Another Second Penny Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,6

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,6

Valore della struttura
96 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Another second penny was like stepping back in time..

5 su luglio 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay!!!


A New England treat!

3,8 su luglio 08, 2014

A mile off RT95 yet it is everything you could ask for in a New England B&B! Very true to the era in which the home was built except the indoor plumbing! Stonington and the surrounding area offers special discoveries year round. Food, history casinos and easy access. Try it you won't be disappointed!


Sandra's breakfasts are worth the price of admission.

4,4 su luglio 02, 2014

Not for everyone. You have to love quirky old houses, cats, dogs, and interesting people. Jim and Sandra are gracious hosts full of suggestions of where to eat, ideas of things to do and places to see, and stories about their varied lives.This was our third visit to Another Second Penny Inn and we look forward to staying there again and again.


Very homey!

5 su giugno 19, 2014

This was a very pleasant stay. The owners are very nice and friendly and their animals are too. They have rescue dog, cat and horses which was a real treat.The breakfast was delicious and the room very comfortable and beautiful. Our rescue dog was welcome there and we all had a great time. Highly recommended!!!


A step back in Time

5 su maggio 31, 2014

What a warm, comfy-cozy and enjoyable stay. The breakfast were home-made deliciousness. Every day something different and special to eat. We loved "The Russell Suite", two rooms of old time décor and charming antiques. The Clawfoot 'spa' tub was especially delightful after a long day of touristing around the Mystic area. Sandra & Jim love what they do and it shows is everything about "Another 2nd Penny Inn. You really will enjoy your stay, what are you waiting for..


A Hidden Gem in SE Connecticut

5 su maggio 23, 2014

I was extremely impressed and pleased with my recent stay at "Another Second Penny Inn" in Stonington, CT. The inn keeper is Sandra and not only did she greet me warmly as I pulled into the driveway, she helped me carry my suitcase to my room on the second floor when she realized I had a knee injury. The house is a beautiful, historic, 300 year old residence that is furnished tastefully with antiques and surrounded by well maintained grounds. I stayed in the spacious & sunny Denison room which has a huge private bath complete with a modernized claw-foot jetted tub, twin sinks and a small refrigerator with assorted beverages provided by the Inn. I will reiterate that this is a 300 year old house so the floors are wide-planked wood and they do slant and creak which I expected but that just adds to the character. Downstairs are a common room/library and the formal dining room where Sandra serves a scrumptious, many coursed breakfast each morning on her grandmother's antique china at a time you select......8:30 or 9:30 and I do believe there are other options available. Sandra prepares breakfast with fresh ingredients including eggs from the hens on the property and you do not leave the table hungry.......all I can say about the food is YUMMY! She provides enough great conversation amongst the guest to make you feel comfortable with one another but is not overbearing. The Inn is centrally located with easy access to I-95 and the shoreline towns of SE CT...it's about 30 mins to Clinton and the premium shopping outlets, very close to Mystic Seaport and Aquarium, Westerly & Watch Hill, RI, Stonington Borough and both the Mohegan Sun Casino and Mashantucket Pequot Casino. It took me exactly 45 mins to get to TF Green airport in Providence. Everything about this B&B is terrific and if I ever get back to that area to stay, I will definitely stay here.


A Little bit of Heaven

4,8 su maggio 21, 2014

Beautiful surroundings in a lovely area of Conn. Close to Mystic, Conn. and area points of interest. Our hosts were absolutely wonderful. Felt like we were stepping back in time. Warm welcome with delicious treats served on beautiful china. Truly a big wow!! Breakfast was superb. Couldn't ask for anything more. Definitely worth a visit and most of all a relaxing stay.


Outstanding B&B!

5 su marzo 30, 2014

This is absolutely the best Bed & Breakfast we have ever stayed at! They had very nice rooms, made better by the fact that they had a lot of history in the house, with which the proprieters were well acquainted. We didn't need it but they even make accommodation for certain dietary needs in a fantastic 5-course breakfast.


Lovely and quaint B&B

4,0 su marzo 19, 2014

Recently stayed in the Russell Suite of Another Second Penny Inn. It was adorable! Lots of space, bed was comfortable and the fireplace was nice. I would only warn people of the shower. It's the most high pressure hand held shower I've used! The InnKeeper was pleasant and accomodating. The 5 course breakfast that was served in the dining room made us feel like royalty. She also had homemade cookies and snacks out throughout the day which was nice. We added the celebration package of flowers, wine and cheese. The cheese plate was magnificent. I also like that the room had a mini fridge, stocked with soda and water.The location was also perfect! 10 mins from Mystic, and 10 mins from downtown Stonington. This was my first experience with a B&B and I would highly recommend Another Second Penny Inn if visiting Mystic.


valentines day stay

4,8 su marzo 05, 2014

1st time at an inn, on a snowy valentines day stay. was very happy with the privacy and rooms. stayed in the suite, & it was so romantic we wanted to move in. great restaurants very close by and the breakfast was amazing. Jim and Sandra were great people and very kind. everything about the experience was perfect!


Loved Another Second Penny

4,4 su febbraio 27, 2014

Lovely place, the Denison is a fantastic room. Although the bed is a bit too squeaky. our manager was delightful and a great cook.


A sincere pleasure

5 su gennaio 04, 2014

It is very infrequent that I take the time to review restaurants or hotels, etc.; but in this instance I felt compelled to give credit where credit is due. This B&B is exceptionally clean, it has that mix of historic charm and modern amenities that I was looking for, and the inn keepers are extremely warm and kind. I would recommend staying here again... I certainly will be returning.


Relaxing weekend getaway

5 su novembre 14, 2013

Jim and Sandra are wonderful innkeepers; they gave us recommendations for restaurants and places to visit in the area and did everything they could to make our stay as relaxing as possible. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, and we particularly enjoyed our conversations with the other visitors of the inn. Would love to stay again!


Lovely old house in the woods

3,8 su novembre 01, 2013

My family and I recently stayed just for one night as it was located near Mystic Seaport which we were interested in visiting. The house was very old with tons of character and charm...in line with that, this is not your pristine, minimalist place to stay and if you expect that you'll do fine. The bathroom in the Russell suite looked new and clean and had a rolled top bath with a shower above it. It had a gas fireplace which was nice on a cold evening coming home from dinner. The bed was fairly creaky probably due to the frame arrangement. Breakfast was served in the dining room downstairs...beautifully set with many courses to delight in. Lovely way to start the day. All in all, a lovely old house in a beautiful setting with a few liveable quirks.


Serene

4,0 su ottobre 17, 2013

Enjoyed the serenity of the grounds. The breakfast was delicious. The Inn was comfortable. All places to visit was convenient b/c Rt. 95 was right around the corner. Will visit again soon :)


A splendid B&B

4,0 su ottobre 11, 2013

Having run a B&B in England for 12 years we tend to be hyper critical. As this was our first stay in a B&B in USA we did not know what to expect. The whole experience was very good and the attention to detail 1st class. Sandra's breakfast was worth the stay on it's own! Thank you for making our stay in Stonington so memorable. David & Cally Horton. Upper Farringdon, Hampshire. UK


Another Second Penny Inn

4,4 su settembre 25, 2013

Loved the personal touches....the breakfast table was so beautifully set, & the meal was lovely! I felt right at home.


Peaceful and pretty.

5 su settembre 02, 2013

Great service and room quality in a quaint little inn. Breakfast was exceptional, created to our wishes and served on beautiful china. The only suggestion we would give would be to improve signage; we drove by it once and took a while to figure out which door to go to at first. Otherwise, awesome!


An Excellent Getaway

5 su agosto 10, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay in the Dennison Room at Another Second Penny. The room was super-clean and charming. Sandra made an excellent breakfast every morning (home-made coffee cake, muffins, cinnamon rolls, blueberry pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, fruit dishes...) so much variety and everything was delicious! I jogged in the surrounding areas everyday of our stay and found Stonington to be beautiful, green, and peaceful. The location of Another Second Penny allows for many convenient day trips. To name just a few, Mystic, Providence, Newport are all an easy distance to travel. Also, you will love the pets, Kelly and Hobo; just like their owners, they make for a very welcoming environment!


Old New England Bed and Breakfast

3,0 su agosto 06, 2013

Enjoyed our stay


Beautiful, Comfortable and Friendly Atmosphere

5 su agosto 02, 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with the clean, comfortable room in which we stayed and enjoyed reading about the history of the inn. The breakfasts were fabulous and filling--a great way to start each day of sightseeing. The only thing we didn't care for was the tub/hand-held shower which was a little difficult. Wonderful hostess and overall experience!


No regrets. Would recommend.

3,8 su luglio 29, 2013

The room was very clean. The house maintained the historical flavor of the original Denison family home as i had hoped. Bathroom was modernized and clean. TV was old and small in size. (I didn't care...my wife did.) "Service" was three stars because the coffee was in short supply and, for the early morning riser, breakfast was a bit late. 8AM would have been a better compromise. "Value" fell to two stars because there was no place out side to at least sit and enjoy the out doors while waiting for breakfast. Also the porch was in dis-array. Not a pleasant place to spend leisure time at. Over all cleanliness was fine except the dog odor bothered my wife a bit. That and the porch brought the "cleanliness" rating to a four star. As I said, breakfast was a bit late for me but the food and hospitality was "outstanding". Enjoyed the snacks left out at night too. Thank you.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your comments and we're glad that, overall, you enjoyed your stay here. We'll do our best to correct the things that you pointed out; however, there are a couple of points needing clarification. We do offer breakfast service beginning at 8:00 a.m. during the week and beginning at 8:30 a.m. on Saturday and Sundays. Almost all of our guests want to sleep in and since nothing opens before 9:00 (and many things not till 10:00) we've found, over the past 11 years, very little interest on the part of our guests in eating earlier. As well, there are several places to sit outdoors other than the side porch, a patio behind the house with chairs, etc. as well as benches scattered around the property. We have chickens out back (from whence our fresh eggs come!) and horses grazing in the fields. And finally, we're mystified by the "dog smell complaint" ... just don't even know what to say except that we're a 3 Diamond AAA property and our inspector would be sure and point that out if she noticed it.


A Special New England Experience

5 su luglio 29, 2013

Wonderful 1770's New England house with rich history. Very comfy beds & excellent New England-period breakfast. Loved our hosts; very laid back and welcoming. Also enjoyed the Inn pets. (: The hosts are the real deal ... played large role in the 5+ years of the refurbishing "The Charles W. Morgan", the last of America's working wooden whaling ships, launched on the day of our arrival! Google the ship...amazing!


We were the envy of those who stayed at the wedding hotel (and paid about the same price)

4,8 su luglio 25, 2013

Our stay was great. The inn was 300+ years old, but was a very lovely property. Floors in our bedroom were pretty uneven, but that was part of the charm. The bed was comfortable, the breakfasts were delightful and well-prepared, and the innkeeper was a total gem. The only thing we didn't like was the shower. We did know what to expect in advance, but really wished there was a way to hang the hand-held shower head rather than having to hold it the entire time. We would definitely stay again and would most certainly recommend this B & B to our friends.


Absolutely lovely

5 su maggio 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Another Second Penny Inn this past Memorial Day weekend and we couldn't have picked a better place. We wanted to go somewhere pleasant, pretty, and low-key for the weekend and it easily surpassed our expectations. Sandra and Jim were warm and accommodating and made us feel very much at home. The Denison room and its expansive bathroom were both beautifully furnished, clean, and lovely - just like the pictures, but ever better in person. The room got a lot of sunlight and had a great view of the horses grazing out back. We also loved the library (board games of our youth, and a LOT of great books that we'd loved and classics we'd been interested in reading) and the dining room, which was impeccably set every morning right down to the alignment of settings. Getting up for breakfast is non-negotiable,by the way - I'd heard raves about the cooking and it was all fantastic. I would eat egg thingies, stuffed mushrooms, drunken apple parfaits, and the chive and cream cheese eggs for breakfast til the end of time if I could! The grounds are beautiful and well-kept, and set up the inn's warmth and charm perfectly. Though it's easy to find off of the highway, the area is serene and quiet. We couldn't be happier with our stay there and would definitely go again, and of course would highly recommend Another Second Penny to friends and family. Thank you so much for your hospitality!


Captain Alfred S. McLaren stay, 18-20 April 2013

5 su maggio 04, 2013

Wonderful room! Superb breakfasts. Particularly the innkeepers!


Just ok

2,6 su dicembre 19, 2012

Noise below rooms is loud; can hear owners conversations. Saturday breakfast good but Sunday "buffet" horrible; better off going out and paying for breakfast. Tub is not jacuzzi/ whirlpool and hand held shower has too much pressure it actually hurts in addition to being awkward to hold and wash. Parking is inconvenient and not exactly safe on dark, snowy nights.

Risposta del proprietario
We're sorry that you were disappointed by your stay here! Thank you for the reminder about noise on the ground floor; your's is the first complaint we've had this year and we'll be more careful. Our clawfoot tubs are jetted tubs; we do not advertise them as Jacuzzi/whirlpool and make it clear that they are 1-person tubs. If the shower attachment has too much water pressure all you have to do is adjust the faucet handle so less water comes out. I guess if you don't like Eggnog French toast then you might not have enjoyed Sunday's breakfast. Must have been the other guests who ate it all and left us a nice note. :) Our parking is well-lit, perhaps a 75 foot walk to the front door along the driveway and we had no snow in November at all. When we do have snow we "pack 'em in like sardines" in the driveway.


Acharming weekend get away

5 su dicembre 12, 2012

We were more than comfortable, there was lots to do, Sandy was warm, friendly, welcoming and provided outstanding breakfasts as well as snacks, coffee/tea etc. Reading by the fire in our room was a delight both mornings and evenings. We would go again!


Best in the area

5 su ottobre 10, 2012

Have stayed here several times-try to do it every year. Sandra makes the best breakfasts! Wonderful hosts and the 2 legged ones are good also.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you!! We know who you are and look forward to your more-or-less annual visits each August. :)


My Honeymoon at the Second Penny

5 su settembre 05, 2012

My Wife & I stayed at the Second Penny Inn this August after our wedding, and Jim & Sandra the innkeepers were extraordinary! The breakfast each morning was immaculate, the accommodations were so comfortable and the scenery in and around the inn was pristine! recommending to literally everyone that we speak to!


Floridians in Connecticutt

5 su agosto 06, 2012

Everything with our stay totally exceeded our expectations - from just hatched fresh eggs and very comfortable accommodations. It was truly a delight! We definitely will stay there again on our next trip to Stonington! It was my husband's first B&B and I think it has spoiled him for life, especially the homemade yummys!


Our Mystic/Stonington B&B Stay

4,6 su agosto 01, 2012

Wonderfully "restored" 18th c. house with many remaining original features of an historic country inn. All modern B&B amenities within an 18th c. theme; and an excellent multi-course breakfast as well. A delightful and interesting (and convienent ) place to stay in the Mystic CT area. Highly recommended.


Another Second Penny Inn

5 su luglio 30, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Second Penney Inn. We are new to NY and it was our first trip to the New England coast. The Inn is amazing...the rooms are beautiful and historic. Sandra is a gracious hostess and the four-course breakfast was exceptional (with herbs from her garden and eggs from her hens). We hope to visit again soon.


A Lovely Stay

4,2 su luglio 16, 2012

A beautiful inn in an area oozing with history. Yummy breakfast. Dear animals. Smart hostess. Lovely


Delightful place in a very pretty town

4,8 su luglio 09, 2012

A very very nice B&B just outside the village of Stonington. Sandra Wright was very friendly and helpful. I can't really rate the dining as I only had breakfast, but Sandra did serve a very good, full breakfast.


A Gem of a B&B!

4,8 su giugno 12, 2012

This B&B is absolutely wonderful. Constructed in 1710, it is charming and rustic, but don't let that fool you. My wife and I stayed in The Denison Room (named for a previous owner) and the accommodations are first-rate. The innkeepers have performed tasteful upgrades to the property that do not detract from the building's historical character. The Denison Room's private bathroom is spacious and clean with a pair of modern sinks and a large mirror, perfect for couples getting ready for the day together. The claw-foot tub is retro in design but modern in function; it is a jacuzzi in a subtle disguise. The natural light is both ample and cheerful. The breakfasts are also out of this world! We stayed for three days, and each breakfast was stellar. The owners keep chickens and so are able to serve farm-fresh eggs in various permutations; one day as a cream-cheese and crab scramble, the next to dress blueberry stuffed french toast. Cereals, a variety of juices and fruits, a wide selection of breakfast meats (to include vegan and vegetarian options), and excellent and flavorful coffee round out the breakfast. Adding to the charm of the place is the fact that the owners love animals, so if you stay there you will almost certainly see their cat Hobo and dog Kelly (both extremely friendly) roaming the grounds. The establishment even maintains a Wi-Fi network for guests, and I couldn't help but smile and wonder what the original inhabitants three-hundred years ago would have thought of that! Despite the rural location, the inn is just a few miles from Mystic and Groton, which puts it close to some of the main draws and scenery of the area. Paradoxically (and conveniently), the inn is only a few miles from I-95 as well and so is very easy to find. We could not recommend Another Second Penny more! It was a wonderful and romantic experience that we will always remember. Thanks, Sandra and Jim for a wonderful stay!


Warm, friendly, relaxing, and so worth it!

5 su giugno 01, 2012

We pulled into the driveway and was greeted immediately. Jim and Sandra made us feel so welcome and the grounds and house were so beautiful. Excellent breakfast and company. Felt like it was my home. Would definetly stay there again.


A Gem of a Bed and Breakfast!

5 su maggio 31, 2012

This B&B was absolutely wonderful. Constructed in 1710, it is charming and rustic, but don't let that fool you. My wife and I stayed in The Denison Room and the accommodations were first-rate for the modern traveler. The innkeepers have performed tasteful and effective upgrades to the property that do not detract at all from the building's character. The Denison Room’s private bathroom is spacious and clean with two modern sinks under a large mirror, great for couples preparing for the day together. The claw foot tub is retro in design but modern in function, as it is an adjustable Jacuzzi in a subtle disguise. The natural light in the Denison Room is both ample and cheerful. The breakfasts were out of this world! We stayed for three days; each breakfast was stellar. The owners keep chickens and so are able to serve farm-fresh eggs in various permutations; one day as a cream-cheese and crab scramble, the next to dress blueberry stuffed french toast. Cereals, a variety of juices and fruits, a wide selection of breakfast meats (to include vegan and vegetarian options), and flavorful coffee complete the breakfast. Adding to the charm is the fact that the owners are animal lovers; if you stay there you will certainly be lucky enough to meet Hobo the cat or Kelly the dog (both extremely friendly). There is even a Wi-Fi network for guests, and I couldn't help but smile and wonder what the original inhabitants three centuries ago would have thought of that! Despite the rural location, the inn is just a few miles from both Mystic and Groton, which puts it in the proximity of some of the main draws of the area. Paradoxically (and conveniently), the Inn is only a few miles from I-95 as well, which makes it very easy to find. My wife Nicole and I could not recommend this inn more. It was a wonderful and romantic experience that we will always remember. We thank Sandra and Jim for a wonderful stay! Edward


Favorite Getaway

5 su aprile 10, 2012

My daughter and I just spent another "mini-vacation" at Another Second Penny Inn. This has become a favorite mom/daughter getaway homebase for us. We throughly enjoy the ambiance and coziness of the inn, including the company of Hobo the cat and Kelly the dog. The breakfasts and hospitality provided by Jim and Sandra are exceptional. We both highly recommend this inn. Kris and Margaret Sullivan


Great Weekend Away

5 su aprile 03, 2012

Wanted a weekend away from NYC and this is exactly what was needed. Has a lot of country charm and farmhouse style. Club foot tubs and latch handle doors, all the little details give an air of relaxation and comfort. Jim and Sandra are extremely welcoming and are available for anything you may need. Great location in gorgeous Stonington, and easy to get to nearby attractions, but also nice to curl up next to a gas fireplace. Can't wait to go back!!


Loved the chance to get away!

4,4 su marzo 28, 2012

I was thrilled with the room I stayed in while attending a conference. It was more affordable then then the larger hotel chains and they didn't compare to the the charm of the Another Second Penny Inn. I innkeepers are very nice and hospitable and were able to accommodate my strange hour of arrival! The best part of the room was the spacious bathroom which had a remodeled antique bath with jets! I was amazed and enjoyed the relaxing stay.. I would definitely reccomend this gem!


Beautiful,Seren,Relaxing , Amazing breakfast

5 su marzo 02, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent one night at the Second Penny Inn and it was amazing. He owners are the nicest people you could possibly meet. Everything about the place exceeded my expectations including just how close to everything this place is. We had a great time and can't wait to go back. Jonathan+Mallory


Wonderful 10th Anniversary

4,6 su marzo 01, 2012

We loved our stay at "Another Second Penny Inn"!!! My husband and I stayed here for our 10th anniversary and it was a wonderful stay. Sandra and Jim are very gracious hosts and were helpful when we asked about suggestions as to where to go while we were in town. The restaurants they recommended were delicious!!! Jim was helpful in giving us some background on the seaport before we went...it made the trip there that much more interesting. We can't wait to return!


Lovely Place to Stay

4,8 su gennaio 16, 2012

Another Second Penny Inn was a wonderful place to spend the night. It's in a gorgeous old house and has been nicely modernized without losing it's character. The room was neat and clean and the innkeepers seem to have thought of almost everything, even giving you a remote on your keychain that activates a light inside the room. The breakfast was delicious and the innkeepers were friendly and accommodating. Hobo, the inn cat, is adorable.


SERENE

4,4 su gennaio 11, 2012

This is our second year in a row that we have chosen to stay here for our anniversary. We have an autistic child and cant really go far so this is our little bit of winter heaven. The inn keepers are quite delightful, the rooms spectacular and the breakfast absolutely wonderful. What does she put in those wonderful scones. My only complaint may be that my husband seems to pet the cat continually or I think its that the cat likes him better than me Hobo is a little piece of like being at home. My only regret is I wish I could get there much more often. A little piece of heaven in our own state. While you are there eat at Noahs it was excellent!


Fantastic stay!!

5 su dicembre 28, 2011

Had an excellent time at Another Second Penny, the innkeeper made an outstanding breakfast even though we were the only ones there. Very close to a lot of amenities, lot of interesting things at the Inn itself. AMAZINGLY comfortable. Feels even better than home!!


weekend honeymoom

3,4 su novembre 16, 2011

It was different --- I liked the room, it was different. We loved the cat. The tub was odd, the shower was terrible for my husband. The room shoudl have a coffee maker. I loved refrig, it was full of water and soda which was a very nice touch. The breakfast was terrible, we didn't care for it at all. The faternoon treats was nice as well. I like coffe in my room and an individual coffee keuirng machine would have been nice.

Risposta del proprietario
We're not quite sure how to respond to this review ... we're supposed to mention all the things we'll change but ... we're not going to change the jetted clawfoot tub that guests have been raving over for almost 10 years now. And we're not going to stop making and serving the Doughnut Muffins which have almost achieved cult status (not to mention the citrus compote accented with Angostura bitters, the cranapple French toast and more.) And in-room coffee makers? Go to the Hilton for that, stay at a B&B and maybe you'll meet someone interesting while making coffee with our Dutch coffee maker in the dining room. We don't mean to be flippant and are sorry that you were disappointed by your stay. There's a B&B for every guest, but not every guest for every B&B.


Made our visit to Mystic!

4,8 su novembre 14, 2011

We couldn't have stumbled upon a better place to stay in the Mystic/Stonington area. While those two areas were charming on their own, our time at Another Second Penny Inn singlehandedly makes me want to return to that area. We were warmly received by Jim, Sandra, and of course their cat Hobo, and were so lucky to be able to not only get one of their famous breakfasts, but also simply get a little more time to get to know them all in general. The rooms were not only beautiful on their own, but so obviously put together in a thoughtful (and thorough, if that makes sense) way. We look forward to heading back - more than any bed and breakfast I've traveled to.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for such a lovely and thoughtfully written review! We're not positively sure which of our many interesting November guests you were but we're sure we enjoyed meeting you, too. Hope to see you again soon!


Just a lovely and wonderful spot! Very friendly and like a century ago ... :)

4,4 su ottobre 17, 2011

We stayed for one day at the Second Penny Inn and it was just gorgeous! If you are looking for a real special BB place. Got to SPI!


Another Second Penny Inn is worth every penny....

3,6 su ottobre 14, 2011

This lovely historic Inn is housed in a 1710 Colonial and has all of the quaint charm that you would expect. The rooms are comfortable; bathrooms clean; and Innkeepers Jim and Sandra Wright make certain that visitors enjoy little touches such as warm shortbread cookies and oatmeal squares for snacks. The 5-course breakfast was very, very good and so, for that matter, was the breakfast buffet. Charming home away from home.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you! We love both the brown sugar shortbread and the "cuppa" cookies, too.


Comfortable and Friendly Inn

3,0 su ottobre 09, 2011

The Innkeepers were very friendly and welcoming. They are doing a wonderful job of restoring the home while keeping the history alive. Our room was comfortable. We had our privacy. The breakfast was quite extensive with many courses and beverages to choose from. I would recommend to a friend and I would stay there again.


Nice quiet place, convenient to Coast Guard Lodge

3,6 su settembre 28, 2011

Things that were great: quiet country location, yet only 15 minutes away from CGA. Excellent breakfast, friendly pets, spacious room, mini-fridges in room, comfy bed, AC units if needed. Breakfast served on nice china. House is full of colonial charm. Things that were just OK: Clawfoot tub is attractive, but the handheld shower unit is kinda awkward- it would be nice if you could mount in a high bracket when you just want a quick shower. Bed was comfy enough, but squeaky. Nice area guide/scrapbook in the room, but a number of menus were 8-10 years old. Don't expect many free electrical outlets-- this is a 300+ year old house, after all. Overall: Nice place, glad we stayed there. We were there for a CGA reunion weekend, so we were pretty busy, I'd like to go back and just spend more time to chill out there.

Risposta del proprietario
We'll definitely take your suggestions under advisement: making the advertised old-fashioned shower more modern is a challenge because of water pressure. Guests tend to turn the water on all the way and water flies everywhere. We've actually experimented with wall mounting but it still has mess potential for the unwary. By our count, there are 8 free electrical outlets in the Denison Room: 2 at the desk, 2 on the wall and 4 beside the bed. There are also 2 free in the bathroom. Not sure that we can really change that! Please email us directly if you have suggestions on where you'd like to see more. Thank you for the reminder about updating the room books although we can assure you that no menus are anywhere near as old as you might have thought. It was completely redone in 2007 and piecemeal since then. Do hope you are able to come back when your schedule is less hectic, folks. It sounded like a heck of a reunion!


Stay around the Hurricane

4,0 su settembre 12, 2011

We were staying in the area of a wedding. The hurricane came and the wedding happened but everything on Sunday was canceled. The hosts understood our situation. We love the kitty and wanted to take her home

Risposta del proprietario
And what an adventure it was! Please come back and visit sometime when the wind isn't blowing quite so hard ... we're so glad the beach wedding had a backup plan.


Well pleased.

3,6 su settembre 05, 2011

Found accomendations clean and comfortable. Breakfast on Sat was excellent, so good that we were a little disappointed in Sundays buffet. Our stay was a gift so we cannot comment on valuse but we are looking forward to a return visit


Best inn in CT

5 su agosto 25, 2011

Great innkeepers and the most wonderful breakfast you could ever want!


Outstanding

4,8 su agosto 22, 2011

Lovely, cozy & comfortable ~ would definitely visit again!


Outstanding breakfasts!

4,0 su luglio 17, 2011

the hosts, Jim and Sandra along with pets Cassidy and Hobo were very friendly and made us feel welcomed! The breakfasts were excellent and fresh...no need for lunch!


Wonderful!!!

4,8 su luglio 17, 2011

we stayed here last fall (I should have written this ages ago). Its an amazing place to stay. Located perfectly between Mystic and Stonington. Everything is soo charming, exactly what we were looking for in a New England B&B. The Inn Keepers are lovely, and had some wonderful recommendations on what to do and where to eat. The rooms are perfect for a romantic weekend (clean, cozy, had our own fireplace, decorated with antiques but not too fussy, perfect for the period of the house). Oh and if your remotely hungry look out- breakfast is to die for!!


The Perfect Getaway!

4,6 su luglio 12, 2011

Another Second Penny Inn is a charming B & B! The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts are delicious!! It really made our stay in New England special to stay in a historic home with such gracious hosts!


Perfect stop for Wooden Boat Show

4,8 su luglio 04, 2011

Took a chance on this one and it turned out to be Great! This was an historian's dream come true with incredible surroundings and great conversation. Easy drive from the Providence airport and a nice respite from the hustle and bustle of Mystic during Boat Show weekend.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you! It's always a "coin toss" as to whether we'll get a good mix of guests or not and during Wooden Boat Show weekend this year we definitely lucked out. Interesting, gregarious guests make all the difference for both fellow guests and innkeepers alike; everyone was fabulous. Keep up the good work!! ;)


Great stay

4,8 su maggio 25, 2011

We were looking for a relaxing weekend getaway in a quiet country setting but with lots to do nearby. Another Second Penny Inn did not disappoint! It is perfectly situated on a beautiful road close by to both Mystic and Stonington. The breakfasts were excellent and Sandra was able to accommodate our dietary needs with delicious gluten-free muffins and stuffed french toast. And of course Hobo was a wonderful hostess cat.


Lovely place, delicious breakfast, lovely people.

3,8 su maggio 04, 2011

My husband and I took a much needed weekend getaway. This place was charming. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The gas fireplace was a treat. There was a book in the room listing hikes/walks in the area, restaurants and other activities to do. There was wi-fi and a small tv in each bedroom if interested. Finally, the breakfasts were exceptional and very filling so we skipped our lunches for those days. I would definitely recommend this place to others if they wanted to stay in this area.


We love this place!

5 su aprile 18, 2011

This is such a wonderful inn! Our room is always spotless, the bed is comfy, the food is amazing, the innkeepers are great people, etc. etc. etc. And we especially love the way Hobo checks in on us once in a while to make sure everything's ok. :-) We keep going back again and again and will continue to do so. Highly recommended! A++++


Great

4,6 su marzo 20, 2011

The stay at the inn was wonderful. Enjoyed the visits by "Hobo". The room was great. The inn keepers very friendly and special people. Breakfast was wonderful. Hope their dog is ok. Look forward to going back.


Great first stay at a bed and breakfast....

4,4 su febbraio 09, 2011

The innkeepers are very friendly. The rooms were very well kept. I would highly recommend the second penny inn to anyone.


Chocolate Lover's Paradise Special

4,8 su febbraio 09, 2011

This is the second year we have throughly enjoyed the "Chocolate Lover's Paradise Special" as a weekend getaway. This is definately going to be a yearly tradition. Between the "chocolate goodies", great dinner at the Daniel Packer Inn and exceeding warm and relaxing atmosphere at the inn ~ we were trully able to "recharge" our batteries. Hobo the cat keep us company ~ just like home and Sandra and Jim provided for all of our needs ~ but without "hovering". Highly recommend this inn and innkeepers Sandra and Jim. Kris Sullivan


Terrific breakfast

5 su febbraio 07, 2011

These breakfasts were the best we've had at any B & B. I'm getting hungry right now just thinking about the eggnog french toast and the amazing apples poached in caramel and hard cider. They're also willing to work with people's dietary needs. The room was also really great -- clean and homey while also feeling like a great place to stay. It was charming without being tacky -- this place was a real winner.


Hidden gem

4,8 su febbraio 05, 2011

The room was spotless. Hosts were lovely - very hospitable and attentive. Homemade breakfast was absolutely scrumptous! The resident dog and cat are both very friendly.


An Excellent Weekend Away!

5 su gennaio 12, 2011

The innkeepers were extremely friendly and helpful. The location and rooms were very well presented, conveniently located and easy to find. The food was excellent. I highly recommend Another Second Penny Inn.


Another Second Penny Inn is a Winner!

5 su dicembre 30, 2010

We stayed for the second time at the Inn on the way north for Christmas. The Inn is just celebrating its 300th annivesary. Our room--the Denison Room--was absolutely terrific. Four poster bed, all the amenities, huge bathroom. The innkeepers are really friendly and hospitable. Breakfast is 5 courses--wonderful! And the Mystic area has lots of things to see and do. Go there!


Good seasonal value but breakfast service disappointing

2,8 su dicembre 23, 2010

Authentic early american farm house decore. The Deacon room, which we chose, is the best of the three available because of its atmospheric fireplace and over sized bath. Nice touches were a fully equiped picnic basket with all utensils and a refrigerator with soft drinks and bottled water. Besides a small library and the dining room there are no other common areas. Except for an 8 AM seating, the food for breakfast was left in warming trays, cold and self serve with no Inn Keeper on the properity. As a result, on a cold winters morning there was no way to light the beautiful fireplace in the dining room. Who wants to be restricted to an 8 AM breakfast service when on vacation,

Risposta del proprietario
We're so sorry that you were disappointed in our breakfast service! During the week we typically serve between 8 and 10 a.m., guest's choice of time. However, as a small operation our schedule sometimes requires the substitution of our Sunday morning operation (when we attend church.) That is: an early served option and a later self-serve buffet. Our breakfast has been awarded "Best in New England" and since we opened in May of 2002 you're the first guests to say they found the hot food cold (though not too cold to eat!) Expect to find a gift certificate in the mail shortly, by way of our apology for not meeting your expectations.


Comfort plus

5 su dicembre 14, 2010

From the moment we arrived we were very attended to. Anything we needed, we received and with a smile! The accomodations were more than adequate and very well thought out. We recommend the Inn very highly, especially if you enjoy good food and friendly receptions.


Another Second Penny a True Value

3,8 su dicembre 08, 2010

Although the inkeepers were very pleasant to talk to, the fact that their residence is in a separate structure than the inn where the guests stay made it a bit more comfortable and private. The location was fabulous nestled away, but near enough to downtown Mystic and Mohegan Sun.


Fabulous

4,8 su novembre 24, 2010

Enjoyed our brief stay tremendously. Our hosts, Sandra, Jim and Hobo, couldn't have been more gracious and accomodating. Food was A+++. Our room was warm and cozy. And the bathroom was luxurious. We'd go back in a heartbeat. Thank you.


Birthday Getaway

4,8 su novembre 16, 2010

Our package gave us a pass to the Indian Museum which was great. The breakfast was relaxed, sociable with the other guests and delicious...not the usual continental fare. Unusual offerings including fresh eggs from their own hens, fresh fruit and home made baked goods. The bedding was cozy and Hobo the cat was friendly and affectionate. We'll definitely return!!


An amazing B&B!

5 su novembre 10, 2010

My wife and I always feel at home at Another Second Penny Inn. We love all aspects of this wonderful b&b.


Wonderful

4,2 su novembre 10, 2010

my sister and i went there for a little r&r. we had the best time. sally was so welcoming, and the inn was utterly charming. the library was a big plus - comfy and fun to explore. but don't go if you are allergic to cats.

Risposta del proprietario
Hi there! We remember you and are glad you and your sister enjoyed your visit. We've always asked our guests who reserve by telephone about pet allergies and have now changed our online reservation software to highlight our cat. Between that and the pictures of Hobo all over our website there will hopefully be no more surprises.


Old and authentic

3,6 su ottobre 01, 2010

This is a 300-year-old building, very nicely decorated. We had a 2-room suite for a reasonable price (IMO). Only the bathroom was "modern" (new tub, etc.). Very comfortable bed, which was on blocks, as the floor is uneven. In the country but close to Mystic and Stonington. Access to original kitchen/dining room with one of those huge cooking fireplaces. Owner is very helpful. Wish they'd get rid of TV's in B&B's - you really can't get away with those things in your room. Wish we had had time to stay another night.


Loved the Cat!

3,2 su agosto 17, 2010

This is very homey and comfortable. We loved the cat, Hobo, who knew when to show up and when to go somewhere else. Very convenient to the area. We would definitely stay there again.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You're right, Hobo is a wonderful cat! Jim and I must apologize though, our guests usually report an outstanding experience at our B&B, rather than an average one. Unfortunately, the third innkeeper, our dog Julie, was in and out of the hospital during your visit. She died from cancer on August 13 ... needless to say, we were more than a little off our game then.


Excellent Weekend Away

4,2 su ottobre 26, 2009

My wife and I shared a wonderful experience at the Inn this past weekend. Our room was spacious and clean and the bedroom fireplace added a special touch. The breakfasts - all five courses of them - were delicious! Excellent value in a lovely town.


Beautiful weekend

5 su ottobre 18, 2009

We just came back from a wonderful weekend at the Inn. It was our second time staying there and both times it exceeded our expectations. The rooms are charming, clean, quiet and romantic. The food is outstanding - you wont find a breakfast like they serve anywhere else. Sandra and Jim are fantastic hosts, and Julie and Hobo are great to have around too! We cant say enough good things about Another Second Penny Inn except you have to experience the retreat yourself.


Quiet Beautiful Relaxing Inn

4,8 su ottobre 15, 2009

We decided to try out the Second Penny on a suggestion of a relative who has stayed previously. We absolutely loved it!!! It was quiet, relaxing and beautiful. The room was quaint and well kept and the innkeepers were friendly and informative. We even had some adopted furry family mebers for the weekend! There are so many things to do within 20 min drive. Breakfast was yummy and different every morning. Just the kind of honeymoon we needed!!!Would reccomend to anyone who is in the area.


for body and soul

4,4 su giugno 30, 2009

Two days was too short to enjoy this inn. In a 1710 colonial home, this 3-bedroom inn is very charming and comfortable. Breakfasts, with continental or in dinning room, delicious.


Restful Family Time

4,6 su aprile 27, 2009

We were looking for a B & B that would be quiet, homey and rurally located near the Coast Guard Academy. We all wanted some downtime esp. our son who is an extremly busy 4/c cadet at the academy. Just what the doctor ordered....the inn was not booked so we had the place to ourselves, books in the library, videos to watch, an adorable cat to play with in our room (that was a bonus - as our son 's cat is 8 hrs. away in upstate New York). An added bonus that made our stay perfect was the fact that Sandra fixed gluten free breakfasts for my husband who has a severe allergy to wheat....delicous food!!!!!!! Hats off to our accommodating host and hostess. Oh and for me ....I liked the bathtub with the jets. I definately recommend this historical inn.


great time

5 su aprile 21, 2009

My husband & I spent 2 wonderful nights 04/17/09 & 04/18/09 celebrating our anniversary. Everything was perfect, great innkeepers, friendly pets, fantastic breakfasts and wonderful weather. We couldn't have asked for more.


Returning Again and Again...

5 su aprile 06, 2009

The innkeepers Jim & Sandra are lovely. The breakfast is absolutely delicious. The rooms are charming, rustic and cozy. What a great trip, we are returning for our 3rd stay in just a couple of weeks.


great stay

5 su gennaio 12, 2009

great stay


Very Nice

4,8 su gennaio 12, 2009

Love it and would love to have this as my own home. I love the kitty, too!


Outstanding! We will be back.

5 su dicembre 21, 2008

My wife and I were more then pleased with our visit and even booked our next stay before leaving. Our suite was clean, comfortable and charming with a fire place, luxurous linens and a giant bathroom which included a large jetted clawfoot tub.The breakfasts Sandra made were simply amazing and a better then any B&B meals we've ever had. We really enjoyed our stay and intend to visit on a regular basis. Highly recommended!! A++++


great getaway with an amazing breakfast

4,8 su dicembre 01, 2008

The inn was very clean and kept. I was surprised since it is over 300 years old. I read the other review about the noise level. I happened to stay in the same room, and had no problem at all. The floors do creak, more noticable at night and expected, when other quests are walking around, but I also didn't see that as being a problem. Words can not say enough about the breakfast. There wasn't one thing I didn't like.


Outstanding, but not if you're looking for privacy

4,2 su novembre 18, 2008

Our room was beautiful and tasteful, our bathroom was huge and clean, our bed comfy and warm, our breakfasts were delicious and generous. Given the nature that it is a 300 year old house and the innkeepers have kept true to the period, the ceilings and floors are very thin. We were looking for a place to enjoy a private, romantic weekend and didn't feel comfortable in this regard. This inn would be an excellent choice for people who enjoy the ambiance of an charming 300 year old inn and don't have romance on their agenda. Final note, the hostess prepares breakfast in her high heels in the kitchen beneath the Denison Room and has mentioned she's not likely to change her footwear. That's not so bad if you're attending the 8:30 breakfast seating but if you're not, be prepared to hear her footfalls beginning around 7:00 AM. We were a bit disappointed to pay over $320 to have as much privacy as at home with teen-aged children. Overall, we did enjoy our stay and would recommend the inn to travelers who don't mind being overheard and overhearing.

Risposta del proprietario
These guests paid $149/night plus tax for a two night, weekend stay in a room which is 16' by 16' with an attached bath that is 14' x 12'. Queen sized four poster bed, fireplace, jetted clawfoot tub, fridge stocked with soft drinks and bottled water, cable TV with VCR/DVD, hair dryer, toiletries, iron, ironing board, lots of towels and two types of bathrobes. And that's without describing our award-winning, 5-course breakfast! We're very sorry they thought they paid too much! Many of our guests have enjoyed romantic weekends at our B&B (and return every year on their anniversaries!) and we've never had a noise complaint in more than six years in business. The fireplace damper on the kitchen fireplace was open and sound transmits straight up it to the Denison Room. We normally keep it closed and open it only when we have a fire in the kitchen but, obviously, we accidentally left it open last time. It's too bad that our guests didn't say anything while they were with us as we could have taken steps to remedy the situation then. People visit us for our warmth and genteel home feel. And we've lost count of the number of engagements we've hosted. As we said in our email to them, we're very sorry that we did not completely meet their expectations. But it's true, the female innkeeper will not be serving breakfast in running shoes anytime soon!!


wow

5 su novembre 17, 2008

excellent in EVERY way!


Friendly and Relaxing Place to stay.

5 su luglio 27, 2008

The room was very clean and rustic with the wood floors, exposed beam, and brick fireplace. The bathroom was charming, and the breakfast was amazing!! A very comfortable place to stay, feels like home. The cat Mr. Peabody and the dog Julie are adorable and friendly!


Would love to go back!

5 su maggio 13, 2008

Very comfortable room and bath. Excellent breakfasts. Always something new and delicious. All amenities at hand.


Superb Visit

5 su gennaio 19, 2008

Beautiful Rooms with many surprising ammenities. A very romantic place to stay. Warm service and excellent food. It feels like you're actually staying in Colonial Williamsburg -- except with all the niceties of modern life -- like a claw-footed tub with whirlpool functions.


Cosy Atmosphere & A Sensational Breakfast!

4,6 su ottobre 18, 2007

If you are looking for a beautfiful weekend hide-away, or an ideal base to explore Connecticut & Rhode Island, this is the place you're looking for! The old house and grounds offer a wonderful atmosphere, mirrored by the rooms, which are beautiful, VERY cosy, clean, quiet and comfortable. The Innkeepers are welcoming and friendly and offer just the right combination of service and respect of privacy. The 5-course breakfast is absolutely out-of-this-world and an experience not to be missed! The surrounding area is waiting to be explored (Stonington, Mystic, New London, etc.): there are antique shops, flea markets, lots of sight seeing, and above all superb sea food. If you have time (and are going at a time when the weather is not that great) DO book a hearth cooking course with the innkeepers! We have now stayed twice at Another Second Penny Inn and cannot wait to return!


Another Second Penny Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $129 - $199
  • Recensioni (96) 4,6
  • Camere 3

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8605351710
  • Numero di Fax 1-8605351709

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina