Aloha Happy Place Recensioni

Globalmente
3,8

Più info

  • Camera4,1
  • Servizi3,3
  • Valore4,1
  • Pulizia4,2
  • Cibo3,0

Valore della struttura
46 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Best place for volcano

4,0 su settembre 21, 2014

If you visit hawaii and the volcano area, best place to stay for 1-3 days, simple, really quite, we only stayed 1 night but really apreciate, clean, close by volcano national park. The room had old furniture but well maintained. it's very causy...... would go back any time...


A wonderful down home place to stay!

4,6 su settembre 02, 2014

The house was so charming and warm from years of love and sense of family. Our room was decorated beautifully with everything we needed to be entirely comfortable...including fresh gardenias in the hallway to welcome us. I felt lucky to have been able to experience this wonderful place!


our 4th visit!

3,2 su settembre 02, 2014

We have stayed at this "Happy Place" 4 years in a row. It's clean, quiet and very charming. Our room has always been a welcome place to end a day of sight seeing. This year we brought our daughter, son-in-law and grandson (9 years). They really enjoyed the experience. If you want a unique place that's off the beaten path to rest your head, this is for you. If you like a lot of fanfare, then this is not your place. Aloha, Mike&Becky P.S. this in doesnt offer food service. It wasn't unsatisfactory,.......the website doesn't let us skip the rating for dining.


A special stay on a hurricane day :-)

2,6 su agosto 13, 2014

Our stay had been hectic but nothing to do with the lovely lady who's running the place. By run of fate we landed in big island on the day hurricane Iselle made a landfall near Hilo ... So we couldn't drive to volcano that night and when we finally made it to the place we spent the night with no power :-) In this kind of unique situation our nice host was still able to welcome us quite nicely (though she didn't sleep much that previous night) and our stay has been quite romantic with candles and oil lamps for lighting. A special thought to the Thai restaurant closeby : really nice Thai food and people and the only piece of hope in Volcano during these post Iselle days without power. Regardless the happy place was nice given the situation and our nice host was gentle enough to reimburse us 50% of the first night where we couldn't make it due to the storm which was a fair deal considering the situation. So if you can avoid arriving on a hurricane day (which is quite likely) this is certainly a very nice place to stay :-)


Sunny and comfortable double room, quant farmhouse!

4,0 su luglio 03, 2014

My daughter and I loved our stay here. The room had two double beds and lots of windows in the corner room and bathroom with a farm view. We were very happy that coats and umbrella's were provided as it was raining when we arrived at the park. When we got home that evening, there was lots of firewood and kindling and cardboard stacked generously for us to have a fire. The had a stereo near the fireplace and we warmed up on the big couch with good music (large selection of CD's) and a warm fire. We had the entire house to ourselves. The next day Joan let us check out late and when we got back from our long hike, we sat at the big dining room table and made our lunch. We felt at home and liked the warm smile Joan welcomed upon arrival, she left a note that she was working in the back, then came in to make sure we found everything OK and see if we needed anything. I would stay here again and my daughter would also. We liked the farm sounds, especially the goats! Great value for the room that we stayed in!!! Very close to the park and the location made things so easy for a 24 hour visit to the volcano! Wish we could have stayed longer! It was my birthday and it was a perfect trip!


Musty and allergy-inspiring—good location though

2,4 su gennaio 22, 2014

Wasn't expecting a LOT but there are some things you need to expect. First of all, Volcano is a very moist environment, and the house/rooms are poorly sealed. You'll notice the musty smell as soon as you walk in the door, and it doesn't get better in your room. My allergies were going nuts the whole time—sneezing and snuffling and keeping the girlfriend up with snores (I don't usually snore!). Second, the house is right next to a farm, which sounds charming until the roosters pop off at 3 am, 4am, 5am, and 6 am. And if it isn't the roosters, it's the cat meowing loudly, the dog next door yelping, or the donkey (yep, the donkey) braying loudly enough to wake you up. Bring earplugs and allergy medicine! All this said, the location is excellent—it's a great launching off point for explorations of Kilauea. Assigned a dining score of 'Met my Expectations' as there is no dining available at the house.

Risposta del proprietario
Yes you are correct, it is damp here with an average of 300+ inches of rain per year- this is after all a rainforest. Hence, expect damp humid conditions and cooler temperatures due to an elevation of 4,000'. This is precisely why each accommodation is equipped with a dehumidifier as well as in the common areas. The house dates back to 1898, yes that's right, it is one of the oldest remaining structures in Volcano rare and filled with history. So therefore, it is not sealed like a vacuum. As far as your allergies go did you not prepare for the fact that there is a volcano about three miles away as a crow flies which leaches all sorts of gas and other debris into the air? More than likely the source for your allergy attack. On days when the VOG is bad most folks living here do not even go outside. Therefore, had you taken this into consideration you would have packed those much needed meds for your condition. And yes, this is a farmstay, so you should have expected farm animal noise. No, we have no donkeys, but we do have 6 horses and offer horseback riding. When traveling its always a good idea to have ear plugs especially when you stay at the luxuriant hotels and have to listen to the elevators "ding" all night long through the air conditioning ducts. Hope this has been helpful to you as well as for other guests.


A lovely place

3,0 su dicembre 20, 2013

This is a lovely place with lots of nice, thoughtful touches for guests. Like a DIY B&B without the breakfast! We stayed in the bamboo room which has two beds. It's a little tight but works fine and is a good value at $99. The tub was a welcome amenity and the shower was great. There's a nice dining area with a fridge and microwave, dishes and lunch packs--very helpful for those who want to eat in and/or make their own lunches, though be warned that the grocery stores have pretty slim and expensive pickings. Also looked like extra jackets and umbrellas for those who forget theirs. There's a computer with wifi, tons of videos to choose from, and books galore. The fireplace is nice, loaded with wood & kindling, but the room immediately filled with smoke and there didn't seem to be a way to vent it better. There is a distinct musty smell to the place, which might bother some people. Also be aware that you can't drop off luggage before checking in, though the owner assured us that the park was safe (we had no problem). All in all, a great value.


OUTSTANDING!

5 su dicembre 13, 2013

If you love vintage and feeling like you're at home then you have to come here. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the accommodations have everything you could ask for. This B 'N' B is loaded with charm and character.


Volcano Guesthouse

3,2 su novembre 27, 2013

Overall great place to stay in Volcano. A very minor grumble - we stayed 3 nights and did not encounter the owner/property manager in this time.


It's good.

4,4 su settembre 26, 2013

The room is quite good and cozy. But the environment is too dark if you arrive late.


Very Nice B&B

4,0 su settembre 18, 2013

Very quaint B&B. Close to Volcanoes National Park.


Bamboo Room

4,0 su agosto 13, 2013

This room had many delightful details and artwork. The bathroom was especially nice. We tried to light a fire in the fireplace in the charming living room but no lighters.


3 nights in the Volcano Village

3,4 su luglio 11, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, had a lot of activities in the area, left in the morning and returned in the evening. The place was clean and quiet, we simply had all we needed. Thank you.


Quaint and charming

5 su giugno 15, 2013

Several years ago I stayed here and had a wonderful time. When I returned last week it was just the way I had remembered. The rooms were tastefully decorated with many extra amenities. We stayed in the sushi cottage which was spacious and in a separate building. The shared common room had a fireplace with books and movies. What makes this bed and breakfast stand out above the others we have stayed at was the decoration and charm of the place. While there are not many dining options in volcano, there are a couple delicious options.


Good value, quiet setting

3,8 su giugno 14, 2013

Everything at this property was as advertised, including easy self check-in. The owners provide for every contingency in this often-damp environment--dehumidifiers in rooms, a reading room fireplace stocked with wood, a rack of umbrellas, flashlights for evening volcano viewing, lots of books to read. As it turned out we had wonderful sunny weather. Comfortable beds, lots of hot water...who could want more? We'd definitely stay here again.


Gd choice

2,8 su maggio 30, 2013

Was a really pretty cottage like house and room very clean and well kept Provides just about all you need. Thank you


Excellent value

4,0 su aprile 26, 2013

Staying at Aloha Place was an unusual experience, perhaps made more so by the fact that I was the only guest, but it met my needs admirably. My room (Bamboo) was nicely appointed, comfortable, and very clean, with a full-sized bathroom and lots of natural light. I hardly saw another soul while on the premises, since there's a self-check-in/check-out arrangement. If anyone else had been staying, I think the atmosphere would have been like that of a hunting camp; as it was, it felt like an abandoned (but nicely equipped) camp that I happened upon. There's a nice common area on the first floor (although it's a bit of a mystery to me why there's no running water on that floor; bottled water from a dispenser is available). There's a microwave, a refrigerator, and a decent array of utensils, paper plates, napkins, etc. Wi-fi worked well. I didn't turn on the small, antiquated TV. The location is excellent for visiting the National Park. Don't expect attention from the proprietors (although I did get a fairly prompt response when I needed help after locking the door behind me at departure time and then realizing that I had left an important item in the room). But for low-cost accommodation where just about everything has been thought of, it's an excellent choice.


Decent Value Near Volcano Village

3,4 su aprile 23, 2013

Stayed in Sushi Guest Cottage for one night in mid April. Self check-in and check-out procedure was impersonal, but efficient. Room was comfortable and clean. Great location--close to Village restaurants and Volcanoes National Park. Main cottage was nicely set up with extensive library, tea, CDs, internet and lots of visitor information. Nice touch to provide the use of flashlights for walking around outside at night. All was quiet except for the roosters crowing in the early morning. Have recommended to others.


Needs improvement

1,2 su marzo 14, 2013

If you like roosters crowing at 3:00 a.m. and dogs barking at sunrise, then this is the place for you. Being animal lovers, we were a bit concerned about the dogs, kept outside in pens. This is apparently a working farm so you may also hear cows, goats and sheep. We were assigned to the Ali'i Room. The decor is not restful, with its strange color scheme and clutter - not enough space to put personal items. Someone needs to be available. We had no hand towels when we checked in and no one to ask for them. I also did not realize the room would not be serviced during our stay. So towels were not replenished nor trash emptied, and we had eaten a breakfast and a dinner in our room. Cleanliness was less than desired. Was that just a very old rug in our bath, or was it grimy? Moisture is problematic. The house has a strong musty smell when you enter the first floor. Our room smelled better but was obviously damp. We had to empty the dehumidifiers so they would run. Someone, besides guests, should be checking that several times a day. Fortunately we only stayed 2 nights. I recommend these innkeepers pack an overnight bag, "check-in" to the rooms in this place for a couple of nights, and use only what is available to them. They need to see things through fresh eyes. This place has potential but needs re-inventing.


Great Place to Stay

4,2 su gennaio 20, 2013

A lovely, homey atmosphere -- very welcoming. peaceful and quiet -- close to a good Thai restaurant -- easy access to Volcano National Park.


Great Get Away

4,4 su dicembre 14, 2012

Aloha & MAHALO for a cozy get away!!! Lots of needed time away and r&r


Nice place for the cost

2,6 su settembre 02, 2012

Stayed in the Bamboo room. The room was OK and the house is cute. Two issues: 1. Wished there was more fridge space, especially given that there is no breakfast at this inn so guests need to store their own breakfast food in the room's fridge. Also, the fridge froze all our food... 2. We forgot something in the room, and spent two days trying to reach the owners by phone. No answer and no response to voice messages. Had to stop by a few times till we finally found them. That's the reason for the "unsatisfactory" service rating.


Excellent

4,8 su luglio 27, 2012

This is what makes any trip -- memories. And places like Aloha Place will be our most pleasant memories from Hawaii trip.


One night stay

2,8 su maggio 13, 2012

There did not seem to be many places to dine after 5 pm. An updated dining guide would be helpful. Otherwise everything was just fine. Mahalo.


Home away from home

3,8 su maggio 07, 2012

The self check in may seem odd to some but it is the first step towards you feeling as if you have a home away from home...the house is decorated with antiques and information about the royalty of Hawaii, it is surrounded by lush trees and flowers and everything you could possible need and many things you didn't even think of are provided for you by the thoughtful innkeepers. The value is great and less than five minutes from the entrance to Volcanoes National Park. Volcano Village offers many great options for food ( may I suggest Lava Rock Cafe and Cafe Ohia!). I would definitely stay here again!


Met my needs & expectations

3,8 su marzo 09, 2012

Nice accommodations and amenities. For those of you who like anonymity/privacy. there is no need to interact with owners. Come and go as you please without worrying about inconveniencing owners or having to chat and "make nice". Their arrival notes & posted notes in the rooms give all the information you will need for a comfortable stay. Please note that any stay in a rain forest means excess moisture seeps inside, but there is a dehumidifier downstairs which can be taken to your room. One improvement would be to install heated towel racks to help the towels dry out between uses.


charming B & B

5 su gennaio 25, 2012

Like stepping back in time. Charming B & B. Love the den and fireplace.


The Good and the Bad

3,0 su dicembre 17, 2011

We came to this place knowing that 2 out of 2 Yelp reviews rated this one star, which made us panick when we showed up and couldn't find our room information, and no one was at the office or would pick up the phone to assure us that our reservation was still good. When we eventually wasted some of our Volcano-exploring time and located someone to talk to, we were greeted by a frustrated lady who accused us of getting there half an hour early because she hadn't finished cleaning the room. That said, when we eventually were able to check in many hours of Volcano later (we weren't going to wait around for another half an hour just to check in), the (Paniolo) room turned out to be really cute and well equipped. We had a fine night of sleep, though were disappointed not to find the kitchen in the morning at this Bed and BREAKFAST place. Otherwise, the library was nicely decorated. Hope this explains our mixed rating!


Charming little place

3,6 su novembre 04, 2011

This beds-only place is charming. We slept in the Bamboo room, which had everything in it, even things you didn;t know you need. The key, instructions and a welcome letter were in a envelope in a visious place, so we could easily find our way around. Only minor is the humid environment. We were only here for 1 night, but I can imagine, if you're here longer, all your stuff will get wet-ish.


Quiet and comfortable

4,4 su novembre 03, 2011

Very comfortable and quiet -- you feel at home.


Thanks to Aloha Place Inn - Volcano

4,4 su agosto 28, 2011

We appreciated our stay at cottage (very nice), the library with books, DVDs, CDs and Internet. The owner is very pleasant and considerate.


Hawaiiana supreme

4,2 su luglio 06, 2011

Our family and friends took over all four rooms at Aloha Place for one night during our two-day trip to Volcanoes National Park. The place is extremely clean, adorable, and convenient to Kilauea Lodge and Restaurant where we had a wonderful dinner and breakfast. We wished we'd had more time to examine all the books, music, etc. on Hawaii and will definitely stay there again in order to do so. It's got a "self-serve" style that fit our needs (coming from and going to the volcano); but while we didn't expect to interact with anyone, the caretaker was very friendly and on two occasions gave us insider (local) information to help us get more out of our trip. (I must add for completeness that the place smelled a little like my grandmother's basement but that all eight of us either didn't mind or found it somewhat endearing.)


Nice Place to Stay

4,2 su marzo 10, 2011

We stayed in the Paniola Room twice once in June 2010 and previously in Aug 2007. We found this a nice off the beaten path place to stay. we had stayed at Volcano House in the park along the ridge prior. This B&B is quant and in a quiet spot, that really gives you the flavor of the island. Yes the proprietors may not be seen or bother you unless you knock on the door. But isn't that what you want while in hawaii? The room we stayed in was well appointed, and stocked. The main Qtrs where roomy, fireplace was nice. overall we thought pretty highly off it. The house cat greeted us every night/day (he's not allowed in) there was a rooster, but I guess we slept through any crowing. we visit this island cyclical (3 year intervals) and plan to come back.


Definitely a good place to stay; great location.

4,2 su febbraio 04, 2011

We spent 4 days here (in the Sushi Guest Cottage) and were very happy with the accommodations. We used the mini-kitchen a lot and were very pleased with how it was stocked. We did not see the manager much, but that was fine with us. Extremely good value, and a great location. We will definitely return and recommend it to our friends.


Unable to Rest

1,6 su gennaio 24, 2011

We stayed at Aloha Place - Inn of Volcano for two nights. When I made my reservation I was already aware that they did not serve breakfast and that it was self check-in with an envelope on the bulletin board. Unlike others I was not surprised by these things. There were a few good things: free parking, free wireless internet, bed was comfortable, umbrellas provided, information sheet about nearby businesses with hours, and a small fridge provided. But here is what surprised me: I never received a confirmation from the owner that they received our reservation and when we arrived our room had changed. At first I thought the change was good because the room was the larger Sushi Guest Cottage...except directly behind the cottage is the chicken coop! The chickens will crow at all hours of the night and morning...they don't wait for the sun to come up. They would crow a bit at midnight and then start around 5am and not stop till 9am! I understand that people in Hawaii raise chickens but if you run an Inn you should give up this lifestyle for the comfort of your guests. We also had a circuit breaker go out when I used the hair dryer provided. This circuit breaker provided power to three outlets in the cottage. We knocked on the office door but no one answered and called both provided phone numbers but had to leave a message. When we returned from the park nothing was fixed so we knocked on the office door again. The owner did not seem pleased, had an argument with someone else in the office/main house, and then came out but was unable to fix the breaker. The whole experience made us feel unwelcome at the Inn and we would not recommend anyone to stay there...even if their rates are cheaper then nearby B&Bs in Volcano. Either pay more somewhere else in Volcano or stay in nearby Hilo and drive back and forth to the park.


aloha place

3,8 su gennaio 10, 2011

that place was awesome, except for the rooster that woke me up in the morning...;-)


only bed no breakfast

2,6 su novembre 06, 2010

We did not meet anybody during our four days stay. As we boooked on a B&B site we expected a breakfast. Unfortunately there is also no kitchen for use, so it was not even possible to prepare it ourselves. But there were other amenities we did not expect, like a computer for guests use for free, torches, lots of CDs and videos, wood for the fireplace and others. Over all our stay was o.k.


Awesome Place!!

4,8 su ottobre 21, 2010

Great Place. Doesn't come with breakfast, but we new that in advance. We stayed in the Bamboo room, had plenty of room, nice beds. The self check in was very easy and just as explained on the website. The place was very, very close to Volcano NP. It was nice to stay at the park until after dark and then have a 5 min. drive home. So convenient! I would totally recommend this place!!


Quiet, great interior but the chickens will wake you up

3,6 su settembre 24, 2010

We reserved 2 rooms here. Pretty much everything was as advertised. Keys were ready as stated. there's no dining here so ignore the dining eval. Both rooms were comfortable, clean and very nicely decorated according to different themes. The common areas were filled with amenities (internet access, loads of CDs and DVDs), fireplace, rain jackets, umbrellas. basically almost everything you'd need to be in the volcano area. Now, for areas of improvement: our quiet cozy sleep was disturbed starting at 4 am by roosters. they continued intermittently cock-a-doodle-dooing until sunrise. The chickens need to go! Put in a call to the number given on our reservation form asking about where the ice machine was. never got a return call. We would like to stay here again. tell us when we'll be able to sleep in.


Great stay at the Aloha Place!

4,8 su luglio 11, 2010

We stayed one night 7/26/10 in the Paniola room at the Aloha Place- Inn of Volcano and we very pleased with our choice. The price was reasonable, the room spacious and clean with a pretty western decor. We did not see nor need the innkeeper as we arrived late, but everything was available in our packet on arrival with key and instructions. It was so nice to be close to the park to see the glow of the Volcano at night and then return early the next morning to enjoy the daytime park actiivities. Did not use dining option. I would definitely stay again! Thanks, Joan! Jan


OK but no breakfast

3,0 su giugno 23, 2010

Nice location within mile or so of Volcano National Park entrance. Our room was clean and nice.


Incredible!

4,8 su maggio 11, 2009

The inn was incredible! We will be going back!


Such a great place!

5 su marzo 27, 2009

Our room was so cute with great amenities (hair dryer, hot water, coffee pot, etc). Very clean and a lovely property. I will return!


very nicely appointed

4,6 su marzo 11, 2009

Grounds are well kept and beautiful! We loved the furniture and the decor was great. This place was just a wonderful find!


Aloha Place

4,6 su febbraio 04, 2009

great stay


Cold and uninviting

2,0 su novembre 09, 2008

Not a pleasant experience. Arrived just after 4pm local time only to find the place locked and an envelope with our check in paperwork pinned to a bulletin board on the porch. The excessive amount of information to read and complete was irritating. When carrying our luggage into the house, an adult female who apparently lives in the residence (the innkeeper?) walked through the main living area but didn't even grunt a greeting of welcome. In fact, the only greeting we received was from the house cat who was roaming outside when we arrived. The room was ok, nothing special. Not sure how the property can be called a bed & breakfast when they don't provide breakfast. Our departure experience was similar to arrival, without human interaction.

Risposta del proprietario
Apparently someone neglected to read the policies stating that we offer a Self-Check-In & Express Check-Out. We offer this flexibility for the sole convenience of the guest to allow easy access of our facility. After all, with airline schedules often changing, sudden changes in weather conditions, road construction and other circumstances beyond our control it is near impossible to keep a schedule. Yes, we do lock our doors, not to keep the guests out but to make sure the guests have a maximum amount of security and privacy while keeping non-guests honest. The information provided at check-in includes a Guest Registration Form (to be merely signed), directions to your accommodation, an invoice and a map of Volcano indicating restaurants, gas stations, etc. Hardly what I would consider as excessive. We do not advertise as a B&B but a "guest house" including the fact that on almost every page of information clearly states that "no meals are offered". Our accommodations offer FREE WIFI, FREE cable/TV/VCR/DVD, coffee/tea service, ice, refrigerator, full private baths with amenities, use of flashlights for lava viewing, use of beach towels, snorkels and fins. These are just a few additional amenities provided and included in the cost of each accommodation. We take great care in welcoming our guests and often offer to take their luggage upstairs to their room. Obviously this guest made an assumption that the individual they saw was the Innkeeper, without knowing or introducing themselves and it never dawned on them to think perhaps it could have been another guest. I can assure you that we try to respond to every guest and generally ask upon arrival if they have any questions, do they know where to go to view the latest lava flow, have they had dinner, if not, do they know about the local restaurants and then provide them with particulars concerning each and hours of operation. We hope this information has been helpful to all.


Aloha Happy Place

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $110 - $150
  • Recensioni (46) 3,8
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8089895050
  • Telefono 1-8088966851

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina