Goose & Turrets B&B Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,3
  • Servizi4,7
  • Valore4,2
  • Pulizia4,6
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
55 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Beautiful, quiet, romantic

4,2 su novembre 12, 2014

Beautiful setting. Eclectic decor throughout the main living area--lots to see. The Clipper room is full of early flight (think Wright Brothers) decorations and memorabilia. Breakfast was delicious and filling. Our hosts were mostly absent---appearing silently to leave tea and set out breakfast, leaving us alone to explore the B&B on our own--which we loved.


Love the Goose and Turrets

5 su novembre 11, 2014

We had a great stay here! Our hosts, Emily and Raymond, are so welcoming, we just love to stay here. The breakfasts are outstanding, and they are very helpful about getting reservations and directing us to local hikes and beaches. This is a wonderful, quirky, bookish place, and we always meet such interesting and congenial people!


Not so romantic

4,2 su novembre 09, 2014

Our romantic getaway need up being fun in a totally different way. The restaurant a mile down the road made the whole experience better. Ocean view and great food! A nice getaway


Exceeded expectations

4,4 su marzo 08, 2014

Everything was excellent. The owners are extraordinary, generous and filled with life experience. They kindly let our daughter and son in law join us for afternoon tea. Excellent food. Very relaxing. Very environmentally responsible using recycled water for their outside landscaping.


Serenity and personality

5 su gennaio 10, 2014

We come here every year. Gourmet breakfast and tea, and Raymond is happy to explain how he grows much of the produce himself and makes most dishes from scratch. A house filled with books and art. Very accommodating hosts.


Always a delight

4,8 su settembre 07, 2013

We have stayed at the Goose and Turret many times while visiting family in Montara and Half Moon Bay, and frequently meet other repeat guests at the B&B. Breakfast is delicious with multiple courses that change daily. We enjoy talking with Emily and Raymond about flying, traveling, cooking, gardening and other interests. I also enjoy practicing French with Raymond, who has a French background.


A nice stay just outside of San Francisco

4,8 su agosto 09, 2013

Great breakfast and interesting and gracious hosts. Charming room and comfortable bed.


A Nice stay just outside of San Francisco

4,6 su agosto 05, 2013

Great breakfast and interesting and gracious hosts. Charming rom and comfortable bed.


Coastal Oasis

5 su luglio 30, 2012

A hidden gem on the wild coast south of San Francisco. Great rooms, amazing food and gracious hosts.


Eccentric B & B

2,8 su luglio 22, 2012

Our room was lovely. However, the B & B is rather eccentric. I never felt 100 per cent comfortable there. Perhaps, it is the history of the building. Maybe, it is the "tea time." Or it could be the extraordinary "precision" of check in/check out time and breakfast time. It's too structured for my taste. It has an odd feeling to me. My husband did not notice anything. So, to be fair, I'd give it three stars.


What a gem!

4,6 su giugno 25, 2012

My wife and I recently took her dream drive up the California coast along Route 1. We spent several nights at Goose & Turrets B&B. The proprietors, Raymond and Emily are wonderful, interesting people. The house is full of nice pieces collected from around the world. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts that we were served were delicious multi-course affairs. Tea and homemade snacks were served every afternoon at 4:30. Raymond and Emily had great recommendations for restaurants to eat at and places to see. This was a great find.


Wonderful Stay

5 su marzo 25, 2012

I loved the old historic house and the gardens were beautiful. Very interesting inn owners with delightful conversation.


Wonderful hospitality!

5 su marzo 25, 2012

Emily & Raymond were the most gracious hosts I have ever experienced. Highly recommended!


Great, unique B&B

5 su marzo 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here this past weekend for our one year anniversary. We had a wonderful time, and really enjoyed meeting the hosts, Emily and Raymond. The house has a very interesting history, and is filled with interesting art. It's tucked away in a quiet neighborhood, and is a great place for a relaxing getaway. We had tea and good conversation at 4:30, and went to Cafe Gibraltar for dinner (Raymond was kind enough to call in to make a reservation for us). We loved the breakfast and coffee the next morning that we enjoyed before heading back to the city. Look forward to coming here again in the future, and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a unique experience with great hosts in a historic building.


Fascinating host and hostess AND high tea!!!

4,0 su febbraio 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent his birthday weekend here. Emily and Ray are such fun -- individually, but especially (to me, at least) how they banter to each other - their rapport is fun, and intellectually cheeky. They are both such fascinating and sweet people. We sped down to Montara to make it just in time for tea...which was the main reason why I had chose their B&B over others. We had a pleasant time -- intriguing conversations, met other couples who had likewise come for a relaxing stay for a spouse's birthday or an anniversary. We will definitely come back!


Almost a peaceful retreat

4,0 su novembre 26, 2011

We stayed in the Clipper room and enjoyed it very much. I was concerned about the rooms being cold but the bedroom, private bath across the hall and sitting room/dining room were always very warm and comfortable. The gardens are charming, too. Unfortunately on the second day our stay was marred by painters taping up our window and obscuring the peaceful garden view and playing their radio right outside our window when we would have preferred to enjoy the peace and quiet. Raymond seemed unconcerned about this annoyance. I also enjoyed the teas and breakfasts and conversation with Emily.


Great stay at the Goose and Turrets

3,8 su agosto 30, 2011

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay with our 3 year old son. All three of us were made to feel most welcome and enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Our room was very clean and comfortable with plenty of room for all of us.


Exquisite Delight at Goose and Turrets

4,0 su agosto 10, 2011

Goose and Turrets was a perfect start to a week-long trip in the Bay Area. After having been in hectic downtown San Francisco for four days, Goose and Turrets provided a welcome retreat. We were welcomed upon arrival and shown our satisfying room. The highlight of the afternoon was tea, served in a comfortable living room, surrounded by travel treasures of the owners. In order to decide upon a location for dinner, a book of menus for the area was available, as was a local phone for making reservations. (Cell phones do not work at Goose and Turrets!) The room and adjoining bathroom were comfortable and quiet. In the bathroom we had heated towels! The morning was simply grand with a four-course breakfast served on wonderful, elegant dishes. First came a delightful fresh fruit smoothie Second was oatmeal, followed by an egg and salmon scamble. Finally, the last course was a serving of lemon sorbet. Each course was just the right portion, so different from the portions served at a typical American restaurant. With an accompanying Ethiopian coffee, breakfast could not have been more exquisite. Goose and Turrets was definitely worth the stay. More nights would have simply brought more delight.


Fantastic

5 su agosto 04, 2011

Fantastic place! Wonderful people cozy thank you


It's All About Breakfast

4,6 su luglio 31, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here multiple times and have never been disappointed. Tucked into a quiet neighborhood, minutes from Half Moon Bay and it's beaches and harbor area, charm and history that comes with a unique building, and exceptional hospitality. I enjoy sitting in the garden before breakfast watching birds and reading, while my wife sleeps in til breakfast. And breakfast is always a super treat. Complimentary tea in the afternoon is a plus. Hosts Ray and Emily are wonderful to visit with (and when they are off vacationing their daughter Maria steps up to fill the void).


A Wonderful Visit

5 su luglio 29, 2011

This place was amazing. The people were so nice and welcoming yet unobtrusive. The food was excellent. The decor is like a museum with pictures, artifacts, historical notes, etc. and everything was immaculately kept. It was like staying in a friend's home and we didn't even have room keys, although we could have if we'd wanted. It was close to lots of attractions, great restaurants and the beach. It was so relaxing. There's a lovely garden in the back with a walking path. It was just a wonderful surprise and we'd definitely go there again and again. I just recommended it to my Aunt and she made a reservation for her daughter right away. Incredible hospitality!


Outstanding B&B

4,8 su luglio 03, 2011

We recently stayed at this beautiful B&B, and were absolutely surprised by the amazing breakfasts and hospitality. Walking distance from pretty much everything we wanted to do, this was the perfect location. If our travels find us in Montara, we will certainly be back.


Welcoming and pleasant getaway

3,0 su luglio 01, 2011

We stayed one night, arriving in time for tea. It was a very interesting place with lots to see, look at and read. The bedroom was comfortable and clean as was the bathroom. The breakfast was very tasty. In general a pleasant stay and it met our needs and expectations.


A Lovely Stay

4,8 su giugno 03, 2011

The Goose & Turrets is tucked into a lush neighborhood a few blocks back from the ocean, protected from the wind and highway noise. It was like a home away from home for us. We spent four days there, relaxing, touring the area and getting to know Raymond and Emily. Each morning Emily or Raymond prepared and served us a delicious and creative 4-course breakfast at 9am. And though that is much later than our normal schedule, it gave me time to have a morning walk in the garden, or relax with a cup of coffee and a good book from the ample and varied library. Lively conversation at afternoon tea, genteel hospitality and the delightful new friendships with Raymond and Emily were the highlights of our stay. We'll be coming back often! Tamara and Mike


Great stay!

4,6 su maggio 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed here May 14th 2011 weekend. We reserved the Hummingbird room. We were surprised how big the room was. There were others in our party who reserved all but one of the other rooms. I have to say, I'm glad we reserved Hummingbird, because some of the others don't have their own bathroom. The couple who run the establishment were very pleasant and interesting to talk to. The history of the building was fun to hear about. The grounds of the B&B are very nice and lavish with nice flowers and trees. The Montara beach is within walking distance. It is a beautiful and clean beach. The restaurant near the beach had great food. We would highly recommend staying here and would go again.


Nice Place

3,8 su maggio 20, 2011

Loved the food and the company of the nice couple who run it.


Pleasant stay

4,0 su aprile 09, 2011

We were impressed by the inconspicuous and friendly behaviour of the hosts. The decor of the place exceeded our expectations. Quiet location and closeness to our main destination (visiting family) completed our picture in a very positive way. We will definitely try to use the services of this B&B in the future.


Outstanding

5 su agosto 29, 2010

We found our stay at Goose and Turrents truly outstanding. The service and company was more than we expected and the food was exceptional. The general knowlage of the area was very helpfull.


Great place, location and people

4,2 su agosto 14, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. The gardens were great, the locations was good and a fair walk down the hill to the ocean and dinner. I would definitely recommend. Thank you Raymond and Emily!


Very comfortable B&B

4,2 su luglio 15, 2010

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our time at the Goose and Turrett. Emily was very gracious hostess, meeting our every need. Our room was big with a gas fireplace. The interior main room is big and comfy. The tea selections were great, but the food was a little hit or miss. But with the four-course breakfast, there was plenty of food, and always another course to enjoy if a particular course wasn't to your liking. Plus, the B&B has beautiful grounds complete with a hammock, good for sleeping in.


Peace and Beauty

4,8 su giugno 18, 2010

We loved our rooms, Demetre opened onto the garden and Clipper, filled with airplane memorabilia. Tea was lovely and breakfast fabulous. We walked to tiny village and a fine restaurant and Montara beach and also found a wonderful hiking trail with views of the sea just north of the B&B. Highly recommended for peace and beauty, only an hour from San Francisco and SFO airport, much more pleasant than staying in overdeveloped Half Moon Bay. Adrienne from Palo Alto and Michelle from Montana


Wonderful place!

4,4 su marzo 27, 2010

We were extremely pleased with our stay. The owners are wonderful people that were great to interact with. They recommended many great places to visit, things to see, and fabulous places to dine. Building is full of history and owners are willing to tell you the stories behind everything. The location is even a short walk away from the beach! We definately plan on visiting again!


our favorite B&B

5 su marzo 01, 2010

This is our favorite B&B. My wife and I visit regularly. The owners are gracious and helpful, the food is superb, and the atmosphere is serene. Read my appreciation of the Goose & Turrets here: http://csquaredthoughts.typepad.com/thoughts/2010/03/why-we-love-the-goose-and-turrets.html


Unique experience

5 su marzo 01, 2010

We stay here twice a year--a truly relaxing getaway. Emily and Raymond, like many of their guests, are fascinating conversationalists. The gourmet breakfast is different every day. Each bedroom has its own theme, and the living room decorations reflect the owners' travels. They have tips on local attractions, including the elusive zonkey (zebra/donkey).


Great weekend getaway

5 su marzo 01, 2010

Want to vacation but don't have time for a real "trip?" The Goose and Turrets is a refreshing, renewing escape from a harried week. The B&B presents an opportunity to lay about in the lovely home, well-kept gardens, or nearby beaches. For those more adventuresome-minded travelers, San Francisco is a 30 minute drive north, or take the lovely Highway 1 south to Santa Cruz. On a personal note, Raymond and Emily are the most welcoming and interesting innkeepers we've ever met, and never fail in helping us to feel comfortable and VERY happy we've come. Sustainably-provided surroundings, amazing breakfasts, a haunted inn, and breathtaking location keep us coming back.


Great Valentine celebration

4,4 su febbraio 21, 2010

We spent the night for Valentine's Day. The owner was charming and extremely helpful. They gave a real family feeling to the experience. Our room was charming, with a as fireplace on a timer and a towel warmer in the bathroom. Afternoon tea was delightful and breakfast a real treat. We're looking forward to returning soon.


A Very Pleasant Surprise

4,8 su settembre 25, 2009

Our accommodations and our hosts were delightful. We got far more than we expected. The inn is refreshingly quaint and very peaceful. The European towel warmer to the unique tea service to the lovely gardens. This historical hideaway was perfect for us.


Lovely B&B that isn't the norm

4,4 su giugno 06, 2009

If your idea of "bed and breakfast" is limited to white wicker furniture and chintz, The Goose & Turrets may not be for you; however, my husband and I found the lack of frou-frou frills refreshing. It's tastefully, creatively decorated and very clean. Our room, the Demetra Room, was decorated in an ancient Greek motif in warm colors. The owners, Ray and Emily, are an erudite older couple who will make enjoyable conversation or leave you alone, as you wish. They have many books and magazines you can peruse, but there are no TVs in either the guest rooms or the common area. (We preferred it that way, but if you can't live without TV, be forewarned.) There is free Wi-Fi, if you absolutely must remain plugged in. The garden in the back is pretty and would have been relaxing to sit in if the weather had been better. Breakfast was some of the best coffee we'd ever tasted, tea, juice, a fresh fruit salad, homemade frittata with sausage, and toast with apricot jam. We also had a little "dessert" of Queen Anne's cherries--all locally-grown produce. The day before, we'd joined Ray and Emily for afternoon tea, which consisted of Ray's delicious homemade rhubarb and strawberry pie in addition to the tea. The Goose & Turrets is a short walk (15 minutes at an easy pace) from pristine Montara State Beach. I saw several surfers and boogie-boarders, so I assume it must be a prime spot for that. It was very relaxing just to walk on the beach and check out the variety of beautiful wildflowers. There are a few restaurants in Montara within about a 10-minute walk of the B&B, but we decided to go to dinner in Half Moon Bay, a short drive (about five minutes) down the coast, at Ray and Emily's recommendation. If you want a quiet B&B away from the crowds that descend on Half Moon Bay at the weekends, run by friendly and professional owners who take great pride in good service, I highly recommend it.


The Goose and Turrets experience

5 su febbraio 28, 2009

I have been coming to the Goose and Turrets for many years and each time I am there, I feel so comfortable and pampered. I don't know what is their best feature: afternoon tea and goodies are always a treat, the rooms lovely, the 4 course breakfast delicious, the company of Raymond and Emily is always delightful. When I'm there, I feel a million miles from home. I hesitate to stay at other B&B's because they simply cannot match up with the Goose and Turrets.


one more excelllent stay

3,8 su febbraio 12, 2009

For the 5th year I have been staying at the Goose and Turrets for my birthday, and as usual, it has been a pleasant and enlightening experience. I strongly recommend it to others!


Nice B&B

4,2 su novembre 17, 2008

We stayed in the Hummingbird Room. The bed was comfortable and the room was nice. the bathroom was big (although the shower/tub wasn't anything grand). Breakfast was wonderful. The proprietors were very friendly and helpful.


Charming place

4,0 su ottobre 24, 2008

very hospitable owners, lovely rooms (we stayed in Hummingbird- gorgeous!)


Great Retreat to the Coast

3,8 su agosto 28, 2008

We throughly enjoyed our hosts, Emily and Raymond, who have many interesting stories to share about their lives. Our room was very comfortable, with great views of the garden. Breakfast was very enjoyable.


First Timers

4,8 su agosto 03, 2008

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast. Emily and Raymond left us wanting more. Nice rooms, wonderful food, and great conversation. We will be back!


Very nice

4,0 su luglio 29, 2008

Breakfast absolutely delicious.


Goose and Turrets - what a great find!

4,8 su luglio 20, 2008

I found out about this B&B while searching online. They serve afternoon tea and a four course breakfast that can't be beat. The innkeepers are delightful and enjoy a good conversation with their guests over tea. The rooms each have a different theme, according to the innkeepers' interests. We've stayed in the Clipper Room (which has an airplane theme) twice now and have been quite pleased. Plus, this time we came back from dinner to find two handmade chocolate truffles in our room! Remember to take a walk through the gardens - Raymond and Emily have put a lot of work into them. And if you're into the Italian game bocce, they have a lane set up in the backyard too. I highly recommend the Goose and Turrets. It's a great find!


Guests

5 su luglio 09, 2008

Very impressive in many ways. Proprietors are like mom & dad. Inn is like a museum piece. The culinary experience is a must! The location and friendliness is great. My wife and I (and all the guests of the Inn) highly recommend it. Excellent!


An Eclectic Excursion

4,0 su giugno 20, 2008

It's like stepping into a museum that also feels like a home. the collection of art, artifacts and furniture provides a perfect environment for a peaceful stay with amazing breakfast!


nice

3,4 su giugno 13, 2008

nice stay


A Perfect Retreat from the City

5 su giugno 12, 2008

The Goose & Turrets was a wonderful choice for a quiet weekend away from the bustle of San Francisco. The house was a great place for a serendipitous conversation when we were feeling social. Our room and the gardens were picturesque refuges. Emily was everything we could expect from a hostess, from her stellar four-course breakfasts to her strong opinions about tea. We would happily visit again.


Enchanting Emily & Her Magic House

5 su maggio 13, 2008

We stayed at the G & T for two nights. Although we couldn't meet Raymond, who was traveling, we were bowled over by Emily's exquisite cooking, gardening, and unique brand of Southern hospitality. Our room--The Clipper--was filled with airplane memorabilia from our hosts' experience as pilots. It was roomy, old-fashioned, and beautifully furnished, with a chaise longue as well as king-sized bed. Emily's Frittata with Corn bread was the BEST I've ever tasted! Go here for a coastal getaway that's close to everything and yet as restful as an undiscovered beach!


Relaxing AND stimulating

5 su aprile 22, 2008

This is our 9th stay at one of our favorite B and B's! It is beautiful, in a great location-near the Pacific, Quiet, with friendly, literate hosts. The breakfast are very goos and plentiful. Both hosts are pilots and are well traveled. Near sights and good restaurants, also nature.


A Place to Remember

4,4 su aprile 17, 2008

This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Goose & Turrets and as usual I had a great time. I love the peace and tranquility of the place, the organic food served at breakfast, the comfort of the rooms and especially the wisdom and hospitality of the owners.


What a delightfully relaxing place!

5 su marzo 30, 2008

Its light-filled rooms feature beautiful antiques and rugs and the walls are covered with interesting art objects from many countries. There are plenty of brochures and books about the area as well as books and games just for entertainment. the rooms in this historic house [several are very large] are inviting with their fluffy duvets, hair dryers, closets, warm robes and some even have fireplaces. The private baths have big thick towels on a heated towel rack and all the toiletries you could ever want. And then there is the food -- 4 course breakfasts and tea at 4:30, prepared by the owners who are wonderful chefs along with being really fun people. The gardens are beautiful and the ocean is just at the end of the street. It is only 30 minutes from San Francisco [20 minutes from the airport] and just above Half Moon Bay, with its shops and nice restaurants [I especially recommend Pasta Moon] and gorgeous coastline and beaches. My husband and I really enjoyed The Goose and Turrets and can't wait to go back.


A wonderful B&B

4,4 su maggio 20, 2007

We recently stayed at the Goose and Turrets in Montara, CA. It's an old building in a very quiet area. The owners, Raymond and Emily serve a wonderful 4 course breakfast in the morning and offer an afternoon tea service in the afternoon. The rooms are comfortable, and there are plenty of books to read, and one must stroll in the garden. The owners are wonderful, they know how to host guests and are very interesting to talk with. We will stay at the Goose again when we want to get away from it all.


Goose & Turrets B&B

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $175 - $230
  • Recensioni (55) 4,5
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-6507285451
  • Numero di Fax 1-6507280141

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina