Blue Heron Guest House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
19 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Magnificent

5 su novembre 09, 2014

We enjoyed a perfect getaway last week at the Blue Heron Guest House on the shores of Winona Lake. Kelly & Tony know exactly how to pamper guests from exquisite furnishings and plush beds to delicious breakfast and fresh coffee. The first floor suite is spacious and has a huge bathroom with two sinks, a large corner shower and a dressing table. We looked up at the stars and out over the lake from the comfort of our outdoor private hot tub. This was a much needed getaway for us from our demanding business and our expectations were high. Kelly and Tony far exceeded them. When we made the reservation we were told, regrettably, that boat rides were over for the season by the time we would be arriving. But, knowing how much we wanted a ride on the lake and seeing that the weather was unseasonably warm, Tony and Kelly were able to arrange what was probably the last boat ride anyone would take on Winona Lake this season. Amazing that they would go to such trouble for us! Kelly made arrangements for us to have a private tour of the Warsaw Glass Factory and window seating with a view of the canal at the best restaurant I have been to in forever! After three nights at The Blue Heron Guest House we felt completely rested and relaxed - we didn't want to leave! Kelly did a fabulous job with breakfast which was as lovely to look at as it was delicious to eat. With a small, stocked fridge, Keurig coffeemaker, chocolates in our room and snacks available, we had all the amenities we could possibly want. Oh! And a front yard campfire on the shore just a few feet away from the water! It doesn't get any better than this and we will never have to look anywhere else for lodging when traveling to the area in the future. Do yourself a favor and look no further than The Blue Heron.


A NIGHT TO REMEMBER!

5 su ottobre 08, 2013

MY HUSBAND & I RECENTLY SPENT A ROMANTIC EVENING JUST 10 MINUTES AWAY FROM HOME. WE WERE CELEBRATING HIS BIRTHDAY AND A LONG AWAITED "ALONE" TIME. UPON ARRIVAL, KELLY & TONY GREETED US WITH A WARM WELCOME AND SHOWED US THE MOST ELEGANT SUITE. FRESH FLOWERS, BALOONS & A CARD WAS SUCH A NICE TOUCH. THE ROOM & VIEW OF WINONA LAKE WAS SIMPLY BREATH TAKING. REX & I DECIDED TO GO OFF ON OUR OWN. AFTER OUR ROMANTIC DINNER AT THE BOAT HOUSE, WE TOOK OUR DESSERT BACK TO THE GUEST HOUSE & SHARED IT AT THE END OF THE PIER WHILE WATCHING THE SUNSET. BY 8:00 PM, WE POPPED OPEN A BOTTLE OF BUBBLY & FINISHED IT OFF IN OUR OWN PRIVATE HOT TUB JUST INCHES FROM THE SHORELINE. SINCE WE ARE EARLY RISERS, WE DECIDED TO TAKE OUR COFFEE OUT ON THE PRIVATE PATIO TO WATCH THE BEAUTY SUNRISE & THE FISH WERE JUMPING. ONCE WE ENTERED INTO THE MAIN LIVING AREA, KELLY GREETED US GOOD MORNING & OFFERED US SOME JUICE PRIOR TO BREAKFAST BEING SERVED. WHILE WE SAT, BACK AT THE END OF THE PIER, TONY ANNOUNCED THAT BREAKFAST WAS READY. WOW...WHAT A BREAKFAST IT WAS. SERVED OUTSIDE WITH ALL THE EXTRA'S WAS MORE THAN EXPECTED! ONLY 1 NIGHT BUT FELT SO REFRESHED BY THE TIME WE LEFT! SO WELL WORTH THE EXPERIENCE! THANK YOU TONY & KELLY!


A great place for a quick getaway

4,8 su settembre 03, 2013

I just got home from my second stay at the guest house. The first time we stayed in the Empyrean suite (which was a little over-the-top for my wife and I -- everything looked gilded in gold), and this time we stayed in the Heron's Nest (which was also richly furnished but more comfortable to my wife and I, plus it's on the second story so you can enjoy the view). It was a great experience. Kelly and Tony are really nice and very accommodating. The boat taxi to Cerulean was awesome -- Tony took us on a great trip around the lake after dinner and we got to enjoy sunset and some good tunes. I know there's another B&B in the village but I don't think I'll ever book there. Staying here feels like staying with family, and the setting is extremely relaxing. The upstairs rooms get access to a nice living-room area complete with coffee and water and a nice DVD collection, not to mention a sprawling view of the lake. Beautiful. The back yard is well laid-out and well-maintained, and features a nice fire pit and a landscaped fountain area. There's wildlife everywhere and people enjoying the lake. Love it. We will be back!


Relaxing Getaway

4,8 su agosto 02, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Blue Heron Guest House. We appreciated the clean and comfortable room, delicious breakfast and a beautiful sunset on the pier. Kelly & Tony arranged our dinner reservations and were very hospitable. The beautiful house provides a relaxing atmosphere for fun and romance.


Beyond Expectations

5 su luglio 10, 2013

The Blue Heron far exceeded our expectations in décor, comfort, food and location. The home is stunningly appointed, situated on a darling peninsula right on the lake. Kelly is a phenomenal cook. Ask her to make you her french toast. It is to die for! The bed was comfortable and we loved having our own balcony. It is well worth the price and drive to stay there.


get away

5 su luglio 02, 2013

Recently had a death in my family and with all the stress I asked a friend to find a get away and this is where she found. Very relaxing stay, owners and hosts kelly and tony were very pleasant and eager to do anything to make stay enjoyable. Sophie the dog was the personna of the place, elegant, relaxed, and friendly. Pleasant surprise to be able to attend the master's musical offering at the college. Great place.


Great for a family get together

4,0 su novembre 15, 2011

My sister and I were coming to Indiana to visit our Aunts and extended family and friends friends. We were so happy to find Kelly and Tony. We made the Blue Heron house our meeting place. Kelly was so gracious and made aspecial breakfast for our guests one morning. It will be a time that we will always remember. We had elegant bedroom opening to a gracious living area all with 360 views of the lake. We highly recommend Blue Heron and will return on our next Indiana visit . Oh, and for those who miss their pets while traveling there is Sophie the Afgan hound with quite a personality.


The MOST relaxing get-away!

5 su agosto 27, 2011

We stayed at Blue Heron to celebrate our anniversary. It was the perfect get-away! Words cannot do justice to describe how perfect everything was - from service to privacy to luxury to yummy gourmet breakfast... all I can say is that Blue Heron far exceeded our expectations! If you go to Winona Lake be sure to stay there!


Executive Dream

5 su febbraio 09, 2011

As an executive, the Blue Heron served my every need. My room had a full size desk, comfy chair, and outstanding bed. The decor is just stunning. Even the sheets were of extreme high quality. The owners were quite gracious, even calling back to warn me of slippery road conditions. Every item in the home was considered and placed for need, function and most of all, beauty. I really can't explain how wonderfully pleasing this home was to the eye. Executives desire a little pampering too. Being that Warsaw Indiana is the Orthopedic capital of the world, I highly recommend those coming in to meet with their corporate affiliates to take advantage of this high level of quality B&B. I believe the price is fully justifiable given the amenities, proximity, and location. I have stayed at historic mansions, swank hotels, and ritzy B&B's. None have reached this level of quality or beauty while still maintaining the feel of a home away from home. I rated this a 5 for value because no hotel even comes close in this price range. You would have to go over $1,000 a night to match this experience.


A Wonderful Stay, Hosted by Wonderful People

4,6 su ottobre 23, 2010

We stayed at the Blue Heron this past August during our 37th wedding anniversary. The room, view and natural surroundings are uniquely juxtaposed, each presenting its own beauty. The innkeepers, Tony and Kelly, are very real, caring people who work very hard to make sure each guest's stay is wonderful. As a bonus, Tony is an avian authority, bar none. And, there are plenty of birds to enjoy viewing: swans, eagles, herons, ducks, hummingbirds, and more... Cindy and I can not say enough about our wonderful aniversary evening dinner and lake cruise with special inn embellishments. Thank you Kelly and Tony! Dr. and Mrs. Larry VanHorn


One of a Kind...

4,0 su settembre 01, 2010

I researched many B&B's hoping to find the perfect place to surprise my husband for our anniversary. After seeing the pictures and reading about The Blue Heron Guest House I knew this was the one for me! I was also pleased with the location, something this rare & beautiful and not that far away from home! I fell in love with the design of the home and the picturesque lake views from the many windows and from our own personal balcony. We had our morning coffee while we watched the sunrise and took some breathtaking pictures all from our balcony. Kelly and Tony served our breakfast out on the terrace that faced the lake, the food was wonderful and the company of the other guests was a neat way to start the day and end our night away. I would highly recommend The Blue Heron Guest House if you want a place that makes you feel special! Kelly and Tony are very gracious hosts and go out of their way to make your stay a memorable experience.


Great for R&R

5 su giugno 17, 2010

This place is a wonderful way to spend the weekend together. My fiance and I stayed here for our first anniversary and loved every minute of it. Kelly and Tony were great host and made everyone welcomed. They treated us like royalty and even called to make sure we were okay because there was a storm coming in the distance. The house and rooms were spacious and accommodating. We will be back to spend another weekend. Perfect 10 in my books.


Wonderful Vacation

4,0 su agosto 15, 2009

We stayed at the Blue Heron for our anniversary this year and had a wonderful time. Kelly and Tony are great hosts, the room was beautiful, and the breakfasts were delightful. The village at Winona Lake is great for walking around and renting bikes and has some very nice resturants.


Getaway weekend

5 su giugno 10, 2009

My best friend of almost 40 years and I wanted to have a getaway weekend. I stumbled upon the Blue Heron by doing some web searches, and was I ever lucky! We both felt pampered and relaxed all weekend, thanks to the stunning surroundings and the warmth and hospitality shown to us by Kelly and Tony. The Blue Heron is incredibly beautiful, both inside and outside. We had a fabulous dinner the first evening in Winona Lake, after a leisurely pontoon ride and lake tour by Tony. After dinner, Tony and Kelly picked us up and we had another leisure cruise back to the Blue Heron. To ensure our comfort, they even brought blankets in case we got cold on the ride back! Breakfasts both mornings were wonderful. The weather cooperated and we got to eat breakfasts outside, enjoying the wildlife and lake activities. Our rooms were spacious and decorated to perfection, as was the whole place. From the start, Kelly and Tony made us feel at home and welcome. We fell in love with their beautiful afghan dog, Sophia. I don't think I've ever been around a dog is so mellow! In summary, it was one of the most perfect weekends I can remember and we've already asked Kelly to let us know when the local art festival is scheduled for next year, because we are going back!


Babymoon

4,0 su novembre 18, 2008

I wanted a night away with my husband before our seventh child was born. This looked like the perfect place; tranquil, beautiful and not too far from our hospital.


Long Weekend Getaway

4,8 su novembre 10, 2008

I wanted to surprise my wife with a long weekend get-away, without the kids. So I looked around online and was lucky to find this wonderful place. We were greeted warmly by Kelly and Tony, the owners. The two of them did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. They gave us great advice on dining options, and made reservations for us. Tony and Kelly ferried us across the lake to dinner one evening, and Tony was waiting for us after dinner to take us home -- talk about service. Kelly arranged for chocolate dipped strawberries and champagne (which I brought with me) to be waiting in our room that night when we returned. They even invited us to join them at the campfire one evening. We really enjoyed talking to them and sharing details about each other's families and background. The home is just beautiful, with each room so well appointed and decorated that we were surprised by the luxury. Our bedroom had its own balcony, a very comfortable bed, a mini fridge, large desk, etc. The home has a speaker system wired so that you can turn on music in your room if you want. The breakfasts each morning were just incredible: omelets, eggs Benedict with fresh spinach, fresh fruit and juice. It made waking up and beginning the day so nice. We also enjoyed walking and biking around the Village at Winona. We found plenty of art galleries, craft shops and restaurants filled with friendly people. Bike rentals were $5 for the whole day. Warsaw was also nice, with more high quality restaurants than I expected. We were there in October, when the weather had started to turn a bit colder. We'll definitely try to go back in warmer weather in the future so we can relax on the balcony and hammock. For relaxing and enjoying life together, this was a great get away for my wife and I. Thanks Kelly and Tony!


Wow...Location, Location, Location

5 su maggio 20, 2008

Kelly and Tony were very accomodating, and the facility is spectacular. Great location on the lake, and the interior is immaculate. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet, comfortable, and beautiful stay.


Appropriately named – not your typical B&B.

4,4 su maggio 15, 2008

You’re not renting a room at The Blue Heron Guest House; you are a guest in an elegantly decorated manor house. Minutes from Warsaw, IN on Lake Winona, This is more than a place to crash for the night. With only two guest rooms you are guaranteed personal attention. Our choice of the second floor guest room included a spacious bedroom with balcony overlooking Lake Winona, private bathroom, and lounge area with satellite TV. We did not see the first floor guest room since it was occupied. However the pictures posted on this website are very accurate. The first floor lounge area is appointed with numerous antiques including a large marble fireplace. Breakfast is usually served out on the veranda. Due to cooler weather, we opted for the dining room. On our first morning, our hostess Kelly served my husband’s favorite breakfast – bananas Foster French toast. We were delighted. Our second breakfast included fresh fruit and an egg casserole, the recipe handed down from her grandmother. Snacks during the day included cookies and fine chocolates, cheese and crackers, and tea or juices. No honor bar or self service here-- you’re a guest! What to do in the area: If you’re looking for an up-close view of Lake Winona you can walk about 100 feet onto the pier and sit dockside. Your host Tony is an avid bird watcher and can easily point out numerous species. Tony will also ferry you across the lake to dinner or shopping in the Village of Winona. While the weather did not allow us to take the pontoon, Kelly’s description of the village was enough incentive for us to drive around the lake and check it out. We also took her advice regarding antiquing in nearby towns and were not disappointed. It is easy to recommend The Blue Heron Guest House. We were there in May but anytime of year would be a good time to visit. I can just envision the Fall foliage and wintering bald eagles. For us, The Blue Heron Guest House is a place to return to.


anniversary get a way

4,6 su maggio 14, 2008

We recieved excellent service more like pampering. Our suite was 5 star. We had all the privacy with spectacular views of the lake. "2nd. honeymoon".


Blue Heron Guest House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $169 - $299
  • Recensioni (19) 4,7
  • Camere 3

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-5745513205

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina