Bauers' Gilded Nest Recensioni

Globalmente
4,7

Più info

  • Camera4,7
  • Servizi4,8
  • Valore4,7
  • Pulizia4,8
  • Cibo4,5

Valore della struttura
88 Recensioni

Scrivi una recensione

A Cozy Retreat

5 su febbraio 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed are stay here very much! It was very clean, cozy and private. Mikki is very warm and welcoming and made us feel at home. We will definitely be going back.


A cozy getaway

5 su dicembre 05, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bauers' Gilded Nest Artist's Studio for 9 days over Thanksgiving week, hoping for a comfortable and quiet place where we could spend some time reading and writing in between nature walks and sunshine. Micki's great cooking and warm hospitality made our stay easy, cozy, productive, and perfect! We enjoyed Micki's homemade continental breakfasts. For lunches and dinners, we alternately tried a few of the local dining options and prepared simple meals at home for ourselves, as the room came equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, large toaster oven, and suitably sized pots, pans, and utensils for cooking. This made our stay both more economical and relaxed. I would recommend the Artist's Studio to any couple looking for a romantic getaway. It's an absolutely cozy and charming place to spend time with a dear one.


Our elegant "Elegant Suite" stay!

4,6 su ottobre 22, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in the Elegant Suite, which was beautifully decorated, very comfortable, had every amenity we could need, including a spare toothbrush (which we needed since we forgot ours!). The owner, Mikki, is super helpful and makes sure that your every need and comport were attended to. The price was also very reasonable for everything you get and for the amount of attention and service that comes with the room. Thanks Mikki!

Risposta del proprietario
TO ALL MY GUESTS: a big thank you for your much appreciated good reviews. I feel that I am the lucky one to have had the opportunity to host YOU ! Wishing you all the most enjoyable of traveling adventures !


Weekend Get-Away

4,6 su ottobre 20, 2012

We had a great time in Cambria and our stay at Bauer's Guilded Nest was lovely. We were so happy to find a last minute B&B available. We appreciated Mikki's care and concern for a special needs diet and the Cottage Suite was very clean, cozy, and comfortable. We loved watching the hummingbirds and enjoyed the peace and quite for our weekend get-away.


What a lovely way to spend our anniversary!!!

5 su ottobre 09, 2012

This is an amazing "homestay" experience. The place is immaculate and as charming as your hostess, Mikki. The breakfast was absolutely delicious with all homemade goodies. We choose the "light" option but we were well sated with wonderful muffins and a fabulous fruit, yogurt and granola dish. Mikki knows lots about Cambria and was more than willing to share lots of interesting tidbits. The accommodations were also peaceful and quiet. Enjoy!!


Bauers' Gilded Nest

5 su agosto 18, 2012

From the moment we pulled into the driveway, I knew we were in for a delightful surprise. As we entered into our cottage, our jaws almost dropped as we absorbed the charm of this place. Every single piece of furniture seemed to complement each other creating such a quaint environment. Mikki introduced herself right away and made us feel absolutely welcome. She offered her valuable service and she quickly made us aware of all the activities we could do in the beautiful town of Cambria. Breakfast the next morning was an absolute delight and it totally exceeded our expectations. I was quite disappointed when it was time to check out as I didnt want this marvelous vacation to come to a halt. The memories we shared in this beautiful inn will remain in our hearts. Thank you Mikki for all the Love you put into your work!!!


.

5 su agosto 11, 2012

We stayed there for two wonderful days, the breakfast was excellent, room was in perfect condition, bathroom well suplied, very close to the villege, the beach and the Harest casttle, had a wonderfull time.


Love this gem!

5 su luglio 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at Bauers' Gilded Nest this past weekend and we absolutely loved it! You couldn't ask for a more gracious hostess than Mikki. From our initial phone call I could tell she really cares about treating her guests. We had a lengthy conversation about what, if any, dietary restrictions we might have, so I figured the breakfasts would be good, but they were actually superb. Then, when she sent her confirmation email, she made sure to include her dining recommendations, which came in incredibly handy, as well as specific directions that Google Maps doesn't provide, so we wouldn't get lost. The property is quiet and charming. We stayed in the cottage accommodation, which is filled with great little homey touches that make it so warm and inviting. My favorite is the mason jar display filled with paint brushes, pencils, etc, in case an artistic mood strikes. The bed was so comfortable I felt like I was being hugged all night. I cannot recommend this place enough if you're going to Cambria. You will not be disappointed in this nest.


EXCELLENT

5 su luglio 21, 2012

Spent two days at tthe Guilded Nest. Our hostess, Mikki, provided a clean, comfy home, a healthy yummy breakfast and tourist advise and directions. Everything we hoped for and more. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast!!! Bob and Donna


A vacation paradise!

5 su luglio 20, 2012

We loved our cozy, beautifully decorated accomodations in the Artist's Loft, which had an amazingly comfortable bed. We also enjoyed a delicious breakfast overlooking a fantastic garden area complete with hummingbirds.. Mikki even customized our breakfasts to fit our likes and dislikes. We highly reccommend Bauers' Gilded Nest!


Good as gold

5 su luglio 17, 2012

We just returned from 2 nights at the guilded nest. The queen room was quiet, private, and sweetly decorated with antiques and a bird motif. Mikki provides all amenities that you can imagine (wine and cheese upon arrival, snacks, sewing kit, aspirin, and cozy bathrobes). The lite breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We very happily recommend the GN.


Quiet and Cozy Getaway

4,4 su maggio 15, 2012

We had a delightful and restful stay in the spring, close to everything in Cambria and a short drive to Hearst Castle. Mikki was very helpful with suggestions and local history, which was much appreciated. We especially loved the recommended hike at the nature preserve a short distance away, with outstanding views of the ocean and wildlife. The location was a nice alternative to the town or busy beach hotel area. The snacks were welcome, and we had everything we needed. Would definitely return in the future.


A - Mazing!!!

4,0 su febbraio 05, 2012

I stayed in the Bauers Gilded Nest with my mom and one of her freinds Jan. 2012. Mikki is a great lady! We loved her, the location, her home, the breakfast was great! I want to go back and bring my b/f. I had never stayed in a B&B and feel lucky my first expierence staying in one was at the Bauer's Gilded Nest. It was super clean - cleaner than a neat freaks clean house. And she does it all herself. We loved everything about this place and Mikki made our stay a pleasure and you cannot beat the price or location!!! Thanks Mikki!!! We will be back soon!


Fantastic experience

5 su novembre 26, 2011

We fell upon this gem by accident and we were pleasantly surprised at the comfort of the Bauers Guilded Nest. Mikki was like family and prepared a wonderful home for our short stay. I would recommend this b and b to everyone. Thank you for an incredible stay.


10 Reasons to Stay at Bauer's Gilded Nest

5 su novembre 08, 2011

- The lowest price for a Cambria B and B. - No 2 day minimum stay on weekends like most other Cambria B and Bs. - 2 minute drive away from downtown Cambria. - Only 2 guest units – so privacy is practically guaranteed. - Greeted with a welcome set up of wine, cheeses, and crackers in our room. - Beautiful garden full of interesting knick knacks and sculptures. - Comfy beds, ample blankets and quilts. - Cool, artistic touches throughout the unit. - The elevated Continental Breakfast was satisfying: chicken apple sausages, fruits, oatmeal, home made granola, , muffins, pastry, fruit cup, coffee, purified water, and apple juice. - An amazing hostess (Mikki) who went out of her way to ensure that our stay was perfect. What a sweetheart. Vanessa and I fell in love with Mikki immediately. She treated us like family. We look forward to a return visit to Cambria, Mikki and the Gilded Nest!


A true gem!

5 su novembre 04, 2011

I did not originally intend to book this particular home-stay because I wanted to return to a different place I'd previously stayed in on my last trip to Cambria 3 years ago. Well, it turned out to be a lucky happenstance that my original choice was not available and the innkeeper referred me to the Gilded Nest. Now, the next time I visit Cambria, I will have a very hard time deciding which place to book! The Gilded Nest is a true gem. I knew it within minutes of pulling into the drive and seeing for the first time the beautiful, lush garden setting. Upon meeting Nicki Bauer, our hostess, both my boyfriend and I were immediately charmed by her warm, welcoming demeanor. My high opinion was solidified when we first walked in to our accommodations. I booked the larger of the two suites and was thrilled with it on every level. Nicki has decorated the two-story mini-condo in a calming neutral color palette, with country-French furniture and delightful folk-art accents, many of her own creation. In addition, she added seasonal touches to the downstairs decor to celebrate Halloween. It got my boyfriend and me in the appropriate holiday "spirit". The bathroom, though small, was functional and spotlessly clean, which is a particular thing with me. The king-size bed was so comfortable, it made getting up and getting out in the mornings very tough! Nicki's enhanced continental breakfasts were delicious and more than enough food to tide us over 'til lunchtime. Her continental breakfasts are so ample, I wonder what the full breakfast is like! No doubt a feast! To sum up, Bauer's Gilded Nest will satisfy even the most particular and discerning guest. I know, because I'm such a person, with very high standards when it comes to where I stay. A perfect home-stay in a very convenient location to the town center, I wholeheartedly recommend it and will most definitely return.


Everything you need, and more

5 su ottobre 29, 2011

Our accommodations were outstanding and Mikki is helpful and charming - we stayed for only two days, but would have loved to stay longer. It's convenient to Hearst Castle, which was our initial reason for choosing Cambria, but we discovered many more reasons to spend time there, especially since the Gilded Nest is so comfortable and well located.


Excluded and Private

4,4 su ottobre 01, 2011

Excellent location! The room was exceptionally clean and super private. Mikki was helpful with suggestions for spa and dining options.


Sweet Weekend Getaway

5 su settembre 11, 2011

My husband and I went for a short weekend getaway. We could not have been more surprised at how accomodating Mrs. Bauers was. Everything we needed was there, the room was fabulous and everything was super clean. Mrs. Bauers is a sweet and wonderful lady. The breakfast she served was appetizing. I will not forget going to this B&B for a long time and I'm sure we will try and be guests there again.


Great Accommodations, Delightful Hostess

5 su settembre 06, 2011

Stayed two nights in the Loft and could not have asked for a better experience. Mikki's attention to detail is "over the top". She really does think of everything you might need while away from home. The location is quiet and private and the rooms were impecccably clean and very comfortably furnished. Mikki's knowledge of the area is extensive and her recommendations for restaurants, attractions, and things to do while visiting Cambria were excellent. We felt very much "at home" and would definitely make the Gilded Nest our destination if we were in that area again. Thank you, Mikki! Marlene & Walt


THE place to stay in Cambria

5 su agosto 04, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay. Cute and comfy. Great breakfasts!!! Convenient to Cambria and Hearst castle. Recommend highly and will happily visit again! Mikki is a welcoming and knowledgeable host.

Risposta del proprietario
To My Guests: I wanted to respond with gratitude and appreciation to you all for such wonderful reviews. Thank you for recognizing how much I value your choosing 'The Nest'. Wishing you safe travels on all your adventures.


Wonderful Stay

4,4 su agosto 01, 2011

We had a delightful time staying at Bauers' Gilded Nest. Mikke was pleasant and thoughtful during our 2 day stay. She made it personal by baking brownies for my husband's birthday. Thanks, Mikki. We will recommend your B&B to all our friends.


Always fabulous

5 su luglio 11, 2011

We stayed in the Elegant suite for 3 nights. It is like being at home. Every detail is attended to. It is beautiful and cozy and very clean. Mikki is such a warm and friendly host. She knows the area and helps with ideas of things to see and enjoy. The food is delicious and way more than you can eat. We can't wait to come back again and again.


Beautiful stay at Bauers' Gilded Nest!

4,4 su giugno 26, 2011

Far (but not too far) from the touristy Moonstone Beach, Bauers' Gilded Nest is the perfect getaway. Situated just above Cambria and close to the Cambria Pines Lodge, Mikki's "Nest" is just that--a cozy, clean, comfortable place to relax and let your worries slip away. Mikki, an artist, has decorated her nest beautifully with plenty of whimsey to keep one entertained. Her cooked breakfasts are delicious, her beds clean and comfortable, and her rooms are stocked with everything you might need. She has a pretty garden with plenty of hummingbirds and a WiFi with excellent reception! Wonderful value for money and we will definitely return one day. Karen and Ian, Seal Beach, CA


Mikki made our weekend!

5 su giugno 21, 2011

Mikki made our anniversary weekend! Her place was absolutely outstanding, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Last year we went to Catalina, and it was ok--everyone treated us with the attitude of "you're tourists, so you'll be gone by tomorrow and i could care less about you," and that made our anniversary mediocre. Bauer's Gilded Nest was the complete opposite of that experience. Mikki spent a lot of time figuring out what we wanted to eat for breakfast--no cold continental breakfasts here! Everything in the room was wonderful--I felt like I was at a five star hotel with all the amenities and extra attention to detail that was paid. There is a toaster, a microwave, a bunch of hair products including shampoo and conditioner, and a bunch of other goodies that you may or may not need, but it's nice to know you have! We were on a tight budget, so the fridge was wonderful to have--we brought our own lunch, breakfast is included, so our only expenses were dinner. Mikki recommended a wonderful restaurant to us--the Sow's Ear, and everyone there wished us a happy anniversary. We absolutely loved Cambria, and everyone seemed to welcome us there, as visitors to their quaint little town, instead of treating us like tourists whom they couldn't wait to leave. Mikki really went out of her way to make sure that we were comfortable, and to have everything tailored to our needs as closely as possible. We have been to several other bed and breakfasts before, and love how quaint they are, but this one took it to a whole new level. All the decorations matched, and Mikki was extremely hospitable. I can't thank her enough for making our weekend so special, and we will definitely try and return here again. Best Regards, Anna and Dave


Exceptional !

5 su maggio 29, 2011

This intimate and delightful B&B Homestay was just what we needed for a few days to get away. We love Cambria and now have found our perfect hide away. Private, clean, excellent full breakfasts and absolutely beautiful decor and outdoor landscaping. Thank you Micky for such a welcoming and thoughtful stay , as well as the absolutely adorable parting gift !


Serene Nest

5 su maggio 15, 2011

May 2-4,2011 We stayed in the loft "nest" and it was wonderful.Mikki is warm,and her "nest" is serene,spotless,comfortable and the food is wonderful. Mikki is helpful with restaurant choices,and places to go. Staying with Mikki is like staying with an old friend.Mike and I hope to come back in the future. Lea and Mike Austin,Texas


A Perfect Cambria Weekend

4,8 su febbraio 14, 2011

Great inn, wonderful host, and we loved meeting Bear. Mikki was a perfect hostess...she recommended lots of places for us to go/eat and even offered to book reservations for us. It's the only place we'll ever need to stay in Cambria. Looking forward to our next visit. - Michael and Cyndy Gaither, Watsonville CA


A Haven on a Summer's Day in January

4,4 su febbraio 14, 2011

We came here to find peace and tranquility after a tough calendar year. Not only did the inn meet our expectations, but so did the glorious weather! Highly recommended!


A Beautiful, Relaxing Getaway

4,6 su gennaio 30, 2011

Staying at the Bauer's Gilded Nest Bed and Breakfast was the perfect setting for our anniversary. Well hidden from the public eye, the studio and its innkeeper offered us the privacy and the laid back weekend we were looking for. The food prepared and left for us was delicious. The atmosphere was just delightful, and the experience, uplifting.


A Treasure

5 su settembre 26, 2010

We adored our stay at this bed and breakfast. Mikki went above and beyond to help us feel at home. The room is clean, comfortable and well furnished. I would recommend this B & B to anyone. The only caveat would be for those people over 6'2"-- The bedroom loft portion has low, angled ceilings in the bathroom, or those who would wish to plug in an enormous amount of electrical items (Cambria has sketchy electricity). The downstairs kitchenette area is really cute!


It is like coming home...

5 su settembre 26, 2010

Unfortunatelay we only stayed for one night on our journey from SF to LV. Mikki welcomed us and cared for us so lovingly, and she even prepared a birthday cake for our friend (the email contact in preparation of our stay was very nice and helpful for us). And if you want to know secrets about Cambria and the surroundings - Mikki knows everything!


Bauers'

3,0 su settembre 02, 2010

Our room was very nicely decorated. The hostess was very gracious. The location was perfect for our needs. Quiet. Unusual breakfast situation. Ask about it before you go.

Risposta del proprietario
I was surprised and extremely disappointed to read and try to understand why a guest would feel it necessary to leave an 'unsatisfactory dining' post in this most recent review. I work very hard striving to ensure all guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I take great efforts to discuss with all potential guests every detail of their stay before their arrival. This includes all diet restrictions, likes and dislikes as well as explaining the codes that I must follow as a B&B Home Stay within my area. As per those discussions all appetizers, snacks, beverages and their full breakfast are the guests' choices, decided upon by them according to diet restrictions, likes and dislikes. 'Code Policies' of No Common Walls or Common Areas shared by guests is also discussed and is also stated in writing in all advertising listings and website to ensure the potential guest is aware that all foods are within their private accommodation. Past and repeat guests have assured me that they appreciate the convenience, flexibility and privacy of this policy, enabling them to enjoy either hurrying or meandering through at their own timing schedule. If this 'code policy' is not of a potential guest's liking they [by my request] may prefer to book another Inn that may be more suitable to what they feel meets their needs. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all my past and repeat guests for letting me know that you have recognized how much I value having the opportunity to have hosted you by leaving such kind and heartfelt reviews. Thank you ! As always, wishing you safe travels ! Fondly, Mikki Bauers' Gilded Nest Homestay


Peace, Privacy and Perfect Food!

5 su agosto 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Bauer's Gilded Nest for two nights - we felt like royalty! We stayed in the "Artist Loft" and it had everything we needed and wanted, and then some! Mikki's caring nature and attention to detail helped us feel very comfortable. She referred us to a great restaurant in Cambria - Robin's - thanks Mikki! From cozy bath robes to nail files to yummy snacks, it was truly a home away from home. Our friends stayed on Moonstone Beach; once they saw our place they were so jealous and said they will stay at the Gilded Nest next time they are in Cambria. Lastly...the bed was SO COMFORTABLE. While in Cambria - this is a must!


Stay was too short!

4,8 su agosto 14, 2010

Mikki was a very accomodating and gracious hostess. We stayed in the smaller room which was perfect. Great value. We had more snacks and food than we knew what to do with which was a fun surprise. The dining recommendations were great. The handmade gift was a special and unique touch. Good location for Hearst Castle. We would love to come back again!


It's like your home

4,2 su luglio 22, 2010

Had an amazing stay at this place with my buddy. Its a very well done house in the heart of Cambria. Rooms are well equipped with TV, Internet and other necessary amenities. The house lady is exceptional in her service. She takes very good care of preparing customized breakfast, suggesting good places to eat and to look around. All in all it is like going back to your parents in a house you grew up in


Cozy Gilded Nest

5 su luglio 21, 2010

We had a cozy stay at Bauer's Gilded Nest in July. Just like home, and we loved the hummingbird outside our window as we enjoyed our very generous and creative breakfast. We hope to make Bauer's our headquarters again when in Cambria! Our hostess was very warm, welcoming and helpful with restaurant suggestions for dinner. A pleasant surprise, and fun!


Anniversary Special

5 su luglio 18, 2010

The time spent at the Gilded Nest was absolutely delightful. The owner has a wonderful way of making the stay feel so special in either accomodation but especially in her studio. What a beautiful place to spend our anniversary.


Delightful Stay, Excellent Location, I Love Cambria!!!

4,4 su luglio 12, 2010

Mikki was extremely considerate and accommodating in every way. I have a lot of allergies but Mikki was so conscientious and made sure that she served food that I could eat. The bathroom was very clean and the bed was super comfortable. The studio loft was so quaint and i loved staying in it. Thank you Mikki for making my stay in Cambria a wonderful experience.


Great place to spend 4 days

5 su luglio 06, 2010

Stayed here over the 4th of July weekend at the Gilded Nest. Great location, easy to find, more food than we could eat. Lots of privacy. Would definitely stay here again.


Quiet and relaxing

5 su aprile 03, 2010

We stayed here with our son and his wife. It was a wonderful accommodation for two couples traveling together. Mikki's knowledge of the area was exceptional. We truly enjoyed all the goodies she had for us and her breakfast dishes were scrumptious. She even shared a recipe with me! We would certainly stay here again if we found ourselves in the area.


Adorable B & B......

4,4 su marzo 23, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay...only wish it could've been longer. Mikki was an excellent host. She was very informative & accomodating. We enjoyed the snacks....her homemade hummus was so good! The bed was quite comfortable. The decor was so cute...inspired thoughts of redecorating my own home! I highly recommend this B & B!


Artist Sutdio is AMAZING

5 su marzo 08, 2010

This place is fantastic. Its like having your own loft apartment only Mikki leaves you snacks and breakfast. AND, need any advice on where to go in the area, Mikki is wonderful to have a chat with. The bed is amazing and the kitchen is the perfect area to hang out, sit and chat with a cup of coffee, or play one of the games she has. We can't wait to go back!


A wonderful stay

4,8 su marzo 08, 2010

We were greeted by Mikki upon arrival and shown around the "nest". We stayed in the studio for an overnight on the way up the coast. The unit was charming and spotlessly clean. Her welcome snack spread was very nice with a delicious home-made spread of hummus and olive tapenade. Her recommendation of a local seaside walk to the nature preserve led us to a delightful sunset 2 mile walk away from the crowd. Breakfast was tasty with homemade goodies and jams. We highly recommend a stay here. It was better than expected. Rick and Helen.


This "Nest" was perfect

4,6 su febbraio 24, 2010

The fact that the rooms were separate from each other was a definite plus. Nestled away in the quiet part of Cambria, this "nest" was beyond our expectations. The artists loft was perfect for the celebration of our 35th wedding anniversary. Thank you, Mikki.


Such a wonderful place to stay

5 su febbraio 21, 2010

Just wanted to say that this place is as good a value as it gets ! Came back through Calif. again to be with family and was happy to know that nothing had changed but upgrades !! The quality of furnishings, beds and linens [very very comfortable]... the artistic decor & artwork...the breakfasts as well as so many snacks offered... plus even a partying gift given with your wine & appetizers makes for a real treat at an affordable price. Mikki treats her guests with pampering.. making sure all needs are met... as well as having your accommodation spotless and stocked with every little detail of what you may need or forgot... and does it all with true grace and kindness. She makes for a great hostess that obviously works hard at taking her business very seriously... presenting you with privacy , comfort.. and an over all feeling of being appreciated. We will return again to Calif. and we will again be sure to be staying here.... all tucked away in our own little private 'nest'


The Nest is a Gem

5 su febbraio 20, 2010

We stayed a couple of nights in this warm and fantastic bed and breakfast and our host really made us feel at home. The room was cozy and clean and they are right up the hill from downtown Cambria which is great for shopping. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to others. Mike


Enchanting

4,0 su gennaio 23, 2010

The Bauers' Gilded Nest was so wonderful and charming. A perfect getaway with great hospitality. Mikki was wonderful, and the olive tepenade AMAZING!! Thank you for such a wonderful weekend. And don't foget to visit the nature preserve boardwalk...one of Mikki's many breathtaking reccomendations!


A definite return!

4,6 su gennaio 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed a few days while visiting a few areas of California last July. Of all our stops, our Bauers' Nest stay was by far the most relaxing and comfortable. Not only was the place very clean and cozy, but Mikki's hospitality was outstanding. From the warm greeting we received upon our arrival, as Mikki spent time to sit and tell us about the must sees of this beautiful area of California coast. (it's evident, she loves Cambria); to the personal snacks she stocked for our stay, to our homemade parting gift the day we left. Mikki provided a great balance of hospitality and privacy for our stay. We knew she was within reach for our needs, but didn't keep us on a B&B schedule. Staying at Bauers' Nest was like having our own place away from home. We will definitely return. John & Gina Dyer


great place, great value

5 su dicembre 02, 2009

The Gilded Nest was truly outstanding. The rooms were well situated and spotless. The location, setting and hospitailty was great. Mickki knows how to please her guest. We look forward to our next trip. Skip & Lucille


"Tranquility in Cambria"

5 su ottobre 21, 2009

In early Sept. we enjoyed 3 night's in The Lovely Artist's Studio Loft. Everything you need at your fingertips. Awaken to a selection of breakfast delight's. A cup of tea or coffee while planning your day. Hummingbird's right outside your window. Great walks, watching nature or a nice restaurant recommended by your host Mikki, you are sure to have a wonderful stay. After a full day you can return to a glass of wine or some cocoa, sit back, and relax in your beautiful accommodations and plan your next visit to Bauers' Gilded Nest. Thank you, S&O.


Review of stay

4,0 su ottobre 14, 2009

We stayed Sept. 24th & 25th, 2009 in the Elegant Suite at Bauers' Gilded Nest and it was very elegant, comfortable and very clean. We had a great time and Mikki, our hostess was the best, she had done an outstanding job with preparations for the stay and helped us tremendously with information regarding restaurants, tours, etc. She was so pleasant and friendly and we felt like family when we left. We would definately go there again.


Very personable and cozy

3,8 su settembre 21, 2009

The room was great. Our host, Mikki, was so nice and explained how to use all the amenities. She also was so fun to talk with and helped us with anything we needed during our stay. It was all around a great experience and we would certainly stay again!


Perfect B&B for R&R!

5 su settembre 06, 2009

Our only regret about this wonderful place is that we couldn't stay longer. The artist's studio, with its full kitchen and comfortable bedroom above it, was an invitation to spend a week there, not just one night! Mikki obviously takes great care in providing not only a beautiful place, where every detail is paid attention to, but she makes sure her guests are greeted by wine and cheese, and all sorts of foods for the next morning breakfast (she asks on the phone beforehand what her guests' desires are). If you do not care to eat out all the time, it is very easy to prepare your own meals in the studio. Location on Burton Circle is very convenient both to town and to the beach. Plan to stay several days, you won't regret it! Domi & Ray


Just what I needed!!

5 su agosto 20, 2009

I needed a quiet peaceful escape from my teenagers & this is it! The Queen Suite was elegant, comfortable & I felt pampered. The antiques are lovely & the scones, appetizers, snacks, ice tea, juice & coffee perfect. I will be back! Mary from Bakersfield


Hospitality with Privacy

4,0 su agosto 19, 2009

Mikki is very gracious and knowledgeable of the area. She suggested great food places and nature trails. The place was impeccable and very homey. Each day I drove in and drove out I felt I was leaving my own house and returning to it. She is a fabulous hostess and allows you all the privacy. Her work is great, the landscaping is fabulous. I never heard the dogs. Thanks Mikki, Love & God Bless!


Perfect restful retreat

5 su agosto 18, 2009

I stayed at the Gilded Nest in the spring and just came across the card for this site again. I want to be sure to share my compliments. I felt so comfortable and pampered during my 4 day stay. Mikki is a wonderful hostess. The room was lovely and a great place to return to after site seeing and enjoying Cambria.The house is conveniently located but still private and safe. Coming back to a nice glass of wine, fresh fruit and cheese was a perfect way to relax before dinner. I would recommend Bauers' Gilded Nest to anyone, but it's an especially nice place for a woman traveling alone.


Miki Bauers' Nest..

5 su agosto 09, 2009

This was by far the most relaxed 2 day's my wife and I have had, Miki was right there at check in and showed us everything about the room,explained about all the sites to see, suggested several restaruants,and palces to visit...I consider this Bed and Breakfast to be a stopping point for us in the near future...Thanks Miki for a wonderful time...Larry & Gladys Hardin....Bakersfield Ca.


A True Nest for Getaway Travellers

5 su agosto 04, 2009

It has been a while since our stay, but I really want to write this review and share with all of you my great experience with Mikki. Her house is very excluded, it does not cramp with the rest of hotels/inns in the center of a tourist town, and best of all, it is within 3 minutes of driving distance to get to anywhere in Cambria, it is very well located. Privacy, privacy, privacy. We didn't run into any other guests during our stay, and the room was very cozy, the pictures tell it all. Last but not least, Mikki's scones are the best in the West. The combination of location, price, and delicious food are unbeatable. I hope all of you will enjoy her home stay.


Absolutely awesome stay!

4,4 su luglio 25, 2009

We stayed at Bauer's Gilded Nest on the Saturday of Memorial Day Weekend - Mikki is an absolute delight and we loved staying at her place. The place is very clean and very homey - we loved the wine and appetizers and breakfast too. We normally stay in $ star hotels or above and Mikki's place is very comparable and we would without doubt recommend it to other travellers. Thank you for a great stay Mikki. We hope we can be back again in the future.


A Nice Weekend Out of the Heat!!

4,2 su luglio 21, 2009

My fiance and I really enjoyed our weekend at Bauer's Nest. Mikki, the hostess, was AMAZING!! She was nice, friendly, and really went above and beyond in the most genuine of ways to make you feel at home. Arriving after a long drive to delicious homemade tapenade and a glass of wine is a wonderful touch to begin your vacation!! Her helpful guides to restaurants were also nice. The only thing we found uncomfortable was the bed. The pillows weren't comfy and neither were the linens. Nontheless, we still had a fabulous time and enjoyed ourselves!!


Delightful B&B

4,6 su luglio 17, 2009

My wife & I stayed here for a couple of days at the end of May 2009. We would have happily stayed for much longer. Mikki made us very welcome, gave us useful information about the area, and made us feel more like visiting friends than paying guests. I have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to other couples visiting Cambria.


Great value in Cambria, Cal.

4,6 su luglio 04, 2009

Mikki Bauers provides great value without sacrificing quality. She is an excellent hostess who pays attention to the smallest detail. I doubt that you'll find nicer accommodations in the Cambria area for the price.


Nesting in the Treehouse

4,8 su luglio 02, 2009

My husband and I recently spent two nights at this home stay. Initially, the reason we chose Bauer's was the very good rate. (The Cambria area is generally overpriced, certainly not within our budget.) However, we were surprised at the quality and service Bauer's offered. We lodged in the Elegant Suite, which was a bit like staying in a lovely tree house. There were wine, cheese, and snacks awaiting us when we arrived and homemade scones and preserves in the cupboard for breakfast. The room contained a small frig, which was stocked with juice, milk, and yougurt. There was also a coffeemaker. A nice touch was the two matching robes which hung on the door. Everything in the room was immaculate. Our hostess was friendly and helpful. We felt like we were a priority. We found the area to be quiet and peaceful, as well as conveniently located to the town. When we return to Cambria, we will definitely stay here again.


A Home Away from Home

3,4 su giugno 30, 2009

My wife and had a great time. Very private and quiet. We especially liked being able to sleep in and eat whenever we wanted. We would stay here again.


Attention to Detail, par excellence

4,6 su giugno 30, 2009

Mikki was the consummate hostess and promoter of Cambria. Her intro was a bit lengthy, really detailed and we were so tired. Her information was helpful for the rest of our stay in the area. I'd stay there again, in a heartbeat!


WOW - Better than I could have hoped or expected!

5 su giugno 05, 2009

My wife and I wanted to make a quick get away from the Rat Race of our work. Bauers' Gilded Nest was a great retreat! Mikki went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. When we arrived and were shown our accomodations, I was very pleasantly surprised. The space was very comfortable with all the comforts of home. The scones and jellies were fantastic. Mikki made sure we had some ideas to go have dinner but with all the fruit and fixings, we ended up staying in the first evening. Everything was neat and clean and fresh. We have stayed in some high end hotels that were not as comfortable or clean as this. Next time we are in the area, we will be back!


A very quiet and private B&B

4,8 su giugno 04, 2009

Mikki is an enthusiastic, welcoming, and helpful host. Her activity and restaurant recommendations were perfect! The suite was spacious, clean, fun, and fully furnished with a kitchen and breakfast foods! One note, we did not realize that this is a property that allows smoking. We did remedy the mild smoke fragrance by opening the widows. All in all, we had a wonderful and enjoyable stay.


like staying at grandma's house

4,2 su giugno 02, 2009

We had a wonderful 2 night stay here. The place was immaculate and very inviting. Mikki was very welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed the balcony for our wine and cheese tray and again in the morning to listen to the birds as we drank our coffee. The bed was comfortable and the morning scones were delicious! It was a very unique and interesting b&b. Our only "ehh" about our stay was that there was a distinct smell of stale cigarette smoke which we are sensitive to.


nesting at bauer's

4,0 su maggio 31, 2009

The room we had was very nice, well laid out, and clean. Mikki left food for the weekend so we were totally on our own, which was very nice. The homestay is located centrally to various activities around the Cambria area, such as Cambria Villiage, West Cambria, San Simeon, and the beaches. The entrance is a private entrance and the street is quiet. Mikki interviews you for your food needs and desires and then delivers with what you like. all in all, very nice.


Brad and Aprils Honeymoon

4,2 su maggio 28, 2009

Very Cozy and Great Hospitality!


Gilded Nest

4,2 su maggio 15, 2009

The Studio is lovely, and very comfortable. We were greeted upon arrival with wine, crackers and cheese. Our hostess, Mikki is very gregarious, and suggested great dining choices and activities. She has really tried to think of everything- even bandaids for the sore feet! A very good choice for a quiet stay!


Absolutely Wonderful!

5 su maggio 09, 2009

We stayed with Mikki for two nights and had a wonderful time. The studio was charming and comfortable and a great home away from home. Mikki is great and wonderfully attentive while allowing complete privacy. The breakfast, snacks and amenities all top flight as was Mikki's helpfulness in guiding us when asked as to dining and things to do to make the most of our stay. Thanks Mikki for everything, the bluff walk was amazing! We'll be back. Candace & David


A nice find

5 su aprile 22, 2009

We were delighted to find such a peaceful, comfortable accomodation with such excellent service in Cambria. Mikki made us feel like city residents rather than tourists. . . and what a value!


First and foremost

5 su aprile 03, 2009

This was our first B&B stay in the US - and what a stay it was! Wonderful room with fantastic hospitality. I doubt if we will ever be able to match it let alone beat it. Congratulations to Mikki and thanks for a great stay. Sheniz & Jeff (England)


first stay at a bed and breakfast

4,0 su marzo 19, 2009

mikki, was so hospitable, making sure we had everything we could possibly need. rooms were excellent. what a cozy atmostphere. i'll have a hard time staying in a regular hotel from now on. dawn


Soo Wonderful

5 su marzo 17, 2009

We stayed in the Elegant Room. It is so pretty with great attention to detail. It is comfortable and clean and feels like home. Upon arrival Mikki warmly welcomes you and has cheese,crackers, fruit, chocolates and sparkling cider. We had the best conversation with Mikki and she gave us information regarding the area that we didn't know (even though we have been coming to Cambria for 25 years.) The scones, muffins and fruit and juice in the morning are delicious. We had more than enough to satisfy us. This is now our favorite place to stay on the Central Coast. We look forward to coming back soon. I have been an Innkeeper and Mikki's place is outstanding and far above our expectations. It is beautifully appointed with love and care. The standard of quality and value are very high.


Charming

5 su marzo 16, 2009

We were greeted by Mikki, a great hostess who thoroughly explained every detail of the studio we stayed in. She recommended great local restaurants and supplied us with everything we needed to have a great, romantic weekend. The price was unbeatable and the value was incredible. We felt right at home and would definitely return.


A very nice stay in Cambria

5 su marzo 07, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here in the Loft. It was very clean, comfortable and private. It felt more like staying in a little condo than a bed and breakfast because of the private entrance and privacy provided. Only it was better than a condo because the owner leaves you with wonderful homemade treats on arrival. We felt it was a great value and very nice place to stay.


Great Weekend Get Away!

5 su marzo 01, 2009

Thanks so much for making our lovely room available to us. The room is well appointed with so much detail that made our stay very comfortable. We enjoyed all the artwork, as well as the elegant antiques. The wine and appetizers were delicious , the breakfast of homemade apricot scones with the homemade apricot jam was splendid and did enjoy very much all the fresh fruits and snacks! Thanks as well, for the hiking tips and hints on the local out of the way places that we found and explored! We surely will tell our friends that on their next visit to Cambria, they must stay at Bauers Gilded Nest Homestay !


a wonderful weekend!

4,8 su febbraio 20, 2009

Room was amazing...well kept, well decorated, and spacious. Hostess was kind and caring...be back soon!


A happy surprise

5 su febbraio 14, 2009

We did not expect to find such a nice place for the price we were paying. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and provided everything we might need. The wine and cheese plate when we got in was really nice; in general, the food was plentiful and tasty (best scones we've had outside of England). Mikki was very helpful and friendly, and the place was quiet at night. We will definitely be back the next time we're in the area.


A romantic and private getaway

4,0 su febbraio 09, 2009

If you are looking for a private and romantic getaway, Bauers' Gilded Nest is the perfect place for you. Mikki, the innkeeper, is extremely helpful beginning with the first phone call you make to her. Her attention to detail extends from providing us with our favorite breakfast items to making dinner and tour reservations for us. We selected the artist's loft and were pleasantly surprised with its spaciousness, cleanliness, and uniqueness. There is a mini-kitchen area that is perfect if you want to bring in your take-out! We enjoyed many cups of hot herbal tea in front of the warm antique stove in the dining area! Another great reason to consider this gem of a place is because of its cancellation policy. You never lose your money! You will not be disappointed with Mikki and her hospitality.


So Relaxing, Beautiful and Comfortable

5 su febbraio 09, 2009

Mikki is such an attentive hostess, we felt so comfortable and cared for, it was like being staying with a long time friend. We were welcomed with open arms and open heart, such a warm and friendly atmosphere that we really were sad to move on with our first trip to the Calif. Coastline. This B&B homestay is full of wonderful things, the bed is very comfortable, the atmosphere and the decorating is beautiful. She thinks of every detail, from reservations made for us too robes to lounge in, to even little things like flashlights in the room by the bed in case of an emergency. :) Fresh flowers from her garden [could not believe what was blooming in Jan. !!] Homebaked scones, snack foods and fruits galore, gourmet coffees & teas, etc. Our accommodation was so clean, so quiet and we loved the privacy! We relaxed in bed the first morning of our stay and read the local paper till 10:am before we decided it was best time to start our adventure in the quaint and adorable village of Cambria. If we lived closer, we would surely come more often, it is now our plan though, to return to Cambria and Bauers' Gilded Nest next year. We have found that we sure do love this part of Calif. and Mikki made sure that we enjoyed our stay with her.


guilded nest

3,6 su febbraio 04, 2009

stay was great. Mikki is a great host. It is deffinitely a homestay atmosphere.


Elegant clean private !

5 su gennaio 27, 2009

We have now stayed with Mikki at Bauers' Gilded Nest as repeat guests. We enjoyed our stay to the fullest in the Elegant Suite. Mikki is a fabulous hostess with every detail of our stay from flowers to dinner reservations and everything in between taken care of for us in advance ! We so enjoy the privacy and comfort of an accommodation in this Home Stay residence so much more than a larger establishment. All of the foods were great, the wine and appetizers were great, the parting gift so sweet and special ! Cozy robes to lounge in were a very enjoyable added detail that we did not expect ! If you are more on the private side as we are, but still want the pampering, this is the place to be! And if you need a 'puppy' fix [which we did] be sure to take in a meeting of her two standard poodles that will be happy to have you come in and join them with Mikki for a visit before heading out to your day.


Wow! What a Great Stay!

5 su gennaio 22, 2009

Mikki is a fabulous hostess! We felt pampered and welcomed from the moment of arrival. So private, which we loved since it was our anniversary ! So Clean !! The Studio Loft is so spacious and beautifully decorated with Mikki's handpainted touches. The homemade scones and jams were scrumptious and so many foods left in the room with us we couldn't eat it all ! Loved our parting gift ! We are surely returning, as we have already reserved our stay for the next visit to Cambria !


Excellent stay in the loft

5 su gennaio 22, 2009

The loft room is a spacious, comfortable room in which we felt pampered in our stay. The food was exactly what we ordered, with extra touches not expected. Mikki is an excellent hostess who arranged our reservations numerous times and always made sure we were well cared for.


Bauers' Gilded Nest

Più info

  • Prezzo per notte $130 - $165
  • Recensioni (88) 4,7
  • Camere 2
  • Buoni Acquisto accettati

Contatta o prenota

  • Telefono 1-8059272356

Sito Web »

Più info

Inizio pagina