The Wicker Guest House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,0

Più info

  • Camera4,2
  • Servizi4,3
  • Valore3,8
  • Pulizia4,2
  • Cibo3,6

Valore della struttura
16 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

What a disappointment

1,2 su gennaio 11, 2011

What a disappointment. The pictures are over exaggerated!! Our room was so small and dark - hit our legs on bedposts everytime we squeezed around the bed. Room smelled like mold. Literally gone not one minute of sleep the first night. Noises were so loud all around - even with window air conditioning unit roaring. Mold in bathroom. No hairdryers. Person working the desk was very rude and rushed us through. Not your typical b&b. Just like a economy motel. Breakfast was horrible! Frozen bread and pastries for you to heat up! Pool was dirty! Parking is a joke! We will never stay again!


Met my expectations

3,2 su marzo 04, 2010

Stayed in Queen Room. Nothing fancy. Room was like staying upstairs at your grandma's old house. Clean and comfortable bed. Excellent air conditioner. There are 20 rooms on the property, located in several difffent buildings. In speaking with other guests, some of the rooms apparently are nicer than others. We didn't use the pool, but other guests said it was very nice. The "breakfast part" of this Bed and Breakfast was simple and served outside: bagels, muffins, hb eggs, small pastries, frozen waffles. The coffee was bad. The orange juice was either Tang or Sunny D. Nothing outstanding. We chose this place for the price and excellent location on Duval St. close to everything. We rented bikes on site ($15/day). We either walked or rode the bikes everywhere. Our room faced the back of the property and it was quiet. The front desk was very helpful in getting us reservations, maps and offering suggestions. Parking is limited, but there is lots of free street parking on just about all the side streets. We enjoyed sitting of the shared front porch in the rocking chairs, just people watching. There was nothing that would compel me to rate this as "outstanding" as it is old and a bit worn. But it certainly met our expectations for cleanliness and value. I would recommend this property to others, just don't expect anything "outstanding". Good location.


Disappointing Stay in Key West

1,4 su febbraio 08, 2010

Our stay at the Wicker Guest House was OK but disappointing. What their advertising does not tell you is more important than what their pictures do. First, you might call the facilities quaint; I'd call them in need of much repair. The wood walkways are rotted in places and in need of sanding and painting everywhere. Walk barefoot at your own risk! Secondly, there are 21 guest rooms in four different buildings surrounding a courtyard. But there are only 9 parking spaces and with six of them you have to double park and leave your keys with the proprietor. On street parking is precarious with the narrow streets and hard to find. Thirdly, our room was in need of dusting and upkeep. Dust was everywhere. The blinds hadn't been dusted for some time. The bathroom had mold growing in the caulking around the tub and numerous holes in the woodwork where insects could gain entrance to the room. Two outlets by the microwave were not covered and one did not work at all. Fourthly, when I think of a B&B breakfast, I expect something hand-made from scratch, i.e. muffins, coffee cake, waffles, pancakes or the like. We had nothing like that. We had a continental breakfast the likes of which could be duplicated (and even improved upon) at a low-budget motel chain. I'm sure everything came from Gordon Food Service, Wal-Mart or some other place that handles food-for-the-masses. Another point to note is that Wicker Guest House is right on Duvall Street. This is a very noisy street at all hours of the day and night. If your room is on the second floor like ours was and if you have your windows open, be prepared to be awakened several times a night with loud talking, squealing tires, accelerating vehicles, and loud trucks, (and even a rooster crowing!) In summary, Wicker Guest House is in need of significant repair and upkeep before I would ever consider another stay there.


Key West Getaway

4,2 su novembre 06, 2009

This was our first time at this property. The staff was very friendly and treated us like we were regulars. The location is terrific...9 blocks to Mallory Square, 4 blocks to Dog Beach, 4 blocks to Southern Point. We were very happy and plan to return.


So Perfect

4,8 su agosto 04, 2009

We found this B&B through the visitors center upon arriving into Key West. The value was great, the room was unique and cozy and the office staff was very friendly. It was a great place to stay and we plan to return to the Wicker Guest House, on our next visit to the Keys.


Good value for money

4,0 su marzo 11, 2009

Quiet considering it is a central location. Clean and tidy. We had one minor problem but was resolved immediately. Will recommend


OUTSTANDING

5 su ottobre 07, 2008

WE HAVE STAYED TWICE AT WICKER HOUSE AND EACH TIME WAS BETTER THAN BEFORE. WE ARE GOING TO STAY AGAIN THIS MONTH FOR 8 DAYS. BENTON COFFEY AND HIS STAFF ARE THE BEST PEOPLE TO BE AROUND. WE CAN'T WAIT TO GET BACK AND RELAX WITH THEM. DICK & ANNIE JOLLY


Fay, Fay - go away

4,6 su ottobre 03, 2008

Even we had our reservation postponed because of tropical storm Taz - we enjoyed it a lot - the Guesthouse was in perfect condition and front desk helped us a lot. Nice everything.


Fourth of July

4,0 su agosto 18, 2008

This is a great little spot. Cozy and Quiet.


A nice little Bed Breakfast in the heart of Key West

4,2 su agosto 07, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Wicker Guest House in January 2008 for the Martin Luther King weekend. We stayed in a deluxe room. The room and bathroom were spacious. I personally liked the fact that our room was a separate bungalow building right off the pool. The Wicker House's biggest advantage is location. It is right off Duval Street. It is close to all the major attractions and bars, but away from the more congested part of the strip near Sloppy Joe's. This translates to great location but also a quiet, good night's sleep. The price of the room was expensive, but we went during high season. We were fortunate to find accomodations during this time. The biggest improvement the bed and breakfast can make is the quality of their breakfasts. You would think for the money being spent they would provide something more substantial than coffee, cereal, bagels, and coffee. I have stayed in more affordable bed and breakfasts in New England with more varied breakfast foods (eggs, waffles, crepes, ect.). I would recommend this bed and breakfast, but try to go during the off-season to save money (Key West is pricey!!!)


Suite 22

4,4 su aprile 07, 2008

My home away from home was truly delightful and spacious for the two of us. We were up early to swim and then sip coffee by the pool and enjoy the other guests as well as the staff. We were blessed to have such a wonderful time... relaxing....interesting...unique...and very accomodating. Two other couples that were staying elesewhere have changed their vacation abode to the Wicker House.


Charming

4,0 su gennaio 07, 2008

My husband and I spent out first year anniversary at the Wicker House. We enjoyed purchasing fresh seafood at the market and grilling them by the Wicker House pool. A delightful place to relax and conventiently located within walking distance.


Great LOCATION, Great PLACE

5 su luglio 03, 2007

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Wicker Guest House in June 07. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the property was just as charming. I would recommend renting bicycles for the entire stay, and especially Capt. Alex for a Sunset Dinner Cruise. I am from New Orleans and Capt Alex's dinner was like food from home. I can't wait to return.


Guaranteed Returns

4,6 su maggio 27, 2007

One visit to this tropical retreat from reality guarantees a return trip. Step into the courtyard and you step outside of the mundane. Expectations, even the best, are left to wallow in a sump created by other experiences you previously used to define any ultimate. In fact, ultimate becomes a concept-surpassed at the Wicker Guest House. Though mere steps from Key West's absolute, you will find yourself insulated from duty and responsibilty in such a way that inspires a selective forgetfullness of every woe. Troubles still exist but lose all power to influence. When respite makes you drowsy, step outside the gate...and you are on the real Duval Street. Once you have been enrobed by the open arms of the Wicker Guest House, you are guaranteed to return, and return, and return. Bon Voyage!


Great Place to Stay

5 su marzo 29, 2007

Brought my niece and 2 friends to Key West to celebrate her 21st birthday. Selected The Wicker House from the internet. Very pleased with the accommodations and the convenience of being right on Duval Street, but yet far enough away that we didn't have a difficult time getting a few hours of rest. Will definitely go back!


Enjoyed 2 nights here in 2006

5 su gennaio 25, 2007

My first time ever staying in Key West. Picked this place from the internet. Was very happy with our stay and would recommend to anyone. Very pretty garden and pool view.


The Wicker Guest House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $119 - $319
  • Recensioni (16) 4,0
  • Camere 21
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-3052964275
  • Numero di Fax 1-3052947240
  • Gratuito 1-8008804275
Inizio pagina