Plum Grove Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,8

Valore della struttura
32 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Weekend Rejuvenation

5 su maggio 27, 2014

In Iowa City for a hectic graduation weekend and having Plum Grove Inn to return to at night was rejuvenating. Change in work schedule caused us to arrive late in the evening and Shelly was graciously accommodating about the change in our arrival time. Each morning we were served a breakfast that was palate pleasing and healthy. The presentation of the food was unique each morning. Well done Shelly!! Bedroom and bath are elegantly appointed and you feel like you are in a turn of the century home with modern amenities. The bed was created for restorative sleep which we appreciated. The home sits within a quiet and historic neighborhood. Easy to get to any area of Iowa City from the Inn. Thank you for a wonderful and refreshing place to stay. Paul and Linda


An true gem

5 su aprile 11, 2014

Shelly was an incredibly kind and giving host. Her breakfasts every morning were so delicious -- I could not believe it! She and her husband have taken great care to create a unique and special environment for guests.


The Perfect Writer's Retreat

5 su luglio 29, 2013

Don't miss an opportunity to stay at the Plume Grove Inn. Especially if you like to be treated like royalty every once in awhile. Not only will attendees of The Iowa Summer Writing Festival (just minutes away) enjoy the quiet and comfort of a 'home away from home," they can also take notepad or laptop (great wifi!) up to the roof patio to get some sun without having to resort to expensive coffee-shops with one-hour limits. Another point of value is the delicious, homemade breakfasts you'd be apt to pay $30 for in any restaurant, and the free street parking. Why settle for the usual motel/hotel continental offerings of dry bagels and cold cereal, and a daily $10 charge to park your rental car? The owner is kind and conscientious but not intrusive. The Inn itself is both contemporary in its construction, and detailed in its history. The Plum Grove Inn is just a very special place to spend some time, and worth every penny.


Bed & Breakfast Royalty

4,6 su luglio 18, 2012

My Thank You to the Innkeeper of the Plum Grove Inn read: "I wanted to thank you again for making our stay in Iowa City very memorable! Your breakfasts were sumptuous and made us feel like royalty."


Quick stay in Iowa City

4,0 su luglio 06, 2012

Very impressive gourmet breakfast in a comfortable, quiet B&B!


Will be back

5 su giugno 26, 2012

Our 3 nights at the Plum Grove Inn were very enjoyable. Very comfortable and conveniently located. The breakfasts were off-the-chart good.


April 14th stay

5 su aprile 23, 2012

Everything was lovely and incredibly clean. Breakfast service was above and beyond, and it was very private. I would stay there again.


Visit with adult son

5 su febbraio 24, 2012

We stayed here while visiting our grad student son. We were greeted graciously and shown to our room. Our host gave us a brief tour and told us about the construction of the house. The bed w,as very comfortable and the room was quiet. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and nutritious. We will definitely stay here again on future visits to our son.


Home Sweet Home in Iowa City

4,0 su gennaio 05, 2012

Shelly and Tom gave me the kindest sweetest treatment I've ever received. My room was stately in the classic presidential fashion and clean to a fault. The direct tv was a nice touch, but I really appreciated the excellent wifi connection the most. I would stay there every time I travel through Iowa City. Finally it was the weekend before christmas and my stay included an amazing breakfast with christmas treats to top it off. Thanks Shelly and Tom!


Julian Visit 12/15/11

4,8 su dicembre 22, 2011

The hostess (Shelly) is an absolute delight and an imaginative exceptional cook. Her passion for glassware is apparent and interestingly displayed as well as used. Rooms are somewhat small but very warm and inviting. The only drawback was hanging clothes, as one has to use a number of small wall hooks scattered about that hold only a few hangers each. All things considered we look forward to a return visit.


Great Place to Stay

4,6 su ottobre 07, 2011

We stayed overnight recently and really enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful and our hosts were very welcoming. The breakfast we had in the morning was simply amazing. It was one of the best breakfast's I have ever eaten in my life. I look forward to a return visit.


Wonderful

5 su agosto 26, 2011

The house is great! The owners are charming and the breakfast was phenomenal!!!!!!


A perfect mid-western experience!

4,0 su luglio 27, 2011

This was our 1st visit to Iowa City. We were there to attend a family wedding and flew from California into St. Louis. Our timing meant that we arrived in Iowa City around noon and then we had a rehearsal dinner in the afternoon. Shelly was very accommodating and allowed us to check in early. She also offered to change our room to the room downstairs, which worked out much better for us. The home was spotlessly clean and we thoroughly enjoyed every delicious breakfast. Shelly and Thomas were happy to share the story of the building of the house and the acquisition of the beautiful work work. Shelly also told us about a Civl War site and printed a map of how to find it, which we stopped by on the way back to St. Louis. We thank you so much for everything. We highly recommend the Plum Grove Inn. Marty & Dick


A Wonderful Experience

4,6 su aprile 27, 2011

This was our first experience in a Bed and Breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Tom and Shelly were truly accomodating and available at a moment's notice. The room was beautifully set up with a keen attention to the finest details. We stayed two nights, therefore, allowing us the priviledge of enjoying two delicious and unique breakfasts. We highly recommend this to anyone coming to Iowa City. Located on a quiet street within minutes of the University of Iowa Campus, you'll have the school experience in a quiet setting. We plan to come again!


Best Breakfast Ever!

4,8 su gennaio 07, 2011

We stayed here the weekend of the Iowa / Ohio State game. Our room was very nice and felt like home. Shelly and Tom were kind enough to let us get in a little later in the evening (from Chicago) and gave us a small tour of their lovely inn. The breakfasts here were uber fresh and delicious! Such creativity! They knew the area and gave great suggestions on local restaurants. We will be coming back!


We'll definitely be back.

4,8 su novembre 14, 2010

We stayed here on two separate visits to Iowa City, and I would definitely try to stay here again if I ever need to return to the city. The bathroom and tub was luxurious, the rooms were quiet, and the bed was superbly comfortable. The innkeepers were kind, friendly, and incredibly helpful, and the food was amazing. You will love staying here.


Best birthday weekend ever... thanks to the Plum Grove Inn

4,6 su novembre 07, 2010

This inn is beautiful, newly constructed in an Arts and Crafts style using recovered architectural details from local auctions. The rooms are comfortable and clean with exceptional attention to detail, including everything you might ever forget as you travel. Each room has a private bath, which were also beautifully tiled with authentic claw-foot tubs. And the breakfasts were excellent as well! Multi-course, with a variety of tasty food. When we arrived, we had forgotten to mention that we eat vegan, but Shelly and Thomas were very accomodating, serving us amazing breakfasts including vegan scones; soy-based yogurt parfait and sausages; fruit dishes; and fresh orange smoothies. When you're in Iowa City... stay at the Plum Grove Inn!


A very special place

5 su ottobre 02, 2010

All of the other reviews accurately describe this special inn. Just be sure to plan on a delicious, leisurely breakfast that could be four courses! Shelly and Thomas seem to think of everything that could make a stay perfect. Shelly claimed she was a novice gardener, but the vines full of gourds and tomatoes told a different story.


Plum Grove Inn was supurb

4,8 su agosto 25, 2010

The hosts were outstanding, the food incredible and the room was perfect. We loved it and will be returning very soon!


Done with Care and Expertise

4,0 su agosto 18, 2010

My husband and I reserved “Sophie's room” for our Anniversary. We would stay again for any reason. The Plum Grove Inn is gorgeous and comfortable. The house has been thoughtfully designed and decorated. It provides earlier era aesthetic with modern amenities. It's not frilly, but done with understated elegance which a lot of B and Bs miss. I loved the clawfoot tub/shower and tile design in the bathroom. There are many fine, detailed touches, some of which are re purposed wood and antiques found by Shelly to work with Thomas's more modern architectural design. The hosts were fun and generous. Our breakfast was four wonderful courses!


Visit daughter at college

4,6 su agosto 05, 2010

Very cool place that is new but Shelly and Thomas have taken great pains to reuse materials from other sources to make it look old and charming. Very green, which I appreciated and spotlessly clean. Very nice people and the breakfast was heavenly! I found the ventilation system to be quite loud in Lydia's room which I thought was unusual for a new construction-maybe just that room. It was also very hot outside so the fan must have been running full blast! I would definitely stay there again and Shelly was even kind enough to give her the best granola recipe I have ever eaten!


Truly a Five-Star experience!

5 su agosto 03, 2010

I stayed at the Plum Grove Inn during a weekend at the Iowa Writer's Festival. Shelly and Thomas were gracious hosts who made sure everything was perfect! This is a beautiful home; my comfortable bedroom and bath were decorated to perfection - and both were sparkling-clean and fresh. Breakfast....ahhhh breakfast - it was WONDERFUL, a true gourmet experience. Don't hesitate to stay at the Plum Grove Inn, you won't regret it!


An excellent experience

5 su luglio 06, 2010

I spent two nights at Plum Grove Inn, and it couldn't have been a better experience. The house is beautiful, the food was excellent, and Shelly and Thomas were extremely nice people -- I was treated more like a family friend than a guest. I really liked talking to them, and I'd be more than happy to stay there again.


Set The Bar High!

5 su luglio 05, 2010

We began an 8 night B&B vacation out to Denver and back to New York. The Plum Grove Inn was by far the most comfortable, guest conscientious accommodations we had during the entire trip. Shelly and Tom were wonderful hosts and prepared the most enjoyable wholesome breakfast. If are travels take us anywhere near Iowa City again in the future, there is no question where we will seek R&R first. Thanks again to the Plum Grove Inn. ~Sincerely, Bob & Gina


Graduation weekend

4,8 su maggio 25, 2010

We stayed at the Plum Grove Inn while attending our daughter's graduation. Shelly and Thomas were wonderful hosts. The food was delicious and the room was quite comfortable. We look forward to staying there again when we visit Iowa City.


Josies first Bed and Breakast, friends from the start,first of many visits to PlumGrove INN

5 su aprile 29, 2010

From our first meeting to our goodbyes. Our visit to Plum Grove Inn was a true experience.Thomas's and Shelly's whit and vast experience from making the place feel as if you entered a place of heart and home. With a true labor of "LOVE". Breakfast was three course the finest local grown, and made to perfection. Nothing left to detail. My niece and her sweet daughter Josie were so impressed it is hard to put into words . The location is so perfect you are in a quiet neighborhood .You can hear the birds singing as you wake in the morning. Look out at the beautieful rain gardens and learn about the Tufted Titmouse, as you are being served this awesome breakfast.Story telling is another great gift of Thomas's. We will always remember this great B&B and hope to visit again soon. A great experience in the Heartland. Thanks Again, Ava Shields,Sauk Centre,MN.


Beautiful Home

3,8 su marzo 20, 2010

I have stayed in many bed and breakfast homes. Loved the fact that the home was built with recycled materials. Loved that they used geo thermal heating and cooling. Loved that there were no candles or potpourris in the room or home. It was extremely clean and decorated nicely. The bathrooms are huge and beautiful. It was quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was excellent. Hosts were very pleasant. Drawbacks were: Lighting in the room was not adequate to read while lying in bed. Beds are just full size so if you are used to a queen you will feel cramped. Although the refurbished old tub and shower linings were beautiful, if you are at all claustrophobic, you will feel uncomfortable when the shower curtains are pulled shut.


Great People, Beautifully Restored Property

4,6 su novembre 28, 2009

The first and most striking thing about our stay at the Plum Grove Inn was the friendly owners/hosts. Despite the fact that we arrived late, Thomas welcomed us with a smile and a quick tour of the property. Thomas and Shelly were very engaging every time we saw them. One of the highlights of our trip to Iowa City was the breakfast that we had at the Plum Grove. Thomas and Shelly went out of their way to prepare unique meals, featuring ingredients from around the area specifically selected for their rich tastes. Our favorites were the home-made pear tartlets, granola, and sausage dish. The house itself is an attraction. Visitors will notice the wood trim work restored after being acquired from a historical reclamation project. The house has several green features which meld seemlessly with the historical atmosphere of the restored house. And this has all been down with the owners skimping on creature comforts - our favorites was the plush bedding. The house is not downtown, so do not expect to be close to that "action". But it is a charming property in a nice area of town.


Complete Comfort

5 su ottobre 13, 2009

Remarkably comfortable beds! Lovely luxurious, yet livable rooms. Beautiful claw foot tub. Much of the inn building is constructed with reclaimed materials. Excellent and thoughtfully prepared food. Shelly and Thomas were a pleasure to stay with!


An amazing place

5 su settembre 23, 2009

At first glance, you will think that the Plum Grove Inn is a beautifully- and expertly-restored turn-of-the-century house. The structure is, in fact, all new construction. Some of the fixtures and appointments are salvaged and restored. The result is all of the charm and ambiance of a turn-of-the-century house with none of the problems and with all modern conveniences. I stayed in Sophie's room. It's small and dominated by the bed. But it was entirely comfortable. The Inn is close to University of Iowa... but not too close. It's in a quiet side street in a peaceful, quiet neighborhood. It's really a great location. The breakfasts were excellent. Shelly and Thom are gracious hosts and interesting conversationalists. In short, I highly recommend the Plum Grove Inn for your next stay in Iowa City.


best kept secret in Iowa City!

5 su settembre 14, 2009

My stay was wonderful. The Inn Keepers are very accomidating to my special needs. I have a wheat allergy. I enjoyed the easy access to my meeting in downtown Iowa City. The rooms were very warm and inviting. The bed was very comfortable. There was also a claw foot bath tub,( i wish i'd had more time to take a bath). I would highly recommend this establishment to my friends. They worked well with my travel. I will use them again in the future.


Incredible Experience

5 su giugno 06, 2009

This beautiful home is nicely situated in a quiet neighborhood with lovely trees and landscaping. The interior is incredible - the detail in the woodwork and decorating, the bathroom fixtures and tiles, the furnishings, all make this brand-new building feel warm, old-fashioned and cozy. The beds were INCREDIBLE. I've never slept on anything like it. Big, fat, feather-bed overlays - with a hypoallergenic cover so even my very allergy-prone hubby had no problem - it truly felt like sleeping on air. The deep claw-foot tub in our own private bathroom was a delightful luxury! Breakfast was scrumptious - and we were even asked our food preferences and any special dietary needs upon check-in. One of our companions does have some unique food concerns, and the proprietors were able to accommodate his needs without any trouble. Our stay was wonderful. We highly, highly recommend this cozy inn to anyone looking for a place to stay in town. It's close to lots of eateries and close enough to the University without being in the dead-center of the student craziness.


Plum Grove Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $130 - $199
  • Recensioni (32) 4,7
  • Camere 3
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-3193512433

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina