Victorian Mansion Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,5
  • Valore4,3
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
36 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

First time B&B

5 su ottobre 22, 2013

This was mine and my boyfriends first time at a B&B and it was fantastic! Charlie and Rita were amazing they made you feel right at home. We always had everything we needed. Highly recommend this place we will definitely be going back.


Weekend at the Victorian Mansion was Great

5 su maggio 30, 2012

The weekend at the Victorian Mansion was great. The innkeepers Charlie and Rita were very cordial, The Grace Room was spacious and clean. The location was within walking distance of downtown. We would recommend this B&B to our friends and family.


First bed and breakfast set the bar!

5 su agosto 01, 2011

I had never been to a bed an breakfast but I always wanted to try it and I figured small town Galena would be a perfect setting. Charlie and Rita were wonderful hosts and I couldn't have had a more perfect first experience. Full warm breakfast prepared by Rita was fantastic! Wine and Cheese the first night really gave us the opportunity to acquaint ourselves with the other guests. Charlie and Rita had so much knowledge and provided almost a mini history lesson on Galena. Great Place to go for a weekend. Absolutely loved it!


victorian mansion staff too nosy and overbearing

2,2 su agosto 01, 2011

we stayed at the mansion for a long weekend and genrally enjoyed galena and our stay. The room was clean and relativley comfortable (even thought not well air conditioned). The biggest issue with our stay was the nosy and overbearing hosts. Having traveled to galena a few times we knew our way around however the caretakers always wanted to know where we were going or always seemed to know something 'better" to do. We also felt like we were obligated to have breakfast every morning otherwise the caretakers were not happy with you. We actually skipped breakfast after showing up for the first one (which wasn't that great) due to being assigned an early breakfast without being asked our preference for a time, when we later found out we could have chosen a later one but were "assigned" one convenient for the hosts (we're not early risers when we're on vacation). If you enjoy cruise ships you'll enjoy this place being told what to do and when to do it doesn't work for us. Oh the morning we checked out, the caretakers turned off our satellite tv in our room for missing breakfast. how riduculous is that? i would recommend if the caretakers were replaced. they either don't like what they do or don't handle diverse needs and preferences well.


Wondeful stay at the Victorian Mansion

5 su giugno 11, 2011

The Victorian Mansion is a beautiful bed and breakfast with a rich history. It's a short walk from the Main Street in Galena. Rita and Charlie are welcoming and enjoyable to visit with. We highly recommend staying here!


Victorian Mansion Review

2,8 su maggio 01, 2011

My spouse and I needed a break from the prolonged northern winter and drove south to Galena, IL for a touch of spring in April of 2011. The Victorian Mansion sits with grace and dignity on a hill just west of downtown. The city is delightful, with its setting on the river, and steep bluffs on either side, punctuated by beautiful old brick homes and businesses, and church steeples. We found the surroundings to be delightful. The Victorian Mansion itself is a good representation of its era, comfortable and cozy for sitting, reading and conversing on the first floor. Our room on the 3rd floor was clean and functional, but no superlatives could be found. The innkeepers were most gracious and provided a wine and cheese get-together at 5pm, a great way to engage other guests and learn from the innkeepers about the history of the area. They clearly enjoyed their role and seemed genuinely interested in their guests. However, we did find the breakfasts a bit disappointing, expecting fresh baked muffins, breads and jellies. After all, the other B is breakfast, and one would have expected a more lavish and creative repast. The advantage of staying at the Victorian Mansion is its proximity to the old downtown, using the steps at the end of the street. We definitely want to return to Galena and sample more of its charms.


The Ultimate in elegance in Galena!

5 su febbraio 10, 2011

After careful research on the B&B selection in Galena, we chose the Victorian Mansion. Everything about the stay from the reservation phone call to the parting words from the innkeepers was perfect! The house itself is full of local history which the innkeepers (Rita and Charlie) are more than happy to tell about over wine and cheese upon arrival. We also received a tour of all the rooms which truly made me want to come back to try them all. Every room has its own unique and inviting personality that makes me feel more comfortable and welcome than any hotel I have ever stayed in. Either way you look at it, driving or walking, main street shopping doesn't get any closer. From the mansion at the top of the hill you are a short walk from several flights of stairs that take you directly to the main street below or a 2 minute drive. Breakfast was incredible! I actually asked to find out how Rita made her potatoes as they were the best I have ever had. The fresh fruit and eggs benedict were top notch and very satisfying! We most definitely did not leave hungry! A place my family and I will definitely be returning to and I will recommend The Victorian Mansion to all my friends!


some minor flaws

3,6 su ottobre 26, 2010

A beautiful place to stay with a great deal of history. Gracious and funny innkeepers. But for the price I would expect the rooms to be refreshed(empty trash and replace the plastic glasses). Also One might expect a pitcher of juice on the table to refill a glass or two. We usually find a guide to the inn in our room but not here. All in all I highly recommend the inn, but you are paying for the history and the season.


General Grant would be Proud

5 su luglio 31, 2010

This is my second stay and all of my expectations were exceeded again. Rita and Charlie are incredible hosts and made this trip well worth it. The history of the house is amazing! This was my girlfriends first trip to Galena and she wants to come back already. The freshly made breakfast to the outstanding wine and cheese just added to the ambiance. We will be back soon!


Mindblowing Services

4,4 su luglio 03, 2010

This is an absolutely beautiful B&B and provided the perfect setting for our anniversary. The staff was friendly and welcoming and even gave us a tour of all the rooms, which made us want to come back again. The decor is as beautiful as everyone has mentioned. It is a perfect combination of stately, classic elegance with a romantic, adventurous presence. The bedding is luxurious, the Egyptian platform bed made us never want to leave. But what I appreciate the most is that the furniture and decor in the room is possibly the most unique and attractive of any hotel I've ever been in. The pictures on the website never even come close to giving it justice, the rooms are so unique you really feel like you've been whisked away to another time. I cant wait to say we've stay in all the room. Up next - Roman!


Look no further!

5 su giugno 24, 2010

The house and gardens are beautiful and inviting. We felt so welcomed by both Rita and Charlie. They greeted us upon our arrival and then graciously shared the history of the house and town with us over wine and cheese. You would think we were their favorite guests with the time they spent with us. The rooms were so comfy with soft sheets and plenty of hot water! The breakfasts were delicious and fresh. I am now planning a girl's getaway with my sisters, cousins, and aunts. We will definitely be going back and see no reason to try a different B&B. Why would I when it feels like Rita and Charlie are my friends!!!


THE VERY BEST B&B in Galena!!!

5 su giugno 15, 2010

This was our first stay at a B&B and we were honored to have made the Victorian Mansion our choice. Rita and Charlie went above and beyond in welcoming us and making us feel like family. Their hospitality was unbelievable!! We WILL recommend the Victorian Mansion to everyone we know. The home's history is wonderful, the guest rooms common areas are exceptionaly clean, the yard and gardens are gorgeous and the food is awesome! Save your time and energy in looking around for B&B's in Galena by making The Victorian Mansion YOUR choice! You will not be disappointed--we certainly we're not!!


Fantastic Experience

5 su giugno 15, 2010

The accomadition is a first-class B&B; Charlie and Rita greeted us and made us feel welcome. The 3rd floor room was wonderful as was everything else. We plan to return one of these days.


June 2010 stay at Victorian Mansion

4,4 su giugno 14, 2010

My sister and I made our first trip to Galena this past weekend. We had both talked to Rita and Charlie, the Innkeepers, before we arrived and I was hoping they were as friendly in person as they had been on the phone...I wasn't disappointed. They met us and welcomed us into their home as if we were friends. The history and stories of the Victorian Mansion they shared with us over wine and cheese were much better than some of tours we took of other mansions. They recommended restaurants for us to try and the Jim Post Mark Twain show and we were not disappointed! Breakfasts were mouth watering. My sister and I loved their sense of humor and by the time we left we felt as if we had indeed made new friends. The Mansion was clean and uncluttered. The gardens were beautiful and well kept. The iced tea was so refreshing after a long day of shopping and site seeing. We will definitely go back again and look forward to seeing them again.


1st Trip to Galena and Surprise Engagement

4,4 su febbraio 07, 2010

My new fiance and I loved the Victorian Mansion. When we arrived on Thursday, we were warmly greeted by Rita, the innkeeper. She let us get settled in and gave us a comprehensive tour of the mansion. She recommended a great restaurant, Fried Green Tomatoes for what would be a very special dinner. After dinner, my boyfriend of 5 years proposed! The next morning, Rita made us the most delicious, including fresh fruit. I shared the news with her and she was ecstatic. Her warm spirit and graciousness is unmatched. She makes you feel like you feel truly welcome. Later in the evening, we were served wine and cheese in the foyer, which was delicious. Friday morning, we were able to enjoy yet another delicious homemade breakfast of eggs benedict and endless glasses of freshly squeezed orange juice. Our room, the Julian room, was very cozy with a fireplace and a private bathroom. We left with great hesitation on Friday morning. Thank you Rita for making our engagement so magical! You are a great innkeeper and a wonderful person! We hope to see you soon. If you need a warm and relaxing, the Victorian Mansion is your best bet!


A Modern Taste of Victorian Luxury

5 su dicembre 26, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at more than a few B&Bs, both in the states and overseas. Most have been very good. The Victorian Mansion is simply in a class all its own! This place is well aware of its own history and makes supreme efforts to preserve it. The attention to detail in maintaining the look and feel of 19th century luxury is extraordinary! Yet they are able to weave in the modern conveniences seamlessly as though they are an organic growth of the house over time and not simply tacked on. The rooms themselves are quite large for a B&B. This might be expected for a converted mansion, but the real surprise was the size of the private bathrooms! Too often in our B&B experiences, the private bathrooms usually end up being no bigger than a small closet and require dexterous maneuvering to be functional. The ones at Victorian Mansion were pleasantly spacious for the shower stall (yes, the water was great) and other necessities without the cramped space. The towels and linens were incredibly soft and among the best we have ever had at any bed and breakfast, hotel or resort! The innkeeper, Rita, is a genuine sweetheart and was extremely pleasant both on the phone when I made the reservation and in person when we arrived. We had the complimentary wine and cheese on the first night while she shared with us her extensive knowledge of the rich history of the house, the town and the surrounding area. The food at breakfast is outstanding with great variety! When we return to Galena, which will be often, The Victorian Mansion will be at the top of our list of places to stay! I cannot imagine staying anywhere else and we are already recommending it to all our friends. We hope to return to this place again during other seasons. If our winter experience was this fantastic, I cannot imagine what spring, summer and fall will bring!


Amazing Romantic Hideaway!

5 su novembre 26, 2009

Such an amazing experience. Innkeeper was attentive and so hospitable. Special breakfasts every morning and suggestions for wonderful places to visit in and around Galena every day. Worth every pampered penny!


Fantastic Getaway!!!!!!

4,8 su ottobre 03, 2009

This is the first time we have stayed at a B&B in the states, and it was great!! The house is amazing and Rita is wonderful-it felt very much like being at home, but I didn't have to do any of the work!! It's such a gorgeous house and the yard and gardens are beautiful-the breakfast is delicious and seriously kept us full until evening. I don't know how someone could have possibly been treated rudely, nor do I know how they can say they didn't know about the wine and cheese~I was informed of that when I was simply inquiring about possibly staying there. It was a great anniversary get-away and I can't wait to go back!! Thank you!!


First Galena Visit and My Wife's Birthday

4,4 su agosto 23, 2009

This was my first visit to Galena and boy did I get extremely lucky with picking the Victorian Mansion. I found the B&B on line and picked, then I called and made reservations with Rita, one of the innkeepers. Rita was great...she even hooked up flowers and chocolates for my wife and presented at Breakfast on Sunday. the other 14 guests in the house were very friendly and we didn't even know they were in the house 90% of the time. I would recommend the Victorian Mansion to anyone visiting Galena, IL. I will be joining them again.


The place in Galena to stay

5 su agosto 18, 2009

I searched for weeks to find the perfect b and b in galena. I have high expectations and this place surpassed them all. It is away from HWY 20 and the street noise, a five minute walk to Galena's main street where you can find all the shopping and dining that you will need. And when the site seeing is done, you can relax to the beautiful house, rooms and garden at the Victorian Mansion. The room we stayed in was perfect, with a newly renovated bathroom, sitting room, and very comfortable bed. You can tell a quality place by the linens and towels, and they were better than some of 5 star resorts of Bali and Phuket that we have been at. It was so relaxing to sit in the hot tub after walking the downtown area, playing a game of pool before heading out for the eveining dinner, and the courtesy afforded to us by Rita and her husband Charles. They strived to make sure we had everything that we needed, and it was by far a fabulous experience for us as our first stay in a b and b. You can't go wrong staying at the victorian mansion!!!!!! We will be back. dave and lisa, 8/2009


We'll definitely be back!

5 su agosto 16, 2009

We just came back from Galena. I travel a lot, and I compared a lot of B&Bs before reserving a room at this one. We couldn't have been happier with the selection. The room was lovely, the house is elegant, the gardens are relaxing, and our hosts were gracious and full of information about the house and the town. We will definitely be back!


delightful

4,6 su agosto 12, 2009

I recently stayed at the Victorian Mansion, and had a wonderful experience. I stayed in the Julia Room, with it's beautiful canopy bed. It is convenient to everything, and the private hot tub is a perfect end to all the biking and hiking done during the day. The gardens are beautiful and peaceful, and Aunt Sally and Lyza were full of local history on the home. I am looking forward to my next visit!


Wonderful Old Building

5 su agosto 11, 2009

I have traveled the world and I can say that the Victorian Mansion is one of the most elegant and breath-taking B&B's I have ever been in. I highly recommend a stay there - I even suggest a trip to Galena, IL. just to stay at the Victorian Mansion. We stayed in the Grace Suite and it was a mix of old history with clean modern appointments at a great price point. Just do it!


The Perfect B&B in Galena

5 su agosto 11, 2009

I have been going to Galena for years and just found the Victorian Mansion - I can't believe I ever stayed anywhere else- there is no contest - this place is the BEST hands down.... You simply have to go there to know what I'm talking about - it's so worth the money...and we've paid more at other lesser quality B&B's in town-


Relaxing, well appointed

5 su febbraio 05, 2009

Furnishings were so representative of the time peroid, enjoyed that very much. We chose this type of lodging because we wanted to rest and relax, and we did. The home was very warm and inviting and we felt very at home. The service was great and the breakfasts were served in a quiet setting. We very much enjoyed our conversations with our inkepper who was so helpful with questions about the area. This was very enjoyable stay.


Step into the past

4,0 su agosto 24, 2008

The inn keeper Sally is a very genuine host. She made us feel at home the second we arrived. If you are looking for TV, DVD & all the creature conforts on the 20th century in your room this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a trip to Victorian times I highly recomend you call and set up a date with Sally & Rita today. Had a great time THANKS Jim & Tonie


Great experience!

4,8 su agosto 02, 2008

I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. The staff treated us like family. This history of this home is amazing! Our stay was wonderful.


Most Romantic and relaxing B & B

5 su luglio 25, 2008

This was our second time to the Victorian Mansion. It was just as beatiful and even more as we remembered it. The staff is very warm and welcoming. The gardens are overwhelming. Breakfast is delicious. We plan to visit again this fall/winter. Tim and Elaine


Best B&B EVER!

5 su giugno 08, 2008

I LOVE this place, it totally rocks. The house is mid 1800's and totally restored with added upgrades like a pool table and hot tub , etc. It's like getting to stay in a museum - only much better. The grounds/gardens are amazing. It is by far the best B&B in Galena and the only place I would suggest staying.


Multiple visits!! We love it!

4,2 su marzo 30, 2008

We have been back three times to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The beds are so comfortable...we have never slept so grandly in the large beds! We especially loved the wine and cheese reception - a wonderful way to visit with the other guests of the B&B. We will certainly be back to enjoy the beauty of this victorian home again!


Aunt Salley what a treasure

4,4 su marzo 08, 2008

My husband & I have stayed at many B&B's..But the Victorian Mansion by far has been the best B&B experience so far..The innkeeper (Aunt Salley) made us feel like family..And the breakfast were way more than we expected...Highly recommend to anyone...We will be back!!!Thank you Salley


relaxing, back in time

4,8 su febbraio 23, 2008

It was very relaxing to be in the mist of the Victorian era. The decor of the "mansion" is beautiful and the parlours are ideally set up for "lying around." The walk to downtown was easy but the steps coming home were a little tough! Great restaurants downtown. With the great breakfasts at the inn we only needed to eat twice a day. Loved the "hottub" especially with the foot of snow outside. One of the "grandest" B&B's we have been to but also cozy and friendly as well.


Beautiful Rooms and grounds

4,4 su febbraio 11, 2008

The Mansion itself is beautiful and the rooms are nice a blend of "Old Victorian" with some more "modern" upgrades. My wife and I read our books as we reclined in the yard and played some pool in the parlor room. An overall great and relaxing experience.


Finally a real Victorian B&B

5 su febbraio 11, 2008

Most B&B's we have been to are like craft fair explosions.....this is the real deal with very authentic parlors, furniture,beds and decor. The place is absolutely beautiful. Love the library and sitting lounge and got a quick game of pool in the "billiard lounge." Nice location..just close enough to downtown but far enough from the main highway. Breakfast in the dining room had tables for couples and one large one if you want to mingle. Pretty good food too. Truely a Victorian Mansion preserved in time..very peaceful.


Beautiful, but unpleasant stay

2,0 su gennaio 05, 2008

The inn is certainly beautifully decorated and our room looked delightful, but the shower water was tepid at best (tried 9pm & 9am), we were not told the room had a non-working fireplace and when we arrived early, we were treated rudely. The breakfast was solid; different meals each day; fruit was yummy; tea selection was paltry. (The innkeeper commented on how she should have checked the selection of tea, but the second day was exactly the same.) One of the lights in the bedroom was out and the entrance path had been shoveled, but not recently so there was an inch of packed snow throughout our two day stay. The house policies were never explained so we didn't find out how to request room service (turn over the "do not disturb" door hanger) or that they served wine & cheese in the evening (we discovered this when we came in and saw empty wine glasses in one of the parlors). Worst B&B we've stayed at. Would return to Galena in an instant, but never stay there again.


We'll be back!

4,8 su ottobre 14, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Victorian Mansion on a cold January weekend for our first anniversary. This was our first B&B experience at the time (and we've since stayed at several in other areas of the country), and none have topped the Victorian Mansion. The breakfast is truly gourmet and will carry you to dinner, and the wine and cheese in the evening was a very nice touch. Our room was extremely comfortable after a long day of sightseeing and skiing at the nearby ski slopes. Although we no longer live in Illinois, we've talked several times about a return trip (perhaps for anniversary number 5!).


Victorian Mansion

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $99 - $299
  • Recensioni (36) 4,6
  • Camere 8
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8157770675
  • Numero di Fax 1-8157774858

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina