Fairbanks House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,6
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
27 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Picture Perfect Elopement

5 su marzo 11, 2013

Theresa helped us plan the perfect elopement. The Fairbanks House is a lovely vintage home on beautiful Amelia Island. We had a sunset wedding on the Florida coast. Horsedrawn carriage, champagne and wedding cake! Professional and personal! When people ask we reply - We had the Perfect wedding!! Thanks Theresa.


fairbanks house amelia island

4,2 su febbraio 25, 2013

My partner and I recently spent 6 nights at Fairbanks House and our accommmodation added greatly to our overall enjoyment of Amelia Island. Theresa and Bill are great hosts, combining the friendliness and personal service of a B&B with the professionalism and privacy of a small inn. They were experienced and intuitive in understanding what dining and sightseeing suggestions would work for us, helpful in booking things, and also personable and wryly humorous, which we enjoyed. Great breakfasts--not for the calorie-conscious, however--and appetizers at Happy Hour, as well as congenial company. No compulsion to join in, but the kind of place where one wants to. We've stayed at numerous B&Bs in the mid and deep South in the past, never for as long as at Fairbanks House, and it was a superior experience which did not disappoint as the days went on.


Ideal B & B experience

4,8 su novembre 06, 2012

Fairbanks House has all the components of a great B & B. Innkeepers are friendly and knowledgable. The Country French room was spacious and the bed was great. The two course breakfasts were tasty and lasted us all day with just a granola bar for lunch. We enjoyed all four different breakfasts including their famous pumpkin pancakes. The evening hors ouvers and drinks are a good opportunity to compare notes with other guests. This was helpful because the little town has a host of restaurants and you want to end up at the best like 29 and Lulu's. They were just putting up Christmas decorations for the annual cookie tour. We enjoyed getting to peek in several other rooms as the decoration went up. It would be special to stay in the rooms when they are decorated for Christmas. The home made treat every night at bed time was a nice touch. The house is just one block from a good local bakery and the historic museum. It is 3 blocks to town and 10 blocks to the marina. The beach is two miles. We debated between staying on the beach or in town. I doubt there is a wrong choice, but we were pleased with ours. The free bicycles are an alternative to driving.


Last Minute Stay

5 su giugno 27, 2012

We recently took a day trip to Amelia island and were having so much fun we decided to find a place to spend the night. Even though the website had listed a two night minimum Theresa and Bill did not hesitate to let us stay. From the moment we checked in we knew we were going to enjoy the experience. Theresa was so friendly and super funny! There was a social hour from 5-6 which included beer, wine, and AMAZING homemade appetizers!!! (I almost didn't want to go out to dinner). We also got to take our drinks out to the pool which I was not expecting them to let us do. The room we stayed in was clean and had great decor. The bed was so comfortable that we didn't want to get up for breakfast. Glad we did though because Theresa made delicious pumpkin pancakes. We will definitely be back. Thanks for a great time!!!


Great New Year's Weekend

4,4 su gennaio 03, 2012

Last minute decision to get away for New Year's weekend. We found the Fairbanks House on the web - loved the exterior and thought "let's try it". What a wonderful weekend! Theresa and Bill are wonderful hosts! In fact I can't imagine anyone more helpful and friendly than these 2 people. We'll be back. Loved it!


Wow what a trip to Ameila.

4,0 su dicembre 30, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Fairbanks House. Theresa and Bill couldn't have been nicer. This was a complete surprise for my husband as it was his Birthday/Christmas present. Let's not forget the much needed honeymoon that we have never taken. Once Theresa and Bill had collected information from us regarding our trip they made it more memorable then we could have asked for. We highly recommend staying at the Fairbanks as it is the best breakfast and hospitality on the island. I don't want to forget about the awesome carriage rides. Joe and Jacquie


A must

5 su ottobre 15, 2011

The Fairbanks House is beautiful and Bill and Theresa are the absolute Best. I really cannot say enough about them, from their delicious breakfasts, top notch service, wine slush (oh yeah), and beautiful accommodations. They go above and beyond to make you feel at home. We have stayed on 3 seperate occasions and each one better than the next (and I never thought there could be room for improvement). The Fairbanks House exemplifies the Bed and Breakfast experience.


Our favorite by far! We will be back!

5 su luglio 20, 2011

I have stayed in many B&B and always like to try a new one each summer. I will not try a new next year. I can't wait to go back. The Inn is just beautiful but more than that - totally comfortable and you feel right at home. The hostess is a blast and they go out of their way to do the little extras. Breakfast was wonderful and we couldn't wait each afternoon for Happy Hour. Our room #5 was unbelievable. Could not have asked for more. Our favorite part was the pool. What a wonderful place. A must if you want peace, quite and sweet Inn keepers!


Happy 30th!

5 su febbraio 26, 2011

We recently spent our 30th wedding anniversary at the Fairbanks House and it far exceeded our expectations. The decor is quietly elegant and Bill and Theresa are wonderful, caring hosts. Theresa, (she had me from "hello") is very knowledgeable about the island, the restaurants, attractions and services and is happy to share her expertise with you, or if you prefer, make all your arrangements for you along with a few surprises. We had just gotten seated at our dinner reservation when a split of champagne arrived at our table courtesy of Theresa and Bill to help us celebrate our anniversary. The nightly social hour features yummy hors d'ouvres and Bill serving soft drinks and adult beverages. Breakfast alternates with sweet and savory items. We are still talking about the strawberries in ginger cream and the Banannas Foster french toast. By the end of the trip, we left feeling like we had spent the weekend with friends. We will definitely return to Fairbanks house and hopefully soon.


Our stay at the Fairbanks House

5 su dicembre 17, 2010

My wife and I chose the Fairbanks House because the pictures were stunning. Of course we wondered if the experience would measure up to what we saw. It didn't........it far exceeded what we hoped for. Bill and Teresa are absolutely wonderful hosts. The Inn itself is elegant, full of history, very relaxing, and there are numerous rooms that each have their own character. The Inn is very close to all the shops, restaurants, and sites you will want to see. We cannot wait to go back!


Beyond Accomodating...

5 su agosto 11, 2010

This was our second stay at the Fairbanks House. We decided to stop on our way home from a beach "vacation" spent with extended family in NC. It was the perfect place to unwind...Teresa and Bill are wonderful hosts and could not be more accomodating. It had rained on us as we were driving south and we were traveling with 2 drippy longboards. They had the perfect suite with a secure porch so that we did not have to drive around surf boards top of the car during our stay. The house is beautfully furnished and decorated without being too fussy and the breakfasts delish! We are already planning our next stay.


A Girls Weekend to Remember!!

5 su luglio 26, 2010

Found through some surfing on the web, the Fairbanks House was fabulous! Bill and Theresa couldn't have been more helpful or hosted my sisters and I for our annual girls weekend in a more beautifully decorated, service oriented, friendly home. Breakfast was fabulous and set the tone for the day. Anything we wanted, thought we wanted or couldn't imagine trying they suggested and could arrange and make happen. Our 'room' in the Tower was phenomenal with plenty of space for us to spread out and enjoy each others company - with the added bonus of chocolate chip cookies and other treats to enjoy.


These other reviews are misleading

3,0 su maggio 27, 2010

The innkeepers were very service oriented and extremely helpful. While we enjoyed our stay, the experience was less than what we expected. The Fairbanks House is a rustic home constantly under renovation, and it was in need of painting outside. When we arrived in our room, the trash in the kitchen had not been emptied, there were cobwebs in the windows, places on the wall had been patched but not painted, and I found someone's ear plugs on the floor. I believe you would find a better value having a hotel suite on the water.


A great weekend escape!

5 su aprile 19, 2010

The Fairbanks House became our home for the weekend...without the chores. The inn is beautifully decorated with a flair of the late 1800s Theresa and Bill made us feel very welcome in their historical home. The coctail/ social hour is one of the special touches that makes no one a stranger. The Hamilton's have a special way of bringing the guests together where you share your day's adventure and share thoughts on where to dine for dinner. It's made all the more special with Theresa's h'oderves and Bill's delicious red wine slush. Fresh baked cookies await you for a late night snack when your evening is done. For breakfast enjoy a very special meal, family style in the dining room or out on the porch, the Hamilton's know how to do it right! With heart warming stories that make you laugh, Theresa is the James Herriott of Innkeepers. When it's time to checkout, you feel like your saying goodbye to friends.


Perfect get-away

4,4 su febbraio 28, 2010

The Fairbanks House is a wonderful combination of elegance, warm hospitality and fun. Our stay was one we will never forget. The food was delicious, the house is beautiful and Theresa and Bill made us feel like family. It was a perfect get-away.


Wonderful Anniversary!!!

5 su dicembre 16, 2009

What a wonderful 42nd anniversary! Theresa and Bill are most gracious hosts, you instantly feel like family when entering their home. This was our first trip to Amelia Island so Theresa gave us the high points to see and visit as well as the best places to eat. Our room was beautiful as well as very comfortable. Then there were the "Pumpkin Pancakes" it just don't get any better than that! We HIGHLY reccommend a visit with Theresa and Bill at The Fairbanks House!


Splendid

4,6 su novembre 19, 2009

Looking for quiet and beauty was our primary goal and we found it in abundance at the Fairbanks House. We have experience with B&B's and this lovely inn rates right up there. The innkeepers Theresa and Bill take great pride in providing an atmosphere of charm, beauty and warmth. We will definitely be back!


A great place where fun and relaxation meet!

5 su ottobre 11, 2009

My college best friends and I agreed we would pick a new girls" weekend place each year. That was until we found The Fairbanks House. We just got back from our 2nd year at the Fairbanks House and are ready to schedule our next years visit. For me it started on the phone with Teresa, the owner. She's one of the sweetest, most helpful people in the industry and her comedic timing just makes you love her more. As the planner for my friends, Teresa made me look like the hero. I told her what I was thinking about doing and she took over the rest, of course, conferring with me. She suggested the restaurants and activities, made the reservations and then helped organized our schedule. This was all before we got there. At the house you're greeted by Teresa and her sidekick (and husband) Bill. The House and rooms are beautiful and well equipped. We stayed in the Tower Room which is huge! The room below that the other girls stayed in is also a good size room and definitely larger than your typical B&B, Amenities at the house are great, but one of the best parts of the Fairbanks House is their breakfast. It's nothing short of gourmet. As you can tell, I LOVE this place. It's walking distance to shops, restaurants, the lake and beach. I completely and whole heartedly recommend this B&B. Teresa,. Bill, The Fairbanks House and Amelia Island will not let you down.


girls just wanna have fun!!!!

4,0 su ottobre 11, 2009

My girlfriends and I have begun a tradition of a getaway weekend to reconnect with each other and have a relaxing enjoyable time. We decided that we would choose a different destination each time we met ...until one of "our girls" found the Fairbanks House. Fairbanks is a beautiful B & B within walking distance to the beach or the downtown area for dining or shopping. The hosts, Theresa and William, take pride in providing a warm and inviting atmosphere for their guests. My favorite features of this package include: the happy hour where we get to enjoy yummy appetizers and drinks with other "inn"mates who quickly become friends, a homecooked fabulous breakfast every morning with fresh brewed coffee out on the beautiful patio/pool terrace area, and the sweet smelling aroma of caramel, lavendar, and vanilla when you enter the inn. Theresa goes above and beyond by making (and breaking) dinner reservations, cab rides, and tour reservations as well as providing home baked goodies awaiting those with a fierce sweet tooth. You will enjoy the fun stories that Theresa and William have to share...and may never want to leave the comfort of the Fairbanks House. We broke our tradition of traveling to different locations and have found our favorite destination!!!!! Enjoy.


Absolutely Wonderful!

5 su luglio 31, 2009

I am used to staying in 4 – 5 star hotels in places such as Las Vegas and Chicago. This bed and breakfast experience was better than any hotel! Breakfast was divine and happy hour was fun with a nice selection of drinks and tasty hors d’oeuvres. What made happy hour fun? Our hostess, Theresa, is a hoot (seriously, she should be a comedian) and the other guests are delightful. (That must be a prerequisite in order to stay!) Daily housekeeping kept our rooms and cabin tidy and well stocked with coffee and tea service and toiletries. Upon arrival at the cottage a gallon of Moose Tracks ice cream and delicious chocolate chip cookies were a pleasant surprise. The location is conveniently located within walking distance to town, the docks, and museum. With a pool, secret garden, up-to-date books and magazines to brows, what more could you want? Oh, cable TV and movies on site, too. Do yourself a favor - enjoy! Crafty Susie


The foundation for a perfect vacation

4,0 su luglio 30, 2009

Seven women, ranging in age from 18 to 70+, of diverse interests and tastes, stayed at Fairbanks House for 4 days. I can't think of one thing any of us would have wanted different. We had a room in the main house and a cottage on the grounds; both were extremely comfortable with great attention to detail. Breakfasts were yummy. And then the extras: Ice cream in the freezer. "Get acquainted hour" everyday with food and drink. Arrangements for wheelchair rental. Reservations for dinner, spa treatments and carriage ride. Unlimited beach towels. Beach chairs. Beach umbrellas. And Theresa, the innkeep, who we think secretly works as a stand-up comic. It was perfect. Seven enthusiastic thumbs up!


Girl'sRetreat

5 su luglio 29, 2009

My group of women (3 generations), had a wonderful time at the Fairbanks. The innkeepers were helpful with: Medical equipment rental needs, dinner reservations, carraige reservations, entertainment, spa reservations, and beach equipment. Our rooms were spacious and clean, and the food was delicious. We all hope to return soon!!


Awesome time!

5 su luglio 19, 2009

We had a wonderful girls weekend. We were there for a planning meeting and spent three wonderful nights. The food is out of this world. Theresa and her husband are both fun and accomadating! They made me feel like I was at home in their home. It is an experience like no other and if you get a chance check them out...you won't be disappointed.


a lovely historical setting

5 su giugno 16, 2009

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending one night at the Fairbanks House and hope to return when we can stay longer in such a lovely setting. Teresa and Bill were gracious hosts who shared the historical details of the home and area with us. We especially enjoyed the delicious breakfast served in the dining room and the attention to our every need. We look forward to our next visit!


Our Stay at the Fairbanks House

5 su maggio 18, 2009

By far, the most fabulous bed & breakfast on Amelia Island. The Fairbanks House was a gift to our relationship, a much needed rest for our bodies and a renewal for our spirits. The grounds are beautiful to the eye and the sweet fragrance of the foilage is intoxicating. We stayed in the school house cottage which we found to fit our every need of privacy and convenience. Housekeeping offered wonderful service noticing even the smallest of details such as our need for coffee filters (we brought our own). Breakfasts were mouth watering in taste as well as beautiful in presentation. Social hour offerred an opportunity to learn of the rich history of the island and meet interesting people all while sipping wine and sampling delicious hors devours. We enjoyed bicycling to the ocean on the comfortable bikes the Inn offers followed by a welcoming cool dip in the pool while smelling the sweet jasmine hovering overhead. The local Island restaurants were top notch. Amelia Island offers a unique environment of nature and history. Bill and Theresa were wonderful hosts - helpful and attentive. Theresa showed us all the rooms in the main house since we were staying in the separate cottage. There is not a bad room from which to choose. They offer the most unique and complete variety of accomodations I have seen in any other Inn. We could not have asked for any more in a retreat. We highly recommend Fairbanks House! Barrett & Priscilla


the best weekend ever

5 su maggio 18, 2009

My hubby and I stayed at the Fairbanks inn on May 16th 2009 for a little get away from the kids. Honestly, I did not want to leave. I do not even know where to begin to describe the wonderful, peaceful atmosphere and the outstanding hospitality we received from Teresa and Bill. They were very informative about what to expect from our visit and followed through on every claim. I never once felt lost, someone was always around to help out. The breakfast was OUTSTANDING and they were even nice enough to write down the recipe for me. I truly felt like at home. Teresa has the most wonderful, energetic personality and always had a smile on her face. This was truly an experience I will never forget and I can't wait to return.


You'll Want To Re-visit This One

5 su maggio 05, 2009

The inkeepers, Teresa and Bill couldn't be more fun or more attentive to their guests. The Inn is beautifull and rich with history and is well maintained. The rooms are each decorated with careful attention to detail. Our little cottage was so quaint, right down to the claw-foot tub. The staff at Fairbanks House are top knotch. They even folded clothes that were left on the bed. The breakfasts were nutritious as well as delicious and there was no need for lunch. The Inn is ideally situated with walking distance of town where there are many shops and restaurants. But, it remains very uncommercial in its appearance. I look forward to returning to Fairbanks House in the near future.


Fairbanks House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $150 - $395
  • Recensioni (27) 4,7
  • Camere 12
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono (904) 277-0500

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina