Open Gates Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
14 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Perfect Place for a Prolonged Stay

3,4 su maggio 12, 2011

We loved our stay at Open Gates. Kelly was outstanding and helped us find great places to eat and visit during our stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. It's definitely the kind of setting that you want to make a return visit too. Well worth the time.


Great Place To Relax

4,0 su aprile 21, 2010

Innkeepers Kelly & Jeff very friendly and welcoming. We felt at home and would stay there again. The inn is a large Victorian style house with a very nice library and large parlor. The guest room on the first floor had a comfortable king size bed and huge bathroom. Although not a problem during our visit, light sleepers may have a problem with this guest room as the library with a TV if off to one side of the room and the dining area is off to the other side. Jeff's shrimp and grits breakfast was very good. Relaxing by the pool or on the porch while enjoying the complimentary wine and coffee cake was fantastic. The inn is located next to the town park in a very quiet neighborhood. Darien is a great place to relax and walk. One can walk to the river front and watch the shrimp boats. Limited eating establishments in "downtown" Darien. Skippers and Purple Pickle (when open) serve tasty meals and one can stop by the local favorite wine bar for cheese and wine. Young children and teenagers most likely would not find much to entertain them in the town.


This place is truly fabulous!

5 su febbraio 20, 2010

My partner and I made reservations at the last minute, didn't get in until after 830 pm, and Kelly & Jeff were still willing to have us! We stayed in a huge room upstairs that was immaculate, charming, and probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. And the price just can't be beat for a B & B!! Homemade bread was delicious, as was the coffee. I appreciated the innkeepers willingness to give advice about the area, but not hover over us the whole time we were there. My only complaint-which doesn't have anything to do with the inn itself- is that if you do show up late, most of Darien has shut down, and there's not really anywhere to eat. Overall, it was truly an outstanding experience! I hope to visit here again soon & often!


Beautiful

4,4 su settembre 15, 2009

Beautiful setting. Rooms were clean, quiet and very comfortable. The best part was the hostess. Kelly is the perfect southern lady who knows how to treat her guests. Breakfast was excellent. Look forward to staying there again next year. Gary & Carol - garymroberts.com


superb!

5 su luglio 15, 2009

Everything about our stay was superb! he owners were friendly and accommodating, the breakfasts were fantastic, the facility was beautiful and extremely clean. Whenever we are in that area, we will always stay at Open Gates!!


Delightful and Gracious

5 su giugno 09, 2009

Jeff and Kelly have created a very special place at Open Gates in their careful and friendly, but not fussy, attention to detail and comfort. The rooms are truly lovely - yet cozy. The inviting den was a treasure trove of interesting books, maps, photos, puzzles, great wine on the sideboard, and yet also provided access to a networked computer. The meals were absolutely perfect! In my 25+ years in Georgia I had not yet had shrimp and grits - but Jeff's were heavenly. Darien was a great location assuring easy access to Jekyll (primary destination) and Savannah (secondary destination). Harris Neck Wildlife Refuge was recommended by both Jeff and Kelly and it was a wonderful trip before heading to the airport. I will be back so another stay as soon as I can!


excellent at all levels!

5 su aprile 13, 2009

Perfect location and service for those interested in eco-tours and history.


Great stop-over beckons for longer visit

4,0 su marzo 27, 2009

Wonderful, friendly, knowledgeable innkeepers. Lovely walkable river front town. Was a one night stop on way to Florida, but definitely would like to return!


Southern Hospitality at it's best!

5 su febbraio 27, 2009

Beautiful historic home on quiet live oak-lined street. Centrally located in Jacksonville, Savannah and O. Swamp. Warm cinnamon pound cake and decanter of wine awaits you at the end of each day. Bountiful breakfast- shrimp omelet and fresh fruit are wonderful. Very knowledgeable hosts.


Exceptional

5 su febbraio 04, 2009

Once again, the innkeepers have far exceeded every expectation of the business traveler. It's always a pleasure to stay at Open Gates!


best place in GA

5 su gennaio 14, 2009

Our hosts were wonderful, the food was great, and the rooms were perfect!


True Southern Hospitality in Georgia!

5 su dicembre 28, 2008

We stayed at Open Gates for six nights, and we give this B&B the highest recommendation possible. Kelly and Jeff, the owners, were the absolute best anyone could ask for in a host: they were super friendly, genuinely interested in making sure we enjoyed our stay, and attentive to our every need. We felt so welcomed at this place and we can’t say enough good things about how pleased we were with our whole stay. The room was big, clean, fresh, wonderfully charming…and blissfully quiet. Our king-sized bed was honestly the most comfortable bed we have EVER experienced. We also enjoyed big, plush spa towels delivered to our room each day, and the small details, such as a pitcher of fresh water by the bedside, made our room feel extra special. The home was simply gorgeous with a large, comfy sitting room and fireplace; a very spacious library; and a dining room. We spent many of our evenings in the library enjoying a glass of complimentary wine and browsing the hundreds of books. Each morning we were greeted with a cup of delicious, freshly-brewed coffee and a full breakfast. Some days we were served mini egg soufflé and Canadian ham, and some days were had flaky waffles hot off the grill. Fresh fruit was served every day. If we wanted an afternoon or evening snack there was always coffee cake and tea available for guests. This place has one of the best concierge services around! Kelly and Jeff arranged for us to take a private tour to Sapelo Island and the Brunswick Islands, guided us to the trolleys in Savannah, and provided us with binoculars to view the incredible wildlife. We stayed in the Garden Room for $125 per night, which has a king bed and its own private entrance. This was an incredible price for the value we received; we had a super comfortable room, a delicious breakfast each day, a library to relax in when we didn’t want to venture out, and hosts that guided us to some spectacular local spots.


My first stay at a B&B

5 su ottobre 22, 2008

It exceeded my expections in every regard for the two nights we stayed there.


A Hidden Gem

3,2 su giugno 18, 2008

We had a mini-family-reunion here & truly felt as if we were in a home. We took full advantage of the huge den/gameroom,the front porch & the pool, stored our limes in the refrigerator & pretty much had the run of the place. Rooms, breakfasts & hosts were outstanding. Darien is such an interesting little town & in such a unique part of the country. We were able to walk to so many places to explore & others were within easy driving &/or ferry distance. I'd make this trip an annual tradition if possible.


Open Gates

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $90 - $125
  • Recensioni (14) 4,6
  • Camere 5

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-9124376985
  • Numero di Fax 1-9124376985
Inizio pagina