Victorian Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,4

Più info

  • Camera4,4
  • Servizi4,5
  • Valore4,2
  • Pulizia4,5
  • Cibo4,3

Valore della struttura
93 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Must stay historic Inn

4,0 su settembre 14, 2014

Wonderful and charming place to stay for one or more nights. It's a must to visit and to overnight. Great Service and very good food.


Would have loved to stay longer

5 su settembre 08, 2014

Just an overnight stay in Maren's Suite but the room was lovely, the beds and pillows were comfy, and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. We had dinner in the VI restaurant and it was wonderful! The complimentary breakfast was simply outstanding as well. I'd like to try everything on the menu! Steep stairs but I counted them as good exercise in working off the meals.


Lovely Stay!

4,6 su agosto 24, 2014

Ferndale was a small, very characteristic town that had a lot of home-town love to share. The Inn was especially nice. Had old-time charm however was kept up incredibely well. The rooms were very clean and up to date. The restaurant had a great variety of food and was very good. Nice bar selection as well. Thanks for a great stay! I would definitly recommend this place to others in the area. It's not too far off Rt.101 for those travelling down (or up) the coast looking for a nice place to spend the night.


a little stuffy

3,2 su agosto 22, 2014

The Victorian Inn was charming with wonderful original details to the building. Our room was clean and comfortable with the exception of being a little stuffy. We visited on a warm weekend so we needed some air circulation. They did provide a portable fan in the room, and the window did open. However, with the window and curtains open you lost a lot of privacy.


If the walls weren't paper thin...

2,2 su agosto 22, 2014

It's cute and quaint. It is clean however I could hear the couple next door to me laughing and talking into the wee hours of the morning. I could hear every time they went to the bathroom, slamming the door each time. People staying there didn't seem to think anyone else was in the hotel. It's clear this is a problem for them as they have sound machine to "relax" you as you slumber. HA! For one I don't sleep to any sound, it's disturbing even if it's a babbling brook or rain forest sounds. Secondly you have to crank it up all the way and even then you could still hear the conversation next door. The couple was thrown off by the babbling brook they heard which spurred on another conversation that lasted quite a while. Again, cute, clean but not for sleeping unless you take ear plugs but be prepared to be jarred awake by the slamming doors. Oh and staff....what staff, some guy behind the endless counters of jewelry (which makes you feel as though you entered the wrong establishment) who says his bit as though he has said it a thousand times and that would be it for contact with "staff." The restaurant is okay, nothing to write home about however it is one of the only 3 or 4 places to eat there - the pizza joint was much better.


Very Nice! Quiet. Clean.

5 su agosto 16, 2014

Enjoyed the atmosphere. Loved Fendale


Good Sya At The Victorian Inn

3,4 su agosto 16, 2014

Our stay at the Victorian Inn was pleasant and the restaurant food was very good. The bed was hard and not very comfortable.


a step back in time!

5 su agosto 13, 2014

As always gracious and helpful staff, comfortable rooms and wonderful food downstairs!


Nice place in Ferndale

4,2 su agosto 05, 2014

Very nice in all ways except that the rooms were a bit on the small side, I thought, and would have preferred at least Queen size bed instead of just a full/double. But I would most likely stay there again if in the Ferndale area. Staff friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is surprisingly good.

Risposta del proprietario
The room these guests stayed in is our smallest, Jessica's Haven, and does have a double bed. All other rooms have either a queens or kings. These were great guests and we hope they come back and see us again...and select a largesr room. Thank you for the nice review.


Victorian Inn Review

4,8 su luglio 23, 2014

Victoria Inn is a beautiful, grand old hotel with modern comfort and convenience. The excellent staff made us feel right and home. They went out of their way to serve us dinner even though we arrived just at closing . Also we were also amazed at the large number of well preserved Victorian buildings throughout Ferndale. We definitely want to come back.


Charming old premises in a quaint tiwn

3,4 su luglio 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the Victorian villagebof Ferndale. Was like a trip back in time.


Peaceful Getaway

4,0 su luglio 04, 2014

A nice pleasant, quiet atmosphere, back to simpler times, very charming. Looking forward to our next stay.


A Night in Ferndale

4,6 su giugno 26, 2014

The hotel is charming and well-restored and maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location at the head of the main street is dramatic. Our stay was most enjoyable and unique.


Victorian Inn

3,2 su giugno 22, 2014

Charming room, spacious. Person who checked us in carried the luggage up the stairs for us, which was very helpful. Breakfast was good, but dinner was not great (steaks). Owners are warm and charming.


Ferndale Victorian Inn

4,2 su giugno 20, 2014

This was our third stay in the Victorian Inn. It is a very comfortable inn and I love the way it is decorated. We did not have an evening meal there so I cannot personally comment. The breakfast which was included was ordinary.


Stunning period hotel

4,8 su giugno 19, 2014

The hotel totally exceeded my expectations; the room was large, with high ceilings, transoms above the doors, hinges & knobs were beautiful Victorian hardware, the whole facility was beautifully decorated in Victorian antiques, just a stunning building. Note that there is no elevator, and only one guest room on the ground floor, but the rooms are WELL worth climbing the stairs for.


Comfortable stop!

4,4 su giugno 17, 2014

We were heading home up the coast. This beautiful comfortable inn and interesting town were just the thing we needed after a long drive. Thank you!


Victoria Inn

3,8 su maggio 28, 2014

The room was very comfortable and we loved the town. The owners were very gracious and the service was outstanding.


Our stay at the Victorian Inn - Ferndale, CA

3,4 su maggio 21, 2014

We had never been to Ferndale and booked the Victorian Inn on line. We found the hotel comfortable and charming. We plan a return visit and stay longer.


Our stay at Victorian Inn

4,6 su maggio 20, 2014

We had a lovely room with a comfortable bed in a lovely Victorian atmosphere.


Victorian Charm

3,0 su maggio 19, 2014

This is quaint and nice hotel with history, however, keep in mind it is an older hotel and you will have some quirks to work around. Our room was nice and clean. The sitting area in the window was nice to view the town and eat inside. Parking is in the street. It was a bit odd to have the shower so out in the open with a daybed in the bathroom area but we made due by closing the large curtain near the bed and clipping it with a hair clip for privacy. (glass doors on the shower). Be prepared to go easy on the hot water in the shower. Also I have a bad back and there are two flights of stairs to drag your luggage up to your room. There is no assistance and no elevator. Our bed was not against the wall and the headboard a bit shakey so we could not rest comfortably watching tv or reading. We were woken up one morning by yelling in the street - it was a bike race coming through town, it felt like stepping back in time with everyone knowing their names and yelling out their support. The town is super cute and everyone we met super friendly. You could easily picture cowboys leaning in the doorways and saloon girls. The breakfast at this hotel was amazing. We were further made to feel welcome when the owner asked about our stay during breakfast and knew where we were from without us telling him. Be sure to stop at the Pie shop in town no matter what - best pie ever. Sounds crazy but walk the old cemetery - beautiful flowers and views from the hill.


Victorian Inn Review

4,4 su aprile 27, 2014

A very memorable experience.


Good but could be better

4,4 su marzo 28, 2014

The inn was nice. I liked the historic charm. However, i prefer historic charm wirh modern amenities. I wish the beds were a little nicer. Do walk around and up to the park. Cute little town.


What a quaint, beautiful place to stay

5 su novembre 11, 2013

We've stayed at the Inn several times. This trip, we enjoyed the Barnaby Room. Lowell & Jenny are gracious hosts. They made us feel like we were special guests in their home. While enjoying the delicious breakfast faire, Lowell & Jenny make a point of chatting with all of their guests. The staff are helpful and friendly. In addition to touring the Victorian city of Ferndale, Lowell gave us some great area touring trips: driving along California's Lost Coast to Petrolia, the Carson Mansion, one of the many sights to see in Eureka. The Victorian Inn has become one of our regular vacation stops.


charming AND the breakfast was lovely

4,4 su agosto 30, 2013

the staff are great- helpful, friendly, competent. the meals were very good to excellent. the room was slightly pricey. however, the overall ambiance is great. we will definitely return given the opportunity


Wonderful start to an Oregon to SF roadtrip down the coast . . .

4,6 su giugno 30, 2013

The Victorian Inn and VI restaurant are a wonderful combination. We spent 2 nights in this lovely town as a start to our Redwood & N California coast trip. This is our 2nd time at the Victorian and we will visit again . . .


The Victorian Inn, unforgettable!

5 su maggio 26, 2013

Our stay was excellent; food, service, our room, all 5 stars. Owners, Jenny and Lowell do a superb job making guests feel welcome, as though you are in their home. Our stay in Ferndale was memorable because of our stay at the Victorian Inn.


Great Inn in a Great Town!

3,8 su settembre 07, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Victorian Inn recently when exploring the redwoods in Northern California. We were really not expecting anything that special because the price was so great. We were blown away by the value. The Inn is beautiful and historic looking. The people are friendly and engaging. The food is great and the town of Ferndale is slow paced and relaxing. We explored the redwood groves along the Avenue of the Giants and were awestruck with the natural beauty. Everyone should see these trees once in their lifetime and the Victorian Inn is a great place to stay while you are doing it. James and Gabby - SAN DIEGO.


Relaxing comfortable stay

4,6 su agosto 16, 2012

Took a trip to the redwoods and stayed at the Victorian Inn. Beautiful, clean, comfortable room, courteous and friendly staff, excellent breakfast. What more could you want but to return. If you love historic buildings and small towns you'll love it.


Classic Historic Victorian beauty!

5 su maggio 02, 2012

We loved staying in this beautiful historic hotel. The owners have put a lot into it: carpets, woodwork, decor. The step stairs and "thin" walls are part of the historicity. They were all friendly and hospitable. We were careful, and had plenty of hot water for showers each morning. I thought the rates were reasonable when you get two FULL breakfasts, made to order off the menu! And the dinner was reasonable for such an elegant setting! The whole town is just so amazingly beautiful in Victorian architecture! We will be back!


Classy Victorian

4,6 su novembre 05, 2011

From the cordial clerk, crisp, clean sheets, huge guest lobby, custom breakfast and quiet solitude, I loved it all.


Beautiful Ferndale

3,6 su ottobre 29, 2011

We stayed one night at the Victorian inn while traveling through the area. The inn itself is a beautiful restoration of an 1890s building. Service from Anthony at the front desk was very good. Overall, the matress, towels, and bedding are equal to any chain motel, and not special. The breakfast was good, but it was yesterday's quiche just heated up and no fruit course or juice; so not too special. The inn's amenities are lacking a hair dryer, shower cap, and conditioner. What is special about the inn is the building itself. Early morning coffee in the common room was nice, WIFI with the room was good. We would return.

Risposta del proprietario
We very much wish to thank this guest for the kind words about our village and our inn, and hope they come back to visit, as they indicated they would, very soon. However, We would take this opportunity to clarify a couple of potential mis-understandings. Regarding our amenities, Hair Dryers and shower caps are to be found in the armoire of each guest room. We perhaps should have pointed this out to these folks, but didn't. Secondly, our breakfasts are much more expansive and special than reported in this review ... including several types of fresh juices. Our guests choose from the follow menu in the dining room of our restaurant, The VI: INN GUEST BREAKFAST...CHOOSE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: GRANOLA, YOGURT, AND FRESH BERRIES; May include 2 eggs, 1 slice of bacon or 1 sausage links -OR- BELGIAN WAFFLE; May include 2 slices of bacon or 2 Sausage Links -OR- QUICHE OF THE DAY; Includes VI homestyle Red Potatoes, and may include choice of toast -OR- TWO EGGS ANY STYLE; VI Homestyle Red Potatoes, 2 Slices of Bacon or 2 Breakfast Sausage Links, Choice of Toast: Rye, Wheat, Sourdough, English Muffin, Butter & Jam BEVERAGES: COFFEE or TEA (We proudly serve VI Organic Blend from Gold Rush Coffee, Petrolia, California.) CHOOSE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING JUICES or MILK: Orange, Cranberry, Apple, V8, Milk Once again, these were very enjoyable guests and we look forward to their return.


Beautiful Inn

4,0 su agosto 17, 2011

We only stayed one night, but loved our time there. The room was lovely and clean, the restaurant was wonderful, and the building is a work of art.


Hidden Jewel!!

4,2 su luglio 31, 2011

We were told of this place by a group of riders that we met the previous day. When we rode up we were more than plesantly suprised with the hospitality and friendliness of the staff! Rooms were very clean and the attention to detail was excellent. The food was "5 star"!! Kudos to the owners for doing such a great job of restoring a Grand hotel! A Hotel with "class", but within a resonable price range. We will definitely return for another great visit whenever we are in the area! Mission Viejo, Ca


Pleasantly surprised, and pleased by our stay

4,6 su marzo 11, 2011

Had a business endeavor in Ferndale, and my wife came with me. We were very pleased with the Victorian Inn. The front desk staff was vey helpful. The VI Restaurant was a surprise. The food was tasty, with good portions. Good variety. The service staff went out of their way to help us. Breakfast was included and was hearty. Would stay here again, if ever in the area.


We will definitely be back!

5 su febbraio 14, 2011

We just came back from Ferndale and loved our stay at the Victorian Inn. The Sylvia Room was quiet and cozy, the bed was comfy and warm. We enjoyed the CDs in our room, the shower was nice and hot and the sheets were very soft. Then we went to breakfast and really fell in love with the place. Generous portions of terrific food that came very quickly. A great experience.


Romantic getaway

4,6 su novembre 29, 2010

A beautiful inn in the historic town of Ferndale. Feel welcome and special in this historic inn with spacious rooms, comfortable beds and kind staff people. Rest, relax and enjoy.


High expectations exceeded

4,8 su ottobre 22, 2010

My wife and I had seen pictures of this Inn when we were planning our trip to Northern California and decided immediately we needed to stay there. With no reservations, we pulled up in mid-afternoon and were pleasantly surprised to find that they not only had rooms available, but that they were much less expensive than what we would have guessed from the gorgeous exterior. Everything from then on until checkout was completely excellent. The room was beautiful and large (the bathroom was almost as large as the bedroom!) and very nicely appointed. The ambiance was very relaxing and definitely felt like a trip back in time. The reading room and restautant were both very nice as well. But the big thing for us was the people working at the Inn, from the maids to the the bartender to the owner and everyone else, nothing but the nicest, most helpful people you could ever want to meet. Highly recommended.


Wonderful Place!!

5 su ottobre 11, 2010

We stayed at The Victorian Inn to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. It was wonderful! The staff is so friendly, warm and hospitable. The food was excellence. And the room was comfortable,cute and cozy!! We would definitely return!


One of the Best

5 su ottobre 05, 2010

The proprietors bent over backwards to help our group enjoy the area. Their recommendations were outstanding.


My idea of "camping out"...

4,0 su settembre 15, 2010

Victorian Inn was our camp-out grounds for a 2-day exploration of California's old growth redwoods. Warm, welcoming staff wherever we turned. Comfortable, attractive accommodations in public and private areas. Good quality food, prepared with forethought. Exceptional chicken preparation which, when we asked, the chef came to our table to explain and discuss. What's to complain about?? Look around you - you're in tiny, charming Ferndale, not LA! We slept in a bed in a window alcove which acts like a canopy, bed has great mattress, surprising lack of street noise! Long staircase hard on my knees, but my infirmity is not the inn's fault and climb would not deter us from returning. Call us "happy campers"!


EXCELLANT!!

3,8 su giugno 21, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Victorian Inn - the room was wonderful and the dining was excellant - expecially the breakfast - met all our expectations!!! Would definitely stay there again - have recommended to all of our family and friends.


A lovely inn in a charming town.

5 su giugno 16, 2010

This past week, I hosted a tour of the Rolls-Royce Owners' Club to the Victorian Village of Ferndale. The host hotel was the Victorian Inn, with overflow staying at its sister inn, Redwood Suites. As was the case three years ago, when I hosted the Presidio Historical Association and California Heritage Council on a similar tour, the accommodations and service were top notch. Spending the first half of my career as an hotelier, I've become quite critical of hostelries, particularly in regard to service. But husband & wife innkeepers Lowell Daniels and Jenny Oaks revel in their roles as servants to the traveling public. I received nothing but compliments about the accommodations, food (we had a buffet dinner on the night of arrival, as well as breakfast off the menu of the inn's V.I. Restaurant each morn) and complimentary wine & cheese social each afternoon, these kudos coming from a group that is used to experiencing the very best. I will certainly stay with Lowell and Jenny on all of my future trips to Ferndale and will have the Victorian Inn serve as the host hotel, should I plan another tour to this wonderful hamlet.


Hospitality is very much lacking!

3,2 su aprile 26, 2010

The Inn requires 7 days adv notice of cancellations. We had a family medical issue 3d before our arrival that may have necessitated canceling our trip. I called to explain & asked if there was any 'forgiveness' in the event of extenuating circumstances. I was rudely told “No” and I would be charged for all three nights since I had booked the 'mid-week special". There was no hospitality about this call, no 'sorry for your situation', no courtesy. The Inn is lovely but the lobby that has been converted to a high end jewelry store w a very small reception desk off to one corner. It is not homey, welcoming nor comfortable. The 'innkeeper' checked us in & showed us to a steep stair case with 24 steps. We started to struggle up the stairs w our 'innkeeper' offering no assistance. We were halfway up when he half-heartedly asked if we wanted help. Duh! The Inn website said each room had a TV but ours did not. We asked & was treatled like something was wrong with me….no there were not TVs in the rooms. I suggested he check the website. Given we stayed 3 nights during off season, you would have thought our someone might inquire as to how we were doing & were we happy with our stay. Not once did anyone ask us anything about our stay or even say hello to us. Not once did the owners acknowledge us. The lack of hospitality was amazing. The Inn would leave the door open to unoccupied rooms so they may be toured. There was 1 rm in particular that is stunning & it would be fun to stay in that room. We asked if we could move for our 2nd/3rd nights & were told we would have to pay full rate of $230 p/n. Our mid-week special was not 'transferable'. It's off season, room not booked, Inn is under 25% occupied & you don't think it might be good customer service? If you expect hot water for your shower, pack your own.

Risposta del proprietario
We wish to thank this reviewer for such high ratings on the beauty of our rooms, the cleanliness of the inn and for stating that "The Inn is lovely". Some other comments would indicate a lack of hospitality and professionalism, if valid. However, I believe they are prompted by misconceptions or expectations on the part of the reviewer. I'll briefly cover some of the points, not to argue, but simply to point our where we could do a better job in the "Perception" department. 1. We attempt to mitigate the impact to guests who have to cancel late by offering a gift certificate redeemable any time in the ensuing twelve months. 2. Each of our guest rooms have 64 TV channels, and we bring the TV's in at the Guest's request. 3. As one can see by reading previous reviews, we are HIGHLY touted for our hospitality and graciousness. It's embarrasing to us that this guest felt neglected this way, and we appologize for that. 4. We do leave the doors to un-occupied rooms open for guest to see. (Each of our rooms is different, with it's own decor) If someone wants to "up-grade" we accomodate that, but it may well cost more if the desired room is one with a higher daily rate. 5. We have plenty of hot water normally, and we haven't received any notification that any room is lacking in that area. We will however, have our maintenance person check each room immediately. One final note to these Guests: Please come back and give us another try! You'll be glad you did.


Excellent experience!

5 su marzo 31, 2010

We loved our stay at the Victorian Inn. Very comfortable rooms and large bathrooms. We enjoyed the common area playing games and visiting. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant was delicious. Everyone we met was helpful and kind. We will definitely go back!


Victorian Inn - A Delightful Surprise

5 su marzo 21, 2010

Our visit to the area was for the sole purpose of celebrating the birth of our grandson and visiting our daughter, son-in-law and 4 year old granddaughter. We had visited the area several times before, staying in various motels and B&Bs. Clearly the highlight of the trip was our family, but an absolute pleasant surprise was our stay at the Victorian Inn. We have traveled the world over and have stayed in some magnificent hotels and B&Bs. Few if any exceeded the warmth, friendliness and hospitality evidenced at the Victorian Inn. From the moment we stepped in to register to the time of departure we were treated as valued guests. Everything was geared to our comfort and enjoyment. Every member of the staff from the woman who made up our room down to the couple who own and operate the inn were extremely solicitous and made sure all our needs were being met. The antique furnishing and decor were exquisite, and our room was beautiful. Included in the accommodations are complementary wine and cheese every evening and breakfast each morning. The former was enjoyed in a unique and wonderful bar and the latter in a 'great room' which is actually the VI resaturant. All in all the visit was a huge success and pleasure - one that we will certainly remember. And you can be sure we will return to the Victorian Inn!!


Awesome!

5 su gennaio 25, 2010

We made an awesome trip to CA and had fun staying in the unique little town of Ferndale. It was a great place to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. Staying at the Victorian Inn, taking advantage of their mid-week special, was the perfect setting for us. The staff is fantastic and made us feel right at home. Our room was very inviting and charming and we actually enjoyed having no television. The chef prepared us a wonderful breakfast all three days and gave us superb tips on sights to see. Everyone there was very helpful, especially Lowell, the owner and Anthony at the front desk.We enjoyed our evening wine and cheese, but what really made it special was the interest the staff took in us. They enjoyed seeing our pictures and hearing about our events of the day. Ferndale is a unique, beautiful, friendly, old fashion town and is extremely safe. We walked, visited the shops and enjoyed the charm it had to offer. We enjoyed going to Mass and felt the warmth of the people in the community. Ferndale was a place that was on our bucket list and we are happy we could visit it. It was awesome to see the redwoods, the coast line, and to visit with the people of Northern California. Ferndale is a good location because there is so much you can do in a day's drive from there. We would recommend the Victorian Inn to anyone who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We guarantee you will have a restful, peaceful stay there. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts and this one gets an A+ from us. Char and Don, Stevens Point, WI


Great Get-a-way!

4,0 su gennaio 08, 2010

What a delight! It felt like I was at Grandma's House, taking a step back in time since I'm a grandma. The rooms, reasturant and bar were all warmly decorated to make you feel comfortable and at home. Just a short walk from your room and you can shop unique shops or play shuffel board while having a drink or 2. Take a picturest drive through the country, right from the Hotel, and end up at a beatiful strech of beach. It was a great get a-way!!


Olde Worlde good hotel

4,0 su ottobre 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed here in early Oct. 09. The hotel is run by a lovely couple who really try hard to please you and get it right. If you are not happy about something,..tell them. The rooms are a wee bit on the small side,..but the bed are very comfortable and the room size is quite adequate. Breakfast was very reasonable with hot food plus all the other normal things for that meal. The hotel is in the centre of this lovely old town,..and Ferndale is well worth a visit. It is quiet at night so don't worry about getting a good sleep There is an excellent bar/restaurant right across the road which is very decent and good food available. Book early to get into the restaurant. Parking is on the street but quite safe. We liked our stay here and recommend this hotel. Capt and Mrs John Mitchell, Tynemouth, England


out getaway was spectacular

5 su settembre 20, 2009

We happened upon Ferndale during our 2008 vacation, I only got a mere 2 hours in the village which left me wanting so much more. For the last year I have researched flights, bed and breakfasts and even considered relocating (still thinking about this!). We traveled back to Ferndale just for 5 spectacular days in early September of 2009. Our third night we stayed at the Victorian Inn in the Viola McBride Suite. It was great! While we didn't make reservations, this room was available and a little too large for us, but nonetheless, it was clean, beautifully decorated and the Inn Keepers were delightful. Highly Recommend staying here if you visit Ferndale.


what a gift

4,8 su settembre 15, 2009

What a gift to stay at this lovely inn after hiking and backpacking at Prairie Redwoods State Park! The place was grand to look at, had a great atmosphere and was enlivened by the fabulous hosts/owners. It is the crown jewel in a quaint and pleasant tiara of a town.


Most Memorable stay of our vacation

5 su settembre 06, 2009

My husband and I happened upon Ferndale, CA by pure chance. We were taking the trip of our lifetime traveling 7000 miles on motorcycles. The Victorian Inn was a welcome respite. After a long day's ride down the coast we walked into the lobby with the beautiful jewelry and we felt a little out of place in our motorcyle gear. However, we were welcomed by Anthony at the front desk and from that moment for the next two days were in Paradise! We stayed in two different rooms and they were both fantastic. Lowell and Jenny felt like great friends and they make it look SO FUN! The wine and cheese by the fireplace is a wonderful and welcoming touch. It was very comfortable and entertaining talking to other guests while enjoying local wine and cheese. While we stayed over the fourth of July weekend and it has taken me some time to get this written, we continually talk about our stay in Ferndale, CA at the Victorian Inn. I have never enjoyed the pleasure of a B & B before what a wonderful opportunity for my virgin stay. We felt at home in this wonderful community. I really cannot write enough about the wonderful hospitality except to say we were away from home for 21 nights and the two nights we stayed here were our most memorable. Dominic and Janet Spanos - Illinois


Comfortable and relaxing

4,4 su settembre 04, 2009

The owners at the Victorian go out of their way to make every guest feel welcome. Its very quiet and relaxing. A great place to come back to and unwind, especially after a busy day of doing vacation type stuff. Highly recommended!


A lovely stop

4,6 su settembre 03, 2009

My husband and I spent a night in Ferndale on our way to the redwoods. The Inn was lovely and the dinner downstairs was fabulous. Ferndale was a perfect, quiet, quaint place to stop after a long day on the road.


BEST B & B EVERY TO STAY IN !!!!

4,0 su agosto 26, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 4 day 3 night stay at this B & B--IT IS THE GREATEST!!!! We were treated like A King and A Queen!!! Anthony at the front desk was most pleasant as all the employees that Lowell and Jenny have.We never had to ask for a thing --as it was already in our suite!!! I would recommend this B & B to anyone traveling through this area!!! You will not be disappointed!!! I had my first of FRIED SWEET POTATOES in their rest. on site--DELICIOUS!!!-You can walk to all the place in the village and while there visit Frendale Clothing Co. Great ladies to help you and neat gifts to bring home for yourself or a friend!!! You can not go wrong with this B & B !! Lowell and Jenny were GREAT !!! WE WILL RETURN!!!!! GREAT BEDS!!!!!BIG ROOMS-SUITES!!!! Petty's Salado, Texas


Great Stay

5 su agosto 22, 2009

Rooms were beautiful, clean, and personable. Our stay was quiet, and relaxing. Waffles at breakfast were delicious also service great. Owners made themselves very available and quite personable. We felt like we were at home. Family feel. Curley's resturant 5 star. Lovely time, The Wegat's


Who would have thought?

4,4 su agosto 21, 2009

Who would have thought you would find a 'find' in Ferndale, CA? My girlfriend and I were looking for a place to stay while taking a class--two rooms. Humboldt State Fair time of year and we couldn't find anyplace that had two rooms available. Lowell went out of his way to accomodate us. Though we had to change rooms after one night, it was worth it--we got to see four rooms total! The rooms are the epiphany of Victorian and yet comfortable. Much of the building is original--don't forget to note the doorknobs and hinges, they are absolutely beautiful. The owners couldn't be more friendly, helpful and charming. Breakfasts were delightful, wine tasting in the afternoon a welcome break in the day. Curley's Bar and Grill? Again, who would have thought. Food was great, service was great. My one and only 'complaint' is that street noise and neighbor noise is clearly heard. It might be wise to note to guests that if they come in late, to please be respectful of those in the room next to you.


Victorian Inn

4,0 su agosto 18, 2009

We spent the night of Aug. 12, 2009, at the Victorian Inn and found the accomodations first class and the staff extremely friendly. The wine and cheese was a welcome sight. The Inn is centrally located which made walking the town fun. After an approx. 250 mile M/C ride the beds were very comfortable. I plan to visit the Inn soon


Simply Perfect

5 su agosto 17, 2009

We stayed at the Victorian Inn on our 1st night out into our vacation. Had never been to Ferndale before this stay. Was so perfect. Very elegant,warm friendly welcome. The staff was on cue for anything we needed. Was not able to top our stay here with any other spot on our trip. Simply perfect. Thanks :o)


What a great stay!

4,8 su agosto 17, 2009

Our stay in Anna's Suite was wonderful from the time we checked in until we left. It is beautiful & warm. Having our breakjfast brought to our room was another treat. The wine & cheese in the afternoon was very relaxing and visiting with Jenny, Lowell and other guest was great fun. The Staff is eager to make sure that your time spent there is one that you will remember. Thanks Jenny & Lowell we will be back.


A great place to stay

4,0 su agosto 08, 2009

We spent three lovely nights in Maren's Suite, and were pleased with the charming rooms, the very good breakfast, the courteous and competent staff, and, especially, the interesting conversations with the owners during the complimentary wine and cheese hour. We'd go back any time.


Great Respite

4,8 su agosto 05, 2009

The Victorian Inn was a wonderful experience. The entire Inn was very clean, very well maintained,and just a real joy! The hosts, Jenny and Lowell, were a true fun experience of humor and conversation during the wine and cheese experience in the afternnon. We highly recommend this Inn to everyone! Mike ad Pat Panama City, Fl.


Nice escape

5 su luglio 30, 2009

We loved every aspect of our stay. The hosts and staff were personable without being intrusive. The breakfasts were fantastic, especially the frittatas. The room was well appointed and charming.


Great place with great hosts.

4,2 su luglio 04, 2009

We loved our stay at the Victorian Inn in Ferndale. The rooms were wonderful and clean and the atmosphere great. But Lowell and Jenny the Inn Keepers topped off the whole experience with their friendliness and welcome. They were knowledgable on the area and very friendly and fun. they made you feel welcome and were interested in you and your satisfaction with your stay. It was great we highly recommend it.


Diamond in the Ruff

4,0 su maggio 11, 2009

Quaint & charming with friendly and caring staff. The owners treat you to local wine, cheese & meats every evening. Rooms are small and take you back in time in an up dated way. Very clean. Breakfast is simple but very good. We are looking forward to a return visit and don't forget to visit their jewelry store It's incredible.


All the way from Mississippi

4,0 su aprile 26, 2009

We drove up from San Francisco by way of the Highway of the Giants to find this victorian village with a great B&B. Everything was first class - room, breakfast, wine and cheese every afternoon and a fine ristorante. A good central location to visit the ocean, eat the best ice cream, or go north for elk and more redwoods. Different and GREAT!


Experience History

5 su aprile 07, 2009

To stay at the Victorian Inn in Ferndale is well worth the trip to this small Victorian town in Northern California. Rich with history and authenticity, you actually feel like you are living in 1899 rather than 2009 (if it weren't for our modern clothes and high technology). Inn keepers, Lowell and Jenny are very friendly and accomodating, and serve a wonderful continental breakfast. The Inn also hosts a great restaurent with local craft beers on draft (we are beer fans!) and a very beautiful jewelry store that represents the work of local artists. The Victorian Inn along with it's little town of Ferndale present a wonderful opportunity for honeymooners or families alike, to learn more about Northern California's history.


We are locals that love the Inn!

5 su aprile 04, 2009

My wife and I stayed with a large group of friends and family for Valentine's Day Weekend. We had a wonderful time in Ferndale and loved the Victorian Inn. Jenny and Lowell are fantastic hosts and the rooms are beautiful! We are locals and plan to stay again in the future when we need an escape.


Great Hotel

4,6 su febbraio 27, 2009

Highly recommendable and better than most Victorian Inns in UK Charming and beautiful rooms with an excellent restauraant. We also enjoyed the wine tasting and chat with Jenny and Lowell in the afternoon.


530 to 707

4,8 su febbraio 18, 2009

My boyfriend planned a surprise trip to the coast for Valentine's day, we ended up staying at the Victorian Inn in Ferndale. I've been to Ferndale before but never stayed at this B&B. Loved every min. of it. The entire weekend was quiet, peaceful, and very relaxing. It's so close to everything, you can walk to just about any place in town. I read through previous reviews and disagree with the "simple breakfast" statement. Breakfast is served at 8am every morning and there are many choices for food...and it was all so yummy, fresh, and healthy! Also, i had left some clothes in the room when we left. Before we even got to Hwy 101, the owners had called us on our cell phone and told us i left some clothes behind in the room. We turned around and my clothes were waiting for me in a bag at the front desk. Great service! Even though we were by far the youngest couple there, we felt welcomed. We stayed in the Ira Russ suite (i think), room 201. I highly recommend that suite! It's on the corner of Ocean & Main Street...awesome view of downtown!


Beautiful Inn

3,8 su gennaio 26, 2009

We recently stayed here and really enjoyed the inn. The inn keepers both make jewelry which is displayed in the lobby, and they are beautiful pieces. A fun and different take on a lobby which I appreciated. The room was very spacious and all the pieces in it were complimentary to the victorian era. The bed was just amazing - I don't think I even rolled over. They also provide a welcoming binder with history on the inn which is very interesting. The inn is right in town so you can easily walk to everything. The staff was very nice and I really liked that everything was kept similar to how it would be in the victorian era. It's architecture is so distinct and beautiful it was nice to enjoy the same astetic on the inside as well. The inn keepers were both there when we checked in and they were very friendly. I also noticed that they were very involved in the community, which was nice to see. I would definitely stay here again - it was lovely and comfortable.


Great Place to Stay!

4,6 su dicembre 26, 2008

I recently spent two nights at Victorian Inn and had a very relaxing and enjoyable time. The service was wonderful, the accomodations were outstanding and the scenery was unbelievable. We took a quick tour up the Lost Coast which was breathtaking. Everyone made us feel very welcome and the food was excellent. I will definitely be returning. Thank you!!


Charming and Relaxing

5 su dicembre 18, 2008

We've stayed with Lowell and Jenny at the Victorian Inn a dozen or so times over the years. It is a charming and comfortable inn managed by hosts who are friendly, accommodating and clearly devoted to the quality of the inn and their guests' stay. The rooms are well-appointed and represent the era properly. The beds are ultra comfortable. The inn is very quiet and you can read a book or use the house computer in the common room alongside others playing board games. Breakfast is great and the host is always there to greet you and ensure your stay is what you expected. They encourage feedback and are open to hearing any suggestions. Ferndale itself is a great town with good food and shopping. The shopkeepers are very friendly and genuinely glad to see you. The town has many activities during the year; check out the month of December for the lighting of the tree or the annual lighted tractor Christmas parade.


My first B & B Experience

3,4 su dicembre 17, 2008

For our 25 year wedding anniversary I told my husband that I wanted to stay in a B & B since I had not yet had that experience. For my first experience we could not have chosen a better place than the Victorian Inn in Ferndale. When we arrived at the inn to inquire about availability as I was describing they type of room we wanted to the front desk staff, the Inn Keeper, Lowell over hearing our conversation suggested he show us the Anna Suite. Immediately after entering the suite both my husband and I agreed that we wanted to stay in this suite with its elegant yet comfortable decorations and the spaciousness and ammenities of home. After settling into the the suite we joined Lowell in the lobby parlor in front of the fire place for afternoon wine, cheese and sausage tasting all from the local region. Lowell is very generous with his pours. Each day from 4-5pm wine, cheese and sausage is served in the lobby parlor with the gracious hosts Lowell and Jenny. All except one morning we chose to have breakfast in our room and the service was just as I expected, excellent. The breakfast choices were great with a different hot entree each day. We love the accommondations so much that we extended our stay another day.


What an experience!

5 su novembre 25, 2008

The restaurant alone was worth the drive. The Hotel is exceptionally clean, quiet and beautifully decorated in period furnishings. The staff is very polite and attentive. We have stayed in many expensive hotels that weren't exactly memorable. This one is memorable at a reasonable price.


Victorian Village Inn

4,8 su novembre 17, 2008

A pefect weekend getaway.


Great Experience

4,0 su ottobre 26, 2008

The Victorian Inn is charming place to stay and the staff is outstanding. The rooms are very lovely with beautiful antiques and bedding. The bathrooms have been modernized somewhat yet still maintain the victorian look with all the amenities. The breakfasts were very delicious and the lounge provides tea and coffee for guests at any time. The wine tasting in the afternoon was very nice and a great time to chat with other travellers and learn more about the area.


Comfort and Hospitality

5 su settembre 18, 2008

This is the letter we sent to Victorian Inn after our stay. We would suggest the Inn to anyone interested in a comfortable and hospitable stay. Dear Lowell and Jenny, C and I especially enjoyed your warm hospitality. Experiencing the great local wine and cheese in your downstairs parlor each evening and visiting with other guests was a special treat. Your suggestions as to site seeing opportunities helped us experience many breathtaking views among the red woods and the beach. Our apartment was very comfortable and you had thought of everything. I was unable to provide you any suggestions as to how to improve the new apartment and I certainly could not make any suggestions as to how you could have made us feel more welcome. Ferndale is a charming small community. The restaurants were excellent and the residents were friendly. Its location is in the middle of the most beautiful scenic area in northern California. Thank you again for your hospitality. Very truly yours, GTG


Great Place to Stay

4,8 su giugno 09, 2008

Eight of us on a motorcycle tour spent a nite at the Victorian Inn and it was great. Great rooms, great service and great food. The owners greeted us personally and made us feel right at home. They also helped to make the experience a fun one by placing our four room keys in envelopes and having us draw to select our rooms. And the Saturday morning breakfast was to die for, simply wonderful. Highly recommended.


A Great Place to Stay

4,8 su giugno 08, 2008

Spent three nights on a trip up the west coast. A great place to stay while visiting the giant redwoods, lost coast, and Eureka. Great ambiance.


In Town for Business/Inn a Pleasure !

5 su maggio 08, 2008

My overnight's lodging at the Victorian Inn was a glorious treat ! I travel each and every week and am forced to stay in hotels Tuesday through Friday. I decided to spoil myself and stay at the Victorian Inn ! I was impressed with the warm hospitality and 5 star treatment I received from Lowell, Anthony and Jenny ! My room was gorgeous and the bed...oh so comfortable ! I actually forgot that I was working and felt as if I truly had a weekend away ! Breakfast was delicious ! A mushroom frittata and sausage cooked to perfection ! Every detail is attended to and it all adds up to a special experience !!


Ferndale Charmer

5 su aprile 16, 2008

Ferndale is a delightful clean Victorian rural town off the beaten path. The owners off the inn were warm and cordial going out of the way to accommodate one’s every need. They arranged a fabulous dinner at the Carson Mansion (a private club) in Eureka for our party of 8. Lovely rooms and excellent breakfast!


Great place to stay

4,4 su aprile 06, 2008

We really enjoyed the stay here. The owners were very friendly. When we called to say we would be extremely late getting in, they were very accommodating and worked out a way for us to still check-in. Ferndale is about an equal distance from the lost coast, avenue of the giants, and the redwood national forest. Really a fun place to drive and "come home to".


Nice B&B... was a bit pricey and noisy

2,8 su marzo 31, 2008

We stayed in the Enos Room, facing the main street. Our bed backed into the window, making for a noisy night. Curly's had a live band for St. Patrick's Day... and the crowd coming and going was heard quite clearly in our room. We didn't think the bath was very well appointed (most notably the shallow bath tub and clogged shower head), for the price. The breakfast was quite simple. We were offered stuffed french toast or a waffle, but nothing beyond that. It was, however, an "okay" experience, given the history of the building & town, etc.

Risposta del proprietario
We at the Victorian Inn appreciate any and all feedback regarding our facilities and/or our hospitality. This has been our passion for ten years, and we've learned that responding to guest inconveniences is sometimes the best way to learn how to improve. However, this particular reviewe imparts some misconceptions and inaccuracies which we feel should be explained. First, there was live music in the restaurant for St Patrick's day, as stated. However, it was stopped promptly at 10:00 PM. Secondly, we have attempted to duplicate the clogged shower head situation, but it is working just fine. We will continue to monitor that possible problem. Thirdly, our breakfast that morning consisted of French Toast stuffed with Peaches, Sausage, Fresh Fruit, Waffles, Gourmet Granola, Bagels, Cream Cheese, Milk, Fresh Orange Juice, Cranberry Juice, custom roasted Coffee and Tea. Our breakfasts are not as "simple" as the reviewer described. Further, a quick check of the reviewer's profile shows that Bed & Breakfast Inns are not where they usually stay, and so their expectations may be different from others. We are very sorry they didn't enjoy their stay as much as they could have. We would love to have them come back and give us the opportunity to make it up to them.


Charming Inn!

4,0 su gennaio 30, 2008

Ferndale is most pleasant. Innkeepers were helpful, informative and most kind.


Victorian Inn.

4,6 su dicembre 14, 2007

Very very good. Lots of fun.


Victorian Inn.

4,6 su dicembre 13, 2007

You are the perfect hosts. What a wonderful weekend the 8 of us had. I am sorry some of us had to go home and could not stay a third night.


Victorian Inn.

4,4 su dicembre 13, 2007

A perfect weekend getaway - Lowell and Jenny are the ideal innkeepers.


Wonderful memories

4,8 su dicembre 04, 2007

We were a group of 8 old ladies who wanted to learn about the history and life in Ferndale. The Innkeeper had put together a fantasic package for us: dinner at the Carson Mansion in Eureka and at Curly's, the play "Charlotte's Web" and time for sightseing and shopping. I haven't gotten this spoiled in a long time.... The only drawback: the lovely rooms are upstairs, but the staff cheerfully lugged our suitcases up and down. Since the building is from 1890 I understand this, but people with walking problems may have some difficulty.


Great Ferndale Stay

4,8 su ottobre 24, 2007

The weather let us down, but our stay for the 3 night ultimate getaway certainly did not. From the moment we arrived our inn keepers welcomed us and made us feel at home. The Inn was superb for its age, and well appointed. Our rooms were perfect for the Victorian era stay we imagined. The staff was very helpful and cordial at all times, and the activities planned for us went off without a hitch. The tour and dinner of the Carson house in Eureka was a "must see", and our Innkeepers Lowell and Jenny accompanied us as hosts, which added an intimacy to our entire visit. There are many things to see in town, and in the surrounding area, which didn't disappoint. All in all, a memorable place and hosts.


Great Time

5 su settembre 19, 2007

Really enjoyed are time there - beautiful inn wonderfully restored and the hosts couldn't have been more cordial and thoughtful. They inn provided the right balance between privacy and friendliness, creating a very relaxing and wonderful stay. Ferndale lives up to its picturesque reputation and the surrounding area provides some of the most beautiful redwoods in all of California and a great place to just shift gears and relax!


Wonderful hotel

4,8 su agosto 06, 2007

The room was deluxe, the town was charming, Lowell & Jenny the owners were very kind and we had a terrific time eating at the restaurant and listening to the live bands on "open mic night."


Step back in time

4,0 su luglio 30, 2007

Ferndale and the "Victorian Inn", just 19 miles SE of Eureka in Northern Calif., a Historical listed town of the 1800's. The weather is mild and cool. Step back in time to traffic,crowds,smog, loud city noise, nor graffiti; where people say Hi/Hello as you walk down the main street of yesteryear. The Victorian Inn is one of the main hotels on main and stands out as you drive up to it to begin your time travel into the victorian era of 1890. The Inn being on the Historical list means that the hotel MUST maintain its orginal construction appearance. The rooms are quite ample and comfortable. A Full Breakfest is served each morning from 7:30 to 9:00 am in the upstairs Breakfast lounge and Game room, with the Innkeeper as your Host. In the evening from 4:00 to about 6:00 pm in the downstairs open parlor area with the large fireplace the Innkeeper has a social time for the patrons with a "Wine, Cheese and Sausage" tasting gathering. The Inn has a very unique Fine Jewelry store in the main lobby and custom jewelry can be orderd. The Hotel has Romantic Escape Packages which can be tailored to make an even moryour The Innkeepers Lowell and Jenny will try to assist you any way they can to make stay as enjoyable as possible. The Hotels restauant "Curley's Grill" is open for lunch and dinner and is extraordinary with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The food is excellent with the portions and prices fair.


Victorian Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $105 - $295
  • Recensioni (93) 4,4
  • Camere 13
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7077864949
  • Numero di Fax 1-7077864558
  • Gratuito 1-8885891808

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina