D&S Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
27 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wonderul Experience!

4,4 su marzo 23, 2014

This was our third trip to Hawaii, our first time in Hilo and our first time in a bed and breakfast. I wanted to be up close and personal with the residents in Hawaii. My husband agreed as long as we had a private bath. We were there two nights, 2/24 and 2/25, 2014. It was a wonderfully, delightful experience! Tim & Jami could not have been a better host & hostess! Jami had our expected time of arrival and since it was dark, was keeping an eye out for us. It was a wonderful feeling to have somebody waiting for us after being awake 21 hours. We live in the Philadelphia area so it was a very long day between three flights and the five-hour time difference. Both Jami & Tim were extremely helpful advising us on what to see and do; even allowing us to take one of their Big Island guide books with us during our excursions! We definitely saw more than we planned using this book and following their advice. The adjustable mattress was heavenly and falling asleep each night to the noisy frogs was quite entertaining! The earplugs were not needed! The continental breakfast each morning was more than enough and the conversation was very interesting with the other “residents.” D & S B n B is #1 place to stay in Hilo in our book! You could not ask for anything more! If we ever make it back to Hawaii a fourth time, it will include a longer stay in Hilo at D & S with Jami & Tim. Thank you so much for the wonderful memories!


We'd stay again...

3,8 su giugno 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at D & S Bed and Breakfast for two nights earlier this month (June 2013). Tim and Jami Vezina recently took over the management of the b & b, and they are terrific-- friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating, quick to help, and great at knowing whether you're up for a chat or not. They have great suggestions for activities, dining, or just kicking around. The location can't be beat as mentioned by other guests-- literally across the street from the farmer's market, a good local grocery store, and within blocks of a huge variety of restaurants. Parking might be a little iffy as only street parking is available, but in the two days we were there, we didn't have problems finding a spot within the block. Upon our arrival, Tim was on the street waiting for us because the location is easy to miss; he pointed out a good parking spot and helped with bags. The rooms are simply furnished but clean and comfortable. No air conditioning, but well ventilated. Breakfast is simple as well, but plentiful-- fruit, juice, bagels, English muffins, pastries, coffee, tea, a variety of cereals, peanut butter, milk, etc. Our unit had a refrigerator, which was really handy, and we appreciated the in-room coffee maker, too. We appreciated the free Wi-Fi! Available to borrow are books, rain gear, and reusable shopping bags-- all nice touches. Should we find ourselves in Hilo again, we'd stay again!


Absolutely the best value in Hilo, location, room, ambiance, folks

4,8 su maggio 16, 2013

Have stayed many times. Great location and ambiance. Would and do highly recommend as well as return.


Exceptional B and B!

5 su dicembre 19, 2012

I have stayed in many B&B's in the course of my travels and have never enjoyed such fine amenities and hospitality as those offered by Doug and Sue. Their B&B is conveniently located in the downtown core of Hilo, but their compound of six rooms surrounding an inner courtyard is double-gated and surrounded by lush greenery, giving the impression of a more rural and quiet setting. We plan to return next December when we revisit the Big Island. Thanks again, Doug and Sue!! Rob Vinnedge


Very nice stay in Hilo!

4,2 su dicembre 14, 2012

Visited Doug and Sue about a year ago for three weeks and it was great! We were 14 people from Finland and we fitted just perfectly in this small but beautiful haven in the down town Hilo. Doug and Sue themselves were the best advertisment, they were friendly and helpful beyound any mesurments! The place was clean and tranquil despite the fact that it was about 200 feet from the Farmers Market. Excellent situation. If we ever go to Hilo again this will be the place! Just loved it, Ilkka and Karola.


Fun in Hilo

4,8 su settembre 23, 2012

The accommodations and hospitality were excellent. My husband and I stayed 10 days and the location was convenient to all our tourist sites as well as to Kona via automobile. Doug and Sue were so helpful and communicative. This location allows you to really feel the culture of Hilo. Our two sons attend University of Hawaii and it was also a great location to assist them with getting settled for school. Will return and hopefully can stay here again.


Such Nice People

5 su agosto 18, 2012

My sister and I stayed with Doug and Sue while visiting Volcanoes National Park and other parks. The two of them went beyond expectations to make sure we had the best time on our lives. They took us to pick up our rental car when we made the poor choice of nor renting at the airport. The directions they gave us to out of the way roads to the parks were just so special. GO AND ENJOY THE D&S BED AND BREAKFEAST WITH SUE AND DOUG!


Wonderful place

5 su luglio 19, 2012

A great, beautiful place in the very center of Hilo, still very safe and has it's own privacy. Everything is near, the farmer's market, stores etc. It was a joy to be there. Rooms were very clean and nice, all service was great. Owners Doug and Sue were super friendly and lovely, helping with everything all the time. Really felt like home, spent almost 3 weeks there, with a group. Miss you Doug and Sue, all best to you! Anita


Charming bed & breakfast in a quaint little town

3,4 su luglio 18, 2012

Charming bed & nreakfast with a very attentive innkeeper who will sit by the gate to meet you. Thanks Doug for helping with the little things.


Don't hesitate !

5 su luglio 17, 2012

Doug and Sue are amazing host ! we felt like home with them. Rooms are beautiful and comfy, breakfast is good, perfect location.. We'd recomend this place for a stay in Hilo! Amy&Marc from France (May 2012)


Ideal in all respects!

5 su luglio 13, 2012

I spent a wonderful week with Doug and Sue in June 2012. Ideal central location, solid security, clean room and very fine table fare, all held together by two of the most helpful innkeepers I've met anywhere in the world. Absolutely recommended for any relaxed visitor and it will be my first choice if I ever get back to Hilo. (Rick, from Prince George, BC, Canada.)


Warm, friendly & comfortable

5 su giugno 03, 2012

We very much enjoyed our one-night stay at Doug & Sue's Bed & Breakfast in downtown Hilo. Our suite was cozy and very clean and included a small fridge and microwave. Internet but no TV or phone -- which helped keep the price down -- just what we liked! Best of all was the warm welcome and hospitality of Doug and Sue. They genuinely want you to feel at home. Breakfast was do-it-yourself with fruit, juices, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, just about anything you can think of! And we sat at a long table with other guests in a central lanai which was an "oasis" within the heart of the downtown area.


Great location downtown

5 su maggio 01, 2012

Our family had a wonderful stay here. The location is excellent, right across from the market and we felt very safe. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby we loved being in the heart of Hilo. Doug and Sue were very friendly and accommodated us really well. The lanai was a lovely little oasis in the city, and there was alway fresh local fruit and snacks for us. I highly recommend this place.


Fun and comfortable B&B in downtown Hilo

5 su marzo 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the D&S B&B. The room was clean and comfortable. The downtown location allowed us to walk to the Hilo Farmers Market, Tsunami Museum, oceanside park and two restaurants. Doug and Sue provided a wonderful continental breakfast in the common area outdoors under the big patio room. The accommodations reminded us of some of the B&B's we stayed at while traveling in Ireland with a Rick Steve's tour. Much more fun than your standard hotel/motel! We would definitely stay at the D&S B&B again, and we will recommend it to others. If you are looking for a place that is fun, clean, handy to downtown and just a little bit funky, this is your place.


A Blessing!!!

5 su marzo 22, 2012

We recently relocated to Hilo and my family (2 kids...5 year old, 2 year old, a meticulous wife who cares about cleanliness, service, kid-friendly place, etc) needed a place to stay for a few days while awaiting our own place to be ready for move-in. Being new to Hilo we were unsure of where to stay and the level of service, cleanliness of b&b, and even neighborhood. We happened upon D&S and what a blessing it was for us. Doug and Sue were very friendly...almost like our kids aunties and uncles who we left in California, and the place felt like home. While there three families with kids also checked in so we really felt at home. The room was very clean and new with a small fridge which was helpful for milk and food for the kids and coffeemaker with enough local coffee and sugar and stuff for the parents. On the large common dining table outside under the covere lanai there was always fresh fruits from the Farmers Market which is literally across the street, nice touches of fresh flowers, and local paper. The continental breakfast had a variety of cereal, bars, fresh fruits, milk, bagels, etc. No hot meals, but we didn't expect it so it was fine. We could walk to any of the nearby restaurants if we wanted hot meals. The big park across the street near the water was a big plus for the kids to run around and expend energy. We definitely recommend this place to parents. - The Raatior Family


We'll be back!

4,0 su marzo 04, 2012

Did not get the pleasure of meeting Sue, but Doug was a hoot! He was very sweet and fun to talk to. The rooms were clean, adorable and the other guests were friendly- no doubt following the vibe of the owners. No TV (so?) but fridge, coffeemaker, shower with plenty of hot water. They provided a lovely morning meal of fresh fruit, granola, baked goods, boiled eggs, cereal...etc etc. The building is lovely and the rainstorms were a perfect touch to a sweet little welcome to Hawaii! Ask to see the garden in the back- mindblowing that this is in the middle of Hilo. Affordable! Freindly! We'll be back! p.s. best farmers market I've ever been to right across the street on Mondays.


Clean, quiet, safe and nice

4,0 su febbraio 15, 2012

This bed and breakfast beats all those grimy hotels in Hilo. The rooms are clean and nice, the location is excellent, and Doug and Sue are great! We'll definitely be back!


Perfect

5 su gennaio 27, 2012

I had a wonderful experience staying with Doug and Sue. They were friendly, attentive and very very sweet. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I loved the layout of the place. I would certainly stay there again. P.S. They even sent me a hand written post card thanking me for staying with them. Doesn't get any sweeter!!!!


very nice place!

5 su dicembre 20, 2011

you get what you see! awesome location next to the farmers market. Fresh produce is a short walk across the street. Doug and Sue are great people that are very accommodating and make your stay a great experience. I would recommend this stay to anyone!


Awesome and Affordable in Hawaii!

4,8 su dicembre 20, 2011

New to the island, we were lucky to find D&S B&B in Hilo. It was affordable, yet very clean with nice rooms and convenient to anything we could need from downtown. Directly across from the famous Hilo Farmer's Market and just over a block from an ocean front park! The owners were friendly and helpful and we plan on recommending this location to our family and friends.


Fabulous value!

5 su dicembre 12, 2011

As perfect a B & B as you can imagine. Doug and Sue were wonderfully generous and accommodating hosts. The room was sparkling and inexpensive. Breakfast and snacks were delish and plentiful. Location is prime. Not a single complaint. Only praise. Richie and Simon


Island friendliness with Southern hospitality

4,6 su novembre 27, 2011

Stayed 8 nights and will be back in the Spring! D&S is truly an 'oasis of tranquility' as promised - quiet and restful but downtown within walking distance to shops, restaurants, bakeries, museums, and of course the Farmers Market. Doug and Sue are laid-back, excellent hosts eager to assist but never intrusive. Loved the fresh fruit always available, great selection of books and games on the lanai, loaner umbrellas and shopping bags - they think of everything. Perfect place for those not looking for a '17 pillows on the bed secluded honeymoon retreat' but a comfortable welcoming base to relax after touring the town or Big Island sites. I've recommended it already to family and friends!


Outstanding in Hilo

4,8 su novembre 25, 2011

A great place to relax near downtown Hilo - laid back, informal, wonderful innkeepers, quiet. Close to all downtown markets, the harbor, shops, restaurants. No mints on the pillows, but every convenience you need. Ron in Oakland


Just Super!

5 su novembre 20, 2011

Located in an ideal area, the heart of Hilo town, unlike the available hotels, which although close to the beach, are far from everything else. The hotels are also quite old and run down, very small rooms, noisy with thin walls. D&S is like being in a nice room at your own home. Beautifully decorated, super clean & Doug & Sue are great hosts always considerate of your needs and requests.


highly recommended

5 su novembre 02, 2011

Excellent downtown location and yet tranquil atmosphere due to architectural design and tropical vegetation. Each room is self-contained and opens to the central lanai. Clean and artistically decorated. Innkeepers are gracious hosts. I did not take advantage of breakfast, but I gathered that effort is made to provide what the guest would prefer. D&S B&B was the perfect ending to a very enjoyable holiday on the Big Island.


The BEST Bed and Breakfast In Hilo!

5 su settembre 09, 2011

My stay at the D&S Bed and Breakfast was one of the best experiences I have had while visiting the Big Island of Hawaii. The Innkeepers, Doug and Sue, are fantastic and wonderful people. They are extremely courteous, obliging, and amiable, which made my stay in Hilo even better. The Bed and Breakfast facility itself is beautiful. It is very well built with spacious rooms and a terrific common area. The area outside the Bed and Breakfast is adorned with copious amounts of vegetation which adds a natural ambiance that enhances the atmosphere of the common area. The room I stayed in was immaculate, well dressed, and very cozy. The D&S is also centrally located. It is within walking distance of the many tourist districts in Hilo (it is right across the street from the Farmer's Market!) and everything else is a short drive away (like the University of Hawaii at Hilo, which is a few minutes drive away). Overall, I would highly recommend D&S Bed and Breakfast to anyone staying in Hilo, it is fantastic place managed by incredible Inkeepers!


Excellent laid back location

5 su settembre 08, 2011

There are so many great restaurants, & local attractions near by this B&B. It is truly a wonderful experience & the Staff are friendly, & helpful with whatever your needs may be. I would definitely recommend this establishment, you will enjoy every minute you spend there. Thanks to Doug & Sue for all their assistance, & attention. Love the fresh fruit breakfasts, as well.


D&S Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $75 - $125
  • Recensioni (27) 4,7
  • Camere 5

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8089349585
  • Cellulare 1-8083395211

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina