Mary Helen's Bed, Breakfast & Fine Dining Recensioni

Globalmente
4,9

Più info

  • Camera4,9
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,9
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo5,0

Valore della struttura
82 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

We Felt So Welcome!

5 su agosto 09, 2014

Cindy opened the door to welcome us, even before we could knock. She showed us our beautiful and very clean room, and asked us when we'd like our night-time dessert and breakfast. Did we have any special requests? Ah, then we read by the pond, listening to the birds and fountain, and ate a picnic supper we'd packed at a bar table next to the pond. The flowers and lawn were absolutely beautiful. Cindy couldn't have been kinder and the dessert and breakfast couldn't have been tastier. Such a fluffy omelet with 3 cheeses! Jim told us about building their log home. I wish we could have stayed another night.


Jim & Lu Brunnemer loved Mary Ellen's Place!

5 su luglio 31, 2014

In July, 2014, my wife and I found this extraordinary inn on the Internet. Our one-night stay was delightful, our hosts Jim & Cindy so gracious and accommodating. I was prepared to write a


A Little Piece of Heaven

5 su giugno 16, 2014

I came stressed and anxious and as I sat by the pond, quickly felt my blood pressure decline and a sense of peace take over that stayed all weekend. What could be better than that?


A special place to make you feel special

5 su giugno 14, 2014

We found Mary Helen's on the Internet, loved the reviews and pictures, and made the choice to stay. We could not have been more pleased. This is a picture- perfect setting with a meticulously maintained inn and gardens, hosted by Cindy and Jim who go way beyond expectations to make guests comfortable and satisfied. You will love it!


Anniversary Celebration

5 su giugno 04, 2014

My wife and I shared a relaxing and enjoyable experience at Mary Helen's Bed and breakfast. Jim and Cindy are very gracious hosts and maintain the cleanest, most attractive property we've ever had the pleasure to experience. The grounds are very scenic and meticulously groomed. The pond with the fountain provides a very restful setting. The overall experience made for a very special anniversary. We are looking forward to a return visit very soon.


Loved our Visit to this Beautiful B&B

5 su giugno 03, 2014

We stayed at this B&B for a week and loved it! The rooms were spacious and very clean and the grounds were gorgeous, loved the pond. The food was absolutely delicious, loved all the little special touches. Jim and Cindy are perfect hosts who go out of their way to provide a wonderful get away. I am sure we will be back to visit again.


Great surprise weekend get away

5 su gennaio 28, 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a weekend get away to this gorgeous bed and breakfast. Everything was perfect: views from the room, the food, the service you got. I'd recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing time away with a beautiful atmosphere.


Perfect 10!

5 su novembre 03, 2013

My husband and I NEVER give anything a ten allowing room for betterment, but we had to make an exception this weekend. Mary Helen's B&B got a perfect 10 from both of us (and we frequent b&b's several times a year). The setting was great, the room was great and the inn keepers were very hospitable. It was a joy talking with them and we had a wonderful breakfast. Can't wait to return.


I am new at this B&B thing.

5 su ottobre 23, 2013

Perfect accommodations, a little remote, maybe preferred,great job! If this is the template for B&B's, there is no other way to go!


Best ever!

5 su settembre 15, 2013

We have been to 66 B&B's across the country. Some had beautiful scenery, gourmet meals, clean/comfortable rooms/beds, or gracious hosts. But for one place to "have it all" is hard to find. WE FOUND IT at Mary Helen's! After reading the other reviews, I can't add many more superlative adjectives than already mentioned. Suffice it to say that we have never stayed at a B&B more than once, and we are planning on going back to Mary Helen's next month!


A wonderful experience!!

5 su settembre 08, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mary Helen's for a long weekend away. It was our first experience with a bed and breakfast, and I can tell you now, that the bar has been set very high. Jim and Cindy were wonderful hosts! The breakfasts were amazing (my husband especially loved the omelette), their home was beautiful inside and out, and the little touches made us feel cared for! We can't wait for our family and friends to experience Mary Helen's, and we're looking forward to going back to try the fine dining in the evening! Jim and Cindy, thank you so much for a wonderful weekend! Blessings to you both!!


The Best B&B Value I've Experienced

5 su agosto 27, 2013

We have been to well over 20 B&B's all over the country and this is by far the most beautiful one we have ever stayed. The beautiful pictures of the grounds on the web site do it no justice and the house and rooms are just as wonderful. Cindy and Jim could not have been more accomodating and anticipated needs we didn't even know we had. If you are looking for a touristy stay with lots of gift shops and activities, this is probably not for you. If you want a relaxing, romantic, private getaway where you are thoroughly spoiled, this is the place. All for little more than it costs to stay at the place where they "leave the light on for you". Jim & Cindy........expect us back soon.....


Romantic Retreat

5 su agosto 16, 2013

Jim & Cindy are so warm and inviting-they made us feel like family. It was by far the best Bed & Breakfast we have stayed at. The food is so scrumptious and better than any 5 star restaurant. We look forward to returning!


Great visit at Mary Helen's

5 su agosto 01, 2013

Mary Helen's was our first stay at a B & B. What an absolutely wonderful experience it was! Cindy is the most gracious host you could ever expect. We did not meet Jim but his landscaping work is evident in the beautiful grounds. Mary Helen's is a warm and inviting home impecable in every detail. We hope to return many times. Bill and Sherry.


What a wonderful retreat!

5 su luglio 26, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay last weekend at Mary Helen's. The room was huge and comfortable! For the amount we paid, it was a bargain! Breakfast was divine and quite filling. We are looking forward to many more visits to this B&B since it is only about an hour from our home in Indy, but it feels a world away! Thanks so much, Cindy and Jim! P.S. My husband loved the little gift bag of cookies for the drive home!


Fantasy inn outside charming town

5 su luglio 24, 2013

We had a family emergency back home while traveling through Cincinnati. We decided to stop and spend a few hours on the phone. My wife found Mary Helen's B&B on the road. A quick call confirmed an available room. We stopped at a delightful restaurant in Batesville and proceeded down Coonhunters Road to the inn, passing the largest live doe I have ever seen and the Tri-County Coonhunters Lodge. The first view of the inn is the beautiful wooden lodge across a lovely lake. The second view is truly a beautiful fantasy looking back at the lake and detailed landscaping. What a gorgeous setting. The innkeeper we met was so gracious and helpful. She has thought of every possible need a traveler could have and made provision for it. The room was large and well-planned. The wooden beams and walls provide a rich, calming atmosphere. If you are over 6 foot five inches, you should tell the innkeeper. There is a low beam on the second floor that you should avoid. It would be best to stay in a room that does not require walking past that beam. Breakfast was delightful and delicious! Orange french toast...yum!


Half the cost, triple the value

5 su luglio 22, 2013

Needing a quick getaway retreat, we chose Mary Helen's based on reviews. It was a rare lifetime opportunity to meet a couple who has worked tirelessly to create a masterpiece of serenity, and is now giving the time, effort and love to share the masterpiece. Jim and Cindy are esquisite hosts: gentle and amicable, yet receptive to any desire for quiet privacy. A stay here is worth thrice the cost.


What a Sweet Surprise

5 su giugno 05, 2013

When you first see the entrance it gives nothing to whats over the hill! Breath taking landscape and beauty everywhere you look. The house is immaculate inside and out. Cindy and her husband, the innkeepers are just an amazing hosts. Very accommodating in every way. What an escape this is. Going to come back very soon!


Her mystery trip

5 su maggio 22, 2013

For a surprise anniversary get away I asked my wife to pack an overnight bag for we were going to a motel where "they leave the lights on for you". Every thing was going great until we got to "Coonhunters Road" when she started to get nervous. Surly we were not going coon hunting? But all fears went away as soon as we came up the driveway of this fabulous place. As the rating illustrates, everything there is perfect. Even the frog's "mating calls" in the pond or the woodpecker's hunt for the evening meal are relaxing. A must see and experience for yourself for words do not do justice to the totally pleasant atmosphere Jim and Cindy have created there.


Wonderful Present

5 su maggio 18, 2013

Our daughter and son-in-law purchased an overnight stay at Mary Helen's Bed, Breakfast and Fine Dining, and gave it as a Christmas Gift to my husband and I, Christmas, 2012. We spent last night a the B&B, and it was very, very nice. The place is beautiful, and the host and hostess bend over backwards for their guest. They are a very nice and hard working couple and it was a delight to meet them, and spend a night at their B&B. Our gift also included dinner, and it was a Five Star meal. Every entree was wonderful! I appreciate Jim and Cindy Bischoff's hard work, friendliness, and beauty of the estate was so appreciated. Thank you to our children for the gift, to our hosts, Jim and Cindy, and we hope to return again!! Five Stars all the way!!


Relaxing birthday stay

4,6 su maggio 01, 2013

Our stay at Mary Helen's was wonderful. Jacuzzi tub and massage arrangement was relaxing. The five course dinner was delicious, as was breakfast - all home made by Jim and Cindy. Beautiful scenery and welcoming hosts. We would definately recommend you stay here!


Just what the Doctor Ordered

5 su aprile 08, 2013

My husband and I both enjoyed the stay at Mary Helen's. The picture of the place is gorgeous, but it is even better in real life. We were welcomed by Jim and Cindy, most wonderful hosts. The meals were fabulous, and we also received the massage which was wonderful. It was a most relaxing and enjoyable weekend, "just what the doctor ordered" for us.


Girlfriends getaway

5 su gennaio 30, 2013

What a great place to meet my best friend!!! Batesville is only 1 hour from Indianapolis and Cincinnati so what a great place to meet up with a girlfriend and catch up on all of the important stuff of life. The rooms were absolutely gorgeous and the hospitality and food were to die for. Loved every minute of it!!!


We were in Indiana in early January and found a home away from home. The accommodations were wonderful as were our breakfasts. Outshining it all, however, was the hospitality! Thank you Jim and Cindy...remember two people in Texas sure do love you!

5 su gennaio 26, 2013

The Maddoxes from Texas


A Perfect Getaway

5 su gennaio 20, 2013

Your standard will be set very high when staying at Mary Helen's B & B. As you drive back to the house you're reminded of a Thomas Kincade painting. Then when you meet Jim & Cindy and see how welcoming they are, you know you have made the right choice. The room we had was very spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast they prepared for us was fabulous. There are many special touches throughout the house to make people feel "at home". It's apparent that Jim & Cindy welcome guests into their home with open arms and open hearts. Mary Helen's is a perfect getaway and a wonderful experience and we WILL be returning.


Storybook Setting

5 su gennaio 06, 2013

When you drive up the lane leading back to the picturesque lake and storybook log home you know you have made a great decision .When you enter the home and see the wood beams, stone fireplace and beautiful wood floors you think that this place is perfect. Next you walk up the solid wood stairs to your perfectly decorated room and you think that you have found the best B&B ever . Then you realize that the home pales in comparison to the hospitality and pampering that you get from Jim and Cindy and you know this one is "THE BEST".


A Hidden Gem

5 su dicembre 16, 2012

Some good friends introduced us to Mary Helen's B&B, and we have now stayed there three times. Jim and Cindy, the innkeepers, are such gracious hosts. The B&B itself is stunning--the grounds are immaculate and the guest rooms are very nice. To top it off, the B&B offers a four-course meal on the weekends and the food is amazing. We would highly recommend that you visit this hidden gem.


A drive past the pond

5 su dicembre 03, 2012

When we entered the property, drove past the pond and saw the house, we knew the trip was worth it. The breakfast was delicious, room was beautiful and the hosts made us feel welcome. We'll go back.


Beautiful B&B

5 su novembre 04, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The setting was beautifull with the pond in front of the house and the fall colors donning the wooded area surrounding the cosy B&B. Jim and Cindy are wonderful hosts and the food is delicious. They now have arrangements with a massage therapist that can be scheduled to come give you a massage right in your room which I enjoyed immensely. I look forward to returning in this lovely B&B and introducing it to friends and family.


Second time was just as impressive as the first

5 su ottobre 25, 2012

We stayed last year with our dear friends and when another trip together was being planned for the area, everyone wanted to come back to Mary Helen's. Jim and Cindy are so warm and gracious. The setting is out of a magazine with the lake, fountain, flowers and beautiful home. Both times we have eaten the evening meal which is out of this world. Why people in the area don't make reservations and come out to eat is beyond me. They are both terrific cooks and work well together with picture perfect presentation of each course. We asked for the apple stuffed french toast for breakfast both years. It is to die for. Umm so good. If you are looking for a relaxing, calming place to stay with every detail attended to, then Mary Helen's is your place to stay. We hope to go back again sometime soon. S & B and M & P


Comfort away from home

5 su ottobre 22, 2012

Everything was wonderful. It was so comfortable and our hostess was a delight. We would recommend it to everyone.


Simply Beautiful

5 su ottobre 22, 2012

For the last 2 October's my girlfriends and I have made the drive from Michigan to Mary Helen's and will continue to visit annually! Jim and Cindy are just wonderful hosts and you won't find a more enjoyable experience anywhere! A weekend in Batesville, Indiana at Mary Helen's Bed and Breakfast is the best!


Weekend get away

4,8 su ottobre 19, 2012

This was my first stay at a Bed and Breadfast and we could not have choosen a better place. The weekend was wonderful, food oh so good I can't believe I ate so much and Jim and Cindy are the greatest hosts!!! I will be going back to Mary Helen's Bed and Breakfast again for a weekend get away it is awesome.


Heavenly!

5 su settembre 03, 2012

There is no detail left undone at Mary Helen's! From the pristine rooms and grounds to the exquisite meals... Cindy and Jim make your stay memorable in all ways. My husband selected this B and B for a long weekend for my birthday, and it was totally perfect. The five course steak dinner Sat. evening was perfection, and the blueberry pancakes for my birthday breakfast were my very favorite! We have never received such great service anywhere. It was totally restful and absolutely beautiful. Loved just sitting by the pond or on the porch, reading, and reconnecting.


Spectacular!

5 su agosto 27, 2012

As you top the driveway / hill your eyes catch view of the amazing flowers, fountain, home & waves from the owner "Yes! You are in the right place!" Cindy & Jim are warm, caring hosts. They make you feel right at home. Room wonderful!


Refreshing

5 su agosto 20, 2012

A perfect setting for a reunion with a dear friend. The grounds just said "relax and renew"...all so refreshing! We chose the Dewey's Outpost room for its fun decor and it didn't disappoint. What a delightful room, with many little western touches. The bathroom was absolutely beautiful, too. We chose to dine here as well. Deliciousness!! Every course was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. Breakfast on the porch was so relaxing. The crowning touch was a going away gift of homemade bread. What fun!!! I would highly recommend.


Fabulous Place

5 su agosto 20, 2012

This place is phenomenal! Girlfriends time out. The dinner was spectacular and the place was all that I had hoped it would be. My only regret was that I didn't have more time to be there. I have already started spreading the word about this place to my friends. I am sure this is one of the best kept secrets around. I would definitely recommend it and am looking forward to returning.


Best Kept Secret in Indiana

5 su luglio 21, 2012

In the dictionary, under "hospitality", you will find the pictures of innkeepers Jim and Cindy; they have indeed mastered the craft and art of providing world-class accommodations and fine dining to their guests. Their attention to detail is without equal and is truly seen in every aspect of the B&B. The pond and gardens flourish in the midst of a horrendous drought; the two guest rooms are extremely well-appointed, comfortable, and fashionable. The breakfast and dinner are incredibly prepared and served. A truly amazing experience that is not often replicated in the world of B&B's. Definitely Indiana's "best kept secret." We will return-and with friends. The Parsons of Burlington, Kentucky


#1 on our Bed & Breakfast list!

5 su giugno 18, 2012

We celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary with a 2 night stay at Mary Helen's Bed & Breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and our room was beautifully decorated as was the rest of the home. Cindy served us 2 delicious / fine dining breakfasts and special evening treats and Jim's professional landscaping talents made our time spent outdoors very enjoyable. This bed and breakfast has taken ovver the #1 spot on our B & B list. Thanks Jim & Cindy! Dave & Kathy King


A Piece of Heaven - Lovely Inside and Out!

5 su maggio 28, 2012

Memorial Day Weekend Stay - Lovely home, Beautiful gardens/ponds/fountains, Delicious Food, Many extras, Jim and Cindy were wonderful friendly hosts. Top notch! Dr. Mark and Mary Brett


Just a few days off.

5 su maggio 10, 2012

From the first time up the drive way until we left, Mary Helen's exceeded our expectations with it's peacefull and relaxing surroundings. The house, rooms and property are amazing. We looked forward to our amazing home cooked breakfast everyday and they served us on the front porch with the pond as our backdrop. Jim and Cindy made us feel at home from the first meeting until we left. They made us feel like old family friends including sharing their fresh vegtables out of the garden as well as the pond and surroundings. We will go back.


A Wonderful Retreat

4,8 su aprile 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Mary Helen's for her birthday. I can't even come up with words to describe how great of an experience it was, but I will try. Jim and Cindy were the best hosts that anyone could ask for. They were dedicated to making our stay and weekend something truly special for me and my wife. Our intent in going was to find someplace that we could enjoy a weekend away and also to celebrate my wife's birthday. So, we planned on dining with Jim and Cindy for the night of. I made sure to mention that in my emails to them and they did everything they could to make the night wonderful. Even going so far as to make a special dessert for my wife of Creme de Menthe Cheesecake. But even if they hadn't done that, my wife and I agreed that the care and the taste of the food was a delight that made the night incredible. If you stay with them and don't eat a dinner there, you will have missed a truly remarkable experience. I encourage anyone traveling through the area, that lives around there, or just happens to think of the town because you are reading this review to book a room. I might hindering my chance to have a room on an date in the future, but I would hate for anyone to miss out on such a unique and enjoyable experience as can be had here.


Lovely, Restful Getaway

5 su aprile 02, 2012

For over twenty years now, my husband and I have made it an annual tradition to take in a bed and breakfast. Since this is a limited occurence for us, we eagerly look forward to our stay and set our expectations high. Mary Helen's definitely met all our needs and expectations! We enjoyed the beautifully landscaped setting, unique western decor of our room, delicious breakfast, and Cindy and Jim's gracious hospitality. The later checkout time of 12 noon and the homemade treats in the sitting area were extra special touches. All in all a very enjoyable and memorable stay!


Absolutely Delightful!

5 su marzo 22, 2012

Jim and Cindy Bischoff go above and beyond to ensure that your stay at their beautiful home is perfect. I enjoyed everything about my 3 night stay at Mary Helen's. Every breakfast was delicious and graciously served. My room was spacious, impeccably clean and included all of the little things that one might forget when packing for an overnight stay. Mary Helen's even offers in room massage services, which I took advantage of and was very pleased with the skilled hand of my therapist, GeorgeAnn Betts. The grounds are perfectly mancured but very welcoming for guests to explore. There is a lake filled with diverse wildlife just a stones throw from the property and a beautiful city park, with a lighted walk path for a night time stroll, is only 1-2 miles away. I was captivated by the town of Batesvilles and its wonderful people, I only regret that I could not stay longer.


Such a beautiful B&B...with the friendliest hosts

4,6 su marzo 19, 2012

The grounds are absolutely gorgeous! We spotted a Bald Eagle as we strolled down the lane and around the pond. It was so peaceful! After dinner in nearby Oldenburg, we treated ourselves to the homemade Carrot Cupcakes left for the guests. This was just one of the many special touches and attention to detail that Jim and Cindy offer their guests. The room was spotless and tastefully decorated. Our French Omelet was fit for a King! We will put Mary Helen's at the top of our B&B list.


The perfect hosts

4,6 su marzo 15, 2012

Jim and Cindy go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. We've stayed there on 2 different occasions and have been very pleased both times. Their yard is gorgeous, away from the city, but near activities in Batesville (which is a very pleasant little city). We will return there, I'm sure.


Perfect B&B

5 su marzo 04, 2012

Could not ask for a better B&B experience. Great food and atmosphere put on by the friendly innkeepers who make you feel right at home.


More than I could have imaged!

5 su dicembre 05, 2011

What a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. We went here for our 29th wedding anniversary. Could not have asked for better service, cleanliness and an absolutely delightful innkeeper. I highly recommend visiting Mary Helen's if you are looking for a quiet place to unwind in our busy world. Even on a cold and rainy day, it felt warm and homelike on the inside. Thank you to the Bischoff's for a wonderful weekend. Kings - Hamilton, Ohio


A Wonderful Place to Spend My 50th Birthday

5 su ottobre 30, 2011

My husband surprised me with a romantic getaway for my 50th birthday and what a wonderful place to celebrate it. Mary Helen's was our 1st experience staying at a B&B and was most certainly the nicest, most enjoyable time we have had. It was just gorgeous with their beautiful home inside and out. Everything was spotless and her special decorating touches made you feel right at home. The breakfast was wonderful and our time spent talking to Cindy and Jim, was outstanding. They truly make you feel like they have known you for years. We will definitely be back and highly recommend their home to others. You will not be disappointed. Thanks Cindy and Jim for a wonderful stay!


Beautiful and charming home --open and gracious people!

5 su ottobre 26, 2011

Our experience at Mary Helen’s was the highlight of our trip. Cindy and Jim are lovely people and most gracious hosts. As you approach the house you see a picture perfect scene- a beautiful house with a pond and picturesque landscaping. There are small touches everywhere that portray Cindy and Jim’s personality and the type of people they are. It feels like a warm, inviting home. I can’t imagine Cindy and Jim ever meeting a stranger. It was clear they wanted to make our stay enjoyable and memorable and they did both. They not only opened their home, they open themselves to us. They willing shared the story of how their bed and breakfast started. You feel as if you are visiting old friends. The meals were just unbelievable. Imagine sitting in a very private and secluded house enjoying a delicious 5 course meal that could be served at the finest restaurant. The food was delicious! Breakfast the next morning was perfect. I want to go back just for the apple caramel French toast. The rooms were themed and very comfortable. Bathrooms were large and clean. We asked about the themes and Cindy and Jim were very willing to share how the room’s theme was chosen. We felt like we were a part of their family. We feel like we received more from our stay- both personally and in the accommodations- than we paid! We will come back.


The Best B & B in Indiana

4,0 su ottobre 25, 2011

My wife and I sent our 28th anniversery at this B&B. Cindy and Jim Bischoff are the best host of any bed and breakfast we have stayed in the Midwest. We had a five coures supper that was superb, the grounds are picture perfect. I can not say enough about this fine bed and breakfast.


Wedding Night

5 su ottobre 19, 2011

I stayed here the night before my wedding, with a good girlfriend. It was the perfect place to relax before the "big day." I hung my dress from the gorgeous wood door. The entire place was spotless and I felt very comfortable leaving my wedding stuff, while I was gone. I really enjoyed the single seve coffee maker. I relaxed with a dark hot chocolate and a bath with jets before bed. Breakfeast the next day was absolutely amazing. The presentation was unbelievable! I got my hair done and then returned to get ready for the wedding. I took several pictures at Mary Helen's, because the landscaping is absolutely gorgeous! I returned on my wedding night with my new husband to find the room decorated and chocolate and champaign waiting! I could tellt he owners truely want their guests to enjoy every second of their visit. They are extremly accomodating and genuinly nice people. We will hopefully be back very soon! I would love to try their 5 course dinner! :)


Amazing food in a great setting!

5 su ottobre 16, 2011

Jim and Cindy have done an amazing job with Mary Helen's B&B...the rooms are pristine, the landscape is immaculate and the food...Words can't describe how delicious it was! We will definitely be back, and will recommend to all of our friends and family! if you're looking for a quiet retreat with fabulous food, here it is!


Can't wait to book my next trip!

5 su ottobre 15, 2011

My husband and I just had the most enjoyable weekend at Mary Helen's Bed and Breakfast. The setting is totally beautiful, nestled in the woods, very private and relaxing. We hosted a dinner party for 5 other couples and it was a huge hit. This was something out of the ordinary- a rare find. We were able to enjoy our company and celebrate our special ocassion. The food was really amazing- this was unlike any dining experience we have had. I was very impressed with the owners Jim and Cindy. They made us feel right at home and made a lasting impression.


wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 su ottobre 15, 2011

I would highly recommend Mary Helen's. We stayed in October and it was beautiful, with the leaves turning colors and flowers still blooming. The house and landscaping are both lovely, with so many charming details. Jim and Cindy were excellent hosts--welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. Our room was immaculate, with all the amenities to make a comfortable stay. The covered-wagon bed in Dewey's Outpost (the room we stayed in) was really neat. We did not get to try the 5-course dinner, but breakfast was very good, and they even provided snacks and beverages for the evening. We would love to go back again.


Outstanding in every way

5 su ottobre 12, 2011

My stay at Mary Helen's was my first experience staying at a bed and breakfast. Not only is it a beautiful property and location, the innkeepers are two of the nicest people I had the pleasure to meet in Indiana. The food is out of this world, the room was beautiful and nothing is spared in offering guests a wonderful experience. I definitely hope to return some day!


Wonderful trip

5 su ottobre 10, 2011

My friends and I traveled from southern Michigan and stayed at Mary Helen's for the week end. The grounds were beautiful. Cindy and Jim were friendly and wonderful hosts. The food was terrific. The house was amazing. We would definitely go back.


27th Wedding Anniversary

5 su agosto 23, 2011

I was searching the net, planning a special weekend get-a-way with my wife for our 27th wedding anniversary. We live in the Cincinnati area and I didn’t want to take a long trip. My wife really loves good food and the B&B experience compared to franchises or Hotels. There were plenty of places to choose from but Mary Helen’s offered something unique above all others, a specially prepared five course meal! And for a very reasonable price; another wife pleaser, she loves a good deal! Mary Helen’s is owned and operated by Jim and Cindy Bischoff. Cindy was a huge help in making the right choices for the meal and in making reservations to surprise my wife. The images on their website don’t do justice to seeing their place for yourself. It’s amazing and they’ve done all the work themselves, just as they do with their meals. They are both self taught chefs and prepared one of the best meals we’ve ever had. I like to think that I know how to cook but my meals don’t compare to theirs and presented in such a way that we wanted to take a picture of each course before we ate. At one point my wife made a comment about how soft the buns were, I couldn’t resist passing that along to Jim, “that’s right Jim, my wife says you have the softest buns she’s ever had!” They were good! lol The location is unexpected. A paradise tucked away from it all, you’ll know what I’m talking about as soon as you pull over the rise in the driveway, what a surprise, but easy to find. We had the chance after dinner to sit and chat with Jim and Cindy; they are truly two of the nicest hard working couples you’ll ever meet. All-in-all, a very relaxing unique experience for us both, hope to see you again sometime soon. Thanks! Pat and Casey


Warm and Friendly!

5 su agosto 13, 2011

Cindy and Jim are indeed warm and friendly hosts. The approach to the house and the grounds is beautiful. Our room and sitting were very comfortable. The snacks delicious! The breakfast, including Jim's French omelette, was perfect! If my husband and I traveled that way again we would be sure to stay at Mary Helen's Bed and Breakfast.


Exceeded our Expectations

5 su agosto 08, 2011

Amazing! That would be the one word description we would use. Even though this is not an isolated B&B out in the remote woods, that's the feeling you get when you start up the driveway. The landscaping was phenomenal, very artistic, welcoming yet very private and secluded, even in the midst of record breaking heat and lack of rain the grounds were spectacular. Inside, everything was warm and inviting, you could see the attention to detail in the decorating, a lot of thought went into the creation of this place. Dinner, again, was amazing. The food was as good as any fine dinning experience in a big city, all the little touches and details were taken care of, it was very enjoyable. THe room was more than we expected at such a reasonable price, very clean and comfortable. We would highly recommend this experience to all our friends and family, very resonable price for such over the top attention. Jim and Cindy should be proud of what they offer - it was an amazing weekend for us.


First timers

5 su agosto 03, 2011

As first time guests, we were pleasantly surprised by the whole bed and breakfast experience. We were welcomed by Jim and Cindy at the front door and they were wonderful hosts. The room was comfortable and the grounds were beautiful. It was a relaxing time to share with my husband on our first wedding anniversary. We will definitely be making a return trip soon.


Would give it 6 stars!

5 su agosto 02, 2011

Staying at B&Bs are our favorite way to travel. We have experienced them from all parts of the country. Jim and Cindy are one of the most hospitable, gracious, and welcoming hosts! From the moment we turned onto the drive, we knew that the innkeepers took pride in their home. The grounds, lovely! When Cindy opened the door to welcome us she had a big smile and it felt like we had come to visit a relative. The rooms showed that the owners had taken meticulous attention to the decor, cleanliness, and ammenities. We felt right at home. Even had a loft with extra seating, snacks, and drinks. We wanted for nothing. We had the dinner offered at the inn and it was TOP-NOTCH! Delicious, Beautifully Presented, entirely homemade with every attention to detail. You would Not be disappointed if you dined with them,,, the only disappointment would be if you chose Not to have the dinner!!! Breakfast was equally delectible! We will definitely return!!! Southern Indiana hospitality at its finest!!! You get your money's worth and then some!!!


B&B First Timers

4,0 su agosto 01, 2011

This was the first time we stayed in a bed & breakfast. So we can't compare to others, but everything was excellent. They obviously put lots of care & attention into every detail of the property. It was our anniversary & my fear was that the website wouldn't match reality. Upon arrival, I was pleased to discover that everything is exactly as advertised! The room was spacious, the bed was perfect, the roomy shower was a bonus, breakfast was amazing and Cindy & Jim were excellent hosts. It was a perfect relaxing, anniversary getaway. My only regret is that we didn't have dinner there & we only stayed one night. It was a rookie mistake & we will know better the next time we go.


Absolutely Beautiful and Pleasantly Romantic

5 su luglio 13, 2011

The pictures simply cannot do this place justice. The grounds are absolutely beautiful -- My wife and I enjoyed walking around the grounds and a late evening stroll along the romantic drive. The rooms are very, very nice and comfortable. This is no fast-food place at all folks -- the meals are off the chart -- including the wonderful service we received. We asked for formal dining and it was very formal and pleasantly so with superb food to match. They do casual as well and, in fact, the breakfast we equally superb -- we each had whatever we wanted. Omigosh, omigosh, omigosh! Guys: if you want somewhere very special to take your mate for dinner, you don't want to miss out on this. If you want an extra place to take your wife overnight, you don't want to miss out on this! Gals: my wife was in tears when she saw how beautiful this place was... we had a very wonderful stayover. I'm going to do another review with a much more descriptive detail of the place under the heading, "Now That Felt Nice". It's lengthy but I wanted to be sure this place got other's attention because they certainly deserve it!


Beauiful Place, Delicious Cuisine, Wonderful People

5 su luglio 07, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Mary Helen's for our 2nd anniversary, and it was unforgettable. The five-course dinner was like nothing I'd ever experienced. The view from the dining room, the leisurely pace, and the friendly conversation with Cindy all added to the experience. Leona Jo's room was spacious and elegant--the perfect setting for a romantic evening. The beautiful pond complete with lily pads and koi fish, surrounded by paths lined with hundreds of flowers, was a breathtaking landscape that encouraged conversation and invited a sense of peace. To top it all off, we were served by Jim & Cindy, whose passions and talents made their dream of running a first-class bed and breafast come true.


Idyllic setting

4,6 su luglio 07, 2011

We spent one night at this lovely B&B to celebrate our anniversary. The colorful gardens and koi pond provided a peaceful setting and we enjoyed a nice breakfast on the porch while watching the hummingbirds. Industrious and personable owners Cindy and Jim are perfect hosts and made us feel welcome yet allowed our privacy. A convenient, comfortable, cozy B&B!


ANNIVERSARY

4,0 su giugno 20, 2011

My wife and i celebrated our 25Th anniversary here in May. I surprised her by not telling her where we were going. What can i possibly say that hasn't already been said about Mary Helen`s. But there is one, the conversation my wife and i had with Cindy after our breakfast was worth more than all of the elegance and beauty of the night we spent there.


A big surprise in a small town in Indiana

5 su giugno 20, 2011

Our visit was wonderful, all our needs were met and we enjoyed the beautiful home and all the craftmanship that went into it, the gorgeous landscaping and lovely setting. The room was cozy and very comfortable. The breakfasts were great and the converation with the Innkeepers was wonderful. We laughed and shared stories. We hope to return often and wish them well.


Honeymoon Night

4,2 su giugno 14, 2011

We stayed at Mary Helen's the night of our wedding and it was the perfect night. The landscaping that is at the Bed and Breakfast is simply beautiful, and then you go inside and everything is so pretty and neat. I wish we could have had more time to stay there but we had to leave early the next morning. Also, Cindy and Jim, the owners are such nice people. I would highly recommend staying here if you get a chance!


Can't wait to go back!

5 su aprile 10, 2011

My husband and I had a chance to spend a night at Mary Helen's between Christmas and New Years. Everything was wonderful! The atmosphere, the food and the hosts were everything you could hope for in a getaway. Don't hesitate to try it out.


Gourmet dining in the country

5 su febbraio 27, 2011

We came with a group of 12 and enjoyed one of the best meals ever. Not one unsatisfied customer in the whole group! Service is superb, settings immaculate, food to die for. A totally unigue dining experience. We will be back with a larger group for sure.


Review

5 su febbraio 20, 2011

My family and friends have dined at Mary Helen's on two occasions. The cuisine was delicious. The salad and dressing were the best I ever had. The soup was very tasty. The main course was very appetizing. The desert was heavenly. Jim and Cindy, the owners, were very friendly and accommodating. They talked to all the customers. The setting is very secluded located outside the town of Batesville, Indiana. The facility reminds me of a lodge built with expert carpentry and design. The atmosphere, service and cuisine make a one feel relaxed and satiated. The grounds are beautiful. The group I was with decided to make reservations in the Summer. We will be able to enjoy the landscaping that surrounds the beautiful facility. I would definitely rate Mary Helen's Bed and Breakfast & Fine Dining as the finest restaurant I have experienced.


enjoyable evening

5 su febbraio 14, 2011

First, the property is beautiful. I had dinner with family here in the winter, so I can only imagine how lovely it looks in the summer. The atmosphere was very inviting and Jim and Cindy were friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and exceeded any expectations I may have had. It was a relaxing evening and the wine was wonderful. We took a tour of the rooms and they were very well decorated with great attention to details. I look forward to staying over the summer. I would recommend Mary Helen's for a weekend getaway or simply a nice dinner with friends and family.


Exquisite dining experience

5 su febbraio 13, 2011

After an evening at Mary Helen's fine dining, we can't say enough about the food, the service and the atmosphere. The multi course meal is superb as is the friendly and attentive service of the owners. We look forward to many future visits.


Superb Dining Experience!!!

5 su febbraio 06, 2011

I wanted to take the time and share with you my experience dining at Mary Helen's place. It's an absolutely gorgeous place. The food was amazing and so was the service. I would recommend anyone to visit Mary Helen's place you won't be disappointed. I am planning on going back as soon as possible!!!


Perfect Weekend in the woods!

5 su febbraio 05, 2011

I had the pleasure of spending the weekend at this wonderful B&B! Starting out with a delicious meal and drinks and ending in the cozy room named Leona Jo's! From the time my husband and I arrived everything felt so inviting and warm. We had the best experience and look forward to a repeat in the summer!


Cozy and Comfortable

5 su febbraio 05, 2011

We enjoyed a lovely evening's stay in January, 2011 at Mary Helen's! Hosts Cindy and Jim share their gifts for hospitality, from the cozy details in the room furnishings, to the careful preparation of every dinner and breakfast meal. They welcomed us without being fawning or overbearing. We stayed in the sumptuously comfortable Leona Jo room, which is beautifully decorated, and includes a large new bathroom and satellite TV. Dinner was five delicious courses, at a relaxed and unhurried pace. Although it was too cold to spend time outside on the beautiful property, birdwatching at breakfast (also delicious!) was great fun! If you're looking for a secluded location, gourmet meals, and peaceful surroundings, Mary Helen's is a perfect winter getaway.


a beautiful retreat , a perfect get a way. Excellant food , excellant host !

5 su febbraio 01, 2011

A beautiful country setting! You feel like your a Queen or King! We have stayed at many bed and breakfast places, this truly is one of the best! The food is gourmet ........... the setting is so private and absolutely breathtaking! This is a must that you have to experience! So affordably priced . A unique place where you can dine on a four course meal , enjoy the beautiful surroundings and stay the night!


What a wonderful place!

5 su febbraio 01, 2011

We visited this wonderful B and B last weekend for dinner. It was fabulous! The meal consisted of 5 courses (if you count the lime sorbet to cleanse our pallet). Each course was leisurely delivered and was spectacular! We were there chatting away and taking in the gorgeous surroundings for nearly 4 hours! The food was beautifully plated and delicious! The wines were terrific! The atmosphere was elegant and tranquil! The experience greatly exceeded our expectations and we cannot wait to return.


A Hidden Gem

5 su gennaio 31, 2011

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Mary Helen's. If you are looking for fabulous food, exceptional service, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance, then this is the place to go. From the minute you are greeted at the door by the owner, Cindy, you are made to feel so comfortable and welcome. My daughter and two friends and I had dinner there this weekend, and we were all in agreement about how very much we enjoyed ourselves. If you have the chance, please give Mary Helen's a visit, You won't regret it. Alona Hafer


Outstanding evening

4,2 su gennaio 31, 2011

I went to have dinner with friends and had outstanding experience. The food was unbelievable. I felt I was in a 5 star restaurant with the exceptional food and service. I cannot wait to take other friends to have a relaxing experience with outstanding food and atmosphere.


Dining at Mary Helen's

5 su gennaio 21, 2011

The whole evening was so special. The country setting in the woods I really loved. Inside the perfect soft music was playing, and the best meal I have had in a long time. Very reasonably priced also. Did not spend the night but did check out their bedrooms. The rooms are beautiful, each with their own bathroom. Also loved the loft area for morning coffee. Looking forward to going in the spring to enjoy their front porch and beautiful gardens.


Mary Helen's Bed, Breakfast & Fine Dining

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $95 - $125
  • Recensioni (82) 4,9
  • Camere 2

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8129343468

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina