The William Lewis House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,6
  • Servizi4,4
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
39 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

The Best Place I Have Ever Stayed

4,8 su agosto 27, 2014

Everything about this place was phenomenal. The location, the price, the service, the food (mostly the food) were all incredible. The William Lewis House is about two blocks away from trendy restaurants, bars, and little shops. Also nearby is a Metro Stop and the Convention Center is about a 15-20 minute walk away. The staff at the B&B were friendly and very welcoming; they made us feel like we were a part of their family and we were staying at their home. The price is quite affordable for being in such a great location and receiving such pleasant service and delicious food. The breakfast and snacks they leave out for guests are INCREDIBLE. Almost everything is homemade and and absolutely delicious. In all honesty, I would go back just for the food alone. You must stay here!


Splendid breakfast, comfortable room.

5 su agosto 21, 2014

I was only able to spend two nights here. Wish it could have been more because I would have taken more advantage of the backyard and the sitting room and taken walks in the neighborhood, which is charming. The breakfast was delicious, beyond compare.


Exceptional and Always Welcoming

4,6 su agosto 02, 2014

I've been staying at the WLHouse for well over a decade; primarily on business trips (in from NYC and now Los Angeles), but for personal holidays, as well. Clean, ever-friendly international guests, wifi (important in getting work done), light breakfasts and after-work wine.....ALL go along way to why I continue to recommend this gem in R Street. David is also the most gracious and accommodating proprietor.


Charming getaway in big city

4,0 su luglio 01, 2014

The William Lewis House was an unexpected delight since I've always stayed at large hotels in Washington DC. My very affordable room was small but delivered big value. My bed was comfortable and the room was totally charming. It was hot outside but my room stayed a comfortable temp. Even though I didn't have a private bath, it turned out not to be an issue since the other room sharing wasn't occupied. I love the relaxed atmosphere with a glass of wine available in the dining room. My coworker and I sat in plump Victorian chairs in the period decorated living room for a chat with other guests and one of the resident dogs curled up in my lap for a snooze. Breakfast on the back porch was delicious. The only thing I would have wished for was some help with my luggage. It was difficult to get it through the tightly parked cars, over the sidewalk planter, up the front steps, then up the curving staircase to my room. I highly recommend The William Lewis House and would gladly stay again.


Great Stay at The William Lewis House

5 su giugno 23, 2014

Our studio room was very comfortable, clean, and private. Easily accessible, we were able to come and go at will without any problems. Extras in our room that made our stay more comfortable were two televisions, washer and dryer, and very fast wireless internet. Our bed was most comfortable. Having access to the main part of the house worked extremely well. The owner was very friendly and cordial and made us feel at home. Breakfast was superb, and the coffee/cappuccino machine was accessible most any time. If we travel back to DC, we will definitely book The William Lewis House again.


The Best Experience in B&B My partner and I havw experienced

5 su giugno 23, 2014

Don's sister Terry was a fabulous Hostess. It was more than we expected. The bed made me feel I was sleeping on a cloud. So approximate to everything. WE LOVED IT AND WILL STAY THERE AGAIN. IT WAS THE WEE OF OUR NUPTIALS AT THE JEFFERSON MEMPRIAL. THANKS


Home in logan circle

5 su dicembre 15, 2013

Dave and Maggie make you feel very much at home. No fuss, no bother, just relax and unwind. It was very heartwarming to find a homey feeling in a strange city. It made the stay not just bearable, but fun. the other residents were nice to meet and get to know too. Strongly recommended.


Perfect save the fruit

4,2 su agosto 20, 2013

Given how extraordinary my visit was, I feel confident the rotten fruit on the buffet was more fluke than anything. The house is just beautiful. Warm, welcoming, I could have stayed and nestled in the nooks and crannies of home all day and never explored the city! The evening wine and snack was a lovely touch. I slept like a baby in my third floor room. Quiet and comfortable even with another person sharing the floor and sharing the restroom. I never knew she was there until I met her at breakfast. An overall wonderful stay. I hope the stay at the William Lewis house again on future trips.


Loads of Charm & Missing the WOW

2,2 su luglio 07, 2013

This was our first venture to a gay-exclusive B&B for a long wknd. get-a-way, the house was quiet and our room was very comfortable showcasing an era of gracious living . Maddie the house mascot was charming playful & aways around to offer a "welcome back home". The location allowed easy access all the D.C. sights the local flavor of restaurant's and night life options. The over all experience fell short of a true B&B WOW! there were a few missed opportunities...in-room amenities (TV/DVD,clock-radio..etc), clutter in the outdoor common areas, guest services details (availability of ice, towels in bathrooms), and in my opinion the real disappointment was the use of convenience foods in the place fresh ingredients in the breakfast menu....WLH came up short in the WOW factor...

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are not exclusively gay. We are a gay owned B&B that is open to all. It is impossible to end discrimination by discriminating against others. We want everyone to feel welcomed and safe. We want guests to get a great night’s sleep so we have a TV room that is open to everyone and each room has an alarm clock that is automatically set to the correct time. These are listed on our website. This is Washington and it is so full of adventures and experiences to keep one busy from sunup to sundown that few people want a TV or have time to watch it. Ice, made with filtered water, is available to guests 24/7 near the dining room. We place clean in your room. When a fresh towel is needed, simply drop it on the floor inside your door and it will be changed when the room is serviced. If you need one sooner, simply ask and we will get it for you. The garden can seem cluttered as we have moved all of our indoor plants outdoors to take advantage of the summer sun. The hot tub is treated daily and changed regularly. We use fresh ingredients for all of our guest offerings. While we do purchase pre-made English muffins and small bagels, our bread is homemade from a family recipe, croissants are baked daily and there is usually a fresh made and baked breakfast egg dish daily. We also bake our own muffins, biscuits and a variety of other goods. The fruit salads are made from an assortment of fresh berries and other seasonal fruit. I personally spend several hours in the kitchen each morning and evening preparing for a great breakfast. With advance notice we can meet special requests. We get rave reviews of our breakfasts all the time. We understand that every B&B is different . We work very hard to be what we advertise. Our website is constantly updated to reflect changes and give visitors an accurate picture of whom and what we are. We want the surprises to be good ones. We work diligently to exceed guest’s expectations.


Excellent value, great breakfast

4,4 su marzo 26, 2013

Nice room in good area


Great Place!!

5 su gennaio 11, 2013

We live in Alexandria, Virginia and wanted to do something special for our anniversary. I was fortunate to find the William Lewis House and read a lot of positive reviews about this place, except for a VERY few negative reviews. I was concerned, as for anyone, was for the absence of locks on the doors. The owner, David, assured me that it is completely safe and hasn't encountered any theft in over 10 years and that the house boasted a "family" atmosphere. I was doubtful until I got there. There is a safe in the room if you have valuables. David greeted us and we had a great conversation who has lived in D.C. for almost his entire life, so his brain would be great to pick if you are a visitor. The next morning, everyone sat at the table and we got to meet one another. The food was delicious. The price was right and comparable to a hotel in the city, but I would chose this place over a hotel any day!! The rooms were personalized and immaculate. The bathroom on the floor was next to our room and was very clean. I truly felt at home here and the owners made us feel welcome. I would recommend this place to anyone and definitely return! Great place and Great location.


a great place to stay while in DC

4,8 su ottobre 03, 2012

I was only there for one night but I will return in the future.


William Lewis House

4,0 su agosto 13, 2012

Charming 19th Century houses with period decor. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Close to everything, nice little back garden. Friendly host, good food. A+


Quiet and Rest

5 su luglio 26, 2012

Wm. Lewis is my home away from home. It offers quiet and Victorian warmth. Breakfast is varied and ample. A great place of rest at day's end.


Excellent B&B in the Heart of Washington

5 su luglio 25, 2012

Very clean, great breakfast, quiet & comfortable.


Gracious B&B / Welcoming Staff

5 su luglio 25, 2012

My partner and I were here for the Cherry Blossom Festival -- we missed the blossoms but were treated to a memorable stay at this lovely other B&B -- impeccable Service and wonderful breakfasts -- friendly, helpful staff!


Great value in DC

4,8 su luglio 18, 2012

I stayed at this B&B about a year ago. It was beautifully decorated and the brunch was delicious. Every corner of the home had detail and beauty. It was exceptionally welcoming. It is made up of 2 buildings, and I entered through the back and went to the next building over. I stayed on the top floor, in the room that faces the street. When I woke up at night I thought I saw my white dress hanging on the dresser, but then I realized I didn't own a white dress. There was someone standing at the foot of my bed. I turned the light on hoping it would go away, but I could see through it. I was so scared I just rolled over and hid under the covers. In the morning the light was still on and the thing was gone. The door was still locked from the inside. I don't believe in ghosts and never really told anyone what I saw. When I went to brunch in the morning no one mentioned anything of the sort. I've often wondered if anyone has seen anything similar.


Great location, wonderful rooms, fabulous host

5 su luglio 15, 2012

I came with my son to go to a Coldplay concert at the Verizon Center. William Lewis House was a perfect choice for this, given its clean rooms, impressive old world charm of its decor, terrific breakfast and having the very amiable Dave as host. I would strongly recommend it for anyone having a short stay in Washington to see the sights or on a business trip.


Very nice stay in DC

4,0 su giugno 17, 2012

- Close to Dupont Circle - Great walking distance from many attractions - Very friendly staff - Beautiful home!


Delicious Comfort

4,4 su maggio 06, 2012

We were totally at ease. We will return here.


Victorian experience

4,6 su aprile 14, 2012

The most amazingly renovated house I've ever seen. I felt like I was walking into a Victorian living museum: every corner is decorated with period furniture and antiques including the bathrooms. There are tons of nice touches - cookies jars, the hottub, the extensive common areas. The system of picking up your key from a lockbox at the front-door works very well. I only met the host briefly on my visit, but it didn't matter, everything was laid out. Breakfast was superb and like everything else delivered with class. An experience - highly recommended!


Superior Accommodations in D.C.

4,6 su marzo 05, 2012

Our third visit to this welcoming Victorian B&B reinforces our evaluations of past stays; this is the perfect place to stay in our nation's capital. The staff is excellent, the rooms are comfortable, and the food is outstanding. We will be back!


Outstanding

5 su gennaio 23, 2012

Comfort and convenience are the watchwords here, even the continental breakfast is abundant, a computer terminal with printer (working!) for guests. Just superb.


Like at home

5 su gennaio 23, 2012

A very friendly atmosphere and hospitality, like under good friends.


William Lewis House

5 su gennaio 23, 2012

The Inn is a very friendly & homely place. Comfortable places to sit besides your room. Tea & coffee available at all times and fruit and afternoon tea. You can make yourself right at home.


A Home in DC

4,8 su giugno 27, 2011

After staying for just a few days at the William Lewis House I feel like I have a home in DC. Everything about the place is charming and well thought out, and the neighborhood is great. Add to that the fact that it's Metro-accessible and we have a winner! Oh and breakfast, even on weekdays, is wonderful.


outstanding hidden treasure in D.C.

5 su maggio 12, 2011

Excellent services by our host, Patrick, made our trip memorable. Patrick regularly assured our room was cleaned and fresh, his breakfasts are an undiscovered treasure, and the attention to personal details and needs of all guests is highly commendable. Although the directions to the residence could have been easier achieves via a single Yellow route from National airport, we were able to follow the Internet instructions. The photo on the Internet does not accurately reflect the quality of the residence. The back porch, yard area, and living room sofa added a relaxing atmosphere to our visit. Local residents have probably under utilized or ignored this opportunity. If DC is your destination, we strongly recommend Lewis House, especially with the services of our host, Patrick. Thank you again.


What a great place

4,8 su maggio 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here and we absolutely loved it! The Decor of the house is antique and there is a lot of really interesting design features to look at. The family style breakfast was a great way to start the day and the food was healthy, fresh and well cooked. The inn keeper Patrick was a delight, very generous and friendly keeper and hosted a great happy hour. All of the guests were hanging out and chatting. Was a great time. The neighborhood is safe, historical and there are a ton of really interesting bars, restaurants and some stores to wonder around. Overall, I highly recommend this location and we are staying here again when we visit DC.


real treat in DC

4,6 su aprile 30, 2011

Really a pleasure to stay here. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. A very well kept period home filled with style and unique antiques. Lounging on the back porch overlooking their garden was a real treat in the warm evening. I know where I'll be staying the next time I am in DC.


Excellent stay

5 su aprile 18, 2011

This house is like home. David and Patrik are nice guys to talk to. The room looks more spacious than it appears in the pic and you get pretty good wifi. Exquisitely decorated dinning room and breakfast is better than average hotels. I would come back next time and definitely would recommend to all my friends who's travelling to D.C.


Charming Comfort in the middle of the Capital

4,8 su aprile 05, 2011

The William Lewis House was a pleasant surprise. Located within striking distance of the city's major locations, the inn provides a comfortable alternative to the cold sterility of hotel chains. Comfortable beds, gorgeous furniture, and the best continental breakfast you'll ever have, all for a fraction of the cost of a room at the aforementioned chains. If you don't mind sharing a bathroom, check this place out. Will stay here again.


Enjoyed our stay!

4,0 su aprile 04, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the William and Lewis house B and B. We made some friends and the place is a very authentic Victorian restoration. We hope to stay again when in DC.


Unique Victorian

4,0 su marzo 29, 2011

If you want to stay in a unique Victorian house, this is your place. I didn't see much of the owners but the breakfast was delicious and had a lot of different variety. The hot tub was nice but watch your shoes while you are out there, otherwise the owner's dog might eat them :-p The decor is nice and gives the place a very authentic feel. I would recommend it to anyone that wants to have a chance to stay in a unique place. Two things to remember: You are in a house so you share a bathroom (it was modern) and you can basically hear anything that goes on the floor (since it is in an old house). They do everything they can to keep quiet hours but sometimes you will have people there who won't abide by those rules. All in all though, it was a very nice place to stay and experience a different kind of travel.


Good value

3,6 su marzo 15, 2011

the WL house was very good, I was happy with everything, except I wish there were locks on the doors. This made me feel like I couldn't leave anything in the room, and there was no lockable bureau or anything like that in the room. Other than that, it was definitely a good value and within a reasonable distance of downtown.


Won't go elsewhere

4,2 su ottobre 23, 2010

I recently traveled solo to DC and was looking for a friendly, affordable, and hospitable place to stay, close to the metro. The William Lewis House was all this and more, being located close to the thriving Dupont Circle/Adam's Morgan areas of town, in a charming neighborhood. The hosts and other guests were very welcoming and helpful. My room & shared bathroom were neat and comfortable and living areas were charming and relaxing. The architecture of both buildings is beautiful and the hosts have done a great job of caring for and restoring the victorian character of the place. I highly recommend this house for anyone interested an a non-cookie cutter approach to travel.


William Lewis House review

4,8 su settembre 27, 2010

I can not say enough good things about my recent weekend at the William Lewis House. This B & B is located on R st. which is about 10 blocks from downtown. On a nice day you can walk just about anywhere, grab the Metro at U. St. or a Metrobus to Downtown. The location is also conveniently located to many cafes, restaurants, and shops with Dupont Circle and Georgetown not far away. This B & B is comprised of two three floor buildings(it was not all that bad walking up to the third floor room.) which is connected by a back porch with a beautiful small backyard with a goldfish pond and much solitude. You can sit back there in the morning and sip your coffee while listening to the birds sing or in the evening reading a good book. David, the innkeeper was very gracious and accomodating. On Saturday evening there is a happy hour and on Sunday morning he makes a great breakfast and are able to talk with people from all over the world. Upon returning one evening there was a freshly baked mixed berry crisp for any of the guests to partake in. As I was leaving for the airport he packed up some of the crisp to have while I was waiting for my plain. These houses have been renovated to the period with many antiques. Each floor has a bath to share with the other two rooms on that floor. I never had to wait to use the bathroom on our floor. The bed was very comfortable and the a/c was set so as not to be overly chlly. This was my second stay at this B & B and I plan to return next time I am in DC. I can't wait to go back and see how big Mattie, Dave's five month old puppy has grown.


A Hidden Gem

4,8 su maggio 13, 2010

Don't be scared off by the "gay" designation. This B&B welcomes all, and you certainly won't find a bathhouse atmosphere! This is a gorgeously restored pair of townhomes in a neighborhood that reminds me of upscale parts of London. Rooms are gorgeously decorated, and the public areas are like a wealthy relative's home--lovely antiques, 19th century family photos, fine woodwork and art glass abounding. As a renovator myself, I know how much work has been done here, and it's phenomenal. A very upscale, mixed clientele, most of whom were professors! Shared baths (usually between two rooms), but plenty of half-baths for those sudden must-go moments. And the breakfast! Quiche, cereals hot and cold, homemade baked goods, fresh fruit salad, a wide array on the two antique buffet tables...Perfect! Just don't all you readers take up all the rooms, right when I travel next to DC! Garden, roofed deck seating for nice days, easy walk to the Metro. And the price is amazingly in-bounds, too.


A good value

3,8 su marzo 02, 2010

The B&B is in two restored Victorian houses, which means the place is charming but if anyone is making noise, you will hear it. Fortunately, while I was there everyone was very considerate. The B&B is advertised as gay, but as a non-gay I found it perfectly hospitable. If you need a less expensive place to stay in this neighborhood, and want a clean non-dive place, I highly recommend the William Lewis House. If you want cement walls that will block sound from other guests, you will have to go to an expensive hotel.


Delightful!

5 su gennaio 24, 2009

Great rates and accomodations!


The William Lewis House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $84 - $174
  • Recensioni (39) 4,6
  • Camere 10

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2024627574

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina