Manor House Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,4
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,1
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
186 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Relaxing getaway

5 su ottobre 09, 2014

I reserved a night at The Manor House for my fiances birthday. Holly was more then pleasant and helpful to speak with. As a little surprise I asked Holly if she could have a bottle of champagne in the room ready for when we arrive, and she was happy to do so. Holly gave us a tour, and gave us a brief overview and history on the house itself. The room in which we stayed in was spacious, cozy with a fireplace and comfortable for the both of us. The breakfast was delicious! For starters we were served granola with yogurt and blackberries with a drizzle of honey, yummy! After that we had a choice of an omelet, or french toast- both of which were freshly made with fruit on the side, and just so appetizing. One thing my fiance and I found even more attractive about The Manor House is that there are no TVs! This allowed us to read a nice book and just hang out without the distractions. We will most definitely return and hope that Holly and Michael see this review! The Manor House is a wonderful weekend getaway where you can enjoy the company of your significant other and just have a relaxing experience where the stress melts away!


A relaxing stay

4,2 su ottobre 08, 2014

Would have loved to spend more time here! Very relaxing atmosphere. Loved sitting in front of the fire with my book. I would recommend this for anyone who needs some peace and quiet in a very nice and comfortable setting!


A night at the Inn

4,2 su ottobre 07, 2014

This is our second time at the inn. We were going to a show at the Infinity Hall, and planned to continue to Albany the next day. Holly greeted us at the door. We found our room, Country French, which we stayed in the on our first visit. It is on the third floor. The rooms are good sized, larger than a standard hotel room. Beds are very high. The tube in our room was exceptionally large. The inn is a short walk from the Infinity Hall. Coming back it is a bit dark, so we brought a small flashlight this time. Breakfast was exceptional in a well-appointed dining room. Two entrees were offered, omlet and apple cider pancakes. We each had one and found the quite good. The Manor House inn is a nice place to stay for a quick get away.


Honeymoon

2,8 su settembre 22, 2014

We really enjoyed our getaway at the Manor House for the few days after our wedding. The fireplace and jacuzzi in the room were great. The only issues we had were the power went out the first night causing surges and beeps and alarms as it went on twice... then the staff must have reset the clock and the next day the alarm went off at midnight. Plus the fireplace didn't work - but they got it running after we mentioned it... I stay at hotels often, but not B&Bs so maybe that is part of my feeling that it could be more up to date - obviously you don't want that for a B&B with fun old character! Love the area, love the vibe of the place, and we did feel like it was a nice getaway - just a couple things made us not be able to sleep each night... ;-)


wonderful stay at the manor house

5 su settembre 04, 2014

Our room was elegant and restful, as was the whole house. Holly, the innkeeper, was welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. Whether it was walking into town for dinner or reading in the sunroom or enjoying a wonderful breakfast, the whole experience was just perfect.


Peace!

3,4 su settembre 01, 2014

This was the third time we visited. As soon as you walk in the place, there is a sense of calm that pervades. Wonderful cookies await. Each room has it's own unique character. Recommend a trip to Old Inn on the Green for a candlelight dinner.


A Treasure

5 su agosto 26, 2014

Charming and elegant throughout, the Manor House is comfortable, beautifully decorated, and carefully maintained. Our hostess, Holly, welcomed us upon arrival, gave us a tour, and made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. A short walk to Infinity Hall, if you are attending a performance there. We'd gladly stay there again. We had an early departure, so we did not have breakfast. This review site requires a rating, so I rated it "Outstanding" as I couldn't imagine it being anything but.


A gracious and lovely inn

3,2 su agosto 15, 2014

The Manor House is an absolute architectural gem. I had stayed there only once before many years ago and was struck all over again by the magnificence of this gracious old manor house-a dramatic stairway, stained glass windows,beautiful wainscoting and moldings and on and on. Holly is a very warm and helpful innkeeper. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious with a choice of sweet or savory. All in all, it was a very lovely getaway in beautiful Norfolk.


Great house and property

4,0 su agosto 05, 2014

Friendly inn keeper, great 3 season porch, top notch breakfast (especially the granola parfait starter), love the details in the home. Walkable to Infinity Hall.


Manor house

5 su agosto 03, 2014

Totally relaxing; welcoming in all ways; authentic historic house and grounds resplendent with real Tiffany windows throughout. We loved our entire visit!


Lovely relaxing spot in Norfolk!

5 su luglio 28, 2014

Unfortunately my plans only permitted me to spend one night at the Manor House but I very much enjoyed my brief stay. Hostess Holly made sure I was comfortable and even organized a special breakfast that was awaiting me when I had to be "up and out" very early. Recommended without reservation! Cheers, David, Pittsburgh


Great place to stay in Norfolk

4,6 su luglio 22, 2014

We loved reading on the back porch of this lovely B&B. The building and grounds are beautiful. 10 minute walk to Norfolk Music Festival.


Wonderful time

4,8 su luglio 17, 2014

We stayed when we went to a concert at the Infinity Music Hall. We would go back for sure. Very pleasant stay Innkeeper was wonderful!!


Fantastic in every way

4,8 su luglio 16, 2014

The brother and sister hosts were so friendly and welcoming, and the house was incredible. The room was great, and the little town was cute. Next time we'll plan better to take advantage of the chamber music festival and Infinity Hall in town.


manor house CT WAM

4,8 su luglio 10, 2014

The owners were very hospitable.


Love the Manor House

4,8 su luglio 02, 2014

Lovely one night getaway in Litchfield County. Very easy to get to. The house was magnificent and breakfast was yummy. We were pleased that we had the option of one night. Meeting the innkeepers was as if we had known each other for a very long time. Looking forward to returning!


Beautiful, peaceful getaway

4,2 su giugno 29, 2014

It was a very pleasant experience staying at the Manor House. It has large, inviting common rooms with lots of interesting antique furnishings. I wanted only a less expensive, small room for one, and they provided just what I wanted. But I could see that there were many unique, luxurious rooms. The innkeeper was friendly, but not obtrusive. Breakfast was excellent. The concert hall is within easy walking distance if you don't like to drive at night. A beautiful, peaceful getaway.


Great Weekend

5 su giugno 25, 2014

We went to Norfolk for the Infinity Music Hall which is right down the hill and could not have been more pleased with our stay at the Manor House. It was well kept with unmatched NE charm. Will definetly be staying here again.


Peaceful, romantic getaway

5 su giugno 08, 2014

With every day life being so hectic, this was a perfect spot for a peaceful weekend away for our 10th wedding anniversary. It delivered as promised online - beautiful setting, gorgeous accommodations, friendly and helpful innkeepers. Don't hesitate to book The Manor House!


Lovely quiet relaxing stay. Friendly staff charming atmosphere.

5 su maggio 29, 2014

Very pleased with our accommodations. Staff is very friendly and the facilities are very nice. Would highly recommend to others.


Good value

3,0 su maggio 12, 2014

A genuine Inn


Winter Get Away

4,4 su febbraio 26, 2014

Beautiful room. Walk to Infinity Hall and Bistro. Glass of wine by a cozy fire. Fabulous breakfast.


Love this place!

4,0 su febbraio 19, 2014

My fiance and I were engaged here in 2012 and have been coming back ever since! Beautiful rooms, great staff, gorgeous location, and super cozy! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!


Best in Norfolk,CT.

4,4 su febbraio 02, 2014

This is a great Bed & Breakfast with real charm and character.Holly & Michael are working hard to create a unique guest experience. Jack Barry Franklin,MA.


Two recent stays

5 su gennaio 26, 2014

We recently stayed twice at the Manor House. The rooms are great - comfortable beds, big tubs, a fireplace in the room! - and the common spaces were warm and inviting. Would definitely recommend it. Will definitely stay there again.


warmth and wonder

4,6 su gennaio 23, 2014

We had a great stay at The Manor House inn, while also enjoying a show at Infinity Music hall. A cozy place to be in winter, and the the beauty and wonder of the Tiffany windows and the architecture of the interior was truly a treat to see! The innkeepers were welcoming and friendly and knowledgeable about the inn history itself and surrounding buildings. They even gave us a great tour of all the rooms before others had arrived! Our room was comfy and clean. Bathrooms were updated overall, linens nice, and clean. Carpeting throughout is dated and worn some, as was some of the upholstered furniture-but over all was clean and well lived-in and enjoyed; so it was not a concern for us. We took a winter walk around the neighborhood, and enjoyed the views and surrounding outside our wonderful large windows. Summer must be lovely there, I imagine, on the porch out back. Breakfast was fantastic, and choices were given. All freshly prepared to order. Coffee good too! All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would go back!...Anne and Steve


A wonderful place -- warm and inviting!

4,8 su gennaio 12, 2014

We spent a very cold Christmas Eve in this delightful, comforting place. Looking forward to returning again and again.


A Beautiful Christmas season weekend!

5 su dicembre 18, 2013

Holly made out stay at the Manor House a relaxing and beautiful weekend, every room has its own unique style. We stayed during the blizzard and it was a wonderful cozy stay, spent most of the time in the living room in front of the roaring fire, walked to town and went to Infinity Hall, all within walking distance. Breakfast on both days were different and both wonderful! Just a wonderful and beautiful anniversary weekend for my wife and myself. Thanks again, highly recommend! See you soon Holly


Our first wedding anniversary, our first ever getaway alone!

4,6 su dicembre 18, 2013

We loved our stay on12/14/13. It snowed the entire day. It was so cold and beautiful outside, and nice and cozy in the house we stayed in the Victorian room. It was just AMAZING!. Holly was so good to us, she is such a lovely person, we met Mike when we had our breakfast the next morning. Such a nice guy. Oh, and breakfast was phenomenal. This was our first time EVER staying at a B&B. The Manor house will forever be a wonderful memory for our first wedding anniversary and our first ever getaway ALONE!. My husband said he didn't know I could relax so much!. Thank you Holly and Mike. We have all intentions of coming back again. We have told so many friends and family about this house, and our stay. They have been on the web site and future plans to come out to the house look promising. Thank you again for an AMAZING overnight at your house. The house is just beautiful. Chad and Tania


One of best stays anywhere ever.

5 su dicembre 11, 2013

I can not suggest any improvements. Holly and Michael are the best. Everything was perfect, fireplace and two person Jacuzzi were fantastic for romance.


Our November Stay

4,8 su novembre 14, 2013

Spent the night at Manor House in early November. Coming from Florida we enjoyed the cool weather and the smell of falling leaves. During the evening we enjoyed complimentary wine next to the burning fire place, listening to our favorite of music. Michael and Holly made us feel at home. We stayed in the Lincoln Room. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom ample and clean. We ended our night by the fire place in our room. Holly offered a choice of breakfast and she is a good cook. I highly recommend this B&B and would go back if I am ever in the area. --Russ & Dena


definately worth visiting

3,6 su novembre 06, 2013

Great place to stay and relax. Quite and quaint . The inn keepers are wonderful andgreat hosts


Romantic Weekend

4,0 su novembre 06, 2013

What a wonderful night we had at The Manor House. We received a lovely bottle of wine from Holly on our arrival and a tour of the beautiful home. We stayed in The Victorian Room, which had a gas fireplace and a very roomy hot tub for two. We were able to enjoy the peace and quiet of our room, or join the other guests having wine by the fire in the main living room. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and to cap it off, Michael saved the day by finding my boyfriend's missing wallet. We had a very romantic and memorable weekend. And I highly recommend seeing a show at Infinity Hall. It is around the corner. Walking distance on a nice day. Terrific venue! We would absolutely stay here again. Highly recommend!!!


Fantastic B&B in Norfolk Connecticut

4,8 su ottobre 31, 2013

Jeanette Harvey


Wonderful B&B

5 su ottobre 28, 2013

My husband and I just finished a tour of Connecticut. The Manor House was our favorite B&B. Michael and Holly are incredible hosts. We felt very welcomed. They make a wonderful breakfast. Ask for the three berry pancakes - they're yummy! The home is beautiful and we can't wait for an excuse to go back.


A little disappointed in the end.

3,6 su ottobre 25, 2013

I had been given a special price for the Chalet Room (off-season, mid-week) but when we arrived we were a little concerned about the steep flight of stairs leading to the 3rd floor. We asked if we could change rooms and were told yes, since they only had two guests that evening. We were extremely happy with the new room and evening spent at the Infinity Hall. The next morning ("Oh by the way"), we were informed there was an upcharge for the new room, which was never mentioned the night before. In my opinion, they should have let it go, but they insisted we pay the $20 difference for the new room. The explanation was that each room has something different to offer. We used the bed and bathroom, nothing else, so were perplexed as to the reason for the "upgrade". In looking at the website today, I noted the difference in the two rooms was only $10. Not to be petty, but this whole thing left me with a bad feeling, all for $20! What a shame.


Fantastic home away from home

5 su ottobre 22, 2013

Had a really wonderful time. Michael and Patty made us feel very welcome and the accommodations were wonderful. Breakfast was outstanding. Evenings by the fireplace sharing a glass of wine with others staying at the residence was icing on the cake.


Five Star Breakfast at the Manor House!

5 su ottobre 18, 2013

We took a half hour walk before breakfast. It is a lovely and quiet neighborhood. The Manor House has an enclosed porch where we enjoyed our morning coffee and tea. It offers a wonderful and relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast was outstanding-- 5 star! It is a great place to stay and we will surely go back there again.


We would come back

4,2 su ottobre 09, 2013

The house and property were lovely and the owners were very helpful. the breakfast was average but did not really matter as we liked everything else so much


Just perfect!

4,6 su ottobre 07, 2013

Beautiful place. Wonderful hosts. Nice private feeling.


Great Stay

4,4 su settembre 18, 2013

The Manor House is truly beautiful! It was a great place to stay for a romantic weekend get away. I booked the room for my partners birthday and to see a show at the Infinity Music Hall. The whole weekend was great. The house is very well maintained and Holly was very hospitable. I would definitely recommend staying here!


The Manor House - Norfolk

5 su agosto 21, 2013

Peaceful location that is a great mid-way between the Berkshires and Housatonic River area of CT. Innkeepers are friendly and add to the relaxed atmosphere of this beautiful restored Inn. Very spacious with beautiful Tiffany glass throughout the house. Highly recommended. This was our third stay and we'll be back.


Vacation Review

2,4 su luglio 31, 2013

Colorful location


A Treasure to behold

5 su luglio 14, 2013

Great B&B, house with Tiffany stained glass windows and elegant rooms, beautiful woodwork, a bottle of chilled wine upon arrival, and good recommendation for a restaurant close by. Great breakfast to order in the morning. We will be back.


One Night Getaway

5 su luglio 01, 2013

We just spent a night at the Manor House, a return visit but the first since the recent change in ownership. Holly greeted us at the door with a smile and a handshake. We are happy to report that it is still a wonderful place to stay, especially if you have tickets to a show at Infinity Music Hall, a 10 minute walk from the Manor House. Michael was our host for breakfast and the omelet and French Toast he prepared was delicious. The Manor House is a charming, relaxing and memorable step into the past. Tom & Cindy, Bloomfield CT


Fantastic Bed and Breakfast

4,8 su giugno 26, 2013

Tremendous, romantic and relaxing anniversary weekend at the Manor House. It could not have been any better!


If you love hospitality in a beautiful setting--The Manor House!

5 su giugno 17, 2013

This is a beautiful 19th century mansion; the detail of the woodwork, the built-ins, the architecture, and the amazing Tiffany stained glass throughout will delight you! Owners Holly and Michael were the epitome of hospitality. The whole house was beautifully furnished and decorated. Rooms all had private baths, which took ingenuity in some cases to install, but resulting in a comfortable warm home in which to stay. The breakfast was elegant, featuring fresh fruits and local goods. The grounds are gorgeous. Wish I could have stayed longer--plan to return and enjoy the whole area! Thanks to Holly & Michael!~~Jan Stevens


Friendly and warm stay

4,6 su giugno 09, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Manor House the first night of our honeymoon. Our hosts were exceedingly warm and kind, and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. They even helped carry down our bags. We're looking forward to coming back some day.


Nice stay

3,2 su giugno 08, 2013

Nice stay. The house is really beautiful and I like the landscaping changes. Our room was noisy..second floor top of stairs. Next time we would ask for a quieter room. Think it was a little pricey.


Manor House June 2013

4,4 su giugno 07, 2013

The House itself is a delight to explore! The service could not have been more exemplary. The food was delicious. Weekends are busy but weekday visits allow you to fully soak up the ambiance.


A positive experience

4,6 su giugno 06, 2013

Our room was clean and well appointed. Our breakfast was exceptional. What made this a memorable visit was the warm welcome that we received from Michael and Holly. We unfortunately only had one night to stay this time, but with a number of wineries in the area, we plan to return for a longer sojourn. We'd definitely recommend the Manor House to all.


One night get-a-way

4,0 su giugno 05, 2013

Stayed at the Manor House with my wife for a quick one night get-a-way. Well appointed, and comfortable environment. Room was great, host, and hostess were very accomodating, could not have been nicer people. They provided some suggestions for dinner, which was very good. Breakfast served in the morning was second to none. We totally enjoyed the brief stay, we will be back when time allows.


Exceeded our expectations

4,4 su giugno 01, 2013

We really just wanted a place for the night to see a show at the Infinity Hall and they offered 10% off with ticket stub. Holly is the New innkeeper there and she couldn't have been any nicer. The quality of the construction in this home is something to be Seen. It is a nice area and we'd love to go back and enjoy more time There .


Show at Infiniti Hall and Overnight in Norfolk CT

4,8 su maggio 23, 2013

A Bed & Breakfast in a beautiful estate in a quaint town. Seen many great shows at Infiniti Hall but being able to walk back to the B&B after the show and a stop in the bistro made it a much more pleasant experience. The show wasn't great but the stay at the Manor House made up for it. The inn keepers were extremely pleasant and the breakfast was fabulous. Also met some other very nice quests there. Will do it again.


Nice visit at the Manor House

3,4 su aprile 30, 2013

I had to leave early, before breakfast, but Holly made me a delicious full breakfast anyway. I really appreciated the service. I would come back to the Manor House the next time I am in the Norfolk area.


Thank You to: Chef Kurt & Kathy

5 su marzo 18, 2013

I stayed at the Manor House with my husband. First off I want to say how welcoming the innkeepers are, Kurt & Kathy. They were exceptional at making us feel welcome and they were so helpful in every way. Chef Kurt's breakfasts were unbelievable I plan to go back just for the treat of eating his breakfast. I have never seen a place kept so clean, and it is a BIG place. The Inn itself is a Manson. Our room was excellent, had all the amenities. Definately a place you have to experience. Thank you Chef and Kathy for the best week-end we have ever had, we will see you soon.


The Manor House

4,8 su marzo 06, 2013

The Manor House was absolutely beautiful! I enjoyed every bit of my stay. Very warm and welcoming.


Beautiful house, nice staff, short walk to Infinity Hall

4,6 su febbraio 22, 2013

Beautiful house, nice staff, short walk to Infinity Hall.


Storybook Perfect Stay!

5 su febbraio 13, 2013

The Manor House is a splendiferous fascinating gorgeous place to enjoy a romantic getaway, or just plain let's get away from the rat race! The entire inn is immaculately clean, tidy, with just the right tough of decor. The common room has a huge real fireplace with wood supplied, and my husband and I spent each night warm and cosy relaxing in front of it with snacks and tea or coffee right at our fingertips from a wonderful little room within feet. Our choice of fabulous music was playing, while we read, played board games, or simply enjoyed the peace and quiet. Chef Kurt and Kathy could not have been more gracious, helpful, or friendly! They welcomed us warmly, made sure we had and knew everything we needed to, and were wonderful conversationalists. Chef Kurt's breakfast's were dee-lish! A granola magical concoxtion was out of this world, as was the unusual scrumptious french toast. My husband's omelet was light, fluffy and made to order. He made a quiche for the second day, and it was to die for. The dining room is bright, with Tiffany stained glass windows and little tables for each guest. The entire inn is out of a storybook. Gleaming wooden beams and panels, accentuate a mixture of period pieces and comfortable stylish ones. There is a library room full of antiquarian books that appealed completely to my biblio side! The stairway is grand. We had the Victorian room, which is spacious with jacuzzi tub for two and area with a gas fire. The bed was comfy and huge! Everything was sparkling clean. We couldn't have had a better stay than we did, and we thank the innkeepers, Chef Kurt and Kathy for an extremely magical memorable stay!


Inviting inn, warm hospitality

4,8 su gennaio 28, 2013

Service above and beyond all expectations from friendliest of folks, Kurt and Kathy. Warm inviting respite from winter travels. Fire was going in the fireplace and it felt instantly like home. Highly recommended.


An Old Time Mansion B&B...Beautiful!

5 su gennaio 10, 2013

Off the beaten path with beautiful scenery outside and a throwback to the mansions of the rich and famous of years ago.


charming B & B

5 su gennaio 08, 2013

A wonderful stay at a beautiful home


Bed&Breakfast review

4,6 su gennaio 06, 2013

It was exactly what we were looking for on New Years eve/day. thx


In Season

5 su gennaio 06, 2013

My time at the Manor House was spent in December, and the holiday Season was represented perfectly. It made me want to spend every season there just to see how Kurt and Kathy make them perfect as well. The food was so good, and as I explored the nearby towns and told people where I was staying, they confirmed my excitement. It couldn't have been a more perfect experience.


The Best !!!!!

5 su dicembre 16, 2012

I travel a lot and this is one of the best places I have ever stayed. Kurt and Kathy could not have been more accomadating and helpful and the MANOR is beautiful , grand and cozy, Stan W


Innkeepers Extraordinare

5 su dicembre 14, 2012

Hands down we feel this is the best Bed and Breakfast ever. Magnigicent rooms with gorgeous antique furnishings. But the Innkeepers, Kurt & Kathy are truly the draw here. They love their home and are so happy to share it with you. They are welcoming, thoughtful, responsive and knowledgeable to talk with. Mornings are delightful and the breakfasts are sumptuously grand and you can tell they are all homemade with love. Never has breakfast tasted so good. Loved the Blackberry Thick French Toast with the Berry Compote topping. The Yogurt is by far the best tasting we ever had and the sausages were perfect. There is a coffee bar room always available with fresh coffee, teas, cocoa with treats and snacks. Enjoyed watching the fire in the 6ft fireplace in the living room. Reflections on the beamed ceiling took me back to a much earlier time. Once you are there you don't want to leave. You feel so welcome and at home. Our bedroom was so spotlessly clean and luxurious; our bed so comfortable; it made for the latest I had slept in for years. Thank you! We found our home away from home. We didn't know places like this still existed.


December 7 visit to Manor House

4,0 su dicembre 11, 2012

We were warmly received at the Manor House, and the rooms were very comfortable and clean and quiet (even though the house was full). And a magnificent breakfast!


A Norfolk delight...

4,8 su dicembre 06, 2012

The Manor House is a delightful bed and breakfast in the Berkshires. The home is beautiful, comfortable and quiet and nestled into a beautiful property. Nearby are hiking and ski trails, lovely shops and restaurants, Infinity Music Hall...and countless other treasure troves. Kathy and Kurt and the perfect innkeepers...warm and hospitable with a desire to please, yet in tune with the needs of guests who want some peace and quiet..simply perfect!! And their breakfasts are delicious! I highly recommend a weekend getaway to this lovely home away from home.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kinds words about Kurt & Kathy. We work very hard to please and really enjoy meeting and interacting with everyone who comes to Manor House. Thanks for taking the time to sit down and write your review - now is a busy time, we know, for everyone.


Excellent B&B with stunning commom areas and lovely rooms

3,8 su novembre 27, 2012

We are a well-traveled middled-aged couple, with an affinity for historic properties and rural areas. The Manor house had stunning, original, period interior decor and large rooms, many with balconies and wood-burning fireplaces. The inn-keepers were very warm and helpful with giving advise and meeting requests. The location provided both a feeling of remoteness, yet was within walking distance of two restaurants and Infinitity Hall, a performance center. Would definitely stay here again

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.


Anniversary at The Manor House

4,6 su novembre 25, 2012

What started out as a short anniversary getaway sandwiched in between commitments (thanks Kathy for allowing us to book just 1 night!) turned out to be the perfect oasis. Hurricane Sandy rendered our home without power for 5 days so The Manor House truly became our haven as well as our celebration. We wanted a historic inn with a fireplace in the bedroom and The Manor House definitely delivers and the in-room jacuzzi was the perfect compliment. Innkeeper Kurt welcomed us and gave a quick tour of the inn. He also thoughtfully asked about any dietary restrictions for breakfast. I loved we were encouraged to explore the inn - heaven for an old house lover such as myself. We chose the Victorian room, which was beautifully appointed, quiet, cozy, romantic and relaxing. It is an indescribable feeling to wrap yourself in a Manor House robe after a shower under a skylight, and sit by the fire and read - especially coming from a house with no hot water, heat or lights. Kathy's restaurant recommendations were perfect. Our room's bed was even more comfortable than home - we did not want to leave. Breakfast was relaxing and delicious. We will definitely visit again.

Risposta del proprietario
How wonderful you chose Manor House for your Anniversary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. Please visit us again.


Charming B&B

4,8 su novembre 19, 2012

Felt like we left the big city life behind for a place of beauty, serenity, and friendliness. Can't wait to return.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for choosing Manor House. We appreciate you took the time to write a review for us. Please come back from the "Big City" again whenever you get the chance.


Classic

4,0 su novembre 13, 2012

Beautiful classic home, loved the fireplace in the room, so comfortable. Staff helpful with acquainting us with local places....great restaraunt closeby!

Risposta del proprietario
We are glad you chose Manor House to visit and enjoyed the fireplace in you room. We hope you return often. Thank you for taking time to review the Manor House.


Can't Recommend It Enough

5 su novembre 12, 2012

This is the Perfect Inn, the Innkeepers and Chef (Kurt and Kathy) are awesome and the breakfasts are the best. Can't wait to go back. We can't recommend Manor Inn enough.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank your for your high recommendation. We work very hard to please and appreciate when people notice it. Visit us again soon.


Extraordinary Hospitality

5 su novembre 06, 2012

We came to Norfolk for a weekend and stayed at the most wonderful Inn. The Manor was perfect and in such a beautiful setting. The Innkeepers were fabulous, we stayed in many B&B's over the years but Kathy and Kurt provided a level of hospitality and comfort we never experienced before. Their food preparation and presentation are likewise amazing. The amount of attention they gave to even the smallest detail to make our stay as comfortable as possible was nothing short of unbelievable. The decorations of the house, the Tiffany windows, the energy in the home and the feeling of just being there was all so very comforting. Our room was comfortable, beautifully accessorized and impeccably clean. You can tell the house has been lovingly taken care of. Hopefully you get a chance to enjoy the Manor House Potato Egg Bake and hopefully our travels bring us back to Norfolk soon for another stay at the Manor House.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you, Thank you.....you make us blush. The house Potato Egg Bake is a favorite of many. We enjoy our guests and love to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Thank you for your gracious words.


Very disappointed with service and food, home was incredible

3,0 su novembre 05, 2012

My husband and I had not been away together in 18 years...we saved to afford the almost $300 fee per night for this incredible Bed and Breakfast. We read up and were so excited about our stay especially their "gourmet" breakfast offered each morning on the weekends. We arrived and were greeted by the "chef" in his PJ pants and rumpled tshirt. The other keeper had note cards and at first seemed confused as to which room we were in! There are only 7?Our room was incredible! and we couldn't wait for breakfast...seems we could! I had sent an email of my allergies ahead of time as requested. Not followed or remembered. The "egg casserole with potatoes and onions was tiny and unflavored. a flat rectangle around 4" by 2". surrounded by grapes which I am deadly allergic to. the "first course" was vanilla yogurt with granola. no toast, no "homemade" breads or muffins like promised on site. The second breakfast was worse. I asked for a side of toast all though I wasn't given that option with my scrambled eggs and sausage( 2 instant sausages) and was given the end of a loaf with unmelted butter no jelly or jam then another guest heard me ask for toast and was told they "ran out" of bread! REALLY! Communication between Innkeepers and guests was horrible. We were very disappointed with them. The Manor House offered in house massage and we had saved for that. The masseuse was positive and incredible. We enjoyed the service from her a lot. We did not feel welcomed in to this Bed and Breakfast and will not reutrn.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your comments; we take your feedback seriously. Know that we work hard to offer friendly service and good food and to make your stay with us as wonderful as possible. We are very sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. Please contact the Inn for an offer. We would like to clarify a few things though; the chef’s PJs are actually his Chef’s uniform pants and coat. He does have a pair of hot pepper pants he has worn and some people like them and for others it may be a bit much. Perhaps he should stick with something less “fun” like his usual black and white stripes or checks. We did check emails for November and there are none with grape allergies, we did have: vegan, vegetarian, gluten free, avocados, kiwi, apples, strawberries and latex allergies. We always try to make special notes on our guest cards when we know. We have 3 jellies/jams /marmalades on the main dining room table and we always have a variety of breads offered. And our meats are of the highest quality as they are purchased locally from a gourmet smoke house, just as our maple syrup is pure maple, attained locally. We do wish you had mentioned something while you were here to us but, again, we thank you for your comments and we take them to heart. We hope you will visit us again to let us make things better for you.


Great architecture and details

4,6 su novembre 01, 2012

Nice location close to Infinity Hall. Great detail in building and furnishings. A good breakfast with 2 costom prepared choices.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking time to write a few words about The Manor House, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.


WOW! The Perfect Place

5 su ottobre 26, 2012

The Manor House is impressive from the first site of it. We found it to be just as impressive in all ways. It is quiet, safe and away from the hustle and bustle of the world but only a short walk to town. It is wonderfully decorated and so clean. Kurt and Kathy are gracious hosts, attentive, friendly and so very welcoming. The breakfasts are wonderful and very large portions for a B&B, I almost couldn't eat all of mine, but I did. Creme Brulee Thick French Toast one morning and Veggie Egg Quiche the next, yum. The bacon is thick and so good. Enjoyed the cookies and goodies in the afternoon (Manor House chocolate chip cookies are my favorite). They have a Coffee Bar that is always open with snacks available at any time. This is definately the place to stay! Our room was the best, so clean. The whole place is very well taken care of. We enjoyed ourselves extremely much thanks to Kurt and Kathy. Can't wait to return.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you very much to taking time out of your busy schedule to write such nice words about Manor House and us and our breakfasts. We can't wait for you to return, also.


Excellent Stay

5 su ottobre 14, 2012

I reserved a room for my wedding. We used it for myself and my bridesmaids to get ready in, and then for my wedding night. The innkeepers were very accommodating and very friendly. . Everything went perfectly. The property was also a great backdrop for our pictures too.


The Inn is the same, the experience (unfortunately) is not!

2,0 su ottobre 08, 2012

We last stayed at the Manor House a couple of years ago, before Kurt and Kathy were the innkeepers. We came back after that first visit because the service had been extraordinary, the food was out of this world and the atmosphere completely charming. Unfortunately, our second experience couldn't have been more different. This time, the Manor House looked the same, but was now a completely different B&B. When we arrived there was no wood in our room for the fireplace. I requested it at check-in and then again later when none had arrived. We were off to an early start the next morning and Kurt was kind enough to offer a "grab and go" breakfast for our convenience. It consisted of left over pastries from the evening before, lifesavers and Hershey bars, veggie chip snacks and green apples. I thought something along the order of fresh muffins and fruit would be provided, but not so. After a long day of antiquing, we returned to take showers, only to find that there were no lights on in our room; our dirty wine glasses from the night before were still on the dresser and the shower (which we hadn't used previously) had strands of long black hair on 3 of the shower walls and near the drain. This was around 8:00 PM, so I ended up cleaning the shower myself before we used it. At these prices, cleanliness shouldn't be an afterthought. The following morning we were served breakfast (our first in the dining room). We were the first couple seated at 8:30 (when breakfast was scheduled to begin). Although juice was available, there was no black tea and no cream. We asked for both. When our food arrived, the plates were only about 2/3 to 3/4 full. I ordered French Toast, which was made with two thin slices of packaged bread (the syrup came later) and the two slices of bacon were overcooked. Unfortunately, we signed the guestbook too soon. We will NOT return to this Inn, although we plan to return to the area, which is beautiful.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you taking time to review our place. We feel very bad that you were disappointed with us but pleased that you like Manor House. We were so happy when we read the guest book and how you said how you enjoyed your stay and talking with us so was a little surprised at your review.. We hope you use the Gift Certificates we gave you to come back and give us another chance to please you.


The Manor House was awesome!!

5 su ottobre 04, 2012

The Manor House was fantastic! Just the perfect spot to relax and enjoy.Chef Kurt and Kathy so sweet and attentive. The location of this estate is perfect and away from any distractions so being relaxed is an understatement!! We enjoyed so much and are looking forward to a longer stay perhaps in the fall/winter. The rooms were cozy and clean and we also enjoyed wine by a fire in the common area/living room.Breakfast was great! Kurt and Kathy,Thanks for hanging with us after the Infinity Hall show. I'm sure we'll see you soon! Love Hugo & Donna

Risposta del proprietario
Awwww...you make us feel so good. We loved hanging with you. So glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to your returning.


Outstanding value and experience

4,8 su settembre 23, 2012

This is a spectacular property with a very friendly atmosphere. The breakfasts were truly outstanding and the homemade bread was a real treat.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your kind words. So happy you liked the home-made bread. Thanks for noticing it was homemade. Kurt is please you liked your breakfast. Please come back when you get a chance.


manor house

4,6 su settembre 22, 2012

we loved our stay at the manor house. the house and grounds were beautiful. the inn keepers took very good care of us and we enjoyed breakfast in the morning. we cant wait to go again. we had a very pleasurable time and it was very relaxing.

Risposta del proprietario
You make us happy when you say you loved your stay with us. Breakfast is important and we are glad you enjoyed yours every morning. When you need to relax again, please come back to the Manor House.


Review Manor House

4,2 su settembre 17, 2012

Food excellent. Karl is a gracious host. Would reccommend it to our friends.


Our Infiniti Hall Stay

4,6 su settembre 03, 2012

We had a wonderful time and the owners even went out of their way to make me a gluten-free breakfast. Best blueberry pancakes I've had in a long time! And we got 10% off since we were going to a show. We'll be back. It is a very peaceful and beautiful place to stay at. Thank you! Karen & Rick


A fun place to fantasize

4,4 su agosto 27, 2012

The Manor House is a great treat to escape to, and both times I've been I have really enjoyed being there. I like the character of the different rooms which would be fun to tailor to different friends and family. Beyond the bedrooms, though, the public spaces of this house are wonderful to enjoy. Karl is an extremely friendly and gracious host, and the breakfasts we have had have been very tasty. I will be back again!


Even better under new management

4,2 su agosto 20, 2012

We've stayed at the Manor House for many years to attend the Norolk Music Festival., and it's now as good if not better than it has ever been. Karl is a terrific host.


Fabulous Romantic Getaway.

5 su agosto 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a night just to get away and spend time together. The Manor House is a perfect place to unwind relax and spend time together. The house if well taken care of and decorated perfectly. It's also with in walking distance to Infinity Hall and Restaurants. We chose to have dinner and spend time in the hot tub. We'll check out a concert another time. Thank you Manor House.


In our top 5 or 6 and we have stayed in many.

3,6 su agosto 09, 2012

Very nice place, we go to the area for concerts and it is the best around that we have stayed. Very clean and roomy,bright but yet room darkening drapes keep morning sun OUT! We will be back,we stayed over on a Sunday night and had the whole inn to ourselves.We have stayed in over 60 B&Bs and lodges and this is very nice. My ratings may seem low because when spending a certain amount of money expectations increase disproportionately.


The Manor House What a great Weekend Stay

4,6 su luglio 30, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at The Manor House in Norfolk Ct.. We had tickets to Infinity Hall on Sat. night, which is a short walk from the house. We chose the Manor House because of it's proximity to the Hall. The Inn surpassed our expectations. It is by far, one of the most beautiful B & B's we have stayed in. The show was postponed but it didn't matter. We had an amazing time that weekend. The Innkeepers serve a wonderful 2 course breakfast and were extremely helpful with suggestions on things to do in the area. We went to the town of Stockbridge, MA and the Norman Rockwell museum, then finished the night with a great meal at the Wood Creek. We were there a couple weeks ago and are already planning a return stay. I would suggest the Manor House to anyone one looking for a wonderful getaway in a beautiful setting.


Great stay!

5 su luglio 28, 2012

We recently stayed at the Manor Inn, and were very pleased as to our experience. My wife and I have stayed at many, many B&Bs in the area, and this rates as one of the top. Karl was wonderful to interface with - congenial, helpful and delightful. Overall, our experience was unsurpassed. Although we make it a point not to visit the same B&B over again, expanding our experiences on an ongoing basis, we may very well revisit the Manor House. Hopefully next time we will meet Nancy!


Music and B&B Weekend

4,2 su luglio 14, 2012

We stayed here for the first time on a Friday evening while attending the Ambrosia concert at the Infinity Music Hall. The Manor House was authentic and comfortable. The grounds were beautiful and breakfast the next morning was fresh and well prepared. Karl, our host, was genuine and welcoming. The best part - it is a short and safe walk to the Music Hall. We have stayed at another B&B in Norfolk in the past, and we prefer the Manor House for its location and true B&B feel. We will be staying here again.


Great getaway

3,8 su luglio 09, 2012

Rode horseback at Windfield Morgan Farm in Litchfiled, ended the evening with a great Farm to Table dinner at Stagecoach Tavern in Sheffield, MA (well worth the drive), then capped of the B&B experience with a terrific massage from Dina.


Manor House B&B

5 su luglio 08, 2012

We stayed at the Manor House B&B for the weekend of my niece's wedding. My sister and her husband also stayed there. The Manor House is a Tudor Victorian surrounded by beautiful gardens. We stayed in the "Country French" room that overlooked the gardens and the beautiful trees, an idyllic setting. The breakfasts were delicious to say the least and we were given several choices each morning. We will definitely stay at the Manor House again.


Our stay at the Manor House

4,2 su giugno 29, 2012

Beautiful house, great location, friendly service. I would recommend the Manor House highly to anyone.


Grateful Customers

5 su giugno 25, 2012

An amazing get away, foster memories for a lifetime


Love the Manor House !!

5 su giugno 14, 2012

We always enjoy our stay at the Manor House and are already looking forward to making our next reservation. Karl and Nancy are great hosts !


Just perfect for us

5 su giugno 10, 2012

We enjoyed casual conversation with the innkeeper, the comfort of our room and the common areas, wonderful breakfast, and the walking-friendly location.


MAnor House

4,4 su giugno 07, 2012

Very pleasant stay, everything was very nice and close proximity to our event.


Manor House

4,8 su giugno 04, 2012

Beautiful New England charm... grounds were well kept... service and food excellent... we would go back


Great Time at Manor Inn

4,8 su giugno 04, 2012

Did not know what to expect from this B&B as I knew no one who had stayed here. It turned out to be an excellent place to stay. Beautiful room, wonderful house and great host. The breakfast in the morning was a pleasant surprise, everything being delicious. We would highly recommend the Manor House. Can't wait to stay there again.


Really Loved the Manor House

4,4 su maggio 22, 2012

My wife and I loved our two night stay at the Manor House. Our room was comfortable and clean. Karl was there to welcome us upon arrival and provided a basic tour. He also served a wonderful breakfast each morning. Although the house was full Saturday night, it did not feel crowded. In fact I didn't realize it was full until Breakfast the next morning. Would definitely stay again.


A beautiful and comfortable home

4,8 su maggio 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed with friends at the elegant Manor House after enjoying a concert at Infinity Hall. The Inn is a short, pleasant neighborhood walk from the Hall. Carl was a wonderful host, making us feel comfortable and well taken care of. The home itself is magnificent, with a variety of beautifully furnished areas and rooms to relax in. Carl offered us refreshments in the afternoon when we arrived and after the concert, we were able to relax with coffee and tea in the main living area. The next day, after enjoying a couple of shops and lunch in the center, we explored the Manor House gardens and took advantage of the adirondack chairs on the vast, sunny lawn.


Great B&B

4,4 su maggio 21, 2012

Great location., friendly , assessable and helpful owner. Listen to vague idea of how to spend a few hours away and was provided with great afternoon in a place I never would have known about.


A Great Place In A Quiet Part Of The World

4,2 su maggio 20, 2012

This is a charming place with great service in a quiet, scenic part of the world. Highly recommend if you're in the area. Super convenient to Infinity Hall.


Spofford Room at the Manor House

4,8 su maggio 16, 2012

Lovely improvements made to the Spofford Room over the winter. Property and grounds are in excellent condition. Breakfast and service remains top notch


Victorian Room

4,4 su maggio 14, 2012

Two course breakfast with rolls, juice, coffee, and/or tea is all fresh, delicious, and from local sources, whenever possible. Great hospitality by Host. A short walk to the Infinity Music Hall.


Fun getaway

5 su aprile 15, 2012

Great place, excellent service and outstanding breakfast. Will be back soon. Perfect for weekend getaway and near local concert hall.


Romantic B&B

5 su aprile 12, 2012

The Manor House is absolutely beautiful. The innkeeper was amazing - service, accomodations and food could not be better. The breakfast was spectacular. I would recommend the Manor House in a heartbeat and plan to go back in the near future.


2nd stay at Manor House

5 su aprile 04, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Manor House, and like the 1st we loved it. My husband and I live in Florida and Norfolk and the Manor House is now our favorite long weekend get away. We can not wait to visit again.


Beautiful accommodations, EXCELLENT service - we never wanted to leave!

5 su aprile 02, 2012

Our experience at The Manor House was wonderful. I took my girlfriend there as a birthday present and she couldn't have been happier. The rooms were all beautiful and cozy and had an old-world charm. We had peace and quiet and privacy the whole time we were there. The inn keeper and his wife were so kind and generous and took extra special care of us and made sure any needs we had were met. The breakfasts were outstanding! We can't wait to book our next romantic getaway at The Manor House! It was a five star stay! -Giancarlo & Lisa


Manor House for Infinity show~

4,6 su marzo 15, 2012

Perfect for staying over after concert or just a getaway. Extremely elegant, clean rooms, great hospitality, comfortable.


Romantic, peaceful getaway

4,8 su marzo 08, 2012

My wife and I celebrated her 60th birthday here. We found Karl and Nancy to be extremely warm and welcoming. We stayed in the room with sleigh bed, skylight, jacuzzi, and gas fireplace. An added bonus is the Infinity Bistro and Music Hall and Norfolk Chamber Festival.


Great stay at the Manor House

3,8 su febbraio 22, 2012

The Manor House is a beautiful historic house in Norfolk, CT. The rooms were quaint and each one had a little something different that made it unique. We visited the Manor House with friends, and we enjoyed the fireplace in our room as we sat and played cards, drank wine, and enjoyed our evening. The grounds are really pretty, too. We spent our afternoon sitting in the living room, and Karl built us a wonderful fire to enjoy as we read and enjoyed home backed goods and tea. We can't wait to come back next year for another relaxing and enjoying weekend!


Wonderful Stay

4,0 su febbraio 16, 2012

Staff very friendly Rooms clean. Beds very comfortable, Food well prepared and plentiful. We had a great stay.


Historical B&B

3,0 su febbraio 04, 2012

The house is really lovely and very clean. Our room was very cold, we had to light the fire which was great except it took a long time to warm the room. The bathroom was adequate. Our room felt a little under-dressed and cold and that, along with the bathroom, is the reason for the ratings. However, the house overall was kept up very well, was very clean, just could use some updating. The service was lovely and warm and the food was very good and the coffee was excellent! The people there were terrific.

Risposta del proprietario
The Manor House is kept at 70 degrees throughout the winter months. The steam radiators in each room have a control on them and I apologize if this was not made clear to you as you were checking into your room. I can only assume that your control was at its lowest point. We do try and keep "the fluff" to a minimum and perhaps this translates as under-dressed. I appreciate your comments and am happy to know that you found the house very clean and enjoyed the service and breakfast.


10th Anniversary stay

3,8 su gennaio 21, 2012

Excellent stay. Room clean and relaxing with large jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was good. Remember it being unique and outstanding 10 years ago.


New Year's Eve at the Manor House

4,4 su gennaio 16, 2012

This was our first stay at the Manor House and as frequent travelers, we were throughly charmed and impressed by the Inn and its' Innkeepers. Karl was a perfect host, available yet unobtrusive, allowing us to fully enjoy the beauty of the manor. The manor is a wonderful blend of vintage charm and modern convenience. The Victorian room matched the elegance of the rest of the Manor, yet boasted a gas fireplace and Jacuzzi bath. Breakfast offered a variety of local fare, presented beautifully and was deliciously filling. All in all, we highly recommend the Manor House and will certianly return again!


A perfect stay

4,0 su gennaio 13, 2012

The inn was perfect, well appointed and charming. Karl was a terrific host who made sure we had all we needed. I would deffinitly return!!!


nice stay

4,0 su dicembre 23, 2011

stayed for one night and it was a pleasant stay. Victorian room was great and had more than enough amenities and room. The breakfast was not very good and it was buffet style.....not what we expected but they had a wedding party there.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your review and I apologize that breakfast was not what you expected. The buffet consisted of house made blueberry muffins, banana nut bread, apple bread pudding with local syrup, cut up fresh fruit, a baked ham, house made quiches, scrambled eggs, variety of juices and nectar and french roast coffee. We did have a wedding party here and attention to personalized service may have been compromised. Buffet breakfasts are not the norm at the Manor. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Victorian Room and amenities.


Thanksgiving at the Manor House

4,0 su dicembre 09, 2011

We travelled from Northern Virginia to Norfolk Connecticut to spend Thanksgiving with my family. We decided to stay at the Manor House because there were many of us visiting, and because we had stayed there 24 years ago, right after we had gotten married


Wonderful Romantic Weekend Getaway

4,4 su dicembre 06, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Manor House recently for a Friday and Saturday night close to home...weekend away trip. We saw a great concert at nearby Infinity Hall and spent the rest of the weekend shopping in nearby Millerton, NY and Great Barrington, Mass. Both locations are about a 30 - 45 minute drive. We stayed in the Lincoln room which although small had a lot of charm. If you like a real wood burning fireplace while you are being lazy in your room then you wont be disappointed. No TV's in any of the rooms. So an IPAD or laptop made for quiet time together watching a movie in front of the fireplace. My wife loved the fact that there was no TV. Karl was very friendly and informative about things to do in the area. Great Barrington was fun. Millerton was small. Breakfast was great both mornings. Omlets and blueberry pancakes. The Manor House has a great room where guests have an opportunity to socialize in front of a large stone fireplace. My wife and I shared a bottle of wine and some cheese with several other couples also staying for the show at Infinity Hall. Several resturants nearby. Infinity Hall Bistro was just OK. Limited menu but conveniently close by. All in all we had a wonderful relaxing couples weekend. We will be back. See you then Karl.


One night

4,4 su novembre 22, 2011

WOW Unlike many B&B's that feature a lorge house with small bedrooms the Manor House is a Mansion. Beautiful Living room and incredible foyer. Kurt makes you feel right at home. WONDERFUL STAY


20th Anniversary at the Manor House B7B

5 su novembre 20, 2011

Our weekend away was extremely wonderful. The room was very spacious and clean. The innkeeper was very attentive to our needs. We will go there again


A Great B&B!

4,0 su novembre 16, 2011

This is the second time we stayed at the Manor House in Norfolk, CT and we again were not disappointed. The English room is spacious and nicely appointed. It is just what to expect in a well run and charming B&B. Karl was a welcoming host and happy to answer questions or make suggestions. We had French Toast, juice and coffee for breakfast which was very satisfying. Norfolk is a charming town with a great old theater and good eateries. The Manor House is where to stay when you come for a visit!


Mannor House

3,2 su novembre 16, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at The Mannor House and would recommend it to anyone seeking lodging in Litchfield County, CT. The innkeeper was friendly and very helpful in proving us with information about activities in the area were we interested in. I'm sure that we will continue to be repeat customers.


Manor House Review

4,6 su novembre 15, 2011

Charming B&B. Felt like I stepped back in time. Very tranquil, warm atmosphere.


Great weekend!

4,0 su novembre 14, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Manor house-greeted with a quick tour-.sat by the fire in the large great room with our friends than walked down the path to dinner and music at the Infinity Music Hall... back to the inn for another drink by the fire and off to bed. Breakfast was perfect- loved it. Thanks!


Nice for a romantic Fall getaway

3,6 su novembre 07, 2011

My wife and I came up from NYC for a fall weekend to see the foliage, go apple-picking, read by a crackling fire, and have delicious Sunday brunch. We were not disappointed. The inn is nicely located -- definitely a country feel, but with easy access to the quaint town of Norfolk. Karl the innkeeper was very welcoming and helpful, and his wife makes great cookies. Our room was comfortable, and the common areas were nice to spend time in. Saturday night we went to Infinity Hall, a renovated old opera house in town, where we had a nice dinner and heard some good music. Bonus: there's a massage therapist on site who gives great massages. A very pleasant stay overall.


Highly recommended

4,0 su novembre 07, 2011

Lovely walk to town. Inkeeper was a great guy. Beatiful romantic place. We will go back again.


A gorgeous place in a surprise snowstorm.

4,2 su novembre 02, 2011

Lovely room and common areas. We were there for the October blizzard but even though we lost power, fireplaces in the room and common area kept the place cheery.


Lovely Spot

3,8 su ottobre 27, 2011

I had a lovely stay at the Manor house for the weekend. The Innkeeper Karl met me on my arrival and was very nice. I stayed in a smaller room but it had a lovely view and was quiet. I was unable to partake in what looked like a lovely breakfast as I had early morning plans both days, but it gets rave reviews. The Manor House is furnished true to the time period it was constructed. The grounds are beautiful. I hope to return again in December.


Manor House

3,8 su ottobre 26, 2011

Beautiful property. Delightful breakfast. Although yogurt was not present. We thought bed was hard. sugestions: Plan for dinner early as it requires 20 to 45 minutes of driving.

Risposta del proprietario
We do have two great restaurants within walking distance from the Inn. Infinity Hall and Bistro, also, Wood Creek Bar and Grill. I can only assume that the reviewer was here on a Monday when, unfortunately, both restaurants are closed.


lovely

4,0 su ottobre 25, 2011

a beautiful place to stay- I wish our budget had allowed for one of the 'fancier' rooms. Comfortable and well appointed. Delish breakfast!


Review

3,8 su ottobre 17, 2011

Found the inn on the web with no previous knowledge of it and we were pleasantly surprised how nice it was. Karl Vess could not have been more accomodating. We would definitely come back again.


Fantastic Stay at The Manor House

5 su ottobre 11, 2011

We spent the first 2 days of our honeymoon at The Manor House and were so blown away by the accomodations and service! Fantastic, wonderful! We also love the location and that we were able to have a fabulous dinner and see a show at Infinity Hall! We will definitely be back soon! Love Karl and Nancy's sense of style and service-very accomodating. A delicious stay all around! The Cruess's


Norfolk 10/1,2/2011

4,2 su ottobre 06, 2011

What a pleasant surprise! We had never been there before so we weren't sure what to expect. Karl was a great innkeeper, informative, wonderful personality, and very accommodating. The breakfast was delicious. We will be going back. The Infinity Music Hall was a bonus too!


the best of new england

5 su settembre 14, 2011

The rooms and Inn were exceptional..the innkeeper was cordial, pleasant, and informative..the food was the abosolute best


Great place to stay if you are going to infinity hall

4,0 su settembre 04, 2011

The new owners were great. We felt like the house belonged to us. Just a short walk to see Collin Hay at Infinity. My wife loved the Jacuzzi Bathtub and we will definitely be back for leaf peeping season.


A great find in the CT Berkshires

3,6 su agosto 24, 2011

Manor House is a wonderful 1898 home originally built as a summer retreat, now a handsome inn. The public rooms are terrific, including wonderful Tiffany glass windows and a handsomely inserted bar for guests. Bedrooms are a bit worn, but not to a point of causing distress--just something that the innkeepers should pay attention to as they can. Dining options in Norfolk are limited, but a very nice bistro meal can be had at Infinity--5 minutes away on foot.


Great way to celebrate my birthday!

4,4 su agosto 23, 2011

Karl was a wonderful host. We didn't get to meet Nancy as she was busy working behind the scenes. The house and grounds are spectacular, and the guests are made to feel very welcome. Would love to return!


lovely stay

3,2 su agosto 14, 2011

The Manor Inn is a beautiful room in the foot of the Berkshires. It is well maintained with beautiful grounds. The little town of Norfolk is about 1 block long but we did have a wonderful meal at the Preservation hall just a short walk into the town. Lovely quaint town.


Manor House is back

4,0 su agosto 10, 2011

After a disheartening lull, Manor House once again is a fine place to visit. Karl Vess is a warm and a helpful host. The house and grounds have regained much of their former elegant splendor. The breakfasts are delicious, especially the home baked muffins.


Manor House Hits the Mark

4,0 su agosto 03, 2011

Manor House is a convenient walk to dining and the Infinity Hall in Norfolk. Have dinner, see a show and sleep in quiet comfort!


Visit over 4th of July Weekend

4,8 su luglio 15, 2011

Innkeepers have a wealth of information that they are willing to share.


Manor House June 4 - 6 2011

4,2 su giugno 08, 2011

Enjoyed the house and the gardens. Breakfast was delicious. Slept well.


great time - nice people

4,6 su giugno 02, 2011

My first bed and breakfast was a very enjoyable stay. Manor House was very nice and the owner was very pleasant and informative when asked for dinner suggestions. My husband and I had a great time and would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone wanting a nice, quiet place to spend a night or two.


Karl was Wonderful!

4,4 su maggio 25, 2011

The Manor House was all that we hoped for and more! The house and grounds were lovely and the breakfast and cookies were delicious, but what made our visit outstanding was the graciousness of our host. Karl went way beyond the call of duty to make our stay memorable and make us feel special. Thank you Manor House, Carrie Greene and Family


Very nice place to stay.

3,2 su maggio 18, 2011

We only stayed one night but had a great time in the area. Karl the innkeeper was very nice and offered a lot of help finding places to go. We were sorry we didn't get to meet Nancy. The inn was very well cared for and very clean. It would have been nice to stay longer. The only issue we had was the price. We have stayed other places and thought it was very high. The room was $230 but we felt it should have been closer to $165.


First time not the Last

4,8 su maggio 04, 2011

This was our first B and B. We thoroughly enjoyed the Manor House and will return when we return to Norfolk for a show at the Infinity. The hosts are great and very knowledgeable of the area. Breakfasts are a real treat.


Manor House Rules!

4,8 su aprile 29, 2011

We stayed one evening for a concert at Infinity hall which is actually a pleasant walk from the Manor. Staff was cordial and friendly and the interior and grounds of the Manor are a joy! We will never stay anywhere else during our concert visits to Norfolk.


Excellent B&B

4,2 su aprile 20, 2011

I loved this B&B. It was so charming and very big. Loved the decor. The room was very large, beautiful and very clean. Breakfast was excellent fresh fruit, home made muffins and breads, home made blueberry pancakes. Very short walk to Infinity Hall to avoid parking hassels. It was an great night away.


Infinity Hall getaway

4,2 su aprile 17, 2011

The innkeepers, Karl and Nancy, were great and very helpful. The spa service was superior and conveniently located in an intimate space. Don't miss breakfast!


Really Nice Place to Stay

4,0 su aprile 13, 2011

We stayed for only one night, but it was a very enjoyable time. The place is lovely and charming. We got upgraded to a larger room since they weren't fully booked, and that was very nice of Karl Vess, the innkeeper, to do that for us especially since we didn't ask to be upgraded. Karl and Nancy are very nice and friendly and do a great job of making you feel welcome and at home. Nancy makes a wonderful and delicious breakfast! We will definitely stay at the Manor House again when we are in the neighborhood. I would highly recommend the Manor House.


Everything was perfect!

5 su aprile 13, 2011

From the moment we walked into the front door to check in, until we left, Karl and Nancy, the Innkeepers, were very attentive to our needs, as well as sharing the history of this beautiful home.


A Nice Surprise

4,0 su aprile 03, 2011

The website doesn't do this lovely inn justice. We were one of the first guests under the new management, and they could not have been nice. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and quite, and breakfast was excellent. We will be back.


A Gem in Norfolk, CT

4,6 su marzo 30, 2011

On a whim, we booked a room at Manor House and found this wonderful gem of a Bed & Breakfast. The Inn Keepers were welcoming, the rooms are beautiful and the place is spotless. The house itself is magnificent. I can only imagine what the grounds will be like in the spring and summer. Also, Karl was kind enough to make reservations for us at On the Green, a 20 minute drive to MA for a fabulous dinner. Norfolk is a quaint town and there is music and dining almost within walking distance. We did not have a breakfast but they do offer it in bed. We will return and suggest to anyone to give it a try as well!!!!!


Don't Think Twice.

4,4 su marzo 28, 2011

We stayed in the Chalet Suite recently, and we found the Manor House to be a very charming mansion, with excellent detail. Karl was more than willing to please, and we felt very welocmed. Each room / suite has a unique feel and inividual amenities, and they are all (incuding the common areas) stunning. Breakfast was prompt, fresh, and amazingly delicious! We will definitely not think twice about staying at the Manor House again! Treat yourself to a stay here; don't think twice.


Wonderful

4,8 su marzo 15, 2011

Wonderful, short stay. Karl was incredibly helpful, and went out of his way to assist us with dinner reservations. Extremely helpful in every way. Breakfast was very tasty. Was surprised by the free WIFI, and "help yourself" to coffee and treats. I recommend!


Lovely Getaway

4,8 su marzo 09, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at The Manor House. Overall, we found it to be a warm, welcoming and well-run inn. We found Karl, the inn-keeper, to be pleasant and accommodating. The inn's common areas are spacious and comfortable and the breakfast room is lovely and cheerful with gorgeous Tiffany stained glass windows throughout. Nancy baked yummy homemade goodies each morning and afternoon. Our room (The Victorian Room) had a very clean, large jetted tub which we really enjoyed relaxing in. It also had a gas fireplace and a comfortable king sized bed. The only real negative for us was the awkward bathroom situation in our room. The sink was against the wall in the room itself but the toilet was in a small separate corner of the room (a little WC). This would've been fine except the folding door to the WC squeaked loudly and didn't close all the way. But mostly we were very happy with our stay and would recommend The Manor House.


Manor House is a great getaway

4,2 su marzo 09, 2011

We stayed at the Manor House in early March. The room was comfortable and well-appointed, with a private bathroom. The public rooms were comfortable and welcoming, with a fire roaring in the sitting area and comfortable furnishings. There is a bar area with a supply of glasses and other items for guests. The breakfast was top notch on both mornings, and a wonderful way to start the day. Snacks (cookies) and hot tea were provided in the afternoons. The hosts, Carl and Nancy, were very accomodating, friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area, making excellent dining recommendations and suggestions for things to do. Will definitely return to this lovely bed and breakfast!


Amazing Bed & Breakfast

5 su marzo 09, 2011

We loved our weekend stay so much that we booked another weekend before we left on Sunday. Can't wait to go back.


The Welcome Inn

4,2 su marzo 08, 2011

My husband and I needed a mini get-away and had been to the Manor House and Infinity Hall before. We live only an hour away, but it could have been much further, as the grandeur of the Manor House, its privacy, and great new innkeepers transported us to another space and time. Great breakfast and terrific masseuse, which is something new they added. Pair your stay with a night at Infinity Hall and you're golden. Infiinity Hall had a surprisingly good menu and the food, service, drinks and music were all treats. While I rated the room a bit low, we did stay in the cheapest one. It was clean and very comfortable, but past innkeepers could have done more tasteful renovations. Definitely worth a weekend stay if you need to decompress a bit.


Beautiful Place for out Engagement

5 su marzo 06, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Manor House for two nights a few weeks back. The intention of the trip was to propose to her. The inkeepers were very nice and the inn provided the perfect backdrop for the occasion. At the end of our trip we had a very romantic time and I left with my fiancé.


Great Weekend Getaway

4,4 su febbraio 25, 2011

Was a great weekend getaway in conjuntion with a wine tasting event at the inn. We only live a town away but it was great to be able to sit by the large wood fireplace in the living room after the wine tasting for the remainder of the evening. Owners offered their assistance for anything we needed. We stayed in the Victorian room which was very nice.


Karl is a treasure!

4,4 su febbraio 22, 2011

Karl was a treasure and we loved the Inn. We only met Nancy briefly, but her breakfasts were memorable! We spent 4-days and 3-nights in the Spofford Room, which we loved as we sat by the roaring fire in our room! Our days were spent antiquing, thanks to several tips from Karl. He didn't steer us wrong! At the end of the day we were greated with freshly baked cookies and an assortment of teas to help us unwind (another thanks to Nancy). It was a delightful time; we highly recommend The Manor House! Sandy & Joe, Watertown, MA.


Valentine's Day Get Away

4,2 su febbraio 16, 2011

My husband and I felt like we stepped back in time and stepped away from our too busy lives. We totally relaxed, in comfort. Carl and Nancy were gracious hosts, making us welcome into their "home", yet not howvering over us. The breakfast was scrumptious, as were the homemade cookies upon our arrival. We will most certainly go again!


Wonderful

5 su febbraio 15, 2011

The manor house is so lovely. It is definatly a must if you like beautiful things.


Romantic getaway in Norfolk, CT

5 su febbraio 15, 2011

We'd highly recommend Manor House. We stayed two nights. Went to a concert at Infinity Hall, which is right around the corner. Many rooms have fire places. Had a super message (a new service of theirs). Breakfast was great. Nancy even looked up something on the internet to be sure to get my special request for breakfast right. Nancy and Karl were very welcoming and wonderful hosts. They had good ideas for restaurants and side trips. It was a memorable stay. We'll be sure to go back. Looking forward to seeing the House in warmer seasons.


Manor House is Magnificent

5 su gennaio 31, 2011

I don't think I've ever rated anything with an 'Outstanding' in all categories, but that is what we thought of the Manor House. We fell in love with the place the minute we stepped through the front door and didn't want to leave once our stay had ended. We can't wait to go back. J & D from Killingly, CT


completely satisfied

5 su gennaio 27, 2011

it was everything I hoped for. It was a surprise for my husband and the inn keeper was great and went right along. I absolutely loved our stay.


wonderfull b&b

4,4 su gennaio 21, 2011

We loved our stay and cannot wait to stay again especially with the new in-house spa. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable. I slept very well, and love the large bath tub for two. We also love the the living room, library and bar. There was always great music playing in the living room. Karl was available for all are needs. There was a buzzer in the front hall to buzz for him. The breakfasts were wonderful, they made eggs Benedict for my birthday.


New Year's Eve

4,0 su gennaio 16, 2011

A planned stay in the NW corner of Connecticut was made fabulous by our stay at the Manor house. Great area for touring and hiking, owners were very gracious, helpful, and good cooks as well.


Hi to Karl and Nacy

4,0 su gennaio 11, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the Manor House. What a beautiful old home. This was our second visit and we will no doubt return the next time we go to Infinity Hall. It's just a short walk to the venue. Karl and Nancy are wonderful hosts.


excellent

4,0 su gennaio 03, 2011

Not a fussy, overly in-your-face bed and breakfast. The inn is architecturally fantastic, the innkeepers thoughtful but not invasive, the breakfast excellent. Can't wait til next stay. My only hesitation with providing this review is that it will become too popular!


Great place to stay

4,0 su dicembre 18, 2010

The Manor House is a wonderful place for relaxing and enjoying the beautiful antiques. You feel like you are back in the 18th century. The service was great and the breakfast was outstanding. They have it decorated beautifully for Christmas. The Inn keepers were very attentive and we definitely will recommend it to our friends. Thelma from Virginia Beach


Todd and Colleen's weekend at the Manor House

5 su dicembre 16, 2010

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Manor House. We are from Florida, and this was my husbands Christmas present. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality of Karl and Nancy, and the beauty of the house itself. We had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before....and now will probably never stay in a hotel again.


New Innkeepers Are Wonderful !!

5 su novembre 23, 2010

What a gorgeous place ! Can't say enough about Karl and Nancy. They were completely available and absolutely made sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was sooooo delicious. We can't wait to stay there again - will definitely include a stay with a show at Infinity Hall. Harriet B. Johnson, Litchfield, CT


Perfect match to a night out at Infinity Hall

4,8 su novembre 16, 2010

We just want to say to Karl Vess and Nancy Townshend-Vess (Who are the new owners of the Manor Inn) that are time with them was quite enjoyable and that we felt we were home with them and not just at a hotel. We had the opportunity to visit most of the rooms in the Inn and found them to be warm and inviting. The inn was spotless throughout and full of interesting features. The food was served hot and always with the question can we get you anything else. My wife and I attended a concert at the Infinity Hall and Karl was able to give us a few tips on where to park close and avoid the crowds. The Inn was a perfect match to a night out at Infinity Hall. We most certainly be returning and hopefully with friends and family. Thank you Nancy and Karl Kenneth and Maureen Hamilton Middlefield, CT.


Pleasant But Frenzied...New Innkeepers Overdue

4,4 su novembre 02, 2010

We stayed at the Manor House Inn for our honeymoon. It's stunning. The innkeepers, Michael & Heidi, were lovely but very harried, doing double duty innkeeping and co-owning Wood Creek Bar & Grill, the quaint corner pub in town. They are not the owners of the inn, and in fact, will be leaving the inn shortly to dedicate full-time to their restaurant. A new pair of innkeepers are already slated to take over the inn soon, but in the meantime, guests do get a dose of that “harried” feeling. Amazingly, they left no one at the inn to greet guests, and instead left notes in the front foyer for arriving guests, with maps to our rooms. Although it was actually quite nice to pretty much have the whole house to ourselves, our wedding luncheon nearly fell through the cracks because of their busy state. My sole request for the luncheon was for food that wasn’t “pub grub”, and was assured they could accommodate, but on the day before the wedding, we learned that the lunch menu DID consist of buffalo wings and sandwich –type fare, and adding dinner entrees to this menu would not be possible because of how the kitchen line was arranged. In their harried state of having to manage both the restaurant & inn, my wedding day had fallen through the cracks. I was annoyed that he was making it sound like I never communicated my menu wishes to him, when in fact I did. We actually had to change the time of our wedding—which fortunately was small and informal— but Michael graciously offered to give us a complimentary cocktail hour at the Manor House Inn, with food and drinks that we provided but he arranged, with a fire in the sunroom and the house all to ourselves. This unexpected cocktail hour ended up exceeding our expectations of this wedding, and we were very pleased with the end result. The food, both at the restaurant and for breakfast at the inn, were excellent, and so even with the near-disaster, we would recommend both the inn and pub highly.


Beautiful house, beautiful room, and great value

4,6 su ottobre 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Manor House for our 10th wedding anniversary. Much to our delight we were able to find a room here with only one week's notice. We stayed in the English room, which was beautiful with a four-poster king-sized bed and a whirlpool tub. The innkeeper, Michael, couldn't have been nicer. He arranged in-room massages for us at our request, and they were wonderful. Breakfasts were filling with a choice of either french toast, blueberry pancakes, and eggs to order, and very good. I would highly recommend this inn. You get so much for your money, and at only $240 a night during foliage season, you can't beat it!


Mostly Positive

3,2 su ottobre 13, 2010

Our room was very pretty and very comfortable. The fawcett in our whirlpool tub did not work and we had to use the shower head to fill the tub in order to use the jets. We stayed two nights and when we returned to our room on the second day, housekeeping had been in but didn't leave a roll of toilet tissue despite ours being almost gone. We had to hunt for an extra roll on our own. Also, our waste basket was not emptied. Mostly, though, we had a positive experience and would consider staying again.


Needs Updating

2,8 su settembre 22, 2010

The room we stayed in is in need of painting and the carpet needs to be cleaned. Too much money for the room. On the other hand the breakfast was great and Michael was informative regarding dinner and things to do in the area.


Fantastic Place to Get away

4,6 su settembre 11, 2010

- great rooms -amazing breakfast -very nice inkeeper, very helpful and made us the amazing breakfast -the property is so heavenly and green


Disappointed

4,0 su agosto 15, 2010

I booked a room 6 months in advance and had to cancel it 3 days after I booked it (still 6 months in advance). I was already charged for the room and they charged my a 10% service charge. I asked if they could make an exception as I was possibly looking to book another weekend and they would not honor that request. I was extremely disappointed since they still have 6 months for the room to get booked.


Enjoyable stay

3,2 su giugno 04, 2007

The place was definitely everything that I had expected. The innkeeper was definitely friendly.


A cozy weekend with outstanding hospitality

4,4 su aprile 29, 2007

The innkeepers made themselves very available to our every need. They had a fire and our favorite music going when we got back from dinner in town. There is an incredible attenion to detail all over the inn, and our room was a perfect place to retire for a romantic evening. I would highly recommend Manor House to anyone who's looking for a romantic getaway in the lovely Litchfield countryside.


Manor House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $150 - $255
  • Recensioni (186) 4,4
  • Camere 9
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Numero di Fax 1-8605425690
  • Gratuito 1-8665425690

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina