The Harbor House Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,3

Più info

  • Camera4,1
  • Servizi4,3
  • Valore4,0
  • Pulizia4,3
  • Cibo4,7

Valore della struttura
41 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

Romantic Getaway at the Harbor House Inn

4,6 su ottobre 08, 2012

We spent a romantic weekend at the Harbor House Inn in late September. It was perfect. We had a fabulous breakfast each morning and a suberbly prepared meal for dinner. Chef Adam Ables was a most attentive and charming host and brilliant chef. The dining room was small enough that each meal felt like an intimate private affair and the view was breathtaking. We stayed in Lookout in the main inn. It was tiny but there was a deck off our room that allowed us to take in the spectacular view while enjoying the delicious wine we picked up at the nearby wineries. The deck made up for the small room and the bed was so comfortable. We highly recommend a visit to this beautiful Inn with a view to match. We can't wait to return!


Love Harbor House Inn!

4,0 su ottobre 04, 2012

econd stay here, stayed over 8 years ago and loved it! This visit reinforced how much we loved our initial visit. It such a wonderful location, very laid back and relaxing. The food, as before and with a different chef, was great. Staff is very attentive and trys to do whatever they can to make your stay go well. Especially appreciated the chef who acting along served a wonderful breakfast on our last day. They are closing for a complete makeover and will reopen summer of 2013....and we'll be back!


Top Notch Room and Dinner

5 su agosto 20, 2012

The two rooms we had were spacious, very clean, and well decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable. The view and grounds were just as described/pictured. The host/chef was gracious and helpful. The dinner and breakfast were top notch. I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B and wish to return for a longer stay.


By Ita and Harry - Irish visitors to Elk July 2012

4,6 su agosto 15, 2012

An amazing property with an even more amazing and attentive chef (Adam Ables)! A pity the road trip to get there is so not nice. One way or another we will return to this location in the years ahead.


Harbor House Weekend

3,4 su agosto 09, 2012

It was a enjoyable stay - the dining was great - chef Adam prepares creative and delicious dinners.


Food a highlight

5 su luglio 25, 2012

This was our fourth time staying at the Harbor House and we have enjoyed it every time. We were upgraded to a bigger room, which was lovely, and spent a lot of time just hanging out in front of the fire reading (it was foggy all weekend). Chef Adam Ables is very talented and imaginative and his food looks beautiful and tastes incredible. If I had one minor quibble it would be the lack of fresh green salad-type dishes on his menus, but really it's fine to indulge in rich and elegant dining if it's only for a couple of days--- you can always fast when you get home! We'll be back again, I'm sure.


Great Get Away

4,6 su luglio 18, 2012

The Breakfast and Dinner were more than Outstanding. The personalized service was also a big plus. The beautiful view, the grounds, everything about this place is great! We went there for our 35th Wedding Anniversary. Could be our best Anniversary yet!


Great Get Away

4,6 su giugno 21, 2012

The head chef Adam Ables is outstanding. perfect pairings with wines we brought.


Harbor House Inn - The Beauty is Endless

5 su giugno 19, 2012

This was our second stay at the Harbor House Inn in Elk, California. We arrived to find that we were given an upgrade on our room gratis for the weekend. The chef is amazing! The foods that we experienced were outstanding! It is always peaceful and beautiful staying at this particular spot on the Northern California coast. We wish we didn't have to leave. I could live there forever!


Spectacular

5 su giugno 13, 2012

This is the most spectacular view with accomodating staff & fine dining. Adam, our chef, surprised us with incredible cuisine. Creative and stupendous dining experience. Will definitely go back to Harbor House. Gardens, beach, view, & fine dining. You can't beat this place.


Never fails to please us!

4,2 su maggio 26, 2012

We love Harbor House and enjoyed it again this year. The Seaview cottage is truly lovely, but we found it quite expensive for mid-May and mid-week. The dinner and breakfast were magnificent and Adam the innkeeper was charming and informative.


Perfect Honeymoon

5 su aprile 28, 2012

If we had to explain our stay at the Harbor House in one word it would be BRILLIANT! If we had to do it in three words...Just like Heaven! The place is worth every penny. The views are unmatched, the food is simply some the best we've ever had; chef Adam is just a culinary genius. The Harbor House helped make our Honeymoon just perfect. Really PLEASE stay here! You won't regret it!....Kenn&Laura from Denver, Colorado


The Harbor House

4,4 su novembre 21, 2011

We have stayed at the Harbor House a few times now, and we can't wait to come back. A beautiful setting with lovely gardens, amazing rooms with breathtaking views. The executive chef Adam was outstanding, we were never disappointed.


Another pleasant stay at Harbor House

4,0 su novembre 18, 2011

If a mellow time with no TV's or phones and with phenomenal dinners and breakfasts is your idea of fun, consider Harbor House. Not cheap, but definitely worth it. We went to Fort Bragg and Mendocino a couple of days, then a couple more holed up in our room with a pile of books, spending afternoons out in the back yard overlooking the ocean. A walk into town to eat lunch at Queenie's Roadhouse Cafe was the only thing we had to get done. Truly relaxing!


Gorgeous view with old world charm!

4,0 su ottobre 30, 2011

Charming room-Excellent food-Intriguing landscape-Magnificent view! We loved it and hope to return for a longer stay.


A simply glorious ocean-based getaway with food to tell your friends about

4,0 su ottobre 29, 2011

I proposed to my wife at the Harbor House in 1999 and in recent years we have been having our anniversary celebration there. We love it. The views of the ocean are fantastic. The lodge is comfortable and the rooms well appointed and we were delighted again with the Cypress Room. Wish we had it for our master bedroom. The staff is great and the chef, Adam, is equally great, and inventive, and creative, and we hope he gets to achieve his dream to study in France. We believe the French could learn a bit from him. His appearances at our table each night led to delightful conversations and we learned a few things that will enhance meals at our place. Overall, couldn't be better.


A Fabulous and Unique Stay at Harbor House

4,8 su settembre 08, 2011

We stayed at Harbor House for two nights in early August 2011. We had the inn to ourselves. Adam, the chef/manager, innkeepers Ana and Benita and the rest of staff made our stay memorable. We stayed in Lookout, the Inn's smallest yet mightiest room because of the ocean view and private deck. The room was spotless and the housekeeper left us flowers from the gorgeous gardens. Yes, the decor is older and the bathroom could be updated (hint-replacing the original sink and separate taps would make a huge difference), but the room still was fresh. The beds were very comfortable and what better way to fall asleep and awake than to the sound and view of the ocean! The tariff seems steep until you consider that breakfast and dinner for two is included. The highlight of our stay was Adam. On top of the great pedigree, you have innate talent and a clear love of cooking. Our dinners were some of the best meals we've had. The food was creative, using techniques both classic and modern. The meals were inspired in conception and impeccable in execution and presentation. You let each ingredient shine, yet the combination of flavors on the plate also worked so well. To top it off, we had the good fortune to have you wait on us and share your cooking secrets. You could be a star anywhere. We hope to return soon and to find you still at the helm. Thanks, too, for turning us on to Toulouse Vineyards, a rising star of Anderson Valley. We made the trip over the hill and found tall of the wines as delicious as the '07 estate pinot you served us. Please dear owners, whatever renovation plans you have, take great care of this irreplaceable home. Elk does not need a glitzy resort. Respect Harbor House's 50-year tradition of relaxed service and unpretentious elegance. Thanks again to Adam, Ana, Benita and the rest of staff for a memorable stay! Patti & Josh


CAN'T BEAT THE VIEW

4,6 su agosto 26, 2011

An outstanding B & B to relax and enjoy being at. The view itself is worth the cost. However, the service and meals were beyond what we ever have experience. Adam, Anna, Bevnita, and staff were unbelieve. We will return, and soon.


Harbor House

5 su agosto 11, 2011

20 years after our first visit, the Harbor House delivered excellence once again. The people were great and the food was absolutely out-of-this-world amazing. We will definitely not be waiting 20 years for our next visit.


Harbor House Inn Elk CA.

2,8 su agosto 11, 2011

The location was spectacular but the staff rely's too much on that fact. Chef Adam did a nice job on the dinners and the presentation.


ken and cheryl

4,6 su agosto 08, 2011

we had been here 24 years ago....and this stay was even more enjoyable.. the setting....the service....the dining.....and the views ..all made this a wonderful stop on our summer vacation. thanx!!


Breathtaking beauty on our 25th anniversary!

4,4 su agosto 08, 2011

We were married at The Harbor House Inn 25 years ago and decided to return for our anniversary. Upon arrival, the innkeeper upgraded our room to the best room in the Inn as an anniversary surprise! We were delighted with the room and the incredible ocean views from its balcony. Dinner, served at 7pm for guests and locals, was lovely. Breakfast was even better and the presentation was delightful. The entire staff were extremely helpful and not intrusive in any way, allowing us to enjoy the wonderful private luxury of the Inn. We're just sorry we waited so long to return to The Harbor House. We highly recommend it, especially for a romantic interlude. The Inn is very expensive which was reflected by the fact that only about 3 or 4 rooms were occupied during our stay. Perhaps the owners wish to keep it somewhat of a secret hideaway, which is understandable. Thanks to Benita and Ana for a very pleasant time!


Harbor House, July 18-19

3,2 su luglio 23, 2011

Gourmet dinner (California style featuring local ingredients) and full breakfast to order included in the price. Dinner is four or five courses, but only one choice. However, proprietor called several weeks in advance to check for dietary restrictions and preferences. Breakfast not until 9 AM; would have preferred earlier. Grounds are wonderful. Nice gardens and a stairway/path down to the ocean area for closer view of interesting rock formations in the cove. Room was a cabin/cottage a few steps from the main house. All rooms have views, some full from windows, of ocean cove. No air conditioning, but highly unlikely to need it. No TV anywhere. Can use house phone if needed. Did not get cell phone signal, and their internet was unavailable when we were there; not sure if it will be restored anytime in the near future.


Harbor House Inn

5 su giugno 14, 2011

The Harbor House Inn is magnificent. Rooms and furnishings are beautiful. The property- grounds and view and even the surrounding area are beautiful and awesome. To top it off the chef/manager Adam Ables is absolutely unbelievable and his cuisine is top notch-I would expect to find him in a 5 star restaurant somewhere around the world yet he is producing superb food in a beautiful little coastal town in California--never encountered anything like it-- not to mention they structure a menu according to their guests wishes and desires within reason of course. Also they have a fine wine list- catering to many local wineries in the Alexander Valley. We only stayed 2 days but between the environment, service and Adam being an exquisite chef it made me want to live there. My thanks to all the staff and Adam- it was a wonderful stay. Derek and Maureen


Still Stately with Substantial Senescence

3,2 su giugno 13, 2011

Views to die for; meals to remark over; architecture that satisfies; setting serene; gardens of delight; topography that tantalizes; service which has waned; extremities showing wear. After visiting for 35 years, we feel it's time to give the lady a makeover.


Amazing views!!

4,0 su maggio 31, 2011

Since the resort is about to undergo major renovations I will keep my comments about the rooms to a minimum. It does need a It was all about the "setting" and the food! Oh, the food! It was amazing! The resort is about to undergo major construction so I will go easy on the rooms. They really need the makeover. The beds are very comfortable and the linens are luxurious but the views are spectacular. They truly are breath taking! We would definitely go back!


Unbelievable food

4,2 su maggio 19, 2011

The Harbor House Inn has the best food I have ever had. The meal started out great and got better and better until the dessert which, unbelievably, out shined everything. The food alone is worth going for, but in addition, the scenery of the location can't be beat either. We highly recommend this place and encourage those who hesitate due to the price, to consider that you get a dinner that is over the top and a full breakfast as well. Enjoy it. We sure did!


Mesmerizing -- views and gardens

3,6 su maggio 12, 2011

Mesmerizing -- views and gardens and outstanding chef -a real treat -retreat.


Our favorite Inn on the Coast

3,0 su marzo 14, 2011

The setting and the grounds are beautiful, as always! Compared to past dining experiences at Harbor House, both breakfast and dinner were disappointing. Piece of ham served at breakfast was not only dried out, but tough and difficult to cut, much less chew. Crepes served one morning were only luke-warm on the inside. One entree at dinner was squab (served rare), which none of our party of 4 could eat. So, except for our dining experience, everything else at this Inn met our expectations.


another excellent stay!!

5 su febbraio 20, 2011

I absolutely love this place! When you factor in the amazing dinner and lovely breakfast- this is a tremendous value. I would not hesitate to stay here again.


Great place to stay

3,8 su gennaio 21, 2011

Wonderful accommodations and the dining experience was excellent. Adam Ables was not only a wonderful, accommodating chef but very personable. Bettina, the innkeeper was always willing to go the extra step to make out stay comfortable. It was truly a wonderful stay. We would definitely go back again


Two night stay was excellent!

4,0 su gennaio 20, 2011

The food and chef exceeded my expectations. The chef prepared duck for our first dinner, a meal that most chefs wouldn't consider. Meal was excellent. Second dinner was just as great. My wife and I wish the best to Harbor House and its chef. A minor repair is needed on the toilet seat in the Edgewater Room and the outside light was "out." The setting for Harbor House is beautiful, especially the landscaping. The gardener is doing a fantastic job. We would highly recommend the Harbor House to anyone wishing a quiet, serene getaway with an outstanding chef inhouse.


Harbor House Inn

3,8 su gennaio 05, 2011

The rooms are pricey for this part of the world, but the views and the food (they thought to ask me when I booked if I had any food allergies [Yes!] and they modified the menu deliciously for me) are truly inspiring and make it all worth it. The staff is wonderful...and the winter holiday discounts are why for Value, I input "exceeded my expectations."


Wonderful place and fantastic food.

4,0 su novembre 10, 2010

We spent the weekend in the Seaview cottage. It had a picture window and deck with a fabulous view of the ocean. We have never slept in a more comfortable bed in a hotel or B&B. The cottage has a gas fireplace that doubles as a heater which kept the room very cozy. It functioned via a thermostat so every time the heat came on, the flames came up. The only negative was the room tilted slightly toward the ocean which felt a bit strange when you walked across the room. The food was outstanding. The chef, Adam Ables, created 5 course dinners that were creative, unique and delicious. It was a completely unexpected bonus.


Days at Harbor House

2,8 su novembre 04, 2010

My wife and I visited The Harbor House for the 2nd time. It is a tucked away little gem just miles south of Mendocino. Although we enjoyed the beautiful landscape of the place and our dinners, we felt the Inn Keeper offered poor service... very friendly or engaging. The dinners were good but both breakfasts were served cold.


Best B&B experience yet.

5 su ottobre 19, 2010

The Harbor House, staff, grounds, views and total experience where superb! I would highly recommend this B&B. Additionally, the chef served up delicious and artful 5 course dinners which continue to make my mouth water even now that we are home.


Almost Perfect; Lacks Attention to Detail

4,0 su ottobre 18, 2010

Fabulous chef and the food is outstanding. He is very creative and also personable. But, the dining room much too quiet and lacks any real ambiance. It needs appropriate music both at dinner and at breakfast. You hear every sound of utensils, cutting and even could hear people chew their food---very uncomfortable to have a conversation at your table. Picture on website shows this amazing, roaring fire and coziness-- Fireplace set and never lit during our stay-- which were 2 very chilly nights.


Lorna Taylor's stay at harbor House

4,4 su ottobre 11, 2010

It was a wonderful get-away. I had stayed with you several years ago, and felt like "coming home" to be back. I won't wait so long between stays. The dinner was exceptional! The chef and waitperson were charming. Benita was great working with my reservation. Always replied right away to answer my questions, even over the weekend. Housekeepers were friendly and did a great job. Thank you!


perfection

4,8 su dicembre 26, 2007

My wife and I went here for our anniversary and loved it. The food was great and very filling. The views are extremely dramatic and romantic. I would recommend this B&B to any one.


Absolutely Perfect Get-Away

5 su novembre 08, 2007

Every detail in the room was perfect; the view was breathtaking: the staff were outstanding and everyone of our needs were met, without even asking; the dining area and view spectacular and every item on the menu was prepared perfectly-one of the best dinners we have ever had...the chef even gave out a few secrets to the guests on his recipes, because we all begged for them. We are buying a weekend for our two sons and their wives for christmas! The best gift they will ever receive.


Harbor House-Worth the drive

5 su gennaio 21, 2007

Elegant and beautiful accomodations. We especially loved the view from the dining room and the food was marvelous. We will definitely be returning.


The Harbor House Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $315 - $490
  • Recensioni (41) 4,3
  • Camere 10
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7078773203
  • Numero di Fax 1-7078773452
  • Gratuito 1-8007207474
Inizio pagina