Ultime Recensioni in Eureka, California

Owner Really Cares! a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 Recensione postata il ottobre 29, 2014

I've stayed here a few times now and every time, I see the owner walking around, talking to other guests and genuinely caring about what he does and satisfying the people staying there. I definitely recommend this B&B to anyone and this is a true gem of Ferndale.

Vedi più recensioni


What happened to the Gingerbread Mansion's Service???? a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

1,6 Recensione postata il ottobre 27, 2014

I had visited the Gingerbread Mansion 6 years ago and its uniqueness, service and gourmet breakfasts nagged at me stay there again. BIG MISTAKE!!! Start with a dusty and dirty room equipped with only a king bed when it was advertised that it slept 3 giving the impression of sleeper sofa instead there was a bathtub! Next, only a 1/4 roll of toilet paper and no tissues. No extra roll of paper anywhere! Told the Inn Sitter the next morning at breakfast and you would think she would give me a roll or take it to our room...no again! Had to use napkins from breakfast! Now lets talk about the breakfast - gourmet? No way! A plate with a wheat pancake (mine was raw inside), a cold fried egg that looked like a gummy egg, a half slice of sausage (looked like a hotdog cut lengthwise) and 2 paper thin slices of melon. Toast? Muffin? Sweet roll? No, No and No!! That was it! The second day it was scramble eggs and bacon and the 2 thin slices of melon - so worst in my opinion! I had been looking forward to what my memory recalled me eating, that was vanilla yogurt with homemade granola, bowls of fresh cut-up fruit, half of a large croissant French toast topped with shaved almonds and maple syrup, slice of ham with dishes of fresh pastries! Now that was a gourmet breakfast!!! I can honestly say I got a better breakfast at the hotels we stayed in during our trip through Washington and Oregon! What happened to the service and uniqueness of the Gingerbread Mansion?? Where are the owners who catered to their guests?? I will NEVER stay there again nor will I recommend it! I can only hope that my first trip there will override my memory of my last stay there.

Vedi più recensioni


Great Place a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 Recensione postata il ottobre 26, 2014

We stay here every other year on our way home from fishing the Rogue River. It is always a pleasure. Great service, nice rooms, and wonderful meals!

Vedi più recensioni


We didn't want to leave! a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,0 Recensione postata il ottobre 25, 2014

Really, we didn't! The Inn & the Innkeeper are beyond fantastic, as are the accommodations, the food, the Tea & Wine Welcome & the location. We've heard praises sung about the Mansion for years & finally decided to check it out for ourselves. We stayed 2 nights in the Fountain Suite & had an absolutely marvelous time. Kait truly is "the Hostess with the mostest!" She was very welcoming, warm & open & we enjoyed getting to know her whilst sipping wine & partaking of a salami & cheese plate she prepared. She also shared her own homemade chicken soup which was divine. She recommended a wonderful restaurant within walking distance for dinner, Curley's Full Circle, & we enjoyed our delicious meal very much. Kait prepares a fantastic breakfast & even offers seconds upon request (which we did both mornings!) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which was made better by the presence of Kait. We took extra brochures to recommend the Mansion to everyone we know in the Sacramento area & plan to return very soon. IMPORTANT: for some reason, we weren't able to get any of the areas to accept the "Outstanding" rating above. Please be sure we want to rate the Mansion "Outstanding" in each category listed & would rate higher if allowed!

Vedi più recensioni


Great Breakfast! a Cornelius Daly Inn (Eureka, California)

5 Recensione postata il ottobre 24, 2014

If you like lovely old Victorian houses you'll love this one. Very charming and comfortable and the breakfasts were rich and filling.

Vedi più recensioni


Vacation Stay With Adult Daughtr a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

3,8 Recensione postata il ottobre 19, 2014

My husband and I were traveling with our adult daughter and really wanted to stay in a B&B in Ferndale. Found the Gingerbread Mansion on line and loved the look of it. Did not want to book two separate rooms as that would have been a little pricey for the two nights we wanted to stay. The Hideaway room was perfect for us as it had a loft which our daughter used,but the space was compact. The house is beautifully decorated in period style,with ample parlor rooms,to relax,visit, play games. Friendly helpful staff.

Vedi più recensioni


Gary from South Carolina a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 Recensione postata il ottobre 18, 2014

The best service & food we experienced on our whole trip down the west coast.

Vedi più recensioni


Loved it! a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 Recensione postata il ottobre 18, 2014

We will be back! Exceptional Inn, fantastic food, great service!

Vedi più recensioni


A gem of a place, in a lovely town. a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,6 Recensione postata il ottobre 11, 2014

Lovely building, beautifully maintained, gorgeous bedroom, even though we picked the cheaper one on the ground floor. Really friendly reception from Caitlin, wine, delicious cookies, info on where to eat. Beautiful garden, just a great palace to spend a night.

Vedi più recensioni


Exceptional Bed & Breakfast a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 Recensione postata il ottobre 01, 2014

We stayed one night at the Victorian Inn in Ferndale, CA, and found the experience outstanding. The rooms were quaint and lovely decorated in the Victorian style. The bath towels luxurious and the bed quite comfortable. The wait staff was gracious and top-notch. The breakfast menu offerings were very delicious and it wasn't easy to make a selection. We highly recommend the Inn and the town has numerous and eclectic shops and boutiques for your shopping pleasure.

Vedi più recensioni


Great stay in a beautiful inn and town a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,4 Recensione postata il settembre 27, 2014

We stayed one night in this beautiful inn which I would definitely recommend.

Vedi più recensioni


A Brief Stay a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,0 Recensione postata il settembre 27, 2014

The Inn is a marvelous gem and not to be missed. We had the top floor Empire Room and it was fabulous although the TV did not work and the staff in the evening did not know how to fix it. They did offer us another room but we declined. Walking the adjoining gardens is also a treat even for non-nature lovers. Well worth the side trip to Ferndale.

Vedi più recensioni


The Heart of Charm a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,6 Recensione postata il settembre 26, 2014

This lovely old building is one of the most architecturally interesting structures in a town full of historical buildings. The doors and ceiling heights made me feel like a child again (I'm 6' 7"). Friendly hosts and a good breakfast rounded out our pleasant stay.

Vedi più recensioni


The Gingerbread Mansion a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,6 Recensione postata il settembre 25, 2014

What a delightful place to stay. Well worth finding. Close to beach. Excellent rooms. Fabulous wine and cheese time and beautiful breakfast. Quiet, comfortable, clean, very charming. Kaitlynn made our stay all the better. She certainly knows how to take care of her guests. Would highly recommend this Inn. Sarah Smith

Vedi più recensioni


It was OK! a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

2,8 Recensione postata il settembre 22, 2014

Chinzy B&B in a lovely old house. Our room was clean although I thought it was let down by the stained carpet. I wasn't keen on the coverlet and million cushions on the bed as they seemed a bit stale. I was distinctly unimpressed by old pillows on the bed, they didn't even fit the shams properly. I found nicer ones in the cupboard and used my own travel pillow. I did like the happy hour with wine and cookies and the pleasant staff. The breakfast was OK.

Vedi più recensioni


Lovely place. a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,6 Recensione postata il settembre 21, 2014

Really nice building and pleasant staff. Quite pricey but nice for a special time. They let us park our motorbikes in their pretty small back entrance to get them off the street.

Vedi più recensioni


A lovely little redwoods retreat. a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,0 Recensione postata il settembre 19, 2014

I feel like my ratings here don't reflect the real quality of the Victorian Inn, because there's no category for "character" or "location." This little antique inn is tucked away in a great little town within access to many of the best redwoods and coastal hiking sites, with a fine park right there in town, and a drive to the coast that winds through remote forests and hills that's just spectacular. Great old rooms, and it may be the quietest place we've stayed; though there is some traffic noise beginning at around 7 am, it was marvelously silent the rest of the time. I'll definitely be coming back!

Vedi più recensioni


An outstanding place to stay a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

3,6 Recensione postata il settembre 18, 2014

Beautiful rooms and really nice atmosphere

Vedi più recensioni


40th Anniversary and my Nieces Wedding - Celebrations a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

3,8 Recensione postata il settembre 15, 2014

What a gorgeous B and B! I hope to visit there again, and especially sooner if I win the $1,000 gift certificate. The furniture and details of the home were outstanding! Whomever refurbished the home should give themselves a pat on the back. You may want to step up your breakfasts a bit, and do away completely with goat sausage. But we will definitely visit again; God willing! Thank you.

Vedi più recensioni


Must stay historic Inn a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,0 Recensione postata il settembre 14, 2014

Wonderful and charming place to stay for one or more nights. It's a must to visit and to overnight. Great Service and very good food.

Vedi più recensioni


Adorable place...service not so much..... a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

3,8 Recensione postata il settembre 09, 2014

We stayed one night at the Gingerbread House and were not disappointed by the house itself and our room. We were, however, disappointed in the 'feel' of the place...it wasn't warm and welcoming like the other B & B's on the same trip; definitely felt like a 'business' instead of a 'home'. Upon arrival, the greeter was not at all friendly. She showed us to our room but just didn't make us feel welcome. At breakfast, someone saw us standing in the doorway but quickly walked into the kitchen, like she was avoiding us. We finally seated ourselves at a table, and it was several minutes before anyone acknowledged our presence. The food was ok, again, we had much better at other B & B's on the trip. However, we would definitely stay here again. I would hope that they would wear more smiles and be friendlier in the future. Apparently they used to, because friends highly recommended the Gingerbread House because of their uniqueness, hospitality and wonderful breakfasts. ktintn

Vedi più recensioni


Would have loved to stay longer a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 Recensione postata il settembre 08, 2014

Just an overnight stay in Maren's Suite but the room was lovely, the beds and pillows were comfy, and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. We had dinner in the VI restaurant and it was wonderful! The complimentary breakfast was simply outstanding as well. I'd like to try everything on the menu! Steep stairs but I counted them as good exercise in working off the meals.

Vedi più recensioni


Beautiful Place, very Quiet a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

3,8 Recensione postata il settembre 01, 2014

Something to see! Friendly staff. Stayed two nights, bed was not made upon return. Not sure if this not customary in B&B? Towels were replaced upon request by tag on door in the morning T.v remote did not work properly, asked for fresh batteries but this did not solve the problem, volume could not be turned up or down and had to manually shut the t.v off. It did say it might take a little to warm up the t.v. Oh well, wasn't that big of a deal. Very quiet town, no window screens but not needed either because it is a sea climate :) Fantastic breakfast. Tea at four, fun to experience. Definitely worth staying for a night!

Vedi più recensioni


Birthday stay a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

5 Recensione postata il settembre 01, 2014

The rooms were amazing with great attention to detail. Staff was fantastic and very accommodating. The breakfast that was served everyday was awesome. This was a place that I would very highly recommend. If people were not travelling through this area, I would actually tell them to specifically come and stay at the Gingerbread, because it is an EXPERIENCE !

Vedi più recensioni


Lovely Victorian B&B a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,8 Recensione postata il agosto 31, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at this beautiful B&B a couple of weeks ago. We loved everything about it. Our Garden Room was lovely, spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent and plentiful and presented beautifully, along with wine, lemonade and coffee. The location was perfect for strolling the downtown Victorian shops, the old historic cemetery or just walking around the charming town of Ferndale. I would recommend this B&B for a romantic getaway or a relaxing mini-vacation, particularly for couples. Would love to do it all over again!

Vedi più recensioni


Pretty awesome b and b! a The Gingerbread Mansion Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,6 Recensione postata il agosto 27, 2014

Stayed one night. We arrived a bit later than we'd planned-close to 9 PM. Turndown service is from 6-8, so we missed it! No chocolates :( So sad. It would be nice if these were on our pillows waiting for our arrival. However, house and room were pretty amazing. Lots of historical info on the house in books set out in the sitting room. Water and a variety of juice in the fridge to grab if needed. Our room was quite warm. Uncomfortably so. Didn't sleep all that well because of the temperature. Shower was amazing-a waterfall style showerhead. Breakfast was fresh fruit, a blueberry bread pudding type dish and sausage that we decided was elk but never did ask. Everything was fresh and delicious. We would definitely stay here again. Also, just a point of interest-there is an historic graveyard a couple blocks away that was pretty cool. If you're in to old graveyards.

Vedi più recensioni


Lovely Stay! a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

4,6 Recensione postata il agosto 24, 2014

Ferndale was a small, very characteristic town that had a lot of home-town love to share. The Inn was especially nice. Had old-time charm however was kept up incredibely well. The rooms were very clean and up to date. The restaurant had a great variety of food and was very good. Nice bar selection as well. Thanks for a great stay! I would definitly recommend this place to others in the area. It's not too far off Rt.101 for those travelling down (or up) the coast looking for a nice place to spend the night.

Vedi più recensioni


a little stuffy a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

3,2 Recensione postata il agosto 22, 2014

The Victorian Inn was charming with wonderful original details to the building. Our room was clean and comfortable with the exception of being a little stuffy. We visited on a warm weekend so we needed some air circulation. They did provide a portable fan in the room, and the window did open. However, with the window and curtains open you lost a lot of privacy.

Vedi più recensioni


If the walls weren't paper thin... a Victorian Inn (Ferndale, California)

2,2 Recensione postata il agosto 22, 2014

It's cute and quaint. It is clean however I could hear the couple next door to me laughing and talking into the wee hours of the morning. I could hear every time they went to the bathroom, slamming the door each time. People staying there didn't seem to think anyone else was in the hotel. It's clear this is a problem for them as they have sound machine to "relax" you as you slumber. HA! For one I don't sleep to any sound, it's disturbing even if it's a babbling brook or rain forest sounds. Secondly you have to crank it up all the way and even then you could still hear the conversation next door. The couple was thrown off by the babbling brook they heard which spurred on another conversation that lasted quite a while. Again, cute, clean but not for sleeping unless you take ear plugs but be prepared to be jarred awake by the slamming doors. Oh and staff....what staff, some guy behind the endless counters of jewelry (which makes you feel as though you entered the wrong establishment) who says his bit as though he has said it a thousand times and that would be it for contact with "staff." The restaurant is okay, nothing to write home about however it is one of the only 3 or 4 places to eat there - the pizza joint was much better.

Vedi più recensioni


A most beautiful and well-appointed inn a Cornelius Daly Inn (Eureka, California)

4,6 Recensione postata il agosto 17, 2014

Simply stunning interior. We were fortunate to be there when there were no other guests, so we were able to see all 5 rooms. They're all stunning. The public spaces are also charming and comfortable. We spent a bit of time in the "Games Room" playing pool. It was nice to have something to do with our teenager besides watch TV. Something for everyone at this place. I wish Eureka was more of a destination than a stop-along-the-way. One could have a lovely vacation using the Cornelius Daly Inn as a home-away-from-home.

Vedi più recensioni


Inizio pagina
}