Brightwood Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,4
  • Valore4,1
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,3

Valore della struttura
184 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wonderful B & B

4,8 su settembre 24, 2014

The owners are very accommodating, even when I said I was Vegan, which put a crimp in what they could serve me for breakfast. The Inn is newer, well maintained,, and comfortable. The ground are nice to walk around and, of course, Matthiessen Park is right next door, which is where the Wine Festival we attended was, so very convenient. We also enjoyed the hiking at Matthiessen Park - and Starved Rock is a short drive down the road, where we ate dinner, again convenient to visit there and hike there if desired. It was a very nice place to stay.


Thanks for a great weekend!

4,4 su settembre 24, 2014

Better than I could've imagined! I would definitely go back there. Sharon was so welcoming upon our arrival and friendly throughout our stay. Thank you!


Another perfect stay!

4,8 su settembre 17, 2014

Third time my husband and I stayed at this B&B. The rooms are comfortable and our hosts accommodating. Be sure to bring your bikes for a great ride along the canal.


Very nice overnight stay

3,4 su settembre 17, 2014

We decided at the last minute to find a drivable location to visit just overnight to celebrate our anniversary. We found the Brightwood very comfortable, with very pleasant grounds. We appreciated that we didn't need to book two nights. The location is very close to the towns and starved rock and being off the beat and path was a good thing, we avoided the crowds to the parks. Our only complaint, we didn't have any creamer in our rooms (do have nice single cup coffee makers), and we love our coffee and breakfast was served a bit late for us, 8:30 a.m. We like to rise early, get a bit and head out for more adventures. Otherwise a nice stay and a good value. Recommended.


Great Stay!!

5 su settembre 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I truly enjoyed our stay at Brightwood Inn. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The staff we extremely welcoming and served a delicious breakfast in the morning. I loved that the Inn was surrounded by nature - it was a great escape from the city!!


Great time

4,8 su agosto 20, 2014

Had a great time spent the day hiking and doing wine tasting came back sat down in the back porch watched the sun set great view as we had are wine are room was very nice and the view in the moring was great will come back


Nice place to stay Friendly staff

4,6 su agosto 05, 2014

Nice quiet remote location near State parks, awesome staff good food peaceful relaxing time.


Utica Getaway

3,8 su agosto 03, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Brightwood Inn


June 2014

4,0 su luglio 01, 2014

We enjoyed the two days we spent at Brightwood. The operators provided good information about the surrounding area and provided us with good suggestions for dinner.


I would come back

4,6 su giugno 26, 2014

Updated rooms are clean and spacious. Good size room for the price. I would definitely come back!


Wonderful View

3,8 su giugno 25, 2014

The room had a wonderful view. Everything was wonderful except that the breaker for the hot water heater that served the whirlpool broke making whirlpool water cold.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. Every person who checks into the Brightwood Inn gets my personal cell phone number. I urge everyone very sincerely to call if they need anything at all. I live on the property and can be here in one minute when needed. If I had gotten a call about the water not being hot I would have gladly come over and checked the circuit breaker. It was not broken, but tripped. I could have reset it and hot water would have been available in 20 minutes. Unfortunately no one called me. I hope you will come again. We loved having you! Sincerely, Sharon


An amazing engagement surprise.

4,2 su giugno 18, 2014

I brought my now fiancé here when she was merely my girlfriend - I surprised her with the Vieux Carre room during a two-day trip to Starved Rock and when she saw it, she couldn't stop covering her mouth. The room was so big and comfortable, and it had a Jacuzzi, private porch and a prairie in the back yard. The staff was kind enough to put a vase of tulips in the room at my request. And the coupe de grace: terrycloth robes. We had an amazing time and in the morning after the breakfast, which was ok, but not as good as I would have expected for the price, we had our free wine tasting at the nearby winery that was complementary with our stay. Overall, an exceptional experience!


Comfortable and beautiful inn in a country setting

3,4 su giugno 11, 2014

Beautiful setting and inn. Loved having an iron and ironing board available, and it was perfect being offered a water bottle and filtered water for the day's activities. Supplies in the public rest rooms on the main floor were not refilled during our stay. I needed to ask for both toilet tissue and paper towels. Hand soap was very low in our room.


Romantic Room with a Nice View

4,8 su maggio 14, 2014

We arrived in the late afternoon and were warmly greeted. The room was spotless with a very nice view of the nearby woods, a shower in the bath, two terry cloth robes in the closet, and a large spa tub in the corner of the room, Everything was perfect with the single exception that the knobs on the tub were loose making the water temperature hard to adjust. Breakfast was perfect with a choice of eggs or French toast. I plan to return next year.


Charming

4,6 su aprile 18, 2014

The first bed and breakfast my wife and I have been to. We thought everything was great. was a really nice place to get away for the weekend to. Service was great.


Lovely Weekend Get Away

4,0 su aprile 16, 2014

I needed a break from the city and regular routine, and I have wanted to visit starved rock for the last 6 + years as a native Californian I have been missing hiking most! I decided my boyfriend and I were never going to go unless i arranged it all and paid for it! So i looked around a bit I wanted to stay at the Lodge at the State Park, but the rooms available you had to book for at least 2 nights. I found the Brightwood Inn and having worked in a BnB in Carmel-by-the-sea I know high quality Bed and Breakfasts. I was pleasantly surprised by how quiet, sweet, and lovely the Brightwood Inn is. We stayed in the Door County Room as it was the last available room at the Inn, and I was very happy with the size, comfort, and cleanliness of the room. The attention to detail is nice, and seriously out in the middle of nowhere quiet takes some getting used to, but was awesome to have! We brought a lap top to watch movies and netflix on so the Tv being in the armoire to the left didn't bother us at all. The small attention to detail with soft towels and even lip balm in the bathroom makes it all the more worth it! Our room had a fireplace which would be nice in the winter. The breakfast though was the biggest and best surprise of all! We ate on the back porch which was just lovely! I have stayed at a fair amount of places but I have never had them make breakfast from scratch. They had two options whole wheat pancakes and an egg hash that had onions, mushrooms, and came with bacon on the side. Both dishes came with bacon or sausage on the side. They also had a whole spread with bundt cake, fruit salad, granola, yogurt, bananas, and more! For the price I paid and the convenience to the State Parks we will def be back to the Brightwood!


Excellent B&B

4,4 su marzo 19, 2014

Excellent room with lots of space and a big bathroom. The common areas are well maintained and and provide plenty of amenities. Perfect for me!


Great getaway

3,8 su febbraio 19, 2014

Very nice place for a weekend getaway. Room was very clean and bright. Staff was friendly. That sent up treats to the rooms, since we stayed over on Valentine's. Saturday night they had hourderves and wine in the common room for everyone. Would have preferred a simple egg and bacon breakfast, rather than the fancy crepes or creme brulee french toast, but that's a personal preference. Also, had to eat breakfast, without coffee, since there didn't seem to be enough made for all the guests that they had. They did make more, but, breakfast without coffee is a bit disappointing. Overall, a very nice place to stay.


very nice B&B

3,2 su gennaio 23, 2014

Really enjoyed comfort of Sequoia room. Nice bed linens and pillows. Comfortable seating by windows for relaxing happy hour or morning coffee


Nice Starved Rock option

4,0 su dicembre 26, 2013

We stayed at the Brightwood Inn while visiting friends at Starved Rock. A quiet option with wintry views in December. Watching the birds at the feeder at breakfast was lovely.


First ever stay at a B&B

4,6 su dicembre 08, 2013

It was pleasant.


B&B on the Illinois Prarie

3,6 su novembre 18, 2013

Beautiful setting, comfortable room and a delicious breakfast. What more could we ask?


Thin Walls

3,4 su novembre 13, 2013

We stayed at the Brightwood Inn for our second anniversary after an afternoon of hiking. The Inn was nice, but the walls were thin. We heard the entire conversation in the hallway between two guests who were in the wrong rooms. Things quieted down after everyone was checked in, but we could still hear water running from the bathroom and tub above us every time it was used. The breakfast was good.


Will always come back!

4,6 su novembre 04, 2013

Love the rooms. Love the scenery. Love the location. A great place for peaceful getaway.


A wonderful weekend.

4,8 su ottobre 28, 2013

Wonderful bed and breakfast. The food was very good, but not outstanding. Since everything else was so nice I am grading this aspect a little harshly.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review.I wish that you would call me at 815-667-4600 and tell me what you had and how we could do better. We have been doing breakfast for 17 years and have had very good reviews. Did you stay on a weekend or a weeknight? There are so many questions I would like to ask you, too many to write here. So if you would be so kind as to give me a call or send me an e-mail I would like to address your review. Thank you!


A Fantastic Weekend Getaway

5 su ottobre 25, 2013

The Ryans were wonderful hosts, and made our stay a great one. We will be coming back.


Wonderful gem

4,8 su ottobre 25, 2013

Our stay at Brightwood was wonderful. It is set in a great area within easy reach of nice walking and landscapes. The staff were friendly, rooms decorated in a very homely way, and the breakfast delicious. We would definitely stay again.


Hate to leave..but always come back.

4,8 su ottobre 23, 2013

We absolutely love Brightwood Inn. The minute you get there, you start to relax. The rooms are spotless and the beds are comfortable. I even peeked at the brand name of the sheets because they were so soft. To top it off you can watch the deer in the back yard as the sun goes down. Well done Brightwood Inn.


Second time

5 su ottobre 21, 2013

Our kids gave us a gift of a night at the Brightwood Inn, not realizing that we had stayed there a couple of years ago. So nice to see that the folks are still running a wonderful, restful, romantic Bed and Breakfast. John and Jo are gracious hosts and we slept soooo well. We hope to visit again sooner.


Brightwood Inn

4,8 su ottobre 11, 2013

Very clean, comfortable and quiet family-run B&B hidden in rural LaSalle County IL. Great views of the state park from the deck facing west. Hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious.


Romantic place to stay near Starved Rock

4,6 su ottobre 08, 2013

Excellent hospitality found at the Brightwood Inn. We really needed the pampering and time away. Beautiful grounds and so many great features about staying at the Brightwood Inn. Some of which include complimentary DVD rental and complimentary cookies and drinks in their community room. I love a place that gives you a price and doesn't try to nickel and dime you when you get there. Would be a great place for a family reunion, girls weekend away or a romantic getaway. We will definitely recommend the Brightwood Inn to anyone we know.


Charming B&B for our one year wedding anniversary!

5 su ottobre 07, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary by hiking Starved Rock State Park and staying at the Brightwood Inn in Oglesby, IL, which was also a "first" for us. If you are looking for a fun, relaxing, and romantic getaway from the Chicagoland area - this is it! The owners are a caring husband and wife team who have been running this Inn for 17 years and truly know the meaning of outstanding customer service. They immediately showed us around and made us feel like we were in a home away from home, offering great recommendations for nearby activities and restaurants. We were blown away by the charm, cleanliness, and SPACIOUSNESS of our room and bathroom (the jacuzzi tub alone was worth the trip!), as well as by the beautiful countryside views! To experience the Brightwood Inn is to experience a little piece of heaven in IL! We will definitely be returning in the future and want to thank the Brightwood Inn owners again for providing us with an unforgettable first B&B experience on our first anniversary.


Brightwood Stay

3,8 su settembre 25, 2013

Wonderful little place near beautiful Staved Rock. Away from everything yet close to everything. Just in the right location. Friendly Innkeepers.


Great experience

3,8 su settembre 22, 2013

We had a very nice time there. The room was very large and comfortable. The Breakfast was great and the owner was very friendly during breakfast service. We will be returning again sometime.


Awesome Romantic Getaway

5 su settembre 17, 2013

We felt very welcome upon entering the Brightwood Inn and felt that way thru our entire stay (2 nights). The accommodations were fabulous and we will definitely be returning. The jacuzzi in every room was definitely worth it after spending our days at the State Park. The rooms were very comfortable no matter which you were in (they are all themed). The food was absolutely delightful and not too much or too little. We definitely found our favorite getaway place.


Anniversary Present

4,0 su agosto 26, 2013

Very relaxing time. Our 1st stay at a Bed and Breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay. Will recommend to family and friends.


Okay but needs a little TLC

3,0 su agosto 14, 2013

The inn was as we expected. Overall, a nice experience. However, the grounds really needed TLC. Everything was overgrown with weeds. The room was nice - bed comfortable, but all starting to get dated.


Great B&B.

4,2 su agosto 12, 2013

I loved the room and the grounds. I just wasn't too impressed with the breakfast. It was good, but not as special as I was hoping for.


excellent place to relax and enjoy nature

4,6 su agosto 11, 2013

Excellent place to relax and enjoy nature. Rooms are great and clean!


Wedding Night at Brightwood

4,6 su agosto 08, 2013

Second time to Brightwood Inn and loved both times. Will defnitely go there again.


Our first experience with a B&B.

4,4 su agosto 04, 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B. Our experience with the Brightwood Inn will bring us back. Very clean and freindly.


Can't wait to go back!

5 su luglio 31, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 27th anniversary with a quick get away. We stayed in the Mackinac room and love the comfort and ambiance. Jo and John were friendly and gracious and we enjoyed our discussions. Other guests were regulars and first timers like ourselves. Our visit was meant to include activities and we did them all - golf, biking, hiking, wine tasting and great food. Jo referred the Uptown Grill for dining and we had such a great experience the first night, so we went back the second. - just as amazing. We were so happy we stayed at the brightwood instead of the starved rock lodge. The lodge was packed with families and dogs. We were just minutes away with peace, beauty and solitude. We plan to make this trip twice a year and will always stay at the brightwood. Thanks Jo and John!


Brightwood - Starved Rock

5 su luglio 25, 2013

Brightwood Inn was extremely quaint, quiet, and spacious. Stayed in the Mackinac room and it was very pleasant. There is a large amount of outdoor space on the patio and it is very relaxing. Staff was very friendly and accommodating as well. Absolutely no problems and would definitely stay again.


Another Great Stay

4,2 su luglio 20, 2013

We stayed in the Turkey Run room for our 20th anniversary and loved the whole time there. The Brightwood is such a special place to us, as we have been there many times. The nearby state parks and friendly local restaurants and shops make this a destination getaway. Highly recommended. Unplug and just sit out on the back patio for a while. You'll find a calm and restorative experience really like no other.


A magical stay in the Aspen Suit

5 su luglio 11, 2013

We just concluded a 2 week stay at the Brightwood Inn, me travelling from Australia to spend some time with my long standing girldfriend as we planned the next steps in our relationship, and what a divine time we had. The Brighwood Inn is marvellous on all accounts, from its scenic location, its magnificent Aspen Suit, the friendly and charming hosts, Jo and John, and Sharon and Kevin, and the wonmderful variety of wildlife in and around the inn. We could not ask for a more peacefull accomodating getaway, that allowed us to focus totally on ourselves. Thank you Brightwood Inn. Trevor


Great Place!

5 su luglio 11, 2013

I took my boyfriend here for one night for his birthday and I wish we could have stayed longer! Such a cute little getaway! The room was fantastic! Very nice whirlpool tub in the room, great view out the windows, very clean and comfortable! Breakfast was delicious and the staff was super nice! We also loved that they had a selection of DVDs that you could pick from to watch. Everything was great and we for sure will be returning! :)


Beautiful bed and breakfast-great location!

4,0 su luglio 09, 2013

This B&B is perfect for a quiet get away. We spent 3 days there-visiting nearby quaint towns for shopping and meals. 2 large state parks within a few miles where we spent time hiking and enjoying the beautiful landscape. Enjoyed time at the B&B sitting on their wonderful front porch and enjoyed the quiet evenings on the back deck. Very comfortable! Felt very much at home!


a great stay

4,8 su luglio 09, 2013

We had a great experience. There was a small issue with housekeeping, but the owner was quick to fix it.


Fantastic Location

4,6 su luglio 03, 2013

We stayed at the Brightwood Inn for one night and wish we had stayed longer! We stayed in the Tortola room which was lovely. Loved the view and hot tub, the towels were so soft and amazing! Breakfast was delicious and served at a good time. The location of the Inn was easy to find and very close to the state parks and towns in the area. If we are to visit Starved Rock again, we will definitly stay at Brightwood Inn!


Nice stay, comfortable place, bad coffee

3,8 su maggio 30, 2013

We recently stayed at the Brightwood Inn and enjoyed our stay. It was a short drive to Starved Rock and Mattheissen State Parks and the room itself was comfortable. We had the smaller room but it had a fireplace (Gas) and was much larger than most hotel rooms. It truly felt like we were staying at a relative's home. The breakfast food options were sufficient and I enjoyed knowing that there was hot breakfast awaiting me when I strolled down to the breakfast area. I did, however, absolutely dislike the coffee. It was a warm beverage but it might as well have been hot water with s pinch of coffee thrown in for good measure. Really, really, awful coffee. If you are a coffee aficionado, then you might have to go elsewhere for your morning joe. Go here for the stay, the comfort, the calm (even though nearby traffic can be distracting, not in the room though, just outside in the yard/garden), enjoy the breakfast (minus the coffee) and have a great time.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for choosing the Brightwood Inn for your stay in The Starved Rock State Park area. I am very happy that you enjoyed your breakfast. However, I wish you had mentioned to one of the staff that you would prefer stronger coffee. We have to please nine rooms and if we don't know how you like your coffee we can't please all nine. We have ways of making the coffee stronger and have accommodated those requests many times. I hope that you will consider returning to the Brightwood Inn and I encourage you to let us know you would like a strong cup of Joe!


Great B&B Weekend

4,8 su maggio 14, 2013

Great place with lots of hiking and we could bring our dog Ruby


Brightwood Inn Rocks!

5 su aprile 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked 2 nights at Brightwood Inn after seeing a living social deal. We had an amazing time during our stay even though we came the weekend of a big flood. Breakfast was awesome and changed every day. There are lots of cool bars around 8 minutes away and great hiking areas close by as well. Check this place out!


Cozy Weekend

3,6 su aprile 15, 2013

Very friendly proprietors in a comfortable setting. The gazebo in the backyard is charming, and access to Starved Rock and Mathiessen state parks was highly convenient.


Our little get away from reality and this place made it happen :)

4,8 su aprile 03, 2013

We had a wonderful time! The room was huge and relaxing. Nice fire place and great view. We have recommended this place to our families and will return. Brandi & Megan


Loved it!

4,4 su marzo 07, 2013

Spent my first visit to a B&B in the Sequoia room of the Brightwood Inn. My boyfriend and I absolutely loved every minute of our stay! Such an incredibly relaxing and cozy environment with great, budget-conscious amenities! My boyfriend loved that they have plenty of newer movies available to watch and "one of the most comfortable beds he has ever slept on". I was fond of the delicious oatmeal chocolate cookies and that they encourage browsing of their library. We went to August Hill Winery and got our free tasting thanks to Brightwood, in addition to a couple on-the-house samples! Needless to say, we will be returning to the Brightwood ASAP!


First time spending time with an ol' friend.

5 su marzo 04, 2013

Warm Welcome! Beautiful Inn! Attention to detail at every turn, anything and everything you could ask for and more. Comfortale, quiet, relaxing, beautiful setting with amazing resturants close by. Country living at it's best. Look forward to visiting frequently for longer periods of time.


Starved Rock Eagle Tour

4,6 su marzo 03, 2013

My husband and I went to the area for an eagle watching tour. Originally we were going to stay at the Starved Rock Lodge but I am very happy we switched to this bed & breakfast. The rooms are lovely, service is wonderful and the homemade breakfast was outstanding... We will definitely return


Great place to stay!

5 su gennaio 27, 2013

Can't wait to go back!


Good Base to operate from

3,8 su gennaio 23, 2013

The Brightwood Inn is a very good base from which to explore the area around Staved Rock State Park. The room was very comfortable and cozy. Much better than a hotel with a very friendly staff and close to everything of interest. Would certainly stay there again.


Pleasant Stay

4,4 su gennaio 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Brightwood Inn. Our room was very nice, spacious, and quiet. The food was good, although nothing fancy. The hostess who checked us in was not overly friendly, and seemed slightly put out when asked questions. We were told that breakfast would be served between 8:30 and 9:30, and when we arrived at 9:00, the food in the self-serve room was nearly gone, and even the coffee had not been refilled. The same hostess served us breakfast, but it seemed like it was just a job for her. But overall, the inn was very impressive and well built. We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and serene location and views. Would recommend it to friends.


Fabulous stay!

4,6 su gennaio 15, 2013

Large rooms, jet tub, hammock, great breakfast.


Pleasant stay with a fancy twist

3,6 su gennaio 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a night at their Tortola room for a quiet birthday weekend. Our plan was to see Starved Rock and the neighboring parks for some hiking and quiet time. We did just that. When we arrived, we were given a tour of the place and informed about free wine tasting for simply staying at the Brightwood Inn (awesome!) The wine tasting provided some nice wine for the night as well as a discount at a local shop. In the evening we were able to enjoy netflix with their wifi (bc their tv had too many instructions to risk turning it on) and we explored the jacuzzi, which was perfect. Everything about the room was great- the fireplace, jacuzzi, shower, bed, and view. The breakfast process was a little confusing (you wait in one room and then move to another- however no one went to the first room to take our order) but in the end we were served a decent breakfast. It would have been perfect if we could have ignored the loud family/friends, which took up a lot of space. It was a sweet brief stay for my partner and I. We would definitely consider returning- especially since they seem to be queer-friendly- with us at least :)


Great Stay at Brightwood Inn

4,4 su gennaio 11, 2013

The Brightwood Inn is a beautiful bed and breakfast, the rooms are great, and wonderful views of the surroundings. Easy access to Starved Rock, and Mattheson Park, plenty of opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape in the area. Highly recommend a stay here.


Brightwood an excellent alternative to Starved Rock Lodge

4,6 su novembre 29, 2012

The Brightwood is just a couple miles south of Starved Rock and right next door to Mathiason Park. Comfortable, large rooms. Nice breakfast and friendly hosts. If you want a quiet place to stay, close to the area attractions but not right in the middle of them, with the hoards of people, then this is the place to go.


Our Second Visit

5 su novembre 23, 2012

This was our second time staying at Brightwood Inn. Everything was perfect - again!! Breakfast was delicious! Warm cookies in the afternoon! We sat out in the gazebo and had some wine while we watched the birds and other wildlife. A perfect weekend getaway! Our room (Sequoia) was very warm, inviting and cozy. We will definitely be back for a third (and more) visit!


25th Anniversary

4,4 su novembre 19, 2012

We stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer. It was wonderfully relaxing. We really loved staying out away from everything. We saw a coyote peeking out from the edge of the property early in the morning. The birds we entertaining. We enjoyed talking to the staff. All in all it was a very enjoyable experience!


Great place to relax

4,0 su novembre 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend and it was the perfect place to relax. It's near state parks and restaurants. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was good. We also enjoyed playing chess in the living room. We plan on coming back and would recommend this place to others.


Perfect for a "girlfriend weekend"

4,4 su novembre 11, 2012

The Brightwood Inn is the perfect spot for a long weekend. The location is so close to Starved Rock and the lovely little town of Utica. We loved the room, the food, and the beautiful view from our room. The value couldn't be beat. Five of us stayed in the suite upstairs. It was perfect for our needs!


Love to Hike

4,0 su novembre 07, 2012

Nice place and very close to Starved Rock State Park and other areas. Excellent facility. The owners / staff could be more friendly. Better value than the Starved Rock Lodge and more flexible. I would go back.


Love this place!!

4,2 su ottobre 31, 2012

It had been 7 years since we stayed at the Brightwood Inn and was pleased to say it was in just as good of condition. They did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable including finding a way for me to plug in my electric car! Can't wait to come back!


Hidden Gem

5 su ottobre 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Brightwood Inn. We really enjoyed the room atmosphere, the cleanliness, comfortable bed, and fireplace. The hosts were very nice and helpful and the breakfast was very Yummy. The price is great as well. We definitely hope to visit again.


we loved our stay....first time visit for us and we will be back

4,4 su ottobre 14, 2012

location was wonderful and service was good....we will definitely be back


First time at the Inn

4,2 su ottobre 14, 2012

I really enjoyed the atmosphere of the Inn. Since I like the area surrounding the Inn it is a great location if you want to get outdoors and hike around. I found the history of the Inn interesting, and the owners are very dedicated to providing friendly service. Cathy B. Melrose Park, Il


Nice B&B in the countryside

4,0 su ottobre 12, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Brightwood Inn right near two state parks. The Inn was quiet and the rooms very nice. Breakfast was both good and ample. The Inn is located in the countryside, so it is a 10-15 minute ride to get to restaurants for dinner, but it was a pretty easy drive.


Great B&B near Starved Rock

4,0 su ottobre 10, 2012

Great experience, beautiful property, and probably even more enjoyable in the summer.


A Gem in the Midwest

4,4 su ottobre 08, 2012

A lovely place! Clean, accommodating, also delicious food, friendly owners, close to beautiful parks. I would highly recommend this B&B. So glad and lucky we found it!


Would stay again.

3,6 su ottobre 03, 2012

Very convenient to Starved Rock & Matthiessen state parks. The inn had lovely grounds, was peaceful & quiet & was perfect for our group reunion (6 couples). We plan on staying there again next year.


Excellent Stay

5 su ottobre 02, 2012

The room was larger than I expected and spotless. The location was perfect for visiting the state parks (under 10 min. drive to each). Everything that the staff does is directed towards making your stay comfortable.


Very relaxing and just down the street from Starved Rock !!

4,6 su settembre 27, 2012

We loved the location of this B&B, it is just down the street from Starved Rock. The Inn was very clean and comfortable and located on 14 acres. Breakfast was very good and would visit here again next time we are in the area. The hosts were very accomodating and friendly.


Beautiful Inn in Quiet, Peaceful Location!

5 su settembre 26, 2012

We stayed at the Brightwood Inn for 1 night on a weekend in September. The Inn is very close to both Starved Rock and Mathiessen State parks. It sits back from the highway, and features a wonderful front porch with rockers and gliders for savoring the profound peace of your surroundings. A choice of hot breakfast entrees is served between 8:30 and 9:30 a.m. Fresh fruit and baked goods are arrayed buffet-style during breakfast. Freshly baked cookies are kept in a container in the coffee/tea/soda area for guests to enjoy during the day. The hosts are very friendly and go out of their way to make guests feel at home. I would heartily recommend the Brightwood Inn to anyone seeking a respite from the noise and stress of daily life. There is plenty of recreational opportunities nearby, starting with hiking in the both state parks. Bicyclists can avail themselves of the I&M Canal Trail which runs through Utica. The town of Utica has restaurants, antique stores, wineries, fudge shops, and a museum to explore. All too soon, you'll be forced to depart for the hustle and bustle of the "real" world.


Cozy B&B

5 su settembre 24, 2012

This was our third stay at Brightwood Inn. Each time we have enjoyed the cozy room, watching the sunsets from the beautiful backyard, and the delicious breakfasts. It is also so close to Starved Rock so we get our hiking in too! We will be back again soon......


Birthday getaway

4,0 su settembre 23, 2012

I took my boyfriend here for a birthday gateway. Its location to Starved Rock and Matthieson state parks its great. The staff was very friendly and the food was great. We were wanting to fill our water bottles before hiking biking there was never any water in the reverse osmosis water jug


Very enjoyable stay

4,2 su settembre 17, 2012

My stay was in the Door County room. It was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were delicious.


First B&B stay!

3,4 su settembre 04, 2012

Very nice. Built in 1996 so a little dated. A cranked tile on the whirlpool tub, a problem getting really hot water out of it, a loud toilet & a bathroom door that sticks. So minor things. Did not use the duel head shower.


Charming country inn

4,4 su agosto 27, 2012

This was my second stay at this beautiful B&B. The first stay was totally 5 star but I had two minor quibbles about my most recent stay. As a coffee drinker, I was happy that the Brightwood has in-room coffee service. (There is no coffee downstairs until breakfast at 8:30.) Unfortunately, there was only one creamer left in the room and this was not replaced the second day. A search downstairs (without going into the kitchen which is off limits) came up empty. On my first stay I had to leave early and could not stay for the breakfast (which is quite good) so the manager brought me a plate of fresh fruit and muffins. No such amenity on my second stay.


Nice B&B with plenty of relaxing outdoor space

3,2 su agosto 25, 2012

Had a great visit. Everything was as expected and we really enjoyed having our own deck plus the Inn offers great outdoor seating in the back. My only suggestion would be to have larger hot water tanks. We took a couple of luke warm jacuzzi baths and there was no hot water available Sunday morning.


Our 1st Year Annivesary Getaway

4,6 su agosto 19, 2012

We only live about an hour from Birghtwood Inn but it was well worth the trip. The Inn is right in front of Mathiessen State Park and a short drive from Starved Rock State Park which is half the reason we desired to go the area for the weekend. The little town of North Utica is also a quiet place with many little shops to tour and enjoy the afternoon in. Brightwood Inn was the perfect place for us to get away and celebrate our 1st Anniversary together. Peaceful, spacious, modern with a quiet country backdrop. We enoyed the company of the Innkeepers and hope to visit again someday!


Awesome place

5 su agosto 08, 2012

We were in the area for a wedding.Decided to take the jump to Brightwood Inn.Very pleased with all aspects of this fine Inn.


Awesome bed and breakfast!

4,6 su luglio 29, 2012

This bed and breakfast is in a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle. Hosts were very friendly and accomodating. Rooms were beautiful. Food was very good. Wish we could've stayed longer in the area. Recommend this B&B highly.


Lovely inn in a lovely setting. The owners are so friendly and made us feel so welcome. We'll definitely return.

4,0 su luglio 29, 2012

We love Utica and the surrounding area. Our main purpose for staying was to attend the annual boat races in DePue, IL.


Brightwood Inn

4,2 su luglio 26, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a night at the Brightwood Inn. The Inn is lovely. We stayed in the Mallory Square Room and it was beautiful. Very spacious and bright. The only thing that I wasn't pleased about was the very young child(ren) crying down the hall in the afternoon. The website indicated that "children find us boring so please make other arrangements for them". Not sure if the Inn wasn't aware the couple was bringing a small child. That wouldn't stop me from returning, I just found it a bit distracting as we were relaxing after spending the afternoon at the state park.


4th of July overnite

3,8 su luglio 09, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay. Great view and comfortable bed. Quiet evening on one of the hottest days of the year. Breakfast cooked to order. Could not ask for a better stay. Thank you.


best place

5 su luglio 02, 2012

Everyone was friendly _the place was very clean. Will defo go back again!


Great weekend at Brightwood Inn

4,8 su giugno 27, 2012

We came to Brightwood to celebrate our three year wedding anniversary. We loved our room and really enjoyed the hot tub in the room. The breakfast was excellent and we really enjoyed the french toast, bacon, and fresh fruit. The Inn is very clean and the staff is very nice as well. We will be telling all of our friends and family about the Inn and will return in the future.


June 2012

4,6 su giugno 26, 2012

Brightwood Inn is one of the loveliest B&B's I have stayed at. The rooms were all beautifully decorated and comfortable. Our hosts were gracious and the setting was breathtaking. Jeannie Lining


Midweek Getaway

4,2 su giugno 25, 2012

Our midweek stay at Brightwood Inn was a truly wonderful experience. We headed to Utica from Chicago to tour Starved Rock and enjoy a little R&R. John and Jo provided excellent service at the Inn which included a tasty home-cooked breakfast each morning along with local history and suggestions for local restaurants and tours. The Inn is a perfect retreat for those looking for a cozy local spot.


A Great Two Nights at Brightwood Inn

5 su giugno 20, 2012

What a wonderful place! We spent two days and nights there for our anniversary getaway and it was perfect! The room was beautiful and spacious with an amazing view of Matthieson State Park. Brightwood Inn is private and quiet and yet spacious and friendly - the perfect combination. We saw Starved Rock and took a boat ride on the I & M Canal as well as walking around some of the nearby towns during the days. John and Jo recommended some restaurants and we had two terrific dinners as a result - one at the Starved Rock Inn and the other at the Uptown Grill in La Salle. The breakfasts were delicious - blueberry pancakes, omelets, bacon, sausage, yogurt and granola..... There were books, DVDs and games available for our use. Homemade cookies (delicious!) and sodas were provided as well. We curled up with movies during the evenings! The room had a Jacuzzi as well as a separate shower - and comfy robes to use as well. John and Jo were terrific hosts and we definitely plan to return for another visit!


Beautiful B&B and good hospitality

3,8 su giugno 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Brightwood Inn while visiting the state parks in the area, and we had a wonderful time. We got a free upgrade to a room with a king-sized bed and a jacuzzi tub, which was the perfect way to sooth our muscles after hiking all day. The bed was really comfortable, our room faced the garden (and the sunset!), so we had stunning views. The complimentary tea, sodas, and cookies downstairs made for wonderful late-evening snacks, and breakfast was tasty. The only issue is that because it's a small inn, it's difficult for them to accommodate breakfast orders on short notice, so make sure you let the managers know of any dietary restrictions when you check in. We'd definitely stay there again!


Great, peaceful place to stay!

5 su giugno 08, 2012

We had such a quiet retreat on our anniversary. The place was very clean and homey. The food and service was excellent. We will definitely be coming back.


Brightwood Inn, Oglesby, IL

5 su giugno 06, 2012

We have stayed at the Brightwood Inn several times and absolutely love the place.


It was a wonderful way to get away! Absolutely beautiful!

4,8 su giugno 06, 2012

We just needed to get away and be able to relax. It was a beautiful getaway without any stress. The room was gorgeous and the service wonderful. What a wonderful escape in the country!


Nice place to get away to.

5 su giugno 03, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night after hiking at Starved Rock State Park. The place was everything that was advertised and more. Unfortunately we only stayed for 1 night. We would definitey recommend it and can't wait to stay here again.


First time B&Bers

3,2 su maggio 26, 2012

Clean rooms, cute decor, nice, clean Jacuzzi tub, and a good breakfast in the library at a two person table-which I like very much since I was with my hubby and without our children for a night! I would have expected a bit more attention to detail myself-like having jellies and creamer restocked as soon as they were out. I personally felt I shouldn't have had to ask for something to be refilled more than once. And having matches available for the provided candles would have been nice. Also, having extra bath rugs in a room with a Jacuzzi seems like a fair expectation-since there is a likelyhood that some water will end up on the floor. I felt these things should not have been overlooked simply because the room was fairly pricey. Not trying to be overly picky! If it was a hotel, I would have had lower expectations. Overall a vey nice place to stay. Very quiet and sereen. We only stayed one night, which did make it harder for me to rate our stay.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately when we have to hire new help it takes them a while to get to know the job as well as the one who left. We are rarely out of creamer and jelly and I am really sorry you had to ask for them more than once. All of our Jacuzzi rooms have one or two rugs, depending on the size of the bathroom, and a bath mat. This is usually sufficient. We live on the property, and we encourage anyone who needs anything to call us at home. We can usually be here in two minutes or less. Had we known you needed extra we would have happily provided you with more. We do not provide matches for candles because candles are frowned upon in the rooms by our insurance company due to the risk of fire. Only LED candles are allowed. The candles that we have on the property are for sale and for you to take home, or the candles we put on the dining room tables when we are serving dinner. Again I am sorry that you had an unpleasant experience and hope that you will come again and allow us to serve you better. Thank You Sharon


Excellent stay!

4,0 su maggio 23, 2012

Thank you Brightwood Inn for the wonderful stay for our 21st Anniversary. John and Jo did not disappoint! Accomodations are clean, comfortable, and beautiful. We enjoyed watching birds and relaxing on the back deck or gazebo as we enjoyed the quiet surroundings and sipped wine from the nearby August Hill Winery. John's homemade breakfasts were good and the Aronia berry muffins and jelly were to die for! We liked it so much that we purchased some jelly to take home. It was nice to have complimentary sodas available and the homemade cookies were a nice touch as well. John made good suggestions for dinner and we chose Duffy's and Skoog's in Utica. Both restaurants are very unassuming from the outside, but both had outstanding meals and service. We thoroughly enjoyed our unplanned visit to the August Hill Winery where guests of Brightwood receive a free tasting, which is usually around $3 a piece. I think we tasted about 8 different wines. I wish the Inn would have told us about the discount ahead of time, though. We found out about it through casual talk with the worker at the winery. I wonder if there were any other discounts we could have received as guests of the Inn but didn't know about. The Inn is located just 4 miles from Starved Rock State Park and is surrounded by Matthieson State Park. We were a little disappointed in Starved Rock. We had a good time, but it was nothing compared to Turkey Run in Southern Indiana. However, we didn't have time to explore the enitre park and surely could have missed some of the beauty the park has to offer. Matthieson was much smaller but much more scenic and had more beautiful caverns and waterfalls. Overall, our experience was outstanding! We almost stayed at a nearby hotel that cost more than our room at the Inn and I am soooo glad we changed our plans. I would highly recommend the Brightwood Inn for anyone who wants a peaceful getaway. We will definitely be back! Scott & Diane Morrow Hebron, Indiana


Just what I needed!

5 su maggio 16, 2012

I am SO glad the rooms at the Starved Rock lodge were booked! I had an amazing, spacious room and my own fireplace. It was very quiet and peaceful and my breakfast was de-leesh. Staff was very very friendly. I will definitely be back!! -Paula Sandor


Peaceful Relaxing Getaway

5 su maggio 14, 2012

Beautiful place, great breakfast, lovely surroundings. I'd go back in a heartbeat!


Exceeded Every Expectation!

4,0 su maggio 08, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our first-ever weekend away. It was an easy drive from Chicago. We were very impressed by the house. It is well-maintained, spacious, and very clean. We saw all of the rooms and they are all even prettier than their pictures! Breakfast was delicious. I especially loved their homemade jams! Jo and John, the hosts, were so kind to us. The house is adjacent to Matthiessen State Park which we liked hiking even more than Starved Rock. (Apparently, Matthiessen is where the locals go!)


Wonderful stay...Thank you Jo & John!

4,4 su maggio 07, 2012

My visit to The Brightwood on 03 May was wonderful. Jo and John are wonderful hosts that made the stay a great experience. In addition to their warm hospitality, they provided good advice and tips for our adventures around the area. The property is lovely, and the rooms were nicer than the pictures depict online. Breakfast in the morning was the perfect thing to wake up to, made with tasty fresh ingredients and served with unique homemade jam and marmalade. Next time I stay in the area, I will be sure to use The Brightwood Inn again. Thanks Jo & John! Brian


April 2012 Stay

5 su maggio 02, 2012

The room was spacious and well appointed. The setting is lovely and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were all courteous and helpful. We will definitely stay here again should we be in the area.


Perfect as always

5 su febbraio 16, 2012

We have stayed at Brightwood many times & every time is just as wonderful as the 1st time. Sharon & Kevin give such an outstanding sevice with special touches for all guests ( including special requests & recommendations for sites to visit or dine) August Hill Winery gave a free a taste of 6 different wines & 10% off of purchases for staying at Brightwood. The restaurant recommended in Ottawa-- Alberto's was divine w/new twists to many dishes (dessert was to die for) & service was outstanding. There was bottle of champagne & homemade truffles waiting for us in our rooms. It was a wonderful weekend! Carol Pruim


charming B&B

3,4 su febbraio 11, 2012

Recommended by a friend and got a good deal for Valentines weekend. It was very clean and we would come again when they have another weekend special. The tub was awesome, and it would be alot nicer if we went during the summer or fall months.


Excellent Stay

5 su febbraio 10, 2012

We just stayed this week, and we were impressed with the comfort and hospitality of our visit. We stayed in the Aspen room on the third floor, which had a great view and spacious lodging. We got an online deal for the two nights we stayed, and it turned out to be the best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed at. We'll definitely be back and will refer friends. Thank you!


Great weekend

4,2 su febbraio 08, 2012

Very pleased with the accommodations. The proprietors were very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent and spacious. Hot water ran out on the jacuzzi, probably because so many people were using theirs at the same time. It was a very pleasant stay, despite the drizzly, gray weather outside.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for alerting us about this problem before you left. We were able to adjust the temperature on the water heaters so it has not happened again. We sincerely enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again.


college couple trying to relax before the upcoming semester

4,4 su gennaio 30, 2012

we noticed that most of the people that come through the brightwood inn are not as young as us...and after reading some of the reviews, i was some what afraid of how Jo would react to us. contradictory to most of the reviews, we found Jo very welcoming and friendlly. the rooms were amazing. we got a chance to peak into the other rooms since most of them were vacant..planning on staying in tortola next!..breakfast was also great!!....would definitely recommend this place to a friend


Loved it! Will be back again for future anniversaries.

4,4 su gennaio 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for our 7 year anniversary and chose the Tortola room. We were very surprised at how nice and cozy the room was. The double heads in the shower were amazing as well as the soft water and coffee maker in the the large bathroom. Pleasantly impressed! We are looking forward to staying in other rooms there each anniversary.


GREAT WEEKEND

5 su dicembre 29, 2011

We had a lovely 4 night stay. The bed was heaven. It was soooo comfy. The food was delicious and the Ryans were gracious hosts. We will definately be back and recommend to friends and family.


Check out the Brighteood Inn

4,8 su dicembre 26, 2011

Good people at the Brightwood Inn. They make you feel at home and comfortable, at affordable prices. I will be going back to the Brightwood Inn.


Great Overnight Stay at Brightwood Inn

4,8 su dicembre 18, 2011

We're repeat customers, and will continue to be for the foreseeable future. John and Jo are fantastic hosts, and are always fun and interesting to talk to. The rooms are very cozy and comfortable, and breakfast is always excellent. We like Brightwood Inn well enough to recommend it to our friends. We wouldn't hesitate to send anyone there, and are confident they would enjoy it too.


My excellent stay at Brightwood Inn!!!

4,0 su dicembre 02, 2011

I stayed at Brightwood Inn the weekend of 11-26 (Johanssen) and we were SOOOO impressed with everything about the Inn. The caretakers were fabulous!!! The accommodations were beautiful, unique and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was wonderful and we HATED to leave!!! It's a definite return trip!!! Thanks Brightwood!!!! Mitch Johanssen Susan Dew


Relaxing Weekend Get Away

3,8 su novembre 16, 2011

My wife and I were seeking a relaxing weekend escape to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The Brightwood Inn was perfect! We enjoyed our room tremendously and the view from it's picture window was awesome. The Inn's owners were helpful regarding dining in the area and activities and the establishment very quiet and clean. Loved the location and its proximity to local sites and activities. Would stay there again in a minute.


Brightwood Inn Review

3,2 su novembre 10, 2011

Nice stay - first time in area. We wish we would have stayed in the room longer and enjoyed the Inn instead of venturing downtown - even on a Saturday afternoon stores close early.


Brightwood Inn

3,2 su ottobre 23, 2011

Nice relaxing location. The carpet in the room had multiple stains on it and made me want to keep our shoes on. Water was rusty. Breakfast was great and John was very courteous and talkative, Jo however didn't seem to interested in talking to us or receiving feedback (other guests not locking the door). Very weak coffee but fabulous Banana Pancakes!


Great Getaway !

4,0 su ottobre 19, 2011

The Brightwood Inn was a pleasant stay and I enjoyed the area. The room was very nice and kept well. The breakfast was good and the additional treats that were provided were amazing. The little extras that the Inn provides made the stay extra special.


Great Wine fest Weekend

4,6 su ottobre 08, 2011

Great room and a wonderful breakfast made with fresh ingredients . Will staty here again if in the area.


Nice weekend!

3,6 su ottobre 03, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Brightwood Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. We enjoyed having cookies and soda by the fireplace in the library after a long day of hiking through Starved Rock State Park. Breakfast was excellent! The tap water in our room tasted funny (probably well water). Also, it was rare to find someone at the front desk. Overall, it was a great weekend!


First time staying at a bed and brkfast and hoping all are this nice!

5 su settembre 28, 2011

The location was perfect for the hiking and biking that we wanted to do. The people were very friendly and the rooms were wonderful.


Brightwood Stay over Labor Day

2,4 su settembre 22, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Brightwood. It was definitely clean and the food was good, although the Sunday morning brunch voucher for $15.00 for 2 people was a little strange. I always assume that breakfast is included at a Bed and Breakfast. They are definitely into marketing, they have a little gift shop where everything has the B&B name on it! The innkeepers have a little bit of a lack luster personality for a B&B. John is a seemingly relaxed cool guy but Jo kinda makes you feel like your not really welcome and she is doing you a huge favor by allowing you to pay too much to stay at her B&B. Luckily we did not have too many encounters with Jo or the other guests to cause a problem. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. The hiking at the nearby parks was great and the canoeing on the Fox was wonderful!


Brightwood

4,4 su settembre 08, 2011

Excellent room w/ large whirlpool bath, friendly staff, and wonderful breakfast. I would come again.


A bit further, but well worth it!!!

5 su settembre 07, 2011

We were visiting Starved Rock and are glad we stayed here. It was a bit further down the road but well worth it. The rooms were wonderful and everyone was very helpful and friendly. The Jacuzzi tub was fabulous (especially since we had ridden our bicycles there-about 40 miles from our starting point)…plenty of hot water to relieve the aching muscles. Breakfast was great and the snacks were fabulous! We would definitely stay here again! Thank you for the great Inn!


Brightwood Inn

2,8 su settembre 06, 2011

The view from our room was beautiful. Our bed was so spacious and cozy. Wine-tasting at the August Hill Winery was very enjoyable.


Quick Getaway

4,6 su agosto 28, 2011

Wonderful hosts and room, we will definitely come back again.


Brightwood Inn in Oglesby, IL - great stay and awesome food

4,4 su agosto 26, 2011

brunch on Sunday was wonderful - good food and fresh local produce bed was so comfy and being in the country was nice and quiet wonderful hosts and a definate place to come back to and stay and eat!


Great night

4,2 su agosto 23, 2011

Great place, will be back. Would be willing to upgrade next time most likely. A hidden gem.


Quiet Country Getaway

4,0 su agosto 17, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at Brightwood. The owners were friendly and made an excellent dinner recommendation (the Uptown Grill was delicious). The whole place was very clean and quiet, the library provided a nice place to read and relax, and the Sunday brunch was amazing. All of this in a beautiful house surrounded by gardens, farms, and a view of Matthiessen Park.


One of the best!

5 su agosto 03, 2011

My husband and I ended up having to make a last-minute change in travel plans, and we decided to try Brightwood. We were blown away by the details there. If you are looking for furniture from years gone by, you'll be disappointed. But, if pleasant but not overbearing hospitality; food made from ingredients that are steps from the front porch; comfortable beds and a lovely wrap-around porch to relax on...you will be happy you booked here.


Good, almost great

3,6 su luglio 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights - Friday and Saturday. We selected Brightwood based on other reviews noting its cleanliness and gracious hosts. The first quality was undeniable, though the second was mixed. Jo and John were nice enough, but it looked like you'd have to pay extra to get a smile. The rooms were already pricey enough. They did upgrade our room when we discovered that the first room's AC was not functioning properly, and that was appreciated. Part of the mixed graciousness is built into the system, though. We were treated to a terrific breakfast on Saturday morning, cooked with homegrown everything, and we were offered refills and pastries and more. This was an unexpectedly gracious meal. Sunday brunch, on the other hand, could be described as stingy. I'm not sure if this is a common practice, but I've never encountered it: Rather than receiving a "complimentary" breakfast, as on Saturday morning, we were given a $13 credit toward our meal. Ok, what does $13 buy you? It will get you two entrees - for example, each person could have a plain omelet. Tea and coffee were included, and please don't forget to tip the waitress. This was a departure from the previous breakfast, which looked like it would have cost $40 for two people, according to the menu. It's not the kind of thing that ruins a vacation, not at all. Yet, we always look forward to the "breakfast" part of the bed and breakfast experience, and this one was disappointing. Everything else was terrific - the rooms are clean, bright, and have distinct personalities. Jo offered us plenty of information about the state parks, and John helped us feel at home. The homemade cookies in the library are a nice touch, and the view from our room was beautiful. A nice perk is that both of the local wineries offered us free tastings because we were staying at the Brightwood Inn - they appear to put a premium on supporting local businesses.


The Perfect Getaway!

4,8 su luglio 26, 2011

I absolutely love the Brightwood Inn. My husband and I were celebrating our 11 years of marriage. We have never been to a Bed & Breakafast before, so I have to say this was the perfect place to go to based on a the great reviews and most likely we will be returning back very soon! One word I would describe The Bright wood Inn is COZY. It's the perfect romantic getaway for lovers! Minerva,


Perfect!

5 su luglio 20, 2011

Everything was perfect. The room was clean and spacious. The host was friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and the price for dinner and breakfast was an unbelievable value. A perfect weekend get-a-way.


Absolutely great

4,8 su luglio 13, 2011

We spent two nice days there and we are absolutely enchanted. Brightwood Inn is so beautiful place - very romantic and comfortable, with nice library, cozy living room with fireplace and big garden around. Service was really great. Dinner and breakfast were fabulous.


Romantic Getaway

4,2 su giugno 28, 2011

Room & view were beautiful! We had a great time & would definitely stay again. It was a wonderful romantic getaway.


Comfortable stay in a quiet B & B

4,0 su giugno 26, 2011

A bit pricey, meals were also expensive, but delicious and well prepared. Service was unsophisticated but very adequate. Quiet area, convenient to the Matheissen Forest Preserve for nice walks.


Brightwood Inn

4,0 su giugno 25, 2011

A delightful home away from home tucked into the Northern Illinois heartland. Just a few minutes away from Starved Rock State Park, it was a welcome place indeed after a day of hiking. We didn't eat dinner here, but the breakfast was absolutely fantastic. And the room was an oasis, with a lovely view over the immediately adjacent Matthiessen State Park.


Pleasant Stay at the Brightwood Inn

4,4 su giugno 22, 2011

Rooms were very nicely decorated and Clean. The staff is very friendly. Talking to them about booking the entire building for Family Retreat.


Anniversary

4,2 su giugno 08, 2011

Very charming, bright, spacious & clean. Could use a fridge/microwave (-:


THE place to stay in central Illinois

5 su maggio 26, 2011

This is a lovely B&B, far exceeding expectations. The location is conveniently near, but not too near, two major highways. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable, and all the extras make for a special lodging. Plan to include at least one dinner during your stay; the kitchen does a great job.


Wonderful, wonderful!

4,2 su maggio 25, 2011

Stayed for an event at the nearby Starved Rock State Park and usually stay at their lodge but will never again after staying here! This is immediately down the road from the State Park but such a treat! Beautiful rooms, very comfortable, clean and luxurious for an inn with bath salts, cookies in the library. There is no uncomfortable feelings of being in someones home as the inn keepers live off-site. Fine dining restaurant for dinners and breakfasts on-site although we only did breakfast- quiche and muffins were amazing! We were leaving early for a hike event and they prepared us a special early muffin/coffee since we had to leave before normal breakfast hours.


A Great Retreat!

4,2 su maggio 11, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Brightwood Inn for our 6th anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised with how nice our room was. We stayed in Sequoia and it was quite a spacious room and bath. Dinner that evening was exceptional, with graet service in the dining room. We highly recommend it, and hope to go back soon. It was a much needed quiet retreat!


Return visit on my list

4,0 su aprile 18, 2011

Beautifully built/decorated/comfortable residence and rates were affordable. Rooms are more than adequate in size and nicely decorated. Inn keepers happy to help with questions. We will return on our next trip.


Must stay at a must see

5 su aprile 01, 2011

Starved Rock State park is a must see and this is the place you must stay. No other place like it around the area. Wonderful owners and staff and 5 star food to boot. Will be staying there again.


Lots of Potential and Thank GOD for Sharon

3,2 su febbraio 24, 2011

Sharon was working the evening we arrived and was DELIGHTFUL. Nothing was too much trouble;she was very friendly and personable. In fact, every interaction we had with Sharon over the weekend was a pleasure. Unfortunately, this was not the same with the older couple. Asking for anything felt like I was imposing on them. Most often my requests were met with a heavy sigh and a statement of how it could be done but. . .; an example of this was to just to get extra shampoo!!! If these folks want return customers, they might want to work on their interpersonal skills of warmth and engagement. We saved up for quite a while to spend this weekend with each other and really wanted it to be special. If it hadn't been for Sharon and the quality of the meals, I would have been so disappointed. Having a beautiful place that is clean and well appointed is only half of the equation. You must be able to connect with your customers and show them that you are interested in them, care about them and want them to be there. If you do, they will return. . . if you don't, they won't come back. It really is that simple.


Awesome B & B!

4,8 su febbraio 09, 2011

This was a wonderful bed & breakfast! The owners were amazingly helpful and attentive and our room was SPECTACULAR. The view was amazing, the jacuzzi was wonderful and the room was clean and well kept. Bed was super comfy too. The room rate was a little steep for winter, but worth the price in relaxation!


Winter Retreat

5 su gennaio 31, 2011

This was our second stay within 6 months. The place is well kept, rooms very clean and the hospitality exceptional. The food is excellent, the Innkeepers working on expanding the restaurant part of it, dinner and breakfast outstaning. Highly recommend this place, close to Starved Rock, and town with much to explore.


Fantastic Stay!

5 su gennaio 19, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Brightwood Inn! The facility is beautiful, and the rooms are just wonderful ... definitely a place I will tell my family and friends about. Nichole and Doug Barnett Hudson, IL


My thoughts on my stay

4,0 su gennaio 19, 2011

My only complaint is that there is often a little too much room-to-room noise or sounds through the walls. In all likelihood, this issue could be resolved if each room had a "white noise" sound machine, which would drown out most of the offending sounds and replace them with the sounds of waterfalls, etc.


Very nice bed and breakfast; highly recommended

4,6 su gennaio 11, 2011

Beautiful Bed and Breakfast in a nice location, bordering a state park. Inside, it's roomy and elegant. We especially like the comfortable bed and the fireplace, as well as the library. Highly recommended.


Cozy, nice people, nice breakfast, nice ambience

4,4 su gennaio 01, 2011

The room was very nice with a fireplace and jacuzzi. The inn had a library that was nice. It is a cozy place. Quiet and relaxing. The people working were friendly and gave good service. Great place.


Relaxing!

4,6 su dicembre 12, 2010

A night away from our busy schedule. Total relaxation and comfort. Very clean & quiet room, wonderful breakfast. Just what we needed!


Nice, Relaxing Stay

5 su novembre 29, 2010

It was a nice, relaxing stay during a busy, family-filled holiday. Being 5 1/2 months pregnant, my husband and I wanted to ensure I had a place to relax away from the large family get-together. The Brightwood Inn was just that! The room was a comfortable size and all facilities were very clean. The innkeepers were very welcoming and breakfast was quite good as well! We would definitely recommend anyone to stay here!


A warm and cozy place to stay!

4,4 su novembre 25, 2010

We were very pleased that we chose this Inn for our overnight visit to Starved Rock. Our room (Door County) was very large, decorated beautifully, and had a fireplace, which made it extra warm and cozy! The home itself was spacious and very welcoming, as were in Inn keepers. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We would definitely come back here again!


Wonderful weekend at Brightwood Inn

5 su novembre 17, 2010

Spacious arrangements, friendly owners, great food, incredible location and scenery. The full-service "honor bar" was a nice touch for the end of the day. We will go back.


Lovely Place

5 su novembre 15, 2010

This is a very well kept place. We enjoyed the hot tub and fireplace in our room. The supper was a treat. This was a nice place to celebrate our anniversary.


Hope to go back next year.

4,4 su novembre 11, 2010

Beautiful Inn right by a very scenic trail in the park. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was very nice. We enjoyed it very much and hope to return next year.


Charming and quaint

4,0 su novembre 07, 2010

I was in the area for a weekend of wedding events...so nice to come "home" between events rather than to a hotel/motel.


Very nice place to spend a couple of nights.

3,4 su ottobre 16, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Brightwood Inn. Every thing was very nice. We would rate the dinning higher except that while we were there no dinner was served. On the web site it was noted that dinner was served Sunday thru Thursday, when we arrived there we found out from the literature in the room it was served only Thursday thru Sunday and not on the Sunday we arrived because of special circumstances. All in all we would recommend the Inn, just check on the dinner schedule if you wish to eat there.


Great Experience

4,8 su ottobre 15, 2010

We had a great time at the Brightwood Inn. We throughly enjoyed our time and the experience. I would wholehearted recommend it to anyone for a get away week with your loved one. Anne Thinnes


Wonderful place to stay

4,2 su ottobre 12, 2010

This was our fourth time to stay at Brightwood Inn and it was again a great time. The rooms are fantastic and the owners are very nice. The breakfast was great. The view from the rooms is wonderful. This is a great place for a getaway.


Enjoyed our stay

4,8 su ottobre 07, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Brightwood Inn. The Inn was beautiful and our room was bright and comfortable. We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast. Our trip to the nearby Starved Rock state park was breathtaking and we would highly recommend a getaway at the Brightwood Inn.


Brightwood Inn

4,8 su ottobre 07, 2010

Everyone at the Brightwood Inn was very nice, and the rooms/dining were spot on. We will definitely be back!


Favorite place to stay near Starved Rock State Park, IL

4,0 su ottobre 06, 2010

It's a very comfortable, friendly environment! It feels like home!


Brightwood Inn

5 su ottobre 04, 2010

We decided to stay at the Brightwood Inn near Starved Rock. We were extremly satisfied with our stay at this beautiful B&B. Located in the middle o beautiful corn fields, this Inn is just so romantic. I will definitley be staying at this place again. We really enjoyed the inn keepers and the hot tube located in the room. Pick the Brightwood and you won't be disappointed.


One Last Summer Hurrah

4,4 su agosto 26, 2010

From homemade tomato preserves, to John's frittata - the lovely gardens - flower & vegetable - to the beautiful home in and of itself - it was such a treat to rest our weary bones in Turkey Run after a day of hiking in Matthiessen State Park and a perfect choice to introduce my 12 year old daughter to the wonders of the bed and breakfast stay!


My favorite place

4,6 su agosto 21, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Brightwood Inn so many times we have stayed in every room more than once. Tortola is our favorite. We have gotten to know the Innkeepers very well and we have even taken care of the Inn when their daughter got married. (lot of work) It makes me sad to see a review less than glowing so when I read the review from August 10 about the Innkeepers not being friendly I called Jo. As it turns out her brother had passed away. I can understand how sadness can be misconstrued as not friendly. As it turns out their housekeeper's son was being shipped off to Pakistan so they had a temp who had an emergency with her daughter and had to leave in the middle of cleaning. Not a good weekend for the Innkeepers of the Brightwood Inn. I hope that review will not dter anyone because the Brightwood Inn is 5 star wonderful. As are John and Jo.


Friendlier would have helped

3,6 su agosto 14, 2010

The innkeeper wasn't as friendly as we have found to be innkeepers to be at other bed & breakfasts we have stayed at. Also, we did not get maid service as we were supposed to. We noticed a number of times that there were blankets or pillows or other items left around somewhere in the inn as if someone had been in the middle of tidying up and had gotten distracted and not finished.


A wonderful night!

4,6 su agosto 02, 2010

Beautiful rooms, great breakfast, and a lot of privacy.


Brightwood Inn

4,8 su luglio 30, 2010

Brightwood Inn was a perfect place for our cousin reunion! The inn is charming, very comfortable and homey - located in the country so very private and peaceful - located near Starved Rock Park. Many amenities - highly recommend to others looking for a restful place to stay.


Delightful Getaway

5 su luglio 20, 2010

Our second visit, tried a different room, equally comfortable. Beautiful views, great bathrooms/whirlpool tubs. We will return!


I Would Stay There Again

4,0 su giugno 25, 2010

Two cousins and I thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at Brightwood Inn. The accommodations, food and the beautiful country setting were great, as were the hosts, Jo and John.


1st Anniversary Get-Away

4,2 su giugno 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Brightwood for our first anniversary weekend. We wanted to stay somewhere nice, peaceful, and relaxing because we planned to spend our day hiking at Starved Rock. Brightwood met all our expectations and more! The room, house, and grounds were absolutely beautiful! We stayed in the Sequoia room which I would definitely recommend (great views!). Everything was very clean. I really felt like I was staying in a room of luxury. And the breakfasts are fantastic. We had two morning meals at the B&B and both were delicious and kept us full all day long! The only downside to our stay was that the TV was not working. We thought it was just the satelite cable but when we tried to relax and watch a movie one evening, the TV buzzed and made too much noise for us to watch. Everything else about this B&B was fantastic! We'd definitely come back and stay again!


A Night's Rest...

4,4 su giugno 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Brightwood Inn for our 3rd anniversary. The inn is in a beautiful, country setting with tended gardens and a welcoming entrance. There are various rooms to use on the lower level (library, bar, sitting room, etc.) as well as a small gift shop. The room was beautiful and clean, and all amenities were available, as well as free soda, bottled water, cookies, and appetizers in the evening. The breakfast was well prepared, and the dining room very comfortable. And although we felt welcome, we didn't feel the comraderie we have felt at other inns. There was little visiting with the staff and other guests, and I missed the 'neighborliness' of other b and b's we have stayed in. Overall though, it was a very nice stay! :)


Best Bed and Breakfast Ever!

5 su giugno 18, 2010

We absolutely loved staying here. We stayed in the room called "Turkey Run". The bed had a down comforter and down pillows so it was super comfy. We could have slept all day! The landscaping and outdoor patio is beautiful. We layed in the hammock out there and watched the sunset go down one evening. It was the little details that made our stay so special, like the homemade cookies in the library and the fresh herbs from the garden in our omelette. The room and entire house is decorated with great taste and everything is well cared for. The innkeepers were very hospitable and friendly. The breakfast was delicious, too. We did not want to leave this place! It is so beautiful and a perfect place to relax.


fabulous place

3,8 su giugno 14, 2010

The Torotola room is heavenly! As soon as you open the door and see the view from the bay window it is just breathtaking.....We had an amazing anniversary stay at this inn...We drank wine sitting out on the patio and took in the serene environment, 2 person hammock is out there as well as a gazebo with all sorts of landscaping and flowers....the inn keepers are very pleasant folks and provide a terrific breakfast & service....this bed and breakfast is nicely decorated and very clean, if you are looking for peace and quiet then this is the place and yet still close to area activities and a number of quaint places with delicious food.


A beautiful holiday retreat

4,2 su gennaio 09, 2009

I stayed at the Brightwood Inn over the Christmas holiday while visiting family. It was a wonderful experience, it felt like home. The breakfasts were marvelous and the hosts were extremely accommodating. Staying here is a definite must for anyone visiting the Illinois Valley Area. I will definitely be back again!!!!!


We keep coming back

4,8 su dicembre 04, 2008

We have been going to the Brightwood Inn since 2001 and have stayed in every room. We love this place! Only 90 miles from Chicago so we can even make a one night stay work. The inn is so clean! Six of the rooms have whirlpools and the other two are a bit less expensive but just as comfortable. On our last visit we really appreciated the fireplace - so cozy. Breakfast if always great. Fruit, coffee cake, cereal and a hot entree. There are lots of little taverns and restaurantes in the area. Our favorites are the Nodding Onion and Duffy's. Don't miss the tasting room at August Hill Winery. Starved Rock and Matthison State parks are wonderful for hiking. The Ryans always make us feel at home at the Brightwood!


So Quiet!

5 su dicembre 04, 2008

I love this place! I love to see the billion stars lighting up the sky. Living in the city you rarely get to see the brilliance of them. I love how it is so quiet outside the Inn and inside you feel like you have to tiptoe everywhere so you don't disturb the beauty of the silence. The beds are super comfy, the rooms are very spacious, and the enormous hot tubs are delightful. The full breakfasts are delicious, you leave feeling full, warm and content and just want to crawl back into your warm bed and never want to leave.


Brightwood Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $135 - $255
  • Recensioni (184) 4,4
  • Camere 8
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8156674600
  • Gratuito 1-8886670600

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina