Gray Goose Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
228 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A Pleasant Surprise!

5 su agosto 11, 2014

The Gray Goose Inn is not what you would expect to find nestled just outside of an active business and retail area. It is tucked away just far enough to feel like you are "away from it all" while also being "close to everything." The service was remarkable...as was the gourmet breakfast! The grounds and inn are lovely. This was our first visit and there's no question that we plan to return in the future!


Lovely B&B

3,6 su luglio 31, 2014

The Gray Goose Inn is tucked into a lovely setting near a small lake off the main highway. The grounds are nice, with a screened gazebo and enough property to be able to take a walk. The inn itself is very pretty, decorated in a flowery English style. We stayed in the Gray Goose suite which was roomy and comfortable, with a fireplace and one room with large windows overlooking the lake in the back. Tim, the innkeeper, was pleasant but not effusive, and showed us around. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, and everyone was served quickly and efficiently. The only drawback for me was that trains go through town all night long, and as I am used to the peace and quiet of the country, that bothered me, but I imagine there are people who love the sound of train whistles in the night. All in all a lovely place to stay!


Fantastic!

4,6 su luglio 30, 2014

Adorable, quaint, gorgeous grounds, thoughtful staff. Loved it!


Great, quiet place to stay.

4,4 su luglio 25, 2014

My wife and I went to the Gray Goose for a two-night getaway. We loved the room we stayed in as well as the service. Everything was clean, and any requests we had were handled in a timely way and with kindness. The breakfasts were fantastic, and the quiet, homey atmosphere was just what we needed.


Gray goose Inn is a winner three times over

5 su luglio 22, 2014

We chose the inn the first time based on its proximity to the Indiana dunes. We've gone back two more times because it is such a great place to relax. The breakfasts are great, too.


Beautiful place

4,4 su luglio 19, 2014

Arrived early due to a time change and was met at the door and sent away. Could have at least offered us a drink and the beautiful grounds or the opportunity to sit in the lovely "living room" to watch the birds or play checkers.


Great stay

5 su luglio 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay with Tim and Allie and Charley. We stayed in the Lon Schneider suite- Very nice- Fun imagining the family leaving there many years ago. A lovely spot- We attended the farmer's market in town tho it was raining and several booths were shut down. An enjoyable stay. Try it!!


Lovely location and owner

4,6 su luglio 12, 2014

Chesterton itself may be a bit dinky, but the inn is secluded and has a great setting, and the beautiful beaches are only minutes away. The owner of the inn, Tim, works really hard to make his establishment as delightful as possible. It's affordable, clean, and your every need is met. Personally, I think they try to get too fancy with the breakfasts; I'd prefer old-fashioned eggs and bacon or french toast. That's just my preference, though. The food was inarguably well made.


Great location & wonderful stay

4,4 su luglio 10, 2014

Beautiful b&b, with VERY comfortable bed (we stayed in the Drake chamber). Good breakfast. Perfect location, close to lots of great restaurants and the dunes state park. We would definitely return.


Great B&B

5 su luglio 09, 2014

Very nice and quiet


Peace & Tranquility

5 su luglio 07, 2014

The service was superior and we were treated like we were old friends rather than guests. The home and grounds were beautiful and it felt like we were out in the woods even though we were very close to town.


a great place to stay that is close to everything

4,2 su giugno 25, 2014

the grey goose inn is cute, clean, charming, and hospitable. Tim is friendly and most welcoming. we saw so much wild life which was an unexpected treat! the dining and array of snacks, coffee, tea, etc was good. there was plenty of community space to sit and relax. each bedroom has a private bath which is nice. actually, the bed/bath space was one of the most spacious I have seen in a B&B. outdoor gazebo and lake view were awesome. highly recommended.


Very pleasant stay at Gray Goose Inn

4,0 su giugno 24, 2014

We spent a very pleasant night in this beautiful house. The service was excellent and the environnement really relaxing. We enjoyed the character of the house and the situation was perfect. Thank you so much for your advices about the beaches...we spent a fabulous week end with our dog!


Great breakfast!

3,6 su giugno 21, 2014

Elegantly decorated Victorian era home Great breakfast Excellent bird viewing Quiet location despite being so close to highways Railroad was a little noisy


Rhonda and Larry's big adventure at grey goose inn.

5 su giugno 10, 2014

Fantastic. Love the view, love the room and loved the service.


Great stay near lake

4,2 su giugno 05, 2014

It was a great stay and a wonderful breakfast every morning.We loved the great lake view from our rooms and view of animals -geese, swans, tortoises at the lake.Tim and Bertha were great hosts. A few minor things for improvement: -the bedroom toilet door was difficult to open and close -a previous setting on the alarm clock woke me in the middle of the night


A Stay by the Lake in the woods.

4,2 su maggio 30, 2014

I enjoyed my brief stay. The only complaint would be that the room rate is a little high.


Fantastic place

4,2 su maggio 28, 2014

My husband and I were traveling to Niagra Falls and this was our first stop on the way. Loved it! Would definitely go back!


Lovely place to stay!

4,8 su maggio 25, 2014

Lovely B & close to the dunes. The staff made us feel at home and treated us well. Highly recommend this place for a romantic getaway.


Lovely B&B

4,6 su maggio 19, 2014

We only stayed two nights but were very pleased with the accommodations. The rooms had that charming old world feel, yet were spacious with all modern conveniences. The parlor, sunroom and breakfast rooms were attractive, inviting and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. All in all a very relaxing atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again. Marie and George Vogler


Birthday Getaway

4,2 su maggio 08, 2014

We were looking for a dog friendly B&B and found the Gray Goose Inn. We were happy to find a clean, charming inn situated so close to everything we wanted to do (State Park, European Market, Restaurants, etc.)yet it had a private setting on a beautiful lake with a walking trail around the majority of the lake. Tim, the innkeeper, had great ideas for things for us to do and was just a really nice guy to chat with. We'll be back!


Relaxing location

3,0 su maggio 07, 2014

The house is situated on a large property with a lake and surrounding trees. Very peaceful setting. The breakfast room has a large picture window where you can watch the birds at the feeders. Sunroom to enjoy during the day. Fireside room to stay cozy at night.


out of expectation

5 su maggio 06, 2014

Great environment around the inn, and the owner is putting a lot of thoughts into making our stay a great one. Like a day dream :)


Great Stay

5 su aprile 02, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Gray Goose Inn. Breakfast was fabulous!


A great getaway from our busy life

4,4 su febbraio 05, 2014

We spent 2 nights 1/31/14 to 2/2/14. If you are looking for a quiet and comfortable stay you will not be disappointed. We escaped our busy lives to this romantic getaway and enjoyed our elegant breakfast sitting by the window watching the birds and wildlife. I was impressed by the cleanliness and attention to detail. The Inn is within driving distance (or take the train) to downtown Chicago. We drove to the city one night and enjoyed the symphony. We also enjoyed an evening sitting by the fire with a glass of wine when it was snowing outside. You will not be disappointed with your stay at Gray Goose Inn.


We have visited the Grey Goose for over 10 years...

5 su gennaio 29, 2014

My fiancee and I have been visiting the Grey Goose Inn over 10 years. It has been a wonderful retreat for us as busy professionals and a perfect place for special occasions. We didn't make it there last year, but in 2012 I proposed during our visit. There have been many happy memories there. Tim is an excellent host, we love the homey feel of the Inn which says simply, "Comfort" in every way at a great price. All the rooms have their own charm and unique character thanks to Tim's decorating. The breakfasts have always been superb. Thanks Tim!


We Felt So At Home

5 su gennaio 11, 2014

We stayed 5 nights while viewing homes for relocation to the area. Tim was so friendly and helpful. We felt very relaxed and comfortable it was almost felt like home. This place and the owner have real character; a welcome change from the generic standard of chain hotels.


Holiday 2013 visit

3,6 su gennaio 08, 2014

Overall, our stay was very nice. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and quiet. Very nice bath robes! Our breakfast was very tasty. Fresh juices, fruits, ect ... . The only thought we had was that there may be an opportunity to add some variety to the breakfast options. We've visited before and the food has always been very good but eggs or ommelets seem to always be the meal at breakfast. Some variety would we welcome on this front. Also, I'm surprised pets are now allowed given that people have allergy issues with dogs/cats ect. ... .


New Year's Eve 2013 Stay

5 su gennaio 06, 2014

As usual Tim and staff provided great service and accomondations!


A delightful discovery

5 su dicembre 10, 2013

We were in Chesterton for the Mistletoe Market and were delighted to find such a wonderful Inn on the doorstep. We stayed in the Gray Goose Suite and loved everything about our room, especially the fireplace. So cosy on a bitter cold weekend. Tim was a great host, friendly with good restaurant recommendations but not over imposing. Breakfast both mornings was delicious with danish to die for. December was a lovely month to be introduced to the Inn with the beautiful decorations and carols playing. We will definitely be back, hopefully in all seasons.


Nice place to stay with one caution

3,2 su dicembre 01, 2013

Nice place to stay; friendly, helpful personnel. They went out of their way to make a yummy hot breakfast for us at 7:30 (normal breakfast hours are 8:30-10:00, which seems a bit late for travelers). My only caution is that they are pet-friendly, and we ended up with dog hair on our suitcases and then in our vehicle. That's the only reason I gave a below-average mark for cleanliness.


Gorgeous Gray Goose Inn

5 su novembre 12, 2013

It was lovely! JMN, Berlin, Germany


I love the Gray Goose!

5 su ottobre 30, 2013

My friend and I have been going to the Gray Goose every fall for the last six years and every year when we turn off the ugly busy street and enter the haven of the inn we are enveloped anew in the peace and graciousness of the surroundings. Everything about the experience is special: walk around the lake amid the honking of the geese, sit in the gazebo and enjoy the evening air, lounge in the sun room or living room and feel the karma of home left by the family who built the house and perfectly maintained by the owner. Each room is unique and furnished beautifully so that just being in your room is a pleasure. Breakfast is served in the sunny dinning room with a view of the lake and the food is always delicious. This is a true gem!


Peaceful

4,8 su ottobre 22, 2013

Grey Goose was a wonderful place to relax and refresh.


lovely country inn

4,2 su ottobre 18, 2013

Staff is friendly and accomodating. Decor is quaint. Breakfast was very good. Unfortunately, the matress was not good. Recommend this as a nice weekend getaway.


Gem of an inn

4,4 su ottobre 16, 2013

Reasonably priced B&B with beautiful decorating, attentive and friendly staff, and delicious breakfast. They cheerfully accommodated our gluten allergy. The exterior grounds are well maintained and make for a relaxing romantic walk. The only downside: the walls are a little thin for...ahem...privacy.


We will come back!

4,2 su ottobre 07, 2013

I wish we had more time to stay at Gray Goose Inn. The serenity, cleanliness, outstanding breakfast, and convenient proximity to the Dunes are the main reasons we will be back.


Very scenic

4,0 su settembre 28, 2013

We spent one night in the Gray Goose Inn and were very positively surprised at how scenic although so close to an interstate exit! A little disturbing were the train horns at all hours of the day. Just keep your windows closed and you´ll be fine. The breakfast was delicious!


Just do it already...

5 su settembre 24, 2013

I had a great experience at the Gray Goose Inn! It was my first experience at and Inn and I now will never stay in a hotel again! The room was perfect and quite with a tv (which is important on those cold evenings). The breakfast was amazing and I couldn't have asked for a more relaxing stay!


Great stay breakfast weak

4,0 su settembre 18, 2013

The food for breakfast was very weak. Only had sweet items which were very good, however not so good for a diet or diabetic. Need to introduce some oatmeal or protein. Other than that a great experience.


Gray Goose Inn

3,6 su settembre 08, 2013

Lovely grounds and quiet place to enjoy only minutes off the busy expressways.


Don't go back to many places but keep returning here!

4,4 su settembre 01, 2013

Tim is the owner and a lot of love goes into running this place and it shows. Dog friendly, close to the dunes, amazing individual rooms, best breakfast ever and walking distance from a bar or two it's a perfect weekend getaway. Love this place. Quirky and breakfast is interesting! Set in beautiful grounds I honestly can't say anything negative a i am a really fussy international traveller!


Quaint and charming

5 su agosto 30, 2013

A magical and memorable getaway tucked back in the wooded lake, lots of ambiance and an awesome atmosphere for a truly meaningful stay - close the the dunes!


The Gray Goose is wonderful!

4,6 su agosto 28, 2013

I reserved a room at the Gray Goose for a weekend getaway from Chicago and am so glad I did! The property was very romantic with its lake and wooded surroundings and my room itself was charming and quaintly decorated. The entire inn was spotless and the common rooms were welcoming and comfortable, complete with free coffee and lite snacks. Time, the inn keeper, gave us many helpful suggestions of nearby restaurants and attractions and the proximity to the Indiana Dunes is the major draw. The breakfasts were served in high style and were delicious. I would absolutely return to the Gray Goose in the future!


Grey Goose Inn - Very Nice!

4,0 su agosto 27, 2013

Quaint and quiet place a short distance to the beach. Very serene.


Warm and relaxing

5 su agosto 25, 2013

We recently returned form celebrating our 34th anniversary at the Grey Goose Bed & Breakfast, everything, and I mean everything was truly exceptional. Warm friendly environment, we enjoyed relaxing down by the lake, and Tim was always willing to offer up advise on where to eat at the best value and eating experience. If you choose to visit the Grey Goose you will not be disappointed. Truly rewarding and a pleasant experience!


a restful stay near the Dunes

5 su agosto 24, 2013

A restful home with a view of a small lake -- complete with gray geese! Pleasant innkeepers, a tasty (caloric) breakfast. LGBT friendly.


Excellent

4,4 su agosto 15, 2013

Tim was a wonderful host and made us feel completely at home. My family and I were in the area for the sudden illness and loss of our father. Staying at the Inn brought us comfort.


Peaceful Getaway

5 su agosto 14, 2013

Excellent hideaway when visiting Indiana Dunes. Walking into the Inn evelopes you in a peaceful and serene setting. Inviting staff. Great food, very clean and professional. Would adjust my travel dates to stay here!


The Ideal Bed and Breakfast

4,8 su agosto 09, 2013

A perfect getaway for my wife and I. A beautiful location, the B&B is right on a little pond. It's in a small town where the pace of life is slow, but there is plenty to do in the area as well. Bfast was wonderful and the staff exceptional. Loved it!


Cozy and Welcoming

4,4 su agosto 08, 2013

This Inn was so cozy. Our blood pressure went down the minute we walked through the door! There was alot of attention to detail, such as: comfy robes, great smelling shampoo and bath gels, easy dispensers for soaps, paper cups, etc. The breakfast wad very good and nicely presented. This was definately an ABOVE AVERAGE place to stay!


Breakfast was the best!

4,4 su agosto 07, 2013

Place was so relaxing. Our dogs loved it too. Can't wait until we come back. Greg & Sharon McLemen


Weekend at Gray Goose

4,4 su agosto 06, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised. Would definitely stay there again.


Convenient Location to Explore Lake Michigan Area

3,6 su agosto 04, 2013

I have no real complaints. Our needs were met. The room, Gray Goose Suite, was helpful for 2 parents and a child. The twin bed is in a small room separated from the king-size bed by the bath room and a cozy space for watching TV. There was plenty of space for 3 adults. Breakfast included fresh fruit, a choice of juice, a small pastry, and an entre that varied each day. The portions were measured out in an adequate way, but not particularly generous. There did not seem to be any alternatives to the meal of the day. There was no toast or cereal for those who prefer a lighter meal or simply a supplement to the meal. Snacks were available. We were greeted quite civilly by the staff, but we had little interaction. We were seated in a separate room for breakfast from the other guests on each of the 3 days during our visit. It seemed odd. The first day may have been a matter of space, but otherwise, I don't know. Our previous B & B experiences have usually included pleasant interchanges with the other guests. The was not unpleasant but very quiet. Our requests for information or recommendations were answered. The location was convenient to Valparaiso, the Indiana Dunes Park, and Michigan City. We made a short trip to St. Joseph, Michigan, which we really enjoyed. This is a lovely part of the state, although the sites along Lake Michigan in Indiana included view of power plants and steel mills. We did not visit Chicago, but it was within easy driving distance. Chicago is a separate trip. We wanted to explore this part of Indiana. The floors changed levels, even within our room. There is no elevator. All the guest rooms are on the second floor.


gray goose inn

4,8 su agosto 03, 2013

Breakfast was great. Good Cookies at midnight.


A wonderful place to stay!

5 su luglio 31, 2013

A gem! A tranquil setting with charm and character. Great breakfast, just the right amount.


Summer at the Dunes

4,6 su luglio 31, 2013

Wonderful place with great service and staff. I will definitely return.


A true R&R getaway!

4,6 su luglio 28, 2013

We loved the atmosphere! So serene and just exactly what we wanted and needed! Thank you so much for a lovely stay!


Anniversary Getaway

5 su luglio 27, 2013

Looking to go somewhere new we decided the Indiana Dunes would be fun. The Gray Goose Inn was a wonderful surprise. You never can be sure until you arrive when booking somewhere new. Tim greeted us and introduced us to his Inn and all the amenities. It truly was like sharing a home without feeling cramped. Lovely environment, room and decor. Really enjoyed our stay and plan on returning.


Our stay

5 su luglio 26, 2013

Had a great time Tim was very nice even up graded our room since there were some vacant that evening


Friendly and Homey.

3,0 su luglio 23, 2013

Our stay was relaxing which is exactly what we needed. The building itself has so much to look at. I really enjoyed watching the birds and chipmunks while eating breakfast. It would have been nice if we did not have eggs two days in a row for breakfast, only because they get cold really quickly and then they don't taste quite the same. The Danish's were to die for! Perhaps serving some pancakes, waffles or french toast. The cookies were stale which was disappointing because I love cookies! I think overall it was a wonderful experience, maybe just a little tweaking with the food and all will be good! (:


My stay July 2013

5 su luglio 16, 2013

This is such a great place. We were able to relax and unwind which is exactly what was needed. Cindy Jenkinson


Two night stay 4-5 July

4,4 su luglio 09, 2013

Friendly host and breakfast staff. Very filling breakfast. Snacks, coffee, and ice available around-the-clock, at no additional charge. Room temperature was rather warm, and no way to adjust it. We did notice the hallway was almost too cool; sure wish we could have gotten some of that cool air into our room. Other "complaint", and I realize it is a small one, concerns the toilet tissue....a better quality, softer tissue would have been nice.


Very enjoyable stay

4,4 su luglio 08, 2013

We found the location eventually due to the unreliable GPS. But when we did find the Gray Goose it was worth the wait. Very inviting and Peaceful. Breakfest was also a great way to start the day. Host was charming.


Just what I was looking for!

4,6 su giugno 28, 2013

I have always wanted to try a B&B but my husband was hesitant.... He prefers anonymity rather than personal attention. Well, the Grey Goose Inn was a perfect fit, it was very comfortable, clean, with loads of personality and enough space and guests to let my husband be as anonymous as he wanted (while my daughter was able to make friends with all the other guests). The food was delicious, I really enjoyed it and would definitely stay again!


short, nice stay

3,4 su giugno 27, 2013

We stayed one night in the Mallard Room (#8). The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. They are truly dog friendly, but bring mosquito spray if you want to walk around the pond/yard! Note, the pond path is overgrown. No major complaints!


Lovely place to stay.

4,2 su giugno 25, 2013

The Grey Goose Inn is one of our favorite B&B's to stay at. It has a quaint and friendly feel to it. We enjoy everything from our room to our wonderful breakfast in the morning.


Our first stay at GGI, but we'll be back!

4,4 su giugno 13, 2013

We had a lovely suite, a comfortable, homey atmosphere, a great host Tim, and wonderful breakfasts at a rate else expensive than the nearby motel!


Great B'fst, lovely rooms.

5 su giugno 11, 2013

Very nice place to stay at quiet, cozy


Great place!

4,4 su giugno 10, 2013

This was a really nice place. The room was very comfortable and the place is interesting. The pond, gazebo, and bird-feeding areas are really enjoyable, especially when viewed from the breakfast room. Breakfast was delicious as well. You won't regret staying here.


A Memorial Day Trip

4,4 su giugno 08, 2013

Fantastic experience! We stayed a night, but wish we had taken a longer vacation there. Will consider staying here again.


incredible

5 su giugno 02, 2013

This place was absolutely amazing. The location is ten minutes from the Indiana dunes state park and only a few minutes to some great little dining spots in Chesterton. I would absolutely recommend this b&b to anyone looking for a lovely weekend getaway in this area.


Wonderful Stay

4,4 su maggio 29, 2013

Good location. We stayed their as a stoping point between Cleveland and the Rock and Roll Hal of fame and the Ford Musume in Dearborn MI. Enjoyed lseveral things to do in the area. Wonderful stay in a nice setting.


Best of Both Worlds

4,8 su maggio 28, 2013

Charm and character abound and it's amazing how this B&B and its environs are shielded from the retail and restaurant area by the lakeside trees. This gives the visitor the best of both worlds and the B&B all the benefits of location, location, location! I'd return solely for the chef's cream cheese souffle with melba sauce.


Awesome!

5 su maggio 25, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable; decorated to perfection. Gourmet breakfast could not have been better - just wonderful. Relaxing atmosphere overall. So quiet you wouldn't know you were still close to all things tourist. Owner/staff was pleasant and friendly. Will be back.


Great Stay Near Indiana Toll Road

5 su maggio 21, 2013

Very appealing property on small lake that is quiet and tucked away from business district. Dogs were very welcome and can be walked on trails around lake. Convenient to I-94 and I-80/90.


Peaceful Time!

4,0 su aprile 14, 2013

Gray Goose Inn is beautiful, relaxing, and peaceful. The grounds are lovely. I learn more birds every year. I love the fireplace in the suite. The food is always outstanding. If you are interested in adventure you can hope the train into Chicago, go to the Dunes State Park or shop at the Outlet maill. I chose this over Florida this year even though it would be cold!!!!!


Romantic getaway

5 su marzo 18, 2013

The bed and breakfast is awesome. .The rooms are very clean, breakfast delicious and the scenery beautiful.Everyone should come and stay at this wonderful place.Your money is well spent and your memories last a life time.


Gray Goose Review

3,8 su febbraio 24, 2013

Wonderful, relaxing, quaint. Delicious breakfast and welcoming host. Will surely stay again.


Gray Goose Inn

5 su febbraio 22, 2013

We just love the Gray Goose, it is so peaceful to sit by the fire in the living room, breakfast was wonderful, and the rooms were very comfortable. Also just love the way the place is decorated.


Getaway to Relaxation and Delight

5 su febbraio 07, 2013

We enjoyed the beautiful suite we had which was overlooking the lake. It was a luxurious weekend and the breakfasts were delicious and yummy. The host Tim and his staff, Kelly and Will couldn't be more welcoming and helpful. A delightful stay!


Hidden Treasure

4,4 su gennaio 19, 2013

Not visible from the road, situated on a pond & surrounded by trees, this inn is the perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of the work week. Superb accommodations!


Always wonderful!

5 su gennaio 10, 2013

So close to our home, but it seemed like we were miles away from it all! Our 3rd stay here...this time we brought our friends with us. We've stayed here twice during the Christmas season and the decorations are just beautiful! Beautiful rooms, beautiful Inn, beautiful view (we had a light snow!) Stay here....you will love it! Plus, Chesterton is a lovely town with many things to see and do!


A great cozy place to relax!

4,4 su gennaio 08, 2013

The Gray Goose Inn is a wonderful cozy comfortable place to relax. The staff was wonderful, the food delicious, the rooms very clean and comfortable. The Inn is lovely, on lovely property. Only minutes from the Indian Dunes which is a beautiful place to visit and hike, even in the winter. We truly felt at home there and hope to visit again very soon! The Inn was still decorated for Christmas when we went and it was beautiful!


Annual New Year Stay 2013

3,8 su gennaio 05, 2013

Of course, the service and quality are unquestionable. However, I would recommend the public areas at the establishment be fully cleaned and aired out. The smell of pets were extremely noticeable and even came through the room's heating vents during our stay. We love pets but were disappointed by the odor. Other than this, he Gray Goose is a great place to lodge.


Great time at the gray goose

4,8 su gennaio 03, 2013

As always very relaxing & peaceful. Love going to gray goose inn. Tim is very kind & helpful. We try to go at Christmas time because gray goose is so elegant. Love it love it love it!!


Relaxing Weekend

4,4 su novembre 17, 2012

Beautiful B&B, with a great view of the lake. Breakfast was outstanding, and the bird feeders outside the window provided a calming start to the day. Only wish is that you could adjust the temperature in your rom -- 72 is a bit warm for sleeping.


Home-Like

4,0 su ottobre 31, 2012

Like staying at your wealthy aunt's home, without having to actually see your aunt! We stayed in the smallest room and it was roomy and beautiful. A little extra dusting and wiping down of the door frames would have made it perfect. Breakfast by Will was fabulous! Of course this inn comes with beautiful nights sounds; birds, trains whistles, and a coyote(?).


Great Place to Stay!!

4,8 su ottobre 28, 2012

If you are staying in Northern Indiana this is the place to stay. Comfortable Inn, great Innkeeper, great breakfast and a very reasonable price.


We Come Back Again and Again!

5 su ottobre 25, 2012

This is perhaps our 10th stay at the Gray Goose. All have been very relaxing and most enjoyable. This Inn just feels so welcoming and homey every time we arrive. The rooms and common areas are spacious, clean and so comfortable. Tim, our host and innkeeper is the best. He's been running this inn for years and it shows that he knows how to do it well. The breakfasts are always varied and delicious. The Gray Goose only seems to get better with every new stay. Highly recommended!


great getaway

4,6 su ottobre 22, 2012

this was a very nice place. to get a way from everything set back from the road could get out and stroll around. for breakfast my wife could eat no milk and the cook made some scrambled eggs for her that she said was outstanding. setting was perfect


Perfect Nightcap

4,2 su ottobre 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the night of our wedding. The owners were very accomodating with our late arrival and provided a delicious breakfast! Decor is very Edwardian/Victorian (can never get the two straight). Because this is located in my hometown I normally wouldn't have stayed there, but I would absolutely recommend it to any travelers coming through looking for a nice getaway that isn't just another hotel.


Nice visit on a rainy weekend

5 su ottobre 17, 2012

Beautiful fall foliage , nice setting on a small lake, a few train whistles in the background, squirrels playing on the forest floor and a good breakfast with friends....not a bad weekend .


Great time at Gray Goose

4,8 su ottobre 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Lon Schneider suite for 3 nights. It had a comfy bed, nice sitting area, and a nice romantic gas fireplace. The bathroom was clean and private. The view overlooking the back/side of the property and the lake from our windows was very nice. We both loved the charm of the entire property. It was exactly what we expected from our 1st stay in a B&B. Tim was an excellent host. He not only provides lots of info about the local area, but also served a wonderful breakfast every morning. We had a great time walking the trails around some of the local sand dunes, shopping at the outlet mall in Michigan City, and even took the train to Chicago for a day (way less stress than driving into and finding parking in Chicago!). The train line has a station located about 5-10 minutes from the Gray Goose. It's about $7 each way to/from Chicago. The train line ends at Millennium Square in Chicago. From there, you can take either a cab or the subway anywhere in the city. Or, you can just walk a few blocks north and start shopping on the Magnificent Mile. I think we packed in about as much sight seeing as possible in a 3 day trip, lol. And, after our long days of being tourists, it was nice to be able to go back to the peaceful Gray Goose to relax and unwind. Big thanks to Tim for providing us with such a nice short vacation. We will definitely be coming back in the near future!


Quiet stay at the Grey Goose

4,6 su ottobre 10, 2012

This wonderful, quiet B&B gives the impression of being in avery remote location. The sitting room overlooks a quiet lake or pond with many birds, geese, chipmunks and squirrels. The breakfasts were fabulous. Rooms are certainly up to pare. All this withing an easy drive of the Dunes and within a few minutes of downtown Chesterton, which is wonderful restaurants and events.


We Will Go Back

5 su ottobre 08, 2012

It was so nice and relaxing. I could go there as a vacation destination. The breakfast was gourmet plus.


Repeat visit

3,6 su settembre 17, 2012

Very nice, quiet, and peaceful stay. Tim was very helpful correcting an error I made with my reservation. We stayed there in 2001; some special touches we enjoyed before were no longer available. Still a very nice place to visit.


Sister Trip

5 su settembre 10, 2012

My second stay...my two sisters first stay...delightful...as always...exceeding my expectations...


We loved our stay!

5 su settembre 05, 2012

My girlfriend and I traveled to Gray Goose Inn to get out of Chicago for a couple of nights and we had a wonderful time. Tim came and picked us up from the South Shore Line station, and though we did not have a car during our stay, we were able to walk into downtown Chesterton quite easily. We stayed in the Blue Heron Suite, equipped with a comfortable jacuzzi, and we were completely relaxed all weekend. Breakfast both mornings were amazing, and the grounds were very well kept. Thank you so much for the very memorable experience. I hope to visit again soon.


Wonderful property & proprietor

5 su settembre 03, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay. He is dog friendly and has a wonderful property for the dogs and us to enjoy. We cooked out for dinner and ate in the gazebo. Loved it!


Very Pleasant Stay

3,8 su settembre 03, 2012

Very Nice place.We would stay there again, although the "Innkeeper", Tim could have been a little more accommodating and friendly, he was personable.


Almost all is outstanding.

4,4 su agosto 31, 2012

We enjoyed a great evening and morning at the Grey Goose Inn. Room comfort and breakfast were especially good. Our only disappointment was finding a lack of choice among cable networks on the TV and then not being able to get a DVD because no one was at the desk to get it for us.


The Best B&B Ever

5 su agosto 27, 2012

Clean, Comforts of home and awesome breakfast! Can't wait for a return stay.


Gray Goose Inn

3,8 su agosto 14, 2012

My fiancee and I loved our stay at the Gray Goose Inn. Tim, the innkeeper, is just great. My only complaint is that the food is a bit heavy--delicious, but very filling. I felt like I needed to go back to bed after having breakfast.


Our visit to northern Indiana and Lake Michigan

5 su agosto 13, 2012

We wanted to take a last minute trip to Lake Michigan and the Indiana Dunes. We found the Gray Goose Inn on the internet and booked a room two days before our trip. Wow, were we pleased with the Inn! Everything was perfect. The decor was outstanding and the food was great. Tim is a great innkeeper.


Review

4,0 su agosto 08, 2012

We had a very nice time. I just wish there was a refrigerator in the rooms and a bigger tv.


Gray Goose Inn, Chesterton

4,6 su agosto 08, 2012

My girlfriend and I loved GGI. We spent a long weekend there just to get away and had a great time. We had an opportunity to see all of the rooms and they are all different and very nice. Also very close to the Dunes and beaches. We plan on coming back at least once a year .


Favorite for 22 years!

4,2 su agosto 07, 2012

My husband and I love this place so much we feel 'at home' there. Tim, the owner, is so accomodating and friendly. Rooms are comfy and breakfasts delicious!


A quality stay at an affordable price

3,8 su agosto 06, 2012

The rooms are great and the price is competitive with other hotel rates in the area. One downside was the we listed our dining preference as vegetarian when we made the reservation on line. However, we were advised we should have advised this when we checked in. Don't ask for the information on line if it isn't going to be utilized.


Visit to Chesterton, IN

4,8 su agosto 03, 2012

We had a wonderful time! Tim was extremely helpful and accommodating. The room gave us beautiful vistas of the estate. The TV stations were a bit flaky, but I suspect not much can be done about it in such a small town. The dining was most enjoyable, and the birding was very relaxing. Highly recommend this, and we plan to return.


Amazing hospitality and service.

4,4 su luglio 31, 2012

We were delighted to receive a free upgrade on our room without asking. The staff went out of their way to welcome us: giving us great restaurant recommendations, cleaning our linens, and providing a superb breakfast.


Nice Place to Stay

4,6 su luglio 25, 2012

This B & B is quite lovely. Close to the Indiana dunes and tucked away in a wooded cove at a small lake, it was a great stop for us on our way to northern Michigan. The inn is full of charm and the breakfast quite tasty. The only thing we missed was time talking about the area with the proprietor - who seemed too busy to spend time with guests.


Anniversary getaway

5 su luglio 23, 2012

We enjoyed our two-day stay. The Inn is decorated very nicely and provides a quiet place to stay and yet is only a few miles from several places of interest including the sand dunes. Breakfasts were excellent. The owner is hospitable and informative. A great place to stay.


A Lovely B & B for Peace, Relaxation, and Reflection

4,6 su luglio 16, 2012

Our room was spacious with extremely comfortable bed, the very best towels, lovely wall paper detail and artful wall decor. Many amenities also included in the room as well as in the library, beautiful sun room, and very comfortable living room.


Fantastic Bed and Breakfast in INDIANA !!!

5 su luglio 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in many B & B's in the country and this one ranks as one of the best and is in our home state! We were so pleased that the Inn was pet friendly and the area had so much to see and do...we will definitely be back for more weekend getaways for sure!


Always brings back memories

5 su luglio 07, 2012

We just spent a weekend celebrating our 10th anniversary at the Gray Goose, visited the Dunnes, distillery, outlet mall, Chesterton's market, restaurants and wineries. My grandparents built Palomara Farm (first two letters of their four children's names), now the Gray Goose Inn, and I have fond memories visiting grandparents and uncle while growing up. Holiday dinners in the dining room, Christmas presents in the living room, exploring the woods and old barn, tobogganing behind an old surplus jeep, camping out, and watching grandma feed the many Canada Geese (now long gone) . Grandpa and dad taught me how to fish on the lake. The house is basically the same except for the great decorating in the rooms, the kitchen taking the place of the family room and the addition of rooms the rooms. Tim is a great host and his staff is very friendly. The family donated the picture of Grandpa to the Gray Goose as a thank you to how well he has treated the memory of Palomara Farm. Each time I visit it's hard to separate out that I am a guest at the inn and not visiting like I did growing up. To this day I try not to stay in the Lon Schneider Suite because growing up we were never allowed in the grandparent's bedroom and it just feels wrong today. I hope you enjoy your stay.


Perfect spot for a Indiana Dunes getaway

4,0 su luglio 02, 2012

We stayed two nights. The location was perfect for activities around the Indiana Dunes, Chesterton, Michigan City etc. The room was very nice for the money. The breakfast was good and the dining room setup was conducive to meeting other people e.g. morning conversation. We plan a return trip at some point.


Very quaint and friendly

5 su giugno 29, 2012

We really liked this place. The owner is really nice and helped us get to know the local eateries. We brought the dogs along as well and they were fine. The only things I would have liked would be to have some darker blinds to help keep light out in the morning and the bed wasn't all that comfortable. It was nice, but there was some tossing and turning going on.


nice night's get-away

3,4 su giugno 24, 2012

The grounds were lovely, and the inn was very dog friendly! Close to excellent dining.


I Love The Gray Goose Inn

5 su giugno 21, 2012

The Gray Goose Inn is one of my very favorite Bed and Breakfast places. Its a perfect combination of homey, gorgeous and woodsy. I always feel relaxed and happy there. I love the geese and the birds and the squirrels and the chipmunks. I love the food and the dining room. I love the decor. I love The Gray Goose Inn. Some of the nearby commercial district may be very commercial, but as soon as you make your way down the driveway to The Gray Goose, you forget all about that. And the little town of Chesterton a few blocks away is cute and has a good restaurant (Lucretia.)


Our 4 Month Anniversary

5 su giugno 16, 2012

Our stay was wonderful. I had been there about 15 years ago with my husband who has since passed 4 years ago. I just started dating 4 months ago and decided to bring my gentleman friend there. It was everything I thought it would be. Clean, inviting, relaxing and the hospitality from Tim and his staff could not have been better. It was my friends first time at a B & B and he did say he is looking forward to our return in the future.


Our first B&B experience

4,6 su giugno 13, 2012

The Gray Goose Inn is charming, cozy, and quiet. An excellent breakfast with a friendly host, but one who does not 'impose' himself on you. Close to restaurants, near old timey downtown Chesterton, easy access to Lake Michigan dunes, near the freeway; yet quiet and peaceful. Highly recommended!


Everything about our stay was excellent

4,2 su maggio 18, 2012

We had a short stay but we liked it a lot. Its an Inn rather than a hotel or motel. so has much more character. Our room was much more interesting that a hotel room, location too. We stay in this area a few times a year and we have been staying a different place each time. I think we will stay here from now on. Staff were very accommodating.


A wonderful stay, beautiful setting and great innkeeper!

4,6 su maggio 17, 2012

The inn is very easy to find and once you arrive, you will be delighted. The grounds are beautiful, the inn itself and the rooms are immaculate, and the breakfast is fantastic! Tim, the innkeeper, is kind, informative, and you can feel his joy about the property and it's surrounding treasures. You will be very pleased and want to return again and again. I know I will be returning to the Gray Goose Inn this year.


Cozy and Convenient Bed & Breakfast

4,6 su aprile 14, 2012

Gray Goose Inn was the obvious choice when we were finding a B&B to stay in while visiting my family in Valparaiso.. Only a few miles from the family home, close to shopping and the scenery was more beautiful than I remember! This B&B is very easily recommended and we will certainly stay again real soon.


A Delight

5 su marzo 16, 2012

Relaxing and refreshing, from our gourmet breakfasts to quiet nights in our beautifully decorated room. Playing board games in the sun room, walking along the lake, reading by the fire: we felt at home -- pampered but not hovered over. Highly recommended.


Absolutely wonderful

5 su febbraio 28, 2012

Loved our stay! The room was better than expected with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub in the room. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing. The host was friendly and attentive and not intrusive at all. Would gladly stay again!


Outstanding! Gray Goose Inn, NW Indiana

5 su febbraio 23, 2012

I have been visiting the Gray Goose Inn for the past 10 years and it has ALWAYS been top notch. The rooms are immaculate and well decorated (view the web site!!!). Tim, the owner is a fabulous guy who is open to a chat any time but also respects people's privacy. The breakfasts are amazing and the layout of the building is very welcoming. I love the uniqueness of each room and have grown to pick my favorites depending on what my stay is for. Although it is very convenient to local shopping, the wonderful Indiana Dunes and the South Shore railway (I've taken the train from the NW Chicago suburbs with a little downtown Chicago walk between stations: cab or car ride needed to the Grey Goose), the grounds and building are always a place of peace and relaxation. I chose this location recently to propose to my now-fiancee' and we will certainly be visiting again soon. My fiancee and I spent most of one day just relaxing on the ground floor either near the fireplace or playing scrabble in the dining/breakfast are which has a wonderful view of the little lake within 100 ft of the building and the various birds and animals. Regrettably, I lost at Scrabble, but that did not diminish the enjoyable atmosphere. Best Wishes to Tim and the Gray Goose


Awesome

4,0 su febbraio 22, 2012

The best B&B (Inn) we have ever experienced. Hospitality, Cleanliness, Comfort, Food and all the thoughtfulness that made our experience special. We will be back!


Very Enjoyable

5 su febbraio 12, 2012

Inn host, Tim Wilk, fine host who provides lovely music, fine food, beautiful decor.


A Wonderful Winter Get-Away

4,6 su febbraio 07, 2012

Nature abounds at the Gray Goose Inn with birds, geese, swans and many photo opportunities. Tim was a gracious host and obviously takes great care with every aspect of the Inn. We were there during the week in the winter, so we happened to be the only ones staying there. But we felt that we were not slighted in the least. There were always lights on throughout the Inn, a fire in the fireplace and soft music playing in the common areas. Drinks and snacks were always available, and we really felt right at home. There is a lovely breakfast room looking out on the bird feeders and pond. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. Coffee was great, and I had to ask where they bought their orange juice because it is the best I've ever had. The location is perfectly suited for visiting the Indiana Dunes, and Tim gave us several suggestions for places to hike and photograph. All in all, we had a wonderful and relaxing time, and we will definitely return and tell our friends about this exceptional B&B.


A Great Getaway

5 su gennaio 23, 2012

We've now stayed at the Gray Goose Inn two times and are already looking forward to a third visit. The innkeeper, Tim, has made the Gray Good such a comfortable place that you feel just as completely at ease in the common areas as you do in your own room. The grounds are beautiful to just sit enjoy from the window or gazebo or to get out and explore and the breakfasts are nothing short of delicious. Tim makes you feel welcome and attended to without being overbearing and always has excellent suggestions for activities or restaurants in town. We will certainly be back again.


Wonderful...as always!

4,0 su dicembre 22, 2011

This was our third time to the Gray Goose Inn, and as before, we loved our stay. Tim is a very gracious host and goes above and beyond to make your stay as pleasant as possible. You get to meet Charlie Brown, the cocker spaniel, and his new friend Ellie(adorable). The breakfast is delicious and they have everything you need for a movie night (movies and popcorn). We love to go at Christmas time to see the Inn decorated...absolutely gorgeous! I recommend the Gray Goose to everyone, you will not be disappointed.


A Title for My Review

3,4 su novembre 28, 2011

I love the Grey Goose Inn. The lake setting is wonderfully secluded. My only complaint is the one-size-fits-all breakfast; they offer a fine breakfast but if part of it is not what you like, they will accommodate simply by eliminating that part of the meal.


A perfect get-away place

5 su novembre 09, 2011

The Gray Goose Inn is a lovely place to stay if you're looking for a quiet, relaxing get-away. It felt like home away from home.


Great to be Back

4,4 su novembre 01, 2011

We've visited the Gray Goose many times and this was one of the best visits we've had. As always, the little things (like chocolates in the room and great smelling hand soap) always make a guest a GG feel special, but this time the staff was particularly friendly and helpful. And the Halloween decor was, as always, amazing! We had a great time.


Far exceeded our expectations

5 su ottobre 13, 2011

We had an absolutely fabulous stay at Gray Goose Inn. Our room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The dining area was bright and spacious and the breakfasts were exceptional. The grounds were peaceful and well-maintained and made for a very relaxing visit. Would love to stay again in the future.


Amazing Bed and Breakfast

5 su ottobre 09, 2011

The host, Tim Wilks, goes out of his way to make your stay at Gray Goose Inn to be an amazing experience that you will never forget. My mother and I did not want to end our vacation. The rooms, food, and service, were wonderful and very welcoming. We felt like the inn was our home. The location and grounds were beautiful. The autumn was a wonderful time to visit the inn. If you are looking for a relaxing and enjoyable stay somewhere, I would recommend this inn above any in the area.


Weekend at Gray Goose

5 su ottobre 07, 2011

I wanted a quiet weekend get away rather than staying at a chain hotel in Merrillville when attending my high school reunion. I was very happy that I made that decision. Breakfast was so delicious both days I was there, I did not want to go home! very quiet, beautiful yet so close to the highway. Hopefully I will be able to return again.


Beautiful B & B

4,4 su ottobre 06, 2011

Charming & restful -- wish we had more time to enjoy the property.


Quiet, relaxing setting

4,4 su ottobre 05, 2011

Very nice place, clean and well decorated rooms. The location is great for exploring the Dunes park on lake Michigan and for catching a train ride into Chicago for a day or two, hitting one of two casinos within driving distance. The town is quaint with some very good restaurants. Tim is very accomodating as the innkeeper and the breakfasts were a treat.


Excellent - as always

5 su ottobre 02, 2011

This was my 3rd stay at Gray Goose Inn. I've always had a room with a view of the lake, which is lovely. Comfortable bed. Very, very quiet, except when the train runs. You can hear the train, but it isn't so loud as to be bothersome. Breakfasts are yummy. Large picture window in breakfast room overlooks lake. Helpful innkeeper. Comfortable common areas.


Very nice place

5 su settembre 19, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed the labor-day-weekend stay at the Gray Goose Inn. The room was clean, the staff was very kind and friendly. We also loved the breakfast!! The only trouble that we had was finding the place at the first time. There is a small sign you can see if you're driving west coming off IN-49. Unfortunately, we were driving east from the downtown Chesterson, and the sign was completely invisible.


Very Enjoyable

4,0 su settembre 11, 2011

I stayed at the Gray Goose Inn on August 27, 2011 while doing a bicycle trip around the bottom part of Lake Michigan. I arrived at what i thought was after 3:00 p.m. but I forgot the time change from Michigan. Tim Wilk greeted me at the door and kindly advised that it was only 2:00 p.m. and my room was not quite ready. He directed me to the screened gazebo in the back overlooking the lake/pond where I was able to relax and read until check in time. Once in the Inn Tim arranged for me to put my bicycle in the locked garage and took me on a tour of the Inn. He provided full details on the amenities and since I was without a car, he told me about some of the great restaurants in Chesterton within walking distance. His suggestion proved to be a great choice. My room was very comfortable and incredible clean. It was also very helpful to have WiFi so I could touch base with my family. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. All in all, I had a great time and made for a very pleasant break from cycling around the lake. I would recommend the Gray Goose most highly.


Lovely romantic getaway for a bargain price

4,8 su settembre 08, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time. The Inn was located in a quiet and picturesque setting. The decor was lovely and the food outstanding. The Inn is located close to the Indiana Dunes park for a romantic walk on the beach and close to the train station for a trip into Chicago for a day of sight seeing. We will definitely plan a return visit. Darlene


A perfect get away

4,6 su settembre 06, 2011

Gray Goose Inn is a beautiful place with wonderful service and a unique charm. Always leave feeling relaxed and rested. I'd highly recommend it.


Great Place close to Chicago

3,4 su agosto 31, 2011

Gray Goose in was clean and friendly. If you are a nature lover there is a screened in Gazebo. Also a walking path around the lake. This place is 30 minutes from the south suburbs of Chicago; hidden in the woods of Indiana. Many good restaurants near by.


A wonderful retreat to decompress!

5 su agosto 29, 2011

Warm, cozy, serene, beautiful setting, exquisite interior, delicious food, friendly staff. I'll be back!


fantastic

5 su agosto 23, 2011

My first B&B experience (though Tim said the GG is more like an Inn). Everything met my high expectations, even after reading all the great reviews on this site and Tripadvisor. The room was real cute and very clean. Tim was an excellent host showing us around the house and answering questions. The breakfast was the best part because we got to watch the different birds outside the big window while Tim served us drinks, fruits, this realllly delicious apple pastry, egg omelet thing, and biscuit. So relaxing. We even took a stroll outside and sat in the gazebo. It was a lovely experience!! Thanks Tim and all staff at the GG!


love the goose!

5 su agosto 23, 2011

Our 4th stay in two years and it is perfect each time. A little slice of heaven in Chesterton.


Gray Goose is a great experience

4,2 su agosto 21, 2011

The property is beautiful and so close to the Dunes. Breakfast was phenomenal. Everything is homemade! Easy access to stores, restaurants and Lake Michigan.


A Beautiful Getaway

4,8 su agosto 09, 2011

The Gray Goose Inn and staff were both wonderful. We had no idea this little treasure was just 50 minutes from our home in the South Bend area. The grounds by the lake are refreshing. The room was clean and well appointed. The breakfast was great. The owner was helpful and friendly.


Great Getaway

4,6 su agosto 08, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in July and we were very satisfied with our stay. The breakfast was fantastic and the Innkeeper was very nice. His recommendations were excellent for dining in the area also.


Peace and Quiet

4,4 su agosto 07, 2011

We spent two nights for our 20th anniversary. Tim is a very gracious hosts. The breakfasts were outstanding. The room quiet and comfy. I highly recommend it. Tim has great restaurant sueggestions as well


Beautiful and Relaxing

4,6 su luglio 21, 2011

Very enjoyable 3 days. Loved the personal touches Tim provided. Breakfast was as enjoyable to look at as it was to eat.


Grey Goose Inn visit

3,6 su luglio 18, 2011

We have stayed at this in several times in the past, but have not been there for several years. The Inn was as we remembered it. The owner was on site most of the time. However, was disappointed that one day there was no room maintenance and the breakfasts were not as good as they had been in the past. Guess there was a new cook, but left a lot to be desired.


Get Away

4,0 su luglio 13, 2011

My husband and I live on the south side of Chicago. We had a rough couple of weeks and were looking for someplace to get away and "chill". The Gray Goose Inn was just the place. We had a wonderful time. The Inn was lovely. Tim the host was very accomodating. We will certainly be back.


Stay at Gray Goose Inn

4,0 su luglio 10, 2011

Stayed for one night, everything was as described..we had a nice night, a great breakfast, and will come back,... with our dog (which was great!)


Can't wait to go back

5 su luglio 07, 2011

The food was excellent. I loved watching the birds at the feeders while eating breakfast. Very beautiful decor and grounds. Our hosts (Tim, Charlie Brown & Ellie) were very friendly.


Gray Goose Inn

5 su luglio 02, 2011

This inn is top of our list. They are very outstanding place to stay. Clean,great service. They let you have the run of the inn and they include alot of extras. Coffee,snacks,water,popcorn for you while you stay there. Tim is a great inn keeper.


I wanted to live there!

5 su luglio 01, 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed here and it was wonderful. Completely peaceful, and just beautifully and uniquely decorated down to the the most minute detail. There are rooms to enjoy downstairs, a view frome each one, great places to relax and games to play if you want. You could feel the warmth, every room just invites a person to come and sit. It's like stepping back in time. Tim was so considerate and we really enjoyed our conversations with him. The bedrooms are all different and so beautiful, I wanted to stay in every one of them. I am hoping that my daughter can go back there as a peaceful retreat when she needs it from her high stress career, it would be worth the drive from MI. I really enjoyed the birds and got some beautiful shots of a blue heron. I can fully recommend staying here! And the breakfast was also delicious and looked so pretty on the plate that I wanted to photograph that as well. It greatly surprised me that it was just about a mile off the freeway and down the street from some restraunts yet it was surrounded by trees and felt like it's own world apart from the city. It was perfect for us- we enjoyed every minute and had a hard time leaving. So go and enjoy the experience, its very classy, inviting and comfortable~


Our Great Gray Goose Inn Stay

5 su giugno 29, 2011

If we had the time, we'd visit this inn every month.....just 90 minutes from home, but "light years" from the stresses of daily living; a beautiful guest house nestled in a forest area alongside a small serene lake...hosted by a genuinely caring innkeeper whose persona and attention to detail makes guests feel special...a sumptuous breakfast and amenities....we'll be back.....Marc Bermann and Janice Igra


Absolutely Perfect

5 su giugno 26, 2011

This weekend was our first visit at a bed and breakfast. We were treated to this getaway by our family as an gift to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We cannot begin to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay! Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! Your inn is absolutely beautiful!!! It was so very peaceful and relaxing...it was exactly what we needed!!! The jacuzzi suite was PERFECT! And waking up to the smell of breakfast cooking, was amazing! By the way, that was the best French Toast we have ever had! I don't think we will ever be able to find another bed & breakfast that would ever compare with the Gray Goose Inn. Even though it only took us 40 minutes to get to you...it felt as though we were miles away from our busy life. Thank you and we sincerely hope to visit you again in the future!


Weekend getaway

4,6 su giugno 21, 2011

I travel to Chesterton for business frequently. This was my first trip for pleasure. My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gray Goose and spent our time exploring the area. Tim is a great host and we plan to return in the future.


Anniversary Get Away

4,4 su giugno 16, 2011

The grounds were beautiful. The rooms were very private, could not hear other guests at all. The breakfast was outstanding. It was peaceful and relaxing! Would definitely go back.


A lovely stay

4,6 su giugno 06, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Gray Goose Inn. It is easy to get to, but has an out of the way feel about it. Tim is an excellent host and the food was yummy. We enjoyed watching the wildlife and relaxing. It is close to the Dunes and a quick South Shore ride into Chicago. Will definitely recommend to friends and plan to stay again.


Another Memorable GG Inn Visit

5 su maggio 17, 2011

This was probably our ninth stay at the Gray Goose. We return often, because the Inn an our host, Tim, always makes us feel welcome and comfortable. It's the perfect spot to stay to explore the wonders of the Indiana Dunes parks, or for the day trip to Chicago on the South Shore - so handy - or for not going anywhere and just relaxing at the beautiful Inn. The rooms and common areas are spacious and clean and offer one the opportunity to settle in, feel at home, and visit with Innkeeper , Tim, and with the other guests. The grounds and gazebo are great, overlooking the lake, and viewing the plentiful birds and wildlife. The breakfast meals are always delicious and served in friendly style and atmosphere. The local dinner dining options are all interesting and good and close by. Overall, you can't beat the Gray Goose for a relaxing visit to Indiana Dunes Country.


Wonderful Stay

5 su aprile 27, 2011

This is one of my favorite B & B's. We have stayed here twice; both times have been memorable. The inn is clean, cozy, serene, & the breakfast is "to die for." Tim, is a super host (and cook). He really is in to making every detail of the inn, and your stay as pleasant as possible. The inn is located right off the freeway; yet nestled in a wooded lake area. A GREAT location. We'll be back.


Wonderful Stay

4,2 su aprile 19, 2011

Our stay was delightful from beginning to end - from the endless snacks to sitting by the fire after getting out of the jacuzzi tub. Tim was a wonderful host and chatted with us during breakfast like an old friend. The web site does not do justice to this wonderful inn.


Hidden treasure

4,6 su aprile 02, 2011

My brother found this place and suggested it, otherwise I'd have never know this treasure was hidden in this little town. Even though the town has grown up around the property, it is still quiet and peaceful by its' own lake. Spring has brought out Cardinals, Blue Jays, Redwinged Blackbirds and others to the bird feeder just outside the breakfast room window. Very relaxing and worth the trip.


A quiet bit of pet-friendly country in the middle of town

5 su marzo 28, 2011

The Gray Goose met our needs perfectly during our recent stay for a family emergency reason. We had our 5 month old puppy with us and the last thing we wanted was a chain motel surrounded by a parking lot full of big rigs and fast food joints. The Inn is perfect for pet lovers. The Goose is secure, quiet, secluded and surrounded by beautiful rustic grounds and yet is within walking distance of not just fast food restaurants, but a couple first class restaurants in quaint downtown Chesterton. All the B&B amenities were far above average, everything from an excellent breakfast with a pastry to die for, to snacks, coffee, popcorn etc. We're now planning our next stay.


A great place for a great weekend full of great memories!

5 su marzo 08, 2011

My wife and I got away for a weekend and randomly picked a place to stay. What we found at the Gray Goose was just what we wanted! It was my wires first stay at a B&B and it was all she'd dreamed it would be, at the Gray Goose!


Cozy warm friendly

4,0 su febbraio 24, 2011

Great breakfast with an awesome view of nature.


A warm stay

3,6 su novembre 30, 2010

Good stay for us. A nice getaway with a very friendly staff. It felt like we were at home! The food was amazing! The rooms were a bit overly ornate for my taste, but nevertheless, I would recommend this place to those looking for a quality stay. Very pet friendly!


Romantic get away

3,8 su novembre 29, 2010

Both my partner and I loved our stay at the Gray Goose Inn. The room was fabulous - Gray Goose Suite! And the recommendation for dinner exceeded all my expectations, even coming from Chicago. Clearly one of the best restaurants in that entire area. The cook made special accommodations for my gluten allergy and the breakfast was very good. I would highly recommend this B & B.


Staying near the Indiana Dunes

3,0 su novembre 24, 2010

This was a lovely spot--peaceful and relaxing. We took a morning walk around the pond--beautiful even though the day was dreary.


Beautiful Setting!

3,8 su novembre 07, 2010

The bed was very uncomfortable in the suite we stayed in. We were on the first getaway from our new baby and were quite looking forward to a good night's sleep, but did not get that due to the bed. Otherwise the stay was great! We do wish the snack selection might have been better though....


Gray goose Inn is "perfect"

5 su novembre 02, 2010

We travel abit and choose B&B's over other choices. I must say that this Inn is one of the most enjoyable that we've visited. The grounds are beautiful ,The ambiance was wonderful and the food simply Great!, The staff here deserves many kudo's and accolades. This place is in our top 5 and we'll definetly stay here again, 6 Stars please! Jim & Cindi Gibbs


Very nice inn

4,2 su ottobre 30, 2010

I had been meaning to try this place out for some years, and we were not disappointed. The innkeeper upgraded us to a suite since he only had a couple of guests that night, and it was fabulous. What a beautiful location. We will be back soon.


one of our favorites

5 su ottobre 18, 2010

A great stop over between Chicago and Michigan. We discovered the Gray Goose over 15 years ago and always look for an excuse to stay. The BEST breakfast ever!


Love Love Love the Gray Goose Inn

5 su ottobre 05, 2010

Beautiful place to stay. We plan on going back as soon as possible!


Gray Goose Inn to the Rescue

5 su settembre 12, 2010

When our Wisconsin weekend plans fell through, we had to come up with a plan B fast. Chesterton Indiana and Gray Goose Inn came to our rescue. Tim Wilk our inn keeper was wonderful. He did his upmost in tailoring a quick getaway for us with wonderful accommodations at Gray Goose Inn in the Lon Schneider Suite and an outstanding dinner recommendation at Bartlett's Gourmet Grill & Tavern on Route 12. Dog friendly accommodations were key to our trip. Both Gray Goose Inn and Bartlett's are pet friendly. We had a delicious meal on the patio dinning area at Bartlett's. Our breakfast at Gray Goose was a gourmet experience packed with great care and attention to detail. The grounds and lake are wonderful, great for birding and the Inn is filled with decor that reminded me of home. With a recommendation for the Farmers Market in downtown Chesterton we found wonderful produce, bakery, flowers and artisan crafts. A quick wholesome lunch at the Red Cup fueled us for the rest of our all to brief adventure. Thank you again Tim, you made us feel like one of the family. Cody Rama sends big hugs.


Beautiful Inn

4,6 su settembre 08, 2010

This Inn was recommended by two people in the area and was extra ordinary. Dinner suggestion was great and Breakfast the best we ever had!


Good experience at Gray Goose Inn

3,6 su agosto 12, 2010

If you are looking for a quaint, clean B&B experience in this area, you will not go wrong with the Gray Goose Inn. My wife and I, along with our son stayed in the Gray Goose Suite for one night, and were very satisfied with the room and the service. The property is also dog friendly, but there is an additional charge of $25.00, which seems a bit steep. Otherwise, we couldn't have been more pleased with the property and the friendly nature of the innkeeper.


Rest, Relax, Recharge

5 su marzo 08, 2010

A perfect place to stay for anyone needing a little R&R. Sitting in front of our in-room fire or soaking in the jacuzzi coudl soothe any daily pains away. Friendly innkeeper, cute town, great dining.


super fantastic inn

4,2 su febbraio 08, 2010

when going to the gray goose it doesn't feel like your in chesterton. it is so cozy and very elegant. we especially like it at Christmas time.


Customer Service

5 su gennaio 25, 2010

My wife and I have been at the Gray Goose Inn every year for the past 12 years for an 'old college friends get-together'. The staff do an excellent job of helping us feel welcome.


Supercalifragilisticexpialidsious!

5 su dicembre 09, 2009

Practically perfect in every way. Breakfast is delicous and beautifully presented. Juice glasses are from the fridge and plates are warm. Two courses, fresh fruit and small puff pastry then main course. Stuffed french toast is our favorite.


Great Ambience by the Dunes

5 su novembre 03, 2009

During a two night visit to the Indiana Dunes -- in October with grey weather and cool temperatures -- The Gray Goose Inn warmed us and relaxed us and made our vacation wonderful!


A Treasure!

5 su ottobre 01, 2009

This wonderful bed & breakfast immediately gave us feeling of comfort and rest.


Gray Goose Inn

4,0 su settembre 24, 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast was excellent every day. The room was clean and comfortable.


Gray Goose Inn

5 su settembre 22, 2009

This was our first experience taking our dog with us at a B&B--it was great, great food, soft sheets, beautiful place! Tim and his dogs were wonderful.


Wonderful getaway spot

4,6 su settembre 12, 2009

Gray Goose Inn is a fantastic spot for a weekend getaway from Chicago. As soon as we drove into the long, shady driveway, it was like we were a world away from Chesterton (and Chicago). The rooms are all unique (and fun), and the bed was comfortable. Bathrobes were a nice touch. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer and enjoy an afternoon reading in the outdoor, screened-in gazeebo! This would be a great place to come with other couples for a weekend -- there are nice common spaces to spend time together, but it's also large enough that you can find some privacy in places other than your room. We look forward to coming back next summer!


Wonderful B&B

5 su settembre 06, 2009

Beautiful and met all our expectations


EVERYTHING IS WONDERFUL!!!

5 su agosto 13, 2009

A must stay place. Tim, the inkeeper is so friendly and helpful. He knows where to eat in the area. We celebrated our 10th anniversary there...Beautiful and romantic place to go! The animals at the breakfast window looked so natural. A peaceful way to start the day. One of the best is that the beach is only 2 miles away. I can't say enough. You must go yourself. You WILL LOVE IT!!


Excellent food, accommodation, and hospitality

5 su agosto 11, 2009

I really enjoyed the tea we had with breakfast and the owner was kind enough to give me a box of the tea before leaving. Will definitely go back and visit again!!


Our "Retreat"

5 su agosto 09, 2009

My husband & I are celebrating our 36 wedding anniversary this year. I care for my mother (who has Alzheimer's) in our home in Dayton, OH. My husband works in Norwalk, Oh, which is a 3 hour drive from home. We see each other on weekends as much as possible. Our lives are hectic to say the least. My husband planned a 5 day get-away for us through Indiana. We visited the Amish area, Notre Dame, Indianapolis and Chesterton. What a wonderful surprise to find the Gray Goose Inn. It was only the second time we've spent in a B & B. Just driving up the driveway gave us a feeling of peace & calm. The lake was beautiful. When we walked through the front door it was magical. The smells, sights, sounds and welcoming feeling of the inn was so overwhelming. Tim Wilk, the innkeeper, was friendly & courteous. Our room was spacious and warm with a great view of the lake. As a matter of fact, the views were great no matter where you were. The trees, the wild life (especially the gray geese), the gazebo (lit at night), the walking trails, the quiet -- it was all surreal-- this was our "Retreat". Our biggest disappointment was the fact that we couldn't stay another night. I am planning to visit again in the spring with my 2 daughters and take the train into Chicago. Thank you again to Tim and the Gray Goose Inn for the wonderful memories. We'll be back! Sincerely, Walt & Silvia Klimaski Dayton, OH.


Delightful

5 su agosto 07, 2009

The Palomara Chamber was beautiful, the breakfasts were fabulous, and the gazebo by the lake was peaceful. It was a great place to stay!


Perfect weekend

4,4 su luglio 30, 2009

The Gray Goose Inn is a gem. The service is superb, and the value is tough to beat. The house is located in a beautiful and restful setting, yet is very convenient to many local attractions. I could not have asked for more and will go back again.


An overnight treat

5 su luglio 17, 2009

The Gray goose is a hidden treasure. Tim is the perfect host-attentive, but not overbearing. Every detail is perfect and the breakfast is gourmet.


A Wonderful Getaway

5 su luglio 12, 2009

We found this hidden treasure online, and weren't sure what to expect. Just off the highway, and ten minutes from the Dunes seashore, this was just what we needed to get away for the weekend. Tim's personal service and attention to detail were refreshing, and the room was relaxing and comfortable. Couldn't recommend it more highly! Thank you!!


a true gem on the Indiana Lakeshore

4,8 su giugno 11, 2009

The is almost Heaven! A warm, welcoming site, beautifully landscaped, sitting on a lovely, peaceful, private lake. But it got even better as Tim welcomed us, along with his two cocker spaniels. A very pet-friendly, immaculate inn with no detail left undone. A best kept secret for sure and only an hour's drive to Chicago!


Weekend Perfection

5 su giugno 01, 2009

This was the best weekend getaway spot we have found close to Chicago. It was a true oasis, with an outstanding natural setting.


This place was such a find!

5 su maggio 29, 2009

My husband and I had never stayed at a B&B before, so we were a bit hesitant. Gray Goose Inn was simply beautiful! the Inn keeper was wonderfully sweet and kind. The grounds were amazing and our room was superb! We had a gorgeous view of the lake and the gazebo. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean and well kept. I have raved to all my friends about this place and my husband and I agreed that we'll definitely go back again and again. Thank you so much, Tim, for your hospitality! Pamela and Todd M.


a wonderful relaxing place to stay!

5 su maggio 26, 2009

My husband and I spent Memorial Day weekend at the Grey Goose Inn and we were so pleased with everything! The Inn is set far back enough from the road that we felt like we were in the middle of the country. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning while watching quite a variety of birds eat from the feeder right outside of our window! Our room was beautiful and very clean and overlooked the lakes. I would recommend the Grey Goose Inn to anyone who was staying in the Dunes area!


My favorite getaway

5 su maggio 19, 2009

Going to the Gray Goose is like going to your favorite relative's for a visit. Friendly, homey, and comfortable. I've been with my friends, my husband, and now my daughters. I love it!


A great place to relax

4,8 su maggio 16, 2009

Tim is a gracious innkeeper. We loved the peacefulness, the setting is unexpected and well protected from noise from a nearby business district. Watching the wildlife at the nearby lake was certainly a pleasure. Quiet solitude. Would recommend it to friends. Hope to go back in the future to unwind.


Gracious and restful

5 su maggio 11, 2009

Absolutely wonderful! The inn is clean, owner friendly, food delicious, and a great place to watch wildlife on lake!


great stay

5 su maggio 08, 2009

Tim provided a great stay at the Gray Goose Inn. Delicious food, delightful decor,and wonderful hospitality made for a great stay.


We shall return

5 su febbraio 23, 2009

Stress-free getaway in a beautifully decorated, yet comfortable and homey inn. Hospitality exceeds all expectations. This inn allows one to unwind- Relaxation at it's best!


quiet stay

4,2 su novembre 21, 2008

peaceful, fall stay; plentiful breakfasts, spacious rooms, comfortable bed, clean bathroom.


"Swan Lake in Victorian Peaceful Pine"

5 su ottobre 15, 2008

Great dream of a lifetime fulfilled & Chicago food Sect day at ND & hot bath & fun/fun-TASTIC. Breakfast here at Gray Goose is Olympic USA GOLD.


One of the Best Ever

5 su ottobre 14, 2008

Of all the B&B's we have stayed at, this is the best so far. Just started 4 years ago. Exceeded our expectations in every way. Most important, value. Accommodating our travel time schedule!!


Delightful Surprise

4,4 su settembre 29, 2008

All the amenities of home and more. Clean, quiet and comfortable with a great breakfast.


Pet Friendly Haven

4,8 su settembre 29, 2008

Friendly, stately charm in a beautiful setting. Hoosier hospitality abounding! Our pet was welcomed and doted on!


Wonderful Experience at the Gray Goose Inn

4,0 su agosto 19, 2008

We were very pleased with our one night stay in the Gray Goose Suite. The Inn is in tip-top shape both inside and outside. The Inn is so well appointed. The innkeeper, Tim, is an experienced innkeeper and it shows. Everything is tailored to the guest experience. I spent much time relaxing on a glider chair in the screened in gazebo just a few feet from the lake. Lots of birds, ducks, geese, and chipmunks to watch. The front porch is very nice also as there is a fountain and lots of potted flower pots. The inn is very close to many good restaurants.


Gray Goos Inn

4,2 su luglio 17, 2008

Had a great time! Tim & his staff were very attentive. A great place, seems like country, tucked into the city.


Elegant Home Away From Home

5 su luglio 15, 2008

Attention to detail results in a perfect combination of elegance and comfort, truly a feeling of home with all the special touches.


A "Sacred" Place!

5 su luglio 07, 2008

Every single thing about the Gray Goose Inn was outstanding. The setting is peaceful and serene. Each room is singularly appointed & welcoming. The staff is supremely hospitable and the food "divine"!! These three days were simply sacred!


Sacred Time, Sacred Place

5 su luglio 07, 2008

Our leadership team usually went to retreat centers for our annual visioning retreat, but by grace came to this B&B. And the rest in history. PERFECT.


Charming B&B

3,4 su luglio 04, 2008

The Gray Goose Inn is very charming and relaxing except for the constant trains. The food was wonderful and the service great plus there is lots to do in this area of Indiana. We had a wonderful anniversary weekend. Thanks!


Charming Bed & Breakfast

5 su luglio 03, 2008

Very clean - beautiful background music greeted us each time we entered - delicious breakfast served by Tim in a very friendly atmosphere.


Fabulous

5 su giugno 20, 2008

I spent two blissful days and nights at the Grey Goose and loved every minute of it. I don't think I've ever been so pampered and cared for. The setting is restful and beautiful, the interior offers delights to the eye where ever you look. The bedrooms offer every amenity and the food was incredible. I can't recommend this place enough.


Gray Goose Inn

5 su giugno 19, 2008

Great spot! Very cozy and relaxing. All inn owners/staff were welcoming and accomodating. Great breakfast!


Great For Nature Lovers

3,6 su giugno 19, 2008

Lovely inn set on wooded acres abound with birds and other wildlife.


enjoyed

5 su giugno 16, 2008

we really enjoyed our stay here.wonderful getaway for us. beautiful inn and comfortably furnished and offers a peaceful inviting haven for it's guests.


Best kept secredt in northern Indiana!

5 su giugno 02, 2008

I had not been to the Gray Goose Inn in over 10 years, but my recent stay in March 2008 exceeded my memories of past visits. The guest rooms are quiet and comfortable, and the common areas are well equipped for all your needs to relax over a movie or book and a cup of tea. The grounds are delightful, and Tim always provides a selection of appetizing options for your breakfast. If you live in Chicago, this is the perfect place to go to get away from city life for a few days. Try it; you will not be disappointed!


Peaceful & Beautiful!

5 su maggio 27, 2008

We just returned home from a 2 day stay over Memorial Day weekend. We can't say enough positive things about this B & B! We will return! Everything was excellent! Beautiful home, peaceful property, delicious food, clean, and for the nature lover....you have it all! Bird watching, trails, and a natural lake that has a gazebo nestled on its shore. Close to the dunes, antiques, restaurarants, but removed from all the busy streets. Some guests might have noticed the nearby train noise passing through at night, but it wasn't too bad, and we would NOT let that stop us from returning!!! We spotted a deer and a beaver on our hike around the lake! The B & B has a darling gift shoppe on site, too. There are many areas to sit and relax while listening to the soothing music that plays through out your visit. Plenty of complimentary coffee, cookies and candy. Ice machine for the guests, and .50 pop and water if you need it. Rooms are beautifully decorated. We had a lake view room...The Drake Chamber. Try to request a lakeview room...it's awesome! The other side of the house overlooks a deep woods area. Those are also nice. So - check this one out - you will be pleased! Oh - and Tim, the Owner/Innkeeper: is the best - pleasant, and very helpful, and he served us a delicious breadfast each morning at the most beautiful table set so perfectly, while we watched the birds out right outside the window! We didn't want to go home!!


Gray Goose Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $110 - $195
  • Recensioni (228) 4,6
  • Camere 8
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2199265781
  • Numero di Fax 1-2199264845
  • Gratuito 1-8005215127

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina