Sugar Magnolia B&B Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,4
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Cibo4,4

Valore della struttura
75 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Perfect, Perfect, Perfectly Marvelous!!!

5 su aprile 15, 2014

This is a truly amazing place that will take you away from your everyday normal life and worries. It is gorgeously decorated and the Royal Suite is absolutely stunning. We spent two nights there and we were actually sad to be leaving such a wonderful place. It feels like home, which is the best compliment I think anyone can pay any type of lodging. We missed the breakfasts mentioned in other reviews but we definitely intend to return. We met the hosts briefly but during our stay we felt as if this was our home. We were never disturbed. Everything that was needed was readily available.The neighborhood is perfectly safe. A neighbor across the street parked his/her Ferrari on the street. A Ferrari!!!! Anyway, the bathtub for two and the size of the room itself (it's Huge!) was great. There were even candles made available for a very romantic evening. The bed feels like clouds-and tons of pillows. The photos on the website do not give this little suite justice as to how great It is and feels. My girlfriend said this was the "most romantic place anyone has ever taken her." So guys, skip the high end hotels and go for an experience she, and you, will never forget. To our hosts, Thank you!!!!!!!


Sugar Magnolia is a FIND!

5 su marzo 23, 2014

We so enjoyed our visit. In spite of its brevity (2 nights) we were able to shed our cares and dissolve thoroughly into "vacay-mentality"; this was thanks to the welcoming nature of the owners and innkeeper, the seductively gorgeous home with its amenities and yummy food, and the fun, well-located neighborhood. Looking forward to returning!


Great B&B in Atlanta

5 su dicembre 18, 2013

We stayed at Sugar Magnolia on our way home from a family Thanksgiving weekend north of Atlanta. What a pleasant experience! It was conveniently close to I-75; it was walking distance to a wonderful restaurant; our suite was spacious and very nicely furnished; our bed was so comfortable; the bath was luxurious; our hosts, Debi and Jim, were very gracious and made sure we enjoyed ourselves. We will return, and we will recommend it to our friends. Great find!


An experience of a lifetime!

5 su dicembre 10, 2013

I had the great pleasure of experiencing the sweetness of the Sugar Magnolia Bed and Breakfast through a moment to remember my whole life- when the man that I love asked me to be his wife. The Sugar Magnolia is nestled in the gorgeous, historic neighborhood of Inman Park with majestic trees and exquisite Victorian homes. On our second date, my fiance and I took a long walk around the neighborhood and came upon the Sugar Magnolia. We admired it for its charm and character. It's long been an area that makes the heart happy to us- hence why my fiance thought it would be an ideal location to propose. They whole team at the SM were absolute stars helping my fiance to stage and "open house." They played the part quite well, acting as those who who touring. The owner, Debi, was a pure starlet delivering a card from my fiance that lead me upstairs to a beautiful room full of rose petals, candles, and music. There on the balcony of the room, was a man waiting to ask my to marry him. They allowed his dream of how to start the next chapter of our lives become the perfect reality. After the proposal, we were greeted by their staff by best wishes, hugs, and a excellent serenade by Debi's husband on the grand piano in the salon. We danced next to the beautifully decorated Christmas tree to the classic tune of "Amazing Grace." I truly cannot express how wonderfully hospitable and accommodating the lovely family of the Sugar Magnolia are. We will forever be grateful for their care, love and service to make our special "moment" one that will remembered with joy and thankfulness. With a heart full of love and thankfulness, the future Mrs. Melton


Beautiful and Friendly

5 su dicembre 06, 2013

My daughter booked me a room in this beautiful B&B in historic Inman Park when I was visiting her over Thanksgiving weekend . I stayed in the Garden Room which is a lovely roomy but cozy room that has lots of windows making it very bright and cheerful. The entire house is beautiful! I stayed 3 nights and had three delicious breakfasts. The manager, Kathryn and the owners, Debi and Jim were very friendly and most accommodating and made me feel at home. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. I highly recommend this lovely B&B.


Lovely Sugar Magnolia

4,0 su dicembre 02, 2013

Wonderful, fresh, home-made breakfast. Lovely rooms, really nice neighbourhood.


Very warm welcome, great historic house

5 su novembre 28, 2013

It was a perfect stay. Debi & Jim are very warm and friendly, the house is lovely, the room is cosy and has authentic historic atmosphere, the neighborhood is quiet and green. I loved it!


Rather pleasant stay in a lovely house

5 su novembre 26, 2013

Debi & Jim really made me feel at home. The room was lovely, very tasty and comfortable. I can really recommend this B&B to all people who love a warm welcome, historic surroundings and furniture and a quiet neighborhood. My stay was perfect.


Perfect Stay in Inman Park/ATL

5 su novembre 15, 2013

We stayed at the Sugar Magnolia for an anniversary getaway and had an absolutely perfect experience! The Inn is just as beautiful inside as out, and our suite (The Royal Suite) was ideal, with both front balcony and rear deck, huge bath with jacuzzi, and comfortable bed. Breakfast was great (waffles are a specialty), and plenty to do within walking distance or a 5 minute drive. We will be back!


Our Stay in Atlanta

4,6 su ottobre 27, 2013

We really enjoyed the charm of the house. Our room was spacious and we really enjoyed the private front porch. Kathryn was a very special lady - we enjoyed her breakfasts and she was always pleasant and outgoing. Caty & Jim


A great place to celebrate an anniversary!

4,8 su settembre 25, 2013

We loved our room! It was fantastic. A beautiful home and a beautiful neighborhood. Near fine dining.


Great Place To Stay

4,6 su maggio 27, 2013

Sugar Magnolia is a beautiful victorian house with excellent facilities. We recommend it highlyIt is furnished with good taste and the owners clearly take pride in their B & B. We came in from Boston and loved immediately experiencing true southern hospitality. The breakfasts were very enjoyable. If you do stay there, you must try to meet Miss Josie who is the owner's mother and lives on the property. She is an absolute delight! If they ever redo "Driving Miss Daisy", she could play the lead. If you are newly married, there is a beautiful honeymoon room complete with a hot tub. Can you say romantic? Staying there warmed the cockles of my Yankee heart. We most certainly hope to return one of these days. D.A.M., Boston, MA


What a great experience!

4,4 su marzo 05, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sugar Magnolia for our 5th anniversary! We had no problem finding Sugar Magnolia and were warmly welcomed. The house is immaculately clean and very well taken care of. They really do go the extra mile and this was shown by their efforts to accomodate all reasonable requests. Ours was wine and cheese and we were welcomed by an array of cheeses and treats as well as wine with a sweet note for our anniversary. We had a great experience at Sugar Magnolia and hope to be back in the future!


Sugar Magnolia Cottage Suite and B & B: Atlanta's Best

5 su febbraio 28, 2013

We've stayed in downtown Atlanta's Sugar Magnolia, sometimes in the main house and sometimes in the adjacent cottage suite, maybe ten times in the last several years, and each experience has been super safe, clean, comfortable, and enjoyable. I lived in Atlanta for twenty-one years, now in San Antonio, so every return visit is like going home. We're always so glad to stay in a fine Victorian neighborhood and home with all the best that the city of has to offer. I've never written a hotel review before, but for the great staff of Sugar Magnolia I should have done this a long time ago. Jim, Debi and Josie have their own busy professional and social lives, but they're always around to make us feel welcome and help get us to the places and events that we came to see. Although there must be many fine alternatives in the city, we don't know what they are and can't imagine staying anywhere else. We usually take the train from the airport terminal, walk to the B & B, spend long weekends with old friends and have easy access to great restaurants and atmosphere in Inman Park, Little Five Points and Virginia/Highland. Last week, we stayed in the cottage suite again by choice as it has a small kitchen and more privacy than the main house.


Business or pleasure?

4,6 su gennaio 28, 2013

My wife and I own and operate a retail store, so we occasionally venture to the Atlanta apparel market to search for new trends in ladies' fashion apparel. The notion of being within walking distance of downtown, midtown and Virginia-Highland is enough to justify the expense of a bed and breakfast. Yes, we walked to all three. Our suite, affectionately known as the "Big Blue", can swallow our tiny apartment back home. As an added bonus, there is an excellent baby grand piano available to play in the common area downstairs. The friendly innkeepers somehow know how to be helpful without being intrusive. Needless to say, we will be back. Perhaps we will take another day off next time so we can relax and enjoy our time instead of rushing back to work. Thank you, Sugar Magnolia, for changing the drudgery of an ordinary business trip into a real pleasure.


Our First Bed & Breakfast Experience

4,2 su dicembre 12, 2012

We stayed at the Sugar Magnolia for 2 nights. It was the absolute best experience ever. Debi and Jim were both great. They made sure to give us a tour of the place right away and let us know where everything was that we needed or may need. They were so curteous and very friendly. Also, breakfast was excellent!! Thank you to Debi and Jim for giving us the honor of staying at our very first bed and breakfast - we will do it again!!


Weekend Get Away

4,4 su ottobre 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Sugar Magnolia and absolutely loved everything about this B&B. Samantha was so patient and helpful. Our room - Royal Suite was large. We had a door out to the front private upper deck and another door that led to the back deck. The Inman park neighborhood is 10 minutes from everything. We experienced a part of Atlanta that we never knew existed. The B&B location is perfectly located so that we could walk everywhere. Loved loved this stay!


Birthday Weekend.

5 su marzo 02, 2012

Had a wonderful time at the Sugar Magnolia. Hospitality was stellar, as well as the room, and the location. Loved every minute of it. Will most definitely stay again and recommend that anyone coming to Atlanta at least stay there once. You'll love it.


Lovely home in Atlanta

4,2 su febbraio 09, 2012

Visiting last April from Los Angeles, we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the Sugar Magnolia B&B. They accommodated our late arrival, and even provided an ice pack for a wrenched back! We look forward to staying there again. KM & LK


Nice

5 su novembre 03, 2011

most excellent and meeting Josie was a treat. Will be back, Thanks, Beau and Laura


Nights stay

4,0 su ottobre 25, 2011

My 85 year old mother and I stayed at the Sugar Magnolia during a vacation trip. I have stayed at B&Bs before and wanted to share that experience with my Mom.


The Sugar Magnolia Inn is a splendid taste of the South

4,2 su ottobre 20, 2011

Lovely home in a very nice area east of downtown Atlanta. The Debi and Jim, the innkeepers, were very helpful and Josie, Debi's mother, is the engagning personification of southern hospitality (and proud owner of a vintage Cadillac). We are very glad that we stayed at Sugar Magnolia and would recommend it to any traveler who wanted something more interesting and steeped in history than a high-rise hotel room.


Easy base in Atlanta

4,2 su ottobre 06, 2011

Great house in a lovely historic area. Helpful and generous hospitality - we were more than comfortable. Thank you for a very happy stay.


wonderful service

4,0 su ottobre 04, 2011

Beautiful inn, great room and landscaping in a wonderful location. They were very attentive and helpful and even gave me a ride to the train station upon my departure. I hope for the chance to stay there again.


Lovely Home

2,8 su settembre 26, 2011

We enjoyed our stay, we loved Miss Josie, but eating out is not really walkable and we would have liked more choice at breakfast. We stayed in the Aviary, a beautiful room, but we felt vulnerable as the door did not lock, so simple to remedy a critacism ignored in quite a few other reviews.


Beautiful place to stay

4,2 su settembre 08, 2011

This is an absolutely beautiful Bed and Breakfast. The two staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. For a non-business place to stay, the amenities were perfect (iron and ironing board are available though). The only downside is that I was there in August, and it was too hot to enjoy setting on the balcony that the Garden Room opened onto. However, I did get to enjoy having coffee one early morning setting on the front porch. If I ever travel to Atlanta again, it is where I will stay.


A late summer layover in Atlanta

3,8 su settembre 05, 2011

We stayed a few days en-route elsewhere and we had never been to Atlanta. After a long journey the extra work to the B&B from MARTA was a bit tiring, but arrival at the beautiful house made it worthwhile. The rooms were impeccable and we were well taken care of beyond what we expected. Not as warm and friendly as some but that was not really an issue for us.


Inman Park b&b

4,0 su agosto 26, 2011

A really lovely place. I highly recommend.


Fabulous place!

4,4 su agosto 21, 2011

We love the Sugar Magnolia! The royal suite is so comfortable and the jacuzzi tub makes it even better!


Yep, it was good!

4,4 su agosto 20, 2011

Excellent place, very nice owners. Unfortunately the wifi was hopeless.

Risposta del proprietario
We are sorry this guest had trouble with our wi-fi. The signal is very strong in the main house,so I suspect the problem may have been a temporary one in the Cottage Suite. We will certainly check it out and insure that this service is conveniently available.


Sweet sugar at Sugar Magnolia

4,4 su agosto 15, 2011

A wonderful house and a warm welcome await you at this fantastic B&B. The bed was very comfortable and the host made you feel at home.


Pleasant stay and great southern hospitality.

4,8 su agosto 11, 2011

Very convenient to the Marta, friendly hosts, great breakfasts, and a lovely place to stay. We plan on staying there again.


A DIAMOND IN THE RUFF!!

5 su agosto 04, 2011

We went for a concert in Atlanta, and decided to stay at a Bed and Breakfast instead of a regular hotel. The drive in the town toward this particular place had us a little concerned. But just when we really began to be concerned, we hit a much nicer part of town and this beautiful, AMAZING place. The owners are delightful and pleasant. They really cared for our needs and were completely flexible! The beautiful home was just breathtaking! It is really loved and they really take care of it! We stayed in the Royal Suite, and it was completely outstanding; all the way from the wonderful king sized bed to the HUGE shower and seperate HUGE Jacuzzi tub! Also, the wonderful cook was like a wonderful grandma; so loving and really prepared a wonderful breakfast for us! Before we left, she reminded us touse sunscreen and a hat for our travels outside! She is definitely as assett to this wonderful place! When we stay in Atlanta, we cant even think of staying at any other place! I will recommend this place to everyone!


An excellent B&B in Atlanta, GA!

5 su luglio 27, 2011

The Sugar Magnolia B&B in the Inman Park area of Atlanta is a real southern jewel. It’s a lovely, huge old house, very well-maintained by the innkeepers and beautifully appointed. My husband and I stayed in the Royal suite, which included a sitting room, a king-sized bed under a skylight, a sunken whirlpool bathtub with a separate shower, and two balconies on which to sit. The room was cool, comfortable, and very clean. Breakfast was plentiful and wonderful, ranging from a yogurt, fruit, and granola parfait to apple pancakes with an apple cider sauce. Debi maintains the grounds herself and they are not only beautiful, but creatively done. Overall, staying here was an exceedingly good choice and I highly recommend the Sugar Magnolia as a place to stay in Atlanta.


Picked for covenience, would return for the experience

4,2 su luglio 08, 2011

We were looking for somewhere to stay other than downtown that would be close to EAV where our son lives. We are very happy we choose Sugar Magnolia. The room was great, the service 5 star, it was clean and welcoming every time we returned during our 3 day visit. The food was very good, just what we needed to get our days started. We will be back and we told our son he could recommend it with confidence.


Several helpings of charm with a touch of eccentricity

4,4 su luglio 03, 2011

The rooms are great, if unencumbered, the Marta is not far. We were thankful Josie took our bags to the train station on the way out after giving us a brief tour of the beautiful neighborhood. I don't know how we took a wrong turn since there are no turns on the way to the train, but Josie was a good sport. We've stayed more than once and really enjoyed our time on both occasions. It was nice that they accommodated everyone in our family from baby to Grandma!


Amazing

4,8 su giugno 29, 2011

This place was amazing, they were easy to get a hold of, willing to work with me and help me find the location even when my plane got delayed and I arrived rather late.


If you're coming to Atlanta, this is a good place to start

4,0 su giugno 09, 2011

SM is an overall great experience. I went to school in ATL so I know what one can find in terms of accommodations. SM is right up there with the best. Other than the breakfast being a little too small for my liking, everything else is very good. Next time I'm back, I'm definitely checking in.


Wonderful Victorian Bungaloo

4,0 su maggio 25, 2011

The Garden Room is beautiful and opens onto a lovely porch . . . would definitely stay here again, and book this room for family members.


Sweet dreams and delicious breakfast

4,6 su maggio 23, 2011

Stayed in the Aviary and the bed felt like coming home. I loved this place!


a wonderful weekend in a bohemian area

4,0 su maggio 19, 2011

Enjoyed a weekend stay at the Sugar Magnolia B&B. The house is a dream with beautiful and comfortable rooms. Friendly staff with excellent cooking skills - the waffles are to die for. Great neighbourhood within walking distance to the bohemian Five Points area, a great diner (Thumbs up) and the Martin Luther King centre.


Hospitality at its Finest!

4,6 su maggio 13, 2011

Inman Park is quite a historical treasure and the Sugar Magnolia Bed and Breakfast is definitely a sparkling jewel in the treasure chest. The character and restoration of this 1892 Victorian is truly authentic while the amenities are 21st century. Our stay in the Royal Suite was very comfortable and relaxing. We especially liked the private covered balcony/porch. Jim, Debi, her mom and Sam were all friendly and hospitable. Breakfast was delicious. All in all it was the perfect get-away! (Check out Rathbun's Restaurant right around the corner. It had city loft ambiance and fantastic food at reasonable prices.)


Beautiful spot in Atlanta!

3,8 su maggio 13, 2011

The rooms here are lovely - large and comfortable. The home itself is gorgeous and the grounds make it peaceful and quiet. Breakfast is always perfect - something different each day.


Lovely bed and breakfast

3,6 su maggio 04, 2011

My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Sugar Magnolia ~ the owners are very nice, location is terrific, grounds are beautiful. We would stay there again for sure! Thanks for your hospitality :)


A great stay in Inman park

5 su maggio 01, 2011

A warm and friendly welcome, as always, and a perfectly pitched level of attentiveness throughout my stay. The property is just delightful, and the Cottage Suite gives a good deal of independence plus enjoyment of the garden. This was my fourth stay, and I aim to be back next year. Thanks again. Allan Ingram, University of Northumbria, UK


Honeymoon on a Budget

5 su aprile 29, 2011

My wife and I chose Sugar Magnolia as our honeymoon destination, being that we did not have the money to do any travel. We chose to stay in the Cottage Suite. The staff is very respectful of your privacy. Sugar Magnolia definitely surpassed any of our expectations. If you are looking for a get away, where you can completely shut out the outside world and just enjoy each others company then Sugar Magnolia is definitely the place to be. Breakfast is served every morning in the main house, but you can choose to have your breakfast delivered to your room, if that is your preference. Every morning they are prompt with breakfast delivery according to the time that you give them. We were definitely pleased with our weekend Honeymoon and before we left were making plans on when we would be coming back. Sugar Magnolia is definitely one of the hidden treasure that Atlanta has to offer!! -Mr. and Mrs. Charles D. Mullins II


Very Nice stay at Sugar Magnolia

5 su aprile 28, 2011

I really enjoyed my 4 night stay at the Sugar Magnolia B&B in Atlanta. Great room, comfortable living room and great selection of books and music. The breakfast was hot, high quality and cooked to order. All the bottled water and beer you could want in the fridge. The price for what you get is unbeatable. "Sugar Mag" is located in a beautiful area just east of downtown Atlanta where I needed to be for a convention. Staying with Debi and Jim is really like staying with friends.


Great Spring Break

5 su aprile 25, 2011

Jim and Debi hosted us with 5 teenagers ! Great visit to Atlanta, Little Five Points is fun. Sugar Magnolia is so convenient to downtown and aquarium. Delicious meals and great company - we'll be back.


Perfect!!

5 su aprile 09, 2011

Our stay in the beautiful and lovingly-restored home in Inman Park - Sugar Magnolia B&B - could not have been more perfect. The Royal Suite was spacious and comfortable, as was the private balcony off the front. Breakfasts were delicious, and our hosts, Debi and Jim, were most congenial. We will definitely return!


Sugar Magnolia B&B- Cottage Suite

5 su marzo 24, 2011

My wife and I just spent our honeymoon in the Sugar Magnolia B&B- Cottage Suite and enjoyed every minute of it. The room is beautiful and cozy, exceptionally clean, the staff is very nice and were very punctual when delivering meals to our suite. They also went out of there way to be accommodating. I highly recommend Sugar Magnolia. I know my wife and I will he coming back in the future for a 2nd honeymoon.


Perfect Getaway!

4,0 su marzo 22, 2011

The location was perfect, as was the relaxing and inviting environment, of Jim and Deb's home. The couple was knowledgeable of the area, shared relevant facts to make our vacation plans come together and greeted us each morning with a delicious breakfast and an engaging conversation. We will definately return, it was a great experience without a hitch. Both of us left relaxed, renewed and excited to return for our next trip to Atlanta.


Enjoyed our stay

5 su febbraio 18, 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. I booked this for our honeymoon. I can't believe how pretty and clean this bed and breakfast was. The innkeepers were very pleasant and friendly. My wife and I will be back for sure. Thanks for making our stay memorable The Gordons


Friendly, Private Haven

4,0 su gennaio 16, 2011

I stayed in The Cottage for two nights recently, and found Sugar Magnolia to be a lovely retreat! Jim, Debi, and Miss Josie were very helpful and accommodating. The Jacuzzi tub was wonderful; the bed upstairs was so comfortable; and it really felt like an oasis in the middle of metro Atlanta. I will definitely be back! Great experience!


Atlanta deep freeze of 2011

4,4 su gennaio 16, 2011

We arrived just before the big freeze, but had a warm welcome from Josie and a wonderful stay. Thanks for the lovely stay, including the great Tennessee soup on Monday and the log for a nice fire in our room. We hope to visit again some day, but maybe in the spring next time! Wendy and Mark


Atl Vacation

3,8 su gennaio 04, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. Everyone was pleasant and we would definitely stay again.


wonderful place to stay if you find yourself in Atlanta

5 su dicembre 20, 2010

We found this BnB on the web and were not disappointed. It was comfortable, quiet and the hosts wonderful - and the breakfast delicious. It was also easy to get around using the MARTA with a station close by so there were no regrets about not renting a car.


Stay was too short!

3,4 su novembre 23, 2010

Wonderful spot in old-mansion neighborhood of Atlanta, not far from downtown. Innkeepers were gone so mom took care of us- she was great, as was the room and breakfast. Rating categories on this site are not well designed, because if your expectations are high, it is difficult to exceed them. In any case, we heartily recommend Sugar Magnolia- a pity that our schedule could only afford us the chance to stay only one night.


A Wonderful Weekend

4,2 su ottobre 27, 2010

Our room, really more like a suite, was absolutely delightful. We had a small terrace off the living area, an extremely comfortable bed, and a very luxurious bathroom. Debi and Jim are delightful, welcoming people, and we very much enjoyed meeting Debi's mother, Josie, and her beautiful vintage car. We can't wait to return.


A piece of Paradise

5 su ottobre 06, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The hosts were kind, more than knowledgeable about the area, and extremely interesting. We loved our room which was not only clean but beautiful as well. If you're looking for the best Atlanta has to offer, this is the spot for you.


Awesome Experience At Sugar Magnolia!

4,0 su settembre 18, 2010

Debbie and Jim have an awesome home that they share with the public. great location, beautiful site, wonderful amenities, just an awesome overall experience. i felt like i was back home at Grand Ma's!


Sugar Magnolia is delightful

5 su agosto 29, 2010

My room was beautiful and restful, breakfast quiche was wonderful. The gallery I came to visit is next door, and a quick walk from the MARTA station - which meant I was able to hop the train from the airport and get out near my B&B without renting a car or even taking a cab. Jim can even recite the history of much of the furniture and knick knacks in this gorgeous Victorian beauty. Loved my stay!


Stayed for Training

4,8 su giugno 18, 2010

I found this place specifically because it was within walking distance to the Justice Center of Atlanta. The style and beautiful area provided a nice peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. The staff was more than courteous, and really went out of their way to ensure I was made comfortable and that it felt like home. A place I recommend to anyone wishing to stay in or near the Atlanta area. Five star services compared to even some major hotel chains I have stayed in. Thank you for the relaxed, comfortable, and friendly atmosphere. John Miller


Great Place to Stay

5 su aprile 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed this past weekend. We had a Great Time. The breakfast was great and the room was also. The people were very friendly and showed true hospitality.


Wonderful Inman Park B & B

4,4 su febbraio 22, 2010

Easy to get to. Hosts were friendly and offered helpful suggestions re: dining, places of interest, etc. Room was just as described. Breakfast was good; conversation with other guests was outstanding! Will definitely stay there again.


Quiet, comfortable stay, in characterful surroundings

4,0 su gennaio 03, 2010

I stayed at the Sugar Magnolia for three nights in November 2009. It’s a beautiful Queen Anne Victorian house, adorned with antiques, and set in the lovely Inman Park neighbourhood of Atlanta. The owners were more than happy to provide my chosen breakfast of fresh fruit, smoothies, oatmeal and herbal teas. They were also very helpful in recommending places to go, and printed out street maps and MARTA train routes, to help me find my way around. My room was delightful: on the first floor and called “The Aviary”, it was decorated with birds, with painted birds on the ceiling. I had a private toilet with large shower room, which was just across the hallway. There was also a sitting room downstairs for guests, next to the guests’ dining area. Everything was very clean. I could come and go as I pleased, and was given a front door key. On my first day I walked to Little Five Points (turn left out of the B&B), which was a very lively area with lots of shops. It took about 45 minutes. The next day I walked downtown (turn right out of the B&B), and visited Martin Luther King Jn’s birthplace. The route was partially industrial and looked rather rundown. Debi assured me it would be safe to walk, as long as I avoided certain streets. She marked these out on a map for me. I took about half an hour to walk downtown, stopping off on the way at a cute little fruit house, LottaFrutta, recommended by Jim. Once downtown, the MARTA train station was easy to find and the route easy to navigate. It was also very cheap. On the way back, I got off at Inman Park station, which was closer to the B&B than downtown, and on the “nicer side”. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Sugar Magnolia, and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet, comfortable stay in characterful surroundings.


The Best of Southern Hospitality

4,6 su dicembre 08, 2009

What a gem! Accommodations that have some character and aren’t the usual sterile corporate hotel atmosphere, this is definitely it. In Inman Park, this place has enormous Southern charm, is very comfortable and welcoming. Gracious hosts Debi and Jim will happily share the local color and stories, and everyone loves love Josie, a veritable tornado in a senior citizen's body. The Royal Suite is spacious, appointed with lovely antiques, has a King size bed, a large bathroom off the bedroom, an oversized Jacuzzi tub, and vanity with two sinks, very handy for us. A shower with a rain-shower head, generous towels, lots of hot water (it does take a bit for the hot water to arrive though), refreshing, warming after a day of touring Atlanta in the winter. The fine balcony off the suite overlooks Edgewood Avenue, the main street, plus an ample deck with a little fountain off the bathroom in the rear of the house. Either would be the perfect place to sit and relax and enjoy a soda, a beer, or bottled water, all of which are available for guests in the small refrigerator in the dining room. Houseplants that spend the summer outside had been brought indoors to save them from freezing; all were lush and well cared for, a welcome complement to the rooms in winter. Warmth and personal accommodation abound at the Sugar Magnolia. During our stay we had a couple of Atlanta friends that we wanted to visit with. We also wanted to share the bottle of fine wine we’d brought, so Debi cheerfully got nice stemware for us to use. We relaxed before it was time to go to dinner enjoying the wine, good conversation and smell of the huge Christmas tree – as comfortable as being in your own home would be. At some point, try out the massage chair in the little room off the parlor! Very therapeutic for your back and legs after doing some major walking. We cannot wait to come back to the Sugar Magnolia B&B for another visit!


Port in a Storm

5 su dicembre 02, 2009

We called on short notice and were fortunate enough to find space. The amenities and appoinments were excellent, the decor appropriate and not overwhelming. The innkeepers were responsive, professional, accommodating, friendly and welcoming. My wife and I enjoyed our stay immensely. I do not hesitate to recommend this facility.


Wedding in Atlanta

3,8 su novembre 10, 2009

The Sugar Magnolia lived up to our expectations and more. The Home is out of History and a credit to the owners. The location is one of the key features along with the Hospitality. A Delightful stay and would recommend it to all.Josie was a delight. Punta Gorda, Florida


Vacation's Pleasant End

4,4 su settembre 26, 2009

At the end of our Georgia Vacation we decided to treat ourselved to two nights in Atlanta at a Bed and Breakfast. We chose Sugar Magnolia from the Pictures and location. It turned out to be a very good choice. Our room was beautiful as was the house itself and the neighborhood as well. Great example of that famous southern hospitality and charm. The Innkeeper's Mom who works with her was just a joy and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable.


Great B & B in historic Inman Park

4,0 su maggio 22, 2009

The Sugar Magnolia was a perfect choice for my spring visit to Atlanta. Azaleas, Dogwoods and Wisteria abounded everywhere in the city, and particularly in this beautiful Victorian neighborhood. I had never been to Atlanta before, and after landing and taking MARTA to the convenient Inman Park station, I took the short walk to the house. It was mid-afternoon, and I was warmly greeted by Josie, who immediately made me feel welcome. She does not know a stranger. I had a beautiful, quiet cottage apartment out back. Jim and Debi are wonderful hosts, serving delicious breakfasts in a gracious, but not stuffy enviornment. They generously share their spacious front rooms with guests. They are interesting, friendly, busy professionals, and have the B & B thing down pat. The Sugar Magnolia is a great choice for anyone visiting Atlanta. If you get a chance, ask Josie about her antique Cadillac. You will be an instant friend!


Atlanta Gem

5 su marzo 01, 2009

My family and I had the distinct pleasure of staying at Sugar Magnolia B&B for two nights. The home is a spectacular example of Atlanta's Victorian heritage beautifully restored and lovingly cared for. With two children we felt welcome and very comfortable. The Innkeepers were charming and well versed in the local establishments as well as the history of their B&B. I would highly recommend this gracious home to both business and vacation travelers. I was able to easily commute to downtown business appointments while the whole family had easy access to MARTA and walking distance to wonderful restaurants.


Magnificent place, convenient location

4,2 su ottobre 06, 2008

My wife and I thought Magnolia House was a great place that we would return to again. We operate our own bed and breakfast in Asheville NC so we know what it like to open your house to people and I think this place does it in style. First off, there is the House itself...it is an old, restored structure with a very Southern front porch and a magnificent foyer with a stunning spiral staircase and large windows. I felt like I was in a antebellum type mansion with the ghost of Rhett Butler lurking in the shadows. It is the type of house with beckoning nooks, curves and crannies... staircases and alcoves...the kind you do not see anymore. You can tell that the house was restored creatively, a combination of artistic new and old fashioned Southern style. We stayed in the Royal Suit, and felt really like Royalty. Our room had this incredible and comfortable bathroom with a extra large tub which we enjoyed immensely. The downstairs parlor is really interesting with books and music, very spacious with comfortable seating. We were hosted by a charming elderly woman who served us breakfast and chatted about her country childhood in Tennessee. The B&B is located right in Mid Town of Atlanta, but in a nice neighborhood, so we have the pleasure of being near to all activities but not in a commercial place. We would have liked to stay more and leisurely explore the house and gardens. Perhaps, next time.


GREAT PLACE TO STAY

4,8 su marzo 26, 2008

This was a mini-honeymoon for us. The Room was very nice, the porch was great, the balcony was supreme as we overlooked the neighborhood sipping wine into the evening. The whole home was very nice and it is a real gem as a BnB. The innkeepers helped make the trip a wonderful memory and experiencial trip we plan to repeat.


A wonderful place to stay.

5 su novembre 21, 2007

From the moment we were greeted at the gate, we felt welcome at Sugar Magnolia B&B. Our room was delightful with 2 balconies and a huge jacuzzi tub. We even had stars on the ceiling in the Royal Suite! Breakfast was delicious and homemade. We had very interesting conversations with fellow guests both mornings. There was even a frig with free beer and soft drinks. Debi, the owner gave us a great tour, and we were able to choose our room for our next visit. As a last plus, she sent me my journal that I had forgotten! We will definitely go back because the B&B,service and location were all very special.


intellectual squeek

4,0 su settembre 10, 2007

relaxed as soon as I entered.. if a hundred year old house floors didn't squeek, I wouldn't stay there......quite a community effort going on, intellectual laid back, and quite nice resturants pushing perfection


Sugar Magnolia B&B

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $145 - $205
  • Recensioni (75) 4,5
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-4042220226

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina