Hollyhock Country House Recensioni

Globalmente
3,9

Più info

  • Camera3,5
  • Servizi4,1
  • Valore3,9
  • Pulizia4,0
  • Cibo4,1

Valore della struttura
22 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Autentic and original

3,8 su ottobre 28, 2014

We loved staying with Lucille in her beautiful country house! So very different and very homely filled with wonderful things. Sonoma very near is a nice old town.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for being a satisfied guest at Hollyhock Country House.


Funky Early 20th Century House

3,6 su settembre 06, 2014

We checked in a couple of days after the Napa Earthquake. Even though the house was in Sonoma there were a couple of cracks in the plaster. The house is in need of some TLC and the home of an accomplished artist. The bedroom is small and the bad a normal double -- adequate for one but crowded for two. Fortunately we had a cool spell in the evening as there is no air conditioning. Price is right and one of the few B&B's that did not want to sell you the whole 3 day holiday weekend. There is no shower only a bathtub with a funky plastic hose to use to wash your hair. There is a cat on premise -- so if you have allergies it may be an issue. Cat is actually very tame and always wanted to be petted. The hostess is charming and the breakfast good. We would not do it again however.


Hollyhock Country House Review

4,4 su febbraio 22, 2014

This was such a nice place to stay if you are looking for something different than a big hotel. Hollyhock is located in the middle of vineyards and if you arrive at night it may seem a little sketch, but we were inside we didn't want leave! It is beautifully decorated and the innkeeper was and very welcoming. Our breakfast was out on the sun deck and it was beautifully decorated with art and artifacts from her travels. We loved it!

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for taking the time to review Hollyhock Country House.


Hollyhock Country House

4,4 su dicembre 20, 2013

Our wine country weekend get away was perfectly completed by our stay at the Hollyhock. Very peaceful, very quaint. Highly recommend! DYLLIC!


Quirky spot tucked away in Sonoma

3,4 su novembre 22, 2013

Lucille was a great host and we found her home to be very warm and inviting. We only stayed one night, but it was the perfect little hideaway for our one day wine tasting in Sonoma. The breakfast was tasty and Lucille shared her recent travel stories with us. It was very nice.

Risposta del proprietario
Thank you for your reservation at Hollyhock Country House. I enjoyed getting to know you and hope to see you again. I like to think there are no strangers at Hollyhock Country House, only friends who have not yet met!


Clean and friendly, good value

3,6 su luglio 10, 2013

Our room at Hollyhock Country House was clean and comfortable, and well appointed. Since we were the only couple there, we did not have to share the bathroom--a definite plus. The owner/innkeeper is very friendly and nice, and bakes delicious homemade pastries from scratch for her guests every day. It's very low key, and we were free to come in late, which we appreciated. The only drawback to Hollyhock Country House is that it's on well water, which has a very distinct smell. The owner does use bottled water for her cooking, coffee, etc., but neither my husband or I wanted to bathe there because we didn't like the smell of the water. Otherwise, Hollyhock Country House is a good value compared to the other expensive options in the area. No two-night minimum was also a plus. .


Charming and Quirky

4,2 su ottobre 07, 2012

This was my first time staying at a B&B. Lucille greeted us warmly into her country home and made us feel very welcomed. We found the artistic decor unique and entertaining. Loved the baked goods she offered each morning. Would stay again.


Hollyhock Country House

4,0 su ottobre 03, 2012

Great location, Cape Cod farm house, comfortable, quiet; charming innkeeper with expert baking skills.


Off the beaten track

5 su marzo 16, 2012

What a find! Only place in Sonoma County that books for a single night -- great find since we live in bay area & were attending a wine country wedding.


Great house with a really good host

4,6 su agosto 28, 2011

Great antique looking house with interesting furniture and painting by the owner. Lucille made a tasty breakfast of freshly baked pastries.


Wonderful stay

5 su agosto 19, 2011

I had a great time here. The room was nice and I slept like a baby. There were roses in a vase on the bedside table. The host are very nice people who went out of their way to make me comfortable. The baked treat for breakfast were lovely. I will definitely stay here again!


Beautiful surroundings

4,0 su agosto 03, 2011

The hostess was great. We loved the breakfast. It was a good stay overall.


A nice way to stay in Sonoma

4,6 su agosto 02, 2011

Sweet house surrounded by garden and art. A peaceful alternative -- enjoyed the atmosphere after a long day of training -- breakfast was a cozy & delicious start of the day.


Cute little antique place

3,8 su luglio 18, 2011

The house is cute & cozy. The host is very welcoming, charming lady. Very peaceful environment -- nice backyard, vineyard view.


Only stay if you want a cheaper place, not comfort

1,2 su giugno 08, 2011

Would agree with "Cannot recommend Hollyhock Country House." We stayed one night for a wedding in Sonoma. The smell of cat urine hit us as soon as we walked in the door; we had to keep the screen-less window open the entire time to be able to breathe. We arrived with plenty of time to get dressed - except that there was no shower. At the time, there was no mention of only a claw-foot tub on the site, and after a day of hot, sweaty sightseeing, it took me an hour to wash my long hair under the faucet and shave my legs. Also, the tub ran out of cold (yep, cold!) water. I had no time to dry my hair, and we barely made it to the wedding (10 minutes away) on time. The furnishings in the room are old, and not clean. There were stains on the cushion of the small bench, and the bed is VERY creaky! The linens are not particularly nice. Also, the double bed is pushed against the wall, so we had to clamber over each other. We were not invited into any common area, so the small room was it. Breakfast is only pastries, juice and coffee. The hostess was nice.

Risposta del proprietario
It is unfortunate this guest could not express her displeasure about her stay while she was here. If a guest makes a reservation through a booking agency they do not have all the details of our establishment. Our phone number and email is posted on the Bed and Breakfast website. A guest can get in contact with Hollythock Contry House and all information will be given about the room and bath. In the future I would suggest this guest book a room with upscale accommodations. The simple bed and breakfast lifestyle is obviously not for her.


A stay in Sonoma

4,0 su maggio 07, 2011

I liked the warm and comfortable setting with the hummingbirds and many trees nestled amongst the foilage surrounding the historic home.


Cannot recommend Hollyhock Country House

1,2 su aprile 11, 2011

Distinct odor of cat urine pervades the house and intensfies at night when the heater comes on. Room is very small (a small study under the stairs with a bed stuck in it), and there is no closet or dresser. Also, there is no shower, only a tupperware bowl provided to rinser hair in the tub. They are not really set up to run a bed and breakfast, and the attention to detail and cleanliness are just not there.

Risposta del proprietario
This couple stayed two nights. The first morning we had a pleasant conversation and there was no mention that they were unhappy with the accommodations. Day two the guests had vacated their room and were no longer at the bed and breakfast by 7am that morning. They did not leave a note explaining why they left or what grievances they had with their room. I received a call from the travel agent that morning requesting a refund for their stay. These complaints are misleading and incorrect. The bedroom is not located under stairs. It is a comfortable room with a full-size bed, a large window, original art on the walls, and an antique armoire. Within the armoire there is a full hanging closet for garments. The bathroom is country style with a claw foot tub. I have been serving the public for the past twenty years and my goal is to provide comfort and enjoyment for my guests. Our bed and breafast is located on country property and offers a relaxed quiet lifestyle. If you love country you will like Hollyhock Country House. Youtube.com/Sonoma Hollyhock Country House


lovely

4,2 su novembre 06, 2010

The hostess was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We had a lovely time.


Hollyhock Review

3,4 su settembre 11, 2010

A quiet secluded country home bed and breakfast close to Sonoma. Great breakfast pastries and well traveled artist as a host.


Charming farm house visit

5 su luglio 27, 2010

My husband and I loved the quaint decor and slept very well. The owner bakes marvelous treats for breakfast! Our favorite part was wandering around the field, pond and orchard. Excellent value!


Hollyhock Country House.

4,0 su novembre 29, 2007

Very homey, comfortable, and nice.


Peace and quiet- a home away from home.

5 su ottobre 22, 2007

On our first visit to Sonoma, we arrived at Hollyhock Country House and were graciously welcomed by Lucille, our friendly host. She was a terrific guide to the region and a fabulous baker! The house is situated off the main road so the nights were very peaceful. This B&B is a great value and I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a quiet relaxing weekend close to the vineyards!


Hollyhock Country House

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $90 - $120
  • Recensioni (22) 3,9
  • Camere 1
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7079381809
Inizio pagina