The Old Bear Bed & Breakfast Recensioni

Globalmente
4,5

Più info

  • Camera4,5
  • Servizi4,6
  • Valore4,5
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Cibo4,3

Valore della struttura
18 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Lovely relaxing weekend

4,8 su maggio 28, 2013

My husband & I just spent our anniversary weekend here and enjoyed every moment...from the warm welcome and jacuzzi opportunity the first evening, to the delicious breakfasts, and beautiful surroundings with a bounty of birdlife, the country club golf course nearby as well as hiking trails. It was the perfect getaway rest during a hectic time with both our work schedules.


Bullish on the Old Bear

4,8 su settembre 14, 2012

I needed a mountain getaway from the rat race in L.A. Little did I know that what I would find was a new home away from home, complete with friends I felt like I had known for years. To me, this was the perfect B&B experience. David and Maxine are the kind of affable, old soul people who blow into your life by chance and just immediately click into place. The rooms are quaint and cozy, and the breakfast was simple and well cooked. Again, I cannot stress enough the joy it was to stay with these folks. I had some business to attend to, and had all the personal space I needed to get it done. However, at the start and the end of my day, I was honored to get to know these two new friends. I will be coming back. Frequently. P.S. If you are sitting out on the porch and hear the tolling of a bell behind you, do not be alarmed. It's just the wind chimes you can't see because it is pitch dark. I swear, I hadn't even been drinking . . .


The Road to a Friend's House Is Never Long

5 su luglio 03, 2012

We had a great weekend at the Old Bear Bed and Breakfast. Seeing the devotion to service the owners give the guests of their home makes you feel like good friends. We had a great time hanging out at the club house, concert in the park along with a play after. The breakfast is always superb. This is highly recommended for anyone looking for a nice get away. They say: The Road to a Friend's House Is Never Long


Friendly, Warm Lodging!

5 su agosto 13, 2011

David and Maxine are truly wonderful people and it was such a delight to meet them both and stay in their B&B. I felt at "home" from the moment I drove up and David greeted me with "are you one of mine?" I was hooked. I felt like I was staying with relatives.....but much nicer than my relatives!! The location was perfect, beautiful views from the front porch and peaceful. Highly recommend!!


A unique experience

4,0 su luglio 11, 2011

My wife and I have been going to the Old Bear for a number of years. The hospitality extended by the owners Dave & Maxine is without equal. They are very gracious hosts as well as individulas you would be glad to have as friends. The location, nestled in the pines, reminds me of days spent in Colorado. The warmth of the summer and the chill of the winter. For us it has been a great escape from daily life in California. The setting is picturesque and the accomodations are of good quality.


outstanding!

5 su gennaio 03, 2011

We had the best, first B&B experience ever! The old bear was so inviting and charming. They made us feel so at home. What outstanding hospitality! We will be back!


My first B&B experience - very nice!

4,8 su aprile 26, 2010

My partner and I went to the Old Bear for our first anniversary to watch the Lyrids meteor shower up on Mount Pinos in the Los Padres National Forest. We called the Monday before arriving and made a reservation. David was very nice on the phone, and provided a few different room/price options. We chose the Blue Bird room, which was the cheapest. He said we could bring our dog (if he was "amiable"), and that arriving late was fine. We arrived at about 10pm on Friday evening, and, embarrassingly, I walked right in to their front hall, not realizing that this IS actually the owners' house! I was mortified, but they were gracious and welcoming, and very excited to meet our dog. They offered the hot tub, their large collection of DVDs, and a portable DVD player for our room. None of the other guests had arrived yet, and we confirmed that it would be okay for us to come and go as we pleased - we were planning on heading up to Mt. Pinos right then to see some of the meteor shower. They said that was completely fine, and showed us around the place. Maxine told us about breakfast, and then we left for a few hours. We weren't aware when we booked that we would have to share a bathroom with the other guests, but didn't turn out to be a big deal. (They have a room with a private bath, but it was booked.) We did have to wait a bit to use it in the morning, but otherwise, we joined the other guests downstairs and had a very pleasant breakfast finding out about both our hosts, and the other guests. Maxine served a breakfast of fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, and juices. We checked out soon after to head home, but there was a greeting-card making craft lesson happening at around 11am! Overall, despite it being a little different than staying in a normal hotel, it was worth it! One night, plus breakfast, at a very affordable price. The room and bathroom was very clean, and our hosts were very gracious. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!


File this under "Life Saver"

4,4 su gennaio 19, 2010

My wife and I went camping just outside of Pine Mountain Club the day after Thanksgiving. We were expecting some rain, but, with a 4-season tent we were actually looking forward to it (we live in LA, so some refreshing rain in the mountains sounded great!) We woke up the next morning to about 6 inches of snow and a stuck car. After getting ahold of the fire department and getting a ride back to town, we needed a warm place to stay. We were a little worried at first because we also had our 65 lbs dog with us. The fire chief directed us to the Old Bear and Maxine was happy to welcome a stranded family. What an absolutely unexpected find!!! Maxine made us feel right at home. Our dog got to play with Pepper ad Heidi in the snow and everyone had a blast. We've decided to head back up there for our February birthdays, but this time we're bringing a bunch of friends. I already called Maxine and booked the whole house for less than a single room at some places we've stayed. Can't wait to go back up to the snow, the hospitality and The Old Bear. Thanks again, Maxine! Chris and Patti


Everything Outstanding

5 su ottobre 12, 2009

wow - what a inviting place -- a place to connect again with who you really are. Don't we all sometimes forget who we are - and need to take a breath and find ourselves? That was an unexpected result of staying at the Old Bear - Maxine and David were great - treating me as family - It IS a home away from home for me!


What a great find!!!

5 su aprile 29, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay up in Pine Mountain. Since they closed the lodge, choices are limited. However, I was lucky enough to discover the Old Bear online. We called and booked a room. Dave, Maxine...and Heidi and Pepper (the 2 dogs) really make you feel at home. We just recently made our 2nd trip up there and brought the parents, aunt and uncle. They had a wonderful time. Breakfast each morning was absolutely amazing. They have snacks to grab if you're hungry. The rooms are beautifully appointed. The town is small, but there are numerous activities. Hiking, camping, golf, etc. I can't wait for my next trip up and would highly recommend the Old Bear B and B to anyone who wants a wonderful relaxing getaway.


Hope no one reads this!

5 su aprile 28, 2009

We came up to Pine Mountain to look at real estate, we arrived Friday, my husband is on oxygen 24/7 so I wanted him to get acclaimed before we started our search. We brought our 2 dogs and they were well received by Heidi and Pepper. The breakfast's were fabulous and my husband was able to set outside for several hours without his oxygen. Maxine and David made us feel like family. The are really great hosts. We are going back up there for the Lilac Festival in May, and definitely staying at the Old Bear. It is a beautiful setting and with all the birds and squirrels there is plenty to do even if you do nothing.


Rest, Recharge, Recreate & RETURN!!!

4,4 su gennaio 20, 2009

This is a quiet retreat that allows the guest to "just be." Was able to do all that they suggested in the ad...rest, recharge and recreate. Breakfast served upstairs was a great plus and the AM meal was complete enough to energize the day. Can't wait to go back.


Wonderful

4,0 su gennaio 05, 2009

Maxine and David make the stay warm, friendly, comfortable, and delicious. Just a block from the Village. A wonderful escape from the city. Thanks!


One of Best Anniversaries

5 su dicembre 29, 2008

My husband and I wanted some place new to stay for our anniversary. What a treat! We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Maxine and David made us feel right at home. We enjoyed visiting with other guests and the food was fantastic. We have already made plans to visit again.


Fair Price

2,8 su novembre 12, 2008

Feels like your staying at Grandmas house, complete with grandma. Wireless Internet intermittent, living space dark and clutter is the theme. Tons of potential, just needs pulled together by someone who understands what a traveler wants. Food was good.


wonderful place to relax!

3,6 su agosto 05, 2008

My daughter & I had never been in the area, and fit our need for something off the beaten path. The hosts were friendly, the beds comfy, the hot tub a blessing after a long drive, and the "town" charming. Will definitely stay again when in the area!


Thank you for a charming stay!

4,0 su gennaio 14, 2008

We came up for one night and were so pleased with the old Bear Bed & Breakfast. It is charming and comfortable home and Maxine abd Dave made it so enjoyable and relaxing. They went out of their way to make us feel at home with their living room, doggies and even grandma. We felt we were staying with family! I know we will frequent this B&B for a while to come, thank you!


Maybe I shouldn't tell you

4,0 su marzo 06, 2007

I am almost tempted to say nothing because this is the best kept secret around. How beautiful, and breakfast, oh my gosh, the best. A real breakfast. Midnight snack basket. My daughter and her friend had the best time as well as I. We played in the snow, and board games at night, something I couldn't get my daughter to ever do at home. WE were treated like family and this place is clean, and homey and just beautiful. The burning firewood smelled devine. I hope that I can get a room next time, because word is bound to get around. Lovely, lovely stay. I just can't say enough about it. I am from Irvine in Orange County. I will be back and so will my friends when they hear of this place. THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL STAY.


The Old Bear Bed & Breakfast

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $70 - $150
  • Recensioni (18) 4,5
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-6612421622

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina