Hotel Leger Recensioni

Globalmente
4,1

Più info

  • Camera3,8
  • Servizi4,4
  • Valore4,1
  • Pulizia4,2
  • Cibo3,8

Valore della struttura
24 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

rustic historic

3,4 su luglio 02, 2014

1851 historic hotel, in "rustic" shape, with friendly people and decent dining with good service. Access balcony through your window! private bathroom functional but needs upkeep. Shared bathroom fine, but would be helpful to have extra towels & toiletries stored in there. Beds are a bit short for taller folks, but comfortable.


Our stay at Hotel Leger

3,8 su giugno 27, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Climbing out the window onto the balcony was different and special.


Hotel Leger and Whitewater Grill and Saloon is an outstanding experience….

4,8 su giugno 07, 2014

Hotel Leger and Whitewater Grill and Saloon is an outstanding experience…. If you are looking for some one on line to haggle over the price, there are lots of places for you to stay. Personally preferred are hands on professionals that love what they do and do it well. THIS IS THE PLACE. The first clue was the absence of the need to extort the first nights lodging charge in advance. They trust you until you prove otherwise. The rooms are much as they were, ”in the day”. The exception is the WiFi connection. In place of piped in Musac, on the weekend local bands play in the saloon. The volume while it could be heard, was just right to help me nod off listening to a rendition of Johnny B.Good. Best for last….. dinner time, maybe a thawed grilled chicken breast or a steak, USDA “good” grade? Nope! I was wrong and worried at the same time. Quite a menu, with no pictures of the food. The offerings were upscale but not pretentious. The fish chowder was chosen as the starter. Right mix of stock, cream, butter and garlic to be yummy. Fish and shellfish tender, not chewy or stringy. At this point I was concerned. My vision was of a chef from the Bay, that was being held against their will and being forced to cook in the dungeon. (they do have a jail in the basement) This person knew what they were doing. My attractive dinner date(wife) tried Chicken Marseilles. Fresh mushrooms and a sauce reduced to perfection. The decision was made to ignore my doctor completely and order the Fettuccini Alfredo. Following the same care given the chowder, this dish rivals or exceeds the same served anywhere. Sunday afternoon is a jazz BBQ in back, around the pool. Igor is let out of the dungeon to cook in public. While he is capable of speech, he will not share info on the rub used on the tri-tip. Requirements: Understand the difference between perceived and real quality. Have your eyes and senses available to appreciate.


Great getaway destination.

4,2 su maggio 25, 2014

Great "Getaway" destination. Lots to do in the area and innkeepers were very knowledgeable and helpful in making our stay a great one.


Our Wonderful Getaway

4,0 su maggio 13, 2014

We decided to go to Mok Hill and visit it again. We had stopped there on our way up to Crater Lake about 2 years ago and said we would come back. On a whim I decided to make a reservation for one night at the Historic Leger and suprise my mate. It was on a Wednesday that I made the reservation for the following Friday. Using the online system was a breeze. We arrived at 18:30 on Friday and were warmly greeted by Anthony and he told us of the open mic nite in the Whitewater Saloon. I didnt bring my guitar this trip but he said I could borrow his and that he will be there. We went up to our cozy little room which had no amenities ie television, phone, etc but did have a nice view of the pool and courtyard. We were told nobody was in the adjoining room, were shown where our bathroom was. We got dressed up for dinner and went down to the Whitewater. We had a lovely dinner and about the time we were through the music started. I did get to play that night for about 5 or 6 songs and had em out on the dance floor. we decided to go to our room. My girl went to our bathroom and while she was out she had left the door to our room ajar i heard the door next door open and a little old man in a blue plaid shirt started walking down the hall. I said hi and he just kept looking forward and walking. I got up to see where he was going and he was gone. I did not say anything to my girlfriend until the next day for fear that we too might have had to be gone if she knew. All in all it was a lovely time and we hope to return very soon.


The Fabulous Leger

5 su aprile 02, 2014

We have fallen in love with Moke Hill and the Hotel Leger is one of the reasons. Beyond their superb and friendly staff, the place caters to the nicest clientele we have met anywhere. Since we had our dog with us we ate in the Saloon for dinner. A nice threesome of folks sat down beside us, with dinner reservations in the dining room. We struck up such a great conversation and they chose to stay and eat with us at the bar. The fun continued into the evening with open mike. It is so nice to know there are still small towns out there that allow one to feel like they are stepping back in time, when life was simpler and everyone was friendlier!


We'll be back!!

4,4 su gennaio 14, 2014

What a wonderful old hotel! We stayed in room 2, it has a private bath, great décor, fireplace and very comfortable Queen bed. The Owners, David and Doralee, and Erin were just great, excellent tour of the property and very knowledgeable on the history of the hotel and area. They gave us a ghost hunting kit and we had a blast. This was our first stay in a haunted hotel. Didn't see anything that night but when I set my Kindle on the sofa (against the fabric grain and sideways so it could only tip forward onto the sofa and not fall off, plus my cover has a suede interior to avoid slipping) to go to the bathroom... I only made it a couple of steps and heard it hit the floor. I set it down with the cover open and it hit the floor with the cover closed and somehow managed to go out the skinny opening on the back of the antique sofa, sideways. I have no explanation of how it happened. I took a lot of photos with my Nokia Windows phone and in only one of the Owner, David, telling us the history in the ballroom.. there's is an orb and mist right by his head. No idea but this semi-believer is a full believer!


Visit to the Gold Country

4,4 su agosto 28, 2013

The hotel staff were exceptionally service oriented and friendly. We felt cared for the whole time we were there. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Dinner in the restaurant allowed us to pick from a variety of well prepared meals. Definitely glad to have picked Hotel Leger.


A nice surprise!

5 su agosto 26, 2013

We needed to stay in the area because of a family emergency. Not being familiar with the area we looked at all the chain hotels in the area, they were booked. I'm glad they were. This is a very nice hotel in a very nice small town. It is not fancy (if that is what you want), but it is very homey, comfortable and very, very relaxing. We stayed in the Courtyard Room, this opens out onto the yard/pool area. It was nice to sit and relax out in this area after the crazy days that we were having (or even if we weren't having crazy days). It felt like we were relaxing in a nice backyard. The breakfast is continental, everything was fresh. Even the orange juice (oranges from their trees). The restaurant was very good, we got a meal to take out and eat in the lawn area. The people who work here are very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay here again.


Worth a Visit

4,4 su agosto 09, 2013

Enjoyed our stay! Friendliness and service excellent - one of the better continental breakfasts we've had - fresh fruit/granola/scones each morning. Restaurant food is excellent. Enjoyed walking around the town.


Great historic hotel in California's Gold Country.

5 su giugno 28, 2013

The Hotel Leger in Mokelumne Hill, CA is one of the Gold Country's many fine old historic hotels (1875, although a hotel has stood on the site since 1851, the earlier ones were destroyed by fire, particularly the fire of 1874). I have stayed at this place a number of times over the last few years and have always had a great time in spite of the ghosts the hotel has become famous for. You can read some of the stories on the hotel’s website. The rooms are clean and inviting and bar is lively and the restaurant excellent. The new owners are nice people and went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable. A few things you should know: Check restaurant hours as it's closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. They had only a continental breakfast, however there Frank's Restaurant serving breakfast and lunch is just up the block and the food and service is quite good. Also, as with most of the historic hotels on and off of Highway 49, not all rooms have private baths so if this is important to you check out the room descriptions on their website or call and ask. Remember, too, there are no phones and no televisions (except in the bar). This is one of my favorite hotels in California's Gold Country and, with the caveats mentioned, I highly recommend this hotel.


Going back in time to the 1800's...June 2013.

4,6 su giugno 23, 2013

A charming historic hotel, clean, comfortable and peaceful. The staff and proprietors were very friendly and go out of their way to please you. The complimentary mini breakfast buffet set on a sideboard in the upper hall consisted of coffee, tea, scones, oatmeal and apples which was an unexpected nice touch. You can relax by the pool or take a self guided walking tour of the historic buildings, many of which have been turned into private residences.Make sure to go into the small library to view photos of the 1906 San Francisco earthquake and other things, also the art gallery. 'Did not pan for gold but hope to on my next visit. The "saloon" and restaurant (very good) made you feel like you were back in the 1800's. I did not encounter any "ghosts" but one of my photos of the lobby shows a cloudy area, while the rest of the photo is clear...took another photo of the same area and it was all clear...was a ghost in the first photo?? Jackson, seven miles away, has shops for browsing and a casino outside of town where I tried my luck...won a little. All in all, The Ledger Hotel in Mokelumne Hill is the perfect place to relax and escape from the hectic, nerve racking city life. I look forward to returning.


Weekend getaway

4,0 su maggio 31, 2013

Great weekend getaway with my hubby. No ghosts, but very friendly/helpful staff and local towns people. :) Interesting history, close to downtown Jackson and the Rancheria...made for a pretty bike ride in the mountains.


Two thumbs up!

4,4 su ottobre 19, 2012

We stayed two nights, Sunday and Monday. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. Bear in mind, most all of the beds are full sized. You must be prepared; this is an old property, so you might miss some of the conveniences of a modern hotel. You won't have a luxurious bathroom with a huge counter, nor will you have a mini fridge or ice machine. What we did have was a welcoming staff--we got a tour of the hotel, including the areas underneath the hotel. Absolutely wonderful! We had a good dinner Sunday at the hotel. The vegetables in my pasta were fresh. The place across the street sells the best cornuts. Unfortunately I realized too late that they only open Thursday through Sunday, like the hotel restaurant. So I didn't get to buy more goodies. I did have breakfast at franks--the hotel had a binder in the room with a menu. But the menu was very outdated and the prices are quite a bit higher than I expected. My omelette was decent enough. Overall I had a very nice stay, all of the employees were super nice, helpful and friendly. I didn't experience any visits from ghosts though. I would definitely return for another stay!


O.K. Stay

4,0 su luglio 08, 2012

The only drawbacks werew, no AC and nowhere except a doorknob to hang the clothes. Other than this we had an enjoyable time, particularly sitting out by the swimming pool in a well-kept garden area.


Nice and haunted

4,0 su gennaio 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights and experienced some haunted stuff. We liked the historic feel and furnishings throughout the hotel. Very friendly staff.


No TV needed

4,0 su febbraio 26, 2011

We stayed on a cold night in February and the staff was wonderful bringing up extra wood to keep our fire burning. Chatting it up with the locals in the saloon was an added bounus. It was so much fun getting to the veranda from our 'window' access.

Risposta del proprietario
I love your tagline, no TV needed! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and wish to accomadate you soon!


Garden Room my Butt!!

1,2 su novembre 24, 2010

Rooms were dirty, green mold in the shower/tub (we did not use it). Couch cushions filthy, needed a good vacuuming, huge dirty spots on carpet, kitchen faucet running a stream, all in all we would NOT stay there again. Tried to get a meal in the bar/dining room. NO ONE tried to assist us, we left. Disappointing. Oh yeah, the check in girl was very friendly.

Risposta del proprietario
I am so embarassed and apologetic for this! Along with new management we have turned over all our rooms to the clean, welcoming original state. I personally have treated and cleaned all carpets and as a family we are working to clean/repair all other complaints. I would hope if you decide to travel to this area again that you would visit us. I can assure you that your stay would be much more enjoyable. Again, on beahlf of us all we are so sorry. Hotel Leger


different

4,4 su novembre 10, 2010

Well first of all its not a Bed and Breakfast,,it does not serve breakfast although they did set up a coffee buffett with some breakfast cereal bars. The place is very old and all the floors creak,, The bar and restuarand really come alive in the evening hours as it very nice and the only place for miles. We had a very good meal at the hotel restuarant and the menu was varied. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the sunset and goings on below in the street. it was different.


A real peek into the Old West

4,0 su ottobre 12, 2010

I was there in the off-season on a weeknight, so it was quiet. I was the only guest. I had Room 3, with the shared bath. I was very disappointed that the balcony access had been cut off as part of it was under repair but I was not warned in advance when I made the arrangements...if the owners had not been cool with me accessing the balcony via one of the other empty rooms, I would have been mad. But the owners were totally cool, very helpful, and laid back. I was also bummed that the entire town shut down on Mon.-Wed., so there was nothing to eat nearby and I did not get the chance to eat at the Hotel restaurant. Be aware: Room 3 was huge, with high ceilings, fireplace, big windows (no balcony access), a very comfy bed but little furniture to sit, which wasn't a big deal as I was alone. The bathroom is shared with one other room and only those two room keys open that bathroom (same for other shared baths). There are no bathrobes, so plan accordingly and don't forget to bring your soap and towel even when just using the toilet, as there is nothing in the bathroom. All linens and toiletries are in the rooms only. I think normally there are coffee things set up early, but there was little there...I recommend Frank's Cafe around the corner on Hwy 49 for breakfast: hot and plenty of it. And eat dinner before you arrive unless you have reservations or you want to drive 10 miles to Jackson. I looked at most of the rooms, and all are comfy, charming and unique, but if you want balcony access or like to hang in your room, I recommend the big rooms 1-3 and 11, but if you're not there on a quiet weeknight, bring earplugs cause the saloon below gets loud and raucous. My personal favorite is Room 2, albeit the loudest. And at least have a drink in the fabulous saloon (good wine list!). This hotel is really like turning back the clock. Understand that it's not the Holiday Inn: there are squeaks and no sound-proofing and poor lighting and the bathrooms are old. A historic gem!


Beautiful historic hotel in a nice location.

3,6 su giugno 24, 2010

This was my second visit to the hotel and I enjoyed it as much the second time as I did the first. This time I stayed in a large room over the bar. I'm told that this room can get noisy at night. I can see where this might be a problem on weekends when they have live entertainment and when I assume they have large crowds. Staying, as I did, on a Thursday night, I had no problem with noise from the bar and the not need the supplied earplugs. The staff couldn't be nicer and the room my room was spacious with a balcony overlooking the town. I have a fondness for historic hotels and I intend to return to this one many times in the future. My one compllaint: I didn't have any ghostly experience to report. Maybe the ghosts that the hotel is famous for like me?


A Gold Rush Era Adventure!!!

4,6 su aprile 05, 2010

I've stayed at the Hotel Leger 4 times in the past year. This my all-time favorite hotel, ever! The staff makes you feel like an old friend. The hotel has a restaurant & saloon for lunch, supper, & night caps. A great breakfast can be had at Frank's, just down the highway less than a minute's drive. Keep in mind that this is not a Hilton or Motel 6. This is a gold rush era hotel, filled with antiques. It is a very old building, & their are likely to be things wrong. You may have to walk down the hallway to a shared bathroom. You probably won't have more than one outlet. There won't be a hair dryer. The floors will creak & you'll be able to hear, or even feel, the music in the saloon. If you come here with an attitude toward having an adventure, you certainly will, but if you are expecting the Hilton, you will be sorely disappointed. I stay here every time I am in the area, & have brought friends & family here to show. There are some rooms that have more than 1 bed, & have their own bathroom. Some of the rooms share a bathroom. There are earplugs, use them. The food is Ok, with nothing to write home about, but good enough. There is a good selection of beer & liquor for mixed drinks & shots. The beds are comfortable, but mostly full-sized, with the exception of the queen bed down in the courtyard suite, which also has its own kitchen & living room. My favorite thing is to sit on the balcony & watch the sun set while talking to family & friends. This is not a place to just stop & rest. It is a destination of itself, & an adventure every time.


A Nightmare !

2,2 su ottobre 30, 2008

In The beginning when we checked in we were greeted by a nice gentle man by the name of jim on monday evening when we checked in.He was very helpful and brought us ice after myself and fiance had a drink in the bar and enjoyed a late dinner, which we were then told after checking in that your resturant was closed the duration of our stay. Which I feel was false adverstised .The first night we went to our room the door looked like someone had kicked it in from the outside so the lock was put on to a broken frame french door which now allowed cold air to come into the room also when I went to take a shower before bed I noticed that the knob for the hot water was removed .I felt very dissatisfied then and to put the icing on the cake had to drive 7 to 12 miles everday just to eat because the whole city was basically closed. I was also told that the hotel filled up fast there were two other occupants in hotel other than us so that then told house keeping that they did not have to change sheets bring us fresh towels or anything .I must say the room was beautiful but it was not advertised properly stated that it has a fire place basically it was decoration only and I take the pool was to because it was riddle with leaves and moss instant bacterial infection .I had to take towels and line them under the door to keep the draft from coming in.It was unbelivably hot in the suite even though there was a fan that was only located in the kitchen which did no good there was no other fan located anywhere else in the sweet which made it uncomfortably hot I was afriad to sleep with windows open because , was on ground level anyone could just climb in the room. All I can honestly say I would never stay there again I was ver unsatisfied with service and anemities.


Best Hotel Stay

4,0 su luglio 30, 2008

I went there a few weeks ago with 2 of my girlfriends for a quiet girls getaway, what an amazing time we had. They have a bar, pool table, built in pool, and restaurant all there. You never even have to leave, it's beautiful and quiet and we had such a great time. The people are so friendly and the town is really cute. I recommend this hotel to anyone and I will absolutely be going again.


Hotel Leger

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $70 - $175
  • Recensioni (24) 4,1
  • Camere 13
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-2092861401

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina