Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms Recensioni

Globalmente
4,1

Più info

  • Camera3,9
  • Servizi4,2
  • Valore4,1
  • Pulizia4,2
  • Cibo4,3

Valore della struttura
68 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Mango Sunset

4,8 su luglio 29, 2014

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were encouraged to make ourselves at home at shown around. We took advantage of the grill and made our dinner and ate outside one evening. The morning breakfasts outside on the lanai were fun. There were conversations with other guests about plans for the day and Hans and Marsha offered suggestions to compliment the outings. The views were fantastic!


Fernblick bei Hans

5 su giugno 08, 2014

Zum Abschluss unserer Traumreise waren wir bei Hans auf seiner Kaffeefarm. Nicht nur, dass wir einen wunderbaren Blick auf die Küstenlinie und insbesondere dem Flugplatz hatten (aber kein Lärm, dazu war er weit genug weg) war Hans ein toller Gastgeber. Kartoffelpuffer nach pommerscher Art - war eines der Gerichte, mit denen er uns überraschte. Über Kaffee wissen wir jetzt auch mehr und nicht zu vergessen die tollen, manchmal auch tiefgreifenden Gespräche über geschichtliche Themen sowie Gott und die Welt. Hans, Dir und Deiner Familie alles, alles Gute, Gesundheit und immer viele zufriedene Gäste. Noch ein Hinweis an die Leser. Nehmt die Telefonnummer Eures Kreditkarteninstitutes mit auf die Reise, es kann sein, dass man Euch die Kreditkarte sperrt, weil der PC meint, dass Eure Bezahlmuster dem eines Betrügers gleichen, dann reicht ein Anruf und alles wird wieder gut! 2 Erw. aus Hamburg im Mai 2014


Speciality coffee with a stunning vista!

3,6 su giugno 06, 2014

The Honu room was tighter quarters than I expected; luckily the lanai expands the space into something comfortable. Personable hosts, all business in order regarding service, very welcoming to children. Room and bathroom need a deep clean (dust on walls, under bed, very visible); bathroom could use a little touching up to be really fresh feeling. The breakfasts were fantastic and scrumptious, if a little on the too-sweet side (lacking in protein perhaps?). And the coffee, the coffee!! The coffee plus vista are the spotlights - a must for serious coffee lovers. The best coffee I have ever tasted.


Home away from home in Hawaii

5 su maggio 21, 2014

We stayed at Mango Sunset B&B for our week long stay on the Big Island. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the common area has great accommodations (Computer, Wi-Fi, satellite TV, refrigerator, beach towels, hammock and barbeque). The owners (Marsha and Hans) are extremely welcoming and offered us wonderful tips about places to go and things to do on the island. They also provided fresh fruit, estate grown coffee, juice and tasty breakfasts made with fresh organic ingredients (many of which were grown on the farm!). The owners treated us like family, and we had quality time with their two cats and adorable terrier, Abby (outside only). It's conveniently located near Kailua-Kona and the fantastic beaches of the northwest coast. We'll definitely be back on our next visit to paradise!


Comfortable stay

3,8 su maggio 13, 2014

Pretty location and super convenient for the airport. Breakfasts, and of course the coffee, were delicious. Hosts were quite helpful and pleasant. The only caveat, which I've noticed in a few other reviews, is Hans' straightforwardness can feel a little abrasive if you're used to the aloha mentality.


More like a hostel than a B&B

1,0 su maggio 03, 2014

The sunset is beautiful but this is the worst B&B I have ever stayed at. The owner is arrogant, there are no locks on the guest rooms, the bathroom rugs and bedspreads are filthy, there are no pillow cases on the pillows, breakfast includes stir fry meat served raw with potatoes and onions, the owner is taken to shouting at the staff and his wife in front of the guests. Find another spot to view the sunset and skip staying at this unpleasant place.


Unique Experience staying on an Certified Organic Coffee Orchard

5 su maggio 02, 2014

One of the best B&B experiences of all our travel adventures.


Tolles Bed and Breakfast

4,8 su aprile 12, 2014

Tolle Unterkunft. Zimmer etwas klein aber ausreichend. Sehr freundliche Inhaber, die großartiges Frühstück gezaubert haben (haben unsere veganen Essenswünsche nicht einfach nur erfüllt, sondern ganz liebevoll und schmackhaft umgesetzt). Wir fühlten uns sehr willkommen.


Excellent B&B in North Kona Area

4,0 su aprile 08, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights. Since we had already seen pictures of the room and views is was as we expected which is way better than average. Very friendly folks there and the Sunday breakfast was exceptional. Up high enough to be much cooler than the Kona lowlands. Very convenientt to the airport for our flight home. Great views from the deck in front of our room.


Fabulous stay! Hans and Marsha we miss you!

5 su marzo 25, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this BnB March 13-15 2014. What a wonderful start to our trip to Hawaii. The view, the breakfasts outdoors,the coffee and fresh fruit grown on their organic farm amazing! We had the turtle room and just loved the fresh breezes. Hans and Marsha were wonderful at directing us to beaches and activities. Thank you for everything.


German Efficiency Meets Hawaiian Paradise

5 su marzo 10, 2014

Location is great, food is great, Hans and Marsha are great. Of course the coffee is great. We will stay here again when we return to the big island. Sit back, relax, and read the rules.


Unusual experience but warm hosts and great coffee!

2,8 su febbraio 18, 2014

This was probably the most unusual stay at a B&B in our entire trip. It was neat to stay at an active coffee farm and the hosts and other guests were lovely to talk with while we were staying at the B&B. However, we were a little surprised to find that there was no way to lock our bedroom door when we went out. The hosts take on 4-5 high school grads to help with the farm and B&B work. In exchange for their labor, they receive very simple accommodations. (We saw their tents in barn-like structure.) Although the hosts trust them, we were a bit uneasy at first. Our bedroom had a definite "not fresh" smell. Breakfasts were heavy but felt compelled to eat more that we otherwise would! Good location near Kona.

Risposta del proprietario
Not true: we have a super safe environment, with fence and private access road,and we usually say we have no keys and no curfews, you come and go as you wish. We are very safe. HOWEVER,EVERY room has an inside lock, and EVERY room has keys. Because only 4 or 5 times in 10 years (true!) someone wanted a key, we leave them in the office, available for the asking. These cases were guests from large cities where you would not dream of keeping your door unlocked. This particular guest actually asked AND RECEIVED two door keys. To slam us for this is utterly unjustified. Furthermore, to refer to the WWOOF Farm Interns as "high school graduates", in the context of room locking, does not only sound awfully elitist, but more. Is it "high school graduates" who are more likely to be untrustworthy then, let's say, college graduates? Half of the crew at that time have college degrees, one with an advanced degree. Having spent my life transmitting knowledge to young people, I resent the implication. We are nicotine and drug free, and our farm interns are very carefully selected. Over 10 years, we have hosted about 180 of them, and NEVER ONCE have we had any issue close to anything raised in that review.


Wonderful place to rest your head

3,2 su febbraio 17, 2014

I wish I could comment on the lovely breakfast, but I had so much to see and do while on the Island. It was a nice place to rest my head and rinse off the salt water. If I had more time I would have liked to stay a couple more days to just rest. The only down side is that if you do not want breakfast, or to be up early, you will still be rising at 0730 with the rest of the house. It is a working coffee farm, so the day must go on!! This did not bother me, but I think it may be important to some to know ahead of time. I would absolutely stay again if I ever have the chance to go back the the Islands. Please consider them when making you reservations, and enjoy some coffee for me :-) ( I am probably one of the only non-coffee drinkers to elect to stay on a working coffee farm, but it smelled divine).

Risposta del proprietario
This is quite unfortunate: Our booking information includes a clear reference to "sleeping in", saying that you can of course sleep in at any day, but will then "have to contend with cold left-overs in the guest fridge". Nobody "has to get up", unless their partner/family makes them. BnB Inns in Hawaii can only have a small number of rooms and guests, and mingling with other guests is part of a quintessential BnB experience. All 4 rooms are on the same floor, and all guests take breakfast together on our ocean view Lanai.


Kona Coffee, bed & breakfast and a fantastic view.....Perfect

5 su febbraio 08, 2014

The Owner Hans and Marsha Eckert were excellent hosts and very knowledgeable in all aspects of Hawaii and of course Kona coffee which was served daily.. The room we had was a comfortable queen bed with an ensuite and a Lanai facing the ocean, the internet access was excellent, II highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a nice B & B with reasonable rates. I would definitely stay here again. Marg and Jeff Eagle


Lovely stay with interesting people

5 su febbraio 03, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn - Marsha did a great job making us feel welcome including creating inventive breakfasts to accommodate guests with various food allergies and a vegetarian. We did some exploring of Kona and this location would be a bit of a challenge without a rental car but it could be done as a European guest demonstrated. Getting into downtown was a reasonably quick drive. We used our stay primarily as a retreat to read and catch up on work after some time in Honolulu - spending quite a bit of time on the lanai. (The wi-fi was strong and speedy.) Shared kitchen space allowed for bringing home snacks and leftovers which was perfect for our relaxed schedule. Our room was comfortable, clean and the sunset view was spectacular. The coffee farm itself was quite beautiful and in hindsight I would have enjoyed a tour of the operations.


Great breakfast!

3,0 su febbraio 03, 2014

Our room was very small with just enough room to walk around the bed and there was no lock on the door. There wasn't a closet, but a few hooks to hang clothes on. We really enjoyed the awesome breakfasts that were served out on the gazebo. It was overcast when we stayed there so we didn't get to see the sunset!

Risposta del proprietario
Locks on the door are on the inside; keys on request (as stated in the "Guest Folder" in every room that we asked to be leafed through). Rooms are no smaller than the several photographs on our websites, and most of our guests come for the bed and leave after breakfast. We do, however, also have a Living Room with reading couch and lighting, a guest computer with WiFi and a TV. That room is where a lot of evening conversations occur. We also have another room (Activity) with table, chairs, fridge, tea maker, etc., to play games or study up on next day's agenda.


Clean; Blend of Hawaiian and European Inns

3,4 su febbraio 02, 2014

Stayed one night in this intriguing BnB in January. It was clean! Colorful florals outside the patio doors framed one of the best upland ocean views. Breakfast was above average. Disappointingly, the Kona coffee was not hot when served. As for 'bed', we found the pillows too hard and high. Perhaps there were other pillows available which we weren't aware of. Marsha is a gracious hostess. Conversing with Hans at breakfast was fascinating, but others may find it an overwhelming experience. Recommended.

Risposta del proprietario
We serve our own Certified Organic Estate coffee in Thermos pump pots, and it is ping hot. However, occasionally we ALSO serve a French Press (glass cylinder)which would then stand next to the pump pots, and we always recommend that it be used up first. Sometimes guests come without first swinging by the coffee area, and the pump pot has already been carried out to the ocean view gazebo with all of our breakfast guests. In such an unusual case, the (left behind) French Press coffee could be cold. This happens within an hour of serving.


Fabulous Hosts, Beautiful Sunsets

4,0 su febbraio 01, 2014

We spent a lovely 3 days with Hans & Marsha on their beautiful property. The breakfasts were wonderful and the view of the sunset each night was spectacular. Their property is in a quiet rural area with a wonderful view of the stars at night. The hosts are lovely people who have a wealth of knowledge that they are very happy to share.


Breakfast with a view

5 su dicembre 15, 2013

Not luxurious, but comfortable and secluded. Hans and Marsha are terrific hosts, and the view from the gazebo at breakfast is not to be missed! How many places can you go to and get estate grown, organic, 100% Kona coffee grown by the owners with your breakfast? Mahalo!


Relaxation with some education, as well.

4,6 su dicembre 04, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Mango Sunset. The bed and pillows were wonderfully comfortable, and the shower was great! Since I am allergic to dairy products, Hans made hash for breakfast. This was a kind and delicious accommodation on his part! We also got to try the tamarillos, or "tree tomatoes" grown on the property. Masha was kind enough to share some of her Lyman family history with us. We watched the coffee roasting process and couldn't resist buying some to take home. We thoroughly enjoyed wandering the grounds.


A Perfect Place to Stay on Hawaii

4,4 su agosto 14, 2013

It’s not often that I take the time to write up a place I have stayed – but in this case the time spent at Mango warranted it deeply. We had an almost two week trip to various parts of Hawaii, including a few days on the ‘Big Island’ at Kona – and we had decided to take a break from hotels for this leg of the trip – and we are very glad we did. Our stay at Mango was the most relaxing and restful part of our trip – we arrived late in the afternoon to find all of our arrangements ready, and we were able to just relax and enjoy the best view of the sunset ever from the front porch… the next morning we awoke to the sounds of breakfast and the smell of robust coffee brewing… our host joined us for breakfast on the porch and we ended up talking about the history of the island and ideas for the days tours… and every direction was spot on for where to best swim or where to find meals… All in all I highly recommend any time spent on the island of Hawaii – be spent here. Tom and Kerry Hunter


Would stay here again.

4,6 su aprile 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mango Sunset for four delightful nights and days. It is a unique experience to stay at a working coffee farm combined with a B & B. Hans and Marsha spoiled us with their outstanding estate grown, roasted on the premises, high quality organic Kona coffee each morning alongside fruit juices and fresh fruit salad made with some of their own fruits. On our first morning this was followed by a wonderfully crafted breakfast of home-made cheese blintzes slathered with sour cream and jam. The following day Hans made corned beef hash, eggs and cheese with herbs and a lovely tomato salad with additional herbs Marsha snipped from their garden. Our room, the Nai'a, faced the garden area while the other rooms had the advantage of looking out down to the ocean. Breakfasts were taken under the gazebo looking over the coffee trees and downward to the water while listening to and watching the birds at the feeders placed strategically nearby. Hans and Marsha are a fount of information about the culture and history of the area and along with their extensive library of books and maps in the kitchen area which guests are free to browse they gladly answer all questions. Hans is a former professor, among many other careers, and loves to regale guests with his stories while imparting much information about coffee cultivation and roasting, as well as almost any other topic you might want to discuss. Classical music playing in the background during the day is a nice treat. While the B & B is a bit out of the way if you don't wish to go down the hill into Kona for provisions or dinner, there is a charming market less than a mile from the house where you can take out prepared meals or hand-tossed pizza. All in all we would recommend staying at Mango Sunset and hope you do have the opportunity to see one of those beautiful sunsets while you are there.


It was great experience to stay here.

4,8 su febbraio 11, 2013

Room was clean and nice. meal was very good. fantastic ocean view and coffee farm experience.


Great breakfasts with a fabulous view.

4,2 su novembre 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Mango Sunset BnB Inn. Possibly the best part were the breakfasts on the lanai looking out over the landscape and the ocean below. Coffee lovers beware. You could get hooked. The coffee alone was worth the price of the room. As a bonus you might also have the pleasure of an interesting and detailed explanation or even a tour of the coffee growing and roasting process as they do it at Lyman Kona Coffee. We definitely recommend staying here.


Lovely stay in paradise!

5 su novembre 12, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the estate. Breakfasts were served on the lovely back patio with sweeping views of the ocean and the surrounding areas. The first day Marsha made waffles with a fantastic home made lilikoi syrup that was to die for. Then Hans took us on a tour of the estate and showed us how he dries and roasts his coffee, which we of course bought because it is fantastic! The next day Hans made German pancakes with guava jam with was delight to eat. The rooms were lovely with wood floors and hawaiian decorations. Thank you Hans and Marsha for your hospitality!


Perfect for our honeymoon

5 su ottobre 18, 2012

We spent four nights at the Mango Sunset BnB. It was a highlight of our honeymoon. The breakfasts were great. Hans' & Masha's company at breakfast was wonderful. It was great to sit, eat on the Lanai and to learn so much about the island, the world, and the world of coffee. The view is magnificent, the bed was the most comfortable I've been on in months. And the coffee! I can't express how much Hans' advice about getting around and things to see came into play for our vacation. We will certainly be returning to Hawai'i, and when we do, we will be staying at the Mango Sunset BnB again.


Peaceful location, friendly hosts

4,0 su agosto 03, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a lovely time. Room was clean and comfy, views from the lanai were great, particularly the beautiful sunsets, and the hosts were warm and welcoming. Home cooked breakfasts make a nice change from the minimal "continental" breakfast in most B&Bs I've stayed in. Only takes a few minutes to drive in to town or the airport but the quiet atmosphere makes it feel like you could be miles away. Hans is passionate about what he does and was always friendly and chatty. Have already recommended to our friends!


Best coffee ever

5 su agosto 01, 2012

Our stay at mango sunset was a great experiance Hans and Marsha were awsome hosts, the home made breakfasts and organic coffee were a great start to the days I spent in Kona. The views were great and the location was very convenient. This is a B&B you cant miss. Dont miss a chance to converse with the owners, they are quality people with a far reaching history in Hawaii.


Outstanding Views and Best Coffee in Kona!

5 su luglio 01, 2012

This b & b is not to be missed as Hans and Marsha are wonderful hosts. We very much enjoyed our stay at their beautiful place, and the sunset views high above Kona are a treat for anybody. The rooms were clean, and the breakfasts were just awesome- especially the lilikoi pancakes and the coffee. As a Big Island resident, but living on the Hilo side, we often get a chance to try many kinds of Kona coffee but Hans coffee is the best. Their coffee has almost a rich, creamy taste with the french press coffee we were served in the morning having nearly a foamy head, reminiscent of freshly roasted Peet's coffee. It is worth to stay at the Mango Sunset just for a chance to try their coffee. Plus, Hans is very knowledgable about natural history and farming, so I learned a lot from him.


Beautiful view

4,0 su aprile 10, 2012

Gorgeous view and delicious breakfasts. Owner happy to accomodate my gluten free diet with a few suggestions. Wonderful organic coffee - took home 2 pounds freshly roasted. Friendly dog and cats, host is former professor with interesting stories. Highly recommended!


It was like waking up at my Mother's house...best sleep ever!

4,8 su marzo 17, 2012

We stayed with Hans and Marsha for seven days. They made you feel very comfortable, the B & B was very homey, the views of the coffee farm and the ocean were amazing. One of my favorite parts were to wake up in the morning, very rested, hearing the beautiful breezes and birds chirping and knowing I was going to have the best cup of coffee I had ever tasted AND someone was making our very yummy breakfast. The tour of the coffee farm was very interesting and we all learned a lot about coffee from Hans. His working farm was a perfect place for us to stay while on the Big Island. We HIGHLY recommend the B & B.


Beautiful Location with good Value - Rude Male Host

4,0 su marzo 10, 2012

Located on the West-Side of the island at 2,100 feet elevation; this cozy B and B had potential to meet all of our vacation needs. It delivered on these aspects : reasonable price, cozy rooms, great views of the ocean, decent & hot food, great Kona coffee, and exceptionally clean conditions. On these things; we were pleased. However, the male B&B host, Hans, was a detriment to our experience. Basically, he is a pompous ass. He parades around the breakfast serving like he is a combination of King George and Albert Einstein. At what is supposed to be a quiet relaxing breakfast; he immediately starts talking about himself, how smart he is, and gives you all of his political views of life. What a turn-off! Please don't take the coffee tour as it is a continuation of this rude and arrogant behavior. Oh by the way.......I was looking to buy organic Kona coffee for my Coffee shop in Madison WI. When treated so rudely by Hans on the tour; we decided that he will not get any of our future coffee business. I decided to select Anthony's Coffee from Maui as my business choice. Sorry Hans, but you need to work on customer relations. It's not ALL about the production of a coffee bean.. It is a shame that Hans' personality spoils a great thing at this nice B and B. Everyone else at this facility was pleasant, hard working, and exceptionally welcoming.

Risposta del proprietario
I was afraid that this lady was going to be a problem guest but did not anticipate that she would resort to slinging insults. The coffee tour is 90 minutes of my very limited time, it is free of charge, and I give it to my guests upon request. The feed back is normally enthusiastic. This lady was a non-stop talker who, quite apparently, resented that I requested to hold questions. She "knew all" about coffee and attempted to lecture me. I only "talk about myself" in the context of the farm--most people want to know when and how and why we started the coffee venture (I have given the coffee Eco-tour several 100 times, and as a retired professor I know how to transmit knowledge most effectively). During breakfast, I only get up from my seat to assure that guests are well served. No king George there. My customer relations are actually fine--I have more demand than supply. Well, every 100 or so guests you get a nasty one. I'll survive and talk to Einstein about it.


Quaint B&B with local flavor!

4,0 su gennaio 31, 2012

The Mango Sunset B&B is a great value! The rooms are adequate and clean. They have a small carbon footprint by having solar showers ...always hot showers. The breakfasts are amazing with lots of fresh fruit, 100% organic kona coffee, and yummy Mac nut crepes, taro pancakes, fresh guacamole, etc. We got a free 90 min coffee tour with our stay which was very informative. We watched sunsets from our lanai and lounged in the hammock. The cons are small showers and breakfast is served at 8am so no sleeping in. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.


November 2011 7days

4,0 su gennaio 20, 2012

Nice place the to get a good nights sleep and start the day with breakfast. Enjoyed the local inforamtion we got from Hans and Martha , nice host. We where gone from breakfast till dark most days , so this great location worked out great for us.


Mango Sunset review

4,2 su ottobre 09, 2011

After a hectic week in town during the build up to the Kona Ironman race, it was a wonderful relief to head up the hillside to the quiet, calm and cool setting of the Mango Sunset BnB. Being a coffee lover, the coffee farm was very interesting to see up close. Hans and Marsha are very friendly and welcoming and the farm is open for guided tours and self-guided exploration. While the coffee plants take center stage, there are also many varieties of fruit trees producing tasty fruit that often ends up on the breakfast table! The views are fantastic and I loved the relaxing atmosphere hanging out on the lanai. I look forward to a return trip!


Wonderful stay and great coffee !

4,4 su settembre 23, 2011

Fantastic property within an award winning coffee estate. Very informative coffee tour and sharings on the finer sides of coffee appreciation and cultivation. Great breakfast. Lee


A lovely place to rest between adventures on the Big Island.

4,2 su settembre 15, 2011

The Breakfasts were absolutely fantastic, fresh food, a healthy mix of (local) fruit and vegetables, and hearty delicious fare. They serve their own grown coffee with it, and he will tell you about his coffee, his food, everything, he takes pride in all his work. The one day we had to leave too early for a full breakfast they provided the coffee, fruit and good yogurt. The premises were very clean and well decorated with Hawaiin art and informative posters. The view from outside is beautiful. There's an awesome hammock. It's quiet inside and the TV room can be closed if someone wishes to watch cable all night with out disturbing others. There is also a lot of books to read on Hawaii and coffee history. There is a guest kitchen available, a fridge to store food and a barbeque. If your planning a lot of cooking you will want to double check what pots, pans and spices are available for your use, it is a very basic kitchen set up. My Mom and I enjoyed out stay here.


Mango Sunset Review

3,8 su luglio 17, 2011

Very clean. Simple but very tasty and complete breakfasts using fresh ingredients from the farm. Great hospitality - very interesting tour and demo of coffee roasting.


Mango Sunset, May 2011

4,6 su giugno 05, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mango Sunset. It has an excellent location and at an elevation of 2100 feet much cooler than Kailua-Kona. The hosts were friendly and helpful, although you'll want to be careful asking Hans about coffee. It's his passion. We would definitely come back.


Great view, average room

3,0 su maggio 10, 2011

The venue is beautiful, high on a slope above Kailua-Kona with a sweeping view of the coastline. Hosts were friendly and helpful, with good information about the area. The hot breakfasts were better than comparable cost B&B's we stayed in on the Big Island. The room, bed and bath linen, and bathroom could have used more TLC that they apparently had received.


The experience of a coffee estate

3,4 su aprile 27, 2011

We spent our last two nights in Hawai'i at Mango Sunset and enjoyed our stay. Hans and Marsha are very friendly and interesting to talk with. We especially enjoyed talking with Hans and his experiences in the German forces and various jobs when he left the military. The B&B is small but certainly adequate. The view from the lanai, especially at sunset and moonset, is wonderful. Breakfasts were excellent with very, very good coffee. Don't expect a luxurous B&B. What you will find is the experience of staying at a working Kona coffee estate and a host that is very involved in growing organic coffee and will tell you fascinating details about coffee growing. Would stay here again.


Informative

3,0 su aprile 21, 2011

The Inn sits about 2200 ft above sea level. If your going to the airport you can coast down to Hy 11. The view is due west with great sunsets over looking the coffee ochard. We learned a lot about how organic coffee is grown. The morning coffee is excelent, bought 2 bags to take home. The Inn reminded me more of a bunk house with private baths. Breakfest was ok but nothing special like we have excperienced in other B&B's. Could use a little up ticking in linens etc. Beds were less than great,, but we were so tired at the end of the day a board would do. The Inn keepers were plesent.


Lovely stay, friendly hosts

5 su marzo 23, 2011

My husband and I went to Hawaii to celebrate our five-year wedding anniversary. This was the last place we stayed before heading home and I can't imagine a better end to a terrific trip. The room was lovely and the guest kitchen facilities perfect - places to store and heat up food/drinks as well as implements for eating/drinking. The hot breakfast served on the lanai was delicious and the view is stunning. It rained our first morning there, and we used the rain as an opportunity to do the coffee farm tour which was informative and interesting, and I now have a place to purchase wonderful, organic coffee from. I would definitely recommend this place!


Hawaii Stay in Kona Coffee Country

3,0 su marzo 06, 2011

The man at the Inn insited that we remove our shoes prior to entering the home. This is NOT what I paid for and quite frankly, I do not like to remove my shoes outdoors to enter a home. The room was very small but very clean. The breakfast on Sunday morning was adequate but not abundant the other mornings breakfasts were outstanding. I would not return to this location.

Risposta del proprietario
Taking off shoes before entering our building -- and most others in Hawaii -- is clearly listed in our policies that ALL guests have to agree to before they can even make a reservation. So, this is exactly what you paid for.


Searching for the Aloha Spirit in Paradise

2,8 su marzo 01, 2011

Lovely and convenient location. Comfortable and private accomodations. Guests were not always a priority, so left me longing for more of the Aloha Spirit.


Great location/views and breakfast

4,4 su marzo 01, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Mango Sunset BnB in Kona. The geographical location, the coffee farm setting as well as the sunset views were delightful. The breakfasts were outstanding!!


Very unique place to stay.

4,4 su febbraio 15, 2011

Some places are just that-- a bed and a breakfast, but not true here. Hans is by far one of the most interesting people I have met. It was great to hear his life stories that I have only read about. He also truely loves his family and shareing them with us. Great quiet location. I wish I had more time to talk with them.


Almost there

2,6 su febbraio 02, 2011

The B&B is situation on a lovely working coffee plantation in the hills above Kona. Its a chance to learn about Kona Coffee first hand and Hans is an expert as his craft. The B&B itself tends to be quirky. Our room was 7.5 feet wide (there are jail cells bigger) and the layout was a bit strange. I'd love to rework the layout and interior to reveal its full potential as a B&B. It seems to be an obvious adjunct to the main business, or perhaps a necessary distraction. Still, its a comfortable place to stay with all the basic necessities. The location is about 2500 feet above the ocean and temps average 13 degrees less than the online temps listed for Kona. Bring a sweater for cool evenings and mornings. Its better for growing high quality coffee!


A quirky place to stay.

3,4 su gennaio 31, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Mango Sunset B&B in January. It is waaaaay up the side of the mountain (or hill to others). The view from the patio or porch is spectacular. The rooms are well thought out and of ample size. The facility provides a sitting area and a small dining area and refrigerator, although the breakfasts were served on the porch. Marsha gave us an efficient map which helped us get down to Kona proper. Hans taught us all and more than we ever wanted to know about organic coffee growning and processing. As always, this B&B offered us a chance to learn more about the "local" people in the area.

Risposta del proprietario
Sorry, Real Estate lady, this is the best we can do. Our website points out that the rooms are cozy and we show pictures of everything. You also want to remember that you chose the cheapest BnB on the West Side. No, our BnB was not an afterthought. It was built as the very first structure, and we shared the house with guests for 5 years.


Comfortable rooms, good value.

3,0 su gennaio 27, 2011

Mango Sunset was a nice place to stay. It wasn't fancy, and the room was small, but everything was clean and the breakfasts were tasty and fresh. Very good value for a budget-conscious traveller.


A Slice of Heaven

5 su gennaio 12, 2011

First trip to Hawaii and first trip to a B& B. So glad we stayed here. Hans, Marsha and Karen made our stay great, and they went well beyond what they needed to to make the stay enjoyable. Loved the coffee tour and trying out new foods. Karen was the perfect little manager. And the care you took for my brother and sister's wedding was simply beyond words. Can't wait to come back again. Thanks for everything.


The perfect spot for a lovely wedding

5 su gennaio 11, 2011

We stayed at Mango Sunset last fall and realized it would make a wonderful, beautiful spot for a wedding. The Eckerts were perfectly accommodating and enthusiastic, even donating Karen as an outstanding flower girl for our ceremony. Family members enjoyed staying in the same place as the wedding, and the view was magnificent. We are so glad we chose to get married here! And we hope to return many more times.


We like hot breakfast

3,0 su dicembre 15, 2010

Just about everything was quite good. The hosts were quite friendly and informative about their farm. The room was pleasant though maybe a little crowded to put our luggage. It was nice sitting outside and eating breakfast with a grand view of the ocean and the hillside that we were on. We enjoyed the hot breakfast on Saturday morning, but were a bit disappointed with the cold offering on Sunday morning. It was adequate but not what we usually like and expect from a B&B.


Extra dimension to Big Island stay

3,0 su novembre 22, 2010

We enjoyed staying at Mango Sunset and speaking to the owners about their coffee farm. It made the stay in Kona interesting and added that extra dimension to the trip to the Big Island.


Different cup of excellent coffee

4,6 su novembre 13, 2010

We visited the Mango Sunset Inn in october 2010, while attending a medical meeting at Hapuna Beach Hotel. We declined the offer to stay in this hotel, we preferred on beforehand something different and something more personal. Well, this was exactly the right choice. We stayed 7 nights. We received a personal welcome from Marsha and Hans, and they provide you with insights and opinions, especailly while breakfasting on the Lana, that you will not find in your ordinary pocket tourist guide. We loved the place (imagine, you are actually on a coffee plantation). the rooms are cosy and well, tastefully decorated. We loved the breakfasts, though during the week we often had to leave early foor the meeting and just had some excellent coffee. Really, fresh Kona coffee has an unusual fruity aroma. This is not an ordinary bed&breakfast place, we loved it and you´ll love it too!


Good location near Kona

3,2 su novembre 04, 2010

Breakfasts were a bit disappointing but the view from the porch was outstanding. Gardens and coffee plantation was very interesting. Common area could have been more welcoming.


Absolutely Perfect

5 su novembre 03, 2010

Hans and Marsha made our stay in Hawaii absolutely perfect. Breakfast and fresh roasted Kona coffee on the lanai, peaceful sleeps and attention to our every need made life at Mango Sunset a true vacation.


Kona Surprise

4,0 su ottobre 20, 2010

Very pleasant and I learned a lot about the Lyman family as well as about "Real" Kona Coffee. Mahalo!


No Aloha-Feeling here!!!

2,6 su ottobre 06, 2010

++ fantastic ocean view from the lanai + great pancakes 0 rooms, bath and kitchen - stressful breakfast with host -- unpolite host

Risposta del proprietario
These guests arrived for our minimum 2 day stay late after regular check-in (9 PM) and were not given our usual welcome and intro to the BnB. In the morning, when Marsha brought the fresh coffee, the landy (without a "Hallo") said: "we only want to stay here one day. Can we get our money back". They were campers and had not planned well ahead (their first trip to the U.S. and Hawaii). Marsha explained our refund policy (that everyone gets a copy of) and said that we would consider a solution. Later, when I arrived, I agreed to credit them for 1/2 a day (more than required). This was likely more stressful for poor Marsha than for the very confident guests, I must say, and their comment is ill deserved.


A little piece of paradise

5 su giugno 09, 2010

Me and my sister stayed at this lovely little B&B in our Spring Break. We stayed for 2 nights and absolutely loved everything about our stay. We found Hans' directions from the nearby Kona airport spot on... The place is lovely and the rooms impeccaby clean and the beds comfy after a long haul from London. Love Hans' "locavore outlook in that all food made for us was local to the island...and his farm and what ever is in season .. is what is on the menu. Hans made us two cooked yummy breakfasts, delicious fruit juices and fresh coffee: was the bomb! Found him to be a very interesting man who regailed us with tales of far and wide, and loved his tour of the farm and took some of his coffee home... yum! Marsha also very hospitable and welcoming and their little daughter is very cute. Thank you for a great stay: I would recommend your B&B to anyone... and hope to some day return.


PLEASE LORD, LET US HAVE ANOTHER CHANCE TO RETURN

5 su giugno 03, 2010

We visited Mango Sunset B & B for 7 days in May 2010, a trip of 24 days (3 different B & B's) on 3 islands. PLEASE LORD, LET US HAVE ANOTHER CHANCE TO COME BACK SOMETIME SOON! What a unique experience to visit a B & B where the owners are sincere in your personal comfort & enjoyment. It's a working coffee farm-with "see with your on eyes" fresh roasted Kona coffee, right off the tree papaya & delightlyfully made from scratch breakfast. Where else on any HI island can you: view the pacific at a cool 2000 ft. above sea level, while eating a really unique selection of fresh food, have quiet/peaceful place to ponder your day, watch planes land/take off below at sea level & boat enter/exit the harbor, learn (or not) if you wish, about how someone with advanced degrees & special technical skills decided to become a extremely, but delightfully expert in growing the most delicious coffee on Planet Earth. WAIT A MINUTE? How do we qualify to say all this? We have travelled all over the U.S. to resorts/hotels/motels/cabins, B & B's & 100's RV parks. Mango Sunset B & B at Lyman Farms-by far the most pleasant experience of them all. The improvements are not fancy, but very well done, & clean. Hey, this is a prime B & B, not a $400 or $500/night resort. Less than 10 min. to shopping-15 to resort area of Kailua-Kona. We felt comfortable, safe, wanted & appreciated. Hans is just so knowlegable, conversational, bursting with pride of clearing jungle, planting, growing, harvesting, roasting, preparing, brewing, serving & (yes) marketing their Estate Grown, organic, pesticide free, Kona coffee. And Marsha was right by his side with answers to any question, just so kind, willing to go the extra mile. Daughter, Karen, was delightful, helpful, charming-like our grand daughter in Texas. I could go on...Want more? Feel free to contact me.


Unbedingt zurückkehren!

4,6 su gennaio 07, 2010

Man fühlt sich wie bei Muttern bei Hans & Marsha. Das Zimmer war Spitze. Die Aussicht aus 600 M.ü.M. auf die Küste und das Meer ist einmalig. Auf der Terrasse lässt es sich herrlich relaxen. Wer nebenbei noch etwas über die Kaffeeproduktion lernen möchte, ist bei Hans an der richtigen Adresse. Die 3 Nächte, die ich im Mango Sunset B&B verbrachte, war Erholung pur.


A hidden treasure in hills

4,8 su dicembre 08, 2009

Tucked up in the hillside, this B&B will give you a taste, figuratively and literally, of real Hawaii. Mango Sunset is situated on a working coffee estate, so breakfast is early, around 7:30 am, (but definitely worth getting up for, with fresh fruits, delicious homemade crepes, and last, but certainly not least, the wonderful coffee!); if you want to sleep in, you have access to a full kitchen and your hosts will leave you ample goodies to warm up at your leisure. Very quiet, but not isolated, as you are only a short drive from Kona and a number of beaches, and you are surrounded by beautiful flowers and colorful birds. Our room was bright and airy and we had a stunning view from our patio. Be sure to ask Hans to give you his coffee tour!


A perfect trip

4,6 su ottobre 06, 2009

Mango Sunset provides a beautiful, peaceful home for any visit. The hospitality, advice, delicious breakfasts, and of course the heavenly coffee cannot be surpassed. I feel lucky to have found this place and would choose it for another visit.


Great place to stay at a great price.

4,4 su giugno 06, 2009

My siblings and I (four of us) decided to vacation in Kona two nights; we enjoyed our stay at Mango Sunset B&B so much we extended another night. The B&B is so close to town but not right in town. Very convenient location and so much more pleasant than staying in a hotel. We also were taken on a personal tour of the coffee farm by Hans and he patiently answered all our questions about coffee farming.


Fantastically unique and quaint Inn

4,6 su marzo 17, 2009

We stayed with Hans and his family in Dec 2008 and loved the experience of living on a working Kona coffee farm. The rooms were basic but very comfortable, but the hospitality was beyond compare. The views were the best you can get, from 2000 feet up the volcano, enough to get out of the Kona vog. We learned so much about coffee, and tasted the best coffee I have ever had, hands down. (And I am picky!) The breakfasts were beyond expectations.....home made cheese blintzes with strawberry purree, fresh organic farm picked papayas....yummm! My mouth is watering all over again just writing this review! This isn't the pampering and maid service you will get in one of the resorts, but if you are looking for a unique experience and great breakfast, this is the place to go. The only down side is that you will forever be ruined with coffee and anything else you drink will taste like dirty water! You will have to mail order Lyman coffee from here on out, like we are having to do! :)


WONDERFUL!!!

4,0 su febbraio 14, 2009

It has been two years since we visited and stayed at the mango sunset yet I still remember the name. Accommodations where comfy, breakfast wonderful (not sure if it was the food, the coffee or the view), and they couple running it friendly and welcoming. We stayed at another B&B in Hilo and it was just weird and unfriendly. I tell anyone I know to go here. We are heading back but this time going to another Island. I hope to find a B&B that was as good as mango sunset.


Key to a perfect B&B vacation

4,4 su novembre 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Mango Sunset B&B for 2 nights in early Nov. 2008. This place definitely exceed our expectations. We were concerned that our room would be too cramped, but this was not the case... perfect fit and right next to the bathroom. We also appreciated the public computer to jump online for a few minutes. Marsha made an awesome breakfast one morning of Belgium waffles, papayas (from their tree of course!) and homemade topping... so good! The view from our room was perfect! The first thing we saw in the morning was the wonderful coffee farm with the ocean in the distance. The drive to the farm was up a ways and there was a bit of road construction at one part, but really we were still only 10-15 minutes from Kona beach life or the airport... far enough away to not feel like a tourist, but close enough to enjoy everything. We only wish we could have stayed here longer to explore the farm and get to know Hans & Marsha better. They were both very kind and we did enjoy their company during the time we were there. Two thumbs up on Mango Sunset!


Mango Sunset BnB Inn at Lyman Kona Coffee Farms

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $115 - $130
  • Recensioni (68) 4,1
  • Camere 4

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8083250909
  • Numero di Fax 1-8083250601

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina