Ashland Arms Guest House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,5
  • Valore4,4
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,2

Valore della struttura
62 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A great, special purpose b&b

4,4 su marzo 12, 2014

Very clean, with special facilities aimed at its target clientele, I enjoyed the stay here.


Excellent Experience

5 su febbraio 27, 2014

The leather room was decorated perfectly in theme. The entire room was spotless and clean. It's in a great location near a couple of clubs, a leather shop, and several restaurants. The owners are very nice and accommodating. My overall experience was wonderful and better than expected.


Ideal location for clubbing scene

3,2 su gennaio 31, 2014

The pictures and website don't do this place justice. It really is a nice space. It feels like staying in a 5 bedroom apartment with your own secure bedroom and access to a large kitchen, living/dining area and two large bathrooms. I only ran into a couple of people all weekend, so felt like I had the place to myself. The space is a few floors above the clubs, but if you lay down to sleep before 4am, you will definitely hear the thumping. They do have ear plugs available. The bathrooms could have used a little attention, but know you are sharing with a number of other guests. Otherwise, a great home base for clubbing with a good little diner across the street. Bus stop right out front takes you into Boystown if you want more. I had little expectation for food/snacks, so the little that was available met my expectations.


Pleasant surprise.

5 su novembre 18, 2013

I have known about this bed and breakfast for quite sometime and have heard nothing but good reviews. So, I decided to check it out myself. I was there for Halloween weekend and had a blast. The bed and breakfast is amazing. The staff was extremely accommodating and very friendly. They are very detailed and you can see how passionate they are about their BnB. Its awesome! Very clean and friendly. Everything was perfect. Thank you and I will be back.


American Brotherhood Weekend Stay in Chicago, IL

4,4 su novembre 02, 2013

The rooms and availability of coffee and snacks 24 hours a day, everyday, made my stay here very outstanding. The room and public spaces were immaculate, as was the shared bathroom facilities. If I had any complaints at all, it would be that the hosts were mysteriously absent after I checked in. That didn't present any meaningful problems - but it did seem odd.


Nice place

4,6 su ottobre 27, 2013

Nice place, I enjoyed my stay.


Chicago Vacation

5 su settembre 18, 2013

I found this to be a real nice place to stay. Since I like the night life and og thome at 3:30am, the dance club downstairs didn't keep me awake and it closed at 4am haha. I'd stay again!


Ashland Arms for a night

4,2 su settembre 04, 2013

I decided to stay at Ashland Arms on a Friday night and have a great stay. The guest house was very clean and management very friendly. It was close to two gay bars and bus stops (unfortunately not very close to the trains). The breakfast was very good and you have a chance to have a sit down breakfast with guests and the hosts. Overall, a very pleasant experience.


Great place

5 su settembre 03, 2013

This was our fourth stay, and we have always enjoyed our stay at Ashland Arms


Modern Style, Friendly Hosts

5 su agosto 15, 2013

With it's loft feel and 'mature' themed rooms it's not your grandma's B&B. Sunday brunch was fabulous with our hosts driving some great conversations.


Clean & fun on the North side of Chicago

4,0 su agosto 12, 2013

Convenient to bus & train, far north but well worth it if you like something different, Dreams has a tree out the window and a light-filled shared bathroom that's big & lovely!


Welcoming, Convenient B&B

4,6 su agosto 11, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised, and I am very happy that I was. Great Hosts, Atmosphere and Location. Excellent value and now my first choice for my trips to Chicago.


A home from home

4,2 su luglio 06, 2013

A very friendly guest house where the owners (erik and Michael ) and the caretaker ( jimmy ) go absolutely out of their way to please their customers . I felt as if I could ask them anything and I am sure their standards are so high because they love what they do . I left chicago thinking -and being sure that - I found new friends . If I come back to Chicago I will make sure to stay there again


great stay

4,6 su giugno 27, 2013

I was actually there on business, and it proved convenient, affordable and perfect for my stay. The reason for my dining mark is I did not eat at the inn.


Enjoyed very much

5 su giugno 20, 2013

This time, I stayed at the sport room, and it was more roomy than dream room with a comfortable bed! The breakfast they serve is always fantastic!


Trendy Urban B&B

4,2 su giugno 13, 2013

Tons of fun! The people and the place were great. If you don't judge a book by its cover and you are open to trendy experience, I say totally go for it.


This is an AWESOME place...

5 su maggio 08, 2013

I came down to stay at Ashland Arms to celebrate my 35th birthday, when my friend and I arrived we were greeted by Eric and was welcomed with open arms. Eric made our stay an awesome vacation. Eric was very friendly and if I was to recommend this place to anyone I would and will.


Always Fantastic!

5 su aprile 24, 2013

My partner and I have been staying at the Ashland Arms for a few years now and love it! We live in the Chicago suburbs and spend many weekends here every year. Eric and Michael are excellent hosts. What a great place for a weekend get away or to spend the night after a fun night at Jackhammer!


A great place to make new friends

5 su marzo 02, 2013

A last minute check-in lead to one of the best weekends I have had including fun times at Jackhammer & Touche. Warm comfortable beds big enough for loving or a deep hard fuck.


Cozy, comfortable and as nice as can be!

4,6 su febbraio 02, 2013

Was nicer than expected! Clean, comfortable and VERY private. Wonderful design... would definitely stay again and recommend to friends staying in the area. Could hear the nightclub from downstairs, but that was NOT an issue for me. Fully stocked kitchen with fresh fruit, etc . far exceeded what I expected. They offered a hot breakfast, if I wanted. Clean as could be... and uber comfortable bed. Outside was deceiving... inside was a pleasant surprise. Only a few blocks from the Loyola train station (easy access via a long walk or a short bus ride). I paid $2.50 from Midway Airport to the Ashland Arms... took an hour. Taxi would have been half the time, but probably $50 with tip. Great night clubs downstairs. I'll be back! :) -Richard from Lake Buena Vista, FL.


Keep Coming Back!

5 su gennaio 04, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Ashland Arms Guest House, and it was the best visit yet. Michael and Eric are great guys and run a great place, always friendly and welcoming.


Affordable off the beaten path B&B in the city

3,4 su ottobre 28, 2012

There are not a lot of lodging choices on the north side of the city. This inn not only provides a central location in the new homo-north, it's a good value too. There are two long flights of stairs to get to the rooms, so make sure you can handle that as there is no elevator.


This place is the best!

4,6 su ottobre 24, 2012

We have stayed here a few times before...it's always been great! Mike & George


What fun!

3,8 su ottobre 11, 2012

We stayed in the Leather room, and friends stayed in the other rooms for a long event weekend. It was really fun. The room is great, the bed really wonderful (firm and soft, and comfortable). Fresh waffles, blueberry muffins along with the usual. Mmmm! We'd definitely go back.


Great casual B&B

4,8 su ottobre 04, 2012

Very unique place with great staff, extremely clean and comfortable.


A slice of Heaven in Rodgers Park!

4,8 su settembre 19, 2012

The Ashland Arms is a welcome retreat from the city with its comfortable rooms and kinky ambience. The staff couldn't be more friendly or accomadating, too.


best in chicago

5 su settembre 17, 2012

The Ashland Arms was clean , convenient and the hosts were very accomidating.


Friendly, Quiet, and Awesome

4,6 su agosto 17, 2012

This was a wonderful experience. Everyone was wicked friendly. It looked a bit sketchy from the outside, but it was a beautiful place inside. It was quiet and allowed me and my friend to spend time together. It was a great experience.


Perfect Northside Getaway

4,2 su agosto 10, 2012

Gracious hosts, fun spot! Music from Jackhammer below is part of the charm. Mexican food, diner food and several bus lines at the corner.


A great weekend!

3,4 su agosto 06, 2012

The hosts were pleasant and accomodating. The room was clean and comfortable. Our window overlooked the fire escape and alley so there was a little noise late at night but nothing terrible. Overall a nice stay for the price, especially if you want to be in that area of town.


Great North End Option for Lodging!

4,4 su luglio 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Ashland Arms because we are looking to relocate to Chicago and were looking at places in the Andersonville/Edgewater/Rogers Park area. Not only is this a good option for lodging in the North End, but it was a lot cheaper than the $200-$400 a night places around Wrigleyville and the Loop. It was a decent hike to the red line and Andersonville, but the weather was nice and we needed to walk the neighborhood. It was also nice having couple of gay bars and a leather shop right there too. The hosts were very accomodating and left baked goods each morning and periodically checked to see how we were. Great guys! This being my first themed guest house, I wasn't sure what we were getting into, but the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The gang shower was nice and roomy which was great because I'm a bear. Lol. And the wifi was really good, I had to work remotely for one of the days and the connection was great. Highly recommend the Ashland Arms and will be returning there again!


Ashland Arms

4,6 su luglio 25, 2012

An enjoyable experience, will stay there again in the future.


What a dump

1,2 su luglio 24, 2012

Lets see...no hot water, shower room locked to guests, third floor walk up, breakfast ONLY at 10:30AM. Dumpy neighborhood, host not present. Expensive to boot. Never again.


Very Nice B&B

4,6 su luglio 18, 2012

I spent a weekend there and I have to admit I was impressed to as how nice it was. Only complaint was that I never could get the hot water to work properly. (And tried their suggestions). Other than a fantastic place to stay and really fun. Bed was super comfortable. They have done a wonderful job.


An experience

4,4 su giugno 20, 2012

Very nice place to stay. Clean and friendly. Would have been nice to have a phone in the room and a glass in the bathroom. Would stay there again.


Ashland Arms

5 su maggio 23, 2012

This was a great place to stay. The rooms were clean as was the common area. The owners couldn't have been nicer! They brought in fresh baked goods for us to eat everyday and were more then happy to answer all of our questions about getting around town and what sights to go see. Couldn't have been more pleased with our stay.


welcoming stay at ashland arms

4,2 su maggio 17, 2012

We stayed at the ashland arms in april, and we were somewhat apprehensive about staying in a b&b. that apprehension quickly went away when we met Sky. Sky turned out to be the most gracious and accommodating and genuinely wonderfully sweet person ever encountered in maybe any establishment. or room was clean and for the most part quiet. The common area was immaculate. We will most certainly stay here again. To Sky, thank you for ur kindness humor and hospitality, it really made out trip more enjoyable!


My Current Fave Place to Stay

4,2 su aprile 18, 2012

The outside of the building might scare most people off. Once inside, the place is amazing. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Very clean. The missing stars: Getting a call or email back from the owners is tough. To their credit, they are extremely busy, but for guests of a hotel, that can sometimes signal a lack of caring. This is not the case as I have learned. Sometimes you'll need to be patient or email a 2nd time. I haven't had a full breakfast there yet. I've made my own coffee and helped myself to the bakery.


Solomon

5 su marzo 01, 2012

I had a great weekend for my birthday and we're hoping to get back again soon and not just for our birthday. Thank you. Sol.


our stay at Ashland Arms

5 su dicembre 25, 2011

Our hosts were warm and welcoming, the accommodations were great and the breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay there again.


Wonderful Experience

4,8 su dicembre 14, 2011

The owners hosts full breakfast for house guests at 10:30am, which was wonderful! The bathroom was clean, and the entire place was spacious. I stayed at a Dream Room (a Disney-themed room), and there was a music noise coming from outside because it's next to the bar. Coming from FL, the insolation in that room was a bit off. Other than a all-houseguest breakfast, there was a very little interactions between one guest with another. Overall this is a good guesthouse. Located next to Leather Store and three bars with different style. Guests can almost always find taxi at the gas station on the next blocks (less than a minute walk.) Quite an enjoyable stay.


Loved my stay!!

4,6 su dicembre 11, 2011

I needed a place to stay for a couple nights.. a friend refered Ashland Arms to me.. was I glad he did. place is a bit far from downtown/Boystown.. but right above a couple of fun gay bars and just up the street from a little 'dowtown' with some good eatery and shops and a few gay bars/places.. host made me feel more like a guest at his house than a 'hotel' guest. place is beautiful and imaculate clean with large rooms and bathrooms.. with everything I could ever need to make for a pleasant stay. definitely looking forward to staying at charming 'home' next time I am in town. Alex


We had a great time!!

5 su dicembre 01, 2011

It was lots of fun to stay at the Ashland Arms. This was my second time being at the place. We had the place all to yourselves and it was great.


Great Place to Stay

5 su novembre 16, 2011

I enjoyed my visit, breakfast was awesome, clean and very friendly crowd.


DEVO59

4,0 su ottobre 30, 2011

My partner and I had a great time again; it was our fourth time there and we will be back!


Great place for Nightlife

4,0 su ottobre 19, 2011

I really enjoyed staying so close to my favorite bars, modern on the inside and real clean. I'll be back, on the next Underware night at Jackhammer !


Great location and value

5 su ottobre 13, 2011

Excellent option for those visiting Chicago and wishing to stay on the Far North Side near the leather bars and Andersonville.


Well kept secret

4,4 su ottobre 08, 2011

I've stayed there twice in different rooms. What a well-kept secret. The place is immaculately clean, very nicely decorated and conveniently located above a gay bar and store. For some, the sound coming from the nightclub might be a problem for sleeping since it goes very late, but I think that only happens on Saturday night. Hey, you should be downstairs partying anyway - you don't have to drive to get "home".


Nice place, nice time

3,6 su settembre 28, 2011

Jim has done a nice job of creating a great place to stay and play while in Chicago. The place was immaculate, the rooms nicely set up and the service unobtrusive.....


Home from Home

5 su settembre 23, 2011

Well if you are looking for a real homne from home with great hosts and themed rooms this is the place for you. I was made more than welcome and felt like family by the time i left. I cannot recomeend it highly enough!! Eric the eggs Benadict were out of this world!!!!! Robert Manchester


Wonderful stay

5 su settembre 21, 2011

The location was great and handy with three bars on the same block, the place was beautiful and family atmosphere very nice, my hosts were very accommodating...I'll definitely go back!


A perfect retreat for us!

5 su settembre 12, 2011

Booked the Leather Room for my partner's birthday celebration, and the whole experience exceeded our expectations. As others have mentioned, don't judge a book by its cover...the outside of the place and the location are quirky...but the inside is wonderful. The hosts are terrific, too, and made our stay enjoyable. It was also fun meeting the other guests, many of whom we encountered later downstairs at one of the two clubs, or in the "novelty" store on the premises. A great idea with all the themed rooms, and we look forward to returning again and sampling the others.


Ashland Arms - a GAY hotel

3,8 su settembre 12, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to see that the hotel was in fact much better than we had hoped for and the proprietors Eric and Michael were very friendly as well and served up a superb breakfast on the w/ends. Be aware of the fact that it is above a nightclub/bar and that you will probably only get to sleep when the last person leaves that establishment (which was never a problem for us, as it was probably us, who were one of the last to leave it anyway).


Great Unconventional Lodging Option - Would stay again!

3,8 su agosto 18, 2011

This was a nice experience. The room was quaint. The restrooms and common areas were very clean. The kitchen was convenient. Breakfast was very nice - all of the guests sitting at one table with delicious food and good company The guys were very friendly, and the other guests were, as well. I loved being above the Jackhammer, which was a really fun Saturday night option for going out. Also really close to Andersonville shopping and bars, and only 10 minutes from Boystown. I really enjoyed this unconventional option for lodgings, and I would stay again. Negatives: Difficult to communicate during reservation process, neighborhood is a little sketchy.


Ashland Arms

3,4 su giugno 29, 2011

The breakfast on weekends, served at 10:30AM, is a bit later than I prefer, but still a very nice meal. During the weekdays, a nice continental breakfast is provided with breads, muffins, fruits, and cereals. The nightclub two floors below the B&B, however, makes sleeping incredibly difficult without earplugs. All things considered, Michael & Eric do a great job of making your stay as comfortable as possible.


My stay in May 2011

4,0 su maggio 21, 2011

DO NOT LET THE OUTSIDE OF THE BUILDING FOOL YOU! Inside is totally renovated and beautiful - chrome, glass, brick, marble, hard-wood floors, etc. Designer-quality experience. Nice, friendly people with a fine continental breakfast spread.


Enjoyable place to stay

4,0 su maggio 11, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Ashland Arms with a friend. Looking at the outside my partner was a bit concerned but once we got in we loved the place. It was like having our own suit of rooms. The staff was very friendly, rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. The parking was great. We will definatly stay there again.


Great, Geary Weekend

4,0 su novembre 17, 2010

I booked the Gear Room to celebrate my boy's birthday, Oct 30th. Being Halloween weekend there was a lot going on here in Chicago. However we managed to get geared up and hot & sweaty before relaxing in a warm whirlpool bath a few times. We look foreward to another stay & play weekend, maybe we'll explore a different fetish next time.


Perfect for gay travellers!

4,0 su novembre 15, 2010

Very warm welcome Excellent food for breakfast Outstanding and very original rooms


Full Service Kinky Gay Man's Dream!

5 su novembre 11, 2010

4 Distinctly different themed rooms available. Lots of action downstairs and well potential in the B&B!


Highly recommended (if you don't need to be near downtown)

5 su ottobre 12, 2010

It's kind of far from downtown or the Loop, and the nightclub downstairs can be loud, BUT the owners are extremely gracious (they provide earplugs) and the space is well-appointed.


Ashland Arms

4,4 su ottobre 03, 2010

Great place excepition value, great host willing to help and make sure you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to staying on my next visit to Chicago


Ashland Arms Guest House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $99 - $229
  • Recensioni (62) 4,4
  • Camere 5

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 001-3124989979

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina