Ruddick-Nugent House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
72 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Suprising Gem

5 su marzo 05, 2014

My wife and I were in Columbus, IN for a night and debating between this and a hotel and I am extremely pleased we chose the Ruddick-Nugent House. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The bathtub, fireplace, and balcony were very charming. The hosts were extremely friendly, and good cooks to boot. We ended up spending the entire morning at the breakfast table covering a range of topics. We are looking forward to returning in the not-to-distant future!


Highly recommend

4,6 su ottobre 29, 2013

We enjoyed our two nights very much. Dennis was an attentive host, the breakfasts were creative and tasty, and the house itself extremely interesting. A plus: Columbus was an unexpected and wonderful place to visit. Martha's room is nice but would probably select Williams next time as tub/shower is not separate from bedroom in Martha's.


Many thanks to Dennis and Joyce!

5 su agosto 24, 2013

We had a wonderful two-night stay at the Ruddick-Nugent House and enjoyed touring Columbus very much. The candle-lit breakfast "parties" were really a treat because of the delicious fare and interesting conversation with our hosts and other guests. Our accommodations in "William's Room" were very comfortable, and the beautiful bathroom with old-time fixtures was an experience not to be missed! Highly recommend this B&B and a visit to Columbus! Susan and Warren Cook


Best B&B we have experience so far!

5 su giugno 28, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at this charming, historic home. The rooms were spacious, inviting, and so restful. Dennis and Joyce made us feel like family rather than just guests. They shared their knowledge of the Columbus area so we had great information to select where to find antiques, shop, eat, explore, and more. If you have never experienced a B&B, you are missing out. Include this home on your to do list.


Loved our stay at the Ruddick-Nugent House!

5 su giugno 25, 2012

On a recent trip to Indiana for a friend's wedding my daughter and I decided to stay at a bed and breakfast. We absolutely loved the Ruddick-Nugent House!! A wedding was finishing on the grounds as we arrived...such a lovely locale for such an event. Dennis, the innkeeper, was very welcoming and showed us to our room, gave us details about the house, and then shared ideas for where we could have dinner in downtown Columbus. He was very helpful and quite knowledgeable about the area. Our room (the Inez room) was spacious and comfortable, beautiful views out the windows of the grounds, and although historical, it had modern amenities. After a good nights' sleep we had breakfast with six other guests in the gorgeous and elegant formal dining room. Dennis and his wife had prepared a delicious meal for us and conversations flowed. Thank you for a WONDERFUL stay at your charming inn. If we ever return to that part of the country from our homes in Texas, you'll be sure to see us again :)


Excellent Accomadations For Columbus, Indiana

4,6 su marzo 20, 2012

Dennis and Joyce are friendly, warm, extremely well informed about many, many things local to global and overall great hosts! Highly recommended accomadations, clean, well appointed, nice selection of hearty breafast items, delivered with genuine interest in guests interests! We look forward to visiting again!


Elegance, history, & more

5 su febbraio 08, 2012

An elegant bed & breakfast at a moderate price. An historic house with plenty of space to relax both indoors and out. Breakfast was substantial and included interesting varities as well as standard fare. Plenty of information provided for the surrounding area.


Charming inn, excellent breakfast, knowledgeable friendly innkeeper.

5 su novembre 16, 2011

This charming, well located inn will meet the expectations of the most discerning guest.


B&B review

5 su novembre 07, 2011

This B&B is absolutely beautiful, friendly owners, wonderful breakfast.


Delightful stay at this Inn

4,0 su ottobre 19, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a delightful 2 days in Columbus, IN. We enjoyed our stay at the Ruddick Nugent House. The home is charming with beautiful antiques and lovely guest rooms. Our innkeeper fixed wonderful breakfasts each morning & shared his knowledge of this interesting town. Be sure to book the Architectural tour, and the Miller house if you can. We enjoyed the Arch. Tour but could not get in the Miller house tour-it books early. We would definitely go again! Betty & Jerry---Westlake, Ohio


Wonderful B&B Stay in Columbus, IN

5 su ottobre 07, 2011

This Bed & Breakfast is a beautiful old home located in Columbus, Indiana just outside the downtown historic district. The innkeepers were most gracious and very knowledgable about area attractions, restaurants, shopping, and tours. Dennis and Joyce set an attractive breakfast table with delicious homemade food choices. Among the period furnishings, Dennis and Joyce have also included many items they've collected over the years on their travels, which began when they met while working for the Peace Corps in Ethopia. We loved staying in William's Room - it has a comfortable, large bed and a full bath, plus a small anteroom. All the rooms have high ceilings. Each room is provided with a booklet telling the history of the family that built the home, and it's fascinating. There is plenty of parking. We saw information about the beautiful, modern architecture in this small Indiana town and just had to come see it for ourselves. It was well worth the visit. Dennis and Joyce enjoy talking about the town; Joyce works at the Visitors Center and Dennis does some of the tours. We recommend this B&B highly and would gladly stay again should we visit Columbus.


Gracious Bed and Breakfast

5 su ottobre 07, 2011

The hosts, Dennis and Joyce, are lovely people who enjoy sharing their beautiful home, gardens and interesting collections with visitors. Dennis has a wealth of information about the Columbus area and the house itself. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and wished we could stay even longer. If you are planning to visit the Columbus area, you can't do better than the Ruddick-Nugent House.


An exceptional place in a most exceptional community

5 su settembre 11, 2011

This B&B was a truly exceptional experience in a community ranked among the best in the US for its unique blend of buildings and community involvement. We spent 3 nights over Labor Day weekend 2011 here. Beginning with the late 1800's home, set on a full city block of gardens, welcomed us. While magnificent with outstanding antiques and artwork, the home was warm,welcoming and comfortable. Our room, William (each room named after a child who grew up here), was large with windows looking upon the side and rear gardens. Our hosts, Dennis and Joyce, were an excellent source of information about the city and buildings (both serve as tour guides in community). The home is a few blocks off the main drag, thus offered a quiet setting and relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was the greatest treat, with a formal dining area, table with lit candles and beautiful settings. We were served a gourmet breakfast each morning. (if you only like egg mcmuffins, this is not for you). Additonally the conversaton with fellow travelers and our hosts makes one reluctant to leave to table to begin the days activity. This is one of the very best B&B stays we have had in 25+ years of B&Bing.


A delightful surprise in a city of delightful surprises

5 su settembre 10, 2011

We spent Labor Day Weekend with Dennis & Joyce. Beginning with the full city block grounds, the magnificent late 1800's home was beyond great. Our room was spacious with excellent view of side gardens. The real treat, however, were the 3 breakfasts we shared with other travelers and our hosts. Each was a gourmet delight, table setting was elegant and conversations made you wishing to say and continue rather than starting your day of exploration. As an added gift were our hosts, both of whom serve as tour guides of the community, and a deep knowledge of the history and "tales" of Columbus. All in all, this was one of the best B&B's we have visited in 20+ years of travel.


Exceptional stay in Columbus

5 su settembre 04, 2011

We had booked two rooms for three nights. House and rooms are lovely decorated, the innkeepers Dennis and Joyce are taking care about really everything ! Candlelight breakfast is an everday different (!) surprise - absolutely exceptional!


Grown Up

5 su agosto 04, 2011

We had a wonderful "Grown Up" time at the B and B. Columbus is a delightful place and it's so close to home. It felt like a real vacation without the hours of driving! The inkeepers were helpful in every way!


First time B&B

4,8 su luglio 16, 2011

The idea of having breakfast with strangers feels weird at first. I am a pretty plain breakfast person but the food was great. You'll get over that fear, they are nice. The place is an entire city block in a quiet neighborhood. The cons would be the lack of the typical perks like exercise room, swimming pool, etc. However, there is free water, soda and candy in the hallway if you are hungry. Also there is reading and a DVD collection.


Wonderful stay at the Ruddick-Nugent House

5 su marzo 14, 2011

What a wonderful stay we had at this Inn. We were looking on our GPS and saw the name (unusual) and gave them a call. We liked what they had to offer over the phone, amenities and price, so we decided to give it a go. What a pleasant surprise when we arrived. Beautiful old home with very personable innkeepers. Dennis gave us a quick history of the house before we registered and gave us very helpful maps and info of the town for supper. The room was over the top. Gas fireplace, jetted tub and beautifully decorated plus a much-missed tempur-pedic mattress on the queen bed! Breakfast the following morning was delicious and innkeeper Dennis was very interesting and entertaining with conversation. Richard and I will defiantly stay at the Ruddick-Nugent House the next time we are in Columbus.


Nice winter getaway

4,6 su gennaio 31, 2011

This is a very delightful and quiet place from which to visit Columbus and the surrounding area. You experience a well appointed Victorian atmosphere with modern conveniences. I would recommend this in lieu of the bland stay found at motels. We have stayed in numerous places throughout the U.S. and we will remember this


Superb, extraordinaire

5 su novembre 13, 2010

beautiful decor and home, very comfortable, inviting, exquisite. Grounds outside are beautiful and serene. Delicious breakfast is different each day and 1st course is presented beautifully (other dishes served buffet style). Hosts were gracious and personable. Would like to visit other B&Bs in future, but difficult not to return to this one -- which we plan to do.


Best B&B ever!

5 su ottobre 11, 2010

Dennis & Joyce Orwin paid great attention to detail to assure a comfortable, peaceful stay at their B&B. Breakfasts were exceptional and memorable. Our stay was perfection. Excellent in all aspects!


Autumn in Columbus

4,2 su ottobre 05, 2010

What a delightful weekend as we met for our annual get together with college friends. The history of the house was brought to life with the interesting dialogue of our host, Dennis. Breakfasts were a treat, different each morning. And, the plate of autumn leaf cookies on a rainy afternoon was a pleasant surprise. We would recommend the Ruddick-Nugent to friends or any history buffs. Great stay!


Clean, Friendly, Delicious

4,4 su agosto 17, 2010

What could be better than a friendly greeting, a pleasant, clean room, a good night's sleep, followed by a gourmet breakfast?? Well, all that in a friendly, interesting and clean town with good restaurants!


Great

5 su agosto 09, 2010

Wish we had more time to enjoy the beautiful home. A plus breakfast, A plus host.


Wonderful visit to Columbus area

4,6 su luglio 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed for two weekend nights. Though I've stayed in many many hotels all over the world, this was our first B&B experience and was a delight instead of a sterile hotel. As written, the Orwins are a gracious and friendly hosts, with many enthralling stories. Breakfast was delicious and meeting new people fun. The room was absolutely quiet. The grounds beautiful though it was too hot that weekend to sit outdoors. A great weekend getaway we enthusiastically recommend.


Ruddick-Nugent House

5 su luglio 22, 2010

This is a historical house in a historical town. It was all perfect. The candlelight breakfast was delicious, but I really appreciated the small refrigerator outside the rooms, which was stocked with pop and snacks.


"lovely place, friendly and welcoming"

5 su giugno 29, 2010

We found the Ruddick-Nugent House an exceptional place to stay. Hope to return another time.


Loved Staying Here

3,4 su giugno 16, 2010

In particular, I really enjoyed the innkeepers: Dennis and Joyce Orwin. They had been in the Peace Corps and were very interesting and professional.


charming and comfortabe

5 su giugno 15, 2010

We have just returned from a "friends" annual gathering in Columbus IN. We are four couples now living in four different states after being chums in Okemos MI. Our stay at the Ruddick-Nugent house was a real treat among many during our weekend stay in Indiana. The home itself is awesome with all the restoration work that is obvious (and some such as wi-fi and a/c that is not too apparent, but greatly appreciated). Our breakfasts were equal to a Four Seasons hotel and a delight to the eye as well as the palate. I believe all eight of us can highly recommend this lodging to all...


Global Tales

4,4 su maggio 06, 2010

While the beautifully restored historic home was first rate, the best part of our stay was listening to the fascinating stories of life in Ethiopia during our host's Peace Corps years. Dennis is a born teacher. What an unexpected pleasure!


We had a delightful stay. Highly recommended.

5 su marzo 23, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this historic and restored mansion. The house is warm and inviting and filled with beautiful period furniture and interesting artwork collected from the around the world. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We definitely felt like we were guests and not living in a museum. The breakfast was delicious, buffet style, with many choices and was imaginative and plentiful...loved the gourmet pancakes and homemade sauce. The table settings were impeccable and china, tablecloths, and centerpieces were different everyday. We enjoyed our lively conversations with the other guests and interesting, educated and well-traveled hosts. They have extensive knowledge about the area and architecture (they conduct architectural tours of the area) and that added to experience. We were delighted by the many extras like the snacks, pastries, cookies and common refrigerator on the room level stocked with bottled water, etc. as well as books and videos...but really didn’t have time during our weekend to enjoy them all. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Columbus, IN. The grounds, gardens, and veranda should be beautiful in Spring and Summer. We have stayed at a dozen or so B&Bs throughout the Midwest and we would rate this as one of the very nicest and very reasonably priced, as well.


Unusually Nice B&B

5 su gennaio 27, 2010

This B&B is a very nice restoration of a grand old mansion with all modern amenities and comforts. The host greeted us on arrival, gave us a tour and a brief history. He was an excellent guide for dining. Breakfast was superb, with our food preferences asked in advance. Our host ate with us and visited - friendly and unrushed.


Excellent Stay

5 su dicembre 16, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful home and hospitality. The history of the house was fascinating. The home was comfortable and relaxing. The Orwins were a pleasure.


Ruddick-Nugent House

3,8 su dicembre 11, 2009

Very comfortable bed and home with interesting, knowledgeable host.


Ruddick-Nugent House

4,6 su novembre 06, 2009

This architectural gem in a town of architectural repute is a visit well-spent. This house, situated on its own block is lovingly restored and maintained by its gracious proprietor, Dennis Corwin. Don't miss this chance.


Full candlelight breakfast is just the beginning!

5 su novembre 03, 2009

Joyce & Dennis Orwin welcomed us royally into their Ruddick-Nugent B&B for our Columbus, IN 3 day art/architecture tour. Attention to details, fabulous food & an all around fun time were provided to both of us. We will recommend this B&B to everyone!


Old workmates

4,6 su ottobre 20, 2009

Four couples (six of the group worked at the same company) met at the Ruddick-Nugent B&B and very much enjoyed the atmosphere, accommodations, food and company of the hosts. We highly recommend the Ruddick-Nugent House.


Better than most

5 su ottobre 20, 2009

Beautifully maintained home. Interesting history and tour. The breakfast was all home-made and so well presented. Well-informed about interests & activities in the area. Will recomend.


5-A stay!

5 su settembre 30, 2009

As a marketer and frequent traveler I have become an appreciator of things well-done. The Orwins understand -- almost innately -- how to share their wonderful brand of hospitality. Our evening and morning visit with them represented our finest B&B esperience yet.


Awesome first stay in a B&B

5 su settembre 13, 2009

We stayed for one night and checked out this morning after a great breakfast. The hosts are amazing people with wonderful stories to share. We had an amazing time and will definitely visit again!


WONDERFUL

5 su settembre 10, 2009

We were there for 4 days and 3 nights 8/30-9/2. Our main goal was to get away from the world and rest. Not only did we get to do that, but we had the most wonderful candlelight breakfasts, and "family" atmosphere breakfasts. Thank you, Joyce for giving us so many tips on things to do and places to eat. Your home and the grounds are an amazing treat. We hope to come back some day. Columbus is a beautiful town that is sporless clean and full of architectural wonders. Gary and Cathy S.


My first stay at a B&B

4,6 su settembre 02, 2009

We wanted to spend our anniversary somewhere special and this bed and breakfast definitely was special. We enjoyed the gardens, the room and the breakfast very much. The owners were very friendly and we had a great time here.


The Best Bed and Breakfast I've Ever Experienced!

5 su agosto 26, 2009

Dennis and Joyce have created an awesome experience for anyone lucky enough to be able to stay here in Columbus, Indiana at the Ruddick-Nugent House. They have improved on an already incredible historical landmark in a town nationally known for its architecture and history. The breakfast was incredible as was every single thing about the service and the building itself. All I can say is you've gotta experience it for yourself! Plan on staying more than just one night (Lise and I stayed 3 but would've stayed a month if we could have) or else you'll be sorry! Amazing. Thanks again to Dennis and Joyce, Charles & Lise Brown Woodland, CA


Wonderful memories of Indiana

5 su agosto 21, 2009

Owners were friendly and provided important information for our stay. Food was excellent. Sodas and snacks were always available. House itself is charming and beautiful. We'll always remember our stay here.


Ruddick-Nugent House

4,4 su agosto 19, 2009

Unexpected gem, wonderful breakfast, enthisiast hosts beautiful house & grounds. First rate!


Sisters Weekend

4,6 su agosto 07, 2009

This was my sister's first B & B and my second one, this was exceptionally nice. The innkeepers were very entertaining, very well educated, lots of suggestions of things to do. This turned out to a Sisters weekend for the other guest at the inn as well. Really wish we could have stayed longer.


wedding trip

5 su luglio 15, 2009

The folks who run the Ruddick House are some of the best we have stayed with. We will be back!


Wonderful Experience

5 su luglio 14, 2009

Me and my wife stayed in Martha's Room on 6/27/09 and a wonderful experience at a bed and breakfast. The inn keeper's were very friendly and gave us suggestions on attractions and restaurants in the area. The room was very clean, comfortable, and felt like home. Breakfast in the morning was by far one of the best we have had in any hotel. The house itself was very historic and had beautiful gardens and fountains with seating to enjoy the setting. The pictures on the website doesn't do the beauty of the Ruddick-Nugent House justice.


Relaxing and Friendly

4,0 su luglio 11, 2009

We had a wonderful two night stay on Monday, July 6-7. The home is beautiful and well maintained. The breakfasts were marvelous! Dennis, the Inn Keeper, was a gracious host and shared stories about the house during each unique and delightfully presented breakfast. One morning, another guest treated us to relaxing music at the grand piano in the large living room. I would recommend the Ruddick-Nugent Home and magnificant gardens to anyone. We felt like part of the family. Thank you Dennis for a wonderful stay!


Pleasant Historic B&B

4,0 su luglio 10, 2009

We enjoyed staying in this lovely historic B&B. The Innkeepers are world travelers and the house is decorated with many intriguing items from their travels. Our room was pleasant and had a private bath containing the functioning old-fashioned claw-foot tub/shower with wrap around curtain. The gravity toilet flushed with a pull chain! Very quaint. There were delicious sweets and snacks set out in the evening by the mini fridge filled with cold soft drinks. The grounds are amazing, with tall established trees shading the lawn with fountains and potted plants scattered throughout. It would be a cool spot on a hot summer day for tea and a good book!


We'll return again to this B&B

4,0 su giugno 25, 2009

A short history of the house found in the bedrooms makes a visit especially interesting. And on questioning at breakfast, we were fascinated by the details of the restoration. We wandered the grounds--and delighted in watching an afternoon rain storm from the shelter of the front porch. Even the curtailed explorations of the town did not bother us, with such a delightful place to to enjoy the storm.


A breath of relaxation

5 su maggio 27, 2009

If you are looking for a place to recharge your batteries, the Ruddick-Nugent House may be the place for you. The three acres are well kept; grounds and gardens beckon you to stroll through them. The breakfast was the best of all the B&B's we have stayed at over the past 15 years.


Beautiful Home in an Unique City

4,6 su maggio 19, 2009

Relaxing stay at this carefully restored home and gardens. Although we kept busy visiting the many interesting buildings and parks in Columbus, the B&B provided a large selection of books, movies, and CDs for guests to enjoy. The host was very friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfasts were wonderful. We would recommend this B&B to others.


A labor of love

5 su maggio 13, 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay...filled with history and an interesting and thoughtful host...no detail is left unattended!


Part of the family

5 su maggio 11, 2009

Dennis and Joyce not only have a beautiful inn, but they treat you like family. They joined their guests for the fabulous meal they prepared for breakfast. I loved it!!!!!!!!


First rate

5 su aprile 14, 2009

Clean, elegant, comfortable surroundings, excellent food and hospitality.


Gracious staying

4,4 su aprile 14, 2009

Victorian charm with welcoming host, delicious food, and restful rooms. Very nice!


very nice!

5 su aprile 10, 2009

Beautiful furnishings, well maintained, great amenities, and delicious meals in the morning.


A Show Stopper - City & B & B

5 su aprile 04, 2009

Chose Columbus as a stopover on the way home & discovered this inn online. We love Victorian homes and this one left us wanting nothing. From the moment Dennis welcomed us into their home, he gave us a verbal & physical tour. It was truly relaxing and a home you will fall in love with. The breakfast buffet was wonderful with lit candles. We have stayed at over 30 B & B's, this one ranks with the TOP ones! Thanks for a super getaway - you need to check out this B & B.


outstanding in every way

5 su marzo 27, 2009

Clean, comfortable, all modern facilities. Charming hosts, excellent food. Returning with 3 other couples in the fall.


Step back in time

5 su dicembre 10, 2008

historic, charming, colonial home reflect the various periods in history since 1884. Bedrooms are quiet , comfortable with private bathrooms and fireplace. Breakfast was wonderful, served in the dining room by candle light, crystal, china, and silverware. Columbus visitors center was a treat.


Ruddick-Nugent House

4,6 su dicembre 03, 2008

The breakfast was great!!


Weekend getaway

5 su novembre 25, 2008

This inn was relaxing and comfortable. We enjoyed the history of the home, and the antiques. It's a beautiful home.


highly recommended!

4,6 su novembre 21, 2008

Our hosts were very informative about their wonderful house and the area. We had excellent accommodations and a very good breakfast. We would highly recommend this B&B!


Wonderful experience

4,8 su ottobre 15, 2008

Lovely home, exceptional rooms, great breakfast and amazing gardens--property includes an entire city block.


Enjoyable experience

4,4 su ottobre 01, 2008

We had a very pleasant & relaxing weekend staying at the Ruddick-Nugent Inn. The owners were very helpful and willing to assist in any way. We would stay again.


The Shakespeare Garden

4,0 su settembre 29, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed here because it is an exceptional home. The innkeepers are extremely knowledgeable about the house and the town and they are wonderful cooks!!! We will stay again and again!!!


"Wonderfully Relaxing"

5 su luglio 31, 2008

I've loved everything about our stay. Our room, the home, and the garden were all beautiful. Dennis and Joyce made us feel at home.


More than you would expect

4,0 su luglio 25, 2008

he innkeepers have paid attention to every detail of the houses. they take great pride inthe establishment. Lodging and amenities make for a truly relaxing stay, and the food is top-notch.


A wonderful surprise

5 su luglio 14, 2008

Needing 2 rooms for 2 mights in Columbus we called R.N. he gave a discount mid-week. Host was very interesting. Rooms & food were outstanding.


Beautiful home, wonderful hosts.

5 su agosto 07, 2007

My husband and I stayed here in April of '07. We absolutely adored this place. The hosts were so nice and showed us the home and explained the history. The food was just wonderful and the rooms were beautiful and full of history. We enjoyed the weekend SO MUCH and will absolutely come again. We really loved being there. Thanks so much!


Excellent

5 su gennaio 08, 2007

We stayed at this wonderful B&B three times last year & thoroughly enjoyed it. The Hosts are wonderful. The Gardens in the Summer are worth the trip alone!


Ruddick-Nugent House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $79 - $119
  • Recensioni (72) 4,8
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8123791354
  • Numero di Fax 1-8123791354
  • Gratuito 1-8008147478

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina