House 5863 Recensioni

Globalmente
4,2

Più info

  • Camera4,3
  • Servizi4,0
  • Valore4,2
  • Pulizia4,4
  • Cibo3,9

Valore della struttura
252 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

house 5863 is a great place to stay in Chicago

5 su gennaio 09, 2014

We've stayed at House 5863 a number of times and have always had a great stay. The rooms and the common areas are very comfortable. The kitchen is well-equipped for breakfast, including a fresh pot of coffee each morning. On-site manager is very friendly and helpful.


Christmas in Chicago

3,4 su gennaio 03, 2014

very nice place to stay. Convenient to Andersonville and Edgewater. I would recommend to anyone.


Great B & B in Chicago close to Andersonville

4,8 su dicembre 27, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Charming B & B in nice neighborhood. Would recommend to family and friends Dorothy Hazen. Saginaw,mi


Maybe I should keep mum

4,8 su dicembre 08, 2013

Excellent. But do I want everyone to know about this great B & B? If everyone stays here, there might not be room for me. It was an oasis of calm, beauty and comfort. We already have reservations for another visit.


Great Chicago Stay

4,6 su dicembre 02, 2013

This is a very nice B and B. there was no dining but a well stocked kitchen available at all times. I recommend this very highly. A nice change from staying at the hotels in downtown Chicago.


Nice B&B

4,0 su dicembre 02, 2013

The continental breakfast was well kept and available all day, which was great after the plane came in late. I was a little disappointed to be woken by the pitter patter of little feet in what was listed as a no-kids place, but I suspect that was just down to rules breakers. Room 5 gets all the kitchen noise, FYI.


3 nights in Chicago Nov 2013

4,4 su novembre 30, 2013

Clean, quiet, easy to find, we enjoyed our stay. We were a short walk to a nice and busy neighborhood Andersonville. We'll come back to this B&B next time we come visit our son.


It's a perfect spot in a great location for me.

4,0 su novembre 27, 2013

The only problem we had is the computer and printer do not work properly.


November in Chicago

4,2 su novembre 19, 2013

We've spent a number of nights at House 5863 over several years. It has great ambience that's stylish and relaxed and has a location that offers easy access to Lakeshore Drive.


Good spot for in town

3,0 su novembre 15, 2013

This place was very comfortable and homey. It was easy to use the kitchen and common area. The only major downside was that the rooms did not have closets and were pretty cramped as a result. However, if we were to venture out to this part of the city again, we would certainly stay here.


Great Place to Stay. Excellent Accomadations

5 su novembre 12, 2013

Quiet, Private and clean. Great quality rooms for the price. Walk to Lake, Andersonville and transportation. Subway walking distance. Great breakfast items. Owner was always available. Lives downstairs on 1st floor and was always available to answer my questions. Thank you House 5863. Highly recommend.


In general, great

3,6 su novembre 07, 2013

No problems, will stay there again.


Return visit

3,0 su novembre 04, 2013

We returned to House 5863, once again, while we attended a family wedding in the area. We love the location, the do-it-yourself style and the fun decor. The kitchen is well stocked with yummy breakfast foods and it's full of windows and light. But....having been here 4 previous times, over the years, it's clear that things are wearing out and need replacement. One of the room signs fell off the door repeatedly, the leather chairs are worn, our towel rack fell off the wall, and the dishwasher rack was kind of broken. It's a brilliant place, really, and we'd return, but hope they can replace a few things.


Great Place. Warm and Comfortable

5 su ottobre 31, 2013

Great Place. Warm and Comfortable. Owners were helpful and live on the property. Just had to walk down and knock on door or call.


Just what we were looking for.

3,0 su ottobre 30, 2013

This was convenient for us because it is in a residential area near our son's apartment so we could walk back and forth. It's a very safe, pleasant neighborhood where everyone is out walking, especially with their dogs! We also liked the quiet and peacefulness of the b&b. We thought that we were the only ones around until morning when someone would come out to get coffee or a bagel or bowl of cereal. Everyone cleaned up for themselves, so the place was always clean. Our room was freshened up daily.


Simple straight forward guesthouse

2,8 su ottobre 28, 2013

I came in for one night for a business event at a restaurant nearby. The room was fine and quiet. I never saw the owners or any any staff just other guests. As I knew from other reviews the breakfast is left there all the time so is all long shelf life life. The coffee for me was undrinkable. I had the bathroom across the hall. The fixture on the shower was difficult to use and a towel rack was hanging loose. A little rough around the edges.


Charm and Comfort

3,6 su ottobre 28, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our Chicago trip. We were so tired and ready for some quiet relaxation. We found exactly that in this charming, comfortable house. We were able to make dinner for ourselves and relax in peace in the lovely livingroom. The beds were very comfortable as well. I would definitely choose to stay here again.


Where is the Manager?

3,2 su ottobre 28, 2013

Email confirmation included digital door codes for front door and room. So there was no check in necessary. Manager/owner was never seen, and several other guests commented on his /her non-appearance. Cleaning lady was around, however, and she would tend to most guest needs. Room Clean, couple of small items to fix/repair. Breakfast was do it yourself, with coffee, tea , rolls, muffins, eggs to cook, cereal, soda, beer, and snacks. Actually a great idea for a gay bed and breakfast - no breakfast times to worry about!


Quiet comfort

4,2 su ottobre 27, 2013

My wife and I were in town for my daughter's wedding. As you might expect, it was a busy and anxious time for us. For that reason it was a relief to come back to the B & B which exuded such a mood of relaxation and calm. The other guests we met were polite and even charming. We will most certainly be back


House 5863 very nice place

3,8 su ottobre 25, 2013

House 5863 exceeded my expectations. I know some people consider a do-it-yourself B&B to be a contradiction in terms, but those are people probably enjoy having a B&B owner make them an omelet, then sit down at the kitchen table and watch them eat it. This place is well designed. Rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. Members of our family occupied four of the five rooms, so we were able to enjoy the common space together. If you wanted to, you could actually cobble three meals a day out of the supplies stored in the kitchen. Great location.


Lovely and private

4,4 su ottobre 20, 2013

Very informal interactions. Don't think I saw the proprietor at all. Room was lovely, and the public spaces were very pleasant. The deck and backyard are beautiful. There were a bunch of different options available for breakfast, and they were accessible all the time. We never did figure out what all the light switches in our room went to though.


Pleasant overnight stay

3,4 su ottobre 19, 2013

Returning to live in Chicago after a long absence, I chose House 5863 for my first night back because its location is a few miles from my new (furniture-bare) apartment. Overall the look and feel of the B&B is contemporary, spare, clean, and quiet. I liked the feature of the large private bath, although the floor could have used more cleaning. The room was clean and comfortable. Instructions on using the TV and overhead lighting and fan would have been helpful, especially for tired travelers. The location is close to more public transportation options than noted in the description.


Lakeview Edgewater Chicago neighborhood B&B

3,6 su ottobre 15, 2013

This is a great place to stay for a fair price. It has a Euro feel in that it is much like self catering places I am particular to when I go to the UK and Europe. Friendly Inn Keepers. Immaculate in its housekeeping. Street parking can be tricky if you are out after 9pm in the evening.


Excellent Balue

4,2 su ottobre 15, 2013

Close to public transport and good restaurants. Free street parking. Safe and pleasant neighborhood. About a 30 minute red line trip to the Loop. Rooms are not large but plenty of common space. 24 hour kitchen to use. Excellent value.


Great summer visit!

5 su ottobre 14, 2013

My sister and I had a wonderful stay!


wonderful experience

4,8 su ottobre 13, 2013

the bed and breakfast was clean , pleasant . it felt like we are at home. We definitely be back . it is located so close to our daughter place.


House 5863

4,2 su ottobre 07, 2013

A wonderful and refreshing stay. Highly recommend!


nice accomodation with flair

3,8 su ottobre 07, 2013

good connection to down town, good choice of breakfast


excellent

4,6 su settembre 27, 2013

Very pleasant stay, good ambiance, nice quiet neighborhood, clean room, good bed, pleasant common room. Probably would have like something specially prepared for breakfast in stead of the usual food, even though there was enough of everything. Would definitely come back. Thanks.


Would Stay again

4,0 su settembre 25, 2013

I enjoyed the stay, liked the house and decor. Recieved below average on due to Shower in room 2 bath, very difficult to turn on and regulate water temp. Then water flow very low. Realized received reduce room rate for bathroom being across hall, but shower terrible. Unable to communicate with owners to tell problem. Unable to controll environmental temp in room. First night, when came in late, room, very cold. Dora housekeeper, very helpful, but speaks and understands limited English. need coomunication board with owners. The kitchen is excellent supplied with food, snacks ,beverages, etc. Love idea help yourself any time of day! Need to fix, so don't have to open refrigerator door to open flatware drawer. need another stool in kitchen. I liked neighborhood, House is long 4 blocks from train, especially in heat and humidity with 4 heavy bags. Close to Andersonville by bus. Need to have indication, if rooms occupiated. often, very quiet in morning, for no one in room. Then was playing music, talking etc and someone would emerge from room. I would give 5 stars, if above corrected. We have stayed in B&B's and apartments arould the world, this one is one of better, except for shower.


Will definitely stay here again!

4,8 su settembre 18, 2013

The room was very spacious and clean. Housekeeping freshened up our room everyday. The only complaint that we have is the need to fix the little things before they become big problems ie... missing fan blade, towel bar that falls down if you put a towel on it and the shower needs grouted. We will definitely stay here again.


Cool place to stay in pretty neighborhood

4,2 su settembre 16, 2013

We loved room 1 with its pretty bay window on the front overlooking trees and the beautiful school across the street. Attractive and comfortable shared space - both the lounge and the outside deck out back. Surprisingly quiet during the night!


Best kept secret in Chicago

4,4 su settembre 13, 2013

What a gem! This Bed and Breakfast was the cleanest by far of any place I have stayed. From the cute common areas to the well stocked kitchen to the amazing bathroom, I felt like I was at home. I will definitely be staying here every time I visit Chicago!


Great stay. Will book again.

3,8 su settembre 11, 2013

Loved it.


Away From the Crowds

2,8 su settembre 06, 2013

We chose House 5863 because of its close proximity to family. The neighborhood was nice and the five minute walk to the train and Andersonville was very convenient. We had the room overlooking the street with a private bath, which was comfortable except that the thermostat was centrally controlled so we couldn't adjust the temperature in our room. Breakfast was do-it-yourself cold cereal and grocery store bread, bagels and muffins which were always readily available. The owner was 100 percent behind the scenes for the week that we were there. I understand that he wants to provide his guests with privacy but we would have appreciated a hello or goodbye.


A Wonderful Respite in the City

4,6 su agosto 28, 2013

The space was beautiful and we greatly appreciated the variety of breakfast items available. The room was quite clean and quiet, I would recommend this as a place for family/friends to stay when they visit.


Great find in Andersonville/Edgewater

4,0 su agosto 20, 2013

House 5863 is a great find in a neighborhood where there really are not any nice hotels. The furnishings are chic and urban and very comfortable. I did find it disconcerting to never meet the proprietors, however. I was given in advance the entry codes for the front door and my bedroom door, so when I arrived, I just let myself in. I did meet the housekeeper the next day, but I would have felt better to have met the innkeeper at some point during my 3-nights stay. My other complaint is that there was no mattress pad on the bed - just a thin sheet between me and the mattress. That's a bit icky. Otherwise I was very pleased, though. The room was pretty, the bed comfortable, the breakfast expansive and delicious, and the location ideal. I will definitely stay here again!


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 su agosto 19, 2013

We recently rented out the whole house for our family and had an outstanding stay. There was always plenty of fresh food, pop, fruit, snacks, coffee tea and anything we wanted. The rooms were excellent and the privacy of private baths was helpful for all of us. It was also convenient to the" L" transportation and to a large grocery store and a Walgreens. The owner did everything possible to make our stay perfect.


Chicago fans have a great stay at HOUSE 5863

3,6 su agosto 16, 2013

The stay was comfortable, quiet and just the right arrangement/attention to detail. The back deck and garden are a nice relaxing area and the self entry and check-in was perfect after a very long flight.


We had a great time in Chicago area

4,0 su agosto 16, 2013

Everything about our stay at House 5863 was great. We were warned that on street parking after 9 p.m. could be a challenge and that was an accurate statement as it took a while to find a spot on one occasion. As someone who has to deal with a lot of food allergies and rarely gets to actually eat B&B breakfasts this was a perfect arrangement with fruit options, access to the refrigerator and cooking.


Amazing B&B, I would definitely stay again!

5 su agosto 12, 2013

We were only in Chicago for one night, but I've said many times since then that we should go back to House 5863 next time we take a Chicago vacation! Everything was very clean, updated, the bed in room one was Amazingly comfortable! The security locks on all the doors were great and easy to access. Well stocked kitchen for any breakfast item you could think of, the sitting room had a ton of brochures on area attractions, the red line on the L/metra was within walking distance and takes you straight downtown without transfers... Parking was a little difficult late at night when we got in because it was all on the street in these residential areas but we didn't mind walking a block, it seemed like a very safe and well-kept neighborhood. And best of all, the price is on the lower end of hotels in the area for a MUCH better quality room/bed/linens/cleanliness. I don't know what else I could say about House 5863 other than it is fantastic and I definitely recommend a stay there to anyone! PS: If you like art, the whole house is decorated with great pieces by local artists and you can buy them right off the wall if you talk to the proprietors.


Pleasant, friendly staff Great location

4,4 su agosto 11, 2013

A wonderful neighborhood north of Chicago. Easy train access to anywhere in the city. The manager is wonderfully responsive. And the woman who readies breakfast and attends to the room is super helpful, very nice. A pleasant, clean find in Chicago.


Meyer Stay

3,4 su luglio 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room as well as the neighborhood had a comfortable feel. Plan to come back some day.


House 5863 will be a regular stay for us

4,4 su luglio 29, 2013

I had no real idea what to expect since this is unlike the B&Bs I've stayed in before. We loved it! Easy parking (no trouble finding street parking) beautiful room, great stocked kitchen and quiet. We enjoyed it so much we're considering renting out the entire B&B for my son's wedding next year. We'll be back.


House 5863 Review

3,2 su luglio 26, 2013

We recently stayed at House 5863 for three nights. Overall, the house is very clean and well kept. It is also quiet. This is a very 'hands-off' operation - in fact, other than the housekeeper, we didn't interact with anyone face to face as you are provided a code to enter the house and a code to enter your room. This was only problematic when I needed to obtain a receipt for the stay and no one was available to produce it and I now have to wait for one to be sent. Also, I did receive a phonecall the evening of the day we checked out inquiring why my bags were still in the room, when in fact, they were someone else's bags as I had already returned home and the owner was not aware that we had checked out at the required time. There are plenty of snacks and things for breakfast but it is all do it yourself. Again, there was plenty of stuff to eat all the time and the house was very clean as was the kitchen/food area. We stayed in room 2 and that is the only room that does not have its own bathroom. However, the room does have a private bathroom - it is just across the hall. It was really no big deal at all and not really inconvenient. The bathroom was clean and spacious. When I booked the room I was under the impression it was closer to Boystown and the Halstead Street bars and nightlife, when in fact it is a $10 cab ride or four - five stops on the "L" depending on which way you wanted to go. I should have looked more carefully at the map. House 5863 is in a quiet and safe neighborhood and we felt very comfortable walking, even late at night. The "L" stop (Thorndale stop on the red line) is about a five minute walk. I would stay here again but I would make sure to see someone before I fleft to confirm that I was checking out and to obtain the necessary receipt before leaving the premises. It was a good value for the money.


Great modern B&B!

3,8 su luglio 26, 2013

We stayed in room 3 which has a steam room shower combo. It was wonderful! We also really enjoyed the modern decor and non-intrusive approach to the whole B&B experience (you really feel free to come, go, and use the kitchen or living areas as you please).


Always great

4,8 su luglio 26, 2013

I return to Chicago every summer, and I always stay here. It's the best. The kitchen is well stocked, always open. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The maid service is excellent. The prices are very reasonable in my opinion.


Good

3,2 su luglio 25, 2013

Nice breakfasts. Management promptly responsive to special petitions. Most guests very. Friendly and engaging.


Andersonville attraction for the tired traveler

3,8 su luglio 18, 2013

I never thought a bed & breakfast could be so private!! All the privacy of a hotel room but none of the ordinary hotel feel. The guest is in charge at this place. A plus that it is located in a lovely neighborhood within walking distance of great restaurants and shops.


Great place to stay!

4,8 su luglio 13, 2013

The B&B was quite convenient for the purpose of our stay. The breakfast and other food provided certainly exceed my expectations. I would have liked to have had someone from the B&B introduce themselves at some point. Our room was next to the kitchen, so it was a bit noisy in the morning.


Great place in a nice neighborhhod

3,6 su luglio 11, 2013

We stayed at House 5863 for 3 nights. It was great. There was a stocked kitchen and you didn't have to be to breakfast at a certain time. Room #5 was clean and the bed was comfy. There was plenty do within walking distance: the beach, the L, Andersonville for dining and shopping. Would stay here again.


Wonderfull

4,2 su luglio 08, 2013

WE had room 4 for tree nights - perfect. One night in room 2 - terrible, much to loud!


Great Stay in Chicago - but bring your earplugs!

4,2 su luglio 03, 2013

We stayed three nights at this lovely, contemporary B&B. Nicely appointed - wonderful large sauna/shower (Rm 3). The Inn Keepers would be well served to have a sign out with the serve-yourself-breakfast to please be quiet as others may be sleeping. The casual atmosphere of the place contributes to a feeling of home - and folks were yelling (actually just loud questioning - seemed like yelling at the time) down the hall as if they were the only ones there - so if you are a light sleeper, you would be well advised to bring ear plugs. Also was a little difficult to figure out the working of the overhead lighting. All in all, a great place north of the city.


"Fits the Bill" & More

4,2 su luglio 03, 2013

This is a nice place to stay. Owners are downstairs and responsive. Have stayed here twice myself - would recommend to family/friends.


Father's Day Weekend, 2013

4,2 su giugno 24, 2013

We stayed at the House 5863 B&B in order to attend a family celebration over the weekend. The B&B is located in a very nice, quiet neighborhood convenient to the Edgewater and Andersonville districts. House 5863 B&B is separated from the hosts' quarters and arranged to enhance quietude and security of its guests. The community kitchen was well stocked, offering guests more than the customary cold continental breakfasts we've had in other Chicago B&B's. It is on our permanent list of where to stay when in Chicago.


Very pleasant neighbourhood hip B&B

3,4 su giugno 23, 2013

Furniture a little run down but rooms tasteful and clean. The help-yourself kitchen was extremely conveniant and lots of food provided but the quality was definately Cosco. Nice neighbourhood close to trains to downtown etc.


A Real 5-Star Experience

5 su giugno 22, 2013

Certainly a 5-Star experience. The "self-serve" aspect was easy; we let ourselves in with a late evening arrival and felt almost that we were living in our own home. It was quiet, with at least 3 units being used on two weeknights, and guests met cordially in the kitchen area at breakfast-time. Cost was comparable to what we had paid at a hotel some miles away from our son's home that is just blocks away in Andersonville. We will certainly plan on future stays when we're in the area.


Found a treasure with this one!

4,2 su giugno 16, 2013

I'm so pleased I booked with House 5863, which provided convenience, comfort, and a perfect place to call home during my recent stay. The keyless entries to house and room were easy to use, kitchen was well stocked, the view from room #1 green and serene, outside garden inviting and interesting, and common areas quiet enough during early mornings and late evenings. Local artwork on the walls added more charm and vibrancy. Showerhead did deliver a slow flow, and mini-blinds require attention/repair: minor concerns amid major pluses. I'll stay again!


Good option in Edgewater

3,2 su giugno 14, 2013

I stayed in House 5863 while visiting my daughter that lives a few blocks away from the hotel. I had a great experience and would recomend it for anyone. Very clean and confortable.


Charming

5 su giugno 12, 2013

We have always enjoyed staying here. It is so very well appointed and the amenities provided are very well thought out. We will stay again at every opportunity.


Great Hidden B&B

4,8 su giugno 03, 2013

5863 B & B is the best B & B I've stayed in. Unlike the typical B & B, 5863 was modern, private, nicely decorated, and close to lots of great bars and restaurants. The kitchen was well stocked with food and drink and the rooms were comfortable and clean. I would highly recommend this spot for anyone looking for a great place to stay in the Edgewater neighborhood.


memorial day weekend 2013

4,2 su maggio 31, 2013

i think the description for this website is pretty accurate and i found this BnB to be a very pleasant stay, great neighborhood, nice and quiet, liked the contemporary decor and the owner/manager very helpful. coffee will be made when you rise and lots of breakfast items to select from. i personally liked the unobtrusive approach too. i would stay here again.


Great Place!

4,6 su maggio 31, 2013

Wonderful place. Great location, quiet. All amenities needed are available. Called the phone number and knocked on the office door, but no one answered. Not an emergency, but would have liked a response either time. Aside from that, really beautiful, well designed place with accomodating staff. Would highly recommend this House.


Easy stay at B & B

4,2 su maggio 30, 2013

The location of this B&B was perfect for my needs. It is close to my family and a safe neighborhood to walk in after a day with my family. It is secure, private, restful, very clean with good pastries, fruit and cereals. Cooking is available but I didn't take advantage of that. The outdoor patio is delightful in the morning sunshine or to sit with a glass of wine at night.


Business trip in Chicago... Nice stay

4,0 su maggio 25, 2013

Nice place, quiet and welcoming. Loved the bathroom and the view (room 4). The internet connection could be a little bit faster, but overall I'm very happy that a choose to stay here.


Great place for a group

3,4 su maggio 23, 2013

Great place to stay with a group of friends or a girls weekend. Close to the Sub Line and Downtown.


Pleasantly surprised!

4,0 su maggio 20, 2013

Having stayed at House 5863, we continue to return for the quiet convenience when visiting our daughter. Your owners and operators of the bed and breakfast are often at the residence to find if your stay is meeting your expectations and to answer any questions regarding their home, however, never intrusive or nosey. On street parking has never been a hassle except when street cleaning is scheduled. I'll be returning.


Great place to stay in Edgewater!

5 su maggio 15, 2013

I have stayed at the House 5863 twice when visiting my son and daughter who both live within walking distance. It is great to have such a clean, nice place to stay when visiting them.


Convenient stay in Chicago

4,4 su maggio 09, 2013

Bed and Breakfast was clean, conveniently located and offered breakfast items and snacks. They offered many extras -- common room, outside area for dining, guests welcome, etc.A great place to stay for the price.


Will be back

4,6 su aprile 29, 2013

My daughter lives four blocks from the House so this made it very convenient. I will be back. Vickie


Great Stay at House 5863

4,2 su aprile 24, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at House 5863. Perfect accomodations for a weekend get-away. Fully stocked kitchen available to all guests is exceptional for breakfast & snacks. Friendly and intimate atmosphere rather than a large hotel. I would recommend to anyone coming to Chicago.


Recommend it highly.

3,8 su aprile 21, 2013

House 5863 B&B is comfortable, clean, and conviently located.


excelent b&b

4,2 su aprile 09, 2013

I stayed 12 nights. It was fantastic. Very quiet, very clean, all rooms absolutely charming. The locastion is very central and ideal for use of the cta. Breakfast was good. In case I come again to Chicago, I will stay at no other place.


Highly recommend B&B

4,6 su aprile 06, 2013

Lovely back deck and patio


Great place! Almost like being at home.

4,8 su aprile 01, 2013

A great neighborhood! Rooms were clean and comfortable. A well-stocked kitchen for breakfast and snacks. Very quiet! We got there at an off hour, but found it easy to get in and get to our room. Didn't really meet the innkeepers until the day before we checked out. Almost like having an apartment that you share with quiet room mates. We'll definitely go back!


Clean, cozy, and chic

3,2 su marzo 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night. Loved the set up of the B&B. I appreciated the cleanliness, the modern feel, and the hospitality of the owners. I used to live in the neighborhood a long time ago so I was familiar with the area. Street parking was not a problem for me. Definitely would come back. To the owners: great place! Keep up the good work!


Great place when in Chicago!

4,2 su marzo 21, 2013

We had an overnight visit in Chicago. Spent the entire day downtown, then headed back on the EL to 5863. Very easy to get in and find our room. Never needed to talk with anyone to get in or find room. Did need a bit of help with the lights and luckily found someone downstairs. They were quite pleasant about the intrusion. Full kitchen stocked with a variety of breakfast foods and beverages. I'd stay again in a heartbeat!


A Welcoming Retreat

4,2 su marzo 20, 2013

I recently stayed for over a week at House 5863 while visiting nearby family. This was my second time here and I must describe it as a peaceful retreat, warm , friendly, relaxing and comfortable. The kitchen was open to my snacking needs all hours of the day, in addition to the breakfast offerings. The decor well fits the description of modern , hip and urbane. The location is quite convenient to accessing transportation and neighborhood stores with a short walk. The neighborhood is residential with pleasant views from the rooms and common area. And a plus in the warmer weather is the delightful grotto garden courtyard ! I would definitely return for a future visit.


Enjoyed Our Stay...Will Be Back

5 su febbraio 27, 2013

Had a wonderful trip to Chicago and House 5863 was a great place to stay - felt like being home away from home. Clean, quiet, comfortable. Inn was exactly as represented. Will look forward to staying again.


home vist

4,2 su febbraio 27, 2013

easy acess,clean and great breakfast.


House 5863, Chicago, IL

5 su febbraio 21, 2013

The owner was most accommodating in meeting the needs of our last minute reservations. There was constant communication about the directions and the timing of out late arrivalh The decor was well done urban chic, the kitchen was well stocked and the entire building was spotless. The location was perfect for our needs, parking was easy and the views, especially for the city, were spacious.Needless to say, we highly recommend House 5863 and will plan to use it if we need to stay in the area again.


Great. Love the place.. Quiet and Comfortable

5 su febbraio 04, 2013

Great place.. Quite and Comfortable. Will stay again.. Owner was always available and lives below. Thanks for everything.


Gorgeous. Quite, Quaint. House 5863 will be my place when in Chicago

5 su gennaio 23, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Chicago. Slept quietly, Had my own privacy. Owners were available all the time. They live just below the Bed & Breakfast. They were either a step or phone call away. Great Rooms and Amenities. Thanks Erick for the restaurant reference. Walking distance to everything.. Walk to the Lake in the Spring and Summer or you can even rent a bike. Thanks again for the serenity.


Perfect spot for us

4,4 su gennaio 16, 2013

Simple, Clean, well stocked, location is great for us. Homey and easy to navigate. perfect!


Glad to have found House 5863

3,8 su dicembre 28, 2012

The only thing that was not good were the pillows. There was only one thin pillow for each of us and they weren't very good. Also if there could have been an extra blanket in the room. The comforter was to warm and we could of used a blanket.


A Great Location

3,2 su dicembre 05, 2012

We love to stay here becaue it's in one of the nicest Chicago locations. The building is unique and well-designed. We enjoy the back deck, makes us feel as though we live right in the neighborhood. The public areas are cozy. The rooms are cute, and adequate for sleeping. There are a few items that would improve our stay: First, on this, our second trip, we never heard from the management or any staff upon check-in, or any other time, As there is no front desk, no one knows if we're here. If we need something, there is nowhere to go. Second, we also discovered that on multiple-night stays, towels are changed but the beds are not made. I have never encountered this type of service, even in hotels that charge less. (I would also ask that the towel bars be checked so that they don't fall off.) Finally, attend to the gnats in the kitchen (two of 'em drowned in my coffee).


Chic B&B

3,2 su novembre 30, 2012

A modern room with a large comfortable bed. Close to the Red Line train to get downtown and walkable to the lakefront and its parks. Has an excellent Ethiopian restaurant near by for a different and delicious dining experience.


B & B Stay

5 su novembre 30, 2012

Very clean room. Good bed and bathroom. Plenty of food to eat when needed. An excellent value for the price.


B&B without the Victorian frou-frou

3,8 su novembre 29, 2012

In Andersonville, a quiet outlying neighborhood, two blocks from an El stop. Large bright clean rooms. Our bathroom, big as some NYC studio apartments, included a steam room. Service was quiet and almost invisible. Free wifi and daily papers. For brunch, try M. Henry at 5707 N Clark. http://www.mhenry.net – Steve from Boston


Enjoyable Chicago Visit

3,8 su novembre 06, 2012

We stayed at House 5863 while visiting our son and daughter-in-law who live just two blocks away. It was like staying with them but not, especially nice since their apartment is very small. We loved the convenience. Our room was a little austere. It could use a luggage rack - I used one of the chairs. The variety of food in the kitchen was excellent except there was no half-n-half for my coffee our first morning so my husband went to a walgreen's several blocks about to buy some for me. He didn't mind but he shouldn't have had to do it. To save a little on our stay, we chose the room without the attached bathroom. I thought our private bath would be directly accross from our room but it was not. it was down the hall, next to the kitchen. So it was a little ackward using the bathroom; however, it was spacious and attractive.


Thank you for a wonderful stay in Chicago!

4,2 su novembre 05, 2012

Excellent location! Nice to be out in a neighborhood and support local businesses. Loved having the option to pay the extra $25 per night for parking in the garage. Also loved the fact that this wasn't a traditional B&B. I liked eating breakfast on my schedule and being able to cook my own eggs. Nice touch! Great service when you need it. Otherwise, host was invisible. Would definitely stay there again!


An unexpected delight...like a European botique hotel.

3,4 su novembre 01, 2012

Very good location for easy access to surrounding amenities. Serene and charming decor throughout. We appreciated the convenience of the key-less entry and the privacy given by the owners. Would definitely recommend this as an accommodation.


Excellent B and B

3,6 su ottobre 28, 2012

This is not the place to go if you are expected gourmet breakfasts: the serve-yourself kitchen is fine, but not particularly exciting. In all other ways, though, this is an exceptionally comfortable place to stay.


The Bissonetttes' Review

4,8 su ottobre 23, 2012

House 5863 is a fabulous to stay. We've stayed there many times and always leave satisfied. We wouldn't stay any place else when we visit Chicago.


staying for 5 days

4,2 su ottobre 19, 2012

House 5863 was great. Close to the "EL" and several local places to eat. Only complaint - the towel rack in the bathroom was on the floor when we arrived. Every day, I requested a fix. It was still on the floor when we checked out.


Good - Could be Great! B&B

3,0 su ottobre 13, 2012

You have a unique B&B - close to Downtown and Lakeshore Drive (excellent) Very Clean. Adequate self-serve breakfast items for 'on the go'. Please pay more attention to the easy maintenance items that you need to keep up on: i.e.; clean and seal floor grout, fix cracks in shower wall grout, affix towel rack properly. My wife an I would have loved this place if it were not for these easy to fix items. ps: Also need a better system to know which rooms are occupied!


What a wonderful experience

5 su ottobre 08, 2012

We were in Chicago recenty to visit our son and daughter-in-law and stayed at your lovelyresidence and what a wonderful experience this was for us. Having only stayed at hotels when we travel this was a first for us, staying at a bed and breakfast, and we truly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely stay there again when we are in the Chicago area again.


Hidden diamond jewel inn located in Chicago Andersonville

5 su ottobre 07, 2012

Affordable, comfortable, luxurious, and modern inn located in a safe city of Chicago neighborhood with private rooms & baths. This wonderful inn offers modern business facility plus private modern televisions in every room for business & leisure traveler. Finally, it is quiet & peaceful for all guests with awesome customer service.


A comfortable place to visit

3,8 su ottobre 04, 2012

I had several people coming all at once from out of town and wanted them to be in my neighborhood on Chicago's north side so we didn't have to fight traffic and share a lot of cab rides to be together. House 5863 was perfect! It is easy to get to, has great accommodations, and really feels like someone's home. My guests used three of the five rooms and I guarantee I will be recommending this place to many more visitors. Take advantage of the back patio - it was a great place to relax and enjoy your breakfast.


The Best Place We've Ever Stayed

4,8 su ottobre 02, 2012

We have stayed at many hotels and b&b's worldwide, and we both agree that this is the best place we've ever stayed at. We loved the quiet atmosphere, the comfortable living room, the food that was easily available 24/7 and the fact that we could cook as well. The view of the park from the living room was very pleasant and we felt safe and secure for our entire stay. Our bed was extremely comfortable - we wanted to take it home! We will definitely stay there again and would recommend this b&b to anyone.


Great value in Andersonville

3,2 su ottobre 01, 2012

Excellent location in a quiet neighborhood. The room was fantastic. Spacious, comfortable, bright and airy. The public space was well stocked with reading material also very comfortable. Well stocked kitchen. Lovely sunny deck outside my room. The food available was average. Overall, an excellent value.


Well decorated sea of calm on a busy weekend

4,0 su settembre 25, 2012

Really nice and simple space to call home while you're out of town. Clean and well decorated with easy access to a shared, well-appointed kitchen as well as breakfast included. I'll stay here again.


Room 3

3,4 su settembre 21, 2012

I liked the 2 newspapers. Great variety of food. The alarm clock doesn't seem to work. I had it "off" but it kept going on at midnight.


Clean, quiet, comfortable and low key

4,0 su settembre 12, 2012

The B&B House 5683 is in a beautiful area of Chicago (Andersonville/Edgewater) with great architecture, food, and shopping. We found it very clean and quiet. We plan to stay there again.


will be back...

4,4 su agosto 27, 2012

excellent stay...room was clean, nice, quiet, spacious. Loved the common areas...kitchen was superb. Nice choice if you want to be near Loyola or Northwestern.


Outstanding bed and breakfast.

5 su agosto 22, 2012

Beautiful, all around a wonderful place to stay. Will definitely stay here again on future visits to Chicago.


Visit To Chicago

4,0 su agosto 22, 2012

I loved it, especially my room in #1 as it is away from other rooms . I hope to return for another visit when I can enjoy Chicago further. They had three refridgerators stocked plus top of the counter goodies!. Edye From Las Vegas


Quick visit

3,4 su agosto 17, 2012

This place is so cute, I loved the steam shower. Lovely neighborhood.


Dreamland

4,6 su agosto 13, 2012

Charming modern B & B. Decor is outstanding. Kitchen is fully stocked for breakfast and snacking. Laptop computer available in beautiful living room area. Beds are very comfortable. My first look at the lodgings made me so glad that I had chosen this place! Lynne Gawlas---Room 5


A very pleasant stay

3,2 su agosto 10, 2012

Overall this was a very nice stay and exactly what I expected. The place is very thoughtfully designed and decorated, and my room (#2) was comfy and cozy - although the shower surround could've used a little extra cleaning... From check-in to breakfast to check-out, this is very much a do-it-yourself place where you're invited to make yourself at home. If you tend to be fussy or need a lot of attention, this isn't the place for you. Also be ready to climb a flight of stairs at the entry way, since all the guest rooms are upstairs. This is a unique place in a great neighborhood, and I would definitely stay here again. Thanks Erick!


Exceptional B&B in a very scenic neighborhood

4,0 su agosto 07, 2012

Our stay was very nice Room was better than expected and we did have some interaction with the cleanig lady and she was very helpful and kind


My family loved the place...

4,6 su agosto 03, 2012

I live in the neighborhood and my family stays at 5863 when they visit; we all love the place. Clean, stylish, comfortable and the rates are fair.


House 5863: Loved it

4,4 su agosto 03, 2012

My fiance and I stayed several nights last week and had a wonderful experience in Room 2. The only complaint would be the air conditioning was on full blast and it got a little cold at times. Thanks so much House 5863, your b and b is fantastic.


Very comfortable and clean.

4,6 su luglio 30, 2012

A very nice place to stay, quiet, relaxing and clean. Lots of fresh goodies to eat and snack on. Would definately stay again.


House 5863 July 2012

4,6 su luglio 28, 2012

Really beautiful rooms, comfortable common areas, and a nice balcony in a very pretty neighborhood. The staff was friendly and helpful.


Best place ever!

5 su luglio 23, 2012

I love House 5863. I return every summer when I come to Chicago on personal business. It's so comfortable, and the breakfast stuff is just great. An easy-breezy way to visit the city. And it is SUPER clean!!!!!


Weekend in chicago

4,2 su luglio 22, 2012

I loved that this was such a non-traditional b&b. The owners were non-intrusive yet friendly when we did see them. Really unique setting and would definitely stay there again!


Quick visit to Chi-town

3,4 su luglio 21, 2012

Really enjoyed the visit. This fit my needs for a clean, convenient place to stay. Self-service continental breakfast.


Great Place to Stay......

3,8 su luglio 18, 2012

We were in Chicago to visit family who didn't have enough room for everyone to stay with them. House 5863 was 4 blocks away and in a quiet, clean, charming location. The back patio is a great place to start your day. Everything was clean, beds were comfortable, and the place had everything you need for an enjoyable stay. If I get the opportunity to go back to Chicago, I'll stay there again.


Friendly place in pleasant neighbourhood

4,6 su luglio 15, 2012

I had chosen the smallest room, which was still ample. Information on the website is outstanding, complementary drinks and foods are plentiful and good quality. Relaxed atmosphere, 15 minutes walk to the lake, less to the Red line. I would easily come back here. Willem


Cozy and quiet. . . . . .

3,6 su luglio 13, 2012

Nicely appointed property in a cute neighborhood. I will certainly stay again next time I am in town to see friends.


Excellent.

4,2 su luglio 05, 2012

Had a four night stay in June 2012. The room and bathroom were very nice indeed; very new and well-designed. The bed was a delight. The kitchen was well-stocked and very clean. The owner was friendly and helpful with my brief inquiry. It was only five minutes walk from the subway, and there was a fantastic brunch place called M Henry nearby (on N Clark St). If you are looking for a slightly different, quiet place to stay in Chicago, with very much a 'hands-off' approach to letting you enjoy your visit, I thoroughly recommend it. John (London, UK.)


most enjyable stay in chicago

3,8 su luglio 03, 2012

a wonderful b&b. a quiet treelined chicago street. excellent in a very way. from karltons


A Very, Very Pleasant Surprise

4,0 su luglio 03, 2012

My family and I were truly impressed with the style, convenience and comfort of House 5863. We loved the room, the balcony over the garden, the convenience of the kitchen, and the overall ambience of the house. Both owners were so helpful when we needed them, but not "in your face" when you didn't. Fellow housemates were courteous and congenial. I fully recommend this B&B!


The Return Visit

2,8 su luglio 02, 2012

A Great Deal in a great city. We wondered why the bed was not made each day and the carpets do need to be changed in a few areas.


Awesome Time at House 5863

5 su giugno 24, 2012

My parents and I came to visit my sister who lives in the Andersonville area. She recommended House 5863. We stayed three nights and were very impressed. Rusty and Erick are great hosts. They went out of their way to talk with us about area activities, where to shop, to eat, and they even arranged bikes so we could tool around the lakefront on a beautiful day. Its really more like stay at a friend's house than a hotel. When we needed something he guys were there to help and otherwise just let us do our thing. We will definitely stay again on our next family visit.


Great place to stay in Chicago

4,0 su giugno 22, 2012

House 5863 is our favorite place to stay whenever we're in Chicago. Quiet residential area with plenty of (free) street parking, and only a ten minute walk from the train. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable, and the kitchen is well stocked.


Great B&B! BEAUTIFUL ROOMS.

4,4 su giugno 14, 2012

A little off the beaten path if you're wanting to hang out in downtown CHI, so you might want to rent a car. But if you're wanting to stay in the area, this place is absolutely gorgeous. As a late riser, I really liked that they kept a ton of food available in the kitchen so you could make breakfast any time you want.


a very nice B&B

4,0 su giugno 13, 2012

Very nice. Good place for parents to stay while visiting.


Great Place

3,8 su giugno 11, 2012

I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Great areas inside and out for visiting with friends/relatives. Beautiful flowers in outdoor areas. Nice to find a good place near our daughter on the north side.


Some Thoughts....

4,4 su giugno 09, 2012

Excellent location near Andersonville (& our daughter and son-in-law). For a first experience at a bed and breakfast, it was excellent. Highly recommended for a non-traditional Chicago visit.


Great place to stay

3,8 su giugno 09, 2012

Enjoyed the stay in this comfortable B&B, especially coffee on the back patio, overlooking many similar patios....Chicago style.


Nice stay

4,0 su maggio 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night a few weeks ago. This is a nice place to stay a few blocks off the lake in northern Chicago (Edgewater). The rates are very reasonable, and you are well-located easy walking distance from the El and from Andersonville. It's a clean, modern space, with some common areas and a nice deck. The rooms are a little loud, in that you can hear other guests moving about in other parts of the inn. But, when I was there, the guests were fairly quiet, so that was not a big deal. I would definitely stay here again.


House 5863 Wedding Stay

5 su maggio 22, 2012

We rented all five rooms for two days for a wedding that was held in the event space on the first floor. The owners were very nice and alwasy helpful. Our family, who stayed in the rooms, could not have been happier. I would book these rooms again without hesitation. Glenann


Modern, Clean, Unique, Convenient

4,6 su maggio 17, 2012

My wife, mother-in-law and I stayed here for my daughter's graduation at Loyola. We had an excellent experience. Very unique set-up for this B&B. Loved the help yourself kitchen. Only thing missing was a beer or wine in the frig but maybe that's a licensing issue. (Freezer wasn't working so nice ice for the water / soda.) Very clean rooms. Loved the robes! Our room also had a walk out deck which was relaxing. Overall a nice retreat within the city. Would definitely stay here again.


Nice location, great beds, but ....

3,4 su maggio 16, 2012

Most importantly, the beds were great and the place was immaculate. Breakfast was self serve and we wished there had been plain yogurt and skim milk available. There were eggs available to cook for yourself, but we weren't sure the refrigeration was adequate for them. But when we told the host that we drank regular decaf and did not want instant, they went out and got some for us within a few hours. Unfortunately, there were not enough seats for breakfast if more than one couple was dining at the same time. There was a table for four in the common room, but it was very small and would feel cramped with two couples who did not know each other. There was also a high table in the kitchen with two very uncomfortable back less stools. The rooms are furnished very simply and in a nice IKEA-style modern. But our room lacked comfortable chairs and there was no closet - just a rod on which to hang clothes in the open, and no rack on which to put one's suitcase. On the other hand, the common room itself was lovely, and the back porch overlooked a pretty garden. This is not the kind of B&B where you get fussed over by your hosts. But if you are not fussy about breakfast, you don't plan to spend a lot of time hanging around at the inn, you like to be left alone, and the quality of the bed and cleanliness are most important to you, it is a fine place to stay.


very good value

4,2 su maggio 11, 2012

rooms are large enough free food and drinks all day long computer and print available very good value and very close to the station


House 5863

4,6 su maggio 09, 2012

Great location and value........stayed three times so far.


Weekend stay-cation

4,0 su maggio 06, 2012

Took the dogs to the vet for the weekend, and headed to house 5863 for a stay-cation. Even though we were less than ten miles from home, it felt like a true vacation. The comfort and decor of the room, the food and beverages at our disposal in the full kitchen, all made it feel like we were someplace else.


We will return!

3,6 su aprile 29, 2012

It was nice to find a place to stay in this neighborhood. Everything was fine. We loved the decor and the bed was very comfortable. Good value and a great alternative to staying downtown or out by the airport when you really just wanted this neighborhood. Saved us time and money!


Will definately stay here again!

5 su aprile 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at House 5863. It is off the beaten path but that is why it is so special. Red Line was close and Lake Shore Drive was easy access. The owner met us at the door, showed us around, gave us directions. We loved the fact parking was free on street and breakfast was available all day long. We hope to return in the summer! Thanks for a great, relaxing stay in Chicago!


Good not great

3,2 su aprile 28, 2012

Nice rooms and common areas. Breakfast choices were lacking, Sugar Oatmeal? Worst of all was Folgers coffee. You can't advertise youself as hip and serve Folgers - Get Real.


Always what we want

4,0 su aprile 19, 2012

We stay at House 5863 when we're in Chicago (and when there's availability). The area of town, is one where my wife used to live, and one which we always enjoy visiting. House 5863 is always easy to use and the kitchen area well-stocked for breakfast (and late-night snacks). I always recommend it to friends staying in Chicago.


Great Value

3,8 su aprile 14, 2012

Close to public transport, clean and roomy. Recommended for budget conscious traveller who wants a little more than something basic.


Fantastic Stay!

4,4 su marzo 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights and were so impressed with everything about this place! I have been recommending it to everyone. Next time I'm staying in Chicago it will be my first choice!


High quality B&B on the North side

3,2 su marzo 10, 2012

There are not many places to stay on the North side and this is a very good one, close to Loyola and the Red line. It is modern, not charming, which is a plus. Very clean and in a pleasant, quiet neighborhood. Also food is available in the kitchen any time and you make your own breakfast. Good approach for people like us who have other things to do in Chicago and don't want to spend the whole morning eating a formal breakfast.


4days

4,2 su febbraio 29, 2012

5863 is a cool place. It is quiet, the beds are flawless. Food is not served, but the kitchen is fully stocked with snacks, fruits, sodas, everything you need for breakfast. You can make your own omelet. It is not designed for lunch or dinner, as it is assumed those will be partaken elsewhere. Our room had a giant shower with a super steam bath. Maid service excellent. House 5863 is a fastidiously appointed venue. It's a great place to stay if one is visiting the neighborhoods of north Chicago, eg. Edgewater, Andersonville and nearby colleges. Doc1290


Nice place, but poor customer service from owner.

2,8 su febbraio 25, 2012

My partner and I reserved a room for Valentine's Day evening and were both very excited to stay at a modern B&B in the city. The room I reserved had everything we wanted, especially the steam room so we could relax and de-stress. We found the kitchen to be well-stocked, except for the fact that it was all cheap food and most of it expired. We were able to look past that and realize it's not a Hilton Hotel. The lounge area and dinner area were also very nice and very relaxing. So overall the stay was very nice and we enjoyed our night away. However, a few days after our stay I received an e-mail from the owner scolding us for not being considerate of the other guests staying that evening. Come to find out another guest had complained about us in a review on another website saying we were very noisy and came in "drunk-ish." The owner even copied the review posted by the other tenant that evening which included very demeaning and derogatory slander. The owner never even asked if anything in the review was truthful. I was honest with him in my return e-mail stating none of those comments were true and that we had considered staying there again but after being treated the way we were we would NEVER stay there again. He even got upset with my partner for posting a review on a different site and sent me yet ANOTHER e-mail stating that was uncalled for and that it didn't matter to him because they have "good guests" who stay there regularly. All-in-all I found the place to be very nice and a great place to stay, but the owner was very rude in what he did and I will never be staying there again.


GREAT B&B

4,0 su gennaio 30, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at this great B&B this past weekend. We thought it was a great place to stay. Very clean and really liked the self serve on the breakfast. They thought of everything you would want to eat before you hit the city of Chicago. We would recommend this place to anyone. Terry&Gary


Best place to stay in Chicago

5 su gennaio 17, 2012

No hassle street parking, very clean rooms, common rooms and neighborhood. Andersonville is a gem and I am recommending this B&B to everyone I come in contact with that needs to stay on North Side for any period of time. The owners are very conscientious of their guests. The rooms are beautiful and clean and the Euro kitchen is fantastic. I'm staying again in February.


Modern style with charm

4,0 su gennaio 10, 2012

First time staying here, loved it. Modern with all the charm of a country B&B. Will be back again.


Just Gorgeous!!!!

5 su dicembre 26, 2011

One word goes with House 5863. Gorgeous and comfortable. A must stay over for any traveler. Thank you Erick for everything. You were a gracious and knowledgeable host.


great........

5 su dicembre 26, 2011

I have stayed here at least a dozen times and love it every time !!! Dianne Nason


Urban tranquility

4,6 su dicembre 22, 2011

This b&b was both simple and luxurious... streamlined, ikea-inspired decor, wonderful surprises like the steam room in room 3 and the terrace in room 4... quiet and luxurious, but comfortable and homey at the same time. We found ourselves wanting to get 'home' early so we could spend more time here. Highly recommended.


wonderful Inn

4,0 su dicembre 10, 2011

Our stay was pleasant and we have no complaints...the room was clean, the kitchen generously stocked and we only wish we could have stayed longer.


My New Favorite Place to Stay

5 su dicembre 05, 2011

This was an awesome experience. The bed was so comfortable I never wanted to get out of it. The steam shower was perfect after the cold windy days. The entire establishment was very clean and pleasant. This is by far now my favorite place to stay in Chicago and I will be back again and again.


First time visitors

2,8 su dicembre 01, 2011

This location was wonderfully close to family and in a nice, quiet neighborhood. The kitchen is nicely appointed; unfortunately staff restocking breakfast items at 7:00 am were very loud. The bed was comfortable, but our rug hadn't been vacuumed and the bed quilt and linens are a little worn. We couldn't regulate the temperature in our room and it was chilly in the evenings. One of the lamps in our room wasn't working. The common area is very nice and we would stay at House 5863 again.


1st stay at a B&B

3,8 su novembre 23, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay. My only complaint is that the water pressure in Shower #2 was pretty weak. The other guests did not seem to experience the same problem. Great location!


Love it!!!!

5 su novembre 22, 2011

Great location for us. Eric is a great host and the only problem is that they are booked up sometimes. This is what a B&B is all about......


Hands Off Approach

3,6 su novembre 17, 2011

This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast, and I stayed for two days during the beginning of November. The management approach was very hands off, and at times it felt that I was just staying in house all by myself. The rooms were clean and modern, as was the kitchen. Fresh fruit, cereal, and pastries are available for breakfast, as well as throughout the rest of the day. Cookies and light snacks are also left out for anyone. Parking was great - very easy street parking. The neighborhood is cute, and I enjoyed walking around.


Clean, light and atttractive

3,4 su novembre 14, 2011

Lovely rooms, but the hide-a-bed was pretty awful, and I had to ask for bedding, even though they knew I needed to use it. I liked the idea of a self-serve breakfast, and the kitchen was well equipped, but I couldn't figure out the hot water thing for my tea. The rooms are very clean and light and attractive. I will probably stay there again, but not if I need two separate beds in the same room.


Great B&B!

4,6 su novembre 12, 2011

Great place to stay -- kitchen full of goodies each morning and during the day. Rooms nice and clean, service great. Comfortable beds! Thoroughly enjoyed staying here!


Great place! Very nice area and easy on-street parking.

4,4 su novembre 07, 2011

Love this place! My third stay. Small adjustments needed in bath. Notified owner after my check-out. Expect issues to be fixed.


Dan's Wedding

5 su novembre 07, 2011

Erick My brother, sister, daughter and I were all delighted with our stay at your B&B. Each of the rooms offered something different and the kitchen was well stocked and allowed us ample choices for breakfast and snacks. We had no trouble finding parking and the quiet neighborhood was nice as well. Near perfect!! We needed more laffy taffy... Earl D. Wright


Loved It

4,8 su novembre 03, 2011

This was my second visit to House 5863. It exceeded my expectations again. Very clean, well stocked kitchen and overall a pleasant place to stay. Will continue to stay there whenever I am in Chicago.


Fantastic place to stay!

3,8 su novembre 01, 2011

My (almost) 3 year old son and I checked into this B&B and immediately fell in love! He truly enjoyed all the kid cable channels and snacks and drinks. I loved the beautiful decor, artwork, comfy bed, steam shower in the room and great coffee every morning. This is a beautiful, comfortable and no-hassle place to stay. We will stay here next time we visit our friends in Chicago.


House 5563

4,0 su ottobre 27, 2011

Love the easy access, friendly advise about where to park/go out and location.


Home Away from Home at House 5863

4,6 su ottobre 27, 2011

I cannot say enough good things about this B&B! I loved the "make yourself at home" approach to use of the kitchen and other common areas (deck, patio, living room). The owners were gracious, accommodating and helpful. My husband & I booked the room with the steam bath. After each long day of sightseeing, we were very happy to return to the B&B to relax & recharge in their turbo-charged steam bath before heading out for dinner. The king-sized bed was uber comfortable and made for a restful night's sleep. I can't wait to return!


Guest House 5863

3,8 su ottobre 21, 2011

My first stay at 5863 was excellent. Room was comfortable,location of facility met my needs ,and proprietor/s obviously care about their guest.


terrific place to stay & feel safe!

5 su ottobre 20, 2011

The "Inn Keeper" was extremely helpful & made us feel so welcome. He had several suggestions as to where we could ...walk & find a great restaurant! This was my second visit & I really enjoy the location to Loyola! Sincerely, Gayle Carloss


House 5863

5 su ottobre 18, 2011

Great stay! Thank you so much for a beautiful place to stay in a great neighborhood & at the last minute to boot! We loved it.


Nights Stay 5863

3,6 su ottobre 14, 2011

Good neighborhood. Nice facility. Nothing special about the breakfast. Total lack of owner/manager contact. It felt like a do-it-yourself B&B which is not what I expected.


Affordable comfort in Chicago

5 su ottobre 14, 2011

Great place to stay tucked into a quiet neighborhood. It's not in the middle of downtown, which is a plus. Close to the red line, easy to get anywhere. Highly recommended.


Great week in Chicago

3,4 su ottobre 12, 2011

Our room was clean and our bed was comfy. We had the only room with a bathroom across the hall locked by a combination which think would be okay for a night or two but after 5 days I was wishing for my "own". Our host was wonderful and always available . The breakfast including many options but was the same everyday. Again, for a couple of days would have been fine. All in all, we had a great visit and would stay here again!


Nice Digs

3,8 su ottobre 11, 2011

Great place and location. Highly recommend having internet access in order to get proper access codes. Not your typical B&B but in a good way, you are allowed to come and go as you please without feeling like you are keeping others up and breakfast is on your schedule. You will appreciate this if you are going to checkout the Hopleaf!


Outstanding and Superb

5 su ottobre 09, 2011

My stay at House 5863 exceeded my expectation. The owner, Eric, was a charm. He was always available and never seem to intrude on his guest. The breakfast was continental and I like that. I don't usually like sitting with other people or being rushed on time to sit for breakfast. Thank you for a great stay.


Incredibly Beautiful and Just the Best Place I've stayed in.

5 su ottobre 08, 2011

This place was just absolutely incredible. I've stayed in numerous place but the owner was always available for my entire family needs. We rented the entire place for a weekend and the owner was literally steps away from us. Just took a phone call or walking downstairs to see him since he did live in the establishment. The place felt safe and secure. Rooms were spotless clean. The breakfast was continental which certainly I liked. I hate sitting around talking endless chatter with other guest. So this was a plus for me. Some people might not like it but I certainly do. Also, the idea of a keyless system was really helpful instead of carrying keys with you and certainly losing them would be a problem. Overall, Great Place and Great Service. A recommendation to anyone.


Nice place but some flaws

3,0 su ottobre 03, 2011

I picked this place based on the web site and it was clean and convienant to where I wanted to be, but the owner is non-existent, no welcome, no dropping by to see how were were, no personal touches whatsoever. Also they use a keyless system but there is a sign in the kitchen about room keys. I brought this up to the owner and he never came by to take the misleading sign down. Also the key codes are sequential so I could bust into anyone elses room and the same with them to mine. Also the day I checked in it was very warm out and each room does not have AC, so I had to sleep in 74 degree heat with the windows open in a noisey neighborhood. The next day I found a thermostat for the house and turned it down to 70 and that was much better. The only other issue is that there was no milk my last day, So I couldn't eat my bowl of cereal or have milk in my coffee. Like I said, the owner needs to pay close attention to the property and at least drop by a couple times a day and check on the guests to ensure their comfort and the kitchen is stocked.


Pre-wedding visit

4,0 su settembre 26, 2011

The accomodations were very nice and the host was exceptional. Our only complaint concerned the shower: the water pressure was minimal and it was almost impossible to shampoo your hair. I ended up shampooing in the lavatory. Otherwise a great place to stay in the city.


Urban Retreat

5 su settembre 23, 2011

I am happy to have found the perfect place to enjoy Chicago in the heart of my daughter's friendly neighborhood. I walked to her place as well as other area pubs and restaurants. My car was parked on the street and parking was never a problem. The deck and garden area were beautiful and tranquil.


Is a nice place to stay

4,0 su settembre 20, 2011

This place is a nice modern take on a Bed and Breakfast. Everyone has their own room with a lock and then there is an open living room and an open kitchen. It is great because you can eat or hang around anytime you want, rather than just eat breakfast whenever the head of the B&B wants you to, like most places. My only complaint is that we could not control the temperature in our room and it was very cold. But that was not a really big deal. The neighborhood is great with lots of restaurants and bars and the price is fair. I would recommend this place to anyone and plan on staying there again.


Make sure you contact House 5863 directly or you could be locked out!

3,8 su settembre 19, 2011

Hi I loved this bed & breakfast. The rooms were really nice, the kitchen well equipped and everything was very clean. I loved the backyard-wonderfully landscaped and very peaceful for eating breakfast. My only caveat is that you make sure you contact their website directly in order to share info on check in times etc. I did not know this and had a few nervous moments when I arrived and noone answered the door. I called and spoke to the owner and he rectified things immediately but to save yourself some confusion, contact the owners directly.


House 5863 in Chicago

4,2 su settembre 08, 2011

We never met the innkeeper during our 3 day stay. We were given a lock combination for the front door and our bedroom. Breakfast was continental style, which actually worked out very well. There was a wide selection of items and a full kitchen available. There was a comfortable living room and we felt right at home. We received fresh linens daily, but our bed was never made when we returned at the end of the day. Other than that one negative, we had an enjoyable time and would definitely return to House 5863.


Outstanding is an understatement

5 su settembre 05, 2011

I reserved all five of the second floor rooms for out-of-town guests and they were completely bowled over by the setting and the service. My brother and my cousin both said they wanted to move in permanently! My sister-in-law took lots of photos to show off her luxurious accommodations. I definitely plan to make House 5863 my go-to "guest quarters." Karen Delaney, Chicago.


House 5863

4,0 su settembre 02, 2011

Very pleasant stay and close proximity to daughter. Parking can be a problem; too many steps for people who have a difficult time with climbing steps. Loved the garden in back. The food they placed in the kitchen was very good, fresh, and a wide variety.


House5863

3,4 su settembre 01, 2011

A nice B&B. Room (#4) somewhat akwardly designed, but spacious and generally nice. Very nice deck immediately off our room. Nice neighborhood. Plenty available for self-service breakfast. TV channel directory & Chicago guide book in room. Main negative: TV picture continually pixillating. Other guests reported same problem.


Moving Day

4,0 su agosto 30, 2011

I was in Chicago to help my daughter move from one apartment to another. The movers arrived, moved all the boxes we packed to the new apartment. The new place was full of unpacked boxes, no air, and no place for mother to stay. My daughter looked up bed and breakfast, called, and obtained a reservation within an hour. The room was perfect, kitchen and garden great.


excellent

4,8 su agosto 27, 2011

Loved that I can eat breakfast at my leisure, and kitchen was available when I needed it along with the snacks.


definitely stay there again!

3,8 su agosto 26, 2011

I stayed 4nights/5days in room 5. Food was good, the atmosphere was just like home. My favorite part of the house was the garden. It was so beautiful in the morning! The only cons is there are not many restaurants in the neighborhood.


Thomas review

5 su agosto 26, 2011

I was very impressed by how clean and bright and fresh the B&B was. The kitchen is huge with so many amenities! My room was wonderful, the bed SO comfortable!! The access was unusual with a keypad for the front door and the room, but oh,so easy and convenient! I will DEFINITELY stay here again!


Thank you for a comfortable stay

3,6 su agosto 15, 2011

very convenient and comfortable. Nice area to relax in. Great to be able to make a meal at own pace/timing. thank you - I'll be back!


Place is amazing!

5 su agosto 15, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed the comfortable setting of the house. It was a relaxing environment. The Edgewater area is full of fun things to do and places to go. We had a wonderful time.


a botannical sanctuary!

4,4 su agosto 11, 2011

My stay at House 5863 was a welcome retreat as I visited family nearby. The room was simple, modern , very clean and met my expectations. The courtyard was a grotto complete with fountain, trees, vining plants, and a sense of serenity that helped me have a little blissful mental space at the start of each day as I sipped my well-made coffee. The continental breakfast was very complete and available without time constraints. There was a computer handy to suit my needs. The mattress was firm enough for me to get a good night's sleep. The neighborhood is friendly for visitors and within walking distance of many eateries, and mass transit. I would most certainly want to return for a future stay!


Awesome as always!

4,8 su agosto 08, 2011

This is the fourth time we stayed at House 5863. We love it. It's clean, well-located, and reasonably-priced.


Repeat customer

4,2 su agosto 05, 2011

We always stay here when we visit our daughter and family who live nearby.


Pleasant North Chicago B & B

4,4 su luglio 29, 2011

A very pleasant B & B in a residential neighborhood about 6 miles north of the Loop. I had no difficulty finding a parking space on the street. The decor is tasteful and unfussy, a nice change from the cluttered look of many bed and breakfasts. The coffee in the pot was cold--maybe another guest turned it off after he had eaten breakfast--but there was a nice selection of cereals, breads,juice and fruit.


Great place for a group!

4,8 su luglio 28, 2011

There were several of us in our group, so we rented the entire place for the weekend. This is an excellent place to do that. We had the living room to gather and chat through out the day. And it was just US! Breakfast and snack offerings were perfect. It was excellent!!!


Great urban B&B

3,4 su luglio 27, 2011

We were looking for a "home away from home" for short visits with our son in Chicago. Liked the location, walkable to shopping & eating area of N.Clark. Parking was not a problem, but Senn High School,directly across the street,was not in session. We were fine with the make your own breakfast and/or enjoy a light continental that was provided. Access to the well equipped kitchen (w. morning newspapers!), computer in comfortable central living space, and quiet back deck were appreciated. The room/bath were very clean, beds comfortable. If you like friendly banter with innkeepers, this probably isn't your kind of B&B. Never saw them. We liked it!


Clean, reasonable price, helpful staff

3,8 su luglio 25, 2011

They helped me dry my clothes after getting stuck in a downpour. Lots of art, modern decor. Nice common room, seats ten, has a computer and printer. No organized breakfast, but food (always the same food) available all day.


Just perfect!

5 su luglio 24, 2011

Beautiful interiors, fantastic breakfast kitchen, HUGE bed, have recommended it to all my friends who live in Chicago as somewhere for visitors to stay. Couldn't rate it higher!


Great Weekend Get Away

4,2 su luglio 24, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at House 5863 several times and have never been disappointed. The room are very modern, clean, and comfortable. The food they offer is very nice. We always look forward to starying there when we come to Chicago. Also, we have never had to pay for parking which is a real bonus in Chicago!


A bit of Heaven in Chicago!

4,6 su luglio 15, 2011

Modern, quiet, clean, spacious, tasteful, and GREAT breakfast stuff and coffee available! WiFi, air, light. I love this place!!!


Chicago Chicago

4,8 su luglio 14, 2011

Just like to thank Eric for the great hospitality afforded us while staying at House 5863. We are already making plans with some friends to come back to Chicago for another visit. Those plans will definitely include staying at House 5863. Thanks again Eric. Bob and Theresa


Nice comfortable place to stay in Adndersonville

3,8 su luglio 08, 2011

This is our third time staying at House 5863. We love staying there. It is walking distance to public transportation, Andersonville and the lake front. The house does not have staff onsite so you only see guests. The kitchen is well stocked with snacks and breakfast foods. I like the addition of a computer in the common room, makes it easy to look up things during the stay. We'll be back again.


Enjoyed the Stay

4,0 su luglio 07, 2011

We recently stayed at House 5863 and really enjoyed it. I love the location as it pertains to the Lake Shore Trail and Lake Michigan. It's my favorite end of Chicago and we go there fairly often. House 5863 is a much better choice than staying in a hotel. I am a bike rider and I had my bike with me. I rented the available garage and that worked out great. It gave me piece of mind knowing that I always had a parking space and a place to safely store my bike. I would definitely consider staying there again. As a matter of fact I've already recommended it to others.


New Yorkers visiting Chicago

4,8 su luglio 06, 2011

The perfect place in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of Anderson filled with excellent restaurants, fun cafes, The rooms were well appointed, bed restful, shower scrupulously clean, and we loved the breakfast options and the generosity of the place. The owner is a friendly face and then he gave us privacy and quiet. Well done.


Excellent stay

3,4 su luglio 05, 2011

Close to Andersonville neighborhood. Convenient to the red line CTA so easy to get downtown. My room was very nice for what I needed and the bathroom was great. (Steam shower) Having the kitchen area with snacks/breakfast and coffeepot was very convenient. Quiet except for trash pickup in the mornings. Do not expect to see staff unless you are there in the midmorning.


Wonderful place to stay!!

5 su luglio 03, 2011

This is a great place to stay. The kitchen was fully stocked with anything that you needed, and if there were extras that you needed, all you had to do was ask. House 5863 was a very clean establishement. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Chicago, this is it!!


Absolutely a Great Stay

5 su giugno 23, 2011

Rented the entire house for my family and the owner was incredible courteous and well knowledgeable about Chicago and it's neighborhoods. I would recommend it to anyone. Book early since I tried to book for some future dates and they were completely full.


A gem of a find

4,4 su giugno 22, 2011

The location was perfect for our visit. We found the facilities to be comfortable, modern, quiet, and very private. Would stay there again in a heartbeat if we're ever in the area.


Cbb.01

4,2 su giugno 18, 2011

I like the keypad for entry. I did not have to worry about late check-in.


Kate's comments

4,6 su giugno 14, 2011

This is the best B+B I have stayed at! The rooms are spacious and so tastefully furnished. The help-yourself-all-day-breakfast-bar was wonderful and with a well-stocked healthy variety of food. And as we didn't have a lap-top with us, it was great to have use of a computer there. I thoroughly recommend it.


Beautiful, relaxing B&B

3,8 su giugno 11, 2011

This B&B is beautiful, relaxing, very clean and quiet. I did not meet any of the owners or other people staying. I did meet someone doing the cleaning. The interaction between me and House 5863 was limited (email and 1 phone call) and very efficient. My 1 phone call was to see if I can check in earlier than the 3pm time. I had access to the kitchen 24 hours. The B&B is in a beautiful, quiet and safe neighborhood with an amazing looking public high school across the street. I found the 3 block walk from the train station to be long. It's about a 30 min train ride to downtown Chicago.


Great place to stay in Andersonville

4,0 su giugno 10, 2011

Location was wonderful. Decor was better than i have ever seen. Close to restaurant, bars, shops, etc. Located in a quaint, quiet neighborhood. I absolutely recommend and will stay here whenever I visit Chicago in the future.


Lovely place to stay

4,0 su giugno 03, 2011

Lovely place to stay - the rooms were wonderful, and the location great. A little pricey, but for the room quality and neighborhood, worth it.


Definitely urban - definitely hip. But-

3,0 su giugno 02, 2011

If you enjoy a B&B where the host cooks you a fabulous breakfast and shares local lore, this place is not for you. The location was convenient to local attractions; the rooms wsere very clean, the bed comfortable, the plumbing functional. However, the guest is pretty much on his/her own: you'll get an email with access codes that allow you to set yourself in; you may or may not actually meet your host during the stay; and when you leave, you can let yourself out. The food is - well, okay. There's a do-it-yourself coffee maker, bagels, breadstuffs, yogurt and fruit (our bananas were too green to be edible). It's definitely a serve-yourself program. Parking is - urban. Expect to walk half a block from street parking to the front door. However, the decor is bright and cheerful. City amenities like good restaurants and transportation are a short walk away. An acceptable value.


Great stay!

4,6 su giugno 01, 2011

We stayed for the weekend to see a cubs game. This place was great to stay at. Quite area and close to the Loop. We will stay here again. We loved this place.


5863 Great

4,8 su maggio 30, 2011

Nice Patio Room Pleasant Atmosphere in pleasant neighborhood


Great place to stay

4,4 su maggio 22, 2011

I was in Chicago for a weekend with my wife. This was my first time at a B & B. The room was excellent. The coffee and and kithchen area was fabulous. I will definetly stay there again next time I am in Chicago. I am thankful for my first Bed and Breakfast stay being so wonderful.


a great find in Edgewater

4,2 su maggio 22, 2011

House 5863 is a unique B and B where you are very much on your own and we actually enjoy that approach. The B and B itself is a lovely and modern home with everything that you could want including a sweet deck and fantastic patio. We recommend it for travelers to that area.


Spencers Stay at House 5863

5 su maggio 11, 2011

Great room, clean and very well appointed. The next morning, breakfast choices were awesome as was the great cup of coffee. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends. Thanks for a great stay. Spencer Howard


Very nice place to stay

3,2 su maggio 11, 2011

Like: The most comfortable bed never slept in. Generous room and bathroom. Quiet, no noise except by others having breakfast early in the kitchen. Very nice, amazing, helpful, acomodating and disposed owner. Complete breakfast, clean kitchen. Dislike: Too far away from downtown if no car, no cleaning of the room diarly (dusty floor).


3 night stay

4,4 su maggio 04, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at House 5863 and chose it because our son lives in an apartment near by. We were very happy with the stay. The room and the whole set up were very comfortable. The food for breakfast and snacks throughout the day were great. The location is so convenient to the "L" as well. Because of the weather we did not take advantage of the back deck but it looked lovely. We recommend this B and B and would return for sure.


Easter in Chicago

2,8 su aprile 30, 2011

There was no cable TV service during our stay from 04-21-11 to 04-25-11. The low grade on the cleaning only refers to the floor in the room (#1). It may have been vacumned but not damp mopped. As a result, when walking in bare feet, my feet picked up dirt. All in all, staying at House 5863 works out very well for us.


Great value!

4,0 su aprile 22, 2011

House 5863 was very quiet and pleasant, and we enjoyed the modern decor. Kitchen was well-stocked with breakfast bars, cereals, breads, fruit, eggs, milk and juice that you could enjoy anytime. There were also pots and pans for you to cook if you wished to! It was close to restaurants in the Andersonville neighborhood and close to the red line subway. The owners were very accommodating in letting us check out an hour later than usual. We feel like we got a great value and we'd definitely stay here again!


Great Place in the Heart of the City

4,4 su aprile 17, 2011

This is a great place to stay on the northside. We stayed in the Room 3. It has a super cool steam shower. It's quiet and the beds are nice and firm. The one thing to note is that the parking situation in the neighborhood can be difficult.


review house 5863

3,4 su aprile 16, 2011

I like the location which is near to Chicago. Great location for my daughter for campus visit. The location is quiet, clean and safe. The house is kept very clean and tidy. The only complain I had was the YV was not working when I was there and if you stay in room 2, the bathroom is across the hall and is inconvenient. Other than that, I have good impression of the place and I will definitely going back when in Chicago.


Ideal Location

3,4 su aprile 14, 2011

With family nearby and no close hotels this was the perfect location. There was a wide variety of food available in the kitchen area. Fruits, snack bars, candy, cereal, frozen waffles, pop tarts, and many teas. There was a stove top, toaster oven, fridge. We enjoyed the common sitting area and it gave us a perfect place to visit with family. The outside area looked very inviting. It was nice to be left to ourselves and not bugged by the hosts. The only con is that their washer is throwing off rust onto the bedding and towels so that even though I am sure they were clean since the rust reminded you of blood spots it was a bit offsetting. The hosts were gracious about getting us some different towels that had less rust. We would definitely stay here again.


Review of House 5863, Chicago

4,0 su marzo 09, 2011

Our stay was enjoyable and a value in the Lincoln Square Ravenswood area of Chicago. The innkeeper was friendly and helpful. We would defintely stay ther again.


B&B Experience

4,2 su febbraio 24, 2011

Good food/beverage options. Wish there was an ice machine or guests would refill ice trays.


Just Absolutely Great. Would recommend to anyone.

5 su gennaio 23, 2011

Just Absolutely Great. Price was right and the place was warm and quiet. Would recommend to anyone. Great place on the Northside of Chicago and the owner was very helpful.


I'm gong back there

3,6 su gennaio 21, 2011

Great value and a nice ambience. I'll stay there again.


Awaiting new Grandbaby

4,2 su gennaio 19, 2011

I stayed in 3 rooms awaiting the arrival of a new grandbaby. Eric was outstanding at accommodating me. Each room had it's own advantages. Room 3 was the largest. Room 1 is my favorite. I love the large window and street view. It also has a great shower head. Room 2 was a good value because I spent most of my time with family. All the TV channels were great too. My only suggestion would be that a hook for bathrobes/clothes in the Room 2 bathroom would be nice.


2 night stay

4,0 su gennaio 13, 2011

We stayed 2 nights. Nice hip place. Our bathroom wasn't attached the first night but no big deal. Walked to the El to go downtown, wasn't too far of a walk but about half hour train ride to downtown. Could easily find barking. Lots of different snacks to eat, we made waffles the one morning. Could have more counter space in kitchen for those that would like to cook.


Quiet, Enjoyable, Very Relaxing

5 su gennaio 12, 2011

The only word that I can say about House 5863 is Outstanding. The owner was superb and was always available either at the Bed & Breakfast, email or cell phone. The owner lives downstairs so I felt secure. It was quiet, enjoyable and beautiful. The decor is great and trendy. Love the king size beds (Incredibly comfortable) as well as the Plasma TV's in all the rooms. Great Kitchen amenities like continental breakfast that provides oatmeal, cereal, daily fresh croissants, orange juice, coffee, tea, etc. I would recommend House 5863 to any person looking for great lodging on the north side of Chicago. Great Job Erick and thanks for everything.


VERY comforable

4,6 su gennaio 04, 2011

My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at House 5863. The location is nice and quiet but close to the EL... the room was nice though next time we'll be SURE to book a room with an in-suite bathroom so we don't have to trek across the hall. The kitchen was nice and we plan to return next summer when the backyard is in full bloom. We like this place very much! I think it's our new "Chicago" place. Staying downtown is nice but this is such a wonderful, homey place and our hosts were very welcoming and it's just a much different experience than a hotel.


Incredible Stay. Would Stay Again.

5 su dicembre 28, 2010

Just absolutely calm, quiet and beautiful. Clean and Host was helpful with all my questions. Kitchen was well stocked with anything and everything. Close to Restaurants, Transportation. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.


Outstanding, Great Stay

5 su dicembre 17, 2010

Outstanding and Great Stay. Bed & Breakfast owner was friendly and courteous. Was always available for any of my questions. Great place to visit and quiet rooms. Next time I will reserve Room 3. The lovely couple staying in Room 3 told me about the Huge Steam Room. Thank you for a great stay.


nice

3,4 su dicembre 16, 2010

nice place. will stay there again. was missing minor things such as facial tissue in the room we stayed in and an extra wastebasket in the living area. I would have like some night lights in the room too. there is nothing worse than trying to navigate a room you are not familiar with in the middle of the night. we couldnt control the heat either. again, the overall experience was great. these are minor details


Great place to stay...very staisfied.

3,8 su dicembre 06, 2010

Definitely will go back, although the price is a little above my budget. If you want to treat yourself to a special place to stay, you will not be dissapointed. The room was so nice, all the furnishings were clean and modern. The artistic feel gives such a good vibe. Minor issue with the temperature being a little cold, so bring robe and slippers in winter! The continental breakfast was as expected, and the sleek kitchen is spectacular. Location is fantastic, quiet neighborhood, easy access to food and fun.


House 5863

4,6 su dicembre 05, 2010

This B&B was recommended by my daughter who lives in the neighborhood. It was quiet with lovely views and easy access to snacks as well as breakfast. The room was tastefully decorated (FINALLY! - someone who understands the elegance of understated decor) and convenient to public transportation. Very nice experience which we will do again.


We will be back

5 su dicembre 03, 2010

We almost had to cancel or stay at House 5863... but was so happy we did not have to once we got there!! We loved our stay, our room, and we slept like babies!!! We will stay there again. Thanks!!!!


Great Hotel Alternative on Northside of Chicago

4,6 su novembre 17, 2010

We took a last minute jaunt to Chicago on a whim and didn't think to plan ahead for a hotel. When we started looking we discovered that everything is downtown and there are few places to stay north toward Andersonville and Evanston. We call around and by luck found House 5863. What a find! Its on a quiet street across from a great park. Nice residential setting. Room was exceprionally clean and very nicely decorated. Not your typical B&B experience with commual breakfast. Instead the fully stocked kitchen is available to all guests to munch as they please. We had a great stay and would highly recommend the place to others.


Fantastic night

5 su novembre 16, 2010

It was just a luck to find this place! It's like hidden pearl in the jungle of Chicago! Very cozy! Very clean! Stuff extremely nice and help full! I'll be back someday...! Thanks! Me & her


godd value, convenient location

3,2 su novembre 05, 2010

Very comfortable and convenient place to stay. No frills, but we didn't need any. Would definitely stay again.


Nice area- needs new linens and towels

3,0 su ottobre 20, 2010

The concept for this B&B is pretty good. It is in a hip, up-and-coming area of town. We had a great room with a big window that looked out onto the street. The hotel is close to restaurants and the L. The only problem that we had were the spots that were all over our towels and sheets. I don't doubt that they were clean but still spotty. I'd rather not pay almost $200 a night to be welcomed with dirty looking sheets and towels. We would love to come back, but I hope that we don't have to sleep on the blanket that we brought next time.


Great Place

5 su ottobre 09, 2010

Definitely a very welcoming, home-like experience without the "group" meal setting. Love the contemporary decor/feel of all the rooms!


As Advertised

3,4 su settembre 26, 2010

Conveniently located in Edgewater, close to bus and El. A quiet, leafy, residential neighborhood, good for strolling. Food is available at all times and there is no set time for breakfast--a live and let live attitude. Pleasant outdoor deck and common room.


Chamring

4,6 su agosto 29, 2010

Was very pleasantly surprised how clean and nice the accommodations were. I would most definitely stay again and recommend to my friends.


Fun cool getaway

4,0 su agosto 22, 2010

Loved the quiet street, the a/c, the minimalist decor. The bed was very comfy. Plenty of breakfast foods and snacks.


overnight stay in House 5863

5 su luglio 30, 2010

My sister-inlaw and I stayed at House 5863 as an overnight stay while in Chicago. It was better than we ever imagined! The room and bath were spotless and welcoming. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony visiting the garden area. It was in a wonderful little neighborhood and we were able to walk to Andersonville for shopping and lunch. We are already planning on visiting again with our husbands. Thanks for the wonderful experience House 5863 and thanks for the phone call help and patience when we needed some extra assistance!


Home Away From Home

5 su agosto 05, 2009

House 5863 was outstanding! I immediately felt at home. Beautifully decorated, extremely clean and fresh. Well stocked kitchen. Andersonville is a great area to explore with many wonderful restaurants and stores.


House 5863

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $99 - $189
  • Recensioni (252) 4,2
  • Camere 5

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7736825217
  • Numero di Fax 1-7739618912

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina