Hidden Lake Guesthouse Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
114 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

hidden lake

4,6 su agosto 03, 2014

The room was very cozy and set up well. Our stay was during an ownership change. We met the new owner, she was very nice.Prior to our stay we were notified by the new owner of the change.Hidden lake was very nice and convenient to all the wineries.


super stay

5 su aprile 27, 2014

we've stayed in a dozen B&Bs in five states and Hidden Lake was simply the best, hands down. everything was first class.pastoral, peaceful location a definite plus. getting to know one of the owners a little bit was a big bonus -- super lady. we're looking forward to a return visit soon.


we'll be back!

5 su dicembre 08, 2013

Our hosts were wonderful to talk to and the room was more than we expected. It was very hard to leave! We will definitely be back again soon. MaryJo made us chocolate covered strawberries and they were probably the best ones we've ever had. Thanks for a wonderful trip!!


Excellent!!!

4,8 su novembre 21, 2013

Very quiet, new, super service, food was great overall wonderful


11/3/13

5 su novembre 17, 2013

Nice place, great people. wonderful food. Highly recommended.


The BEST B&B we've stayed at so far!

5 su novembre 01, 2013

John and Mary Jo have outdone themselves as owners of the establishment. The food was sooo yummy and the rooms were perfect. I highly recommend this B&B to all my friends and hopefully we'll get to come back soon. I didn't want to leave. It was just so very pleasant and relaxing.


Great Stay at Hidden Lake B&B

5 su ottobre 31, 2013

Rooms, home, and grounds were all very lovely. Breakfast was not only delicious but beautiful to behold.


Great romantic get-away

4,6 su ottobre 30, 2013

My husband and I reserved two nights at Hidden Lakes Bed and Breakfast. The room was beautiful, and the service and food were great. The location is ideal for nature lovers, as it is very close to several parks with hiking trails. The "little grand canyon" trail is especially awesome - but requires you to be in good physical condition.


Wonderful stay

5 su ottobre 30, 2013

Had a great time and good food, we will go back!


Wonderful!

5 su ottobre 28, 2013

This was the best find we have had in a B & B and we have been doing weekend getaways for many years. The room were beautifully appointed and so clean that I felt like I was at home. The grounds were beautiful and impeccably maintained. Mary Jo put on a spread of food each morning that was not only delicious but beautiful, which made us skip lunch each day. Mary Jo went about and beyond making reservations for us to go horseback riding and packing a lunch (which we didn't eat until 3 PM because of breakfast) that was spectacular. Do yourself a favor and stay with Mary Jo & John!!!


The bed & breakfast was phenomenal!!!

5 su agosto 12, 2013

The bed & breakfast was phenomenal!!! The owners were great, place was clean, plenty of things to do and even looked out for my gluten free diet. They made me feel very much at home and were very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and the accommodations were very comfortable. The scenery was amazing and I couldn’t have asked for a better view. Wish I could have stayed longer! I recommend this to anyone whether they are single or a couple as I am a single and they had accommodations for someone single or on business.


Lovely!

4,4 su agosto 10, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. All the amenities are very well thought out & every need is taken care of. Breakfast in the 3-season room is to die for & the scenery is lovely! We are looking forward to coming back for a visit with Mary Jo & Keetna.


Romantic getaway

4,4 su luglio 30, 2013

Wonderful weekend. Very peaceful and beautiful. Would love to go back.


Great Honeymoon Spot

5 su luglio 29, 2013

My wife and I were married in Aug of 2011 and stayed there for 5 days on our honeymoon. We loved the entire area! We enjoeyed the massages, the whirlpool, the beautiful scenery, the wineries & the very friendly atmosphere. We are looking forward to return there again in the future!


Fantastic Weekend

5 su luglio 05, 2013

My husband and I came to Hidden Lake for our anniversary, and stayed for the weekend. We were amazed at every detail that John and Mary Jo had thought of. We planned alot in a short weekend, but all I did was tell Mary Jo what we wanted to do, and she planned it all!!! We were able to relax and enjoy our time together. We would highly recommend this place to anyone, in fact, we have told all of our friends. We are planning to come back really soon as well!!!


Nice peaceful country setting

5 su giugno 30, 2013

Highly recommend if you are in the area. John and Maryjo are so nice and helpful wonderful breakfasts. Everything was clean and very comfortable nice area to visit lots of wineries and small towns to tour.


Magnificent dream made REAL!

5 su giugno 22, 2013

Our stay with John & Mary Jo in the Tuscan Suite was an absolute dream come true! According to the suite journal there were guests in the room the day before we arrived. But it was as though they had planned and prepared the suite just for us for days, complete with all the amenities promised, and then some. :) We had assistance in planning meals there at their home and out, as well as daily activities. All were greatly appreciated. We met wonderful people everywhere we went, including along the Wine Trail, at the Blue Boar, and El Jalapeno Mexican Restaurant. We could not have asked for better service in any way. For treating us like royalty, we thank you deeply and recommend you to all looking for a special quiet retreat!


Quiet Getaway without the baby

5 su giugno 19, 2013

I Highly recommend Hiden Lake B&B to those looking to relax in a quiet setting with all the needs of home waiting for you. Mary Jo made us an excellent breakfast both mornings we were there. We scheduled a picnic lunch that was ready to go when we needed it and were able to enjoy it at the winery's. Anything we needed John and Mary Jo were ready to entertain. We plan on going back next year to enjoy this experience all over again.


Weekend getaway

4,4 su giugno 16, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay if visiting the wine trail or just Southern IL. The attention to detail in providing amenities is outstanding. Our only dissatisfaction concerned the mattress which we found to be very hard. The food options and quality were superb. For only being in this bed and breakfast for sleeping (and with an uncomfortable mattress), we found it to be on the pricey side. Since we wanted to support local business and try someplace new, though, it was a great option.

Risposta del proprietario
We typically receive overwhelming compliments on our mattresses with many guests asking where they can purchase one so our sincerest apologies to these guests that they were uncomfortable. Moreover, our apologies that we didn't know to make them aware of options that may have corrected this. Like pillows, everyone likes something different so we do have pillow top and memory foam top mattress covers available for guests that prefer something less firm. We need to find a way to communicate that better to our guests and be more attune to someone's dissatisfaction with this or anything else. It's your time away. We want to help you make the most of it!


Can't wait to go back!

5 su giugno 15, 2013

We stayed in The Loft room. The attention to little details was fantastic. There were snacks and drinks galore. They gave us a well labeled map and several delicious dinner suggestions. Every breakfast was a three course meal and absolutely amazing. The property is gorgeous - perfect for photos. The room is cozy and inviting. We were sorry we only stayed two nights!


Best B&B we've stayed at!

5 su giugno 13, 2013

This place is amazing! The people are super friendly and very accomodating. The property is beautiful and the breakfasts were great! We will go back and highly recommend to anyone else looking!


June 2013 Review

4,0 su giugno 07, 2013

I travel worldwide, my wife and I found the room to be about the cleanest room for a hotel or B&B we've ever stayed in. Food was a little average but very good quality. People running this B&B were really nice, you can tell they really have pride of ownership. Price was a bit above average.


We loved our night at Hidden Lake!

5 su giugno 06, 2013

The property is beautiful. The owners are super friendly. Breakfast was amazing. My only complaint is that we didn't get to spend more time there!


B&B and Wine Trail

5 su maggio 30, 2013

Had an amazing time, the food was phenomenal and Mary Jo and John were amazing hosts! We can't wait to go back! We went for a mother's day/Memorial Day getaway and the wine trail plus bed and breakfast was the perfect combination. The backpack lunch was perfect when we went horseback riding. Mary Jo was very accommodating, especially when I asked for a massage for my wife short notice!


BEAUTIFUL!!

4,8 su maggio 22, 2013

After researching B&B Properties in Mo, Tn, Ky, and Il Hidden Lake was the best choice. The owners Mary Jo & John were more than accommodating to ensure our stay was perfect. The property is beautiful, along with the suites!! We cannot wait until our next visit to Southern Illinois, we will definately stay at Hidden Lake, minutes from many beautiful natural attractions, restaurants, and wineries! PERFECT!!!


Hidden Lake B&B is Outstanding

5 su maggio 16, 2013

We stayed at Hidden Lake B&B during SIU Graduation. It was a special retreat for us. We enjoyed our time away from the chaos of graduation and packing, and felt relaxed and joyous. We enjoyed breakfast--the food was delicious and the company of John and Mary Jo and other patrons was appreciated. We were not ready to leave on our final day. We hope to return sometime next fall to do the wine tour and visit the local sights and eateries. We must thank Mary Jo again for bringing us breakfast Friday night for Saturday morning, when we had to leave before the breakfast room opened. Everything was super. Kirk and Sherry, Urbana


Anniversary Getaway

4,4 su maggio 09, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hidden Lake for our 1 year anniversary. This was our first experience at a B&B and it was a great one. We stayed in the Romance Jacuzzi suite which was nice that it was away from the main house. However, there are other suites next to it so it wasn't quite as private as I was hoping. We felt very at home there and enjoyed just lounging in the room on a rainy day and of course going out on the wine trail! The breakfasts were amazing and Mary Jo and John were very friendly and hospitable. Their property is gorgeous and it was fun just watching the birds and fishing in the pond. Overall we both really enjoyed our experience at Hidden Lake and our glad we went!


Charming B&B

5 su maggio 01, 2013

Mary Jo and John are great cooks and wonderful hosts. The property is beautiful and the amenities very upscale.


Wonderful Stay!

5 su marzo 20, 2013

I highly recommend Hidden Lake to anyone looking for a B&B in Southern Illinois. The hosts, Mary Jo and John, are two wonderful and personable people that made the stay fabulous! The property is beautiful and conveniently located close to the wine trail. We will be returning!


Wonderfully Relaxing

5 su febbraio 27, 2013

Our second stay at Hidden Lake was just as relaxing and enjoyable as the first! John and Mary Jo spoiled us with excellent food and friendship! We were saddened to return to the bustle of reality, but we will definitely visit again soon.


They picked us up!!!

5 su febbraio 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend at hidden lake and when our car broke down 45 mins away Mary Jo and John the owners came and rescued!! Us from our very unfortunate position without the kindness of these two our weekend would have been lost I cannot say enough abou the wonderful 4 course meals and th e fact that every thing was thought of!!!! Jerry St Louis


A wonderful expierence!

5 su novembre 19, 2012

I can't say enough about staying at this B&B. It was comfortable,very clean and the theme of each room was amazing. The owners John and Mary Jo made us feel like part of the family. their conversations with us were friendly and entertaining. The breakfast served to us was perfect and they are so accomodating. We had a special wine and cheese basket made for us and MaryJo did a fantastic job. The grounds around are so well maintained, the garden and lake are picture perfect. I would love to come again and again. Thanks MaryJo and John!!


Wine Trail Bed & Breakfast

5 su novembre 14, 2012

My husband and I could not have been happier with the bed and breakfast that we chose to stay at. We were celebrating our anniversary and decided to do the Wine Trail in Southern Illinois. I chose Hidden Lake out of the list provided by the Wine Trail directory. I made the best choice. The innkeepers were delightful, upgrading us to a better room with no extra charge, the breakfasts were wonderful, not your regular run of the mill breakfast, but something different and delicious each day. We definitely have told our friends about this place and plan on staying at Hidden Lake again.


Wonderful & Relaxing

5 su novembre 07, 2012

We stayed at Hidden Lake for several days and couldn't have asked for more. John & MaryJo made us feel instantly at home. The attention to detail was amazing. It seemed that we only had to think of something and it was there. Breakfast was delicious and their dog, Keetna, was a added benefit ... so sweet and so much fun. Hidden Lake is definitely the place to stay in Southern Illinois.


Nice Enough

3,6 su novembre 03, 2012

I was rather surprised that when choosing the wine country room my husband and I would be sharing 2 twin beds that were simply pushed together. Needless to say, this interfered with the comfort of cuddling. The room was very close to the owner's living quarters and at times could be louder than appreciated, especially in the mornings when we were not ready to waken, but the noise chose otherwise for us. Overall, the location was beautiful but will likely not return considering all the other bed and breakfasts yet to try.

Risposta del proprietario
Please know that when someone makes a decision to spend their hard earned time and money at Hidden Lake, John & I are willing to do most anything to ensure that you have an enjoyable and relaxing time. After the fact, of course, there is little we can do but extend our sincerest apologies to this couple. Had we known, we would have been happy to provide a 2nd pillow topper for the bed, consider a change in suites, ensure that we were more quiet (we did have some family visiting this particular weekend) or anything else that would have made them more comfortable. We can’t fix what we don’t know so please, let us know. P.S. The twin beds are noted on our website. When in use as a “king”, they are strapped and bolted together and topped with a pillow topper.


Hidden Lake B&B is Outstanding!

5 su ottobre 28, 2012

Mary Jo and John Smith run a cozy, professional, and clean establishment. The Victorian Room was just right. We woke up to amazing breakfast aromas and were always filled with great food that kept us satisfied throughout the day on the wine trail. This was our first B&B experience and it was better than I could have imagined. I hope to stay again! Maureen & Ryan


Anniversary weekend B & B review

4,8 su ottobre 25, 2012

The room and grounds were lovely. The gourmet breakfast each morning was outstanding, the best food we had during our stay. We would recommend this B & B.


Wonderful overnight stay

5 su ottobre 18, 2012

Our stay at Hidden Lake Bed and Breakfast was fantastic. Our suite was beautiful. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. Our hosts were friendly and accomodating. Will be back!!


Wonderful stay!

5 su ottobre 17, 2012

Perfect place for a getaway -- especially with the fall foliage! The room was immaculate and very comfortable. The owners are friendly and accommodating. The grounds are gorgeous. The food was delicious. We'll be back!


SIU Family Weekend 2012

5 su ottobre 05, 2012

Another beautiful stay with John & Mary Jo. Outstanding service & hospitality. Looking forward to our next stay.


Wonderful!

5 su settembre 26, 2012

Owners, hospitality, decor, breakfast were all superb and we highly recommend Hidden Lake. It was the perfect place to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and we hope to return in the future.


Amazing Weekend Getaway!

5 su settembre 24, 2012

This place is amazing! We stayed in the Tuscan Jacuzzi Suite and it was beautiful! Tastfully decorated and the attention to detail is unmatched! You will want for nothing. Mary Jo & John have thought of everything. The breakfast is outstanding!!! You will feel like you're eating in a 5-star restaurant (in another country). We hiked, vistited the wineries, soaked in the jacuzzi and relaxed liked never before. It's a perfect blend of quiet, outdoor beauty, and wonderful conversation with our warm and friendly hosts! The suite is very roomy and everything is spotless...the linens are luxurious and the bedding is heavenly. We ordered the "arrival" tray and it was delicious! I highly recommend it. Would love to have stayed longer. Mary Jo & John gave us great suggestions about the area and we enjoyed every single minute of our stay.


Great First Honeymoon

5 su settembre 10, 2012

Mary Jo and John were great. The breakfast was amazing. The Romance Room was spacy and the hot tub was excellent. Overall, we did not want to leave. We will definitely be back.


Hidden Treasure

5 su settembre 06, 2012

The attentive service,accommodations,food and property rival a 5 star hotel. What other bed and breakfast offers a gourmet breakfast while watching hummingbirds feed right outside a wall of windows in the dining room , Your hosts, Mary Jo and John go out of their way to make your stay superb .


Hiddent Lake B&B Review

5 su agosto 24, 2012

My wife and I found Hidden Lake B&B in an online search for things to do in southern Illinois . We stayed in their Victorian Room, and upstairs room in their main house. It was very nicely decorated. Mary Jo and John, the owners/hosts, are very nice and were a joy to work with before, during, and after our stay with them. They have a beautiful location, prepared and served outstanding breakfasts with attention to personal tastes and dietary restrictions, and were outstanding hosts. Highly recommend this location. Their 2 rooms in the main house, and their separate guest house with 3 other rooms, are an excellent location.


Most restful weekend I had in years!

4,8 su agosto 22, 2012

My husband and I loved Hidden Lake! Mary Jo and John were fabulous hosts. They provided us with great ideas to help us spend our time in the area. I was so surprised that Mary Jo went the extra mile to rent a movie I had mentioned I'd like to see but never had the time. That was so sweet! Next time, we plan to stay longer than just the weekend.


A more than decent proposal

5 su agosto 22, 2012

We absolutely loved every minute of our stay. The Loft Suite is absolutely beautiful, and the breakfasts were first class. Thank you so much to John and Mary Jo for helping to make my proposal so very special and a huge thank you to the other guest for video taping the whole thing. We won't even consider staying anywhere else on our next trip through the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail. Thanks so much!!!


Hidden Lake Bed and Breakfast

4,0 su agosto 03, 2012

Mary Jo was very helpful with giving advice for local activities. Also a nice book that was loaded with info. The towels were great, extra soft. Nice robes and slippers to make the visit more comfy, as well as complimentary toiliteries to give that extra special feel. Unfortunately, she was out of town, so we were unable to experience her breakfast, but the descriptions sounded lovely. The room had hand painted walls in a vineyard motif, very nice. The only concern was that when the air conditioner was turned on, it emitted a strong gas odor. A little scary, and we opted to sleep with the windows open.

Risposta del proprietario
Our sincerest apologies to this guest that they were at all uncomfortable in their suite. When we're gone, we have an innkeeper on the premises who could have perhaps lent some assistance. We hate to think that you were scared. The fireplaces in our suites are propane but at this time of year, with temperatures in the 90s, they are turned off at the tank which is outside and over 100 feet away from the Guest House. Other than the fireplaces, Hidden Lake is all electric so please be assured that it was not a gas odor of any kind. What is was, of course, we don't know but we do again express our apologies that you were uncomfortable and hope that you'll give Hidden Lake another try in the future.


Wonderful place!

5 su luglio 24, 2012

Great place to stay - room was excellent and the breakfast was good as well. John & Mary Jo are wonderful hosts. Highly recommend the Hidden Lake B&B.


Wonderful place to relax.

5 su luglio 06, 2012

If you are looking for a calm relaxing experience, you will find none better. John and Mary Jo are consumate hosts and go to great lengths to make your stay with them a memorable one. This was our third visit to Hidden Lake, and I would enthusiastically recommend it to one and all. Love you guys.


Fantastic B & B

5 su luglio 05, 2012

First class all the way! Elegantly decorated rooms full of amenities. Clean and comfortable, this is the ideal place to rest and relax while enjoying nature, the wine trail, and more!


Wonderful Stay

4,8 su giugno 28, 2012

This property is beautiful! The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. Breakfast is scrumptious and filling. John and Mary Jo are very gracious and eager to do what they can to make sure your stay is comfortable. We would not hesitate recommending Hidden Lake B & B to anyone. Thanks for the great weekend!


Wonderful

5 su giugno 24, 2012

Breakfast was beyond anything we were expecting. The room was just what we needed, quiet, relaxing and comfortable, like home without all the headaches and stress. John and Mary Jo made our experience one we will never forget. They were friendly and very hospitable. We plan to visit again real soon.


Weekend Getaway-Wine tour

4,4 su giugno 22, 2012

The room was beautiful and just as the pictures showed on the website. John and Mary Jo were so nice. They called and made a reservation for dinner for us and offered to help in anyway possible. The breakfast served was wonderful and I would highly recommend this location to stay.


STAYED AT MANY ... HIDDEN LAKE THE BEST

5 su giugno 20, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at many B&Bs around the country. Hidden Lake is by far the best. Their attention to detail is amazing. Our suite had everything we could have asked for or needed. MaryJo & John are wonderful hosts, making us feel welcome instantly and seeing to our every need. Their breakfasts are outstanding ... and as they say, if you don't like something, they'll make you something else. At the south end of the wine trail, Hidden Lake is in close proximity to all of the wineries and other attractions. When you venture to Southern Illinois, Hidden Lake is the place to stay!


Wine country weekend

4,8 su giugno 11, 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend down in Southern Illinois and toured the Shawnee Hills wine trail. Awesome time. Great hospitality! Comfortable, quiet and convenient!


Excellant experience

5 su giugno 03, 2012

John and Mary Jo made us feel right at home. We were in the area riding a motorcycle. They offered suggestions for scenic rides to enjoy and points of interest. Really enjoyed the stay.


Our 2nd trip there - love it!!

4,6 su maggio 24, 2012

This is in a great location close to all the wine trails and just a beautiful place to stay. Love staying in the guest house - both the loft & the jacuzzi suites are gorgeous, comfortable & offer great privacy for a romantic getaway. The grounds are beautiful - loved the little trail behind the house. Mary Jo & John are wonderful inn keepers. They do everything they can to make your stay special and the breakfast in the morning is delicious.


Relaxing B and B!!

5 su maggio 21, 2012

What a wonderful getaway for my husband and I. John and Mary Jo were the most gracious hosts. Our suite had many "extras" including water, soda, snacks, coffee, tea, apple cider mixes, etc. The breakfasts were superb and Mary Jo was always making sure we had what we needed. The grounds are beautiful with the lake, walkways, swing by the lake, the gazebo and "fire pit" areas. We cannot wait to go back again!!!


Outstanding B&B.

5 su maggio 20, 2012

We can't say enough good things about this B&B or their owners. Our stay was perfect in every way, along with scrumptious breakfasts. Wonderful attention to every detail.


A little bit of Home

4,4 su maggio 16, 2012

Having moved away from the area 30 years ago, it was abosolutely like returning home. The rolling hills, the quiteness, the property amenities and the room accomodations made my brief visit everything I hoped for and more. This was my first time experiencing a B&B and it was very memoriable. Mary Jo is a wonderful hostess. Unfortantly we did not dine at the B&B, so I can't comment on the dining experience.


The best B&B in southern Illinois -- SIU parents pay attention!

5 su maggio 16, 2012

I've stayed here every time I visit my son at SIU. Not only is it less expensive than those concrete, over-used hotels on route 13, but it's also lovely and serene with wooded trails and rolling hills. It even has a swing on the shores of its own, little lake! Rooms have balconies overlooking all this where you can sit and sip your coffee. I always stay in the guest house with its fireplace and jacuzzi tub making a vacation out of a parent visit. Oh, and Mary Jo is awesome -- helpful and friendly without being overbearing like some B&B hosts can be. She'll even leave a simple breakfast of fruit and pastry in your room's fridge if you prefer. Yum!


Honeymoon relaxation...

5 su maggio 03, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night during our honeymoon. The room was beautiful and very clean, and the grounds of this B&B were gorgeous. Breakfast was wonderful, and John & Mary Jo were a pleasure to talk to. My husband is from Chicago, so he especially enjoyed talking to John since he is from Chicago as well. We had a relaxing time at this B&B and will be back in the future. Robin & Bob


Hidden lake wine weekend

5 su aprile 18, 2012

Planned a nice getaway weekend that turned into a beautiful romantic and fun-filled weekend . Hidden lake was a beautiful place to stay and the owners John and maryjo were the best hosts. There knowledge of the area made our weekend perfect and their breakfast was to die for. The wine trail was fabulous. A must stay place if u are in that area.


One of the best bed and breakfasts

4,6 su aprile 11, 2012

This was my third stay at Hidden Lake Bed and Breakfast. Mary Jo and John are wonderful hosts, gourmet cooks and have a beautiful home and property. I have never been to a hotel or bed and breakfast where I have been so satisfied.


A Shining Jewel in the Shawnee Florest

5 su gennaio 29, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Hidden Lake B & B. We did not want the experience to end. Can't wait to come back in the spring and do some fishing and relax so more! John and Mary Jo are not only gracious hosts, but great conversationalists. If you are contemplating visiting Southern Illinois and want to taste superior hospitality, pamper yourself and book a stay at Hidden Lake


Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful!

5 su gennaio 04, 2012

Excellent hosts, excellent service, excellent accommodations, excellent food ...


Excellent place to get away from it all!

3,8 su dicembre 28, 2011

Went for our 6 year anniversary and chose it due to its location along the wine trail as well as its distance from STL where we are from. First time in a B&B and was more than surprised by the room size and amenities. Unfortunately it rained most of the time we were there (which spoiled the downtown Anna Christmas celebration. Blue Boar had excellent food at an excellent price. We did not partake of the B&B's breakfast so I cannot rate that. Overall, we were both able to go home when it was over (didn't want to leave) more relaxed. Will lile to go back again but perhaps when the weather is warmer.


Best of the best

5 su novembre 22, 2011

Mary Jo and John are wonderful hosts. Love the place! Breakfasts are wonderful beyond words. A favorite getaway and great for wine country visits.


Our stay at Hidden Lake B&B

4,6 su novembre 07, 2011

Our stay at Hidden Lake B&B was wonderful and our host went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. We are looking forward to staying again!


Best kept Secret in Southern Illinois!

5 su ottobre 26, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Columbus Day weekend. I am 28 years old and he is 31 we live over 5 hrs away in New Lenox IL, and staying at Hidden Lake was by far one of the most romantic and relaxing vactaions we've ever had. First of all, Fall was a great time to go; especially during Color Fest. It was beautiful!!! Mary Jo and John were wonderful and very helpful in helping us discover wine country in Southern Illlinois. There B&B was outstanding; very peacful and beautiful. We enjoyed fishing, dining out and visting some of the wineries. We will definately be going back; only for a longer stay.


Relaxing

5 su ottobre 26, 2011

Everything was great, lots of R&R and fun on the wine trail. Unexpected bonus was Keetna the dog!


WELL beyond what we'd expected!

4,8 su ottobre 17, 2011

Mary Jo was very swift in letting us know all the fantastic things to do,not only by their own little lake but also in the surrounding area and very kind. Then she showed us to our,immaculately clean,gorgeous suite and left us to be on our own in the gorgeous natural spot. The amenities were amazing and the breakfast was pretty fantastic. We hit the jacuzzi at night,WHILE being able to watch a romantic movie,just accross the room and woke up to make our own fresh coffee each morning. AMAZING!!


1 night stay

3,8 su ottobre 10, 2011

It was an awesome place to stay to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. The food was out of this world.


Honeymoon

4,6 su settembre 26, 2011

The stay at Hidden Lake B&B was very pleasurable and restful. The food was unbelievable and the owners were very helpful with all our needs. The place was very clean. This was a great choice for our honeymoon and will remember those days for the rest of our lives


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

4,8 su settembre 21, 2011

Hidden Lake was our first B & B experience and they have set the bar for us. Our suite was entirely self contained with a private bathroom, private entrance, fully stocked kitchenette, sitting and dining areas, and a comfortable king sized bed with luxury linens. The decor was thoughtful, quaint, and appealing and the cleanliness was impressive. The kitchenette was stocked with complimentary bottled waters, sodas, and snacks. Mary Jo and John were warm, welcoming, and hospitable hosts. The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed watching the birds while dining in the relaxing four season sun room on gourmet breakfasts each morning. Our dietary likes and dislikes were taken into consideration and honored throughout our stay. My husband repeatedly complimented me on what a fabulous job I did at locating and securing such wonderful accomodations for our weekend getaway. We were a bit apprehensive about what we would be walking into since we had never stayed at a B & B before but couldn't have been more pleased with our stay.


Wonderful Place To Stay

4,8 su settembre 19, 2011

You couldn't find a more quiet, peaceful place to rest for the night nor a more delightful place to have a wonderful breakfast to start your day. MaryJo is a wonderful hostess and very knowledgeable of the surrounding area - simply a delightful person to meet and talk to as well as an excellent cook. You'll love Hidden Lake Bed & Breakfast!!


Outstanding B & B

5 su settembre 16, 2011

Setting, accommoditions and breakfast was great! Would love to stay there again.


Southern Illinois Treasure

5 su settembre 08, 2011

Hidden Lake is the place to stay in Southern Illinois. The attention to detail in our suite was amazing and so beautifully decorated. MaryJo and John are amazing hosts. Their breakfasts are outstanding (ask who got the higher grade at the culinary school they attended :) ) and the grounds are simply beautiful. We loved the paddleboat and the view of the stars from the lake is breathtaking. We could have sat out by the lake all night!


Wonderful B&B!

5 su settembre 01, 2011

My wife and I were blown away by the friendliness of the owners, the quality of the food, the cleanliness of the room! It really made our 25th Anniversary stay special! Thank you John and Mary Jo! John & Nancy - Washington, IL


Best B & B I've ever stayed at!

4,6 su agosto 18, 2011

This was the cleanest B & B I've ever seen. (I've stayed at a dozen or more B & B's.) Mary Jo & John fixed the most delicious and largest breakfast of any B & B also. The area was fun to explore. We rode our bikes for 20 miles on Saturday on the bike trail. We started in Vienna, IL. We also had fantastic meal in downtown Jonesboro at the restaurant on the main street. If I am ever in southern Illinois again I will make sure I stay there.


5th anniversary getaway

4,2 su agosto 10, 2011

We went to visit Hidden Lake B&B for our anniversary and really enjoyed our stay. Mary Jo and John were so nice and their property was beautiful! Breakfast was a delight both mornings and the scenery from the sun room was nice b/c they have several birdfeeders. It was funny watching the hummingbirds eat.


Friendly and great food

4,6 su agosto 01, 2011

The great accommodations were wonderful as evident by the pictures. The food was better than advertised. I think I'm still drooling over some of the breakfasts we experienced.


Attention to detail plus a gourmet breakfast!

4,6 su luglio 24, 2011

We were thoroughly pleased with our stay at Hidden Lake B&B. The setting was lovely, the room was large, the amenities were outstanding, the gourmet breakfasts were delicious (and made according to our preferences), the attention to detail was outstanding. John and Mary Jo made us feel very much at home. We would recommend this B&b to anyone.


Hidden Lake

5 su luglio 18, 2011

Hidden Lake was a surprising treasure. The area restaurant recommendation was great, the accommodations exceeded our expectations and the food was wonderful. The innkeepers were very gracious about leaving us to enjoy our surroundings. I highly recommend Hidden Lake!


Weekend Getaway

4,2 su luglio 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights over a weekend to tour the Shawnee Wine Trail and relax in the evenings in the jacuzzi tub. It was very clean and quiet. I would recommend Hidden Lake.


Can't wait to go back!

5 su luglio 11, 2011

This was our first experience at a B & B and it exceeded our expectations! The grounds are stunning and our room was beautiful. Mary Jo and John treated us like family. She remembered little things we liked and made excellent recommendations for dinner, shopping and hiking were perfect choices for how we wanted to spend our relaxing vacation. We are looking forward to going back to Hidden Lake in September for our anniversary!


Hidden Lake B&B is a Treasure!

4,8 su giugno 27, 2011

We were warmly greeted at Hidden Lake B&B. The hospitality was genuine and so appreciated. Our suite was beautiful, inviting, and furnished with special touches. The breakfasts were delicious. We had a wonderful time at Hidden Lake and look forward to our next stay there.


A Must Stay B&B

5 su giugno 22, 2011

Everything about this bed and breakfast is fabulous from our hosts, MaryJo & John, to the beautiful grounds to the gourmet breakfasts to the comfy, comfy beds. Our suite was so lovely and the attention to detail was noticeable from the moment we walked in. John was very entertaining over breakfast while MaryJo went out of her way to see that we had everything we needed throughout our stay. A stay at Hidden Lake is an absolute must! We'll be back ....


honeymoon

4,2 su giugno 09, 2011

Hosts provided exceptional gourmet breakfasts, great assistance with area attractions and restaurants. Always looking for ways to make our stay better.


Wanted to take the lake back with us!

3,8 su giugno 06, 2011

We loved the swing by the lake and spent most of our time relaxing and enjoying the lake and the gazebo. The snack basket and drinks in the fridge were a very nice addition to the stay. Everything we needed was provided. Great bed and breakfast.


Hidden Lake B&B review

4,2 su giugno 06, 2011

Hidden Lake B&B is a beautiful B&B and was especially great because of Mary Jo and John. We had a wonderful, relaxing weekend and definitely plan to return.


Opportunity to relax

5 su maggio 26, 2011

Recently my husband and I stayed at Hidden Lake B&B. Our 2 day get-a-way was fantastic. The owners were personable and accommidating. They made sure we were comfortable at all times. Their culinary skills were devine. Needless to say, the environment (scenery) was breathe taking. The online pictures do not do it justice. Each morning, while we were served breakfast, we were able to watch the birds eat. There was a red headed woodpecker along with several yellow finches and cardinals. The house keeping was top notch. Everything was well kept. We are looking foward to another opportunity to visit.


Great place to stay!

4,4 su maggio 02, 2011

We loved our stay at Hidden Lake B&B. The room was clean and beautifully decorated. The romantic suite was wonderfully roomy. Our 2 breakfasts were delicious and we had fun conversing with the owners. There are so many beautiful natural areas to see near by that we are going to have to plan another trip and stay again at the Hidden Lake B&B!


Relaxing Romantic Getaway

5 su aprile 27, 2011

Hidden Lake B &B was by far the best stay we have ever had on a trip. Located on the edge of Jonesboro, we were close to town but had country scenery. The room was very clean and provided every amenity we could possibly need. Breakfast was served in three courses - each one better than the last! Although it rained most of the time we were there, it did not dampen our experience. The scenery was beautiful and the location was perfect. Our hosts could not have been more accomodating. We will definitely return soon!


Amazing place!

5 su aprile 06, 2011

My family adores this place! We visit our sister in the area frequently and always stay here. John and Mary Jo are great company and really pull out all of the stops to make you feel welcome. Breakfast is amazing, from souffles to quiches. The jacuzzi tubs in the larger suite fit two people if you do not mind the snuggle. Love the place and the owners! Will be back soon.


great stay at a great b&b

4,0 su marzo 31, 2011

Amazing breakfast, beautiful grounds, loved the romance suite.. Can't wait to go back when the weather nicer! Brandon M.


Amazing stay!

5 su marzo 16, 2011

What a wonderful Bed and Breakfast! Our room was lovely with a great view and jacuzzi, comfortable bed, an abundance of ammentities, and a great fireplace. Everything was clean and spotless. Breakfast was amazing- simply put, the food alone was worth the stay. The owners were cheerful, cordial, and very informative, helping us to to plan an awesome day of wine tasting. We highly recommend this B&B and hope to return as soon as possible. P.S. Keetna is amazing!


BabyMoon 2011

4,2 su febbraio 24, 2011

Excellent hosts and excellent meals!!! Not much to do in the local areas as far as we were concerned. The price was a bit steep we thought as well.


Great BB

4,8 su dicembre 02, 2010

Had a great time, they were very helpful in planning our itinerary.


Exceptional experience

5 su novembre 17, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary. I purchased the Ultimate Romance Package as a surprise for my wife. It was a hit! The staff was extremely warm and friendly and very helpful in making this a weekend to remember for my wife and I. While we did not partake of the breakfast, I have no doubt it was delicious. I highly recommend taking a trip to Jonesboro.


Hidden Lake

4,8 su novembre 10, 2010

Hidden Lake is an excellent place. I recommend it highly. I cannot rate the dining as there was no dining option during my stay.


Hidden Lake B&B Review

2,8 su novembre 02, 2010

Stay was overall okay, at times we felt we were not welcome. Rooms are very private so you can come and go as you please which is a plus. No pets welcome and smokers are not welcome as well. Breakfast was prepared nicely for an acquired taste. Overall it felt a little stuffy, not as cozy and welcoming as we could have liked

Risposta del proprietario
John and I just wanted to express our deepest regret that one of our guests left feeling the way that this couple did. Given that they stayed 7 months ago, we don't know how to respond except with an apology. Our goal is to go out of our way to make guests feel welcome and to take into consideration their dietary preferences when it comes to breakfast. It's a question we ask when reservations are made. Please know that you have our sincerest apologies that you were disappointed in your stay and that we will redouble our efforts for future guests.


Wonderful Stay!

4,6 su ottobre 21, 2010

Mary Jo and John are welcoming and friendly. Breakfasts were outstanding... Room was large and comfortable. Highly Recommended!


Our Stay

4,2 su ottobre 11, 2010

Mary Jo was such a sweetheart. We only stayed 1 night and she was more than accommodating and willing to go out of her way and helped us with any questios we had about the area. The property itself was great with a cute little pond and firepit, and a chiminea on the patio outside our room. We didn't have time to enjoy breakfast that morning but from other reviews I read it was great and the room was really clean. I would recommend Hidden Lake to anyone. -Lydia


A great little honeymoon getaway

4,8 su settembre 23, 2010

Beautiful location, great facilities, wonderful guests. I would recommend Hidden Lake to anyone. Thanks John & Mary Jo for a wonderful time on our honeymoon.


The Smiths are a five star plus!

5 su settembre 22, 2009

Mary Jo and John run an outstanding B&B. They are over the top when it comes to taking care of their guests. The food was delicious, B&B was very very clean, treats were a bonus, massage was relaxing.


We've been to many B&B's, but this one was the top!

4,8 su maggio 28, 2009

From all of the B&Bs we've visited over the past 10 years, these rooms definitely had more amenities than any other (couldn't have been any more clean also!). The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The 4 season breakfast room was a perfect venue right in front of the bird feeders. AND, above all, Mary Jo and John were the most gracious hosts! Whether it was when we first arrived, or every morning for breakfast, we were always promptly and warmly greeted. You never have to wonder where the innkeeper is, or feel like they are trying to get away from you like some B&B's (don't forget to be sure to ask John about their honeymoon story; he loves to tell it ;) Also, there is only one other B&B that we visited that came close (but not exceeded) breakfast at hidden lake. Mary Jo is very accomodating and flexible with dietary requests and we really appreciated that! If you ever decide to leave the property to explore (not that you have to!), the wine trail is a must. Even if you don't drink wine, to see the wineries (Blue Sky), is something else! Also, many independently shops and farmstands to visit. This was a very relaxing vacation and an overall outstanding experience. Thank you Mary Jo and John, we'll be back! SP & RP


friends trip

5 su aprile 28, 2009

This was our 3rd trip and just like all the others a very wonderful stay. MaryJo and John are excellent hosts and see that all your needs are taken care of, and the breakfast that they serve is awesome. There may be other b&b's in the area but I wouldn't stay anywhere else. This trip we went with our friends and just had the greatest of times.


Peaceful, Relaxing and Enjoybale

5 su aprile 22, 2009

Our stay at Hidden Lake Bed and Breakfast was very enjoyable. John and Mary Jo, the owners, are very warm and friendly. They promptly showed us to our beautiful suite. Everything was extremely clean and they pay attention to every detail. The robes and slippers are extra soft and very comfy. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts in the cheerful sunroom where you can see the lake and the beautiful property. I commented to the owners that this is a "little bit of heaven." I highly recommend Hidden Lake Bed and Breakfast.


Absolutely Wonderful!

4,8 su aprile 05, 2009

The suite was great - beyond what we were expecting. Breakfast in the sunroom was delicious, and looking out over the beautiful property and the bird feeding station was an added bonus. John and MaryJo are wonderful hosts. We definitely hope to go back.


Awesome

5 su marzo 29, 2009

Mary Jo & John, you are totally awesome. I am sure you already know this...but...we had such a wonderful time with you guys. It was like coming home again to family you hadn't seen in awhile. (and actually liking them). You are such a blessing to so many people. Thank you again for making our visit such a memorable experience. We will return.


A Must Stay B&B

4,8 su marzo 25, 2009

Our experience at Hidden Lake was the best! The breakfasts were fantastic ... especially the poached pears! And our suite was both beautiful and meticulously clean. We will be back!


A Must Go-To Destination!

4,6 su agosto 18, 2008

My husband and I wanted to getaway for a weekend. I had done lots of research of bed&breakfasts and Hidden Lake was always one tha topped my list of ones I wanted to go to. One word: AWESOME. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted by the owners and promptly shown our room, which was by far the best we've ever stayed in! Everything you read about on the website is 110% true about this place from the sites to see and do in the area (I recommend going to the wineries - you will not be disappointed!)to the fishing in the lake or paddling along in the paddle boat. We were definitely impressed (and worn out from having so much to do!) and will definitely come back for many, many more visits!


Hidden Lake Guesthouse

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $120 - $160
  • Recensioni (114) 4,8
  • Camere 3

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-6188335252
  • Cellulare 1-6186973364

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina