Granny O'Neil's River Inn Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,9

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi5,0
  • Valore4,9
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
24 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Will definitely stay again!!

5 su settembre 03, 2012

It felt like we went home and were spoiled by the parents. We took a group down in July and had a great time. We will make this an annual event.


your family here

5 su luglio 06, 2012

Granny O'Neil"s is more than a Bed and Breakfast. After a few minutes, it's clear that your more than a guest, your family! Bill and Gigi are so hospitable, the food is so good, the rooms are so comfortable, you won't want to leave. The good news is you'll always be welcomed back when you return.


relax near the river

5 su agosto 31, 2011

we've stayed here more than once. clean, comfy, welcoming, simple dependable comfort. hosts are very sweet and friendly, breakfast wonderful. sweet little river town with the river just steps away. palisades state park is close and has stunning views of the mississippi river valley. a great stay every time.


No other place I'd rather stay

5 su agosto 17, 2011

I made a quick run north from Cincinnati to visit an aunt and stayed at Granny O'Neil's for the second time. Some minor changes in decor, but not in service or food! If you've never stayed in a B & B, a stay here will be an eye-opener. No hotel or motel can compare with the experience. I was sorta, kinda raised in Savanna and it is so nice to be able to walk out the door, walk half a block, and be downtown and look at the storefronts, go down to the park, or watch the many trains go through. If you are a train fan, Savanna is on a main line of the Burlington Northern/Santa Fe. The owners are the nicest people on the planet and know Savanna well, so they can talk history or current goings-on with you. Bill is a former mayor! I'm going to try to drag my city-girl daughter with me the next time I visit so she can appreciate what a laid-back little community can do for the spirit. This is the place to stay in Savanna!


Absolutely perfect!

5 su agosto 08, 2011

This place was great! Bill and his friend Gigi really made us feel at home and were fantastic hosts. Chef Bill cooks a tremendous breakfast each morning as well! We will definitely be back!


Will Be Again Again!

5 su luglio 06, 2011

Bill was the best! The stay was so comfy, rooms & bathrooms were clean, the hospitality was amazing, he offered to drive us to and from to the Iron Horse-offered a great superb breakfast at the time we were ready, will we be back???? I will def be back!!! Angie & Carlos


A Quiet Hide-a-way on the River

4,8 su giugno 27, 2011

We were in Savanna for a family celebration and it was the all school reunion week-end. This little B&B was just what was needed to enjoy our time in this sleepy little river town while everyone else was carrying on in party style! Bill and Gretchen were two of the most accomodating people I have ever met and the food and service provided was the best we have ever experienced at any B&B in this hemisphere. You simply will not find a better place to stay anywhere in the midwest. Enjoy


Granny's is marvelous!

5 su maggio 07, 2011

Bill and Gretchen made our stay in Savanna a marvelous one! The home is beautiful, very clean and comfortable. They are very accomodating to their guests. I would recommend it in a heartbeat.


Exceptional in every way!

5 su maggio 06, 2011

The inn itself is very nice, the rooms are quiet, comfortable, and private. Already Granny O'Neil's is an awesome place to stay, but there's more. You get to meet Bill, who is a gracious, charming, and funny gentleman. He's also a fabulous chef. He made an amazing breakfast, including the best cherry coffeecake on the planet. If I'm ever in the area again, I'll be sure to stay here.


Great Halloween Weekend 10/30-31/2010

5 su aprile 07, 2011

Bill is a great chef and even better company, as is Gretchen. You will love the antiques and appreciate the large, modern bathroom. My daughter and I could not have had a better place to stay for our weekend exploring family history!


Fabulous!

5 su gennaio 20, 2011

What a wonderful stay we had here! Our hosts, Bill and Gretchen, couldn't have been more welcoming. We mentioned we wanted to see the bald eagles in the area and Gretchen was on the phone in an instant with someone in the know, then writing out directions for us to find the hotspots. We had told Bill we are vegan and not only did he prepare fabulous vegan meals (breakfasts & 1 dinner) but checked with us every step of the way re: spices and preferred ingredients. (Cooking is his passion and it shows; he is a very accomplished chef.) Did I mention they offered us food when we arrived, late, looking hungry? Truly a hidden gem -- very, very highly recommended. You will not be disappointed!


A Pleasant, Little Secret

5 su ottobre 19, 2010

There’s a pleasant, little secret in Savanna, Illinois. Just a block off the main road on a peaceful residential avenue, Granny O’Neil’s River Inn Bed & Breakfast eagerly awaits your arrival. You won’t meet Granny, but you’ll run into Bill Lease, the Inn’s proprietor and host. From the moment my wife and I arrived this past weekend, Bill treated us like long, lost family members. Bill’s extensive knowledge of the area transforms into hours of interesting talks by the fireplace. And, if his stories don’t captivate you, his cooking will. The warmly appointed accommodations are very clean and more than comfortable; but the one aspect that overrides all that is the delicious cuisine that starts your mornings. Bill provides some of the tastiest treats (from freshly baked breakfast cakes to deeply rich, satisfying coffees) we’ve ever had. If you’re even remotely in the area, it will be MORE than worth your while to drive through Savanna and visit Bill. You’ll feel right at home! (PS: Bill, our tastebuds miss your caramel/apple/cinnamon strudel…)


OMG! PHENOMENAL!!!!!!!OVER AND ABOVE

5 su agosto 08, 2010

NOT ONLY DID HE DROP US OFF HE PICKED US UP AND DROPPED US DOWNTOWN! THE MAYOR ROCKS.


Weekend at Granny O'Neil's and the Guest House

4,8 su maggio 26, 2010

We spent the nights of April 23 and 24, 2010 at the Guesthouse and enjoyed two mornings of Bill's superb cooking at the River Inn. He scored extra points with my wife at our check-in on Friday night with a gift of his pecan rolls. Both Bill and Gretchen (innkeeper of the Guesthouse) are wonderful hosts. I spend a good deal of time in the area and nothing else compares to their value, service, OR food. Our goal is to be able to return and have dinner at Granny O'Neil's. Jill & Bob Carter


Wonderful Stay

4,2 su luglio 09, 2009

Comfortable Room, great food.


July 4 Holiday

3,8 su luglio 07, 2009

We stayed at Granny's the night of July 4. It was great, Bill and his friend, Gretchen, were very hospitable, they made you feel like you had come home. We were in town on our motorcycle, and Bill gladly offered to shuttle us to and from Poopy's so that we weren't drinking and riding. Breakfast the next morning was great, a luscious strawberry coffee cake and blueberry/strawberry crepes. Part of our reason to visit Savanna was to surprise a couple who we had met on a Jamaican vacation in 2008. The couple is a pastor and his wife, and Gretchen a member of their congregation. She happily got in on the surprise and took us to church with her. The congregation was warm and welcoming, which I think must be a signature trait of Savanna. We would definitely return and I encourage anyone looking for a quaint, homey B&B to check out Granny's...you will be glad you did!


Motorcyclist Dream!

5 su giugno 29, 2009

My wife & I stayed will Bill & his partner Gretchen. They treated us like family right from the get go, gave us a ride & picked us up to & from the local watering hole so we didn't have to drink & ride, drove us out to the state park on the way home so see a beautiful sunset on the river, and cooked up the best breakfast next to my Grandma's that I ever had! Can't say enough good things about those 2! Would definetely stay again!


I'll be back!

5 su ottobre 04, 2008

I had never stayed in a bed & breakfast before, but after my stay at Granny O'Neil's, I will probably never stay in a motel again. I felt I was staying with family. The home was spotless and filled with conversation pieces. The breakfast was a study in pampering, and delicious. We invited the owner to join us after finishing in the kitchen, he did, and we had a delightful conversation. Five stars! I'll go back. Scott Smith, Cincinnati, OH, and sister Patricia, Otricoli, Italy.


Rapture!!

5 su settembre 22, 2008

There are trips and there are vacations...my stay with Bill and Esther started out the former and quickly turned into the latter. To say Bill is a good cook and gracious host is understatement in the extreme. I was absolutely blown away by the service I received and the excellent value. Bill even arranged a massage by a licensed therapist for me at a very reasonable cost. Breakfasts were exquisitely prepared and ranged from Eggs Benedict to Gourmet Omelets with fresh produce from Bill's garden. He asked me what I wanted and made-it-so!! Dinner was also available should you like. (When does that happen at a B&B these days?!) The Inn was wonderful with privacy and lavishly decorated with antiquities of all sorts. Esther's eye for detail was evident and very much appreciated. I'm a linen and towel snob when in comes to accomodations and these at Granny's were top-notch. The bed was extremely comfortable. Savanna was a great place to visit. Miles of pristine bike/jogging path abutting a wildlife refuge on the Mississippi; cool and quaint eateries;a definite love of motorcycling pervades the community with like-themed bar/restaurants and a museum. All of these were easy walking distance from the Inn. There should be not a moment lost in hesitation about whether you should or should not stay...just when. As a previous reviewer wrote: "Bill you are a God!!" I'll see you again!! Warmest regards, Brian Medford, OR


The best place to stay on Earth!

5 su agosto 19, 2008

I loved my experiences staying at Bill and Esther's B&B! I've stayed there a few times and each experience far exceeds the last. The food is exceptional, the place is amazing and the host, Bill, is a GOD! He and Esther are warm and friendly and make you feel like you are at home, not a guest in there's. I strongly recommend this B&B and can't wait to come back. Hope to see you in Sept 08'. K Chap


experience Granny O'Neil's for yourself!

5 su agosto 06, 2008

We just love visiting that area of the Mississippi River and always stay at Bill and Esther Lease's Bed & Breakfast. Oh the Food!! Bill is the most incredible Chef - and even if he is booked out, go there for the Food!!!! He can create the most amazing meal for your group. Plus he is really fun and entertaining! Highly, highly recommended!


Bill is a God

5 su agosto 02, 2008

We have stayed at Granny's 3 times and will definately visit again. Bill and Esther made us feel like family. Warm and inviting. Bill is a GOD. His breakfasts are unbelievable. You will not go out hungry and will want to come back soon.Bill and Esther are warm and loving hosts and very helpful.Can't wait til we visit again.


outstanding!

5 su luglio 03, 2008

Bill/Esther always makes us feel welcome, part of the family! Bill is the best takes care of our group when we come to town once a year. Brian/Tammy Moudy


Oh the food!!!!!!!!!!!1

5 su giugno 29, 2008

From the moment we set foot thru the front doors our experience was outstanding. Clean , fun rooms, & the food!! Spoiled is all i will say, you need to find out for yourself. I would not hesitate to recommend Bill & Esther;s home to all.


Granny O'Neil's River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $79 - $119
  • Recensioni (24) 4,9
  • Camere 11
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8152734726
  • Cellulare 1-8155906161
Inizio pagina