The Rippon-Kinsella House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
46 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!!

4,6 su luglio 11, 2014

Unfortunately, we were only able to spend one night at the Rippon-Kinsella House. We traveled from Florida to Quincy for a wedding, so we booked the Rippon-Kinsella House for Sunday night as our flight back to Florida was on Monday. Roger greeted us and showed around the property, and then showed us to our room-we stayed in the Captain's room. The interior is tastefully decorated with beautiful antiques, and the outdoors is beautifully landscaped. Roger recommended the Westwoods Lodge & Pub for dinner. Excellent recommendation, it's charmingly rustic, with lots of character and great food. After dinner we spent the rest of the evening on the front porch, laughing and exchanging stories with Roger and David. They even shared their kitchen with us so that we could keep our beverages cold. Roger served us a breakfast to die for on the front porch in the morning. If your in the Springfield area, I highly recommend spending at least a couple of nights at The Rippon-Kinsella House. Wishing Roger and David continued success, and hope to see them again in our future travels.


Wonderful place. Very nice host.

5 su ottobre 28, 2013

My husband and I are driving Route 66 from Chicsgo to our home in California. We called Roger the day prior to our arrival to reserve the Maids Room. We got to Springfield about an hour later than we expected, which was 4 hours after normal check in (we called to say that we would be late). Roger greeted us and showed us around the house. He also graciously upgraded us to the Captains Quarters. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. I did not observe any issues with the sink draining, unlike some of the prior reviews noted. Roger was friendly. He made us a very nice breakfast and chatted with us as we were finishing it. Afterwards we checked out, but Roger let us leave our car in the parking area while we walked a few blocks to ser the Lincoln Tomb. We then followed his recommendation and toured the Lincoln Libraty and Home site. The libraty was very well done. We had a nice day and a nice stay with Roger and Dave. Recommend for those who like staying in historical structures rather than the standard hotel room.


Great getaway

4,8 su ottobre 05, 2013

We had a wonderful time! Hosts were so fun - great conversation. Breakfasts were good and plenty. Location is perfect for seeing so many of the sites. We recommend!


Exceptional experience!

4,6 su giugno 12, 2013

We had only one night to stay, but found it an exceptional experience in so many ways ... a prompt and warm, good humored greeting (even though we had arrived a bit later than ideal); a round-the-clock offer to address any needs that we might have; a very intriguing collection of antique photos, furniture, ships, radios, etc.; a team who obviously cared about their community and could suggest many places; and they were open to talking about our interests in politics, culture, etc.; a fun puppy and kitty kept outdoors but available for petting; a spacious garden yard, comfy bed; refreshing shower; helpful internet access; yummy after-hours snack and a scrumptious breakfast. Some Lincoln historic sites were in easy walking distance, and many others were a short drive away. Hosts provided us tips on navigating the area too. If we are back in Springfield, we know where we'd like to stay!


A truly wonderful experience

5 su maggio 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights and were so very impressed with the hospitality. Roger is a wonderful host and we enjoyed chatting with him and David on the porch and over breakfast. The house and grounds are beautiful and we both loved the calm, serene and peaceful neighborhood. I sat on the porch for hours listening to the birds and enjoying the fresh air (I actually fell asleep on the porch twice!) Breakfast was very tasty and plentiful and Roger made sure I always had coffee! Roger's baked goods are exceptional! This was a very friendly, comfortable and relaxing visit. Roger and David went above and beyond to make our visit wonderful!


Great Getaway B&B!!!

5 su maggio 06, 2013

A friend and I stayed here on our mini roadtrip to Springfield to visit all of the Lincoln attractions. The owner, Roger, was just wonderful and a pleasure to be around. We stayed in the Captain's Room and the decorations fit the room perfectly! Breakfast the next morning was over the top. Roger made us practically everything you could think of and we enjoyed his company while we ate. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone and I would go back if I'm in the area.


Perfect!

5 su novembre 11, 2012

This was a great place for a girls weekend getaway. Roger fed us well and is so friendly. The house is amazing. We plan on coming back in the summer!


A Great Get-Away Experience

5 su giugno 13, 2012

My mom and I had a wonderful time at The Rippon-Kinsella House. Roger was a fabulous host and a great cook! He made us feel at home and was so friendly, we felt like we had always known him. We will definitely be back!


Elegant and Friendly

5 su giugno 05, 2012

We stayed a night in the Captain's Quarters and we were taken aback by the superb decorating in our room and as well as the entire house. The owners showed a real passion for their work on the house. They were very friendly and within one night you felt like a part of the family! The breakfast was great as well. They were very attentive and were always there when we needed to ask for something. They even gave us a welcome with a cocktail with cheese and crackers in a beautiful room restored with a bar table. Absolutely charming!


Wonderful place to stay

5 su maggio 29, 2012

We just had the most wonderful stay at the Rippon-Kinsella house! The home is in a great location where you can easily walk to Lincoln's Tomb and also to the wonderful restaurant Casa Real. Roger and Dave are the most gracious and charming hosts you could ever ask for. They went above and beyond to accommodate us - they even gave us a ride to the train station for our trip home, and gave us snacks "to go". The breakfast was wonderful and generous, and we so enjoyed the conversation and setting. For anyone contemplating a trip to Springfield, I highly recommend this B&B.


The best weekend for a stay-at-home mom!

5 su maggio 28, 2012

I came to this B&B for some quiet, alone time away from my family. Roger and Dave make you feel so comfortable I felt like I was staying with friends. Roger is quite the cook and enjoys doing for others. They are both great conversanolists and I was quite entertained with sitting with them. Breakfast was served outside in their beautiful garden area. This was my first B&B stay, so I was quite happy. The house is wonderfully decorated with a lot of antiques and even the room was a joy to just walk around and see all the detail that had been put into decorating it. I plan on making this an annual trip and look forward to sit and chat with the guys again! I feel like I made lifelong friends! Thanks Roger and Dave! - Mary


Made new friends!

4,0 su febbraio 02, 2012

The Rippon-Kinsella House was 'top of the line' in places to stay. The comfort, visual appeal, food, and overall presentation were totally outstanding. Most important, however, was the manner in which we were treated by our hosts, Roger and Dave. We had so much fun visiting with them that it became a chore to leave to do the Abe Lincoln sightseeing that we came to Springfield for. Certainly, when our stay came to an end we felt that we had gained two new friends and one terrific weekend.


FEEL AT HOME

4,4 su ottobre 26, 2011

This is a great place to stay. I have never felt more 'at home' anywhere. Roger, the owner, goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. Our room, Maid's, was the smallest of the rooms; cozy, comfortable, clean, and the price reasonable. There was also a small private sitting room too. Breakfast was served in the loving dining room. The table was set with beautiful china and glassware. We especially enjoyed the breakfast & conversation with our host & guests.


Great Get Away!

4,4 su settembre 20, 2011

We stayed in the Campaign room which was nice, but after seeing the Captain's Room I would definitely reserve it the next time. The antique furnishings were wonderful! Roger and Dave were very helpful as well as interesting conversationalists. The room was very clean. Roger was an amazing cook. He served a healthy breakfast and the presentation of the meal was beautiful!


Quiet place to stay near Fairgrounds, Oak Ridge

4,2 su agosto 26, 2011

I came to Rippon-Kinsella before the State Fair, which is within walking distance (approx. 2 miles). Oak Ridge Cemetery is only about 4 blocks away. The house is beautiful in a quiet neighborhood, and the innkeeper is very friendly and quite the cook. Keep your fingers crossed that he makes his coconut cake with your rather large breakfast. A cab ride to the fair is only about $5, and when I called for a ride, they showed up almost instantly. The house has no resident pets.


Great Getaway

5 su agosto 11, 2011

The victorian home was like stepping into a very comfortable museum. There were many exquisite artifacts spread throughout the house. Roger was a very nice host and knew all the best spots for food and major events that were going on during our stay. The breakfast was very tasteful.


"What a B&B Should Be"

4,8 su agosto 11, 2011

The accommodations were lovely, interesting and the size of the rooms were comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, the outside dining was a welcome change. Roger was informative and sincerely interested in helping us make the right selections to insure our trip was memorable. My 22y/o son that had never been to a B&B before enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere over the sterile environment of a hotel. We recommend without hesitation!!


Lovely!

4,0 su marzo 18, 2011

The Rippon-Kinsella B & B is a lovely old victorian mansion situated near many Historic landmarks, restaurants and lovely neighborhoods. Hosts Roger and Dave were exceptionally hospitable, informative, fun and entertaining. My two cousins and I felt very comfortable and pampered. You can't go wrong, folks. Book this place for your next visit to Springfield. We will be back! Jeannette


Lincoln-Land Hospitality

4,6 su marzo 08, 2011

One of the hosts picked me up from the Amtrak station. When we arrived at the house, I was offered a glass of wine. The innkeepers are friendly, full of useful information, and they have decorated this 19th-century mansion very tastefully. A number of interesting antiques, such as old radios, give it a personal flair. Breakfast was ample and delicious. Lincoln's tomb is in Oak Ridge Cemetery, just a short walk away. A great place to stay the next time you're in our state capital!


good time

4,0 su marzo 04, 2011

A beautiful old Victorian home filled with antiques and friendly people who happily tend to your needs. Accessible to all Lincoln historical sites.


wonderful!!!

5 su marzo 04, 2011

I have traveled extensively, and have stayed in bed and breakfast inns throughout the country, and I must tell you all that this lovely bed and breakfast is just an absolute JOY!!! Every one of the numerous rooms throughout the house is just beautiful and full of wonderful treasures! This mansion is an historical dream come true, from the working fireplaces throughout, to the magnificent furnishings and decor. Roger and David are incredibly wonderful and hospitable hosts, who continually went the extra mile to make sure that our stay was perfect. We were made to fell completely at home, and I felt completely spoiled!! I would definitely rate this B&B an A+++++! And, by the way, be sure to taste Roger's divine breakfast muffins!! Ann L. Hyder


Awesome place

4,8 su gennaio 23, 2011

Super friendly owners who made great recommendations for restaurants and activities to do in Springfield. The house was super comfortable and in good location. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great value.


Great Stay!

4,6 su gennaio 09, 2011

My 16 year old daughter and I stayed here on our way home from a spring break trip. Roger and David were amazing hosts. We sat on the porch and had drinks and conversation in the evening. This was my daughter's first B&B stay and she keeps talking about going back. I've stayed at many B&B's, but the hosts here made this one the best. Thanks Roger and Dave---Julie & Caroline


Oasis in Springfield

5 su luglio 20, 2010

We booked the Rippon-Kinsella House for two nights. We were in the Captains room which is as nice of a room in a bed and breakfast we have stayed. With all the history in Springfield if you are a Lincoln and Route 66 history person two nights was not enough. Roger's breakfasts were wonderful and all the eating places he recommended were great. So we stayed one extra night and were talking about a return visit. Put Rippon-Kinion on your list if you want a wonderful home in Springfield to spend the night.


Great Stay

5 su marzo 18, 2010

My wife and I spent last Saturday night at the Rippon-Kinsella House. We picked the B&B by chance and couldn't have more happy with our selection. The house was awesome as were the proprietors. Antiques were everywhere. We especially enjoyed our conversation with Roger and David over wine early Saturday evening and again at breakfast. Breakfast was great. When we come back to Springfield, we will stay here again. The Erickson's


A gentle stay

5 su gennaio 24, 2010

Mr. Schmitz manages a delightful, wonderfully decorated, "tailored to our age and needs" B&B. He is friendly and enthusiastic about life which matches his delicious and creative breakfasts.


Hosts with the most

4,8 su agosto 17, 2009

Do you're selves a favor and book a room in this beautiful gem nestled in a nice neighborhood. Roger and Dave ARE the best B&B hosts we have EVER had. The breakfasts were wonderful and generous. Be sure to have a "horseshoe" open faced sandwich with welsh rarebit sauce. It seems to be a local invention. The Abraham Lincoln Presidential library is one of the most amazing sites we have ever seen. The Rippon-Kinsella house is a slice of heven.


Loved the wine and cheese!

4,6 su luglio 14, 2009

Our stay was brief but enjoyable. Our suite was awesome, and spotlessly clean. Can't begin to say how much we enjoyed the wine, cheese, and crackers upon our arrival. A restaurant was recommended and the food was excellent. Breakfast was delicious on the porch, but the location was a little too rustic for our tastes. All in all, a lovely home where we would stay again.


March 14-15, 2009

5 su marzo 28, 2009

My husband and I loved our visit to the Rippon-Kinsella House. The furnishings fascinated us; the propietors delighted us. We went to Springfield because of the Lincoln sites but would like to return because of the Rippon-Kinsella hospitality.


Hospitality and congeniality

4,4 su marzo 22, 2009

Roger welcomed us to the home and shared his knowledge of attractions, restaurants when we first arrived. His provision of wine, cheese and crackers in our room later that afternoon was one of his many special surprises. Breakfast was served at a table eloquently arranged and was more than typical fare. Homemade muffins, and fresh fruit cups with specially cut fruits was followed by eggs, potatoes. The bottomless cup of coffee capped off the feast. The furnishings of the room and home were numerous but not overwhelming. Access to all the historical sites and the Presidential Museum was easy and quick.


A Great B&B

3,8 su agosto 19, 2008

Very informative about the B&B. Help for dining and evening events in area. All around great owners that tried hard!


The Rippon-Kinsella House

5 su agosto 19, 2008

rOGER SHOWED US WARM HOSPITALITY IN HIS LOVELY VICTORIAN MANSION. oUTSTANDING IN EVERY WAY.


Everything great except...

4,4 su luglio 26, 2008

This was my 1st stay at a B&B place. Everything was great except the breakfast. When I did not eat the condiments, I seen the host put it back in its same container which that was a total turn off for me.

Risposta del proprietario
I was totally flabbergasted when I read this review. We serve strawberry jam and margarine in small china serving dishes with English muffins. Each dish has a small serving spoon which the guests use. Yes, the jam and margarine that is not used is put back in the jar and margarine tub with the serving spoons, so there is no contamination from utensils which the guests use to eat with. I am truly sorry if this offended this guest who "seen" me do this. (where are the grammar police?) Perplexed in Mr. Lincoln's Hometown Roger Schmitz Innkeeper The Rippon-Kinsella House


Victorian Trip

4,0 su luglio 17, 2008

This Victorian Inn was like going back in time, and complemented our visit to all the Lincoln sites.


Gorgeous and comfortable

5 su luglio 09, 2008

Where do I begin ? My husband and I stayed at The Rippon-Kinsella house over the 4th of July weekend as our own tribute to the Lincoln history .We really enjoyed the sorroundings and the gorgeous house which is decorated beautifully and feels really comfortable as a home away from home .Roger and David were the most excellent and attentive hosts with whom we enjoyed spending a lazy evening with on the wraparound porch after a long day visiting all the historical sites of Springfield. I would recommend a stay with Roger and David anytime as long as there's still room enough for my husband and myself as we're definitely going back soon !!!


Rippon-Kinsella

3,8 su luglio 07, 2008

Wonderful Vintage home with museum collectibles. Very nice time. Excellent service!


Host was great!

5 su giugno 19, 2008

Food was wonderful. We will go back.


Rippon - Kinsella

5 su giugno 19, 2008

This was wonderful! Everything was thoughtful and perfect. A great house and host.


The Rippon-Kensella House

4,0 su giugno 09, 2008

The innkeeper, Roger Schmitz, was GREAT!


very nice

5 su giugno 05, 2008

we really enjoyed our stay. the inside of the home was beautiful. they are working on the outside which we are sure will be beautiful when it's completed


Lovely Stay

3,0 su giugno 03, 2008

Inn keeper is charming and very helpful. Great antiques. Easy, quiet, yet handy location. Good stop!


May 2008

5 su maggio 27, 2008

Comfortable, cozy, surrounded by antiques. 1871 Italiante architechture remarkably intact. Beautiful home with friendly inn keepers, it felt like home. Will come back again and again.


Great Weekend Stay

5 su gennaio 07, 2008

Our family of 4 stayed at the Rippon-Kinsella house, in two guest rooms. Each room was clean, lovely, and relaxing. The hosts were very welcoming, know a lot about Springfield, and provided just the right balance of good conversation and quiet family time to ourselves. We will stay here again!


wonderful experience

4,0 su dicembre 25, 2007

The entire weekend was just wonderful. The house is filled with an interesting and eclectic collection of antiques and collectibles. Roger is a very gracious host. His hospitality and delicious breakfast were great.


"Absolutely Charming"

4,0 su dicembre 25, 2007

We stayed in the Captain's room which was very comfortable and nicely appointed. Roger is a very charming host who makes you feel at home the minute you enter the door. We will definely be back to visit Springfield and the Rippon-Kinsella House.


Antique-lovers Historic b&b

3,6 su ottobre 27, 2007

My partner and I stayed at this b&b for one night in October 2007. The innkeeper is delightful, friendly, and accommodating. The breakfast he served was delicious and filling. Our room was quiet and pleasant and was filled with many interesting antiques. This b&b just recently opened. We recommend giving it a try! It is located just a couple of blocks from Lincoln's tomb in a peaceful residential neighborhood, very close to downtown and all the other Lincoln sites.


The Rippon-Kinsella House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $95 - $125
  • Recensioni (46) 4,6
  • Camere 3
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2172413367

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina