Captain Grant's, 1754 Recensioni

Globalmente
4,8

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,9
  • Valore4,8
  • Pulizia4,7
  • Cibo4,9

Valore della struttura
26 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Fantastic stay at Captain Grant's

5 su dicembre 31, 2013

My husband and I found a great deal on Groupon for a one night stay Sun - Thurs with a free ghost communications lesson and decided to use it for my birthday on Dec 27th. As soon as we arrived Ted greeted us with a big smile and showed us to our room, we stayed in the Collette room. The room was well equipped with warm bedding, lots of pillows (which I love) fresh towels, soap, shampoo, tv with cable, and a lovely crystal container with some sort of sweet liquor and two shot glasses which was really delicious and helped me fall fast asleep that night. My husband and I were a bit restless and hungry so we decided to go downstairs to have some of the most delicious complimentary lemon cake, coffee, and cookies in the dining room. We then made our way to the upstairs game room and played a round of pool. I loved that we had access to the entire house during our stay and the place really did feel like a home away from home. I can't emphasize enough how warm, and cozy the house felt and how comfortable we felt here. The next morning we shared the table with our neighbors and a few other guests for a large family style breakfast. Since we were the last to join the group, Ted was a magnificant host and reintroduced everyone to break the ice for good conversation at breakfast. The food was absolutely scruptious, waffles, new york style scrammbled eggs, ham, raspberry jam, coffee, freshly squeezed O.J., and apple cider. After breakfast Carol joined us and shared some very intersting history and a few stories, followed by the ghost communications lesson which was amazing and totally out of this world. Ted and Carol are two of the sweetest  most generous and phenomenal human beings we've met. They deserve the sky, the stars, and a mountain of blessings. We were so happy with everything and would recommend Captain Grants in a heart  beat to anyone looking for a comfortable, clean, warm, homely place to get away. Needless to stay we will be back VERY SOON!!! -! Jess and Dio


Our stay at Captain Grants

4,4 su settembre 29, 2013

We booked a 2 nite stay at Captain Grants. Our stay was Sept 17 & 18th. We felt so comfortable on the 2nd morning; that we decided to see if our room was available for an additional night. It was & we stayed a 3rd night. The room was beautiful & comfortable. There was a beautiful game room, and the food was sumptous & ever-flowing. Ted & Carol were perfect hosts. The home felt "like home". Plan to return next year.


Breathtakingly Incredible

4,6 su luglio 16, 2013

I stayed at Captain Grant's Inn for one night with my fiance, on July 3, 2013. We simply needed a "place to rest our heads" before visiting Mohegan Sun the next day, then driving the 1.5-hours home to MA for another 4th of July party. We arrived pretty late on July 3rd and actually found ourselves in the wrong room! The next morning, when I apologized and explained how we ended up in the wrong room, Ted was very kind and understanding. We had breakfast with the Innkeepers Ted and Carol, who are both very sweet and they've got some hilarious stories. They're great at getting the guests to speak amongst themselves. Luckily, there was a good mix of families there who came from afar (but still within the continental US), juxtaposed with CT residents looking to relax in this "hidden gem." And let me tell you, I think I'd like to come back with my future hubby for our one-year anniversary! The wedding is still a year away (and in MA), but Captain Grant's is splendid! It's a deal and a half... The staff is incredible and sweet, the rooms are clean and moderately spacious, and the grounds are gorgeously manicured. For all the ghost chasers, I hear it's haunted, too. ;)


Beautiful Bed & Breakfast

5 su febbraio 19, 2013

This is such a beautiful Bed And Breakfast. The hosts, Ted and Carol were very accommodating and made the place feel like home. We stayed in the Colette Room, which is beautifully decorated and cozy! And of course.... the breakfasts were all delicious (we were there for 3 of them)! We're definitely going back the next time we head to the area!


Wonderful place

4,8 su maggio 09, 2012

Captain Grant's is a truly outstanding bed and breakfast. The house itself is gorgeous and extremely well taken care of. The rooms are beautifully decorated and they are very cozy! Bathrooms gorgeous as well. Breakfast every morning is delicious and there's always more than enough food. Most importantly, the hosts are wonderful people. They are more than willing to help you with anything, and they're also just lovely people to be around with really interesting stories. Breakfast is a joy to eat with them and to get to know the other guests. The place is not only comfortable, it's actually homey. We recommend it very highly.


Wonderful Experience

4,0 su novembre 24, 2011

My husband and I recently spent two evenings at Captain Grant's. We had such a great time. Ted and Carol are so accommodating. Breakfast was fabulous...lovely table setting, great food and a great group of people. We spent the entire breakfast hour chatting and laughing. Although we didn't experience any spirits, others of our group did and it was exciting to hear about it. The rooms are very cozy and nicely decorated. A place we will definintely return to. Exceeded all of our expectations.


First B&B, Great experience

4,6 su luglio 27, 2011

This was our first time at a B&B and it was a great choice. Carol and Ted are absolutely super hosts. They made us feel very welcome and every breakfast was well planned and prepared. I would recommend this B&B without question. We hope to return soon.


Wonderful B&B

4,4 su novembre 12, 2010

We stayed for 1 night and it was a wonderful stay. Ted & carol are great innkeepers and made us feel welcome. Breakfast was the best. They are puting an addition on the house to make a larger dining area


Great hosts of a very historic building!

5 su agosto 04, 2010

The wife and I stayed here for two nights several days ago and Ted and Carol made us feel sooooo at home. We stayed in the Adelaide room which is supposedly haunted but nothing happened during our stay. The breakfasts were outstanding and we even checked out the old cemetary which is located in the woods behind the stone wall...kinda cool. We would definitely go back again in a heartbeat. We couldn't have been more relaxed. Make sure to visit Mystic and Stonington Point during your stay.


stay here often

5 su luglio 24, 2009

My husband and I stay here often. The historic house is beautiful. The inn keepers are very nice and friendly. Breakfast was beyond amazing.


The best B&B ever

5 su marzo 23, 2009

Excellent food! Lovely hostess! Can't wait to come back.


Excellent hosts!

5 su febbraio 27, 2009

Pleasant couple- It was a beautiful home and the breakfast terrific! I'll be back! Give them a 10+!


A home away from home

4,0 su ottobre 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Captain Grant's this past Columbus day weekend. This was our first b&b experience and a gift from my mother for my birthday. We didn't quite know what to expect, but after this weekend we decided that we enjoy the homey feeling of a b&b. The innkeepers, Ted and Carol, were very kind and hospitable and knew everyone's names. They were able to offer us recommendations for dining and outings along with detailed direction cards. Carol's breakfasts were outstanding. We especially enjoyed her cheddar and chive eggs and her fluffy pancakes. We even purchased a few of their homemade preserves. It was also a different experience from a hotel because the guests sat around the dining room table together for breakfasts at 9 or 10 and enjoyed many friendly conversations. The rooms were very rustic decorated with antique furniture and efficient gas fireplaces. I loved the history of this home and that soldiers were housed there during the American Revolution. I only found out after our stay that the Adelaide room was suppose to be haunted by Captain Grant's wife, but there were no ghostly experiences the entire weekend. It is also in close proximity from the casinos, which is a plus.


Loved It!!!!!!!

4,8 su ottobre 05, 2008

The owners are wonderful and full of information. The breakfast meal was 5 star. And the kitty is the best and sooooo loving. I have traveled the world and this Inn is a must to enjoy and relax.


A ghostly Good time

4,0 su settembre 06, 2008

I had come across Captain Grant's online. It wasn't too far off the beaten path, close to The New London Ferry, close to the casinos of CT, and seemed perfect for a night of Ghost Hunting fun! We had booked the ADELADE room..supposedly the most haunted from online reviews. We met Carol and Ted right away, they came and gave us a tour, and told us all about the historic inn. We had the whole night to ourselves in a "haunted" inn. It was such a great location. The B&B is in the country, yet close enough by car to the casinos...although you would never know it....VERY QUIET. We read some of the articles about the Inn, which were in some books on the coffee table in the living room, and saw that there were two OLD cemeteries nearby. Surprisingly, they were directly across the street, and also in the rear of the inn, through a field. We took lot's of pictures in the Inn, and in the cemetery across the street. The pictures showed what were strange mist like clouds and lights, and lots of orbs. Of course, the moisture in the air played a big part in the "orbs", but the mist appeared upon command, then went away as quickly as it came. When we arrived back to our room, we heard noises down the hall. Could it have been the cat??? It was a great night. In the morning, we awoke to the smell of bacon frying in a pan. Carol was already downstairs preparing a fantastic breakfast. Ted and Carol joined us for breakfast which was great. Overall, what a fun and creepy night we had. Carol and Ted were most accomodating, and pleasant. The Adelade room possibly had a ghost or two that resided there, but didn't scare us away, and let us sleep peacefully. The Inn had a really quaint charm to it, old, with a lot of character. I would definately recommend this B&B to ANYONE..Ghost Hunters, and NON-Ghost hunters alike. It is in a great location to everything in the area, but far enough away, to get some peace and quiet if you want.


Great people, great stay

4,6 su settembre 04, 2008

This was our first experience at a b&b an we're pleased to say that it went well beyond what we expected. The room was darling and the service was incredible. We even bought some of the jam because it was great. We'll be back in the area again and again because we have family here and we plan on making Captain Grant's a tradition.


A must come back

5 su agosto 08, 2008

Wonderful, delightful, warm, friendly.


Vacationing At Home

5 su agosto 08, 2008

Very friendly atmosphere delicious food. Felt right at home. A must come back


I will be back & refer people to you.

5 su gennaio 23, 2008

I enjoyed my stay with you and was so interested with all the information you shared with me.


B&B Fabulous

5 su novembre 12, 2007

Host and hostess Carol and Ted outstanding, made all 11 of us feel very much at home and we had a wonderful breakfast and conversation never feeling rushed.


Wonderful Stay

5 su agosto 11, 2007

Captain Grants is a great B&B, the Innkeepers did everything to make our stay a perfect one, they even got up and made our breakfast for us (earlier then usual) due to the fact we had to leave early am, it was Delicious! We even bought their homemade jam. Clean, neat and a wonderful B&B to stay at! Thanks for a wonderful time. Dawn & Doug


A beautiful weekend

5 su maggio 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this bed and breafast for two nights. We highly enjoyed our stay here! The inn keepers were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was superb, you certainly won't leave hungry! If you plan on visiting the Mystic area, Captain Grant's beautiful historic bed and breakfast is definitely the wya to go!!!


Love It!!

5 su aprile 04, 2007

First time at a B&B for both my husband and myself. This was a geat weekend. The room was beautiful especially the fireplace on a cold December night. The food was delicious and the people are lovely. Can't wait to go back.


A Feast remembered

4,6 su marzo 14, 2007

The room where we stayed was pretty and the inn keepers were very hospitable and very helpful and knowledgable about the area and restuarants and points of interest. The breakfasts were amazing and you definitely didn't leave the table hungry. My husband and I will definitely stay at Captian Grant's again.


Our favorite place to stay!!!

5 su febbraio 21, 2007

My husband and I have been coming to this wonderful inn now for over 7 years. We make sure to make it up from New Jersey at least once a year. We always look forward to pulling up the driveway and beginning our stay. The rooms are warm and cozy, and the yummy breakfasts alone are worth the trip.


Captain Grant's, 1754

5 su febbraio 20, 2007

Best B & B we have ever been to. Ted and Carol are wonderful hosts. Every aspect of our stay was top notch. We will be going back to Captain Grant's again. A+++++++++++++++++++


Captain Grant's, 1754

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $99 - $189
  • Recensioni (26) 4,8
  • Camere 7
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8608877589

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina