Garden Island Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,2

Più info

  • Camera4,1
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,4
  • Pasti in loco3,6

Valore della struttura
90 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Garden Island Inn Review

4,6 su luglio 19, 2016

This place is a really nice, clean, cute hotel to stay in and the service is great! My husband and I weren't flying in until late so I called in advance and they said they weren't going to be at the desk to check us in, but that they would leave directions and the keys to the room on the door. When we got there, there was a nice little note with the directions to the room and our keys. The note was very warm and welcoming! My husband and I have stayed here once prior to this trip and we really liked this place. When we got to the room, there was complementary snacks which was really sweet of them to leave. It was clean and beautifully decorated with art; Garden Island Inn is a very colorful place. They also have AC a small TV's. In the office, they offer free snacks and coffee and also have swim gear and games that you can borrow for the day. They don't have a pool, BUT Kalapaki Beach is literally right across the street along with other convenient shops and restaurants. I also believe there is a bus stop close by. The Gardens surrounding the hotel are beautiful and at night it is all lit up with lights. I have really enjoyed both of our stays here over the past two years and would definitely recommend staying here.


Perfect place and location!

4,8 su luglio 06, 2016

Loved everything about it. What drew me to go there was the art decor, and it was beyond expectation. The hospitality was the finest aloha. All of the staff, Steve and Lis the owners were very helpful. Rooms were clean, had little microwaves and refrigerators. There were little muffins and bananas for breakfast and ready made coffee at the front desk. I loved the touch of the waterfall behind us, you could hear no noise from neighbors. Also we had an ocean view and was centrally located to make day trips to Waimea or the North shore. Loved it!


Wonderful Inn!

4,8 su giugno 15, 2016

We stayed at the Garden Island Inn for nearly two weeks in June. We were very pleased about all aspects of the GII, including the rooms, location, value for the price, and WONDERFUL staff at the Inn! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. They have many nice extras such as beach related items in the office that can be borrowed, and freshly ground Kauai coffee available throughout the day. We would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Kauai. Its central location makes it ideal for travel to all parts of the island and it is an easy walk to an excellent local beach (Kalapaki).


Charming Inn

4,2 su giugno 11, 2016

My family only stayed at the Inn for one night, we arrived to the island late and this was nice and convenient to the airport. The staff was super friendly and warm, I would definitely consider staying here again.


Wonderful stay

4,4 su giugno 02, 2016

Wonder stay, otherwise wonderful staff! Rooms was clean and ready ontime.


Fantastic!

5 su giugno 01, 2016

We loved our one night stay at the Garden Island Inn. We booked it since we got into Lihue very late at night and it was conveniently located to the airport. Wish we had stayed there longer! Walked over to the beach in the morning to view the sunrise. Breakfast and coffee were great. Location was great. Staff was great. Fantastic memories at the Garden Island Inn!


Wonderfully relaxing place to stay

4,8 su maggio 24, 2016

Fabulous hospitality and really relaxing place to stay. Our hosts couldnt have done more for us. Lots of lovely treats to eat and always a warm welcome.


Lovely friendly B&B

4,2 su maggio 13, 2016

Great B&B, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Location great, just across from some good eating places and the beach. Central to be able to drive around the island. Really nice room. Great snacks and goodies too! Thank you!


PERFECT GETAWAY

5 su maggio 04, 2016

Myself and two friends (who had never been to Kauai before) stayed for two nights at the Garden Island Inn. What a perfect getaway. The Inn is close to shopping and restaurants. The staff was very knowledgeable about the area and their recommendations on things to do was top notch. Although there was no dining onsite, their area restaurant recommendations were completely accurate. We definitely would stay here again!


Great Service!

4,6 su maggio 03, 2016

Our stay at The Garden Island Inn was made wonderful by the incredible staff. Especially helpful were Cherie, Angela & Joyce who were the front desk people. Thanks again for all your help. The free amenities were an unexpected bonus. There were bananas right off the trees located on the property, lots of really great coffee, snacks and breakfast items. The staff was also great about recommending actitivites and companies with proven track records. The location was very convenient with restaurants, the harbor and shops within walking distance. This place is a gem that is made all the better by the family feel of it. We had a great experience and would go back in a heartbeat. Leslie & Art


Really very good!!

4,0 su aprile 30, 2016

In general everything exceeded my expectations. Really very good!! Thank you!!


Really enjoyed our last night in Kauai here

4,4 su aprile 23, 2016

This was such a fun place to stay. The rooms are bright and colorful, very clean and spacious too (we stayed in a suite with our three kids). The outside is maintained very well, and you can tell that the owners put a lot of time and effort into the place. There is a pond with Koi, which the kids loved, and so many lovely flowers and trees. It is next to a busy road but we didn't really hear the noise from our room. It took about 5 minutes to get to a sandy beach, also great for kids, with lots of places to eat around. I highly recommend.


Beautiful, characterful place to stay

4,8 su aprile 23, 2016

Was made to feel very welcome. The building is beautifully decorated with art, and the garden is peaceful. The morning all-inclusive snacks and bananas were a lovely surprise.


Great Value, Recommend!

4,0 su aprile 06, 2016

We truly enjoyed our time at the Garden Island Inn! They have a small free breakfast (usually just some small fruits and a treat with some coffee) but that was all we needed to get us going! They let you borrow nearly everything you could need for a beach day - towels, sunscreen, boogie boards, chairs... Our room was small and not much but very comfortable and clean, plus we were never in our room so it was perfect for us. Everyone who worked there (behind the check-in desk and the service crew) were INCREDIBLY kind! Hawaiian hospitality at its finest. This is certainly not your typical beach resort when you think of Hawaii (and there is no pool) but I would definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to Kauai!


Great customer service and down-to-earth friendliness!

4,0 su aprile 06, 2016

Service and friendliness is exceptional, especially Angela!! I was at the end of a 10 day trip and travelling without a car so I stayed at the inn one night before catching my flight at the Lihue airport at 10pm the next day. Since I had a day to kill in Lihue before my flight, the staff, especially Angela, gave me tons of recommendations of what I could do and where I could eat in Lihue. Even though I checked out of the hotel at 11am, they let me keep my stuff locked up at the office while I spent the day at the beach, let me use an unoccupied room to change before leaving for the airport, and even called a taxi service for me so I could get to the airport. Plus they were just super nice and welcoming, showing me around the cute little inn property and offering water, coffee, snacks, and lending beach towels and DVDs. If I ever go back to Lihue, I would definitely stay here again!


I would stay here again

3,2 su marzo 29, 2016

I loved the setting and location of this Inn. The grounds were filled with lush greenery and flowering plants. We even had a waterfall off the back deck. We were right across a quiet road from the beach, shopping and restaurants. There are high-end and well as more casual restaurant choices. The rooms were clean and the beds comfy and we had a view of the ocean from our room. It's easy to get to from the airport. The staff was very friendly and informative. They had breakfast bars, bananas and other goodies set out in the small lobby. A great "Hawaiian" experience.


Great Place

4,2 su marzo 20, 2016

This is the third time we have stayed here. It is a funky little place and we love it. Close to the Lihue Airport and a shopping center right across the street with a couple of good restaurants (Bamboo and JJ's Broiler). Staff is very accommodating and friendly. We will be back next year. Some friends of ours stayed here at our recommendation and they loved it as well.


This was paradise

5 su marzo 18, 2016

This place was great. It was me and my boyfriends first time on Kauai and Garden island inn made it all more enjoyable and amazing. Our room was perfect for the both of us and was in a central place for food and entertainment and amazing views.cant wait to be back!!


Okay - a little overpriced but nice as well.

2,8 su marzo 14, 2016

We stayed in a very fancy condo with 3x space, 3x amenities, better parking, less stress, less hassle in checking in and getting set-up, for the exact same price, so in comparison, we'd much rather stay in Princeville again vs. this location. However, it was nice enough and not a complete "don't go there." It just seemed to be located within the hustle and bustle so if you want tranquility, look elsewhere a little bit.


Great stay

3,6 su marzo 13, 2016

This was a great place in a good location. Easy to get to the beach and other stores and restaurants within walking distance. Would certainly stay here again.


Nice Stay

3,4 su marzo 09, 2016

We were only there for one night. The room is older but brightly decorated. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. No breakfast provided but the hostess directed us to a good restaurant just down the street. Would stay there again.


Location,location, location!

4,0 su marzo 06, 2016

Had a wonderful 3 nights here at the Garden Island Inn! We got in after a later evening flight and found the Inn less than 10 minutes from the airport. Woke up to a beautiful sunny day and a pleasant Cheri to check us in and answer any questions we had. They had fresh coffee and many choices of breakfast treats in the office. We didn't even need our rental car. Everything was within walking distance. Kalapaki Beach was right across the road and all the shops and restaurants you could want for all meals. The grounds were well kept and even had a tangelo tree bearing fruit to add to your morning breakfast in the garden gazebo. Local art work adorned the rooms and office and made the Hawaiian culture shine through! Will definitely include a stay at the Garden Island Inn on our next trip to Kauai!


Beautiful and relaxing

4,8 su febbraio 19, 2016

We stayed at garden island inn after arriving late at Lihue, the staff had our rooms ready, clean and comfortable. Even left a light on, just like coming home! We love that it's centrally located on the island with easy access to the beach, across the street and to the main highway, just around the corner. Too many extras to mention, but a few included complementary continental breakfast, beach gear, movies, snacks, sports equipment, towels, sunscreen & more! We will definitely return to visit this gem!


Fantastic Location

4,2 su febbraio 11, 2016

Garden Island Inn is clean, quiet and you can't beat the location. The staff is super friendly. I enjoyed our stay and would return.


Great place to stay

5 su gennaio 29, 2016

Really nice place. Very accommodating people. Love all the little extras such as towels and boogie boards. Definitely would stay here again. Great location as a stopover place on your way to and from the airport at a reasonable price. My last swim was in the little bay across the street. Very nice.


Lovely inn

4,8 su gennaio 24, 2016

Really enjoyed our stay at Garden Island Inn. The staff were super kind and helpful and the rooms were clean and charming. Only wish the lanai was not so near the road, but overall had a great stay here.


Friendly & excellent location

4,4 su gennaio 14, 2016

We had a four night stay at Garden Inn. It is only about 10 mins from the airport (no noise from planes) and a great location for exploring the Island. The staff are exceptional, very friendly and helpful with suggestions. Our room was on the first floor and was very large with refrigerator, sink (along with dishwashing liquid etc). In the morning there are fresh bakery items available in reception as well as fruit and other snacks (like muesli bars etc) and team & coffee. The isn't a pool or bar but you literally just walk across the road to the beach and also to a number of restaurants and bars - all of which are great. We also just bought some beers &swine from the local shop and enjoyed them on our balcony (lanai). The hotel provides beach towels, chairs, boogie boards, snorkelling gear. So all in all this is a terrific place if you want something that isn't your common 'resort' style accommodation..


Garden island inn review

4,4 su gennaio 09, 2016

Excellent highly recommend


Great room, wonderful people

4,8 su gennaio 06, 2016

Clean, comfortable room. Very close (across the street!) to the beach, stores and restaurants . Free loaner towels and chairs (+ more) for the beach. Free parking. Different types of snack for breakfast. Extremely nice staff who are very helpful.


Great place, they treat you like home.

4,0 su gennaio 05, 2016

Was so happy to stay here, bright and cheerie. Complimentary towels and chairs for the beach across the street. Complimentary snacks, videos and more. Had a wonderful time. Loved the sound of the surf and water fountain. Lulled us to sleep. Good price for Hawaii too.


Good time

3,8 su dicembre 17, 2015

Great location


Garden Island Inn is Excellent!!

4,4 su dicembre 14, 2015

My stay was wonderful! What a unique lovely little hotel! Convenient to shopping and dining. Wonderful staff! Had a great time there and will be staying there again in the future!


Love this place!

4,0 su novembre 21, 2015

This place is so comfortable, convenient and clean. We love staying here and being across the street from so many shops, dining and the bay. The grounds and art are amazing. This place is outstanding.


Retro Stay!

3,8 su settembre 30, 2015

Felt like I was back in the 60s and 70s! Beautiful waterfall outside our door. Greeted and treated like old friends. Delicious snacks in the office.


Outstanding Hotel!

4,8 su settembre 14, 2015

Centrally located and very clean and comfortable. Easy to walk to the beach and nearby shopping and dining. Outstanding hospitality staff. Lots of free loans in the main office including, beach gear, snorkel gear, movies for you room and more. The front desk gal even gave us popcorn and sodas to enjoy with our movie. We absolutely loved our stay here!


A nice and colored place to stay

3,6 su settembre 11, 2015

A warm welcome when we arrived, a large room for two. This is a really nice place to stay


Best hotel on Kauai

5 su settembre 08, 2015

Thank you! The setting and hospitality is super. I will be back.


Good place to stay

5 su agosto 19, 2015

The rooms are old fashioned and a bit small but they are clean and the bed is comfortable. The inn is close to restaurants and shopping. The bus stops right in front of the inn. The beautiful bay is just across the street. It is a great value and the people are friendly and helpful.


Great location and value.

4,6 su agosto 12, 2015

Really nice place, great service, very friendly. We had three rooms in our group and all were great. I highly recommend the suites.


Friendly & Perfectly Situated

3,8 su luglio 02, 2015

My wife and I stayed here for two days. It was great! Almost everything (food, shopping, etc.) in Lihue was a walk away. The staff are really helpful; they lent us some stuff for the beach (e.g. snorkelling gear, which was of better quality than that which the tours usually have). Overall, I'd definitely recommend this inn if you're in the area!


kauai vacation

4,0 su giugno 11, 2015

The Garden Island Inn is a great location and also a great value. A very unique place to stay! I loved the artwork. The location is close to the airport. Its within walking distance to many local restaurants. I was very pleased with my stay and would stay here again.


Great Stay

5 su giugno 08, 2015

This is a very charming place with great rooms, wonderful extras and great staff. Not only did we enjoy the room, they lent us snorkels, chairs and boogie boards!! What a value. Couldn't ask for nicer staff. Everyone will like staying here.


A Wonderful Stay at Garden Island Inn

5 su giugno 07, 2015

The room was charming with lots of Aloha flair. Friendly, helpful service from the front desk with wonderful dining recommendations. Would love to stay there again!


Tropical, relaxing and a very special B&B

4,0 su giugno 02, 2015

My friends and my visit here was our first stay in Hawaii. This is a very special place to stay, rooms had great space and view and were very tropical and cozy. The front desk was beyond helpful and friendly. They provided whatever service we needed at the time and even offer snorkel gear/beach chairs and towels to borrow. Coffee and pastries always available in the mornings. All staff were beyond friendly and offered great tourism tips and information for travel. Great location, great service and great atmosphere. We will definitely suggest this spot to family and friends and hope to come back!


Great stay at a great Inn

4,2 su giugno 01, 2015

Arrived in the evening and wanted a place for a "homemade" for a couple of days that was convenient to the airport. The Garden Island Inn is a great place with everything we needed plus a mini fridge and balcony. Would definetly return!!


Pleasant inn in lihue !

4,8 su maggio 25, 2015

The service is what stood out ! We were only there 1 night but easily could have stayed a week . The rooms were well taken care of , the host placed snacks and beverages in our room for our late arrival , the inn is conveniently located near the beach and restaurants and shopping . The grounds are very very nice . A very lovely inn . We will stay here again ! They offer things for kids and the beach as well .


Quaint Inn with fantastic service

4,2 su maggio 20, 2015

All the staff went way above during our stay. Extremely helpful and friendly. Dining and shopping are right across the street. We would stay here again, but would request a room not facing the street. Thanks for making us feeling so welcome.


Boutique Hotel among the Kauai Resorts

4,2 su aprile 30, 2015

Clean room with comfy bed made this place a winner. Owners are visible and friendly. Staff are excellent. Older establishment with neat floral paintings. Room sizes will vary. 3rd floor will have cathedral ceiling. The balcony area was small, but adequate. The Garden Inn was central to a lot of activities. A cold AC, microwave, small re fridge and fan are nice.


Garden Island Inn

4,4 su aprile 21, 2015

Extremely friendly, helpful staff located in a perfect spot in Lihue, Hi for exploring all of Kauai.


A charming inn that offers excellent value for your money.

3,4 su marzo 31, 2015

A truly unique inn that's a warm and charming alternative to cookie-cutter hotels. Not a high-end hotel, but certainly a comfortable, homey place to stay in a pleasant locale near a beachfront park in Lihue. Highly recommend it!


EXCELLENT!

5 su marzo 25, 2015

We arrived really early but the staff were so friendly and got us in the room super quick! Everyone was so friendly and the fresh tangelo's (i think) from the tree were just delish! Plenty of DVD's to watch after a long day of sightseeing and they even gave us some microwave popcorn! Rooms were spacious and great amenities and I loved the artwork all over the place. Very convenient as there was shops and restaurants across the road too! I will definitely be staying there when I return!


A great place to stay

4,8 su marzo 18, 2015

We absolutely loved the Inn. It had a lovely courtyard, plus a great location. The staff and proprietors could not have been any nicer. The fruit pizza they served for breakfast was delicious. We would absolutely stay there again!


Lovely place to stay!

4,0 su febbraio 25, 2015

Loved that they provide beach accessories- towels, chairs, mats!


Convenient location

3,4 su febbraio 03, 2015

Perfect spot for our 1st night on Kauai - nice location, clean room, and a pleasant staff. I would return....


Kauai garden island inn

3,4 su febbraio 01, 2015

Dear travelers, Pricey for the amenities, yet best location for ingress/egress from the island. Sketchy port and county park for the uninitiated. Just follow the rest of the tourists over the bridge. Go to the south west corner of the neighboring property for free coconuts on the ground.


Lovely place to land

4,4 su gennaio 23, 2015

Great service, great price, very clean. And you can go across the street to get a drink at the Marriott's outdoor bar.


Very impressive place to stay

4,0 su gennaio 17, 2015

Location, cleanness and service all excellent!


lovely inn,warm staff exciting art

3,6 su gennaio 02, 2015

The garden island inn is well situated across from a beach, restaurants and shops. The office has a plethora of goodies to borrow--beach mats and chairs, videos, books,snorkel equipment and much more for no charge. There is little or no breakfast to speak of, but there is a coffee maker in the room and healthy snack bars in the office available gratis all day. Beds are comfortable. Our room on the ground floor was a bit on the smallish side, but it was a well designed space that was user friendly. SG


Great place to stay in downtown Lihue.

4,8 su dicembre 22, 2014

The Garden Island Inn is a wonderful and affordable place to stay. It is a one of a kind place with beautiful surroundings and a wonderful staff. I have been a travel agent for 32 years and I would highly recommend the Garden Island Inn for those who wish to stay in downtown Lihue. The free breakfast is outstanding! Mahalo, Donna


Excellent value, cozy room, attention to detail

4,0 su dicembre 20, 2014

Garden Island Inn must be one of best values in accommodations in Kauai. We only stayed one night before our timeshare was availlable but wished we had stayed longer. The room was not very big, but it was nicely decorated with original art, had a very comfortable bed, several chairs and surfaces on which to place our bags. The bedside tables had good reading lamps on them, and each had a power bar--vtery handy for charging phones and tablets.There was a little kitchenette in the room, so we could make our morning coffee and eat some fruit. The waterfall behind the building made s soothing sound (helps you to fall asleep), The Garden in front of the hotel is lovely. And the staff had gone all out in making a fantastic Christmas light display. The Kalapaki Beach is just across the road (and there is also a small shopping centre). I highly recommend Garden Island Inn to those who are looking for budget accommodations. yet a very pleasant ambience, attention to detail, and friendly service, Please note that the dining score is low because there is no dining at Garden Island Inn. They served sweet pie and pastries at the reception at breakfast, but we, being Paleo eaters, did not taste them


Garden Island Inn made our vacation 5 star

5 su dicembre 12, 2014

Upon check in we knew right away we had made the right hotel choice. We were greeted and treated with Island Aloha the entire stay. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed our evenings after dinner relaxing in the beautiful gardens drinking wine and meeting fellow guests. In morning the coffee and special breakfast treats made it easy to get an early jump on all our activities. We also made use of the free beach towels, beach chairs and lots of other island essentials provided. They even had sunscreen! I can't say enough aloha about the staff that always steered us in the right direction and made our stay one to remember. A special aloha to Patrick he was the maintenance guy always sprucing things up but always made time to give us the island knowledge that kept us ahead of the crowds. Rob and Robin McAfee So. CA


Fun little place to stay

3,6 su novembre 10, 2014

We only stayed here for one night at the end of our stay on the island but it was great. The front office was helpful, fun and friendly and we would definitely stay here again.


Perfect Place

5 su novembre 06, 2014

It's close to the airport. Free parking. Original hand painted pictures in the rooms and around the hotel. The hotel grounds are well kept. The rooms are normal size. The hotel staff was the best I've seen yet. They let us borrow boogie boards, beach umbrellas, a little grill, towels, beach mats, beach chairs....They printed our boarding passes. Beach, great restaurants, and shopping are just a minutes walk away. I would definately stay there again.


awesome place to stay in kauai

4,4 su novembre 03, 2014

Hotel was very festive rooms very hawaiineii and I extended my stay and for the same rate they upgraded my room since the room i stayed in was booked. Its right in the middle of Kauai so perfect to do everything with out changing hotels they also have boogie boards and snorkel gear you rent for free and beach is across the street. -Mahalo


A bit of Magic

5 su ottobre 26, 2014

This place is wonderful. Each of the room doors are painted with its own unique image or scene by a local artists who was living at the hotel at on point. The grounds have been turned into a beautiful garden with a gazebo and flagstone paths. St night the Gazebo and surrounding trees are illuminated with little white lights- it is so pretty it looks like a bit of magic in the modern world. It isn't just how great the place looks. The people who work there are sincerely nice and helpful. I thought it was a family business because of how they interacted with one another. Every employee had lived on Kauai for years, and would answer questions thoroughly based on their knowledge of the island. These people were super nice and easy to talk to and it felt like having a home while we were there. IN addition to beauty and good people, the amenities here were excellent. Books, scuba gear, DVDs for guest use in the office. The rooms had little refrigerators and microwaves, plus enough plates, napkins, utensils that you could make snacks or easy meals in your room. The rooms were clean, big, and bright. The location is great! Not far from the airport. Shops and restaurants ar within walking distance. Easy access to the road you can use to travel al the way to the north shore or to the east side of the island. My boyfriend and I loved this place and would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone going to Kauai.


Great value for a central location on Kauai

4,2 su ottobre 18, 2014

We booked a few days stay on Kauai a bit late and decided in the Garden Island Inn because of the reviews and price. We weren't disappointed. The value was terrific! The location turned out to be very central and although the room was a bit old fashioned and on the small side, the was nothing tired and worn out about it. It gad been brightly finished with fun paintings and the grounds were clean and fun. The real stand out was the very friendly service from EVERYONE on the desk and the little extras. Beach towels? Beach chairs? Snorkeling gear? Movies? Snacks? Help yourself. Plus they provided one of the best local guide books I've ever used for our entire stay. We didn't spend much time in the room, and they really helped make the most of a beautiful island. Great value and delightful stay.


A Room with Character

3,4 su ottobre 17, 2014

My husband and I only spent one night here, but it was a fun place to stay. The room wasn't large, but it was well furnished. I loved that not only was there a refrigerator and microwave, but plates, bowls and silverware too. If you bring your own food or have leftovers, you tend to need those things and most places don't furnish them. Nice touch!!!


Love this place

4,0 su settembre 29, 2014

Beyond expectations. We had a great stay. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.


A very nice stay

3,4 su settembre 22, 2014

We had a very nice experience at the Garden Island Inn. The room was very clean and the staff corteous. The Hotel had everything we need it, chairs, umbrellas, coolers, towels, and beach toys. We will definitely come back.

Risposta del proprietario
Mahalo for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you had the opportunity to use our complimentary beach gear. Kalapaki Beach has so much to offer, SUP & surf lessons, clear clean protected water, and a great sandy palm tree shore! Visit us again, aloha! Lis & Steve Layne


Charming retro feel

4,6 su settembre 15, 2014

Garden Island Inn is a quaint little inn that is right in the thick of island activities. The staff treats you like family. Grounds landscaping is gorgeous and it is right across the street from a wonderful beach. Shopping and great restaurants as well as small eateries make this inn a come back place.

Risposta del proprietario
We are a small boutique artsy hotel very delighted to have original art on doors, walls, and canvases in every room. Immerse yourself in the tropical paradise at our hotel and away! Guest service, comfort, value plus a great location is happening here at our Retro Hotel. Mahalo, Lis & Steve Layne


Charming place

3,8 su settembre 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night on arrival on the island. We had a time share on the north shore but wanted to come in a day early; Garden Island Inn was perfect, very near the airport for a late evening arrival. Room very clean and comfortable, better than expected given other reviews about the place being dated. It is a throwback to a less fancy era, but really, had everything we needed. Staff very friendly and helpful regarding places to eat, beaches, free use of equipment and beach towels. Convenient for exploring either north or south; we would stay there again.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for staying with us, glad you enjoyed our hotel, staff and location. Please stay with us again when you need a room pre or post time share. Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne


Great place to stay!

4,4 su settembre 03, 2014

When making plans to go to Hawaii (Kauai), you just want everything to be as good as it can be. We reserved one of the condos and couldn't have been more happy. In fact, when we return (and we will) we are definately going to stay at the Garden Island Inn. The staff was very helpful and provided us with beach towels, chairs, boogie boards, etc..just about everything we needed.

Risposta del proprietario
Great to hear you had a great trip to Kauai and will come back to stay at our hotel. We are constantly making upgrades to the hotel providing the highest value and comfort with our guests experience the top priority.Many thanks for your comprehensive glowing review! Hope to see you here again soon! Aloha, Lis & Steve Layne


Updated/Funky 1960s Motel – Worth a Look

4,4 su settembre 01, 2014

We stayed four nights in August, 2014. We chose it because of its location, and its (relatively) budget pricing. We had a third-floor room with air conditioning. The facility looks to originally date from the 1960s and, objectively-speaking, falls into the low side of “two-diamond.” It’s clean and basic, but not ritzy. However, the unique painting and decoration goes a long way to make it more interesting! Our third-floor room, with a high ceiling, felt bright and airy. The bathroom had been partly updated. The staff are very helpful. There’s a garden area out front where you can sit and read in the shade. The location is terrific – you can walk to a nice beach and a good selection of restaurants… and an easy drive to many more. Combine all this with the reasonable price, and it’s not a bad deal. A few more comments: The back side of the hotel is built into a hill. That’s where a man-made water feature is located. The water is loud, but it masks sounds that might otherwise be audible from other rooms. Being built into a hill, however, the hotel’s very close to the native wildlife. Kauai as a whole has tons of geckos, so don’t be surprised if a little one finds his way into your room. They’re harmless, eat bugs, and kinda cute, but a surprise if you’re not prepared. We also found a very large bug in our room one night – again, presumably because of the surroundings. This was a surprise, and NOT cute. However, the place was quite clean and there was no sign of cleanliness being a factor in the bug’s presence. On balance, the Garden Island Inn is definitely worth considering, especially for a third-floor room.


Perfect Location, Amazing Customer Service

4,8 su giugno 30, 2014

Great customer service. Beach essentials available - boogie boards, coolers, chairs, even sunscreen. Wonderful cookies at the front desk and even a pumpkin pie with berries one morning. Granola bars as well. The location in Lihue is the perfect spot to see what Kauai has to offer. Across the street from the beach and restaurants/shopping.


Midwest Island Hoppers

4,4 su maggio 07, 2014

My wife and I had a very nice relaxing three day stay at the Garden Island Inn. The location is close to many shops, eating establishments, a nice beach and many watering holes. The staff at the facility were very helpful and super friendly. The freshly made treats in the lobby were outstanding. We would definitely stay here if we made a return visit to the beautiful Island of Kauai. Aloha and Mahalo!!!


Bright, Colorful Inn with a Great Staff

4,4 su maggio 07, 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights after a week at Poipu. Family left and Dad had time to himself. Convenient location to all shopping in Lihue, airport and local restaurants including my favorite-Kauai Pasta (Lihue location). Health club across the street was welcoming to drop-ins, swam in the harbor both days, so all was good here. The bright colors always put a smile on my face-very uplifting and cheerful. Enjoyed my stay! Please note: The program won't let me skip the dining rating. The Inn does have coffee makers, small fridges and microwaves in rooms, but does not offer breakfast. Not a big deal to me. Cheapest breakfast is at the mall in Times Supermarket-a buffet of sorts by the pound. Plus, musabi. Grabbed some eggs, bacon and musabi each day. Good enough for me.


Garden Island Inn

3,8 su aprile 22, 2014

THis is a small, quaint and a little funky option for the Kauai traveler who wants to be away from the more beaten tourist path. A lot of nice Hawaiian features and close to some good dining options like Dukes.


First night in Kauai.

3,4 su aprile 18, 2014

The hotel is close to the airport, the taxi there was $21. We liked the fun and colourful decorations and the place had a nice atmosphere in general. We only stayed for one night so I can't say that much about it. The bech is on the other side of a bigger street. There are lots of other more wild and natural beaches so go explore but this was a good place for us to start our Kauai adventure.


Small, older hotel with nice ocean views and central location.

4,2 su luglio 25, 2013

Clean rooms with AC, great staff, good central location with ocean views. Our last day stay was in room 21 on 3rd floor. This room is on the front corner with a full wrap lanai overlooking the bay. Was well worth the extra $20!


Alternative to big box hotels

3,8 su luglio 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Garden Island Inn. It's charming and fun. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. Lovely facility, surrounded by flowers and tropical plants. Convenient to airport and local shops and restaurants.


Delightful stay, hoping to repeat

4,4 su maggio 29, 2013

Staff were generous and helpful, cheerful and friendly at all times, very organized and flexible with our late arrival after a long flight from Australia. The amenities are terrific -- beach towels, snorkeling gear, always cookies and coffee in the lobby. It is a real pleasure to stay in a place with its own delightful, charming and artistic personality, all exemplifying the beauty of Kauai. And, the location is excellent: easy drive from the airport in the dark of late night, walking-distance close to shops and restaurants, and the beach!


Garden Island Inn, NICE !!

4,4 su febbraio 26, 2013

I live in the Garden Island Inn. from Feb 7, 2013 to Feb 13, 2013. The room is very Hawaii, and I realy love it.If I travel to Kauai the next time, maybe I will choose here again. All in all, NICE !!


A great day at the beach thanks to Garden Island Inn.

4,2 su novembre 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here before going on to our next place up north. We returned our last day on the Island with an odd request. We asked to store a couple of items and to borrow towels and boogie boards for a few hours of beach play (across street) before catching our plane. The hostess not only graciously agreed but even offered to call a taxi to set up our ride to the airport. Great Aloha spirit.


Pleasant surprise

4,2 su marzo 31, 2012

Stayed for our first two nights because it is near the airport, but I wish we had stayed longer. We got a corner room on the top floor with a kitchenette- great value and the space was incredible. Very clean and comfortable. Parking ample. Very short walk to beach, shops, and great restaurants. Friendly front desk person went out of her way to make calls for us. Drawbacks: noisy during day with open window, so-so view, almost no hot water.


Rainy Stay on Kauai

4,4 su marzo 19, 2012

My friends, who I met on Kauai, stayed here 4 years ago, and recommended this place. It's not a swanky resort, but it's a great value and very friendly and clean. The room was spacious, and equipped with a fan, TV, good shower, microwave and small refrigerator. Also had a coffeemaker, coffee, cups, mugs, plastic bowls and plates and silverware. The office provides a morning paper, coffee, granola bars and cookies. One can borrow DVDs, used books, beach towels, beach chairs, etc. for your stay there. Staff is very helpful and welcoming. Rooms were cleaned daily and well.


our Lihue trip

4,2 su settembre 26, 2011

First of all , I have to say the staff is outstanding, polite,helpful in every way...They will chart out a day trip for you that you will thoroughly enjoy and not forget. The hotel will loan you everything you need for a pleasant beach experience. The value is hard to beat, considering the location ( withing walking distance ) to shops, restaurants, the beach and park. O did I mention the tangelo juice thats made each morning by Wayne from the fruit harvested on the property...Yes we would stay there again and I have no problem recommending this hotel to friends...


Garden Island Inn

3,8 su giugno 08, 2011

Spent our last day in Kauai here. It's quaint, friendly, colorful, funky with nice landscaping & garden. Within walking distance to Duke's Barefoot Bar plus other bars, dining & places for some last minute shopping. Room was small, busy road out front, no pool but had a view of the ocean, 2nd floor room, with a nice beach within a 5 minute walk. A good place to stay for a day or two but not your entire vacation. I would stay here again.


Best Value on Kauai

4,2 su febbraio 23, 2011

Beautiful property, great location, awesome service. No better deal on the Island!


Not too bad for a short stay

3,4 su gennaio 18, 2011

The "boutique" style hotel is really an old hotel. The location is very good though. Walking distance to the shopping "mall" and lots of options for dining. The Kalapaki beach was across the road and is very nice. No rocks and smooth sand. The service desk was OUTSTANDING! They helped us with some small but important items, let us print out our boarding passes there... were very friendly and helpful. The local mosquitoes are vicious. Tiny but so much pain in the butt :). Don't forget your repellent! The room we had was very small, but ok for 2 people. The kitchenette was there but also very small. Microwave and tiny fridge. Very old TV (not a flat screen... For the price in Hawaii - not too bad for a couple of days stay. Otherwise, it is better to get a house shared with the bunch of friends. More comfortable and less expensive. :-).


disappointed

2,8 su novembre 01, 2010

The room was adequate for our need - 1 night after a long flight before traveling to our ultimate destination. However, the vertical blinds were missing several slats which made privacy an issue as people could see into our room. We didn't bother to mention it since we were so tired and only stayed the one night.


Garden Island Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $118 - $179
  • Recensioni (90) 4,2
  • Camere 21

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8082457227
  • Numero di Fax 1-8082457603
  • Gratuito 1-8006480154

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina