Zaballa House Bed & Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
3,9

Più info

  • Camera3,7
  • Servizi3,8
  • Valore4,0
  • Pulizia4,0
  • Cibo3,8

Valore della struttura
30 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Zaballa House Half Moon Bay

3,4 su aprile 13, 2014

The location was great - could walk to town and shops. The room was quiet and very comfortable. Would recommend to friends.


Fabulously overlooks the main street!

3,8 su aprile 11, 2014

This was truly lovely. My husband and I had not stayed in Half Moon Bay before. We went to the Bay Area for a work seminar for him and used the opportunity for a one-night vacation. Zaballa House greeted us with wine, cheese, and crackers in the common area - where we had a great chat with a couple. This place is amazingly central and an excellent choice! Our fireplace didn't seem to work, but we weren't committed enough to having it on to seek help or repair. Breakfast was more elaborate and charming than we expected also. We had a pleasant talk with another couple at the big dining table. It was fantastic. Anyhow, we recommend this place!


Our stay

4,2 su marzo 21, 2014

The breakfast was amazing, they offered an assortment of wonderful food. The only negative was the fireplace did not work in the room.


Clean and comfortable

3,8 su marzo 01, 2014

Only spent a night in HMB, but had a nice stay at Zaballa. The room was very roomy and comfortable, though I wish it had a coffee table next to the couch. Note for future travelers - the stores don't open up until around 11, so don't wake up early like I did. :)


Good breakfast, little charm

3,2 su dicembre 10, 2013

Our room was not in the "oldest House" but in a much newer building that was a couple of notches below a Motel 6.


Zaballa House

5 su novembre 29, 2013

O.K. the room was the Taj Mahal. But it was clean and quaint .Loved the vine and cheese in the P.M. Place is like going to a museum with their displays. The shops surrounding were very cool. Especially the woodworking gallery. Being a woodshop teacher saw thing I only seen in Fine Woodworking. Breakfast was Fantastic. Owner was there and she was a joy to talk to. A bargain I do believe. Meet many couples who stayed here before, even a couple from Texas who has been here 3or so times.


Very friendly service

4,4 su novembre 24, 2013

Zaballa house was great. The service was excellent and the room very nice. Our particular room was a little too bright at night do to outside lighting. The breakfast is very good, especially the homemade granola.


Can't wait to return asap!

4,6 su luglio 30, 2013

Met the owner. She's wonderful!!! Can't wait to return asap! Mr.William Robinson/Ms. Kim Santos


Five day stay at Zaballa House

4,6 su luglio 04, 2013

First, Half Moon Bay is a delightful little town. It has a quiet main street with about anything you would ever want in terms of restaurants, bakeries, and shops. We particularly enjoyed the Pasta Moon. It is an upscale Italian restaurant directly across the street from the inn. All their pastas are made on site. The food, wine, and the service exceeded our expectations. We never had a bad meal in Half Moon Bay and Zaballa House is a convenient place to start your exploration of the town. The Greek Suite a huge second-floor, two-room suite with a king size bed, generous dresser and closet, large bathroom, separate alcove with a HUGE genuine Jacuzzi tub (big enough for four), and balcony from the bedroom. The sitting room had a kitchenette with small refrigerator and microwave, sink, island and bar stools. The plates and silverware were sparse and there were no cutting tools. The sitting room had a full couch and love seat, a large entertainment center with a big flat screen TV and thirty DVD movies, generous coffee table, stand with coat and hat racks, and gas fireplace. The furniture was substantial. The sitting room is big enough you could entertain a party of six. The Greek Suite is a great spot for a romantic get away. Wi-Fi Internet was reliable and good for all but a power user. All the staff was helpful and pleasant during our stay. We would rate the food as very good. The best thing about the Zaballa House breakfast was the fresh fruit. They had berries, cherries, and melons, to be eaten with various breads, granola, yogurt, and cottage cheese. On the weekends they make waffles to order and the specialty of the house every morning is quiche. Guests are given a choice of eating in a sitting room with local newspapers or more formally at a table for eight in a dinning room. It is a pleasant atmosphere conducive to meeting your fellow guests and enjoying a good breakfast.


Awesome Birthday Celebration

5 su marzo 23, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The room was perfect. The breakfast was good. The service was wonderful. I would definitely go back. Thank you for making our weekend so special.


Delightful Treasure

4,4 su gennaio 20, 2013

I had not been to a B&B in years but on a whim I decided to treat my girlfriend to an overnight at Half Moon Bay. I expected that it would be difficult to find a nice B&B at the last minute but I had no trouble and finding a very reasonably priced room at Zaballa. Overall this was a wonderful experience, any small negatives balanced out by positives. For instance, although the person at the desk when we checked in was motel-polite she wasn't exactly warm and engaging. However, in the morning we met the owner and her granddaughter(s?) who were all that and more. My girlfriend was totally enchanted by the room (#4, right off the dining room); clean, neat, tasteful and comfortable. Since I didn't recall that the room had a Jacuzzi, that was a nice (well-used) feature. We did have trouble some trouble with the controls and hot water, but nothing to complain about. The evening cheese and wine averaged "good" -- the cheese was nothing particularly special but the wine was quite drinkable (I could have done without the TV in the background from the front desk, but enjoyed chatting with another couple). On the flip side, breakfast was perhaps the most impressive part of the stay: a wonderful spread ranging from fruit and bagels to delicious homemade quiche. The place was so cozy and quiet it's hard to believe there are 21 rooms in this old historic building -- and speaking of history, there is even a little suite with exhibits devoted to locate history. I plan to return to Zaballa and highly recommend it to others.


Loved it

4,4 su agosto 07, 2012

My wife and I just stayed one night. We did not stay in the main house but in the newer rooms and we loved it. The room was huge and beautiful. We love that it was right on main st. The breakfast in the morning was ok, it was just fruit. We were expecting hot food so we were a little disappointed. The staff were nice and friendly. I will say that a lot of the reviews said that the walls were thin. The only problem we had was the garbage truck in the morning, but besides that it was great. We can't wait to go again.


AMAZING!

5 su giugno 07, 2012

We absolutely loved this bed and breakfast! The decor was simply stunning. We stayed in room 7. The claw bathtub and fireplace really helped with the romance and the seclusion gave us an opportunity to get away from the rest of the world. (For those couples who complain about the claw bathtub not having a stand up shower head, haven't you ever heard of romance? Take a bath with your lover!) Additionally, the Zaballa House is a ten minute walk to the beach, and for the price, it's unbeatable!! The only con that I can find is that the walls are somewhat thin in comparison to a standard hotel. So be warned that if you are a guest at the Zaballa and you arrive at a later time, remember that B&B's are meant for romantic getaways! Be respectful of the other couples and do your best to remember you're sharing the home with others. Definitley plan your vacation, but make sure you're staying in the house, not the wrap around rooms. It's worth the extra $15, trust us!


:It's not my responsibility" May 4 - 6, 2012

2,6 su maggio 22, 2012

The behavior of the front desk personnel caused me to miss my niece's wedding. I came to the desk around 12:30 pm since my ride had not shown up and my cell phone was not working. I said to the woman at the desk that I would be waiting outside for a ride to a wedding. I gave Zaballa staff the landline number at the wedding site and I in turn gave the wedding site organizer the phone number for Zaballa. So I went outside, was in plain site of everyone and less than 30 feet from the front desk. After waiting from 1:00 pm to 2:30 pm, I was told that a woman had called for me - she did not know who. Maria told the caller that I had left at which point I became upset. As I later learned after arriving at my niece's wedding having missed the ceremony and family photos, I did have a ride and could have still made it by 4 pm, if Maria had not said I had already left. I asked Maria why she had not looked outside for me; I really got no response except Maria saying "it is not our responsibility." She was not at all apologetic or sympathetic. Realizing that it was 3:00 pm I sank into grief. It was suggested that I take a cab which I couldn't afford. David Cresson, Sr. called me to "commiserate" but said he could do nothing to fix the problem. I however can think of two things that could be done: let Maria know how her harmful behavior caused me to miss my niece's wedding ceremony - an experience that cannot be re-captured - and perhaps offer me some compensation for the hours I spent needlessly waiting outside Zaballa.


Too much fun

4,6 su febbraio 24, 2012

We will return here many times. It has a fantastic location, nice rooms, complimentary wine that went on for hours, nicest owner, and what a spread in the morning for breakfast.


Cute and Cozy Weekend B&B

3,6 su gennaio 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Zaballa House for a romantic weekend getaway. Overall, the experience was enjoyable. Pros: The breakfast was BERRY good. Fresh fruits and berries, yogurt, and outstanding homemade granola were served, along with passable quiche. The decor of the room and the fireplace made for a romantic atmosphere. Bring blankets and cuddle up! Same goes for the large tub. The downtown location makes it easy to roam around and see Half Moon Bay. The owner is a charming lady, easy to talk to. Cons: The bed is too soft and tends to squeak with any movement. The women working the counter (with the exception of the owner) are not very nice (and don't speak excellent English). We detected a bit of an attitude overall. The wine and cheese reception did not happen on the Sunday night of our stay :(


A Nice Evening

3,6 su luglio 24, 2011

It was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. There was a little confusion at check-in due to whose name could check-in and thus we were originally put in a smaller room which was incredibly unimpressive. Fortunately, that was sorted out and the room we had originally booked was wonderful. Breakfast consisted of fruit, yogurt, bread/toast and some delicious quiche.


Disappointing

2,2 su gennaio 26, 2011

Before I booked online, I called this property and the person I spoke to assured me babies were welcome. When we arrived, the manager/owner even stated that they had to live up to their promise of being baby-friendly and was kind enough to let us choose between 3 rooms. The next morning, out of the blue, an employee asked us to change rooms to another building. She said that another couple (whom we had met) could hear our baby and even though they weren't bothered as they were used to children, there were going to be more guests that evening. She went on to say, "You don't have to move but if you stay in this room, please keep your baby quiet." Even though we didn’t have to move, we were given the impression that we should. I believe no one had complained but they were afraid that someone would. We decided not to make an issue of it and just move. But even though the new room was bigger, it had a stained sofa and a creaky bed. My husband tried to talk to the manager/owner to express his unhappiness but she tried to avoid him by diving into her office. He pursued her and she was very unapologetic, even saying that she would "understand" if we decided to stay at a different hotel. Needless to say, our trip was less than satisfactory. If they don’t want babies staying at their property they need to be clear about their policy.


Great Place in HMB

4,4 su agosto 03, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. The hostess was great and the food was excellent. We endorse this B&B for the value.


Outstanding

4,6 su giugno 22, 2010

Excellent experience. Innkeeper focused on customer service and making guests feel comfortable. I highly recommend.


Extremely disappointed

1,4 su febbraio 15, 2010

We were extremely disappointed with our stay at the Zaballa House Bed & Breakfast. When we were looking for it the sign was completely missing and drove right past it, after finding it, it just went down hill from there. They offered wine and cheese with assorted snakes, the wine was boxed and the white wine wasn’t even chilled, the snakes were brought out randomly and the crackers were stale. When we went to take our bath in what looked to be a nice Jacuzzi bath tub the lever that opens and closes the drain fell off in my hand, that’s when I noticed a rubber plug in the corner, so they had to know it was already broke. We ran the water only to run out of hot water after only having a half a tub of water. There was so much noise from outside that when we went to bed we couldn’t get any sleep because of some kind of party going on until about 10 P.M. in the same building complex that is owned by the Zaballa House. When we got up the next morning we notice that they didn’t even take the time to swipe the floor where the wine and cheese was served. although the fruit was great the breads were dry and the waffles were undercooked and I had to wait for a long time to get them. All in all we were just disappointed!


B&B

3,2 su novembre 04, 2009

The hostess was great, the breakfast was good but the room were disappointing.


Not what it used to be

2,6 su ottobre 03, 2009

My husband and I were celebrating our 15th anniversary. We had stayed at Zaballa House many years ago and had a delightful experience with the couple that owned it at the time. It has changed hands and, although the inn is beautifully kept, the atmosphere is very impersonal. Two teenage girls checked us in with not much of a greeting, the front door stood wide open until late at night with no one in sight - it was more like checking into a budget hotel. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful but some of the items - bread that had sat out too long, ditto fruit, again not up to par. That said, I think they were understaffed and that the one person in charge of breakfast did a great job making sure everyone was served quickly. I think what I'm trying to say is Zaballa lacked its previous personality and hospitality which is what we visit B&B's for. Maybe this is recent new ownership and they will get better with time.


Half Moon Bay Trip

3,2 su settembre 27, 2009

It was really nice and felt clean. It would be nice if the staff had more info about San Francisco transportation or at least have flyers with info. The breakfast was good and we really liked the fresh fruit. thank you!!!


What You're Looking For In a Bed and Breakfast

4,8 su luglio 14, 2009

When we were looking for a Bed and Breakfast in Half Moon Bay, we wanted to find a room that was clean and inexpensive and preferably with a good location. What we found at Zabella House, far exceeded out expectations. Not only is Zabella House clean and most reasonably priced, the rooms are spacioius. Zaballa House is located amidst shops and restaurants in the quantest part of Half Moon Bay and yet the rooms are as quiet as if it were located on a deserted island. But the best part of Zaballa is the breakfast. What a surprise to find fresh muffins, omlettes made to order, and the best homemade granola I've ever tasted. You really can't do better.


Zaballa house

4,0 su marzo 23, 2009

Overall the Zaballa House was very nice. We would have liked a little variety with the breakfast and it would have been nice to have a television somewhere to catch up on the news or just sit and watch. We enjoyed our stay and the ladies were very nice. We never saw David Cresson, Jr.


Great place, Great Value, Great Staff

4,4 su febbraio 19, 2009

First time to stay in a B&B but will go back. Location is on Main St. in middle of shops. It was clean, staff very accomodating, rooms quaint. Great value!. It is not "upscale" so picky people will not be happy here. Met wonderful people and enjoyed the whole experience. I would recommend to all of my friends.


Clean, but noisy for a B & B

2,8 su gennaio 02, 2009

Found hotel to be very clean, yet smelled like alot of Lysol had been used. Almost too sterile. The noise level was very loud from the other customers, with no attention paid to time of night/morning, etc. No hot water for hot tub at first, but heated up eventually. Would not stay in the main house again, but "would" stay in adjoining rooms in unattached rooms.


Great low cost stay in a cute town

4,8 su ottobre 31, 2008

We had a great stay at this B&B. We made many new freinds from all around the world. This is a surprisingly large place, with what appears to be 30 rooms. Ours had a 2 person hot tub and gas fireplace. I would reccomend that light sleepers that want to sleep in past 8:00 not book rooms near the dining area. Location is fantastic, amidst a small upscale town filled with fun shops and gourmet resteraunts. Great beaches (surfing, tidepools) are 1 mile away. Breakfast and the evening wine and cheese were well beyond expectations. Service was friendly and warm.


Lovely in Half Moon Bay

3,6 su ottobre 23, 2008

The Zaballla House was conveniently located with friendly staff. We arrived late but enjoyed walking the downtown on a gorgeous fall night, would plan to stay there again!


Zaballa House Bed & Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $89 - $299
  • Recensioni (30) 3,9
  • Camere 16
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-6507269123
  • Numero di Fax 1-6507263921
  • Cellulare 1-4153367711

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina