Ultime Recensioni in Catskill, New York

The Best B&B ever a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il settembre 02, 2014

We've been there for the Labor weekend.... everything was amazing. Marry Ann and Gil was so sweet and kind. We had the most delicious - royal breakfast we could imagine. And the snacks late afternoon with wine it was perfect after a long day out. Definitely we are going again SOONNNNN.

Vedi più recensioni


A Gem in The Catskills a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il ottobre 19, 2013

If you're looking for a great place to stay while exploring the Catskills and the Hudson valley, look no further, you've found it! My wife and I spent our 25th wedding anniversary there in early October. This B&B has ornately decorated rooms, spacious common areas, a tennis court and pool table, and an unmatched gourmet breakfast. Mary Ann and Gil are gracious hosts that made our occasion special by helping me surprise my wife, selecting and picking up our champagne. Each late afternoon they provide wine and cheese. After you come back from dinner at one of the fine restaurants they recommend in the area, they provide port wine and homemade sweets, but breakfast is the main attraction. One day we had poached peaches followed by sweet potato pancakes with maple syrup, eggs and bacon. The other day we had wonderfully glazed pineapples followed by a choice of either eggs Benedict or whole grain waffles with fresh berries and whipped cream. Both of these breakfasts were better than those I've had at other B&Bs in the Northeast. A mere two houses down from The Post Cottage is Cedar Grove, the Thomas Cole National Historic Site, the home and painting studio of the founder of the Hudson River School of landscape painters, containing many of his paintings. To go further afield, Mary Ann and Gil provide a fine written guide for an auto tour of the Catskills which have scenic views and a beautiful waterfall. The fall leaves were stunning on the crisp, clear day we set out. If you take Mary Ann and Gil's driving tour, and then go to Cedar Grove, you can see much of the scenery Cole painted, and see some of the paintings themselves. Mary Ann and Gil are very accommodating and kind hosts who go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. We will definitely stay there again, when we travel that way.

Vedi più recensioni


Winter Weekend Getaway a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

4,8 Recensione postata il ottobre 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few nights last year over the holidays. While not the standard choice for a couple in their late 20's, the B&B experience we had here was fantastic. The house was lovely, homey, and quiet; the innkeepers, friendly and at-your-service; the breakfast (plus the late afternoon snacks), phenomenal. We could not have been happier with our stay and would recommend it highly.

Vedi più recensioni


Want to go back a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il agosto 19, 2013

We went for a romantic anniversary getaway and were not disappointed! Our room was amazing, the furnishings were exquisite---my husband drooled over the antiques and gorgeous pieces---and the house is just so charming and lovely. We were fed the most spectacular breakfasts, with vegetables straight from their garden, and Mary Ann and Gil were just the best hosts---attentive but not overbearing. We really can't wait to go back!

Vedi più recensioni


New Years Eve Retreat a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il luglio 10, 2013

We stayed at the Post Cottage to ring in the New Year and had the most relaxing and enjoyable weekend. Our hosts were so gracious and friendly. We enjoyed sitting in the main living room by the fire and chatting with them and the other guest staying at the house. The breakfast was delicious, as were the evening snacks (and wine) and late night sweets. We made the 35-40 min drive to Wyndham to spend the day skiing and spent a few nights exploring the nearby town of Hudson for dinner and strolling. Overall, it was such a relaxing visit upstate and we would love to return soon!

Vedi più recensioni


Can't wait to go back!!! a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il gennaio 08, 2013

You could feel the warmth as soon as you walked in the door. Absolutely charming home with breathtaking, warm decor. Breakfast was better than a 5-star hotel. Wine & homemade appys at 5:30 in front of a wood burning fireplace was extroadinary. Mary Ann is a great cook! We were sad to leave. Felt like family! Another couple was there for the 2nd time and will return again. Love - Gwen & Andy

Vedi più recensioni


We love this place, nice inn keeper - very helpful, beautiful porch view upstairs a Catskill Lodge (Windham, New York)

4,4 Recensione postata il luglio 29, 2012

My gf and I stayed here last July, and we really couldn't get over the place for the price. The place was beautiful, clean and homey, and the inn deeper made it very clear that she was available to answer any and all questions. That's important - it made us feel at ease. There were these helpful information sheets right on the fridge, with recommendations for activities, restaurants, etc. And also there were delicious cookies, and fresh tea and coffee, available at all times. Priceless when you come back from a day of hiking. The part we loved was the porch upstairs. You can sit and watch the sun go down over the mountain..really peaceful. And there is a MASSIVE DVD collection! We really enjoyed that too.

Vedi più recensioni


An amazing place! a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il aprile 08, 2012

We had a lovely time at The Post Cottage....very clean and our room was lovely. The breakfast was amazing! Mary Ann and Gil were the perfect hosts. We plan to go back there this summer. Barry and Rita

Vedi più recensioni


No comparison! a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il dicembre 02, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Post Cottage right when they opened. Everything was just amazing. We were greeted like old friends by Gil and Maryann from the moment we arrived. We played tennis on the court right next to the house and they brought us out beverages and snacks! The room was amazing and cozy too. And last but not least, the breakfast was AMAZING!! I felt like I was in an expensive French restaurant. We had an amazing time and felt so relaxed!! We can't wait to go back!

Vedi più recensioni


Fully agree with previous reviews a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il settembre 13, 2011

As previously noted, both guest rooms and spacious common areas offer an unusual balance of elegance and comfort. Mary Ann and Gil are friendly yet unobtrusive, and the food at breakfast, afternoon wine & hors d'oeuvres, and evening port and dessert are excellent. Tea and cold drinks are available 24/7 as well. The location is peaceful yet convenient to all Catskill attractions as well as the galleries and restaurants of Hudson and everything on the east bank of the Hudson River as well. Would certainly recommend and return.

Vedi più recensioni


Go for the Room/Food, you won't want to Leave a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

4,8 Recensione postata il agosto 04, 2011

I rarely write such a rave as follows for The Post Cottage and Innkeepers Gil and Mary Ann. This historic house has been lovingly restored and the thoughtfulness with which this has been accomplished impressed the engineer in me and the interiors impressed the artist in me. As a solo traveler, I selected the North Room, but this room would have easily accommodated a couple in fine style and the private bath was tip-top. I enjoyed the extra wide sink, decor and the attention to detail was evident in the selection of hardware, luxury showerhead and sumptuous towels. The Queen bed, dressed in luxury linens, had a memory foam mattress and this was perhaps the most comfortable bed in which I have ever slept. So...the room was great. Now...you will also be treated to wine and cheese at 5:30p.m. as part of this B&B experience...and this is not to be missed. Innkeepers Gil and Mary Ann do everything possible to make guests feel welcome to join them at the fireside in the sitting room and you will soon find stimulating conversation, good wine, upscale cheese and more. In the later evening out comes dessert and Port wine at which point I started thinking ...(can I just live here)! Desserts are a real treat and are homemade from family recipes. So.... the hospitality was great! Then, if you haven't already been made a huge fan......there's breakfast! And I can cook....but these two can really cook!....It was just gormet, gormet...plenty of it, beautifully presented on fine china and with linen napkins....great coffee, additional baked goods with jams, etc. This is the kind of breakfast I dream about and have rarely found except perhaps in the Hotel Hershey Circular Dining Room (this would cost you about $25/person in Hershey). So, ...the food was better than great! Conclusion...if you have any need in the Catskill, NY area for lodging....stay at The Post Cottage!!!

Vedi più recensioni


We can't wait to go back. a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

4,8 Recensione postata il agosto 01, 2011

Everything was wonderful - large, comfortable clean rooms and an out of this world breakfast.

Vedi più recensioni


We wish we could have stayed a month! a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

4,4 Recensione postata il maggio 21, 2011

Mary Ann and Gil were warm and welcoming hosts, without being in our faces. The wine/appetizers were a pleasant decompression from traveling and a calming transition into our stress-free get-a-way. The dessert was a treat before relaxing in the jacuzzi! We slept like logs in a very pleasant bedroom, and awakened to the best breakfasts we have ever had! The house has been renovated and decorated beautifully with antiques, while still feeling comfortable and hospitable. We would happily return....for longer next time!

Vedi più recensioni


Escape to the Catskills a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il maggio 10, 2011

Thank you Maryann and Gil for a phenomenal weekend! The home is in impeccable condition as it was completely renovated in 2010 and opened in early 2011. The décor and attention to detail is beautiful – elegant but comfortable. Our room was lovely with a memory foam bed, great shower, chocolates by the bed, and nice bath products. It’s a toss up who’s a better chef – Maryann or Gil. We were greeted with fresh cookies. The afternoon wine and cheese was supplemented with mint juleps in honor of the Derby and a lovely spread. We returned home from dinner to find a homemade torte, dessert wine and a fire a glow. This was only topped off by the gourmet breakfast of homemade mango blintzes, local bacon, shirred eggs, caramelized grapefruit, fresh coffee, the list goes on. Honestly one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had. We were welcomed to use the tennis courts on the property, billiards table in the living room, lots of magazines and books for browsing and even got to pet the bunnies. You can tell that this inn is run with love and care.

Vedi più recensioni


A Perfect Getaway a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il marzo 11, 2011

We recently stayed at the Post Cottage in Catskill, NY and had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful, and tastefully decorated. We enjoyed our room immensely -- the thermostatically controlled fireplace was a real treat. Breakfast was truly exceptional - I'd say a cut above most bed and breakfasts. The food was delicious! In terms of the area, the inn was well situated for our purposes. It's not very far from the ski slopes (which allowed us to get an early start on the mountain) and very close to other towns and attractions in the region. We visited Hudson, NY on our second day, and spent the whole afternoon browsing its many shops. Hudson is only five minutes from the inn, and was definitely worth the trip. We had an excellent dinner at Bell's Cafe in downtown Catskill and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good meal close to the inn. All in all, we had a wonderful stay at the Post Cottage. We felt very well taken care of.

Vedi più recensioni


Great weekend a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il marzo 11, 2011

We had a great weekend getaway here. Food was great and plentiful and the room was big and well furnished and newly redone. Lots of snow outside and nice fireplace in the room. Fresh flowers were a nice touch. Catskill itself is a cute little town that is sort of a hub for the area -- we drove through the mountains Saturday and looked at antiques on Sunday.

Vedi più recensioni


Great stay at The Post Cottage a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il marzo 03, 2011

One of the secrets of the Post Cottage is that the owners, Gilbert and Maryann, are accomplished and intelligent people with interesting backgrounds. Gilbert, we learned, not only was a successful retired lawyer, but in an earlier career he was chef and at one point the Bagnells owned a French restaurant. The breakfasts really were something! We also enjoyed the furnishings and art. Maryann is a retired art teacher and Gilbert's father was an artist. Catskill is a charming little town and we had a great tapas meal at 355, a local restaurant. We enjoyed walks along the nearby Hudson River and took a drive to the west into the hills where we discovered a one-mile hike to a large waterfall (the trail is marked and maintained.) Overall, a very enjoyable get-away.

Vedi più recensioni


Delightful hospitality and incredible food in Catskill a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

4,4 Recensione postata il marzo 01, 2011

My husband and I just spent two nights at Post Cottage and could not have asked for a better escape. We arrived late on Friday night, but were warmly welcomed by our hosts, who sent us off to bed with a tray laden with cookies and a decanter of port, no less! Saturday's breakfast gave us a choice of juices, and a berry cocktail atop home-made jelly. Next, blintzes filled with warm mango and a hint of ginger, and shirred eggs - quite the most delicious I've had in a long time. Also available: fresh bread, croissants and home-made banana bread. After browsing the antique stores of Hudson on Saturday, we returned to the inn and a welcoming wood fire blazing in the library. We could have played pool, chosen any one of a number of interesting titles from the well-stocked bookshelves, or picked up a board game. We napped! At 5 pm, we were served snacks - Gil drew his inspiration from a visit to Italy for Umbrian Cabernet Sauvignon and an array of bread and crackers with delicious toppings: chopped olives, and goats cheese with honey and rosemary. When we returned later from our not-so-memorable meal at a local restaurant, dessert plates were laid out, bearing the most perfect looking slice of raspberry linzertorte, with a bowl of freshly whipped cream on ice on the side. The cake, made by Mary Ann, was exceptional: light and not over-sweet. Sunday breakfast: grilled trout and a beurre blanc sauce (I think) rosti, Provencal tomato, and a poached egg. We enjoyed the delicious surprise of a ruby red grapefruit half, sprinkled with sugar, and "bruleed" under the broiler. Fabulous. Mary Ann and Gil Bagnell will do splendidly - they love cooking, decorating, and people, in no particular order. They were as companionable as we hoped, yet the very essence of discretion. Post Cottage is tastefully restored and furnished, and much thought has gone into the comfort of its guests. What a gem!

Vedi più recensioni


Top notch all around! a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il febbraio 28, 2011

The room was very clean, newly renovated, and gorgeous. Their was also a pool table, board games, flat screen TV's, very nice touches. Mary and Gil were super nice. Not only were the rooms large and cozy but the food was delicious! Starting with the extras you don't see at most B&B's, wine and crackers, succulent home made cookies, then dessert served with port wine. Then you are spoiled by some of the best gourmet breakfast my fiance and I have ever had. I had the trout and he had the stuffed French Toast. Both were fantastic. YOU MUST TRY the Trout breakfast as it is excellent! We can't wait to go back!!!!

Vedi più recensioni


Get more than you pay for! a The Post Cottage (Catskill, New York)

5 Recensione postata il febbraio 27, 2011

I have been in alot of BNBs, but Post Cottage has greatly impressed me by their food. You get cookies, port/red wine, and delicious gourmet snacks. I only see bnbs serving breakfast, but Post Cottage went above and beyond my expectations. The room (West room) I stayed in is clean and beautiful. Very romantic and comfortable. Make sure you get the trout for breakfast as it is EXCELLENT! -Jackie (New Jersey)

Vedi più recensioni


Nice place but prefer they were pet friendly a Catskill Lodge (Windham, New York)

3,8 Recensione postata il novembre 18, 2010

when we booked we called first & asked if they had sofer water,they told us they did not. but when in fact they did, not real bad but if your not use to that water you might be disapointed, I have family in the catskills and my hubby doesnt like to stay with them because they have the stinky sofer water, so I booked a stay here even if it was a good drive back & forth to see my family below the moutains to the cairo area, when we went to enjoy the jet tub the first night, the smell of the stinky water hit my hubby's nose & he was upset because he felt he was lied to about the water. when he asked them the next morning whats up with the stinky water,they admitted they do have it, not extream, but do & here we booked a few nights and was still stuck with the stinky water & was bound to the 3 nights we booked of our stay or lose the $ we put out already,so he was not as happy as I was with the place. hubby did loved the food they cooked in the mornings,the only other cork we do have about staying here again is we like to travel with our pet (Dog) and this place not pet friendly .we travel a long distance to go visit my family about (3,000 miles) to visit catskills & if we bring our pet we prefer to stay were we can keep it with us, not have to leave it with some one in my family,so we have found other B&B's in the catskills some cheaper rates & allow us to keep mans best friend with us on our stay & some charge as low fee per night to let us. if they were pet friendly & a little cheaper.maybe we stay again on our trip. we hope that they do consider becoming pet friendly so we could come and enjoy the place again, Is the place is over all nice ? yes it is ! would I stay again? prob . would I have any requests ? yes become pet friendly ! thanks guys for a nice stay over all.

Vedi più recensioni


25th Wedding Anniversary Trip a Catskill Lodge (Windham, New York)

4,0 Recensione postata il agosto 02, 2010

This B&B has an exceptional ambiance that is the life of the house itself. It "feels" good. There is an abundance of travel information and books in the common areas, the service was terrific, and the Innkeepers thoughtfully placed a bottle of chilled wine in our room after finding out about our anniversary. The Inn is both quaint and elegant, and is located close to Olana and the Hudson River Landscape Painter's inspirational sites. Great area for hiking and exploring. We'll be back!

Vedi più recensioni


"A pleasure but with some surprises." a Catskill Lodge (Windham, New York)

3,6 Recensione postata il gennaio 08, 2010

With a great deal of offerings in the way of evening entertainment (board games, TV, DVD's, books), the Catskill Lodge has a lot to entice in the way of apres skiing opportunities. The rooms are well-decorated, clean, if not somewhat cramped (there are several in this category). The wood-burning stove offers a cozy and warm (sometimes too warm) welcome upon return from the slopes. The breakfasts are the best: well-prepared, plentiful, and delicious! And, should you wish to cook your own evening meal, the kitchen is there for your cooking pleasure! Our host, David, is helpful and informative. Although most of the time he remains an attentive and unobstrusive shadow in the background waiting his turn to act or speak, don't be startled if he suddenly (and inappropriately) erupts with a sharp, rude or unpleasant comment/response. Except for one or two of these unexpected and embarassing occurences, our experience at the Catskill Lodge was very enjoyable.

Vedi più recensioni


BLISS AND PLEASURE a Catskill Lodge (Windham, New York)

5 Recensione postata il agosto 12, 2009

Highly recommend. Stayed 2 days and had a wonderful time. Fabulous hiking in nearby State Park. Climbed Kaaterskill Falls. Steve and Lena.

Vedi più recensioni


Great Service a Catskill Lodge (Windham, New York)

5 Recensione postata il febbraio 11, 2007

Spent the weekend with my wife in the woodstock room which has a shared bathroom with the Hunter room. I must admit that I was a little skeptical at first, but let me tell you, the Miller Brothers rolled out the carpet for us. The Apres Ski Wine & Cheese was a great way to get to know the other guests. The breakfast was outstanding with local syrup, great french toast and scrambeled eggs with cheese. Why pay an extra $30 per night for a private bathroom when you are only in there for 15 minutes anyway. We never had to wait to use the bathroom. The ski & stay package was the cheapest in town, but don't let that make you think they skimp on quality or service. A great ski getaway...too bad you are booked for the rest of the ski season. We may have to take off from work for a midweek stay...see you guys soon...

Vedi più recensioni


Best B&B we've stayed at a Catskill Lodge (Windham, New York)

5 Recensione postata il gennaio 05, 2007

This was the most fun B&B we've stayed at. The social atmosphere was great because you have the option to come down to the common area and talk with other guests or the Miller brothers themselves. They see their job as not just providing a place to stay, but also entertaining their guests. We happened to stay there on New Year's Eve, and The Miller brothers made a reservation for themselves, us and 5 other guests at Visuvio's right down the street. It ended up being one of the most fun New Years in recent memory, and we came away with some new friends. The fact that the place is run by three brothers in their 20's and 30's gives this place an energetic feel. We're from Boston, and we will probably choose Windham over Vermont for our next getaway because we had so much fun.

Vedi più recensioni


I migliori B&B

  1. The Post Cottage (4,91)
  2. Catskill Lodge (4,40)
Inizio pagina
}