The Artist Cottage Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,4
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,4

Valore della struttura
20 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Just Like Home

5 su maggio 26, 2014

We simply loved our stay - the Cottage was roomy - neat - clean - and well stocked. Bob and Bonnie were great and freely provided information and suggestions on where to eat and what to see. Highly recommend staying at "The Artist Cottage"


Review

4,8 su febbraio 21, 2014

Nice place. Liked having our own little house. It was equipped with everything you could want. Fully stocked refrigerator, all the needed kitchen utensils, comfortable bed, and located in a very quiet neighborhood. Slept with the windows open and didn't wake up once due to noise. Inn keepers were very friendly and available if we needed them. Definitely would stay here again.


Cozy cottage

4,2 su gennaio 25, 2013

Nice cozy place. It was just like your home away from home. Bonnie and Bob were great! The kitchen had everything we needed. The fridge and pantry were well stocked. The fresh fruit was awesome.


Great place to explore Hilo

5 su novembre 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the location very much. Bob and Bonnie are great. We had last minute problems with our original travel dates and they gave us full credit on re-booking for later dates. No one else did that... Overall, a very convenient place to explore Hilo, Volcano and surroundings. Easy access. Easy to find. Quiet and private location. Best for singles or couples. Four adults will be crowded. As noted by one reviewer, the cottage is full of nick-knacks and such. That gives it a more personal feel but does border on cluttered. Definitely well stocked so don't shop until after you check in. Another reviewer said "no heat" but we had heat. Didn't really need it, but it was there. The cottage is 3500 ft above sea level and in the rain forest meaning it is damp and mornings are quite cool. My wife is sensitive to mold, but we had no problems in that sense. Bring a pair of long pants and a long-sleeve shirt and you'll be fine. Rain coats available at the cottage.


Like home, only better!

5 su agosto 25, 2012

The cottage is absolutely wonderful! My husband surprised me by booking it for our honeymoon and i couldnt be happier with his choice. I was so excited to be staying at such a charming place. The details that Bonnie and Bob cover make you feel so special too! Our names were written with a welcome note on the door, fresh towels when we came home from exploring the island (even little shells out on the towels too!), a full fridge for breakfast, and snacks ready to go! The cottage had everything and we couldnt have dreamed up more for a place to stay. If/when we go back to the big island we cant wait to stay there again!


Big house with very nice people

4,6 su maggio 21, 2012

We were delighted that someone suggested us this very nice place at the last minute. Very clean house and nice people that provided us with several good suggestions for activities to do around. We have to agree with all the positive comments. Many thanks to Bonnie and Bob.


Bob & Bonnie...You ROCK!!

4,8 su marzo 15, 2012

From the first phone call, asking for directions to the cottages, it felt like I was talking to a favorite Uncle and Aunt that I hadn't seen in a while. My husband and I have never felt so at home, when we weren't sleeping in our own bed. Every little detail, even down to having q-tips in the bathroom (c; made our stay comfortable and memorable. We can't wait to go back and stay longer! I don't know what else to say except: our stay at The Artist's Cottage was, far and away, the highlight of our visit to the big island. We love you both and missed you as soon as we left! Mahalo!!


Our Home in the Rainforest

4,8 su agosto 14, 2011

We were going to be arriving late in the evening, so Bob said he would leave the lights on. My husband and I entered the cottage quietly, so as not to disturb anyone else. It took us about half an hour, to realize that there was no one to disturb. This was OUR home. The kitchen cupboards and frig were fully stocked. Every amenity was available to us, right down to the fresh cut anthrium on the kitchen counter and on the lanai, as well as the much appreciated WiFi. Bonnie's paintings in all rooms, gave that added comfort to our stay. The lovely fireplace was a wonderful touch. The bathroom was a quaint spa, also fully loaded with all the luxuries. Both Bob and Bonnie were gracious and friendly. We spent 12 days in the islands and wished we could have spent more time here. Laying in bed that first night, listening to the light rain in the trees was so calming after 23 hours of travelling, we were easily lulled to sleep. The cottage is very well located, with wonderful restaurants nearby as well as the National Park and the town of Hilo. There is a basket on the kitchen counter, filled with pamphlets and brochures on different activites in the area, which was very helpful to us, as well as the suggestions by Bob and Bonnie. We cannot say enough about the cottage and the hospitality and only wish we could have spent more time here. A wonderful way to start out to celebrate our 40th anniversary. Thank you Bob and Bonnie. You have created a treasure to cherish and we did just that.


Accommodating host

3,8 su luglio 10, 2011

Easy access to the Volcano and surrounding area, kids thoroughly enjoyed the very lush setting. Will stay again if available.


Great home away from home in remote area

4,8 su aprile 06, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here! After a long drive when we were exhausted, we could walk right in and relax. The hosts were so welcoming and helpful, but were not in our way. There are not many restaurants in Volcano so the kitchen was really, really nice to have, and the fridge and pantry are stocked with supplies for a breakfast meal -- we made blueberry pancakes and Kona coffee, yum. It was a quiet and peaceful time. The bedding was very nice, the bathroom had lots of supplies, and the cute dining table was set with a fresh bowl of very good fruit. It is like staying in your favorite aunt's guest cottage...those expecting the Ritz with butlers need not apply, but if you love artwork, peace, quiet, and lovely hosts, this is your place. Aloha!


Amazing B&B

4,6 su maggio 15, 2010

I stayed this cottage for 13 days. I have never stayed at an amazing B&B like this. It was full of useful amenities. Full kitchen was really useful. Especially, rice-cooker was nice for Asian people like me. It was full of wonderful Bonnie's arts and you can enjoy them. The location is nice to visit Kilauea Volcanoes National Park.


Home away from Home

4,0 su marzo 18, 2010

We felt like we were staying at home in Hawai'i, Bonnie was there to welcome us and show us around when we got there and make us feel at home. This is a wonderful cosy cabin, we were here for two weeks, the service was wonderful and non-intrusive, we had absolutely every thing we needed and more. From fresh fruit to shampoo and friendly down home hospitality, Bob and Bonnie are great hosts. Thank you Bonnie, for the pineapple upside down cake for my birthday. We would like to recommend the Artist's Cottage and the Country Cottage to everyone... Thank you for a very comfortable vacation. Don & Wendy, Sexsmith, AB


The Perfect Getaway

5 su novembre 03, 2009

We were looking for a quiet, comfortable, relaxing and romantic getaway on the big island, and The Artist Cottage exceeded our expectations. The cottage is very clean and well appointed, and our wonderful hosts Bonnie and Bob succeeded in meeting or anticipating our every need. Secluded yet easily accessible, the location is perfect for visiting the Volcano National Park, hiking the rain forest, or touring other areas of the island. It definitely felt like a "home away from home" and after a week we really hated to leave. We will definitely be back, and highly recommend The Artist Cottage to anyone looking for a delightful getaway.


A Real Find

4,6 su maggio 08, 2009

What an unexpected gem for a last minute stay. The cottage is roomy, clean and nicely appointed.. Innkeepers are delightful, friendly and very generous. The refrigerator and cupboards are stocked with everything you could want...... and more. Thoughtful touches everywhere and Bonnie's art is beautiful.


Big Island Volcano Vacation

4,0 su aprile 01, 2009

March 2009 my husband and I went to Volcano for three nights. We stayed here and had a fabulous time. The hosts Bob and Bonnie met us our first night and we spent some time chatting with them. They were very gracious hosts and have done a great job of creating a wonderful little getaway on the big island. The house was very clean and well stocked with lots of goodies! I am a firm believer in reading and writing reviews to decide where to stay on vacation. This is great place for couples or families with two kids. I definetly recommend the Artists Cottage as a great place to stay when you want a home away from home in Volcano.


Cozy & well-stocked cottage

4,0 su marzo 11, 2009

Our stay in the Artist's cottage was warm and inviting with lots of extras. Everything was clean and fresh and the walls had owner Bonnie's beautiful paintings displayed making it unique and colorful. They even had a laptop computer to use. There were plenty of snacks and beverages if you forgot or didn't want to make a trip to the store. Also had lots of toiletries and rain gear. The entrance to the park is just minutes away, as well as some restaurants and small grocery store. Our host Bonnie even baked a pineapple upside down cake for my husband when she learned we were celebrating his 60th birthday. Bob & Bonnie were very thoughtful and friendly hosts. Being Kona residents, we'll be sure to return or send our friends their way!


Homey yet elegant

5 su marzo 08, 2009

We stayed at the Artist Cottage one month. Jan 12th - Feb 11th. It certainly exceeded our expectations. Our plan was to find a nice quiet cottage away from a city where we could hike, cook our own meals and relax. Bonnie and Bob helped us realize that plan. We would not hesitate to recommend the Artist Cottage and hope to return for another holiday again.


Very Comfortable Stay

4,0 su marzo 07, 2009

We stayed here for one night during our Christmas trip to Hawaii. Everything we needed was provided and more. Bob and Bonnie's cottage is conveniently located to Volcano village and to all the sites in the area. We were staying in Kailua but decided to take a trip around the island, but didn't want to rush things. I wish we had stayed one night longer. I would recommend staying at the Artist Cottage. You won't be disappointed.


Feels like home

4,2 su marzo 05, 2009

Spent 2 days in late February. The cottage is great. Almost everything is new. It is only a few miles fromt he park entrance. Breakfast is not served but everything you could ask for is available for your use in the refrigerator. The hosts are attentive and make every effort to please. They have provided supplies for anything you might need during the stay, including a computer and/or wireless access. We would go back anytime we are in the area. It was a little cold when we were there but there was plenty of heat available to be comfortable. Try it, you'll like it.


Luxury and charm

4,0 su febbraio 12, 2009

We spent a wonderful Christmas at this cottage Bob and Bonnie were the best hosts and the cottage is beautiful, right down to all the details. We'll definitely be back!


The Artist Cottage

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $185 - $195
  • Recensioni (20) 4,5
  • Camere 2

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8089678560

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina