Green Acres B&B Recensioni

Globalmente
4,9

Più info

  • Camera4,8
  • Servizi5,0
  • Valore4,8
  • Pulizia4,9
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
36 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Green Acres

5 su giugno 26, 2014

Jim and Cathy are amazing hosts, and their 1700's B&B home is absolutely magnificent. Every amenity is of top quality, the furnishings are gorgeous, the bed was exquisitely comfortable, the grounds are beautiful, and the chickens are the perfect added touch. Jim and Cathy really care about their guests and are such kind people to have opened their home to three elderly shelter dogs as well as the free-roaming chickens which provide eggs for the most delicious omelets one will ever taste. We LOVED our time at Green Acres and recommend it with the highest accolades! Jane & Art, NY


Truly a wonderful experience

5 su giugno 24, 2014

My husband and I just got home from Green Acres B&B, and we cannot wait to return. We chose to stay here based on the reviews below, so I had pretty high expectations. Even still, Jim and Cathy managed to go above and beyond what I ever would have expected from hosts. Pros: 1. The bed was very comfortable. The room was cozy, and there was no noise to disturb us. We stayed in the Trade Room which had a private door leading to the backyard patio and pool. 2. There were complimentary snacks, soft drinks, sherry, and AMAZING homemade cookies in the room. 3. You get to choose your own breakfast from a menu. Do yourself a favor and choose the skillet - sausage, onions, peppers, cheese, and a freshly laid egg by one of his chickens. 4. You also get to choose what time you want to eat and where. We ate outside on the patio and enjoyed the company of the chickens and Champion the dog. 5. The grounds are beautiful to walk around. You can relax by the pool, go for a swim, relax on the hammock, and hang out with the chickens who walk around on their own. If you ask, Jim will also take you in the barn to see the baby chicks he is raising. 6. After an absolutely amazing evening and delicious breakfast in the morning, we couldn't ask for anything more, but then Jim and Cathy gave us even more cookies for the drive home. They are super thoughtful and just the best hosts! Cons: NOTHING. The only sad part was leaving so soon. We can't wait to return. Thanks again Jim and Cathy!


The Greatest!

5 su giugno 03, 2014

Jim and Cathy are super hosts who really care about their guests. Elegant luxury in a 270 year old carefully rehabbed historic farmhouse! Food was delicious and attractively presented. Watching their delight upon arrival of new baby chicks was priceless. (Future source of breakfast eggs - doesn't get any fresher than growing your own!).


Excellent B&B

4,4 su maggio 23, 2014

Our hosts at the Green Acres B&B, Jim and Cathy, both made us feel very welcome throughout our recent stay at the Green Acres B&B. We really enjoyed our stay, and have already booked our return visit! Green Acres is a beautifully restored 18th century farmhouse, and is very conveniently located for anyone visiting the Hartford area (20 minutes from the city center). We stayed in the Trade Room, which is charmingly decorated (I really loved the huge wardrobe). Most importantly the Queen sized bed was very comfortable, and we both got a good night's sleep. I particularly enjoyed exploring the gardens the next day, which were full of spring flowers, and then relaxing by the pool. Looking forward to our return.


Charming B&B

4,2 su maggio 04, 2014

I was hoping for a nice stay and received so much more. My room was lovely and comfortable and appointed with fresh flowers, complimentary refreshments, and chocolates! Jim and Cathy the hosts were friendly and welcoming. And the breakfasts delicious - farm fresh eggs are the best! I'm happy that I had a moment to walk the grounds with their chickens for company. I would not only stay here again, but want to find time to go back.


One of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed at

5 su marzo 11, 2014

Charming doesn't begin to describe this place. I’ve stayed at a lot of B&Bs, and don't usually feel compelled to review them, but Green Acres deserves the effort. We stayed for two very comfortable nights while we explored the Hartford area. I would like to return during high season, as the pool and grounds looked like they would be gorgeous in the summer. Still, we got to enjoy the house’s fireplaces and cozy interior. The house retains all the best parts of 18th century architecture/embellishments while adding luxury bathrooms, memory foam mattresses, well-stocked mini-fridges, and sherry. The grounds host a brood of free-range hens, which the proprietor will let you visit (when the weather’s good, the chickens can also accompany you on the patio for breakfast if you want). The house is also home to several adorable derpy dogs, so prepare your best “aww”s. The proprietor is very warm and a great cook. I often find that breakfasts at B&Bs can be a little awkward if the host hovers etc., but the atmosphere at Green Acres was very relaxed and laissez-faire. The house is right on a main road (a charming, smallish main road, but a main road nonetheless). We didn’t have any trouble with the noise, but the rooms come with white noise machines, so it’s clearly something that the proprietor has thought of. The other minor issue was that the upstairs bedrooms were both pretty warm at night (but better too hot than too cold in March?). We ended up using fans (conveniently located in the closets) for the second night. To be fair, it didn’t occur to us to ask the proprietor about the temperature—there was probably a way to adjust it. In short: I would highly recommend Green Acres; in fact we’re looking for excuses to return to Hartford just to stay there again.


Great historical BnB

4,8 su gennaio 21, 2014

Very kind, attentive innkeepers. Loved the home. Very charming. The wide plank pine floors are my favorite. Excellent breakfasts both mornings.


Quick Vacation in Hartford-Area

5 su dicembre 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Green Acres for one night before Thanksgiving. Cathy and Jim were so kind and welcoming and we had a very restful stay. Their home is clean and very comfortable and we had everything we could ever want, including homemade cookies (YUM!) and coffee anytime. Breakfast was fantastic and generous! I wish we could have stayed longer, but we will definitely be back to stay the next time we visit Hartford. Thank you so much!


A B&B Dream!

5 su novembre 02, 2013

Perfect mix of modern and vintage. Jim and Cathy were wonderful, gracious hosts and didn't leave a detail to be missed. Greeted with a warm welcome, cream sherry and homemade cookies and fresh roses in the room. The bed was more comfortable than many hotels. Breakfast was delicious and the spread was beautiful. Definitely looking forward to returning!


Green Acres - a FABULOUS HIDDEN GEM

5 su ottobre 30, 2013

The Green Acres B&B is terrific. We arrived late at night to the kind and helpful Jim. The room, the bedding, the amenities could not be better. We will definitely return


Best Stay Ever!!!

5 su ottobre 29, 2013

Jim & Cathy, Your home is just so perfect in every way, It is warm, charming, brings you to a state of rest that is so welcoming when you are on a trip, the rooms are so perfect you have thought of every thing, our bed was so perfect, the linens are top , our bath room prefect having full size soaps and shampoo in our shower was a treat, We loved the snacks and hot coffee in our room, a stocked mini-fridge was so nice the sherry...u did not miss a thing the only down fall was WE had to go home.. Love the family chickens and the duck and the dogs and step dog too.. this was an outstanding stay I can't say any more just love,love LOVE ...Green Acres...It is the place to be!!!!!!! Mike & Roseanne


Wonderful accomodations!

5 su settembre 15, 2013

Fresh flowers, complimentary snacks and drinks, outdoor pool, huge breakfast with choices of time and dishes, friendly and attentive to detail innkeepers. Enjoyed ourselves immensely!


Perfect!

5 su agosto 18, 2013

We didn't want to leave. It was more that we expected although we read all the reviews before. Can't wait to go back.


Heavenly!

4,8 su luglio 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this charming inn for just one night. We were traveling to Boston for our daughters wedding and needed a place to stay on the way. We chose this wonderful inn because of the great reviews. We made the right choice. Cathy and Jim have thought of every luxury, from the wonderful linens, in room keurig machine, decanter of sherry, delicious brownies, blueberry pie, mini fridge full of snacks and drinks to the gourmet breakfast with fresh laid eggs! There is an inviting swimming pool too! We had a great night sleep. We have stayed at over a dozen B&B's and we have a few favorites, this inn is now one of them! We were truly spoiled and can't wait to come back for a longer stay! Thank you so much for everything! Geoff and Kim


Just a short way from JFK

4,6 su luglio 03, 2013

Arriving from Frankfurt in JFK this was a wonderful start for our tour via Hartford (Mark Twain House) to Boston and then New York. With comfortable rooms, outdoor-pool, chickens in the yard, breakfast on the patio with eggs from the farm, attentive hosts this B&B can be recommended for short or also longer relaxing stays. Thank you Jim and Cathy! Gerhard, Dorothee, Feli and Ise, Germany.


Beautiful grounds, wonderful hosts!

5 su giugno 23, 2013

Great impression from the start -- the living room smelled flowery and pleasant when we first walked in and it only got better from there! Big, comfortable rooms, so many small details too, such as drinks, snacks, coffee in the rooms, loved the pool area and of course the dogs and chickens! The breakfasts were so fresh and tasty and we enjoyed talking with the hosts. Overall a fantastic place to stay! Hope to return soon.


A Wonderful Saturday Night Stay !!

5 su giugno 21, 2013

Green Acres is a very nice B & B, situated a half an hours drive from our ultimate destination, Southwick, MA. We were fortunate to find a room so close and so reasonable on short notice. We arrived after the afternoon amenities, and were shown to the Trade room. The room has a private bath, and very pleasant decor. The queen bed was very comfortable. There were slipper, robes, and PLENTY of towels, and toiletries. Breakfast the next morning was excellent! Perfect bacon, scrambled eggs and hash browns. Jim & Cathy were excellent hosts. I wish we had the time to stay another night. The chickens and the dogs just added to the experience. Marty & Marie


Amazing place to stay!

5 su maggio 27, 2013

Everything was wonderfully done-from afternoon tea to amazing breakfasts with eggs fresh from their hens to superior comfort and attention to detail-this is definitely worth the stay! Would return in a heartbeat.


May just have to go again for no reason!

5 su maggio 13, 2013

Arriving to welcoming chickens and a delightful setting started us off right. The room (suite) was fantastic with everything you could imagine provided. Jim and Cathy were wonderful and breakfast was amazing. Picture candles and silver, crystal and service. What more could anyone ask for. Oh Yes - great food which came beautifully presented.


Gracious and Relaxing

4,8 su aprile 29, 2013

We were looking for a quiet location not too far from Hartford and within easy driving distance to other towns and restaurants. Green Acres certainly provided that, but so very much more. Our hosts -- human and canine -- could not have been friendlier or more welcoming. For the 2 nights/days we were there we felt as if we were "at home." All the spaces are exquisitely decorated; the beds were comfortable; and the breakfasts absolutely superb. We look forward to a return visit when next in the area.


Enjoyable Stay

5 su marzo 30, 2013

Last minute decision for a workday stay in the middle of the winter. Great decision. Well worth the little extra drive from Hartford. Jim treated us like royalty. Does all the little things so well: drinks, candles, etc. Not on our normal travel path but would recommend it to anyone. Price highly competitive---obviously more a love of the process than just a moneymaker for the owners.


Wonderful B&B in Connecticut

5 su marzo 30, 2013

This is a charming B&B where chickens greeted us upon arrival. Jim and Cathi are welcoming and made a delicious breakfast. The details make this a wonderful place to stay--dessert and sherry in the room upon arrival, a cozy fireplace with a full bookshelf and a lovely tub with lavender bath salts. I look forward to visiting again in the summer!


Best Bed and Breakfast in Connecticut!

5 su gennaio 29, 2013

This 300 year old property has been restored and renovated into a gem that poetically combines contemporary, traditional, and historical design, manifesting into the ultimate bed and breakfast experience of complete comfort and relaxation. The innkeepers' hospitality is second to none. From the jacuzzi bath tub complete with bath salts and coconut shower cream, to the warmth of a fireplace over breakfast, to the taste of fresh eggs from their chicken coupe, you cannot go wrong with Green Acres. An absolute must stay!


Comfortable elegance

5 su gennaio 20, 2013

We spent two days being pampered as we settled into the comfortable elegance of Green Acres. The bed in the Trade Room looked so perfectly turned out, move a few pretty pillows and sink into a sumptuous mattress and crisp cotton sheets. We loved all of the carefully selected and placed things that made the room so tastefully decorated. Jim and Kathy set a lovely table and I appreciated every special touch. How can one not feel special when silver, crystal and even chargers all gleamed and framed a wonderful breakfast! Jim and Cathy are warm and welcoming hosts who are truly sharing their home. Thank you and we will be back. Madeleine and John


Quaint and charming!

4,6 su gennaio 13, 2013

Jim & Cathy were very welcoming and the inn is quaint, charming old building with tons of character. the breakfast was delicious and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see it during the spring, summer or fall!


cute and cozy

4,6 su gennaio 07, 2013

my husband stayed at Green Acres 2 nights this past December and had a really relaxing stay, the owners are really friendly and helpful and think about all the details, from super thick towels to the beautiful table setting for breakfast to the homemade cookies in our room upon arrival..... not to mention the amazing christmas decorations! their dogs and chickens were lots of entertainment as well. the only small down side was the noise from the traffic outside our room which faced a medium sized road. but it was not enough to stop us from enjoying our stay. highly reocmmended!


Green Acres is the place to stay!

5 su dicembre 13, 2012

My daughter and I absolutely loved our room at Green Acres. Jim and Cathy were wonderful hosts. Everything had a touch of elegance and the amenities of a five-star hotel. Except, we felt like we were home!


Outstanding

5 su dicembre 03, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night and could not have been happier. Jim and Cathy are kind and caring people and make you feel like it is your home. The room was terrific, with plenty of towels and snacks. The main area had a beautiful wood fire with calming christmas music playing in the background. The breakfast was out of this world...simply delicious. We cant wait to go back!


Country Elegance

5 su ottobre 30, 2012

The renovated 1723 house and beautifully landscaped yard gave a warm welcome which was immediatly followed by the gracious hospitality of Jim & Cathy. The attention to detail of the renovation and decor inside and outside is perfect. However theuse of modern comforts such as a memory foam mattress made this visit to 1723 a delight. The hosts went way beyond all expectation in personal service and congeniality. An extra bonus was the friendly dogs and pretty chickens who provided wonderful eggs for breakfast!


A+

5 su ottobre 30, 2012

I stayed in The Trade Room at the Green Acres B&B this past June. Jim and Cathy are wonderful hosts and the property is very peaceful. They treat the animals well and the food is excellent. The bed is comfortable and the shower is well-designed. The room included plenty of useful information on the area. My northern excursion spanned over one hundred days. It included about ten states and four Canadian provinces. I visited some outstanding places, and the Green Acres B&B is one I will remember with appreciation. Weatherford Thomson Culpeper, Virginia


Perfect Bed & Breakfast!

5 su ottobre 28, 2012

We stayed for one night at Green Acres, and loved everything about it - the warm and very hospitable innkeepers Jim and Cathy, the beautifully decorated room with so much attention to detail, the always-lit fireplaces with soft peaceful music playing in the house, the cute and endearing dogs of the house Coco and Angel, the friendly chickens and ducks that are so fun to watch and feed, and the delicious and fresh breakfast (to name some things!). We visited Simsbury and Litchfield CT just to get away from city life for a day, and this was the best place to do it. I'd highly recommend Green Acres to anyone visiting the area looking for a bed & breakfast. We'll definitely go back! We would choose Green Acres over a hotel, any day!


Sad to leave

4,8 su ottobre 26, 2012

We found our two days at Green Acres to be thoroughly refreshing. Our needs were anticipated and we were made to feel thoroughly comfortable and at home. Special dietary requirements were happily catered for. It was good to meet the beloved "girls". Thanks for a lovely stay.


1700s farm house meets modern day comfort

5 su ottobre 24, 2012

Incredible! Loved this place. During our trip, I looked for unique New England experiences. We booked Green Acres not really knowing what to expect. We got much more! Jim and Cathy have done an outstanding job bringing a 1700s farm house back to life. We were stunned by the place. The house has a lot of character to make it feel like the farm house it once was, but beautifully decorated and with all modern comfort. I can't praise Green Acres enough. If you're visiting anywhere around Hartford, do not pass up the opportunity to stay at this B&B.


outstanding

5 su settembre 27, 2012

Other B&B owners could take lessons on how to operate and provide excellent value and comforts. Recommend.


Getaway Haven or Heaven?

4,6 su agosto 08, 2012

My husband and I were visiting family in the Simsbury area. The kids (4 of them!) stayed with family and we were able to escape to our safe haven at Green Acres each night. Jim and Cathy were fabulous hosts and treated us to hospitality, excellent food and the best nights sleep I've enjoyed in a very long time. I HIGHLY suggest this B & B as a destination as well as a weekend getaway for locals. Thank you, Jim and Cathy!


I recommend this highly

4,6 su giugno 12, 2012

The house was beautifully furnished, the rooms were comfortable and breakfast was great. Plus the bedrooms were stocked with lots of delicious snacks.


Green Acres B&B

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $120 - $225
  • Recensioni (36) 4,9
  • Camere 4
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8602171692

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina