Sandpiper House Inn Recensioni

Globalmente
4,1

Più info

  • Camera4,1
  • Servizi4,1
  • Valore3,9
  • Pulizia4,1
  • Cibo4,3

Valore della struttura
91 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

wow!

5 su febbraio 26, 2014

The most amazing place with the most amazing host! Tracy is the sweetest end keeper ever. I took my girlfriend up with plans for a proposal and Tracy helped out with flowers and wine! Views are incredible and with new ownership the place is on its way to being really great. All previous reviews are not relevant anymore, trust me.


Wonderful B&B with a View

4,6 su agosto 06, 2012

Who needs a TV when you have a view like that? Wow incredible! Very confortable bed & enjoyable breakfast. Innkeeper was really pleasant. Nice and quiet except for the waves to fall asleep to. No conplaints here. Elk is a quaint little oceanside town. A wonderful experience.


Relaxing and scenic get - away

3,4 su luglio 30, 2012

Although the property was going through an ownership change, Bill and staff treated guests with a very comfortable charm. I would definitely go back.


Great Stay at the Sandpiper House Inn

4,4 su luglio 30, 2012

We immediately felt welcomed by Bill who was fabulous during our short stay. Wonderful cooking, wonderful service, beautiful setting. Can't wait to see what the new owners do to the garden and structure.


Disappointing

2,0 su luglio 29, 2012

The website for this B&B is extremely outdated and deceptive. The gardens are not maintained and overgrown. The B&B is in need of overall maintenance, cleaning and tidiness. The entryway/porch has potted, dead plants with old, badly stained patio furniture. The website (on the photo gallery page) states there are wine & hors-d'oevres in the evening. There was no wine. Except for the carpet stains in our room, the bed and bathroom were clean and our views were awesome. Had we paid more than we did via Groupon, we would have been quite unhappy. There is so much potential for this B&B if it were to look like it does in its website.


Stunning views

3,8 su luglio 23, 2012

Gorgeous view out the bedroom window! Recommend the Weston room.


Not As Advertised

1,8 su luglio 21, 2012

Breakfast was especially disappointing. It was not a 2-course gourmet breakfast. Also, there were day-old cookies left out on the dining table & that's it other than the 1 slice of french toast & 1 thin slice of melon & cool coffee for breakfast. Orange juice wasn't offered & the coffee was cool. Of course, the weather(drippy fog) didn't help. The Inn needs repair & the garden needs attention!


sandpiper inn

3,4 su luglio 19, 2012

If you get a room with a view...great. Otherwise don't bother. The gourmet breakfast was one slice of French toast. No maid service


awesome place to stay

5 su giugno 29, 2012

The service was amazing and the view wad beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable. The inn keeper Curtis was real nice and his breakfast was delicious.


Great Place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 su giugno 26, 2012

We stayed in the Weston room very nice, with an excellent view.The Inn Keeper Curtis was an awesome cook !!!!! We did hear some disturbing news that the Inn may close down I hope not it was a wonderful place.


Wonderful Stay at the Sandpiper House Inn

4,8 su giugno 24, 2012

Wonderfully quiet location. excellent room and supberb service. We will return!


Beautiful and peaceful

4,6 su giugno 22, 2012

My husband and I LOVED the Sandpiper House Inn. We had a breathtaking view of the cove from our room, the room was clean and relaxing, and the innkeeper was helpful and easygoing. The innkeeper, Curtis, provides breakfast (which was delicious) and is willing to help with any question you have regarding the surrounding area. One thing to keep in mind: there is practically no cellular phone service...so if your intent is to stay "plugged in", think again.


Chris made up for the obvious need for maintenance

3,6 su giugno 19, 2012

I knew from the reviews that the inn was a little "shabby sheek" so I sort of expected this. And that is what it was. I stayed in the Headlands room which was large and comfy. It is one their rooms where you can have pets so I am thinking maybe that is why it may have seemed a little shabbier than the other rooms. The chair upholstery should definately be cleaned and the carpet. Curtis the regular innkeeper was out of town so Chris was filling in and he was wonderfully personable and helpful. He also prepared very tasty and filling breakfasts from the dining room which has an amazing view. The view sitting in the adarondack chair on the lawn and sipping tea was the best part. This experience and the charm of Chris who even helped me with a problem I had on my laptop made up for some of the inns obvious needs for repair and maintenance. The stairs down the cliff look a little unsafe so I didn't venture down them but if they were maintained better it would be fun to go down to the cove below. I hope they keep Chris around. He is a huge asset for the inn.


Incredible View!

3,2 su giugno 19, 2012

We recently (June 11-12) had a very enjoyable stay at the Sandpiper Inn. The view from our bedroom was to die for! We felt that many of the reviews we had read are unfair and unjustified, particularly those aimed at the caretaker, Curtis. This B&B is over 100 years old, starting to slope toward the ocean (maybe because of all the weight staring out at the beautiful ocean setting all at once!), and has generally fallen into disarray in many aspects. The carpets definitely are in need of professional cleaning! But you get the feeling that the owners have not put anything into it as they should have and perhaps Curtis, himself, was restricted in what he could do. In other words, Curtis has been placed into a difficult situation. And, in spite of a pending change forthcoming for this classic old house (new owners?) that will leave Curtis without employment, we found him to be very pleasant for the most part, doing what he was suppose to do. Although the “afternoon snacks” were not what we expected (one day – nothing but the crackers from the day prior), the breakfasts were great and delicious. The Inn was quiet and very accessible; we brought dinner in both nights and enjoyed wine and dining in front of one of the most incredible views we have ever witnessed. Paul & Diane, San Jose, CA


Overall a great experience at Sandpiper due to their awesome views and fantastic service

4,4 su giugno 18, 2012

Had a wonderful time because of the customer service. He made our getaway unlike any other that we've had in years and we've gone to many "higher end" BnB's too! The views were fantastic and walking down to the water was breathtaking. I do wish better food was provided but it is what it is. Overall experience is a A-


Sandpiper House Inn Stay

4,6 su giugno 12, 2012

I took my mom here for her birthday celebration. It was very relaxing and comfortable. The innkeeper Curtis was very kind and a wonderful cook! The location is perfect! Our room had the most amazing view of the ocean. I would recommend this place to friends and family.


Awesome ocean views!

3,4 su giugno 11, 2012

This is a lovely timeless craftsman home situation on a bluff with spectacular ocean views and a lovely garden. We stayed two nights in the Weston room, which was very comfortable, quiet, and nicely decorated with spectacular ocean views from the large picture window. We thoroughly enjoyed waking up to this view from the comfy king bed. The room has a nice sized bathroom, which was clean and well stocked. Curtis the innkeeper was pleasant and helpful and fixed a tasty breakfast. We would stay here again.


Beautiful getaway

5 su giugno 05, 2012

The setting and view to the ocean are amazing. Unseen from the road, we would not have known this beauty was there, just passing through the quaint town of Elk. Curtis was a very gracious host and shared interesting information with us about the area. He even let us use the dining room for our picnic dinner when a bit of rain kept us from eating on the patio of our charming and very comfortable Headlands room. We walked along the beautiful beach and explored the caves below. The breakfasts were deliciously prepared and nicely served by Curtis. Very tranquil stay and we look forward to coming back.


Lovely BNB

3,8 su giugno 04, 2012

Beautiful hidden gem - the old house has a lot of character, and the rooms are super comfortable with great decoration. Even had a refridgerator to keep some food. We stayed in the Weston room, which I think had the best view. WIth that view - we never wanted to leave our room! Great for a honeymoon, or just a weekend away for two. Worth the price. They even made breakfast - Waffles with fresh fruit. There is a great garden out back that you can sit in and enjoy the weather and the view. Very quiet. Unfortunately there is not an easy way to get to the beach and enjoy the view close up. Also, there are not many restraunts around. So make sure to plan ahead.


Lovely stay

3,6 su giugno 04, 2012

The views in this B&B are outstanding. The back gardens with the view of the Elk cove are amazing - places to picnic and read. Rooms are big relative to other B&Bs, and the availability of king-size beds is great. Breakfasts were excellent in a beautiful room with a stunning view. We'll go back and recommend this to anyone interested in a beautiful coastline stay.


Picturesque B&B

3,2 su giugno 04, 2012

We had a nice relaxing stay. The view was absolutely stunning! The B&B was quaint but did not meet the value.


Wonderful view!

3,0 su giugno 01, 2012

While the house is on the older side, the overall quality was fine. The view was exceptionally good. We had a wonderful time.


beautiful views in a quaint setting

4,6 su maggio 31, 2012

The Views from the room were stunning - to say the least . Everything about the room - furniture , colors , etc .. blended very well . The Inn-keeper even took care of the fact that we were on a Vegan diet for the breakfast . The garden behind the Inn is beautiful - though the steps that lead down to the beach needed some maintenance.


A Room with a View

4,2 su maggio 29, 2012

In the many years my husband and I have traveled the North Coast we've never had such a beautiful view. The Clifton afforded a spectacular view of the ocean and gardens - all from a king size bed and sweet sitting area. Curtis made the stay memorable with delicious breakfasts. Loved the gardens and wildlife (bunnies and birds). What a delight!


Sandpiper House Inn

3,8 su maggio 25, 2012

Wonderful views, wonderful location, great stay!!


Anniversary trip to the North Coast

4,0 su maggio 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Sandpiper House Inn. The property is great and the view is amazing. The innkeeper, Curtis, is a great guy and a fantastic cook. We would love to stay here again!


Sandpiper Inn House

3,4 su maggio 23, 2012

We just came back from spending our 40th anniversary. Our first stay was our 20th and we have stayed several times since then. Curtis, the caretaker, was excellent. Breakfasts were great. I note ownership neglect issues that will need to be addressed at some time. Portions of the house are leaning and the landscaping is getting over-grown. Despite these issues, we will continue to stay here when we come to the coast.


Sandpiper House Inn

4,0 su maggio 21, 2012

The room and meals were great, however the grounds were in need of some pruning and general upkeep to enhance the views from the property.


An Amazing view!

4,0 su maggio 19, 2012

We enjoyed two nights in the small town of Elk staying at the Sand Piper Inn. Our room was large and comfortable. We enjoyed great breakfasts while chatting with the inn keeper Curtis. The garden is full of hummingbirds and a variety of plants. The view is wonderful and no where else can match it! We hope to stay there again.


Delightful B&B at Outstanding Location

4,6 su maggio 14, 2012

We enjoyed the property, its location and the hospitality of its innkeeper.


Rustic B&B

2,6 su maggio 12, 2012

Beautiful setting, funky house with furnishings a little too outdated - worn out couch cushions and bed. Seemed a bit pricey for the quality of the rooms. The breakfast was very good and the host pleasant.


beautiful view from room, very relaxing and enjoyable

4,4 su maggio 05, 2012

Difficult to get to. Beautiful view from room Very enjoyablesurrounding areas nice. Good food breakfast by innkeeper was fantastic.


Beautiful and Private B&B

4,0 su maggio 02, 2012

I stayed recently in the Headlands room in the Sandpiper House Inn. The Inn is situated on a gorgeous stretch of coast and has wonderful views of both the ocean, and the rolling grassy hills East of the house. Curtis, the innkeeper is a fantastic breakfast chef, and a very courteous host. The garden behind the house was full of birds, and was a wonderful place to picnic, or spend an afternoon reading and looking out over the waves. I didn't see the other rooms, but if you prefer a more private B&B experience, I highly recommend the Headlands room for its private entrance and private patio. I will definitely be coming back to this place!


Sandpiper Inn

5 su aprile 17, 2012

I don't think you could find a hotel or bed and breakfast with a more beautiful backyard. The room was an excellent value that we purchased with a Groupon and used to stay three nights. The food was home cooked and delicious, the view was breathtaking, the room was cozy, comfortable and private and Curtis, the innkeeper, was helpful, friendly and a pleasure to get to know. A memorable experience all around.


Great stop along the coast!

4,0 su marzo 13, 2012

The host was very gracious, amazing views and very clean. Great cook! yummy homemade HOT salsa! You feel like it's your own home on the coast. Thank you for making our stay feel like being at home.


Nice Off the Grid Getaway

3,8 su marzo 11, 2012

We love the location. The Inn keeper was fantastic but the Inn itself could do with some updates. We thoroughly enjoyed the meals that we were served, and the coffee and tea was well prepared. The location of the Sandpiper House is nice, just south of Mendocino. Over all we liked the location better than we liked the Inn; save the inn keeper, Curtis, his service was wonderful.


Elk Getaway at the Sandpiper House

4,0 su marzo 08, 2012

What a setting....what a fabulous view!My husband and I planned to stay for two nights at this rustic and delightful spot and had prepaid non cancellable reservations that we booked through a promotional offer with Groupon. Unfortunately we had to leave after only spending one night due to unexpected work demands. We had no expectations of them re-renting our last night (a Tuesday in March) or recouping our money.Curtis the innkeeper went above and beyond offering us the opportunity to come up any night in the future to make it up without us even asking for that....that is such great service!


Great stay at the Northern California coast

5 su marzo 04, 2012

It was an Birthday Gift for my Lady, she said it was the best Birthday ever. Our host Curtis made a fantastic individually made Breakfast, not the standard breakfast fare. We will return and tell all our friends about this wonderful B&B in Elk, Ca. Thanks for a great stay.


weekend getaway

4,6 su marzo 04, 2012

The whole weekend was great and the views fantastic. Complements to the innkeeper and the great breakfast he prepared..


Perfect romantic getaway!

5 su febbraio 28, 2012

The views, sense of solitude, tasty gourmet breakfast and romantic room made for a perfect getaway! Highly recommend!


Beautiful Stay at Sandpiper House Inn

4,0 su febbraio 24, 2012

The views from our room were incredible, the service provided by Curtis was outstanding and the food was delicious.


EXCELLENT sea side retreat.....

4,2 su febbraio 21, 2012

We were only there one night, but it was a GREAT way to kick off our mini-vacation. We stayed in the Clifton room-which we feel had THE best view of all the rooms-amazing and breathtaking. Breakfast in the morning was filling and the coffee was perfect.


The Sandpiper House Inn was wonderful!

4,2 su febbraio 16, 2012

We loved the room at the Sandpiper House. The Cliffton room had wonderful views of the ocean. The fire place was great and the bed was very comfortable! The service was great. We enjoyed the walks on the property. We only wished that there was a tub in the bathroom to soak in.


Four Great Nights at the Inn

4,2 su febbraio 13, 2012

I'm not sure why some people who review this property can be so negative. We spent 4 nights ending 2/10/12. The Innkeeper, Curtis, was a great guy, fabulous cook and very helpful with any request. The room, The Clifton, had a very comfortable bed and an outstanding ocean and garden view. It was warm and clean. We toured the other rooms and found them to be very nice as well. Only room we would probably not want to stay in is the pet friendly room as it doesn't have as nice a view. The internet connection worked well (always important to us) and we felt totally at home in this house. Keep up the good work Curtis. Brent & Laura


Sandpiperhouse Inn

3,4 su febbraio 10, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in this B&B, the first we have visited. The location is stunningly beautiful and the gardens are very charming. The term "shabby-chic" fits the Inn's interior. While the building needs major work, our room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was outstanding, but not much can be said for the other advertised treats. A laid-back attitude, reflective of the North Coast, dominated, so those seeking top-notch service and amenities might be disappointed. The town of Elk is very small and quiet this time of year, which could be a plus or a minus, Not many restaurant choices, especially during the week. But no traffic or crowds, either.


Sandpiper House Weekend

4,0 su febbraio 06, 2012

The view was incredible. The rooms were very nice. The town does not have much in it so to dine you have to drive about a half hour away. There is only one little store with hardly anything in it and the prices are outrageous. The drive is very slow and very windy so if you get car sick easy its not recommended. There are little trails behind the house that are great picture opportunites. My husband and I had a great stay and would definitely go back. The offer did include snacks that night and we did not end up getting those. I'm not sure what happened. We asked the guy about it and he confirmed that they were included. The room was very quaint. So quaint in fact that it did not have a phone and our cells didn't get service. So there is not great communication.


Delicious Breakfast

4,8 su febbraio 01, 2012

We were ridiculously excited about our trip to Mendocino, and the Sandpiper House Inn was a really wonderful place to stay. The beds are big and comfy and the breakfast was fantastic. We had dinner one night at Greenwood Pier which is just down the street, and I believe owned by the same folks. That was fantastic too.


Refreshing!

4,0 su gennaio 25, 2012

We had a wonder time. Quaint Garden room. Comfy bed,cozy fire place, AMAZING view. THANK YOU CURTIS!


Quaint B&B on the Mendocino coast

3,6 su gennaio 19, 2012

Very small historical house that is located 30 minutes south of the town of Mendocino. The view from the room was utterly spectacular and the place is very quiet and perfect for a getaway. The innkeeper keeps to himself but provides a delicious breakfast in the morning that does not disappoint.


Sandpiper House Inn

3,6 su gennaio 19, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Sandpiper House Inn and plan to go back in the future. The house itself is lovely. We stayed in the Headlands Room, which is the only room w/ a separate entrance. The room was cozy and comfortable, nicely appointed without being fussy. The bed was a little soft for our taste but we both have back problems; I need to remember to inquire in future as to firmness of beds. I'd like to stay on one of the rooms on the second floor next time only because the view of the ocean will be even better. The two person tub was great. The gardens were beautiful, the view from it of the ocean fantastic. Very handy to Mendocino town, a 15 minute drive. Innkeeper was pleasant, breakfast was good.


Highly Recommend the Sandpiper House Inn

4,8 su gennaio 19, 2012

So many reasons to love this place and make us anxious to go back: Close to Mendocino but far enough away to feel even more secluded (no phone or internet access). Breaktaking views from the bedrooms and dining area - we watched the hummingbirds every morning during breakfast and saw a whale from our bedroom window. The Inn itself provides a very cozy atmosphere. The Innkeeper was very friendly and prepared amazing gourmet feasts for breakfast. This place is a gem. For anyone who works long hours downtown in the city and needs a total escape, I couldn't think of a better place to go. And for those who love B&Bs, I couldn't think of a better place to go...


New years

3,4 su gennaio 15, 2012

We stayed over the Holiday and arrived on Dec 30. It was just before Sunset and a beautiful sunny calm day. Our dog loved the grounds and the sound of the Ocean from the bluff is unforgetable. Our stay way perfect; the bed was so comfortable I forgot we weren't home. We had our own outside entrance which made it nice for the dog but that could have been the reason maybe it seemed dusty inside. The innkeeper was very helpful. He gave us information about Dog friendly parks places to eat and Canoe. All 3 of us had a great weekend ringing in 2012. Although the drive for us was 9 hours from LA, we will remember the towering redwoods, small country wineries, catch a Canoe and the Incredible view from the Sandpiper Inn's backyard. I would go back!


Amazing breakfasts, fabulous view

5 su gennaio 09, 2012

Loved everything about it. Very romantic. No tv and not much cell service, but wonderful scenery. So worth it.


Negative ions

4,0 su gennaio 07, 2012

I have a friend who reminds me, 'Every time you travel to the ocean you experience negative ions which are revitalizing to one's health." I certainly did feel revitalized staying at the Sandpiper House Inn. The view in the advertising shot is the view from the Weston Room so we could sit in our wing-backed chairs or laze in bed and gaze on the ocean waves breaking on those gigantic rocks. I woke up in the middle of one night and looked out and saw what looked like three lighted Christmas trees floating in the fog. I watched them for a long time, trying to figure out what could be so beautifully appointed. It turned out they were crab boats placed there to enhance my stay. I suggest, upon arrival, grab the wine glasses provided in your room and a bottle of your favorite wine, walk down to the gardens, plop down in the Adirondack chairs and see if you can sense the negative ions. You'll have to wait until dark to see the crab boats. Joyce and Bill, Santa Rosa


road trip

3,6 su gennaio 04, 2012

Care taker was super nice. Our view from the room was amazing should have stayed longer...


Scenic Inn

3,2 su gennaio 03, 2012

Pretty nice rooms and a gorgeous view for breakfast! A little off the path from downtown Mendocino and wineries, but great for a more secluded vacation experience!


one night stay at Sandpiper 12/19/11

4,0 su gennaio 03, 2012

exceeded my expectations! wonderful view and the host (Curtis) was friendly and cooks an awesome breakfast!


westin

4,0 su dicembre 26, 2011

Room was amazing. Service was friendly. Breakfast was delightful and I was so glad the coffee was excellent. Great location I will be back.


The perfect Bed and Breakfast

5 su dicembre 16, 2011

Sandpiper Inn is an amazing place located in the most beautiful setting you can imagine. My husband and I celebrated my 50th birthday here and when we took the drive in from the 101 we were gasping from how gorgeous the area is and the Sandpiper sits on top of a cliff that overlooks all of it! Curtis, the Innkeeper is also an amazing chef that made each breakfast like eating in a 5 star restaurant. We will be going back to the Sandpiper. I can't wait to experience the peaceful beauty of the area again. ---Amy from Santa Monica, CA


The Best of the Best

5 su dicembre 14, 2011

Where do I start!? My husband & I traveled by car from L.A. to Seattle in July, stopping in numerous towns/cities along the way. This bed & breakfast has the softest sheets I've ever felt in my life. And the breakfast Curtis served far exceeded that of other B&Bs we stayed at along our journey -- it was delightful & had something for everyone (I prefer carbs; my husband prefers the protein). There was a precious little nest of birds on the front porch, & the porch had a tasteful amount of white Christmas lights to bid us warm welcome. The backyard (open to all guests) is BEAUTIFUL. I couldn't stop taking pictures -- & deep breaths. Utmost care has been taken to make this place a wonderful haven for travelers. Highly recommend. (NOTE: the shower wasn't the largest in the Clifton room nor was the water pressure very high, but that's not a high priority for us & there was plenty of hot water!)


Curtis is great, and the views are too!

4,2 su dicembre 11, 2011

The view of the ocean was beautiful, and it was only matched by the quality of the breakfast, prepared by the cool innkeeper. He is really nice and seems like an all around good guy.


Another satisfied customer

4,4 su dicembre 07, 2011

Elk is an amazing town with absolutely beautiful views of the ocean. I highly recommend staying here instead of Mendecino or Fort Bragg. And the Sandpipper Inn is amazing - the rooms are fantastic, and the food is even better. I'll certainly be back!


had a very good experience

3,8 su novembre 28, 2011

we stayed (myself, wife and 2.5 year-old) for one night. it is a cozy, nice place, great view of teh sea, and a great breakfast. would probably come back if possible.


Beautiful, serene location and wonderful lodging

4,8 su novembre 26, 2011

We stayed two nights in the beginning of the Thanksgiving week 2011. It is absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed the surrounding sceneries, state parks and the backyard garden of the inn. The breakfast was awesome. We were served home made quiche, fresh fruit ..... We'd love to come back soon. We took some great pictures of sunsetting at Greenwood State Park that is 5 minutes drive away from the inn. Went to Mendocino and surrounding state parks. Lovely, the best so far !


Romantic Anniversary Place

4,2 su novembre 06, 2011

Enjoyed our one night stay celebrating our 7th wedding anniversary. Beautiful room, and view of the coast. Would come back again!


Beautiful view, cozy room, and delicious breakfasts

5 su novembre 04, 2011

We stayed at Sandpiper House Inn for our five year anniversary, and it was everything we had hoped for. The room was gorgeous and cozy, and the view was amazing. The sound of the waves crashing was quite soothing. The breakfasts that Curtis made were interesting and delicious. Thank you Sandpiper House Inn for a wonderful stay.


Sandpiper Stay

3,4 su novembre 03, 2011

We loved the view! This place has the best view in the area and is a short walk to the town. We will certainly be back.


Wow that was awesome!

5 su ottobre 24, 2011

Our stay at the Sandpiper House Inn was outstanding. Our room was beautiful with a great view of the ocean and bay. It was quiet, except for the ocean waves hitting shore, just the way we like it. Curtis, the innkeeper, was a great host with lots of knowledge of the area. Not a bad cook either! We saw a whale right outside the inn during breakfast. Pretty fun! The grounds are beautiful and just what we needed. Definitely going back - it was awesome!


delightful, delicious, & dazzling but disappointing

4,0 su ottobre 23, 2011

Enjoyed our stay. Curtis the innkeeper was low key, but helpful for all our needs and questions. He is a superb gourmet cook and breakfast was wonderful. The room (Headlands) was as pictured with lovely comfortable bedding, large bath with abundant fluffy towels, fireplace, etc. The view was amazing, especially from the breakfast room. We had used a discount special and felt we received our value. We were disappointed with the appearance and the maintance of the house and grounds. If we had paid regular price, it would have been unsatisfactory due to the exterior condition. The house, fence, patio railing and furniture were in need of fresh paint or replacement. The garden is a delight filled with so many blooming species of shrubs and flowers! However it was overgrown, especially prohibiting as it blocked our patio view. We were disappointed with The wooden benches and the pathway again needing replacement, paint, and repair (could not descend safely). Some investment in the outside is needed.


October

3,4 su ottobre 20, 2011

Beautiful ocean view. Very quaint. Quiet town. Inn keeper provided delicious breakfasts. The owner's of the town's grocery store were very helpful with local information.


Cozy retreat--rain or shine

4,2 su ottobre 07, 2011

Our room was beautiful and the bed was wonderfully comfy and cozy. It was described as having a "sweeping view of the ocean and adjoining English garden." Garden view yes, ocean, not so much. It would, if some of the shrubbery were trimmed back. In any case, the view was only a few steps away. Breakfast included a delicious puffy frittata and a truly spectacular ocean view through the Breakfast Room's picture window. We would have liked to stay another night.


3 nights in Elk

3,4 su settembre 26, 2011

We had a great time in Elk, as part of our holiday from New Zealand. We booked late so we were in the only room without a sea view. But, at the top of the cliffs, the view from the breakfast room was fantastic, and we enjoyed talking with some great fellow guests. The Innkeeper was reserved, but went out of his way to be helpful and made sure we got the very best from our experience. Recommended: also make sure you sample the two lovely restaurants in Elk itself, ten minutes' easy walk away.


A great weekend retreat

3,4 su settembre 08, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Evergreen room which was very nice. Big hot-tub style bathtub (no jets though), VERY comfortable canopy bed, and two chairs for reading by the fire. We spent most of the long weekend in our room just reading! There is wifi if you insist on staying connected. Curtis the innkeeper was a really nice guy, and breakfast was delicious both days. I had emailed in advance to let him know my wife was celiac, so he made us delicious gluten-free pancakes one morning and an awesome egg-potato bake the next. If you want to see a picture of him, he appeared in this NYT article about Mendocino that came out the same weekend we were there! http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2011/09/04/travel/20110904-hours-mendocino-8.html.


Great location

4,6 su agosto 22, 2011

I had a great time at this place with my wife and two young kids. Fantastic views, nice garden, cute rabbits. Also enjoyed the food at close by restaurant Bridget& Dolan. I recommend this place


2 nights in the Weston room at the Sandpiper House, Elk.

4,0 su agosto 02, 2011

My wife and I just spent two nights at the Sandpiper House in Elk. The bed was very comfortable, the view from our room (Weston) was magnificient when the fog was not socked in. The weather was nice and cool compared to very hot days in the San Joaquin Valley. The inn needs some work, it needs to be aired out and the musty smell eliminated. When we arrived the porch had a plastic tarp spread over it, looked very tacky. The furniture in the lobby-front room need to refurbished. The breakfast on the 1st day was outstanding, the last day a little light. Curtis the inn keeper is a very nice fellow, even though you would not call him outgoing. You need to ask for things if you want them, i.e. snacks , etc. For the price of $265 per night plus tax you are better off staying in a hotel in a larger town or city where there is a little more to do than there is in Elk. If you just want to vegetate and not do many activities, it is a splendid although expensive outing.


Cute and quaint bed and breakfast

4,6 su luglio 22, 2011

This is a very small bed and breakfast in a very small town on the Pacific Coast. Although it is quite remote, it was a very nice stay. The property manager Curtis was very friendly, polite and a fantastic chef! He made the best fritatta and brownies I ever had. If you are looking for a low key spot for a night, this is your spot :)


Sandpiper

2,0 su giugno 09, 2011

This was the worst value of any B&Bs on our recent trip in California and Oregon. Far too expensive for what it was at $265/night. We typically paid about $150 for in most case better product. Living at 6 degrees from horizontal was a bit disconcerting for a house at the edge of a cliff! The innkeeper was in the wrong job.


Beautiful, comfortable, delicious, and thoroughly wonderful!

4,4 su giugno 03, 2011

The landscape is breathtaking. The location is perfect, right around the corner from Elk and a comfortable drive up to Mendocino, while still being right on the coast with isolated and gorgeous views. The owner of the inn is a gracious and very nice man who cooks an amazing breakfast, which you eat in a small cozy dining room overlooking the cliffs and sea. Our bed had a pillow top and was very comfortable. Everything was unique, comfortable and lovely. I will be staying there again.


Return to Excellence

4,0 su aprile 24, 2011

Our third visit to the Sandpiper Inn was just as lovely as always. Our first stay was our first weekend away as a couple. We got engaged three years later on our next visit. This time, there was no special occasion--just a time to relax. We love the beautiful cove and wonder why so many folks spend the extra money for a less special experience in Mendocino when the Sandpiper in Elk is even more beautiful, tranquil, and special.


When can we go back?

4,6 su marzo 25, 2011

We just loved our two nights at the Sandpiper House Inn! Curtis, the owner, was so friendly and helpful, not to mention an EXCELLENT chef. We stayed in the Weston room and can't rave enough about the spectacular view, the fireplace and the big, comfortable bed. The gardens and double adirondack were also wonderful.


most beautiful view

3,2 su gennaio 15, 2011

Our stay was very pleasant, the innkeeper (Curtis) was quite friendly and accommodating, and an excellent cook. This little Inn must be on one of the most beautiful corners of the California Coast. We loved looking at the view from our bed, while remaining warm by the fire. The gardens and ponds leading up to the cliff are lovely for people and friendly for wildlife - a real plus. We just didn't think the luxury quite met the cost. If they lowered the price then we would give five stars all around.


Great location, stunning views, cozy venue, wonderful breakfast, and personable host

4,8 su gennaio 06, 2011

The location is stunning. Curtis was both personable and an amazing chef and host. We will plan on returning.


Perfection!

4,8 su gennaio 02, 2011

Our stay the the Sandpiper was the lovliest experience we have ever had with vacation lodging. The Sandpiper B & B is beautifully furnished, the grounds are lovely and the ocean view rooms are nirvana! Curtis, the manager, provided us with all that we needed with generosity and kindness. We will definitely be back again to enjoy all the the Sandpiper has to offer! Thank you, Darla and Eric Kirby.


Best B&B on a short notice.

4,4 su settembre 22, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a quick get away and we have now found a place that will become a tradition for all of our special occasions. From the moment we walked into the door we were treated as long time friends and it did not stop the entire visit. Curtis, you are wonderful.


Soooo Romantic!!

4,0 su gennaio 16, 2010

My husband took me to this great little love nest for my birthday last weekend.... everthing was wonderful!! Even the sun peaked out a bit in the afternoon!! The host was gracious and co-operative, hot breakfast was yummy and the ocean view is second to none. The Sandpiper House isn't the most elegant of B and B's but if you are looking for privacy, relaxation, good service, beautiful gardens, wonderful views of the ocean and romantic atmosphere.... this is the place to be!


Fabulous

5 su gennaio 15, 2010

My husband and I found the Inn sparkeling clean and charming. The Inn Keeper, Curtis, could not have been nicer! His food and service was outstanding. The grounds and the view are beautiful! We definitly will be back. We encouaged friends and family to experience this wonderful place.


Disappointed!

2,0 su ottobre 13, 2009

The Inn has the potential to be a gem. The view and grounds are fabulous, but our room was in some serious need of refurbishing. In the picture it looks nice but in person, everything is faded from the sun, missing one of the chairs by the window, bed coverings yellowed, pictures so faded you can barely tell what they were, carpets stained, etc. No wine & hors d'oeuvers as advertised, path so overgrown I don't see how you could get down to the beach, didn't even get our room cleaned or bed made up! I'm really glad I got an unheard of price of $99. a night cause if I had paid full price I really would of been upset. No other guests during our two night stay so I don't know why the attention to detail was missing, besides the fact the owners may not want to spend any money on an inn that could be a real paradise. Sorry!


great find!

4,0 su agosto 18, 2008

the service was wonderful, the inn was clean, and you can't beat the location. would definitely stay there again.


HEAVENLY STAY!

5 su gennaio 05, 2008

COMFORTABLE BED, SPACIOUS ROOM! ROMANTIC FIREPLACE! EXCELLENT BREAKFAST! GREAT LOCATION, VIEW SPECTACULAR! JACI INNKEEPER IS AN ANGEL! SHE WAS GREAT!


GREAT 1-NIGHT STAY PLACE

5 su novembre 13, 2007

One of the few (if only) B&B's that has a one night stay min. Being parents, it is hard enough getting someone to watch the kids, let alone find a 1-night B&B! Staff is great and friendly. Would recommend this to ANYONE for quick get-away. Short walk to both food, shops, and a stroll on the beach! M&T


Awesome

5 su marzo 09, 2007

The view from our room was awesome and the hospitality of the innkeeper was incredible. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately go again.

Risposta del proprietario
Dear guests, Thank you so much for your "awesome" review. Jaci and I will be delighted to have you stay with us again. The flowers in the garden are blooming incredibly right now and the little bunnies are also enjoying the garden! We're having a July 4th Special if you'd like to join us-stay 3 nights and the 3rd night is 50% off! Thanks again for writing a great review!! Sincerely yours, Gerarda


Sandpiper House Inn

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $275 - $295
  • Recensioni (91) 4,1
  • Camere 5
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-7078773587
  • Numero di Fax 1-7078771822
  • Gratuito 1-8008949016

Sito Web della struttura »

Più info

Inizio pagina