Rocky Mountain Chalet Recensioni

Globalmente
3,9

Più info

  • Camera4,0
  • Servizi3,8
  • Valore3,8
  • Pulizia4,3
  • Cibo3,5

Valore della struttura
12 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Wonderful experience, especially for the price.

4,4 su marzo 24, 2014

I stayed in the hostel area for a week in February 2014, and it far exceeded my expectations. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms were clean (two-ply!) and the kitchen was very useful. I can't think of much that would have improved my experience, especially for around $30 per night.


Clean room with all night trains nearby

3,0 su luglio 03, 2013

The Rocky Mountain Chalet was a mix between an Inn and a Hostel, with Inn rooms downstairs. There was a continental breakfast which was okay. Good coffee! The Inn is a couple of thousand feet from the train line, which is okay during the day, but trains ran many hours through the night as well, thus disrupting our sleep. We'll look for a quieter location next time.


Fantastic Place to Stay

4,0 su giugno 03, 2013

My sister and I stayed here last January (2013) as a last minute stop to ski in Winter Park on our way home. We knew going into it the hostel-like situation that we were getting into, having both traveled through Europe staying in similar places. We were very happy and pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed our stay here. The staff were all extremely helpful, and the other guests staying at that time were a lot of fun to socialize with in the living and dining rooms. One guest even had discounted lift tickets for us; you just never know who can help you out! It was also great having the kitchen since we tried to make most of our meals to cut back on cost. We stayed in one of the dorm-styled rooms two nights and only had to share with other people one of the nights, the second night we had the room to ourselves. Definitely will stay here again next time we are visiting Winter Park!


A home away from home in the mountains

4,6 su giugno 01, 2013

We spent our honeymoon at the Rocky Mountain Chalet in early April. I've been using the Rocky Mountain Chalet (under it's old name) since 2005 and I keep coming back! The location is ideal for a longer stay in the Winter Park area. Across the street is the Safeway, Alco (smaller version of Walmart), KFC/Taco Bell, and ski/board rental. Great coffee and pizza are also in the plaza.next door, and the parking lot is shared with a nice little Mexican restaurant. The staff really are good people and I keep coming back because of them. They are genuinely welcoming to us as guests in the mountains, versus just another tourist dollar. The rooms were very cozy and the ability to cook food in the great kitchen upstairs really made this a homey place. There are 2 fridges, 2 ovens/gas stoves, 2 sinks, 2 dishwashers, and 2 microwaves. Free coffee and tea anytime, and occasional free cookies or other treats guests prepare just adds to the feeling of home. If you come and stay here, you'll want to come back! Great mountain, great people.


Winter Park Getaway

3,6 su marzo 02, 2013

Our stay was pleasant and our room was comfortable and clean. Having one of the rooms downstairs we were entitled to the breakfast. That worked for us. The breakfast had enough varity to satisfy us. We were in town on a ski trip. The location was conveniently located near Winter Park and Grandby Ranch. Ski Broker ski rentals is only a block away. All in all it was worth the stay here.


A lovely place to stay in the Rockies

3,6 su luglio 05, 2012

Very comfortable room. Many breakfast choices, all good. Location was very convenient for our continued travels in the area.


What a treasure!

5 su dicembre 31, 2011

We just returned from a visit to Fraser over Christmas and we LOVED the Rocky Mtn Chalet!! From the moment we arrived we felt like were were home (not to mention all the Floridians)...Lynda made us feel right at home and took care of every detail...she is a GEM! We cannot say enough great things about this inn (hostel) nestled in Fraser...We stayed in The Sleigh room downstairs....The rooms are nice and comfy with warm robes and slippers....breakfast was perfect each morning. Noise was NEVER and issue except for the train whistle! We loved the 'casual' atmosphere; PJ's were acceptable in the breakfast area/fireplace. They are conveniently located between Winter Park and Granby. This was a great find for us and we will be back!


A great experience

4,2 su settembre 27, 2011

I happened upon this place by luck in 2006. Could not get anyone to join me so was forced to travel alone. I have been back almost every year since. Not only is it clean and comfortable but interacting with the other guests turned out to be an unexpected bonus. I have made several friends who are more than just ski buddies. Highly recommended! PS - I am from the Island of Bermuda


Better than we though

4,2 su settembre 07, 2011

We had low expectations because I read a bad review the night before we left. It exceeded way beyond what we had anticipated and for the low cost, I can't give it enough praise. It was clean, so much space and the staff were great! I think anyone who has traveled would agree it is a huge bang for your buck, especially if you're from Europe. We stayed in a 2 bedroom room. Thanks


retreat weekend

3,4 su agosto 27, 2011

Loved the whole experience! Beautiful rooms, nice touches! Only negative, for us, was that the [new] TV in the common area adjoining the kitchen was on, rather loudly, in the afternoon, through dinner and until 10:30PM quiet time. Distracting. Part of the reason we plan a weekend like this is to get away from things like TV, and just enjoy each other's company and some respite from demands of work, etc. Otherwise, it was all super. The kitchen is amazing. And there's lots of space. Convenient location. Loved the continental breakfast!


NOT a "Bed and Breakfast"

2,2 su luglio 10, 2011

My wife and I were traveling the US and staying primarily at B&B's. Traveling without the kids gave us a great opportunity to become B&B junkies. In our opinion, the Rocky Mountain Chalet does NOT qualify as a "Bed and Breakfast". It qualifies more as a hostel with some private rooms down stairs. We stayed in a private room that had thin walls and we could hear most of what was going on both up stairs and right outside our door. The rooms were nice and what we expected. The food for breakfast was seriously lacking. It was a continental type breakfast with cold pastries, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. We were expecting a more traditional breakfast cooked for us as was done in the multiple B&B's we stayed in across the country. We didn't feel like we were welcomed into a house. Instead, we felt we were welcomed into a motel. There were rules of taking off our shoes at the entry-way, "quiet time" from 10:30pm-6:30am as well as restrictions for skiers and snow-boarders bringing in their equipment. We were woken up just after 7:00am by the sounds of a loud child from the hostel. The child seemed to be making noises right outside our door. My wife and I decided to not fight it, but to instead just leave and get a hot breakfast on the road. When asked while checking out if I enjoyed our stay, I just quietly turned and left. We were not at all happy with our stay because we were expecting a Bed and Breakfast type atmosphere. I would only stay there again if I were looking for a hostel type atmosphere and traveling with my kids. When we travel with our kids, we usually look for places with kitchen access to save us money on food. The Rocky Mountain Chalet would meet our criteria in that case. NOT a "Bed and Breakfast"...

Risposta del proprietario
We certainly apologize for the disappointment that you experienced. We are advertised and can be booked on Bed and Breakfast.com but we are not a B&B. We do not advertise on any website including our own that we are a B&B. We describe ourselves as a Boutique Hotel based on a European Chalet concept. We have made every effort to clearly explain the accommodations and the continental breakfast. Unfortunately we are caught in a tough position by the Reservation Companies as well as the Reservation Software companies. Many of these companies are linked together and have strict rules. We don't qualify as a "hotel" but fall into the B&B, Inns, Lodge, Hostel, Chalet ect. category. BedandBreakfast.com is a booking engine that covers this category and that is advertised on their homepage. We have no intention of misleading anyone and have taken many steps to explain our unique Chalet on the internet. The "shoe rule" is to keep costs down and the quality of our floor surfaces up, it's common in almost every home in this valley to do so because of the snow and mud that we have for the periods of the year. Every room has a boot tray in the closet for shoes if our guests don't want to leave them at the entry. Our common areas are gathering places for people to relax and or socialize, we do ask our guests to respect the others who wish to sleep by putting quiet hours for the common areas. If you want to read or surf the internet by the fire or upstairs in the great room, you are welcomed to do so. Because of our requests to keep shoes, skis and snowboards out of the rooms, we are continuously complimented on how well maintained and clean our Chalet is. Once again, we apologize for the disappointment you felt. Thank you for your compliments.


Best place to stay around Winter Park?

4,2 su marzo 09, 2011

I haven't stayed at the resort or any other hotels, but for the money, I don't think you could find a better place to stay and ski. The breakfast is great, and the rooms were better than we hoped. Great place for a getaway for 2, or for a family.


Rocky Mountain Chalet

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $28 - $249
  • Recensioni (12) 3,9
  • Camere 6
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-9707268256
  • Gratuito 1-8664678351

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina