Dragonfly Ranch Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,3
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,1
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
58 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

not for older folks

2,6 su aprile 23, 2014

many steps that are not lit up at night.


Just what we needed.

4,8 su aprile 07, 2014

Nestled on a hillside beneath massive oak-like trees surrounded by lush floral vegetation above a sweeping view of the ocean, our stay at the ranch was delightful. Its the people who make this place so good, a personal touch after 40 years….from the organic bread baked each night and served with fresh island fruit the following morning, incredible massage, superb healthy dinners, among so much more served-up by an attentive staff. They are determined to promote their guests' better health with visiting healers, a closet full of flower essences and a library of references featuring a love of nature and health. Marina and I will be back.


Relax your mind and experience nature at its best!

4,6 su aprile 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Dragonfly for 10 days 9 nights. In a world where technology overshadows the beauty of nature and the satisfaction of genuine human connections, this ranch is a respite, a chance to commune with nature and island culture. While we were there we met traveling artists, musicians, archeologists, boat captains, lava walkers, a magician and fellow adventurers from all over. The relaxed, "hang loose" atmosphere fostered a chance to share life stories, and interact with guests in a way that would never have happened in another setting. You get a healthy breakfast every morning with a bold cup of Kona Coffee. If you're fortunate to stay long enough to enjoy dinner with the hosts, you will not be disappointed. The staff at the Dragonfly make this a special event. On our dinner we had fresh salad from their organic garden, delightful pan seared chicken or fish prepared with local ginger and citrus, and a hearty grain pilaf. Dessert was the most astonishing, vegan, chocolate-lovers delight. This mousse was prepared with raw cocoa and avocados, and island staple. If you go, expect your accommodations to be indoors & outdoors. What does that mean? The flowers and plants on the Kona side of Hawaii are breathtaking. The island breeze blows through the screens to your room, and you smell the ocean. You are in the jungle. There are bugs. And singing frogs! Which my wife loved to hear as she fell asleep each night. If you're a planet conscious person you have reached a retreat with likeminded individuals. The food is sourced locally and is always fresh. Many of the staff are vegetarian or vegan, so if this appeals to you, you can expect to never go hungry. However, the retreat accommodates omnivores comfortably as well. We were within minutes to a great New York style pizza joint in Captain Cook. We were also within minutes of some of the best snorkeling, dolphin viewing, and black sand beaches that grace the big island.


Wonderful stay--the manager is very attentive

4,6 su gennaio 28, 2013

The new manager KC certainly is earning his keep! we had run low on lemon juice and cayenne pepper and he was eager to help put. He did get us a lemon, so it was 50% success! Definitely would look in to staying here again. The only downside was that we were required to pay in fiat money---owner refused to accept our bill with A4V stamped on it. Guess you can't have everything!


An Experience We'll Never Forget!

5 su gennaio 24, 2013

Dragonfly was recommended by friends, and as promised, the manager Casey paid special attention to my needs. He's a 'hands on' kind of manager! Cuisine enhanced by native Hawaiian herbs, and experimentation with large green vegetables is encouraged! The open-air semi-private rooms are unique. Helping push-start their van was easy. Emergency medical services are excellent too.


Stay at Dragonfly Ranch -- Best Spot on Big Island

4,2 su gennaio 15, 2013

Very nice retreat in tropical environment with very kind host and staff. Outstanding view from the terrace, very good beds and valuable advice regarding best beaches, snorkeling sites, and where to see wild dolphins. Highly recommendable.


Perfect Get Away

4,2 su gennaio 08, 2013

Enjoyed our stay immensely. The views were astounding, and we enjoyed the entire grounds. Very tranquil, serene, romantic and peaceful way to experience the real Hawaii


an experience

4,4 su dicembre 24, 2012

Casey was a great host. We enjoyed the geckos in our room. The outdoor experience with outdoor bathrooms was fun. We had some great organic breakfasts. Thank you for a great stay.


Nature in all its beauty

5 su novembre 10, 2012

If you want to experience nature first-hand, this is the place to come to.


Sorry Our Stay was So Short

5 su novembre 10, 2012

Enjoyed the relaxing, healthful atmosphere. Definitely a "paradise" vibe.


Amazing energy, Beautiful People, Inspiring Surroundings

5 su agosto 02, 2012

We loved our time at Dragonfly Ranch - although it was too brief. Next time we will definitely be staying longer. Barbara was the most gracious host. She took us snorkeling, we practiced yoga in the labyrinth, and toured the organic garden. We even ate food that had been freshly picked from it. She truly cares about each person who stays there. And there's always such interesting people who stay there. I was 7 months pregnant at the time, and I was lovingly cared for. All of my needs were met. If you're planning a trip to the Big Island - this should definitely be where you stay!


Gradon Fly Ranch is a Soul Family experience

4,8 su marzo 26, 2012

I thought I was just getting a room but at Dragon Fly, I became part of the family. Barbara treated us like queens. The organic gourmet food is exquisite. The staff are very friendly and loving. They met all of my requests far above my expectation. Everything about dragon fly spells OPEN, GENEROSITY and SOUL FAMILY!!!! Colette Ryder Kincardine Ontario Canada


Rich and Charlene,. Kelly, Jennifer Omand and Matt Talbot's stay at the Dragonfly Ranch

4,0 su febbraio 25, 2012

We loved our weeklong stay at the Dragonfly Ranch. Even better than our first time fifteen years ago. The staff and Barbara made us feel special while we were there. The food was delicious. All organic and fresh each day. Matt especially enjoyed the "magic pot" which contained something different each morning. The bowl of fruit each day was a real treat to those of us that only get fresh and local fruit in the summer time. The coffee was some of the best we've ever had......made fresh each morning.....Our time ended all to soon. I would recommend the Dragonfly Ranch to anyone who wants to enjoy the authentic Hawaii and would like to stay at a place that feels like a home away from home. Aloha!!


Unique, Fun, Beautiful!

5 su dicembre 23, 2011

The food is incredible and healthy. The staff is exceptional. The rooms are artistic and unique. The natural surroundings are ideal! We loved our time at Dragon Fly.


Beautiful Getaway

4,0 su novembre 20, 2011

We spent 2 wonderful nights at the Dragonfly. The bed and bedding were the best I've ever experienced. The Hiltons' beds are junk next to this place. After sleeping that comfortably we had a yummy breakfast with wonderful company. Then, the views, OMG...the sunset from the illuminarium was amazing. We will be returning for sure.


The Kids had a blast!

4,8 su ottobre 26, 2010

Everyone loved the Dragonfly Ranch! The kids loved playing with the animals and Barbara and her crew took great care of us. This place is a real gem. it's like nothing else with the most beautiful setting you can imagine. It truly is a tropical paradise. Snorkeling just down the road is world class, it's like you are in Finding Nemo, so many fish and sea turtles too! I can't wait to go back!


Two nights in Wonderland

4,0 su ottobre 17, 2010

Very beautiful, otherworldish experience. You will not find many places like this. I had a wonderful 2 night unwinding which was enjoyed by both my body and spirit. Barbara does a great lomi lomi massage also.


Worth Visiting on The Big Island..

4,6 su settembre 22, 2010

The Dragonfly Ranch is an unique setting that captures the essence of health, relaxation and self-care!! With the infamous Barbara Moore at the helm she is definitely a woman full of healthy expertise and is such a JOY to connect with. From the healthy coffee to the gorgeous garden-grown meals.. this place is definitely worth the stay and the experience!! I highly recommend staying here if YOU are looking for an exclusive getaway, where YOU love animals, love being seconds from the best snorkeling on the whole island and ready for a healthy extravaganza!


Dragonfly Ranch

4,0 su aprile 07, 2010

Healing, joyful stay in a treehouse inn! Eating looking out over the Pacific, in the middle of a natural preserve. I left renewed and regenerated, also by the loving and helpful staff.


Living in a magical treehouse

5 su marzo 22, 2010

Ours was a truly memorable experience at the Dragonfly Ranch! The friendly hostess and staff served delicious, healthy meals from their organic garden. We ate breakfast and relaxed on the open-air lanai with wind chimes tinkling in the gentle breeze. We walked the labyrinth, went sailing, swimming and hiking nearby and saw a beautiful sunset at the beach. We played with their friendly pets and enjoyed the antics of the tiny geckos on the porch. The Dolphin room with its wonderful outdoor shower and bathroom was comfortable and cheery. We're looking forward to going back to Hawaii and staying at the Dragonfly again.


Fabulous Hostess

3,4 su febbraio 19, 2010

I booked to stay alone at this B&B but ended up with 5 of my friends joining me. We were all captured by the Dragonfly spirit!


Share your space with Hawai'i's gifts

4,6 su gennaio 17, 2010

It's difficult to review the Dragonfly Ranch in the same category with other lodging options. The place is dreamy, out of a fairytale. Barbara seems to have designed her B&B to enhance one's sensual experience of this amazing planet we inhabit. We shared our room with the view, the nourishing Hawai'ian air, sun and rain, the magnificent Monkey Pod trees and all the lovingly nurtured plants. Barbara and Lori brought us into their nurturing envelope and so we left feeling a few years younger than when we arrived 3 days before. Though we were sleeping, playing and living with the elements here, we were not vulnerable to their occasional excesses. The honeymoon suite has one of the best beds I've ever slept in - memory foam topper, high quality pillows, very high thread count sheets, a box bed frame of rich, warm wood. It was our little home in the trees...sigh.... We ate very well and were happily exposed to new ideas about health and well-being. The labyrinth, whose view is above the tree line out to Honaunau Bay, is enhanced by lovingly painted rainbow colors which, aside from being visually awesome, are helpful for those who use colors during meditation. Snorkeling and sunset walks down at the bay (5 minutes away) are breathtaking. We had a glorious time and when we return to the Big Island will definitely stay here again.


Our Honeymoon in Paradise

5 su gennaio 14, 2010

Our stay at the Dragonfly Ranch was everything we hoped it would be. We enjoyed the relaxed environment, beautiful surroundings, nice people and yummy healthy breakfasts.The screened rooms feel so open and it's lovely to hear the sounds of nature and smell the sweet fresh air. My husband and I loved it and hope to return again someday.


Wish we had more time

5 su gennaio 12, 2010

It's a special place!! We loved the Labyrinth.... Beautiful nature, calm and a small jungle feeling....


Exciting

5 su gennaio 12, 2010

Staying at Dragonfly was one fo the best experiences we've had on Hawai'i. Dragonfly is unique and "one with nature." Staff is great too. Friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!


Can't wait to come back to the Dragonfly Ranch

4,4 su gennaio 05, 2010

I stayed at the Dragonfly Ranch a while back for a honeymon and it such a beautiful experience; I will never forget it! The grounds are amazing and the people that worked there were so helpful and accomodating. Phoenix prepared a lovely breakfast spread each morning with the best coffee I've ever had. The location of the Dragonfly Ranch, in the heart of the Kona coast is great and so close to great beaches and bays. I can't recommend it highly enough.


Wow

4,0 su ottobre 05, 2009

What a lovely place and lovely people! We visited the Dragonfly ranch this summer for our honeymoon. When I called to tell Barbara about our time of arrival she spontaneously offered the most romantic room because we were on our honeymoon. Imagine: lying in your bed, thinking about the 'difficult' choise of closing the bed curtains looking at your partner in the mirror above you, or looking outside into the beautiful rainforest or (sitting up) to the far away sea. Wonderful, is it not?! A private little terrace, an outside shower and bath (!), very cosy rooms, beautiful lamps and flowers, spiritual books on the shelves, free tea next to the water boiler, deluxe bed and pillows, and our faithful pets, the green geckoos....... Besides all that, it was great to meet with the people working there. Friendly, interesting,... For breakfast we had health food in the ranches' kitchen, prepared by Barbara and accompanied with lots of ideas and advice on our diet, vitamins, fitness equipment. And of course about places to see in the neigbourhood. It was fun and interesting. So nice to be a guest with those sweet and caring people! There were a couple of things we did not like. We had bad luck with mosquitoes, we thought we had to have breakfast at 8 and we didn't experience EVERYthing the ranch had to offer (the gardens, the labyrinth, a great place for yoga, Barbara's massage and the great outdoor terrace)! Martin and Meris from the Netherlands


Cool but damp

2,8 su luglio 28, 2009

I loved the outdoor shower and bathroom. Very nice and friendly staff/owner. I am not used to the damp humid feeling of the bedding due to no air conditioning. Great location. I would recommend to friends and I would go back. It was a bit expensive for what you get.


Unique and natural setting

4,8 su giugno 23, 2009

A wonderful very unique place and experience. Very natural setting. Wonderful hostess. Great massages. Great breakfasts. Wake up to birds singing.


island living

4,2 su maggio 06, 2009

Enjoy island living at its best. This is a beautiful place with a unique and charming ambiance. If you want a sterile, antique-laden B&B with room service and no staff interaction, look elsewhere. This is a healing center with Hawaiian charm. The guests are encouraged to help with the meals and be part of the family. Vegan eating is emphasized with food grown in the ranch garden. Barbara Moore is a healer and she was able to help me regain my energy and joy in life with her flower essences. My favorite spot was the second story balcony with the eating and exercise area. Gingkos would drop onto the table and eat fruit I gave them. Animals are an important part of this ranch. I was able to have a family kitten be my overnight guest. I left feeling relaxed and much healthier. I would recommend this place to any of my friends and family.


Perfect

4,2 su aprile 10, 2009

My sister and I stayed two nights in March 2009 and were delighted our visit. Will never stay in a hotel on the Big Island again! Beds were comfortable, loved the labyrinth (although the path up & bridge could do with a bit of TLC). Great organic breakfast. all in all a super relaxing time - we even swam with dolphins, saw whales and turtles and had time to visit the volcano too! The staff were awesome and most helpful - in fact everyone went out of their way to make our stay delightful. Thanks.


lovely

3,8 su marzo 11, 2009

Excellent if you like non-GMO, organic food, alternative, sensitive people, fun vibes and a true feeling of tropical Hawaii, close to great snorkeling!


great place

5 su febbraio 18, 2009

Best sleep I've had on island.


Hawaiian Hippie Hideaway

2,8 su febbraio 18, 2009

Super funky fantasy spot. Very comfortable, charming environment. Way too 'spendy' for what it is. I was renting 2 beautiful one bedroom house fully equipped on the other side of the island for $20 less per night. Beautiful spot though. Great place to meet travelers vs. tourists. Friendly, but not warm.


Superior Honeymoon

4,8 su febbraio 04, 2009

It was an amazing stay at the Dragonfly, we will not forget about this great stay and our 'Honeymoon-night' in the Honeymoon suite.


A very special place

4,6 su gennaio 14, 2009

If you like staying at a "resort" with all the tourist shops and pools, this is not the place for you. But if you want a unique experience connected to the beautiful nature of Hawaii, and you are interested in alternative health, eating fresh and healthy foods, and meeting interesting people, then this is the place for you. I had a fantastic time there and I can't wait to go back.


A Plus Sactuary

4,2 su dicembre 18, 2008

If you love nature and beauty combined with a peaceful atmosphere, this it he place for anyone who needs to getaway and enjoy the beautiful Hawaii that most people do not see, sheer joy!


very good

3,8 su dicembre 18, 2008

very, very nice people!!


very good

3,8 su dicembre 18, 2008

very, very nice people!!


A Piece of Heaven

4,6 su novembre 24, 2008

I went to Dragonfly Ranch as part of my dream retirement holiday to Hawaii. I spent five days at the Dragonfly in the Dolphin Room. I loved everything about my stay. I arrived in November and was fortunate to spend Thanksgiving at the Dragonfly. Phoenix brined the turkey (It was delicious!) All of the guests chose to spend Thanksgiving together. We had dinner on the Lanai. It was magical! I was able to do some special activities with Barbara. We snorkeled with sea turtles at the beach near The Place of Refuge. I was aprehensive. Barbara held my hand and lead me into a new adventure. A group of us had "An Afternoon with Barbara" when she shared her extensive knowledge of health and wellness. I walked the labyrinth with another guest. One day I took a visitor and we went to the volcanoes; one of the most awe-inspiring sites on the island of Hawaii. My entire visit was all I had wished for and more. I hope to return with a group of friends in the near future.


Beautiful jungle B&B!

5 su novembre 18, 2008

Beautiful B&B in the jungle. excellent food and friendly atmosphere. Just perfect!


Experience Paradise

5 su novembre 17, 2008

If you're looking for a room with beige carpet and a pool for the kids...keep driving! If your looking for the personal experience of a lifetime...TRY THE DRAGONFLY!! Barbara and her Pomeranians welcomed us as family and the accommodations were exactly as she describes. Our honeymoon suite was truly time spent in paradise!


a wonderful, magical place

4,8 su novembre 14, 2008

Full of fascinating details, held by an open-hearted, helpful hostess, with a crew that let everybody feel the Hawaiian spirit of Aloha. A special place to be!


wonderland

4,8 su ottobre 28, 2008

A place to rest, soul, body, and mind. All helped by Barbara's warm-hearted way to be - and the healthy food - and the spirit at the place - and creativity surrounding- gives it all!


An oasis

3,8 su ottobre 28, 2008

Dragonfly Ranch has a very special spiritual atmosphere. Healthy food, very personal, and creative interior. But most of all, a warm-hearted hostess- A wonderful person to be around!


Beautiful Magical Paradise!

4,8 su agosto 29, 2008

This place is absolutely amazing. I plan on coming back every year. Barbara is delightful and has so many healing modalities to offer: flower essences, lomi lomi massage, dolphin tours, nutritional expertise, and just her warm, receptive, and caring presence. Being here was a healing for me. Really, the experience was phenomenal. I can't say enough how positive, transformative, and full of beauty, magic, and relaxation my experience was. I definitely recommend Dragonfly Ranch to anyone who enjoys the amenities of a top holistic spa with all the down-to-earth personality of the staff and beauty of nature. Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful!!!


Relax and Heal your soul

4,8 su agosto 27, 2008

Barbara Moore is the most gracious and carry hostess. This is a very charming place a home away from home with a lovely cat and two sweet dogs to enjoy.


Graden Stay

5 su agosto 20, 2008

Beautiful stay, nice and private. Barbra is very personal and helpful. Great knowledge of the area. We will stay again.


An Oasis in Paradise

5 su agosto 19, 2008

Coming to Hawaii with the intent to experience life entwine with nature and the island, the Dragonfly Ranch was/is a perfect match. If you read the "This is not a Marriott disclaimer" on sign on, you will not be disappointed.


Dragonfly Ranch

3,8 su agosto 19, 2008

Beautiful place, one of a kind, well ran business


Treat yourself.

4,2 su luglio 18, 2008

I have stayed at the Dragonfly Ranch three times, and each time I am transported to a place of tranquility, spontaneity and adventure. It is a place of refuge itself where magic can happen at any moment: rainbows glimmering off the outdoor shower spray; an extended evening at the City of Refuge; seeing our oceans/our planet from a whole new perspective. Treat yourself.


we miss you

4,2 su giugno 30, 2008

we come back home yesterday, what a sadness. You have been a dream, a wonderfull land to discover.... Thank you so much Matteo&Francesca


Hawaiian Heaven

4,4 su giugno 13, 2008

We fell in love with the rooms, the land, the view and the owner. Built on a cliff under huge trees, a few minutes from warm seas and ancient temples, we return each year. Barbara helped me lose 20 pounds with her healthy advice and excellent organic food.


It a slice of heaven

4,0 su giugno 08, 2008

I stayed at the Dragonfly in 2006 for a week. The owner, Barbara Moore, and her staff are there to make sure that every one of their guests has the best experience possible. Mine was. I look forward to the time that I can return.


Healthy Island Oasis

4,8 su giugno 01, 2008

Barbara and her staff are warm, generous hosts, sharing all the insider information of what to do and where to go on the Big Island. Barbara takes guests on excursions to the best snorkeling, with opportunities to watch the dolphins. Whether you view them by land or swim near them in the ocean, it is a magical experience. I especially liked the health-oriented atmosphere, complete with far infra-red sauna! The whole-foods, vegetarian-friendly cuisine was fabulous!


Truely Magical!

5 su maggio 16, 2008

This place is truely magical! I stayed a week and was warmly welcomed by Barbara, Phoenix and wonderful staff. They make you feel like family(ohana). I felt like a kid again as this was like sleeping in a tree house! LOVED the outdoor shower! The gardens and Labrynth are spectacular and so is the view! Barbara's massage, the infra red sauna and the extensive knowledge she offers far exceeds any spa! The food is tasty and the company delightful! I will definitely be back! Mahalo Dragonfly for a truely memorable and magical vacation!!


Complete relaxation and magical atmosphere

3,6 su maggio 02, 2008

The first time my husband and I went to the Dragonfly Ranch, we learned all kinds of things about improving our diet and overcoming stress caused by the loss of my son. We relaxed and felt loved and nurtured.We couldn't wait to return this year--with our family. We all swam with dolphins and had another wonderful stay at Barbara's beautiful home.One of the best things is that the Dragonfly feels like home to us. We highly recommend it to others.


Wonderful experience

4,6 su aprile 08, 2008

We stayed at the Dragonfly Ranch for two nights and wished we had spent five more! It was an eclectic combination of clean and cozy but funky rooms, beautiful views, friendly guests and innkeepers and a relaxing environment. The Dragonfly is just a few minutes drive from an incredible beach where we snorkeled and swam with dolphins! The Ranch even provided us with complimentary snorkeling gear. I would reccommend the Dragonfly Ranch to anyone looking for an authentic and intimate experience on the Big Island. While so many hotels and inns are sterile and impersonal, at the Dragonfly you will know that you are in Hawaii and experiencing it at its best!


Dragonfly Ranch

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $100 - $250
  • Recensioni (58) 4,4
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8083282159

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina