Iowa House Ames Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,5
  • Valore4,4
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
67 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Plan to Stay Again

4,0 su settembre 29, 2014

The Iowa House is a superb B&B that does great across the board. I would recomend to anyone to stay, and plan to stay again myself. We had a good visit, enjoyed the breakfast, and the rec-room in the basement was a great place to unwind and get work done.


WONDERFUL Weekend!!

5 su settembre 26, 2014

Our Chi Omega reunion weekend was AWESOME! The Iowa House fit the bill perfectly. The rooms were well done and the breakfasts were delicious! We will definitely be back again and we won't wait 30 years!!


A superb bed and breakfast in Ames Iowa

4,8 su settembre 25, 2014

Whenever I am in Ames, Iowa, I always stay at the Iowa House Bed and Breakfast...that is if I can get a room. Charming, clean, ideally located and run by a polite and helpful staff...there is not much more one can ask.


Charming but pricey

3,8 su settembre 18, 2014

Nice, quiet, homey place to stay. Rooms can significantly differ in size and it's hard to know when you make the reservation online what you are getting. We ended up having a pretty small room, but if you call to make the reservation, you could ask. The mini fridge was in the very small closet. The place is kind of pricey, particularly the larger rooms. The dining room and living room were very inviting and the chef was so friendly. They treated you like family. We arrived late and there was a note left for us that snacks were in the dining room. That was great because we hadn't had dinner! One problem was that the mini fridge in my room had been defrosted, the tray in it was full of water, and there was water on the floor. Not a big problem, though. All in all it was a pleasant and unique place to stay.


A Gem in Ames

4,6 su settembre 08, 2014

Wouldn't stay anywhere else!


I will be back

4,0 su settembre 03, 2014

I loved my overnight stay and I will be back, the bed and breakfast was everything I thought it would be.


Hidden gem in Ames

4,4 su agosto 19, 2014

We recently stayed at the Iowa House and were very pleased with our accommodations. The house is decorated very well, and there were snacks awaiting us when we arrived. Our room on the first floor was very comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious and spotless. Breakfast was delicious--eggs and French toast--along with other assorted items. We were not in a hurry, which was a good thing, as it took quite a while to get served. Perhaps other days they have a quicker menu like a breakfast casserole. Overall, a good value, especially considering the hotel prices in Ames. We hope to stay there again.


Good value, comfortable and close to ISU

4,6 su agosto 15, 2014

Overall we were happy with our stay. The hotel is clean and classy and the room we stayed in was spacious and had all the amenities we needed to be comfortable. My only complaint is about lack of friendliness from a couple of the staff. The female who answered the phone when I called to inquire about a room was blunt and not helpful. I only went online and rented the room after I was unable to get one at the Union. The man who ran the front desk was barely polite and looked irritated when I asked a couple of simple questions. Part of the charm of staying in a bed & breakfast usually includes friendly interaction with the staff and I felt he was bothered by having to deal with a customer. That made it feel more like staying in a hotel than a "home". That being said we were still glad we ended up there. The rooms are lovely and have a nice eclectic mixture of functional furniture and antiques. The young man who took our breakfast order was friendly and accommodating. If you don't have time to eat a made to order breakfast, there is a nice selection of quick items and beverages, something for everyone and they had to-go cups for coffee ( a necessity for me ). We loved that it is in walking distance to ISU unlike any of the local hotels except the Union. If my daughter ends up going to ISU we will probably stay there again.


Iowa House Review

4,8 su agosto 13, 2014

The room was wonderful and the breakfast was great


delightful and convenient!

5 su agosto 12, 2014

My son and I stayed before his college tour and found it so convenient! I didn't anticipate being able to stay in a B&B that had options of two beds for us to comfortably share a room. Breakfast with chef service was so pleasant and tasty.


Thanks for a great stay!

4,4 su agosto 11, 2014

This was just what we needed to get ready for a great day tour at Iowa State. Thanks!


Awesome!

5 su agosto 05, 2014

Friendly accommodating staff. Room 206 is small but perfect! I will definitely plan another stay at Iowa House!


Great B&B!

4,4 su agosto 04, 2014

We were delighted with our stay at the Iowa House in Ames. Everything was super comfortable, the breakfast was perfect, and Jennifer was wonderfully pleasant and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.


Iowa Gem

5 su luglio 28, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Iowa House again when visiting our son. We love this place and would probably change the dates of our visit if we couldn't find an open room - we would not stay anywhere else in Ames! The rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The dining room serves delicious breakfasts in the morning, and always has extra beverages and snacks during the day. Service has always been excellent and accommodating. This is the place to stay when in Ames.


We stayed and Would stay again.

3,6 su luglio 27, 2014

We stayed on a weekday night and enjoyed the Iowa House. It is a very unique place and everything was satisfactory. The breakfast was nice and the staff was friendly. The cooling units in the room could have been colder but there were fans in the room that helped. I would recommend the Iowa House and would stay again.


Best overall B and B we have stayed in.

5 su luglio 21, 2014

Great location for ISU families. Nice rooms and decor. Nice breakfast and service. Great coffee. Dining room and living room set up for Active social environment.


Obvious choice for business travelers in Ames area

4,2 su luglio 20, 2014

The Iowa House has always been a great experience. I travel for business and have always found a great atmosphere - not quite bed and breakfast, not quite hotel; somewhere in between - to be found there. The best part is breakfast where the chef asks if you'd like the daily special, cooked to order. I'll stay there again!


ISU Parent

4,6 su luglio 11, 2014

It is a nice, clean place to stay near campus. We enjoyed walking around campus and the older neighborhoods. We were on the second floor and it got a bit hot and sticky in our room. It was a hot and humid July day, so that was part of the problem.


This was a perfect place to stay

5 su luglio 06, 2014

My daughter and I were attending orientation at ISU. We saw this B and B on a Google search, and she wanted to stay. We were glad we did. It was very quiet, near the school, and breakfast was plentiful. We used the whirlpool tub (better than a shared hot tub any day!) and they let us keep the car in the parking lot all day while we toured the school. We plan to stay again in the fall and every time we visit ISU.


Very Nice

4,2 su luglio 02, 2014

We had a very nice visit to Ames and Iowa State University for our son's orientation. The decision to book our room at the Iowa House was a very good one. It is an easy walk to the campus and along the way you can see the "campus town" area with its unique feel. Iowa House has a cozy feel and is tastefully decorated. The rooms are unique and well maintained. The breakfast area is inviting and the food choices are very good. We hope to be return customers on any future visits to the area.


Cozy place to stay

5 su maggio 30, 2014

The Iowa House is a very nice and cozy place to stay. Snacks available 24 hours. Close to ISU and local restaurant.


another excellent stay at the Iowa House

4,8 su aprile 24, 2014

2nd time staying there, great location & house. I have allergies and the cook was very attentive to my food needs. Have met fantastic people/other guests staying there both times. Will stay again.


Wonderful stay

5 su marzo 17, 2014

I've stayed here several times and each time the service has been great and the room wonderful.


Iowa house bed and breakfast

4,4 su marzo 05, 2014

Me and my son stayed here for 2 nights because we were visiting iowa state university. We stayed in a room that had a loft which was great because it gave my son his own space when he wanted it. The inn was very cozy and clean and the people who worked there, all of them were very nice. I was always asking questions about where to eat or directions and they were extremely helpful. The breakfast was great and they always had snacks out. I would stay there again if we were to go back. Very nicely run!!


First Iowa House Stay

5 su gennaio 05, 2014

The room and staff (especially the chef) were so accommodating and friendly. The bath salts and the tub jets are a spa experience! I will definitely stay here again and recommend to all my friends!


Very comfortable

4,0 su novembre 20, 2013

This was our second stay at the Iowa House. Very quiet, very comfortable, with pleasant hosts. The breakfast is typical fare (eggs, juice, etc.), made to order. The rooms are not overly spacious but what furniture there is is nice and the beds are comfortable. And really, for a weekend getaway what else do you need?


Iowa House 9/12-9/13

4,4 su settembre 18, 2013

Great place to stay within walking distance of ISU campus. Nicely decorated, spacious rooms and general living areas. Very comfortable!


2nd Times a Charm

5 su agosto 21, 2013

For my 2nd stay I had a 2nd floor room and it was lovely. No "basement" smell. It was a relaxing stay and the breakfast was yummy! The Chef took a breakfast and made it vegetarian with no fuss. He also made my daughter something a little less fancy than the regular breakfast again with no fuss. Outstanding marks all the way around.


Nice place on campus

3,6 su luglio 31, 2013

Great decor and amenities in room and common areas, but breakfast was a long wait, due to limited dining room seating. Plated meal was no big deal. Adult guest dined barefoot at table disregarding others. Coffee was limited and not quickly brewed. Afternoon brownies and lemonade was generous, however.


July visit

4,2 su luglio 22, 2013

Iowa House is a lovely place to stay when visiting Iowa State. It's close to campus. Nice variety of room sizes. Delicious full breakfast in the morning.


College Town Gem

5 su giugno 07, 2013

We weren't sure what we would find for accommodations when our son moved to Ames last summer, and expected nothing more than the usual chain hotels. We were so pleased and surprised to instead stay at one of the cleanest, most comfortable and welcoming B&Bs we have ever found! Rooms are furnished beautifully and there is lots of space to make yourself at home. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. The breakfasts have been delicious and carefully prepared by conscientious workers. We have stayed there on two different occasions and look forward to our next visit. If you find yourselves in Ames, Iowa, do not hesitate to enrich your visit with a stay at the Iowa House - you will love it!


AWESOME!!

5 su maggio 26, 2013

The staff at Iowa House - Ames were outstanding! From the welcoming check- in from Sara, to the delicious breakfast made by Svetlana each morning, we felt like moving in permanently. Sara came to our room to advise of a tornado warning and provided great instructions for our safety. The house was lovely and very homey feeling. We plan on returning in the near future and recommending them to all of our family and friends.


Cozy

4,6 su dicembre 04, 2012

Very quaint, cozy, and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and will consider going again in the future.


Outstanding says it all!

5 su agosto 31, 2012

My husband and I made a quick trip out to Iowa State to visit our freshman daughter who was having a difficult time with the transition from home. After our stay at the Iowa House with the friendly staff, home baked cookies, and comfortable rooms she returned to her dorm refreshed and ready to take on the challenge. For my husband and myself? We will never stay anywhere else - everything from the moment we walked through the door - it wasn't a problem to check in early as our room was ready - to the fabulous breakfast the next morning made us feel truly pampered. Our stay was outstanding.


Great place to stay when visiting ISU

4,4 su agosto 18, 2012

We discovered this gem of a b&b a couple of years ago when our son was moving to Ames. The location was perfect as he was moving into Friley which is just down the street. However, we love the place so much that we still stay there even though our son is no longer living in Friley. Other than staying at the Memorial Union, there is no where else you can stay and walk to campus. As Alumni we absolutely adore walking around campus. But even if you aren't Alumni, we think you will love the gorgeous campus. We have stayed in 4 or 5 different rooms. The beds are super comfy, and especially like the rooms with the whirlpool baths. We have stayed in both rooms with the lofts. One time our daughter and a friend stayed in the room with the twin beds. All of them super cute and cozy - bordering on luxurious. The renovation of the main floor living/dining area, and the Chapter room are stunning. Beautiful, yet very comfortable. The hosts, Monte and Tana, are charming, warm and welcoming. I would recommend this b&b to anyone visiting Ames or the ISU campus.


Just what you're looking for.

4,6 su luglio 30, 2012

I stayed here for two nights. Very comfortable bed. Very nice breakfast. Cordial, accommodating staff. The residential setting a few blocks south of campus is convenient and quiet. Our third floor room had a king-size bed on the main floor, and a queen-size bed in a loft up a spiral staircase (in the room), and each had its own TV. One full bath. We signed up for the 1st floor rooms initially, and I'm glad the innkeepers suggested we move to the 3rd floor. Those two rooms literally are inches from the dining room and kitchen, separated only by doors. Sound would travel readily both ways... I gave 4 stars on "Value" and "Dining" only because the rate exceeded my expectations, but is not "WOW!" good. The breakfast also was quite good, but was not a five-star meal. Nice common area on the ground floor, next to the dining room, to pause, read the papers (provided), etc. They also have a data projector and screen in the dining room for meetings, parties, etc. Plenty of parking, too. This is what a B&B should be!


Quick trip

4,8 su maggio 21, 2012

Quick trip to Ames. This was a great bed and breakfast. The rooms were awesome and clean. I felt welcomed and enjoyed the conversation with the owners.


Great Place to Stay in Ames

4,8 su maggio 17, 2012

Our son and daughter-in-law are on the faculty of Iowa State University and this is our base of operations when we come to visit. The rooms are always immaculate. The location is very convenient. The service is extra special and very positive. We enjoy our well-prepared breakfasts, and the chats we have with fellow guests. We always stay at the Iowa House when in Ames.


Love It!

4,6 su maggio 14, 2012

We enjoy regular visits to our Son and family in Ames and there are times it doesn't work for us to stay with them. The Iowa House B&B has become our first choice. It provides 1st class accommodations. It is so welcoming and comfortable and beautiful! I love having this option available when we need it.


Wonderful for our Reunion

4,6 su maggio 13, 2012

We combined our 50th college reunion with a reunion of sorority sisters. The visit was wondeful! We had space to meet and catch up; we awoke to the smell of coffee and an excellent breakfast; and the staff made us feel at home and welcome. I've never stayed in a B&B with nicer rooms. This place would be perfect for a wedding party, a family reunion, or any small to medium sized group. That's not to say that an individual or couple would feel out of place, because they wouldn't!


The place to stay in Ames

5 su maggio 03, 2012

What a delightful surprise! This was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and we were absolutely floored with the design and renovation that was done to a former fraternity house. The rooms are impeccably clean and the breakfast:Eggs Benedict delicious and freshly made. I also have to commend the friendliness of the staff. You can't go wrong by staying here. It is also conveniently located near to the campus of Iowa State.


Wonderful!

5 su maggio 01, 2012

I always encourage visitors to Ames to consider the Iowa House. They offer wonderful meals, nice staff and easy walking distance to campus. I have scheduled many, many visitors at this location and I've never had anyone complain or any mistakes on my reservation. Give them a try! You won't be sorry!


April 23-26th 2012

4,0 su aprile 30, 2012

Wonderful place, lovely and clean. I enjoyed being on campus and in a neighborhood setting. The breakfast and coffee were tops.


Iowa House is Lovely

4,2 su aprile 23, 2012

We stayed 2 days, and both mornings the breakfast was wonderful. The house itself is very nice, with a lovely art display by one of the employees.


An Ames gem

4,2 su aprile 08, 2012

We stayed in a loft suite on 4/5/12. The website pictures didn't do the room justice. A very comfortable room for my entire family. My girls enjoyed staying in the loft with their very own tv. The mini fridge & microwave were a big plus for us. Breakfast was very good. The only problem was despite notifications regarding dietary restrictions while reserving & again a few days before arriving no one notified the kitchen. The chef was very accommodating and provided a substantial alternative.


comfortable and welcoming

4,6 su marzo 31, 2012

After 2 days on the road, we enjoyed a whirlpool bath and the comfortable bed. We were warmly welcomed and found helpful maps and information handy. The breakfast was substantial and freshly made. Would be happy staying there again.


Coming Home

4,8 su marzo 19, 2012

I stayed at the Iowa House with my wife and our two daughters. Monte let me tour all the rooms in the house. I am a former Delta Chi. The rooms are beautifully done. My wife and I enjoyed the proximatey to campus as well as the wonderful breakfast, especially the home made rasberry sauce. The kids enjoyed the loft room. We all enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. We will definetly be back.


Loved it!

4,6 su marzo 14, 2012

We stayed here when we came for a campus visit with our daughter. It was so convenient to campus and so relaxing. Monte offered us the loft room with the king bed even though we had booked a different room. Our daughter chose the loft room and it was beautiful. It was our own little retreat on the third floor. Breakfast was delicious too. We are hoping our daughter chooses Iowa State so we can come back!


I want to live there!!!

5 su marzo 08, 2012

As I previously reviewed on Trip Advisor, Tana and Monte, as well as their support staff of Vera & Sarah, have set the bar for B & B's in my opinion. Hoping my daughter chooses ISU just so we can stay again and again. Comfortable, charming, very fragrant, delicious, relaxing, cozy, snuggly - all the previous reviews still hold true. If you want peace and quite, or a little hometown conversation with other guests, come to Iowa House. Can't wait to go back. Thanks. Laura & Dave


Best Place in Iowa

5 su febbraio 09, 2012

First, a full disclosure - this house was previously the Delta Chi Fraternity and I lived there more than 25 years ago as a student at ISU. While the external structure is the same, the inside bears no resemblance to a fraternity (except for the bench seating in the chapter room - very nostalgic for me). The atmosphere created by the remodel and beautiful decorating is extremely comfortable and relaxing (thanks Monte!) I've stayed here 3 times now for recruiting trips to Iowa State and a couple additional times with my family during vacations. The staff is great and the breakfasts are wonderful. There is a lot of old house charm, yet still equipped to get some work done (when I'm there on business). The convenient walking distance to campus is just as good as it was 25 years ago. If you stay here you will be pleasantly surprised.


Wow, perfect spot!

4,0 su gennaio 12, 2012

I am a journalist and booked rooms at the Iowa House for myself and a couple of sources. We were doing some rather personal interviews. The location, atmosphere and service were perfect! One lady remarked that it was like being in someone's welcoming home. Clean, nicely appointed and good food.


Thank you!

4,0 su gennaio 12, 2012

This was our first visit to Ames, and we had a choice of Iowa House or a chain hotel. I'm so glad we stayed here! The rooms were comfortable and attractive, the lobby was lovely, and the breakfasts were delicious. We would definitely come back!


Comments

5 su dicembre 07, 2011

This was my third visit to Iowa House. I'll be disappointed when my granddaughter graduates and ends the reason for my 600 mile trips to Ames.


Best place to stay in Ames

4,6 su novembre 28, 2011

We stayed for just one night to celebrate my husbands 30th birthday and it was a great place to stay. We are both ISU grads and the Iowa House is located within easy walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. This house has been very nicely updated. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Ames. We will be back!


Iowa House

4,8 su novembre 20, 2011

This was an extremely well-run B&B. Lucy, who swerved as receptionist, went out of her way to accommodate my every need. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well-maintained. Breakfast service was outstanding. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone wishing to find a great B&B in Ames.


TOP 10 in the Mid-West!

4,6 su novembre 14, 2011

Iowa House is a lovely, clean, inviting Inn just outside the Iowa State campus. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are tastefully done and quiet, and it would be a great place for a family reunion or wedding. It was easy to find and the parking can accomodate RV sized vehicles. This really is one of our top 10 B&Bs in the Mid-West.


Comfortable and "Homey"

4,8 su novembre 05, 2011

I stayed for two weeks just recently and this was a great place to stay while attending a conference at Iowa State. The whole house is decorated to make you feel right at home and it even smells like home- with cookies int he oven! The rooms are very comfortable - so much better than a standard hotel. The breakfast is really good - they will prepare as much or as little as you want. The proprietors and staff are so friendly, that you feel like you've known them for years. I just can't say enough about the Iowa House - I will be back if I am ever in Ames again!


A Lovely B & B

4,0 su ottobre 26, 2011

Wanted to take a couple of days to check out some areas of Iowa and decided that Ames would be one of them. So happy we decided to stay at the Iowa House instead of your run of the mill chain hotel/motels. Iowa House is beautifully decorated, very homey feeling. We got to pick which room we would like and all that we saw we like, they all had beautiful quilts. Our room was large, clean & comfortable. Breakfast was good. Would stay here again if we get back to the Ames area.


Great place to stay for business trip

4,0 su ottobre 26, 2011

Had business in Ames for a few days and stayed at the Iowa House. Great little B&B just a few blocks from the University. I will definitely be staying here when I return on business. One nice thing is that the B&B is very close to the cross country course, so if you like to run it's just a short jog to a great running spot. Will definitely recommend to my colleagues.


9/6/11

4,6 su settembre 08, 2011

Very comfy, clean place to get away. High quality linens, and spacious common areas.


Wonderful stay!

4,4 su agosto 29, 2011

This is probably the best B&B that we have ever stayed in! The room was decorated beautifully and the breakfast was wonderful. The innkeepers have done a great job in decorating this old fraternity house. As my husband said"this sure doesn't look like any fraternity house that I have ever been in"!


Fantastic, unique and friendly B&B

5 su luglio 31, 2011

Thought I was back at college staying at the Iowa-House in Ames, Iowa close to the Iowa State University campus. The rooms were fantastic, very clean, roomy, and home like feeling. It was an unique way to take a college fraternity house and make it into a B&B. I loved to be able to walk to campus town and the ISU campus from the B&B. The breakfasts were nourishing and very tasty! We had our own bath which was great and the family room with the 3-D TV was a great use of space. I would recommend this B&B to any one and hope to stay there again - if we can find a week-end when they have an available room.


Renovated former frat house

4,0 su giugno 28, 2011

We loved the accommodations at Iowa House Bed and Breakfast. Located in a former fraternity house, it is close to the Iowa State University campus on a tree-lined street. The rooms have their own bathrooms with whirlpool tubs, a mini-fridge, and a flat screen TV. Antique furniture mixed with the updated rooms makes for a delightful atmosphere. Breakfast was a feast!


Two thumbs up...way up!

5 su giugno 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Iowa House in April and again in June. We couldn't have been more pleased with the hospitality, comfort, and convenience to campus. New owners Monte & Tana Parrish excel at running what we think is the nicest place to stay in Ames. Breakfast was exceptional, to include homemade bread and freshly ground coffee. The neighborhood is quiet, yet a convenient walking distance to campus. My wife is an Iowa State grad and she just loves it here. One of the fellow guests, who was travelling on business, was so impressed he commented to me that he wanted to return with his wife just so she could enjoy the place. My wife has several siblings who are ISU grads; we have planned a fall family reunion at the Iowa House. Two thumbs up....way up!


A Wonderful Travel Experience.

5 su giugno 23, 2011

Service was excellent . The rooms and all areas were very clean and well kept. Will definitely stay there again. We loved it.


Very pleasant place to stay in Ames, Iowa!

4,8 su giugno 20, 2011

The Iowa House is a very comfortable place to stay--the rooms have lovely quilts and Tiffany-style lamps, heaps of downy bedding, individual climate control units with remote controls, tasteful furniture, and lots of amenities, including a refrig/microwave in the room, wifi service, and large-screen tv's. The staff is very pleasant, and the common areas are large and inviting. The breakfast was delicious. We hope to stay at Iowa House again. It is within walking distance of the ISU campus, on a quiet, tree-lined street, with ample off-street parking.


Very accommodatimg

4,0 su giugno 12, 2011

These folks did a terrific job of accommodating not necessarily desirable traits of our group (a team of 13 y/o girls and some of their parents) while maintaining high expectations of adult groups on succeeding nights. Common space permitted not only 7 girls watching a movie to lack of notice of others (basement 'chapter room') but 4 couples seemingly quite dedicated to solving world's problems, one bottle of wine at a time on main floor. The stay at Iowa house made the trip to Ames a memorable experience (very positively) rather than an ordeal to be endured (see, Hotel with Kids, nite 245). Stay there! We will again. Kevin visser


Iowa House Ames

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $95 - $195
  • Recensioni (67) 4,6
  • Camere 15
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono (515) 292-2474

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina