UpDown Cottage Bed and Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,9

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,8
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
18 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

excellent

5 su settembre 25, 2012

My husband and I were delighted to have stayed at the UpDown Cottage. Our hosts, Caroline and Peter, made us feel welcome and taken care of exceedingly. We shall keep the best remembrance of superb breakfasts , the most agreeable atmosphere and the veritable sound of silence at night. The knowledge of UpDown Cottage we'll share with our friends.


Faultless B & B

4,8 su settembre 10, 2012

Updown Cottage lives up to its charming name - Peter and Caroline have built their own Cornish cottage, beamed and cosy like a traditional cottage but with the added modern advantages of space and light - not to mention ensuite bathrooms. We stayed in the downstairs room because we liked the neutral decor and looking out on the garden. It was supremely comfortable with great beds and a terrific power shower. Extras like handwash and soap (also given to you as a gift when you leave) are provided. Nothing is too much trouble for Caroline and Peter. They obviously enjoy being hosts to their guests and it shows. We missed our cream tea so they came up with the idea of savoury cheese scones, creme fraiche and chili jam to go with our Mexican-style scrambled eggs at breakfast - original and delicious. Every breakfast was first-class, far better than all but the very best hotels, starting off with zingingly fresh fruit salad. Marmalade is home-made and the bread excellent. Because Caroline and Peter are so welcoming, you don't feel at all awkward making use of their comfortable sitting-room to read or watch television. They are there to answer questions and chat when you need them and disappear tactfully when they sense you want to be alone. Really, why does anyone ever stay in a hotel when there are wonderful B & B's like this? We found it by accident and, boy, did we land on our feet. It is very well placed for everything too, and a relief to be away from the crowds on the coast - which is easy to visit for lunch or in the evening. We had a first-class dinner on the harbour at Looe. All in all, a fantastic place for a holiday or short break. We will be back next time we visit Cornwall.


We had a lovely time here...

5 su agosto 27, 2012

We (my wife and I) stayed here for 4 nights this August. We were welcomed by Caroline and Peter with cream tea and we loved the cosiness of the cottage and the hospitality of the owners. Our room (room 3) was quite spacious and had a small sitting area and the room was practical, nice and large (enough). Breakfast was a feast every morning! Also the other guests were very friendly and we had a lot of laughs with them. I hope Keith will still remember some of the jokes, because his age is playing him parts. ;-) We could advise UpDown Cottage to everyone!!!


Just fantastic stay!!!

5 su agosto 27, 2012

Me and my boyriend stayed 10 days in this lovely cottage, quiet location and perfect to travel from north to south Corwall. As soon as we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Caroline and Peter (the owners) that are really a lovely couple. We stayed in room no. 2 that was big, very nicely furniced with a god touch, confortable and extreamly clean and the bathroom also. We had a wonderful time here, the Breakfast was absolutely very satisfying and over any expectacion, with many different choices on the menu and all yummy! Professionality in everything Caroline and Peter do, its there job and they do it superbly! We felt as we were at home here! I really advise you to go and stay there! I travelled a lot in my life and never found such nice BB!! Will go there again next year!


Our best ever B&B

5 su luglio 31, 2012

We have just returned from our 3rd stay at Updown Cottage, and the wonderful welcome from Peter & Caroline, makes it a truly "home from home" experience. Cream tea on arrival, lovely rooms with all facilities, all so tastefully appointed, and the fabulous breakfasts! Peter and Caroline are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble. It is as if we are staying with good friends, and we look forward to our next visit later this year.


Fantastic B & B!!!

5 su luglio 06, 2012

This B & B is nothing short of amazing! A lovely traditional Cornish cottage with a modern contemporary feel and a very warm welcome that made us feel at home as soon as we stepped over the threshold. The rooms are beautifully and tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and lovely shiny clean bathrooms. And as for the breakfast...... to die for!! Peter and Caroline manage to turn a normally uneventful breakfast into a gastronomic experience, we love the brulee porridge, and the extra special French toast with cream cheese and strawberries - utterly scrumptious! We will be back! Definitely the best B & B in the West!


Feel at home

5 su aprile 23, 2012

We booked a room in advance at UpDown B&B because the website was very convincing. But when we arrived there we were really overwhelmed by Caroline's and Peter's hospitality. UpDown Cottage is a wonderful house to stay and the rooms are nicely furnished and decorated. What is really extraordinary is the delicious breakfast which is served in a welcoming atmosphere. And what we loved most was the way we were spoilt, when we were served a good morning tea half an hour before breakfast started. We enjoyed our stay very much and will recommend this lovely plae to friends and all those who like to spend their time in a relaxing surrounding.


Professional and Comfortable

4,8 su aprile 17, 2012

A warm welcome in a beautiful B&B in a wonderful location. The most delicious breakfast with very generous portions. Every detail considered, including hair dryers in the rooms.


A warm welcome

5 su ottobre 24, 2011

The B&B was found through a Cornwall Tourist Information site - and what a find. A warm welcome is awaiting you in the most beautiful cottage, with the hosts Caroline & Peter. The choice of breakfast was amazing from the porridge, fresh fruit salad to the full Cornish breakfast. The location is ideal for touring the Tamar Valley with plenty of walks, National Trust properties to visit and nearby towns of Tavistock and Looe. Thank you for a wonderful stay


Best B & B

4,0 su ottobre 22, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this delightful home of Caroline and Peter. A Home that was welcoming and very tastefully decorated though out, but their warmth was especially good, from help with local knowledge, to the scones on arrival to their delightful breakfasts, we needed to be there for a fortnight to enable us to sample all the choices. A very happy time was spent there and we look forward to returning


A Pleasant surprise

4,8 su ottobre 08, 2011

We travelled to cornwall for a wedding and basically found the closest B&B for a two night stay. What a pleasant surprise which was just going to be a bed for the evening. Caroline and Peter are the nicest people and they make sure every need is taken care of without exception. The cottage is very very high spec, comfortable and we had the most wonderfull stay. Excellent breakfast, lovely location and instead of the bed for two nights we had a great experience which we intend to repeat. Many thanks to Caroline and Peter.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at UpDown Cottage. We look forward to being able to look after you again one day.


BEST B&B EXPERIENCE EVER!!!

5 su ottobre 08, 2011

We totally enjoyed our stay at "UPDOWN" - there was nothing we could have missed.


wonderful hospitality at a lovely cottage

4,8 su ottobre 07, 2011

I should say that UpDown Cottage is awful, so that there will be rooms available when I want to book. The problem is, this is one of the nicest B&B's we have stayed in. We stayed for a night last year and stayed two nights this year, and were greeted like old friends. Nothing is too much trouble, Peter and Caroline are perfect hosts. And yes, the breakfasts are every bit as good as they look!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate your fun and positive review, it made us smile. We really enjoy looking after our guests adn do hope that you return next year.


An outstanding B&B

5 su ottobre 07, 2011

Everything about this B&B is outstanding. The only B&B that we have actually given the hosts a going away present. The double room we stayed in was large with a lobby/sitting room with television. Tea and scones with cream awaited our arrival - and sandwiches to keep us going during a late night concert. Breakfast was astonishing - so beautifully presented that plates were photographed, and the taste delicious. What more can one say. Excellent. Anthony and Brigitte


We could only stay 2 nights - what a shame!

4,8 su ottobre 07, 2011

We found UpDown Cottage through a Cornwall Tourist Information website. Our itinerary meant we only stayed 2 nights. It's one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in. We've already been recommending it to friends and we'd make it our top priority if we returned to Devon/Cornwall.

Risposta del proprietario
What a great review, thank you so much for your comments. Thank you too for telling your friends about us. Hopeing that you do return to Cornwall one day and we can look after you again!


Our Favourite B&B

5 su ottobre 07, 2011

We have stayed with Caroline & Peter many times over the past 4 years. We have always received a warm welcome and feel very much 'home from home'. Caroline and Peter are attentive hosts, their home is warm, comfortable, relaxing. If you enjoy a good breakfast this will not be beaten, the choice is wide and we can highly recommend the special porridge, pancake and full English. I can promise that you will not be looking for lunch too early! Caroline and Peter are very happy to share with you their knowledge of local places of interest, walks, beaches etc. All in all the very best of Cornwall.

Risposta del proprietario
Wow, what can we say apart from a very BIG thank you! We know that it takes time and effort to sit down and write a review when everyone is so busy. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.


Absolutely Fabulous

5 su ottobre 07, 2011

I cannot recommend this B&B enough. From the moment myself and a friend arrived, weary and wet from our days cycling, we were made incredibly welcome. Caroline & Peter are both wonderful hosts, the whole cottage is beautiful and of exceptionally high standard. The food too was delicous and indeed the 'prize winning' scones are out this world! Thoroughly recommended.

Risposta del proprietario
We really appreciate your warm and positive comments, thank you so much for taking the time to write about UpDown Cottage. We think we can identify these guests and they were an absolute delight to have to stay. They are cycling from Landsend to John O'Groats and we were lucky enough to be one of the stops in their journey. We are so happy that this 'rest area' was a haven for them. Wishing them every success as they complete their journey.


Relax in luxury

5 su ottobre 07, 2011

Stayed 2 nights on route to St Agnes. Our hosts spared no effort to make us feel welcome, comfortable and relaxed. The scones(freshly baked and eaten in the garden) and the breakfasts were delicious and as large or small as we chose. The cottage was delightful - beautifully decorated and equipped. I loved the wrought iron banister and the picture glass in the ensuite window.We're telling all our friends.

Risposta del proprietario
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovley review about UpDown Cottage and to give us a glowing reference! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the 'design' details in our cottage.


UpDown Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte £30 - £40
  • Recensioni (18) 4,9
  • Camere 3

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 01579 370474
Inizio pagina