Town B&B

4,4 su agosto 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B and the warm hospitality of the hostess. This is a quaint and interesting B&B located in a small Mississippi river town - the town and interesting antique shops are just down the street. The breakfast was good and plentiful. Overall this is a four star on our list.


Enjoyable visit!

5 su agosto 12, 2013

Our visit to the Stauer House was a good choice. The food was excellent, of course. The room was clean and very large.


a very nice stay in an interesting town

4,8 su luglio 30, 2013

The b n b was very nice in a restored 1880s home. Donna was a very pleasant host with a great breakfast. It was just a few blocks from the Mississippi which had plenty of things to do. McGregor is an interesting historical town. I'd recommend staying here to anyone.


Great Place to Stay

4,2 su luglio 18, 2013

This attractive inn is a great place to use as a base in this area. The innkeepers are friendly and the breakfasts are ample and delicious! McGregor is a fun place to check out and the inn is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown.


EXCEPTIONAL B&B EXPERIENCE!!

4,4 su giugno 26, 2013

Stauer House is a marvelous place! My husband and I slept in the Captain's Room during extremely hot and humid temperatures, yet our room and bathroom were very comfortable day and night. The room was decorated with period-style furniture, including a lovely old dresser, large trunk, fringed rugs, writing table (where TV sat), and two very comfortable double beds with plenty of bed pillows. The bathroom was well-stocked with a travelers necessities, fluffy towels, and hair dryer. We found the rooms very clean and well-maintained. Donna is a gem! She is full of energy and is a wonderful hostess. The guest book is full of wonderful tributes to the B&B as well. A huge photo album documents the renewal of the Stauer House--a labor of love only Donna and her family can attest to. Their beautiful results are outstanding! The atmosphere was casual, relaxed, and family-like. We met two of Donna's daughters and two grandchildren. All were very friendly and well-behaved, a testament to Donna's values. We felt our privacy was respected yet we were welcome to explore the magnificent historical house. Breakfast was served at 8 and was fresh, tasty, well-presented, and varied: strawberries-and-shortcake and coffee cake; pancakes and French toast; banana bread; sausages; a bowl of mixed berries; and fresh coffee, OJ, milk, and hot tea. The dishes were real stoneware--no paper plates here. Next time we are in the area, we will definitely stay at Stauer House again. There are only four suites, so book early! It's an experience you don't want to miss!


Pleasant B&B

4,6 su maggio 31, 2013

Owners and guests were very easy to be with. Got helpful tips about things to do in the area, which enhanced our getaway.


Great Nights Sleep,

5 su maggio 30, 2013

Good food and hostess.


Another enjoyable stay

5 su maggio 25, 2013

This was the third time I have stayed at the Stauer House and have never been disappointed. I never tire of bringing friends to the area to show them around. A beautiful part of the country.


Great!

4,6 su aprile 25, 2013

Cozy and clean rooms, delicious breakfast, nice hosts and a great shower (and very good bath products!). Had a really good stay.


Better than a Hotel

5 su aprile 18, 2013

We went to McGregor for an Old West Trade show that was held April 5-7. We stayed at the Stauer House B & B which was located just down the street from the show. Our room was quiet, clean and had homelike appeal. Each morning at 8:30 we enjoyed a hot, freshly cooked breakfast and pleasant conversation with folks whose interests were the same as ours.Our host was very informative about the history of the area and did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable. I would absolutely stay here again.


Very Accomodating

5 su febbraio 06, 2013

Arrived in McGregor late one evening and the local gas station gave me Donna's number. Called and got her out of bed. She was so kind. My diabetic daughter was exhausted and we couldn't make it to Dubuque to find a motel. Donna put us in the Captain's Suite. Breakfast was fabulous and the rates were quite reasonable. I can't tell you how comforting it is to meet someone so kind who will get out of bed to give you a place to sleep. The hospitality of Bed and Breakfasts is why I keep choosing them, but Donna beats all. Thanks, Donna. You are a Sweetheart. See you again soon!


Stauer House B&B

4,8 su novembre 14, 2012

Donna was very accommodating and a joy to visit with. She provided us with local history, events going on, and local shops of interest to us. Overall it was a wonderful stay.


Awesome stay...

5 su novembre 13, 2012

Great place to relax and chill. Hosts were beyond the normal and like family. Super place.


very relaxing

5 su ottobre 26, 2012

The Stauer House hostess was very pleasant and accomodating. She was knowledgeable about dining and area attractions. Her breakfasts were amazing!


Wonderful Midwest Smalltown Experience

5 su ottobre 24, 2012

Lovely home, lovely host. Donna was welcoming and the house was absolutely charming. Comfortable furnishings, very clean, delicious home-cooked breakfast. Highly recommended!


Nice fall getaway

4,6 su ottobre 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Stauer House. Our hostess was helpful and friendly, the room was cozy, and we found lots to do in the McGregor area.


Wonderful stay in MacGregor

4,4 su ottobre 07, 2012

We had an excellent one-night stay in MacGregor and the Stauer House met or exceeded our expectations in every way. Donna was an accommodating and very friendly hostess, the bedrooms were comfortable and quiet, and the multiple-course breakfast kept us fueled throughout the morning. One note is that the private baths are not all en suite (the Stauer room's bath was down the hall from the bedroom), but this was but a minor inconvenience and robes were even provided to walk back and forth. An extremely pleasant stay and probably the best overall value we've encountered among all our B&B stays.


Beautiful Inn, Friendly Innkeeper

4,8 su ottobre 04, 2012

We enjoy staying at B & Bs, and have at times been disappointed; however, the Stauer House B & B did not disappoint us. It delighted us. It is a beautifully restored home with original furnishings with a great restoration story. The breakfast was delicious and, of course, plentiful. We will be back.


I strongly recommend a stay at the Stauer House

4,4 su ottobre 02, 2012

We stayed for 1 night. The room was very comfortable and the Stauer House is in a great location, just down from downtown McGregor. Donna made us feel at home and made a wonderful breakfast in the morning. We would not hesitate to stay again.


Fun NE Iowa getaway

5 su ottobre 01, 2012

Ramage Room was very clean and comfortable. Donna goes out of her way to make you feel at home and serves a delicious breakfast.


Lovely place along the great mississippi

5 su settembre 30, 2012

Lovely place along the great mississippi. Breakfast prepared by Donna was amazing.


Wonderful B&B Experience in McGregor, IA!

5 su settembre 06, 2012

Could not have been better! Best of both worlds - felt lik both a treasured guest and part of the family in this beautiful Victorian setting with within walking distance of historic downtown McGregor. Thanks again Donna, we'll be back!


Rested customers

5 su agosto 23, 2012

Our host made us feel very welcome and made sure our stay was the best it could be! Fantastic food, cozy rooms, and restful atmosphere!


Great place to stay!

4,4 su agosto 19, 2012

We had a great time at Stauer House! Donna went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed, including rides to local events. The bed was comfortable, breakfast was great, and the value was incredible! We would definitely go back for another stay.


Comfortable, secure, and relaxing!

4,4 su agosto 17, 2012

Donna was the hostess with the mostest and everything about this bed and breakfast was great! We were visiting our son who was staying in a city nearby working for the Obama campaign. He came and joined us in the Ramage Room. This was a perfect choice two rm suite - we had a private bedroom, and all of us had a living rm to visit in that later became our son's bedroom with the pull out queen bed. We enjoyed breakfast with all the guests of this bed and breakfast and the very tasty food. We will go back!


Satisfied Guest

5 su agosto 15, 2012

Welcoming host, charming home, comfortable rooms and delicious food!


Hospitality and Charm in Macgregor, IA

5 su agosto 03, 2012

This was our second visit to the Stauer House. There was a reason we came back. The building is unique and beautiful, nicely decorated. Donna, the owner/operator provides an outstanding breakfast and she is happy to fill you in on the details of the history behind the house if you ask. The quality of the rooms combined with delectible breakfast make staying at Stauer House a delightful bargain.


Lovely stay

4,2 su luglio 31, 2012

I really enjoyed my two night stay. The home has kept its historical charm and conbined it with all the modern conforts.


July 2012 Stay

5 su luglio 21, 2012

Arrived on a blistering hot day. Host Donna opened the door to a delightfully cool, charming B&B. Hope to go back some day.


Recent stay.

3,8 su giugno 28, 2012

We stayed at the B & B recently and had a very nice time. The B & B is more of a home setting and we had a chance to actually talk with the owners for more then a few minutes. They were very nice about letting us stay in two different rooms for we did not have a bathroom in our room that was reserved for the first night and there was a room with a bathroom in it that was available so we got a chance to stay in two rooms.


Great night at Stauer House!

4,8 su giugno 27, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B and we were not disappointed. Charming room, lovely home, excellent breakfast & gracious host. Would recommend it highly!


Review of Stauer House, McGregor, Iowa

5 su giugno 20, 2012

Great hospitality, easy to talk to, location is great. sitting accomadations on the porch to enjoy the evening on Main Street in historic McGregor, Iowa. Wihin walking distance of downtown. Well preserved 1880's house with album documenting the history and preservation work. Would definitely stay there again.


great weekend in McGregor

4,8 su giugno 20, 2012

Donna was a wonderful host as were the grandchildren, Stanley and Roland, they were great company. The meals were great, very good and plenty, would think donna was feeding an army. They have done a big job in restoring this old home. Would stay again, thanks donna for everything Don


Administratvie Assistant

5 su giugno 14, 2012

Very hospitable place!


Good experience; friendly environmant

4,0 su giugno 02, 2012

The owner was very accomodating and provided for all of our needs. Friendly atmosphere. McGregor offered more to do than we had expected.


Wonderful stay at Sauter House

5 su maggio 30, 2012

An Excellent place, great room, very friendly manager....


Overall a good experience.

4,6 su maggio 20, 2012

Best B&B breakfast we ever had. Very friendly hostess. She has found her calling. Makes you feel like one of the family. On a busy truck highway but we weren't bothered by it. Only drawback: no lock on the door. However, I suspect it is in an area where people might not lock their doors.


Our review

3,0 su febbraio 05, 2012

The Stauer House is a beautiful B&B. Exquisitely furnished! The breakfasts were good, but I've never been to a B&B where they served leftovers for breakfast. It was noisy there, too. I understand the family lives there, but we felt like we were intruding. My only major complaint was that the bed wasn't made or the bed wasn't turned down when we returned from our dinner out. We've stayed at numerous B&B's in the last couple of years, and this was probably one of the most disappointing ones. Keep the noise down and make the beds! However, we will recommend this B&B to our friends and family. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful.


1st time at a B&B was outstanding

5 su novembre 16, 2011

Having never been to a B&B I didn't know what to expect, although my wife did. Donna was a gracious and knowledgeable hostess. And what a breakfast. The first morning there was a broccoli and cheese breakfast casserole, bacon, granola with Greek yogurt, fresh fruit with raspberries and blueberries (where do you get fresh raspberries in November?), homemade coffee cake, choice of 25+ teas, coffee, orange juice. Second day was similar but with blueberry pancakes, sausage links, and different casserole. She has information about the house's history and did I say a terrific hostess? Her husband and daughter were a delight as well. I would give them six stars if it was available.


Excellent

5 su novembre 16, 2011

This was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed it!


Fall Getaway Weekend

4,0 su ottobre 29, 2011

We had a delightful stay of two nights at Stauer House. The home was quaint, tidy welcoming with lighting and scented candles, and a superb hostess. The breakfasts were delicious and offered a variety of items to choose from that would meet anyone's wishes. The hostess even accommodated our dietary needs. We would definitely return here.


Wonerderful Host and B & B

5 su ottobre 26, 2011

had a Great time At the Stauer House and the town Of Mcgregor, IA


Stauer House B&B

4,6 su ottobre 12, 2011

The Breakfast was Outstanding. The owner was very friendly. A truly great value. Donna, the owner was a great help with local parks and restaurants.


Loved our stay!

4,0 su ottobre 05, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the Stauer House B & B. Inn keepers were very friendly and felt right at home. Breakfast was wonderful!


Stauer House B&B

4,4 su ottobre 02, 2011

Very friendly and hospitable B&B. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of selections and food to eat. I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area. Be sure to check out Pike's Peak while you are there.


We'll be back....

4,8 su settembre 06, 2011

Rooms were very clean, breakfast was outstanding. Innkeeper is exceptional.


Unique and comfortable

3,6 su settembre 02, 2011

This B & B is a great value, in the midst of fun and scenic places to visit. Great weekend hideaway.


A Great B&B In A Great Town

4,4 su agosto 19, 2011

This was a wonderful find for us. We will certainly return. The hosts were terrific and the rooms very comfortable. The location is fantastic - close to Pike's Peak and Effigy Mounds. A short walk through the quaint town of McGregor to a nice variety of shops and restaurants.


GREAT PLACE

5 su agosto 11, 2011

This is a excellent place to stay The room was great, service was outstanding, Donna is a wonderful person. we will go back


A Most Enjoyable Stay

5 su agosto 07, 2011

We stayed three nights----enjoyed seeing photos of all they had done to restore this 19th century home, and most thoroughly delighted in the plenteous and tasty breakfasts each and every morning. We would highly recommend the Stauer House to friends looking for a place to stay in this area.


One night stand

4,8 su agosto 01, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night on our way to visit our daughter in Waconia, MN. We stayed in the Stauer room which was lovely, a little more on the masculine side, which my husband appreciated. It still was full of antiques and those little touches that make a room special. We enjoyed the swing on the front porch, the night air, and the quaintness of the area. The brunch in the morning was delicious and a lot of thought went into making it special. We loved Donna, the innkeeper. She was friendly, but not imposing. Overall our favorite B&B so far!


Enjoyed our stay

3,4 su luglio 20, 2011

We had a pleasant stay here. A very beautiful old home that has been lovingly restored. Donna serves an incredible breakfast--you won't even think about food until around 2PM!


Stauer house, mcgregor ia

5 su luglio 15, 2011

stauer b&b is wonderful ! it was so homey and the innkeeper is so sweet and a great cook . breakfast was fabulous!


McGregor goodness!

5 su luglio 15, 2011

Can't say enough good about The Stauer House, Donna (the hostess), an the town of McGregor. Anna and I had a lovely time and Donna was gracious as ever with lots of information about the town, directions around the area, and suggestions about where to visit, what to see/avoid, etc. Loved the room we had and the entire home is absolutely beautiful. And Donna, next time I may just be a customer in your salon! Thanks again :) -Kelly Still


Relaxing

4,4 su luglio 11, 2011

Had a great time, food was great and rooms were clean. Enjoyed our stay very much.


first time in a B&B

5 su luglio 05, 2011

we got there before 4 pm .we were welcomed in warmly,told we could explore the house and to make our selfs at home. we had the ramage room which is a 2 room suite-was clean bright and comfortable. bed was nice but a bit high for my short wife. soft but firm. bathroom was a few steps down the hall.very clean had all the things you needed, shower was nice. breakfast was very good. very tastey healthy food. over all was a very nice time and a great place to stay .donna was very nice would stay there again!!!


Weekend by the river

4,2 su giugno 18, 2011

Can any one slow Donna down. Maintaining a B and B, hair salon and caring for her grandson and she still smiles. Everything clean, neat and quiet. Food was fantastic.


Great place to relax

4,0 su maggio 31, 2011

We like this B&B being because of it's location. Close to state parks, the Mississipi River, many tourist options, setting in a quaint lttile town with shops. Price reasonable. Donna is very nice and accomodating.


Wonderful Getaway

4,2 su maggio 07, 2011

My wife and I were very happy with our stay at the Stauer House B&B. Donna was a wonderful and friendly host and we had everything we needed. Great rooms and for a great price too!


We hope to be back again!

4,8 su aprile 30, 2011

We really loved the Stauer House and the town of McGregor. We spent a wonderful weekend. The breakfasts were outstanding!


A nice place to stay, nice people

4,0 su marzo 23, 2011

The owner was helpful in getting information on the local community and getting us settled. We enjoyed our stay


A mellow morning by the river

4,4 su marzo 21, 2011

My wife and I had a comfy 19th century night and a beautifully prepared breakfast, made with our dietary needs in mind.


We'll be back!!

5 su marzo 02, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Stauer House!! Our room was very quiet even with 4 other guests in the house. Our bed was comfortable and we had our own thermostat so the temp was perfect! The breakfast was one of the best we've had at a B&B! Great location - easy to find (even though McGregor isn't very big!). The innkeepers are super friendly and very knowledgable about the area. We will definitely stay here again!!


Better than motels!

4,0 su novembre 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Stauer after the peak leaf color weekends but it was still very scenic. We had previously stayed at motels in the area and would highly recommend this B & B over them. The room prices are comparable with motels but the atmosphere and food was much better. Donna the hostess is busy but makes you feel literally at home since they open up their home to whatever you need; movies, snacks, fridge use, whatever, it's no problem. Her husband Robert is a tug boat captain and has stories of the river if he's home. We could come and go whenever we chose and still felt secure in this quaint little river town. There isn't much to do if you are into night life but we aren't so we hiked each day at Pike's Peak and the Effigy mounds parks. Well worth the short drive to each for the great views of the Mississippi river valley. If you're fortunate like we were you'll also get to watch bald eagles in flight. All in all, a very nice, relaxing place to stay with great food and friendly hosts. Breakfast is served family style


Gem in a small town

5 su ottobre 31, 2010

Donna & Rob are hardworking people who take pride in all the work they have put into their home and business. It was a real pleasure to get to know them. We stayed in the Ramage Suite and enjoyed everything about it. The bed was extremely comfortable and surroundings were very quiet and peaceful. We appreciated the value and would certainly stay again!


Our family stay

4,8 su ottobre 19, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Stauer House. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful. Even our 2 daughters , aged 18 and 21 went with us and enjoyed their stay. Donna was a wonderful hostess. We will definitely be back.


A very nice stop

5 su ottobre 07, 2010

We were at home right away, and our stay was a good time. We will come back to exporer the small town of McGregor. Donna is a real good cooker. We love our short time there.


Great stay!

4,0 su settembre 29, 2010

Very nice B&B. Breakfast was healthy and not calorie-laden like a lot of B&Bs. Very nice owner and knowledgeable about the area. Would definitely stay here again!


Comments

5 su settembre 17, 2010

We enjoyed our overnight stay at the Stauerhouse and would recommend it to anyone who loves to be pampered. The room was in excellent condition and the breakfast meal was out of this world. We hope to come back soon on our next visit to the Great Mississippi River Road.


Stauer House B & B

4,8 su giugno 24, 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stauer House. Our room was clean and comfortable and the decor was delightful. Donna, our hostess, made sure that we felt very much at home. Breakfast was quite a feast! I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone.


Stauer House B & B

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $79 - $99
  • Recensioni (88) 4,6
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5638732068
  • Telefono 1-5638732713

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina